TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Sinn Féin wants to make Easter Rising anniversary a bank holiday

April 24 would become ‘Lá na Poblachta’ – or ‘Republic Day’ – under a Bill introduced by Aengus Ó Snodaigh today.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh wants April 24 to be 'Lá na Poblachta' - a national holiday.
Image: Sinn Féin

SINN FÉIN has today introduced legislation to the Dáil which, if passed, would create a new national holiday to mark the anniversary of the Easter Rising.

The legislation, tabled by Aengus Ó Snodaigh, would create a new holiday known as ‘Lá na Poblachta’ – meaning ‘Day of the Republic’ – on April 24, the anniversary of the date in 1916 on which the Proclamation of the Irish Republic was made.

The legislation also provides that the holiday would be moved to the following Monday if the date fell on a weekend – making it different from other public holidays, where holiday entitlements do not totally carry over to a nearby weekday.

This is adjusted slightly if April 24 falls on the Saturday or Sunday of Easter Weekend – with the holiday then falling on Good Friday, making it a formal public holiday (it is currently treated only as an informal holiday in many workplaces).

The Bill would also see a new ‘Bord Lá na Poblachta’ set up to “promote, encourage, coordinate and fund [events] in commemoration and appreciation of the contribution made to the Irish nation by those who, during the centuries of occupation of Ireland by a foreign power, gave their lives and liberty to pursue the freedom of the Irish nation”.

It continues:

It shall also seek to raise awareness and promote discourse, analysis and understanding of the ideals and aspirations contained in the key revolutionary documents and events leading up to the declaration of the Irish Republic at the GPO on Monday 24th 25 April, 1916.

Ó Snodaigh said most countries had national holidays to mark the date of a major battle or other events that saw them win independence from a colonial state, and that Ireland should be no different.

“While we have yet to secure a fully independent republic we should not allow that to stop us from celebrating the proclamation of our nation and remembering all those who died in pursuit of our independence,” he said.

Ireland currently has nine formal public holidays – not including Good Friday – while the EU average is 11.

One of the difficulties in choosing a historical date to mark Irish independence is the fact that Ireland’s gradual transition from British colony to independent state took many incremental steps, each of which took place on a different date – and some of which went without international recognition.

For example, the first Dáil – which claimed to re-establish the Irish Republic, backdated to 1916 – met on January 21, 1919, but that independent Republic was never internationally recognised.

The Anglo-Irish Treaty, which created an internationally recognised Irish Free State – albeit with the British monarch as its head of state – was signed on December 6, 1921, ratified by the Dáil on January 7, 1922, and nominally approved by the House of Commons of Southern Ireland on January 14. It took effect on December 6.

The Statute of Westminster 1931, which formally ‘split’ the Irish Free State off from the United Kingdom, but maintained an Irish kingdom with the King of Britain as its head – was passed on 11 December of that year. However, no similar law was passed by the Irish Free State.

The ceasefire that ended the Irish Civil War was called on May 24, 1923, while the Republic of Ireland Act – which removed any lingering doubts about the status of head of state, and affirmed that this was the President of Ireland – was passed on December 21, 1948 (but not coming into effect until April 18, 1949).

Read: Government to be asked if Met Éireann can determine a bank holiday

Read next:

Comments (251 Comments)

• Sure why not ?

• Phew. For a second there I thought SF were floating a mindlessly ill conceived populist policy that they knew would never see the light of day in the hope of courting favour with the electorate. And that wouldn’t be in line with their other policies at all. Oh wait….

• I wouldn’t say no to that!

• I vote yes for this ill conceived populist notion.

• Vincent the SF Slayer .How about your beloved Country Club Party FG stop paying their Buddy Banker Billionaires cash that belongs to Eire.Is that too populist to ask for suppose it is.I apoligise for asking but at least i asked something that the Chief Negotiators in Government didnt even bother doing .Id love to sell them a car id get 5grand for a clapped out micra from 95.

• @jack- another thing that’s very popular in these parts is having no association with bank robbers, murderers, terrorists and drug dealers. I mention this just in passing. Going easy on ink cartridges is also well received on doorsteps. Forming economic policies that would not reduce the Irish Republic to the status of international pariah is also good, not just with voters but also with foreign investors and employers. None if this is in any way a reference to Sinn Fein, of course I hasten to add.

• Can’t wait for tomorrows Irish Daily Fail headlines on how many billions an extra holiday will cost the economy …

• Pipe down Vincent no one cares

• Vincent i have the privilage of talking to people that understand what happened in the North most of them my own age younger generation and they liken it to the Israeli /Gazan/Palestinian conflict these are the future and they dont need no FG school teacher telling them Irish history . As for bank robbers i think the Country has had all the Banks robbed recapitalised and robbed again and who;s the Inside men on this job .FG who are only too happy to let them rob BILLIONS for a tiny cut for themselves a tiny cut which makes them even more greedier like Bertie for a pension and a few grand here and there.Fred Forsey got 80’000 was it and a few years too which he will serve and then he will have excepted his punishment like a man .Pity FG dont see fit to lock up a few high profile players who did alot worse than Fred.

• But Irish people wanted to give away everything they died for, you don’t have any independence or sovereignty anymore. Why do you want to celebrate something you gave away?

• @Vincent. Emmmm Ever heard of the Army Comrades Association?
      http://www.lookleftonline.org/2010/08/fine-gaels-fascist-roots/.
      Hardly Angels now Vince tut tut. Sure have we not all got skeletons in our closets. Move on.

• Funny how when you offer them a day off the lefties on here quickly forget their mantra:

“And how much is this going to cost the Irish economy”…

• I don’t get any of this! Whats wrong with you people? Correct me if I am wrong, but didn’t Irish people vote over and over again through the years to give away all their independence and sovereignty? So, now you guys want to celebrate and remember the people who gave their lives for the independence you gave away????

I will never, never, never understand Irish people :(

• “Vincent i have the privilage of talking to people that understand what happened in the North most of them my own age younger generation and they liken it to the Israeli /Gazan/Palestinian conflict these are the future and they dont need no FG school teacher telling them Irish history .”

@Oh like the County Kerry School where they had students out on the street holding signs saying “Free Palestine” using the so-called “Christian charity” Trocaire’s propaganda. When interviewed by an Israeli Journalist:

“I was buttonholed by three boisterous teenagers in Santa hats, carrying a collection box and big signs reading “Free Palestine.” … I asked: “Free Palestine from whom?” The cheery trio’s swift answer was unambiguous: “The Jews.”"

When she queried where the money would go, they said: “What do you have against Palestinians? What have they done to you? They are only against Jews. Jews are evil.” One of them said that the Jews “crucified our Lord.”

Their ignorance was almost total: “I asked if they knew of the Palestinian Authority’s and Hamastan’s persecutions of Christians, but my youthful interlocutors had never heard of the Palestinian Authority and didn’t know that Palestinians are overwhelmingly Muslim.”

Now these are only school children, and may have misunderstood their teacher.
      However, Honig talked to their teacher, and it does not sound good. Honig claims that he said they were helping the Palestinians because “Jews stole their lands.”

