TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Poll: Should the anniversary of the Easter Rising be a public holiday?

It’s coming up to St Patrick’s Day – and Sinn Féin has published a bill to make April 24, when the Easter Rising began, a holiday.

Rory Zampese, 5, watches the annual St. Patrick's Day Parade in Boston last year.
Image: Michael Dwyer/AP

IRELAND’S NATIONAL HOLIDAY, St Patrick’s Day, is just over a fortnight away – but if Sinn Féin has its way, Ireland could be getting another public holiday to rival March 17 in terms of its meaning for the Irish.

Last month the party tabled legislation looking to create a new national holiday on April 24, to be known as ‘Lá na Poblachta’ (or ‘Republic Day’) – with a board set up to take responsibility for running events to mark the date on which the Easter Rising began in 1916.

Ireland is relatively unique in that it doesn’t have any public or national holiday on a date that marks its independence, unlike most countries with a history of colonialism. Many would argue that an increasingly secular country should not celebrate a saint’s feast day as its holiday.

However, St Patrick’s Day already has world recognition greater than almost any national holiday – and diluting that by introducing a separate holiday could be damaging to tourism and Ireland’s attempts to sell itself abroad.

So – do you think the anniversary of the Easter Rising should be declared a public holiday?

Poll Results:

Read: Sinn Féin wants to make Easter Rising anniversary a bank holiday

Read next:

Comments (166 Comments)

• Surely we should have an Independence Day?!

• I think we should and I can’t understand why people would be against this?

• I agree, independence day. Question is which date was that, signing the treaty or when we left the commonwealth?

• Maybe we should, but it shouldn’t be the anniversary of the Easter rising. Ireland wasn’t an independent country until 29th Dec 1937 when the current constitution came into affect.

• Independence Day would be March 24, anniversary of Easter Sunday 1916. (Rising was originally meant to start on March 23, anniversary of the Battle of Clontarf… factoid…)

• The day we offically became a Republic would be best. The lads from the Rising are already well remembered – Connelly, Pearse, Hueston stations etc. Lets try and move on from our bloody past.

• So then Canada and Australia aren’t independent?

• How about celebrating our independence on 17th March, remains the international publicity whilst avoiding some of the politics that would surround a Republic Day as unlike other republics we still have some lingering ‘issues’

• @ Chuck Farrelly. They are now, but Canada wasn’t technically independent until 1931 and Australia until 1942. Although until the Canada Act 1982 and the Australia Act 1986 the UK government could still legislate in these countrys. They both chose to keep the Queen as monarch. You see its all rather complicated :-)

• Why, we’re not independent , they handed it away, the men that died would be ashamed. What a waste..

• Only part of the country got independence. Personally I think we should have a day to remember the victims of the famine or as Thomas Kennelly put it “The Great Shame”

• We would have to have independence first to have one of those pal.

• Ireland could be deemed to have been fully sovereign in 1916 when some people proclaimed it, 1918 when we voted for a Republic in a general election that was more like a referendum, 21/1/1919 when the First Dáil ratified the proclamation (and the war of independence started), 1922 when we became the Irish Free State, 1931 when the UK declared that it would no longer interfere with any law passed by any of the Dominions or 1949 when the King was finally gotten rid of in the External Relations Act. The 1937 Constitution, fine document that it is, had no real effect on the matter of sovereignty despite appearances. Many of its provisions had already been enacted by De Valera already.

• We are not a indepentent country anymore dont be fooling yourselves we have to answer to the eu for everything these days if we leave the EU then we will be truly independent

• Connolly not Connelly

• Well, technically Canada is not independent. It is still part of the commonwealth, has a Governor General who represents the queen and has to sign laws etc into the constitution. But there is a Canada day on July 1st which is when Canada was formed by the British and a number of provinces joined together to form the country of Canada.( upper and lower Canada etc…, present day ontario and Quebec respectfully)

• Glen 02/03/13 #

Gareth, the Commonwealth of Nations is a completely separate issue to Canada’s constitutional affairs.
      After the London Declaration of 1949 it allowed the Commonwealth to admit and retain members that were not Commonwealth realms, including both republics and indigenous monarchies. Second, it renamed the organisation from the ‘British Commonwealth’ to the ‘Commonwealth of Nations’, reflecting the first change.

Hence India and Pakistan are still in The Commonwealth, but they are independent republics.

• Are we really independent when 20% of Ireland is still under British rule. Maybe we should wait for reunification day when the abandoned Irish people up north can celebrate .

• We are not independent and we are a Republic only in name
      As for a national day, our politicians allowed the catholic feast day of St Patrick to be hijacked by our rulers in the church to make Irish and Catholic one and the same thing.
      Return St Patricks day to the Catholic Church and replace it with the Anniversary of the Easter Rising.

• I assume all the red thumbs come from unionists, unaware that the original Easter Rising was intended to make Ireland a country where all citizens could live together without fear or prejudice, without, as their Proclamation of the Irish Republic put it, “the differences carefully fostered by an alien government”, and “cherishing all her children [in other words, all Irish citizens whether from a Gaelic or planter background] equally”.

• What absolute visionary tripe that sounds like now, when you see the way their descendants raped this country.. How could you celebrate the shameful state of this country, after the sarcrafices those men made to put a dàil in place. Strokers , bluffer s , tax dodgers, and an idiot advocating the legalisation of drugs, celebrate!!! They should hang their heads on Easter Sunday or maybe leave the country like they do on St Patricks day .

• Yes, Gerry Campbell.

But the people of Ireland have no reason for shame – we have worked, and are working, to make a country worth living in. The political hames comes from our having allowed a hereditary aristocracy to have evolved, arrogant, stupid and greedy, our political class.

• Agreed. Agreed.

• Colin C 02/03/13 #

Not quite fourth of July, is it.

• D’oh, what am I saying? April 24!

• I definately agree with having a national day that recognises our independence. I’d prefer that it was suggested by the Government itself, not Sinn Fein, which (to me) stirs up anti-Britishness sentiments.

• For an extra holiday on the calendar, I’d be willing to celebrate national melon-slicing day

• A bit of lame analysis there, that somehow a new bank holiday some five weeks after St Pats Day could damage tourism!
    By that reckoning Easter is really putting a spanner in the works this year for the St Pats celebrations.

• 50% no ??? Never thought so many people would be against a day off work!

• The men and women who fought from 1916 to 21 did so with the belief that they were making Ireland a better place for future generations. I’m not a republican but I am fascinated with our history and I think these people deserve our respect. So yes is my vote anyway!

• There seems to be more green thumbs for people who are for a holiday but this is not reflected in the poll???? Is this not a little strange?

• I agree. there should be an official independence day. Most of European countries have it and are proud to celebrate it. Why don’t we have one here

• the no vote is winning ? shocking stuff. shocking

• A lot of people seem to be confused. It’s a call for a Republic Day, not an Independence Day. An Independence Day would be a bit premature, but I’m all for a day to celebrate those who went out and fought for it.

• Graham 02/03/13 #

We should have an Independence Day for when we leave troika.

• Ireland never was independent,first we had the crown,then the church and now the troika.we may delude ourselves that we had freedom but we have always been slaves to someone else controlling our lives.

• I take allot more pride in it than St. Paddys day..so yes it should be recognised as a public holiday.

• I wouldn’t declare it as a holiday for every year but in 2016 I’d go all out to commemorate it,like the anniversaries of 1798

• I believe we should have some sort of ‘Independence Day’ for Ireland, but it shouldnt be the day of the Easter Rising. Why not the day Ireland was an official republic; the 18th of April 1949? A lot happened between Easter Rising and actual independence. Surely attaining the main goal should be celebrated.

• I think it’s awful we don’t celebrate our independence, since we fought so long and hard for it. Even if “the whole island’s not independent” like some people are complaining, can we celebrate that most of it is?

• The meaning of freedom for Ireland is laid out clearly by Patrick Pearse. Irish freedom, he wrote, means “not a limited freedom, a freedom conditioned by the interests of another nation, but absolute freedom, the sovereign control of Irish destinies; not the freedom of a class, but the freedom of a people; not the freedom of a geographical fragment of Ireland, but the freedom of all Ireland, of every sod of Ireland.”

• How can you have an independence day when 2/3 of Ulster are anything but?

This would be a great public holiday to both allow us to commemorate our patriot dead and promote republican principles amongst our youth!

• after 29th Dec 1937, the King of Britain remained de jure external head of state of Ireland; Ireland effectively had both a King and a President. Ireland gained true independence when the Republic was named (although never exactly “declared”) in April of 1949. If Ireland wants to celebrate its complete independence, it should celebrate that date.