@ The people I love the most on the Journal are the ones who post David Duke videos and claim that “Zionists” were behind the Irish Famine, funded Oliver Cromwell and the UVF. Then you accuse them of being anti-Semitic and they babble about how they are “anti-Zionist” and don’t hate Jews. The hatred of Jews/Israelis by Catholic fundamentalists in Ireland is mainly because of Roman Catholic teaching (Protestant religions are as guilty as well – KKK, Martin Luther) and displaced hatred of Northern Protestants. Just like the main reason Loyalists support Israel is in response to Republican support for Palestine/Gaza. The Loyalists and Republicans use another conflict to further their hatred/bigotry of eachtother.

• Jack.
      Having read a number of your exciting contributions I have two ideas. The first is that you should immediately lobby your Sinn Fein pals to get the nomination for the upcoming Meath by-election and then await the inclusion of your Party in a Coalition Government. You might ask me why and the answers is blindingly obvious. I have no doubt whatever but there would be unanimous ( and that’s nearly overwhelming ) support for you to be appointed Minister for Education.
      The second idea comes from my mother who unfortunately passed away thirty seven years ago. She always said to never argue with a fool …….as observers mightn’t be able to tell the difference!

• @fabio- that hurts coming from an intellectual colossus such as yourself. With your great gift comes responsibility, you know.

• @jack- you misunderstand. I’m Sinn Fein’s greatest fan. They perform a vital function in Irish politics, gathering together 99% of Irish Society’s misguided malcontents under one umbrella organisation, one so off the wall crazy that it has zero chance of ever getting any closer to real power than the Stationery cupboard in Dáil Éireann. If Sinn Fein wasn’t there a). these people might be polluting other parties and who knows, might actually achieve high office! b). Garda murderers would have noone to lobby for their early release and c). Gerry Adams might actually have to spend some time in Louth before getting elected there. I mean how unfair would that be? For every action, there’s an equal but opposite reaction, they say. SF provide a balance to counter those pesky, law abiding, Democratic parties we have and I applaud them for that.

• Im going to join FF/FG havent decided who’s worse and then flush them out from the inside out .That’s my plan will ye accept my intentions to join up i’ll bring the Audi a6.

• Kevin.

Are you Mark Humphreys?

Your ramblings seem to to be obsessed with the same themes. A man whose ramblings have been described as phrenology version of Irish History.

• Who’s driving the ship straight for the rocks Vincenzo your guys its your guys .Michel Martin is the first mate granted that.

• But Richard are you not Vincent so you are arguing with a fool twice with two different names .Should have listened to the advice of your mother R.I.P..

• @jack- this Government is slowly reversing the ship out of the rocks that Micheal and his buddies gleefully thrust us into. SF would send us over Niagra Falls.

• Will we have to dress up in flares, wide collared shirts and bad platform shoes?

• @jack- I know hidden identities (moreso balaclava’s than pseudonyms, I’ll grant you) are of enormous importance to your SF brethren but not so much to me.

• What do you reckon Enda scored on his. The same he got for being opposition leader while the FF boys were wreaking havoc not only did he not challenge them on policy concerning the Property Boom and Banking regulation he was for even more of it .Your party is Anti Irish it always has been they salivate at the thought of a Federal Europe a Federal Europe thats milking us like the big fat cows in the field.Enda wont debate what is his I.Q im not on A big fat pension and negotiating with Country Club Buddies.He’s going to ruin yere little cushy circle ye know that it will bite ye on the arse yet .

• “Banking regulation he was for even more of it”……yeah, not such a bad thing as it turns out. You’re a clown. Shush now.

• Vincent, Richard and Kevin in unison sigh ‘Boll*x, why didn’t FG come up with that’ LOL!

• The people of 1916 would truly turn in their grave if they knew.. What they fought and died for .. Sovereignty and independence … We gave and are still giving it away …

• Me either Sophie..

• For even more of Bertie’s policies .Typical FG old guard never mind the point only call people names its not the Dail Vinny .

• move on vincent…..everybody else has…that line is so boring…its all u FG voters hav left to throw at SF because SF are actually starting to make alot of sense and come the next election itll be u lot that lose out…

• Ha ya the country trying to fight its way back from the brink and the countries hardest working party want us to take a day off. No wonder the German overlords do be laughing at us. Not to mention Noonans comment about ‘taking one for the team’ . I lol’d when I saw that one too.

• Piss off Vincent

• @chris- but you said you loved me?

• @brian- you see I don’t think anyone has- much & all as SF would like them to. It must be immensely frustrating that at a time of unprecedented upheaval the nation still shuns SF en masse. I mean if ye couldn’t make the breakthrough now, when will ye? Try & be brave, won’t you?

• @ Vincent, LOL x Infinity

• censored 21/02/13 #

Yeah Vincent. If people still won’t look for an alternative after the apoacalyptic mess that FF and FG have made of the place, then what hope have those silly Shinners eh?

• Let’s not call it a bank holiday though. Why name something positive after a bank? Public holiday perhaps.

• Kevin, get a life FFS

• @Vincent you know nothing about me!Just shows the gutter level you’re in when you resort to cheap mud slinging!-run back to the bowels of Indo media where yourself and the other blue-shirts can caress eachothers egos!

• M Bowe 22/02/13 #

Yeah and permitting google to pay a measly 65.8 million on profits of 47billion is Definately a populist way to keep the employers and investors happy while robbing Irish people’s bank accounts. Maith thu Vincent…

• M Bowe 22/02/13 #

Since when has it been ur dain to disregard almost 20% of the electorate to come to that em masse comment. Oh yeah we all just fools to be ignored. Just as ur puppet masters have ignored the rest of the country in favour of their own puppet masters in Europe.

• M Bowe 22/02/13 #

Your domain

• We don’t understand eachother, and don’t want to. Everyman for himself mentality, compared to back then, all for one attitude. However this has been inspired by a government conspiring against those who elected them in good faith.

• Arguing amongst ourselves. Typical! We have no chance unless we work together to change the way our nation is run.

• O Snotrag is also advocating given each child a free ink cartridge as a keepsake of the day

• I think it’s a fantastic idea..April 24 is my birthday..I’d never work on my birthday again..

• Between Patrick’s Day, Easter Monday, and the May and June Bank Holidays, we get a lot in about 10 weeks. They should have held the rising at a time of year that’s sparse!

• I am Irish, I love my country and I really appreciate those who gave their lives so I might live in a free country. I think those people should be acknowledged.

• Great idea and long overdue.
    Equally important would be a Famine Memorial Day.

• In a way they too died in political struggle as they were victims of a state genocide which allowed them to die.
      I like the SF idea.

• Cormac
      Unfortunately the heroes of our Battle for Independence have had their memories besmirched by thugs and gangsters who have nothing to show for forty years of killing and maiming and lying and stealing but the Queens shilling and a greater majority than ever in favour of the Union.

• Really do hope this gets passed. Sometimes I don’t think we appreciate the heroes of 1916 enough.

We should be proud of our history. Sometimes to move forward you have to look backwards.

• Makes sense this idea, regardless of your view on the rising itself. We are relatively unique in not having a national holiday to celebrate our independence. I suspect it would have been put in place long ago were it not for the troubles.

• I was a bit apathetic to this notion when I heard it first but judging by the anti-shinner brigade here I now think it would be a wonderful idea if only to piss them off.

On another note, am I alone in thinking that the FG constant reference to Collins is a bit over played and contradictory? Do they think that Collins would be a patsy for Commandant Merkel in the way that his self styled successors are?

• it’ s really a shame that we have not had a public holiday, commemorating the Easter Rising.
    hope the SF proposal gets the support of all – especially the Government parties.

• Yeah I wholeheartedly agree. I always feel that there’s an element of embarrassment surrounding this, not just because of recent years but an almost apologetic attitude for the struggles over the years. For me I feel very proud of what was achieved then, for the sacrifices these men and women made were no less than those who resisted colonisation worldwide. It could be a very positive way to celebrate our Irishness without the aye diddley aye drunkenness of St Patrick’s Day.

• Excellent post, I totally agree with you.

• I’m all for another bank holiday

• This is an excellent idea.
    Except, I’ve just heard on the radio that SF want to include recent PIRA people to be commemorated.
    They were doing so well, then they go and ruin a perfectly good idea.

• Jus tso I get this right, the official revionist/Fianna Fáil belief is;

Old IRA – Tried to free Ireland using guns and bombs = Good IRA.

Provisional IRA – Tried to unify Ireland using guns and bombs = Bad IRA.

Yes?

• Try to read the article.
      It’s a day in remembrance of the signing of the proclamation.
      Why would they include recent PIRA members in this?
      What did they do in the creation of the republic?
      But carry on throwing around insinuations I it’ll make you feel better.

• Actually seamus, the recent IRA members didn’t recognise the Republic of Ireland as a legitimate state.
      So why should this state give them any recognition?
      Engage the brain, before you start the waffle.

• Seamus just so I get this right. The majority in the 26 counties wanted independence, were ignored, and supported military action to implement this. The majority in the 6 counties wanted to stay part of the UK, have the choice to leave if they wish (which the South never had), and do not support a UI. But overriding the will of the 6 counties for a UI is the same thing as the South? The PIRA were fighting for Northern Catholics rights? Yet they killed hundreds of Catholics and even shot them in the backs/heads while coming out of church. Hmm, interesting.

• What did these acts of terrorism achieve? How can they be justified? What did Shergar do? Was he a Loyalist or something?

Bloody Friday, 1972
      Claudy, 1972
      The Birmingham bombing, 1974
      The Bayardo Bar, 1975
      The Kingsmills massacre, 1976
      The “La Mon” hotel massacre, 1978
      Droppin Well bombing, 1982
      The Darkley Gospel Hall massacre, 1983
      The Harrods bombing, 1983
      The Enniskillen bombing, 1987
      Warrington Bomb Attacks, 1993
      The Omagh bombing, 1998

• KEVIN.N
      wrong
      the people of IRELAND voted for independence in 1918
      the country was partitioned on the basisof a secterian headcount.
      the border was drawn & the Six County state set up, on the basis of a 60 / 40, Protestant / Catholic ratio.
      The 26 Counties is just that part of Ireland remaining, after the Six County State was set up, on the basis of the secterian headcount.

• Bloody Sunday, Dublin bombings of 1974, Clones bombings on same day, Collusion of British intelligence with loyalist extremists, Corrupt and murderous police force (RUC)…. bringing up all this from the past, whoever committed it, serves no purpose.

• Answer his question.

• @Michael – I have never agreed with the partition of Ireland to begin with (as it was the United Kingdom of GB and Ireland not UK of GB and IR and NI) but at the same I do not agree with the concept that Ireland can only be united as one entity. I love the concept of a United Ireland but my love of the concept means squat in reality. Ireland has only been united twice under Brian Boru and the Act of the Union. You say sectarian? Can you blame Northern Protestants for not wanting to be part of a state which says “this is a Catholic country for a Catholic people” and which the Roman Catholic Church runs, the Unionists said the same thing (Protestant state for a Protestant people) so they have no higher moral ground either. Even if Ireland was united more than likely the 6 counties would have wanted to separate or re-join the Union. Would you have respected that? Ulster Nationalism ring a bell? Ulster-Scots?
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ulster_nationalism

• Muslim American giving Irish history lecture! I’ve seen it all now! Lol

• Yeah every single major political party in Ireland has a link to armed struggle.
      Fine Gael- to Michael Collins
      Fianna fail- to the IRA
      Sinn Fein-PIRA
      The leaders of the Labour party were members of The Workers Party which had an armed wing called the official IRA and they were members of it when they were murdering people.

So whats your point??? There is nothing unique to Sinn Fein in this regard.

• “Bloody Sunday, Dublin bombings of 1974, Clones bombings on same day, Collusion of British intelligence with loyalist extremists, Corrupt and murderous police force (RUC)…. bringing up all this from the past, whoever committed it, serves no purpose.”

@It sounds like your justifying one type of terrorism because another exists? Bringing up the past? Sinn Fein loves to bring up that past when it doesn’t include their own. Should the McConvilles, McCabe’s, etc. just stop bringing up that past and shut up while people who were involved in the brutal murders of their relatives are in power? Not to mention going as far as throwing terrorists parties on their release from jail.

• “The killing continues today
      The problem with setting up a Truth and Reconciliation Commission is that the violence is not over. Sinn Fein / IRA is still killing people, and does not want us to know who did it. And Sinn Fein / IRA wants to reserve the right to kill more people in the future.

Conflict-related deaths in Northern Ireland since the 1994 ceasefires
      List of IRA killings since the 1997 ceasefire

Sinn Fein / IRA murdered Robert McCartney in Jan 2005. Sinn Fein is the only political party in Britain or Ireland that kills people like this.
      The alleged killers of Robert McCartney were named in the European Parliament.
      See European Parliament – Activities – Plenary – Debates – 9 May 2005 – Justice for the McCartney Family

When you cut through the lies, it’s a vote for murder or for law and order, Brendan O’Connor, Sunday Independent, 6 Mar 2005, lays it out. As in Germany in the 1920s, one of our political parties is involved in murder:
      “Let’s take the analogy of Fianna Fail again. What if a group of Fianna Fail members had murdered a man following a Fianna Fail day out? What if they had opened him up from his belly to his neck and left him to die on the side of the road? And what if Bertie Ahern knew all about it but did nothing for three weeks? And what if when he did do something, he merely suspended the guys from Fianna Fail? What if he refused to say people should go to the gardai. And what if he stood by while local cumann members terrorised witnesses out of going to the gardai? We’d be appalled. Bertie Ahern would have to resign, the Government would fall and anyone involved would be drummed out of public life. But this is what Sinn Fein think they can get away with. They even get self-righteous about it.”

The crime and killing continues:
      The IRA robbed the Northern Bank in Dec 2004, holding terrified innocent families hostage.
      Sporadic IRA killings in 2005
      Robert McCartney was killed by IRA men in Jan 2005.
      Joseph Rafferty was killed by an IRA man in Apr 2005.
      The IRA killed Denis Donaldson in Apr 2006.
      SF-IRA men hijacked a vodka shipment in Dunshaughlin, Co. Meath in Apr 2006.

The IRA killed Paul Quinn in 2007. Is this the end? Will SF-IRA ever stop killing people?