• La Na poblachta…2016 . Great idea,start the campaign now and make it an official holiday thereafter .

• The Easter Rising should be the public Holiday and when Ireland gets its full Independence then that day should be Declared as the main holiday I think every Irish Person should Lobby there TDS and MPS MLAs and Senators for the Border Poll sooner rather than later for a 32 County Irish Republic

• and for people that suggest we celebrate st patricks day as our independence day us here in the north on st patricks are prohibited from bringing our national flag into our city centre or some other parts of Belfast were are not aloud tp wear celtic tops gaa tops anything that has an association with our irishness our we could be be arrested on the spot if we do not comply the only thing that is widley excepted by the unionist politicians to be waved about or worn is a shamrock

• Voting no to a public holiday? A day of remembrance?
    The vote is mainly no…
    Is it because Sinn Fein suggested it?
    I wonder if FG or FF suggested it would the vote be any different. Pathetic!
    The FF- Republican Party ?? The West Brit party more like it, along with FG. F**king people over from day 1!!!!

• sid 02/03/13 #

Isnt easter monday a holiday, that’s enough anyway we ve made a balls of the place

• Maybe call it “The illusion of independence” day??

• sean 02/03/13 #

No , I personally don,t think we have any right to celebrate
    The current political establishment are a disgrace to the heros of 1916,
    And we as a people also disgrace the heros ……allowing the current Irish political system decimate our society all just to please a herd of gamblers and euro rates , shame on us all

• No, because troll troll troll whine whinge

• how can you celebrate an independence day if you (ALL OF U) are not indipendence? when is became indipendent the NI? I missed it. i just remember 6 countries OCCUPIED by brits

• I wouldn’t suprise me if there no official celebration in 2016 as it might offend our unionist friends in the north

• The whole Countrys not free thats why theres no celebration!

• Ria 02/03/13 #

We already have a day to celebrate our nationality. I do think that in 2016 it should be a once off holiday though

• people are saying Ireland became an independent country in such a year yas all forget to mention us here in the north are still occupied by the imperialistic british. So until the british get of our land and return to britian hopefully soon and whole of Ireland is once again free then only then its an independent country. and the easter rising should be celebrated as it was important step on the way that created the free state.

• I think you’ll find NI belongs to Irish people too. If they wish to be part of the British state, that is their right. It’s muppets like you and, unfortunately the men of 1916, who have instilled a fear of independence in a substantial minority on this island.

• Oh and not to mention the pure incompetence with which this state has been ruled since its so called independence. It’s the Gombeen men we need rid of.

• who u calling a muppet ye eejit lol

for u to say it is upto the people in the north to decide weither they stay part of britian in which it is not or to vote for a united Ireland in which every good thinking minded person wud want. at the end of day. it is up for a british sectary of state to make his or her mind weither to let the people vote for this it has been asked not so long ago for the people to have a refernduam it was denied by the brits so going by that the brits will never let the people decide wat they want to happen to the north so ur comment saying if they wish to stay part of britian doesn’t sit cause people have not made a decision yet. the best thing that shud happen is for the brits to hand bk to whole of Ireland to irish people butt out let us be our own independent country even the british people want that don’t no bout u’s in the freestate cause going by politicians down there doesn’t seem like they want us.

• Any public holiday is welcome, we could go on the puss with Gerry in the Dail bar!

• Does this mean there would be another holiday a week or two later? Or is the proposal to move the May bank holiday?

• The May bank holiday would remain. That is an EU wide holiday.

• If this was to be passed, we would end up with 4 bank holidays between March 17th and the May Bank Holiday and just 2 between August and Christmas. We could do with an extra bank holiday later in the year.

• Pity they fought and were executed earlier in the year so. I think maybe we should celebrate what these men did gave their lives the ultimate sacrifice and not be worried about what we the people of a Banking Union now would like a day off for our schedules .Irish mentality is never collective really the first thought is always how and what can be done for Moi.

• A day off work…of course!!

• We shouldn’t celebrate any independence day until the forgotten 6 counties are reunited with us and this country actually behaves like an independent country! the battle of 1916 should be commemorated better with a Public Holiday though.

• So another public holiday where we all get pis*ed as farts, gobble up plate loads of ‘happy strong nation’ propaganda crap and forget about the true mess our little ‘free state’ is in? Wake up people, you’ll pisss and moan about the decline of money in your pockets but gloss over taking action by drowning in some romantic patriotic notion or idea. What are we? Americans?