SF-IRA cannot accept that the majority do not agree with them

Like all street protesters, “direct action” vandals, rioters, looters and terrorists, SF-IRA use protest and violence because they are unable to win using logic and reason.
      The majority of voters reject their arguments, and have demonstrated this rejection again and again in elections. Instead of accepting their election loss, though, SF-IRA want to override it. As Amir Taheri says: “Those who can never win elections, always take to the streets.”

Mark Humphrys Words

http://markhumphrys.com/sfira.tyranny.html

• The Irish people voted overwhelmingly in 1918 for the unification of Ireland 75% was the majority.Carson declared War on Ireland if Irish unification proceeded .The Scottish settlers sent by the British crown to settle in Ireland and block all future attempts of unification came to the fore after the referendum voting in favour of An all Island Ireland .Carson a descendant of them settlers formed the U,V,F armed by sympathizers in the House of Commons he said and did attack catholics in the Norther Counties in which the British responded too by declaring that it would have to partition the country to protect the values and identities of the Loyalist Scottish settlers who held all the power and wealth due to backing by the British.The Irish people never saw their wish of unification come through then conned yet again and it looks like it has being breed out of us now to ever want it again.Who has at the front and from the shadows controlled this island for nearly a millenia it has not being Nationalistic Irish but the British and the regime they left behind both in the North and the South.Still flourishing to this day Ever wonder why our history is so miserable and still is.India/Pakistan being a another example of exit with partition .

• Kevin-n , why do you blueshirts only mention Ira atrocities?

• Same way he only mentions hamas atrocities in stories about Israeli crimes against humanity. He’s fond of the ol cut+paste for those threads too, such is his ability to argue his own points.

• April 1st for Blueshirt day

• @Jack – Fun Fact: Carson is a cousin of the Sinn Fein founder. He’s not an Ulster-Scot like you infer but he is of Scottish descent. Just because an Irish person is of Scots ancestry doesn’t make them an “Ulster-Scot”. I don’t like Carson or Ulster Loyalism in anyway, not sure what your point is anyway. The 6 counties have the right to be independent or part of the UK if they wish. Regime left South? Which regime is that again? Your also against Pakistan’s creation? I don’t like the creation of Pakistan but it has every right to exist. Does it not? Did it ever occur to you that most Irish people do not agree with you? The Journal isn’t an accurate representation of Irish people. If it were we wouldn’t have a Fine Gael-Labour government now would we? Sinn Fein and people with your bigoted ideology would be in power by now.

• KEVIN.N;
      the 1918 election was a free & fair election & the people of Ireland voted for Independence from Britain.
      the British government & the British Unionists in Ireland frustrated the democratic verdict of the Irish people, & set up the Six County state, solely on the basis of a secterian headcount.
      Ulster would have been too close to 50/50 Catholic/Protestant, for comfort !!!
      again – The 26 Counties is just the remaining part of Ireland
      not surprisingly, because of their origins, both states were/are secterian,
      secterianism still flourishes in The Six County state & despite the progrees resulting from the conflict of the latter decades of the last century, the ‘Irish’ of the Six Counties are still very much second class citizens, secterianism seems to have largely disappeared from The Twenty Six County state, but secterianism in the Twentyn Six appears to have been replaced by a ‘little Ireland’ mentality’.

• Ah yes the Older IRA that killed a lot more innocent civilians than the Provisionals did, as a % and as a total.

• @Michael – Did I not state my opposition to partitioning Ireland? Do you think I am not aware of how sectarianism is still very much alive in the North compared to the South? Well these comments prove there are still some very hateful people down South. You keep dismissing my main point along with others. You seem to think the island of Ireland can only be one political entity and anything that differs is”wrong”.

• I’ve never seen a ship go down the main street of Dunsaughlin.

• @Dave

Yeah every single major political party in Ireland has a link to armed struggle.

What’s the SWP’s link to armed struggle? :)

• Looks Luke your getting a lot of red thumbs Kevin ..

• Petr. The irony of an “Irish revolutionary socialist party” not having a link to armed struggle and the ordinary man rebelling is worth noting.

• In fairness, he did say every ‘major’ party; I was just poking fun with that comment.

• KEVIN.N:
      much of your comment here would be worthy of the most biggoted DUP or TUV supporter.
      you say you are opposed to partition – yet you are most bitterly & intensely opposed to the elected representitives of the real victims of partition in The Six Counties,
      to the only All Ireland political party,
      & to the only political party seriously dedicated to the ending of the partition of our country.

• Kevin will tell you he couldn’t be racist because he has Pakistani blood. In fact, he is racist. He absolutely despises Arabs.

• @Michael – “real victims of partition in The Six Counties”

“real”?…….WOW. I’m the bigoted one? Interesting. My background is Irish-Catholic and I wish the people of the 6 counties the best luck and that they never bow to any PIRA terrorists.

@Petr – “Kevin will tell you he couldn’t be racist because he has Pakistani blood. In fact, he is racist. He absolutely despises Arabs.”

There’s no such thing as “Pakistani blood”. My Pakistani side is a mixture of two totally different peoples. I despise Arabs? No I despise the culture in Arab/Islamic countries. I’m a big fan Wafa Sultan who is Arab. I’m sure she also hates Arabs as well?

• Take it u read a lot. But know very little

• @ Petr Tarasov:
      i’m not familiar with his views on Arabs,
      but he certainly despises Irish Republicans.

wonder what is he for ??

• Michael — He loves Israel! ‘Nuff said.

• @ Petr Tarasov you support Hezbollah and the Iran regime! ‘Nuff said.

• @Petr Tarasov

Well the SWP is a Marxist party and no self respecting Marxist should be involved in terrorism, which is a minority that has the belief that they are acting on behalf of the people but necessarily behind the backs of the people.

Also there is a myth in Ireland that armed struggle has achieved things, it hasn’t. It didn’t even achieve independence. The IRA in the war of independence killed something like 190 (approx) British soldiers, but 1000’s were dieing every hour in the Somme, so the deaths of 190 soldiers wouldn’t have phased them. So they didn’t leave because of an armed struggle, they left because of a revolution that was spreading across the country and there was a danger of it spreading to Britain.

The IRA were the most organised body in this revolution, so they were the ones who got negotiated with. All armed struggle ever achieved in Ireland is compromise, combined with a waste of lives.

• M Bowe 22/02/13 #

Have u never heard how the 6 county stare was gerrymandered to achieve that “majority” and the separation of those counties came with the threat of unholy war from unionist supported by the British governent and army. Very democratic state indeed.

• M Bowe 22/02/13 #

Can you tell us where anyone has been legally charged or convicted of any of these murders and if they where directly linked to SF at time of offence. Or are u just rhyming of British MOD black ops press releases??

• Yea ill take another holiday and I always wondered growing up why we didnt have our own day to celebrate our freedom, I’ve celebrated the 4th of July in America a few times and they go all out and it’s fantastic, party’s fireworks, concerts, bbqs everyone celebrating red white and blue and our story should be highlighted just like the states, every year in full green white and orange by the bucket load, I can think of so many different ways to celebrate it and not just be an excuse to go and get pissed that day ( leave that for paddys day), everyone else has their own “how we kicked the English out” day of celebration and we of all nations should celebrate and remember the brave men and women who fought and died in the name of freedom for Ireland and the Easter rising maybe stands out cause ya can walk down o Connell street and see for yourself the building which held our most esteemed and respected Irishmen of that occupation, Connolly, Pearce, Collins, dev, plunkett etc… and the flag that stands where they put it. I get shivers when I walk through it, until I get to the Jesus freaks

• We could have it in memory of the republic

• Brilliant idea. Maith thú Aengus!

• Yeah they should get rid of Easter, a religious holiday, and replace it with the Easter rising, a celebration of an uprising against the British Empire, the most brutal empire that ever existed.

• Typo there mate. In paragraph 4 you have August instead of April…

• phil 21/02/13 #

Fair play to anyone who joined the provos back in the day. Bloody Sunday, battle of the bog side and not getting equal treatment in the eyes of the law, education or housing authorities. I would do the exact same. People especially blue shirts tend to forget how bad it was for catholics in the north especially during the 60s. Mistakes where made by the IRA but without them the British would never have come to the table and nationalists still be second class citizens.
    What amazes me even after president Mc Alease compared the treatment of nationalists to Jews in Germany people still have the cheek to criticize their fellow Irishmen for taking a stand. Mistakes where made innocent people lost their lives but that happens in war.
    Mandela, Collins, Washington, Adams all could be seen as terrorists by some but take a look at what made them take up arms.

• I think they will find it hard to get this passed because of one small thing. Irish people dont like anything to do with fighting for your country its an educational thing really .Irish history has been re written to disparage patriotism and that is all too evident even to this day.Who rules us now well there’s a few names in there. I would love to see a Republic/Independence day but we are way too conservative really in this country for that are’nt we.

• I would welcome this because I think we don’t do enough to remember days like this one

• FG and FF are worried that if we remember and honour the men and women of 1916 and those that have struggled for Ireland, that we will start to consider what they were about. That we’ll read the Proclamation and actually study its meaning and realize that the following is actually in deadly earnest.

“The Republic guarantees religious and civil liberty, equal rights and equal opportunities to all its citizens, and declares its resolve to pursue the happiness and prosperity of the whole nation and of all its parts, cherishing all the children of the nation equally”

Quiet a revolutionary statement and one that explains the anger and hatred that FG and FF have towards Republicans. If it was just about the killing and fighting then how come their is not the same towards the UVF etc. Whose representatives attended the Queen’s visit as Brigade leaders. Just imagine if the IRA ex-Army council members were invited

• And rightly so. T A L

• great idea :)

• Chris K 21/02/13 #

Bring it on about time overdue!!!! Tiocfaidh ár lá poblachta!

• Absolutely! And they’d be so proud of us now with all what we’ve achieved on their list of things this country was worth dying for. I’d even add a day marking the date the last Magdalene Laundry was shut down too.

• Well said all…..
    Do we have the Bank holiday of not ?!

• We have been sold into Bondhood.

Is anyone aware of the irony of now celebrating those whose sacrifice was betrayed from 1997 to 2007?

Probably not!

We are a wonderful nation, for sure, well worth celebrating.

• Absolutely it should be remembered and recognised. It’s just a shame they didn’t think about that before they gave everything that was fought for, everything that lives were lost for away. How can you spit in their faces then turn around and want to celebrate what they achieved. They have sold our country without a thought of what it took to get us here in the first place. Absolutely recognise it and fight to get back what they achieved. Don’t be hypocritical it’s sickening and it only makes us more mad cause at the end of the day we have say back and watched them do it

• How about a Wolfe Tone day instead, to promote anti sectarianism and a truly united Ireland for all…

• I don’t see any problem with having a public ‘Independence Day’ celebration although there might be people who feel that the Easter Rising is not the appropriate date for such a celebration given that different organisations have tried to hijack the celebration for many years.

Perhaps the meeting of the first Dail on January 21st might be a more politically neutral date for everybody concerned as it was technically the date that the elected representatives adopted a Declaration of Independence. The Delcaration ratified the Proclamation of 1916 but it does have more legitimacy given that it was ratified by a Dail elected by the majority of the people.

Finally I don’t see the need to have a Bord (as in Quango) to promote this date. This would just seem like a waste of money to be honest.

• Oh go away and print something Aengus. 1916 had nothing to do with you and your IRA buddies. Why don’t you all go off and celebrate Teebane Massacre Day or Kingsmill Sectarian Massacre Day or Tom Oliver Day? And off got the Shinbots with their red thumbs. Sad really,

• The only sad thing I see is a man who has to rant simply because a comment is made by a Republican Party. And you can’t accuse me of being pro Sinn Fein, as I have no affiliation nor interest in them. But am getting tired of hearing the same bs of and over simply because SF said something.

• Always the same anti Sinn Fein people on here, so predictable. I not a Shinbot as you say but you know I intend voting for them in the next election. Oh and no I am not an unemployed underprivileged inner city voter.

• #Tag 21/02/13 #

Kingsmill, lovely bread…if they weren’t shooting/bombing Catholics then Provos wouldn’t be shooting/bombing them.

• Owned by comment beneath yours! Ha ha

• Maybe if what they had to say wasn’t so dumb or screaming of populism…

• Julie 21/02/13 #

Reilly :
      salaries (€204.5million)
      » Introduce an emergency pay cap of €100,000 in
      civil and public service for 3 years €102million
      » Cap VEC chiefs’ salaries at €100,000 for 3 years
      €413,201
      » Cap City and County managers’ pay at €100,000 for
      3 years €1.46million
      » Cap non-commercial state agency CEO pay at
      €100,000 for 3 years €2.5million
      » Withdraw current Secretary General TLAC (special
      severance pension payment) €1.6million
      » Cap hospital consultants’ pay at €150,000 for 3
      years €90million
      » Reduce all state agency board fees by 25%
      €6.5million
      Pay and oireachtas alloWances
      (€5.58million)
      » Cut government salaries to €100,000, TDs at
      €75,000 and senators at €60,000 €4.3million
      » Abolish Dail and Seanad allowances (Ceann
      Chomhairle/whips/Seanad leaders) €335,177
      » Abolish committee chairpersons’ allowances
      €230,702
      » Remove Houses of the Oireachtas Commission
      payments €76,000
      » Remove Super Junior Minister allowance €34,000
      » Cap Ministers’ special advisors’ pay at €80,051 (first
      point principal officer) €494,481
      » Scrap Oireachtas members’ mobile phone
      allowance €113,000
      miscellaneous (€32.46million)
      » Reduce government jet spend by 15% €172,000
      » 15% reduction in professional fees €20million
      » 10% targeted savings in telecommunications
      spend: Saves €2.29million
      just a section of the SF budget SOUNDS GOOD TO ME . There budget is about protecting the umemployed and working poor, Exactly what we need with 272,000 children living in poverty.

• Julie 21/02/13 #

All over Europe austerity is not working, if something isnt working we have to try something different, or else what will the outcome be.

• Thanks Julie for backing up the populist claim with actual facts on populist cuts…

• Julie 21/02/13 #

populist claim with populist cuts, maybe they are popular because they are right. That is one section of their budget, what do you disagree with about this section of their budget?