• The reason ‘no’ is winning is because the IRA stole our heritage and covered it in innocent blood. Sinn Fein said that the proposed holiday should also commemorate those who fought in ‘the struggle’. That includes the Warrington bombers and other authors of atrocities that were done by criminals that I didn’t vote for, and who try to legitimise the slaying of children by saying it’s for some notion of freedom.

I would prefer to work that day than to legitimise those bastards. Not in my name.

• Which IRA are you talking about?

I may be corrected on this, but didn’t James Connollys Irish Citizen Army commence their 1916 actions by marching up to Dublin Castle, and without warning, blow the head off Constable Dermot O’Neill of the DMP, who was standing guard, just doing his job?

As long as the whole political establishment likes to commemorate these events then such violence is ok – but if it doesn’t suit, then it’s terrorism.

• Wish I could give more than one thumb up for that comment

• Eh .. Celebrate the death of over 30 children(youngest aged 2),not to mention the 250 innocent civilians from working class backgrounds who would have liked to live a little longer… Don’t think so.

• I am in no way a SF voter I was a FF and switched to FG and trying to decide between FF and SF at the moment.

There past. We have it all wrong you have to go back on the history books first and see why it all began, they were failed twice by the Irish government who allowed them to be partitioned and left under the British dictatorship. Then left them there to suffer. 75% of Ireland voted for a united ireland, but the English wanted to keep a holding in Ireland so they kept NI but did not look after the people, they were treated as peasants shot burnt etc for about 30 years after partition before the Irish Catholics had had enough. Can you blame them they were treated like the blacks were in parts of America.
      It was a fight for the rights of their neighbours and friends. They were school workers, ordinary everyday people most had never committed a violent act in their life.

Now what happen and things that went on were messy and too many lives were lost, 600 innocent people killed by the IRA. That’s wrong but British would have killed a lot more Catholics.

I don’t support any party at the moment just been looking into Irish history and how our media manipulated us during this. It’s fascinating.

I don’t know who to vote for but I won’t be doing it based this. I think I am swaying more towards SF I don’t know.

• Niall C 02/03/13 #

I’m a SF member and I wouldn’t be in favour of an ‘Independence Day’ while the 6 counties are still under British rule.

• And Im from the Republic of Ireland. Im ok with celebrating the Independence of my state. The majority up in NI consider themselves British. When will you lot get that into your head?

• Typical a day off to celebrate a failure

• True, if it is any date it should be when we actually GOT independence, not for a failed up rising that at the time did not have the support of the populace, they did gain it afterwards due to the reaction to the execution of the rising leaders.

In addition, the order to commence the uprising was rescinded but ignored by the Dublin units, hence why the battles were centred around the capital

• Doesn’t matter. Public sector workers won’t be paid as a public holiday

• Its a great idea to have a bank holiday to remember the Easter Rising hard to believe there’s not already one. Some are mentioning that we should have an “independence day” holiday similar to that of the Americans on the 4th of July, and yes this will be a great idea when the whole of Ireland has become independent.

• Better to focus on what we could change in ‘modern’ Ireland as opposed to living the future through a long dead past.

• Yes celebrate the Heroics of Pearse, Connolly and others, but no way will I Honour those that were involved in he deaths(Murders) in Omagh, Warrington, Enniskillen.

• Sure we have Arthur’s Day!?!?!?

• Unfortunately we lost the war for Independence but thats not the question . Big Tá from me !….

• Eamonn 02/03/13 #

The country is broke, and the shinners suggest another holiday, genius.

• I would be in favour of celebrating our independence like so many other former colonies do. I’m just not sure which day would be best to commemorate?

• This is not a holiday meant as an “independence day” per se,but rather a celebration of the ideals of Republicanism that were enshrined in 1916. Of course Republicanism has a much longer tradition and of course Ireland has not become independent, but nevertheless because of its contemporary nature and the broad inclusivity that most Irish people believe that it was right , the Rising seems to be the best “marker” for a holiday to celebrate Republicanism.

But we cannot ignore the elephant in the room. Any celebration of Irish Republicanism is by its very nature in conflict with Unionist tradition on the island, which simply cannot be ignored. So by all means celebrate 1916, but do not let it be merely a flag waving chest beating national ego-trip. Instead let us use it as a platform to extend the hand of friendship to our Unionist countrymen and begin the long process of trying to convince them that in an All Ireland Republic as envisioned in 1916, that their cultural, political and economic interests can be achieved in that Republic.