• Julie 21/02/13 #

“Generally, populists tend to claim that they side with “the people” against “the elites”"
      you say SF use populism, but maybe they are genuinely on the side of the people not the elite that for years have been protected by FF<FG<LABOUR=all the same. how can you know wether SFs" claims" are populist or truth, are you a mind reader.

SF side with the people over the banks and the elite so you and your governemnt label them populist.

we need an alternative, SF are an alternative to austerity which is NOT working anywhere in Europe.

what is the end outcome of austerity budget on top of austerity budget.

• Don’t forget the other parts where they don’t pay our debts and we go bankrupt. All those points you make above sure do look like austerity… If you cut the pay and remuneration of top civil servants in that way then why would the best and brightest stay in the service. You lefties won’t be so delighted when the services you demand are left without efficient leaders and managers.

And how exactly are party leaders going to pay for expensive private health care in the US if we cut their salaries…

• Thanks Julie. You’ve confirmed what everybody knew. SF will tax the life out of anyone with any ambition till the only people left to run the country, the company’s etc will be television repair men. No start up’s, no entrepeneur’s, no over seas investment. All poor together. But f*&k it, at least we can forget our misery once a year on shinner’s day. BTW, tan looks good. Australia must be nice this time of year…

• Julie 21/02/13 #

SF know we have to pay our sovereign debt every country has to, but they don’t believe that we have to pay for bailing out the banks or illegal banking debt at the expense of the people they represent. You didn’t answer me how do you know that they are populist and not genuinely favour the people over the elite. What makes you think we have the best leaders in our civil service, I totally disagree with you, nurses prob would and so would guards. They are not doing their job properly with the big wages anyway.

You righties won’t be so delighted when no one has any money to spend in the economy because ye keep leaving them with no disposal income, leading to lost jobs and business closing. Are ye happy right now with the amount of poverty ye have caused?

• Julie 21/02/13 #

Reilly if the top public servants want to leave their job because of a decrease in wages for a number of years(3years) I’m sure their are plenty of highly intelligent people to take their place that would be happy on 100,000 a year. So your logic is, just so I get this right, if you cap wages at 100,000 everyone is just going to say no and walk out of their jobs. If that was the case our nurses and guards and all low and middle income should be gone , they working a lot harder for a lot less.

Your logic is lets not tax wealth because it is unfair to tax ambition. But it okay to tax the rest of us. It’s not ambition they have taken from the ordinary person it is the ability to pay mortgage, bills, feed your kids, put petrol in your car heat you house.

Beside the argument that it not fair to cut people with ambition( none of us ordinary folk have ambition) and that they will all leave, you have no proof of that anyway so not a valid point can you give me some other explanation why the wealthy shouldn’t be taxed ?

I was talking to a well know entrepreneur lately and he said that the wealth tax would make not much difference to his lifestyle maybe 3 holidays instead of 4, so you argument is nonsense.

• M Bowe 22/02/13 #

So O’reilly a paltry 0.14% corporate tax from googles 47billion profits over 5 yrs is ok with u. That is almost 6billion short of the 12.5% proper rate. How popular u think those figure are while family allowance is being cut to save a few million???

• This is hardly an issue in a country where hundreds of thousands are out of work, where thousands are waiting months and years for basic medical services, where thousands of kids live in poverty, where families are cutting food bills in order to pay back banks, where the same banks who broke the state are being given a free hand to pillage and plunder their way back to profitability. Those are the real issues that need to be tackled.

• Eamonn 21/02/13 #

O Snodaigh plans to print 1 million leaflets promoting the plan

• i get 5 extra days of every month due to short time working, dont think too many people will be worried about an extra bank holiday.

• Also its to include honouring the provos. NO THANKS

• Don’t skip the queue there SF, Arthur’s Day got in there before you.

• Politicians should be concentrating on getting people into work not on getting them a day off work.

• More tripe from the sinn fein !!!

• I’d support such a proposal if it were by any other party except Sinn Fein.

• Sinn Fein failed in their attempt to secure a united Ireland. They then failed in their attempt to secure a border poll. Plan A, failed. Plan B, shot down in flames. I know let’s try Plan C … a public holiday with lots of flags and smiling children doing face-painting and shouting “Huzzah!!!” Is it for this that all the sons of Erin (including latter-day torturers and child-killers) died?

• Your surname suits you my friend

• Desmond the Labour Rep who cant stand the idea of celebrating the achievements of his Partys founder.James Connolly would be proud of you and what ye have become little laddy.

• my understanding is that it’ s the policy, not only of SF, but of all the 26 County parties “to secure a united Ireland” ??

• What???

• Thanks Desmond for the Labour Party perspective. William Martin Murphy will be proud how your party turned out.

• Desmond is from the Labour party wing that despised Connolly for having grown up in a slum. Connolly would not have known a Malbec from a Muscat wine but he knew his politics and he knew where his concerns should be with. Of course Desmond should hate Connolly he sought to overthrow everything that o’Toole and his type represent.

• Fair comment jack. I’m sad at this mans response when connolly himself supported the creation of a socialist republic and died in the process of trying to establish it.

• Looks like we have a mild attack of the sinnbots here. Tom’s juvenile comment is definitely one for the album. However, Michael (no relation) does raise an interesting question. A far as i am aware, Labour Party policy is silent on reunification. It simply is not considered a particularly important issue. I think you’d be hard pressed to claim FG as a party that is seeking a united ireland. Fianna Fáil might style themselves as a “republican party” but the reality is that their commitment to reunification was long ago lost to cynicism and sentimentality. The really interesting thing here is that SF are now following the FF trajectory on this matter. Recent polling around SF’s failed campaign for a border poll demonstrates that the hoped-for demographic bonus (code for outbreeding the prods) has left their goal of a united ireland even further away and less and less relevant to people north and south of the border.

Aengus’s latest idea for a public holiday is the lame kick of a dying idea.

• I thought Easter was already a bank holiday Sinn Fein.

• Lets have one for the fallen heroes of WW1+2, victims of murder and abuse also. This is life, shit happens and lets learn from it. But do we need to remember everything and everyone, every year?

• Why not “Day of the Printer Toner” ?

• Ah sure don’t you know the boys need another day off. They work hard ya know.

• If we are to introduce another bank holiday, wouldn’t it be more feasible to make the 12th July an all island holiday? It might take the heat out of a contentious day up north & show the loyalist people that we are willing to accept their traditions, especially if unification ever does become a reality?
    Just a thought!

• There will be nothing to celebrate in 2016. Such commemorations are empty at best and hypocritical at worst.

“Patriotic Ireland is dead and gone; it is with O’Leary in the grave.”

We have no pride, little hope and the future is bleak.

The priority is to learn to look after each other, act as real community, rediscover real values treat all politicians with benign indifference, there is nothing that they can do for us, learn some self help, recognise that most of us who are not wealthy, powerful, politicians or senior public servants share a common difficult situation and looking out for each other is the best strategy.

Let the self important, pompous and privileged politicians have all the celebration ceremonies they like. These events are just testaments to political egos. Let them feel in the trough. They are not like us, they do not share our lives and they are nothing to us.

A plague on all their houses.

• Jesus this thread has it all jews,british,palestinians,IRA, FG,FF and of course the Germans…blame,blame,blame and long meanderings rants….build a bridge and get over it ffs

• “While we have yet to secure a fully independent republic” ?

I wonder could Mr O’Snotig tell me where I have been living for the last 59 years?

Of course expecting Sinn Fein to understand the meaning of the word Republic is probably being a bit too optimistic.

• Get Real. We can’t compete in a global market where the efficiencies have crucified our factories. We are competing with everybody for work and yet these idiots want everything translated into Irish and now public holidays increased. When the government are just trying to increase the working week for most people to help with costs these guys are going in the opposite direction. Look up north to see the distruction caused by this mentality. Stop electing SF/IRA reps down here or we will end up in the same place. A total no go zone run by physcopaths.

• Frank well said … Federal Europe Day or even we could have Descendants Of The Empire day instead..No wonder it was a hard fought battle to get the Imperialists to leave us be free.. well some anyway.

• Get over your SF/IRA phraseology….you sound just like the greatest bigot of all time, Paisley. A party has to start somewhere, most political parties come from revolutionary backgrounds.

• to be fair -Paisley & Co have for the most part given up on the use of the ‘SF/IRA’ terminology,
      only bigots like ol Jim Alister & his fellow travellers here on The Journal.ie seem to unable to move forward

• God help Ireland. With proposals like this maybe it’s time for all decent people to emigrate! All decent people are taxed out of existence to pay the bank debts – the failed developers debts- to fund the rescue of French And German Banks at the expense of decent Irish people who did not incur the debts! while NAMA pay the failed developers big salaries and write off their debts. Any parents who guaranteed their children’s home loans will be prosecuted with the support of the Government. God help us!! The innocent become the victims!

• I don’t mean to be a grouch but it’s known as the the Easter Rising and Easter already has a bank holiday, so…

More pragmatically, creating more bank holidays probably isn’t what we should be thinking about these days; public holidays are not conducive to business and business growth is what this country needs.

• Public holidays bring people out in celebration, a few bob will be spent no doubt, it could become a tourist attraction etc so might be good for business actually..

• Let me guess… a fully sunscribed member of IBEC?

• No, I’m a freelancer/self-employed. I don’t earn a fixed salary, I only earn for the work I do. One more national holiday means one day leas of potential earnings. As more and more people move from salaried work to contract work, this will drag more and more people downwards. I’m not against the idea of a national holiday, but it needs to be swopped with an existing holiday. The days of people being able to expect to work less without earning less are long gone. A national holiday is a day where many people have the choice to work taken away from them. Another case of contemporary Irish socialism telling the workers to go hang, not very socialist and not much solidarity there. Hypocrisy really.

• like the French do , Bastille Day”??

• Is Easter Monday not a bank holiday already. I’m sure people in terrible circumstances at the moment are not in the least worried about another bank holiday having no money to go anywhere or no job to get a day off from, cant see me waving a pound shop tricolor flag outside the GPO with an empty pocket, Get real here.

• I am all in favour of a day to celebrate the Republic. But the Republic was declared in 1949, not 1916. A republic was declared in 1916, just not the one in which we live – which is not a value judgement, just a statement of fact.

Celebrating a badly thought out rising which was foisted onto the Irish people by a secretive and elitest cabal of corrupt and incompetent individuals and which inflicted damage on this nation that took decades to repair makes as much sense as celebrating the centenary of the bank bailout on 29th September, 2108.

• Typical SF….. chasing a populist vote with the luxury of being detached from the reality of the economic mess that the country is in. The fact that the government is currently in talks with unions trying to increase producivity and cut costs seems to have escaped them. Of course in Gerry Adams they have an economic guru who could turn around all of this were he only given the chance, afterall he can run two homes on the average industrial wage and not even P Flynn could do that.

• i dont think an extra natiional holiday would affect efficency etc – the direction that nis headed in – longer hours and lower wages has been determined – ironically by the people .
    But SF sem to be getting out of touch – . In this dreadful Recession /Robbery – they first suggest a Poll on the Border – and now a Holday to commemerate 1916 .
    they seem to be forgeting that it is the NOW that counts – not more comemerations
    taken from 1916 Proclamtion .

”We declare the right of the people of Ireland to the ownership of Ireland, and to the unfettered control of Irish destinies, to be sovereign and indefeasible”
    Have we control over our destinies – maybe – but we seem to exercise them poorly . As for being ” soveriegn ” – — long gone .
    ”declares its resolve to pursue the happiness and prosperity of the whole nation and of all its parts, cherishing all the children equally ..
    Are all the children of the nation cherished equally ?- NO.

When these aims have been attained or even nearly so – have a holiday that wont have the 1916 leaders turning in their graves .As it is – they died for near zero – for the colour iof a falg as Connoly predicted . Little has changed except the colour of the flag and a bit of music and a few accents .

• Easter Holiday?? Cool. Oh wait…already have one in honour of The Carpenter. SF will probably say Jesus was a provo.

• Ireland has more bank holidays than the UK, so no thanks!

• If we’re going to have a Republic Day or La na Poblachta, then it should be April 18th – commemorating the date in 1949 when Saorstat Eireann became the Republic of Ireland.

April 24th 1916 was the date of the Proclamation of the Irish Republic.

However, this is not the Irish Republic, it is the Republic of Ireland.

(If you don’t understand the difference between those two States, please learn some history before redthumbing or negatively commenting)

• SF are very busy this week what with an amnesty for bombers and killers so they can become taxi drivers and now plans to commemorate their fallen heroes by adding a much needed BH. Just as well the country isn’t up shit creek requiring everybody’s focus. Oh wait…

• Talk about lost in translation… Who knew this is what they were on about.

Tiocfaidh Ar La

• Odd that SF would want to celebrate the one event that arguably led to the partition of this country. Most odd.

• About time too…. Sure we had an Arthur’s day before celebrating our heritage lol

• Easter in August?

• Nonsense !

• vote for sinn fein might as well forgive all criminals their convictions same thing.

Actually really if the sinners whoops I mean shinners get in they would issue state apology to jerry mccabes killers and compensate them. Rewrite history, the northern bank robbery? ?? What robbery? ?? Was just late night withdrawal. Jean mcconville, sure she was just evil british agent killing irish children. Boddy sand, what a hero so amazing they would point him like kim

• The shinners want to take over the country without firing a shot, they would tiocfaidh in your mother that lot

• SF looking to commemorate something else that they had absolutely no involvement in.

Though I wouldn’t say no to another day off …… If I was working.

They are an absolute joke.

• Dec 6th should be the bank holiday. Call it Treaty Day, which was our independence day!

• What’s really needed is a bankers bank holiday. What they achieved deserves a day off. The way things are now I’d rather be British then a Germans bitch.

• Their both the same thing the Queen is a of German Descent.

• As are anyone in the Western world ( and Oz and NZ ) of Anglo-Saxon descent. What’s your point beyond indulging in a light spot of bigotry?