• why dont people grow some balls and post what they are saying here with their REAL names?

• Lets have a day to honour all the innocent victims who have died on this island as a result of terrorism both state sponsored and terrorist related. Or maybe a day to remember “the disappeared” we could call it Jean McConville day

• Only in 2016 we have enough of them
    Already

• Sorry. Type. ‘Whether’ not wehther’.

• Then why do we not honour the people who died trying to get us indepndance. We celebrate a Saint that is only for commercial reasons. Who goes to mass on St Patricks Day The pub gets more customers. Cop on a large one please.

• We are an independent republic. We ought to have a day which commemorates that, wehther it is is a Bank Holiday or Public Holiday or not. Personally I think that April 24th is the right day for it.

• Given that we don’t celebrate our independence day on January 21st each year, why bother?

• David 02/03/13 #

Ireland does not have Independence, unless you think Ireland consists of 26 counties. What would Pearse and Connolly think of that? The All Ireland republic proclaimed in 1916 and declared in 1919 was usurped by two partitionist states, north and south by a bloody counter revolution. Until these states have been replaced with the All Ireland Republic set out in the Proclamation we shouldn’t have a holiday. ”The Free State is British created” – Liam Mellows.

• KM 02/03/13 #

I don’t really think there is any need for an Independence Day but on the other hand it would be nice to have a day celebrating Irish culture and society that wouldn’t end up being the inevitable piss up that St Patrick’s Day is every single year

• people are saying Ireland became an independent country in such a year yas all forget to mention us here in the north are still occupied by the imperialistic british. So until the british get of our land and return to britian hopefully soon and whole of Ireland is once again free then only then its an independent country. and the easter rising should be celebrated as it was important step on the way that created the free state

• KM 02/03/13 #

Bickering over Britain controlling Northern Ireland in 2013 is so silly and childish. There was reason to feel injustice when republicans used to be discriminated against in terms of jobs, education, voting etc. in the north and borders would guarded by policemen and soldiers but today people in the 6 counties have equal rights, can travel freely within the island and there is nothing restraining them from identifying as Irish or British. Please stop whining about flags and borders and get on with what really matters.

• so what your saying is any1 born in the north or who lives in the north can’t state out the fact that Ireland is not an independent country and us here in the occupied 6 counties should just accept being under british control and just give over? KM u sound like aye sure its only the north who cares about them ins we got our freedom here in the south, and yes there is discrimation here in the north regarding jobs and houses just look at the most deprived parts of the north out of 40 deprived areas 38 are nationalists the percentage rate of whos allocated jobs are much lower for the nationalist people than it is for the unionist people big gap. and lets look at the housing problem in north Belfast 95 precent of waiting list is in nationalists areas well 5 precent is unionist areas but yet more houses get built in the unionist than there is in nationalists areas and there people on there 8 years waiting for a house for thems and there familys. st paddys as I says an irish day celebrated all round the world in the free state aamerica England asia all over ur aloud to fly the flag express irishness but here in the north if ur caught with an irish flag or anything related to irishness bar a shamrock u get arrested cud go on and on with examples discrimination is still rife here in the north. you and every person who thinks otherwise in the free state live in a bubble

typical west brit

• KM 02/03/13 #

In the past the Unionist government in Northern Ireland deprived Nationalist areas of services and education. The level of Nationalist areas that are deprived today is just a knock-on from these previous governments discrimination and self-interested policies. I would hope that there would be an improvement in these areas but it will a won’t be an overnight process. You said that Unionists have a higher job percentage than Nationalists. This is because of the fact that a higher proportion of Nationalists live in deprived areas and not because of their beliefs or political ideologies. People that live in more disadvantaged areas are always get less jobs than those in more privileged areas so it really is a non-statistic that you put forward. I said that bickering over Britain controlling the North was childish and the fact that you called me a “typical west brit” confirms how childish you really are.