• The English people are not “Anglo-Saxons” like many have claimed. They do of course have Anglo-Saxon roots but this only represents a small percentage of their genetic makeup. The overwhelming majority of Irish and British people’s ancestry dates back to Iberia added with a splash of Germanic heritage from all the Germanic invaders of these islands.

• Ireland never had Germanic invaders, we had Celtic, Viking and Norman/English/British invasions. That’s why foreign sovereignty will never be accepted here..

• Nikolas was the rest of the western worlds father King George VI all the ways back to Queen Victoria related directly to the House Of Hanover in Germany.Make a cup of tea for yourself .There bigotry and Pigotry i am none of them be sure about that i just like getting the truth in as possible as often good or bad.

• @Jamie,

“Ireland never had Germanic invaders; we had Celtic, Viking and Norman/English/British invasions.”
      Normans, Norwegian/Danish Vikings, Flemish, Angles, and Saxons are all Germanic peoples. The first three I listed settled in Ireland in reasonably sized numbers. There were small parties of Anglo-Saxons that settled in Ireland but it never was a large amount. Irish people are technically NOT Celts in the sense of DNA, Celts were never a homogenous group to begin with. What we call are Celtic ancestry is really our Iberian ancestry, but yeah I still consider myself Celtic; it’s just a name. We are Celtic in the sense of our culture and language. The Gaels (Ireland and Scotland), Picts (Scotland), and Britons (Wales and England) all come from the same wave of Iberians that settled these islands. Many Irish-Catholics also have English surname which are of Anglo-Saxon origin. The first reason for this is intermarriage with Irish Protestants of English ancestry. The second is intermarriage with English-Catholics who fled to Ireland (principally County Kilkenny) due to persecution of Catholics in England.

People in Ireland (I’m not referring to you Jamie, I remember talking to you before on that thread about the English language) are very selective of wish wave of settlers they wish to demonize. I have heard even absurd claims by Ulster Unionists about the history of this island. The following comment below is an example of this lunacy and total disregard for historical facts and DNA.

Ex: “Oh with respect there is no such thing as native Irish !! The Celtic myth is exactly that !! A myth !! The Gaels (meaning invaders) or celts were invaders on no less than 4 recorded occasions in history and have tried to steal the island from the first human settlers known on this island who were Mesolithic man of CRUTHIN Pictish pretanic descent! The so called native Irish only came here in the 400′s ad on raiding sorties to steal the land from ulaidh ( Ulster Scots)”

“That’s why foreign sovereignty will never be accepted here..”
      ?

• Kevin,to keep it simple: between the “arrival” of the Celts c.500bc, and the first Viking raids of 795ad, Ireland had developed into a singular political and cultural entity, with a common language and an established system of kingship.
      We eventually drove the Norsemen back into the sea (literally) and then enjoyed a century and a half without another invasion. ( In-between there was much internal conflict, but all families fight, it doesn’t mean you’re not still a family). We then resisted and rebelled for 750 years until the foreign English crown was driven from 26 of our counties. British sovereignty in the 6 counties has never been so tenuous, therefore, yes, foreign sovereignty will never be accepted by the Irish.

• Dublin was a Norse city right up until it was taken by the Normans.

• @Jamie –

“We eventually drove the Norsemen back into the sea (literally) and then enjoyed a century and a half without another invasion.”

@Many left of course but many stayed as well, adopted Gaelic customs/language and intermarried with the Gaels. Dublin was founded by the Norwegian Vikings, I’m sure you are aware of. The surname Doyle for example is of Danish Viking origin. Clan MacDonald (Western Scotland) is a Norse-Gaelic clan. When I was taking biology class there was a certain disease in my textbook which I cannot remember the name of. The disease was common amongst the descendants of Irish, Scottish, and Norwegian immigrants to North America; that’s obviously no coincidence and one can easily make the connection.

“In-between there was much internal conflict, but all families fight; it doesn’t mean you’re not still a family.”

@This is why Ireland has always been so easy to invade and control. The divided provinces fighting each other and inviting foreign powers like Britain (aka: Dermot MacMorrugh – King of Leinster).

“We then resisted and rebelled for 750 years until the foreign English crown was driven from 26 of our counties. British sovereignty in the 6 counties has never been so tenuous, therefore, yes, foreign sovereignty will never be accepted by the Irish.”

@I don’t understand what you want exactly done in reference to the six counties. You do realize the majority want to remain part of the UK? So what is the problem? Should we not respect their wishes? Any part of Ireland can separate from the rest of Ireland. It would be absolute tyranny to overrule the democratic will of the people in any part or province of Ireland. How are we any better in reference what London did to Ireland? Who are the “Irish”? All the Loyalists in Northern Ireland are Irish whether they like it or not, as they are from the island of Ireland. They are British citizens not actually British as they are not from the island of Britain but they have the right to consider themselves British, Japanese, Antarctic, or whatever they want and decide their own sovereignty. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tamf5CI1yVY

• @Eric –

“Dublin was a Norse city right up until it was taken by the Normans.”

@Right and wrong. The Normans were the descendants of Norwegian Vikings who were granted the territory known as Normandy by the French in that they defend France from other Vikings and invaders. The Normans were of Norwegian stock of course but culturally French. Some came to Ireland directly from Normandy and the rest from England (Anglo-Normans) and Wales (Cambro-Normans). Some Norman-Irish families examples would be the Fitzgerald’s, Butlers, Powers, Walsh’s, etc.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Old_English_(Ireland)

Two groups of settlers arrived in the 12th and 13th century the first being the Old English (aka: Normans (from France and Britain) and other settlers from Britain, Europe (Flemish – Belgium), and France (French). The second being the Gallowglass-Scots (from the Scottish Highlands) they settled mainly (but by no means exclusively) in Ulser.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gallowglass

• “Firstly one can examine surnames, history records the most notable Gallowglass were from the Clans of McCabe, MacDonald/McDonnell, MacDougall/McDowell, MacRory, MacSheehy, MacSweeney, and McCoy. But this was a trade that continued for over 400 years and many Scots Clans got in on the act, so how does one identify other Clans and surnames associated with Gallowglass? Luckily these Scots-Gallowglass can be readily distinguished from the later Scottish settlers that flooded Ireland as part of the Plantation of Ulster in the 16th and 17th Century. This is simply because these later arrivals were Protestant and spoke English, in contrast to the Catholic faith and Gaelic language of the native Gaels and earlier Gallowglass. Religious and language differences meant that these two people rarely mixed which was reflected 300 years later in the 1911 census that showed that Planter surnames could readily be identified based on their 88% Protestant religious affiliation. So if you have a Scottish surname and recent Irish ancestry, and that surname demonstrated a protestant religious affiliation significantly less than 88% in 1911, then your ancestors may well have been Gallowglass.”

Source: http://www.scottishorigenes.com/content/gallowglass-do-you-belong-warrior-clan

• The people thumbing down my comments relating to the history. What have I written that is false? Please specifically state anything you find to be incorrect.

• censored 22/02/13 #

The real question, dear Kevin, is who is thumbing up your gibberish?

• Kevin, you are missing the point entirely.. this is Ireland and we don’t do foreign rule. The people will tell you that.

• KEVIN.N 22/02/13 #

@Censored – What have I written that in untrue? Thought so.

@Jamie – I never said we did.

Add New Comment