• nationalists are simply not getting jobs in the north because they either come from a nationalist area live in a nationalist or catholic that is the simple fact. well am hardly bickering for wanting my country to be free and u don’t seem to want to. wud u say that to every other occupied part of this world by the brits either in the past or to this day to stop bickering about being controlled by the brits and jus except it? if it were the the 26 counties that were occupied to this day and u want threw the discrimination etc wat the people had endure to this in the north wud ur response and attitude be different? well u do sound like u have west brit attitude

• KM 02/03/13 #

It is only because I am arguing against someone with your viewpoint that I seem like a have a “west brit attitude”. When the Unionists were rioting because the British flag was taken down in Belfast I argued against that and thought they were silly and childish. I really don’t have a preference to either group. I give you a reasoned argument as to why I thought Nationalist had a lesser job percentage and you came back to proclaim some nonsense about “simple fact” that they are just being discriminated against which had no basis in fact whatsoever. You do seem to have quite ignorant view of the Unionists’ beliefs and think that Ireland is “your country” rather than everyone’s country. You believe something different to them and don’t seem to really care about them at all. Flags and borders don’t matter as long as you have peace and freedom. People in the North have very differing views but are attempting to live in peace together despite their obvious differences. People have to open their minds to the other people’s beliefs and really don’t think that you are.

• I miagine that it might be confusing in the years that Easter occured at the same time – would it just be an extra day at the exn or would the holiday be lost those years?

• The legislation has a clause that says if April 24 falls on a weekend, the holiday should be observed the following Monday, unless it’s Easter Weekend, in which case the holiday is fixed for Good Friday (which isn’t, legally, a public holiday).

• People died as a stepping stone for our independence, I think we should celebrate that….

• If like the rest of you and u only get minimum annual holidays I’d bite yer hand off for another one. I’m goin to look at this as a pay rise. Haven’t seen one of them in so long now this is a victory. Celebrate ham sandwich day if ye want.

• Why the hell do we have to celebrate our National Day in bloody March… and now SF wants it in April… surely to hell there was something in Late June/Early July that we can celebrate our National Holiday on… who wants to be out in the predominatly cool and wet March? Even the Unionists have it right with July 12th.

• YES of course we should

• We haven’t any need for a national holiday. We’ve managed fine without one for the last 91 years, why do we suddenly need one now – just so we fit in with all the other countries that have one? no thanks

• An new discussion over an Independence Day would be nice. I don’t understand the motive for celebrating the Easter Rising. Perhaps if its treated as being in memory if those killed and executed. But the latter was shortly afterwards

• I’d actually do a “hands across the border” here. Male July 12th a holiday in this country and make St.Patrick’s Day a full public holiday in Northern Ireland.

• When exactly did we become a Independent Nation, and how long did it last. Since the 1916 Rising, and since we first voted in our own government, we have managed to undo everything the Signataries off the Proclamation and Volunteers fought for and then PATHETICALLY, offered, no Gave our sovereignity to almost any one who could use the outcome of GREED, FRAUD, CORRUPTNESS, LIE, DECIEVE, CHEAT, and GENERALLY DESTROY THIS NATION, for their own Selfish ends. The people of the REPUBLIC OF IRELAND as it was known for a few years is now, not just the laughing stock of the rest of the world, but SEEN for what it really is. We now have quit a large minority of so called, Irish citizens basking in the Wealth STOLEN from the PEOPLE. Declare a HOLIDAY for GAINING our INDEPENDENCE, WHAT A JOKE.

• Ireland ,all of it and the waters around it are owned and controlled by the Crown Corporation in the one square mile of the city of London.The Irish “republic” is run by proxy from london and as someone already said on here ,our offical independence day is the 21st of janurary 1919,these are all facts,its up to you if you believe them or not.

• Yes…oui….si ……hai…..cabish?

• The Anniversary of the Easter Rising is already a public holiday; it’s called Easter!

If we’re going to have a ‘Republic Day’, then it should be April 18th – that’s the date on which we became a Republic.

• You can’t have a day of independence until Ireland, the island/country, is actually independent. If the partition wasn’t shoved down our throats and the whole of Ireland was united, then I’d say definitely celebrate independence with a memorial day of independence!

• Ireland never achieved independence so it’s a bit ridiculous looking for a holiday to commemorate something that never happened. All 1916 did was eventually clear the way for a complete Vatican takeover. Countless children and young women have paid the price for the bloodthirsty short sighted gunmen of 1916. Sinn Fein, like too many people in Ireland, are stuck in a never ending historical revolving door. From 1922 to the present has proved comprehensively that Ireland is a country that can’t run itself. It produces politicians who collectively are clueless, local, small minded, uncoordinated and incompetent. When it comes to running a country it’s like sticking medieval villagers into the control tower of an international airport.

• Does it mean lots of Ministers ,TDs and County councilors willuse this as an excuse to feck off for a few weeks on tax payers money on junkets to exotic places to “promote Ireland” on that day as well???

• I would propose that 6th December be a national holiday to commemorate the day the Irish Free State came into existence, ie 6th December 1922.

• Why not something more forward thinking like EU day Nov 1st
    Celebration across Europe for continued peace (EU as an entity did win 2012 Nobel peace prize)
    This is something that everyone could celebrate.

• Is this the same EU that ‘required’ Ireland to bail out German and French banks bond holdings in Anglo Irish bank? I don’t think I’ll be celebrating.

• I agree with you for the most part but I think you have a short memory.
      How much money has the EU provided Ireland since joining?
      When was the last time there has been an extended period of peace in Europe? This is largely due to the EU
      Overall it has been probably the best thing to happen to Europe since the ice age ended.

• There is no way I would celebrate an EU day. To spend another €70k on wine for a few hacks? You are joking me, right?

As for the fact that the EU got the peace prize…..Jesus wept. That was the most disgusting decision ever made and I could think of at least five people from the top of my head who would be far more worthy of that award. Mind you, it could have been Paul Hewson so I suppose I should be thankful for small mercies.

• censored 02/03/13 #

No thanks. Although I support the EU ideals, we have lost our way. We’ll see in a few years if it was the “best thing to happen to Europe” or if we’re back to square one.

• The EU has kept the peace in Europe??Did you miss out on Yougoslavia in the 1990s??Not to mind Northern Ireland??As for all the money loaned to us..We have paid that back plus intrest in aces and spades,and are now doing it for private debt as well.
      No thanks..The last thing I want to celebrate is any day of the EUSSR.

• Chris K 02/03/13 #

Of course we should and anyone that doesn’t like it p off back to Britain

• Tommy C 02/03/13 #

The St Patricks day parade has been hijacked by non Irish people so maybe we should introduce an Independence day? At least it will be celebrated by Irish and cant possibly be hijacked.

• The 1916 rebellion should be remembered as a day of shame, a day when our brave soldiers fighting at the front were let down by a gang of armed thugs.

• to all you free state idiots, Ireland isn’t Independence “yet” so how can ya have an Independence day?

• We need a day of national atonement for the mess made in almost every aspect of Irish public life. We betrayed the vision of those who made great sacrifice for this nation.

The only reason for a 2016 event is for the pols to indulge their egos.

It would be tremendously sad if Easter 2016 was the occasion of a politician’s tragedy caused by an angry citizen.

• No, we should not make a National Holiday of the Easter Rising. It will only needlessly antagonize Unionists, whom, as far as I’m concerned, are as Irish as Peig Sayers. Instead, make January 16th the national holiday. That was the date, in 1922, when authority was transferred from the King’s representative, the Lord Lieutenant, to Michael Collins, Chairman of the Provisional Government in Dublin Castle. If we want to talk about British “surrender”, then that is the date to use, when the British government began the process of withdrawing from 26 counties at least.

I’m an Secular Atheist. I don’t want St. Patrick’s Day to be our National Holiday. However, commemorating the Easter Rising would be even worse. The Easter Rising was a failure. It unleashed the genie of political violence on the island of Ireland in a way that the IRB could only dream of. It began the process that would lead directly to the partition of Ireland and the establishment of two vicious sectarian states where, moreover, power and privilege were concentrated in the hands of a small religious, political and wealth elite, excluding, disempowering and marginalizing a majority of the population of both jurisdictions.

I would like to see a United Ireland one day but making April 24th a national holiday is not the way to go, in my opinion.

So, in summary, my view is this:

Make January 16th a national holiday because that was the day we got our de facto uncontested independence.
    Failing that, keep things as they are, with St. Patrick’s Day as our National Holiday, imperfect as it is.
    Absolutely do not make a national holiday for the Easter Rising.

• Independence Day would be better as a National Holiday, though the Easter Rising should be marked and remembered in some way. St Patrick’s Day Parades around the world have descended into a free advertising campaign for the Guinness Corporation (no longer Irish) and the donning of free joke hats with Guinness emblazoned everywhere, accompanied by stage Irish leprechauns, giant shamrocks, and the whole world electing for that day to be Irish, and very, very, drunk!

• Who would vote against a day off work??

Add New Comment