TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Poll: Has Neil Prendeville suffered enough?

The Cork DJ wants to be left in peace to return to his radio show next Monday: Should he be allowed back on air?

Image: Renée Johnson via Flickr

CORK BROADCASTER Neil Prendeville gave a lengthy radio interview this morning ahead of his scheduled return to his own show on Cork’s 96Fm next Monday.

Prendeville said that he felt he had been punished enough for an incident late last year in which he was accused of exposing himself and masturbating on an Aer Lingus flight.

The Director of Public Prosecutions here is not going to proceed with any charges against Prendeville, although a report this morning suggests that Aer Lingus is to refer the case to British authorities.

What do you think: Should Neil Prendeville be returning to the airwaves?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (25 Comments)

• He has pulled some stroke by being allowed back on the air ….. A masterstroke some might call it !

• Look it, I don’t think it’s an issue of morals, responsibilities or anything else the truth is this is to the advantage to 96FM, giving them massive amount of publicity, however the only reason I object to him coming back is how poor his broadcasting was, he was a more opinionated Joe Duffy. Then again 96FM is very poor in general.

• Even if this guy wasn’t such a condescending arrogant self opinionated radio personality he still wouldn’t get much sympathy. What he’d did was bizarre but also very sinister and the actions of some form of deviant. Yes, deviant. I have worked in criminal courts all over the country for the past twenty years and I can honestly say this is a very very rare occurrence, and usually committed by persons with serious underlying psychological conditions. I remember a guy that did it on the upper deck of a Dublin Bus over a consistent period of time in the 90′s. The Gardai had a job tracking him down and would send plain clothes members randomly onto the buses on the routes he was seen on in the hope of identifying him. Always the same modus operandi. It took quite some time to get him and it was a disturbing case. He even had the gall this morning of comparing his life slipping away similar to that of Gerry Ryan’s in a bland self serving interview. The two should never be mentioned in the same breath. He was a law unto himself on 96Fm with little intellect to back up his arrogance and now they are giving him back the morning slot again. It beggars belief. He is easily one of the most disliked ‘personalities’ in Cork and in all fairness what kind of message are we giving people when he is allowed to preach once more on radio. I’m all for second chances in life and feel for the guy’s family but there is a line, and to say he crossed it would be an understatement. I know my job would be gone if I did that without a shadow of a doubt. Hopefully he might face court proceedings in England. There nothing to stop this case from being investigated by the English police, despite there being no prosecution here. Mr Prenderville sir you may not be out of the woods just yet.

• I’m all for forgiveness, but the nature of his job would suggest to me that he ought not be back. I wouldn’t really want someone like that airing his opinions, or airing anything else… (sorry – couldn’t resist)

• Brenda 25/03/11 #

It is a big mistake to allow this man back on air, as will be borne out in time. At a time when Ireland is crying out for people to lead us and be role models for us in turn to be role models for our children. We have yet another example of who you know and how to not to face up to your responsibilitys. This man has used every trick up his sleeve. Victim, Blackout,Suicidal, Alcohol. Hid behind his family, denied who he was, lied about it when asked. Some role model he is for his children, to deny who you are in front of them, all for HIS and HIS self preservation alone. He is not a changed man, he is the same man who committed tha act, and he has learned nothing about himself. Maybe he’s learned about situations, and how quickly things can change, but on a deep personal level, absolutely not. The man is all about self seeking, and to even listen to the biased 1 sided show with his faux apologetic voice was too much to have to listen to. He is a snivelling coward who is a liability to mankind, and I really feel for his children. To have such a wimp for a father, and to grow up knowing, put aside the incident aside, he wasn’t man enough to be honest about it, and take responsibility whatever that entailed.

• He’s never going be let forget this one, sorry thats life.being a Broadcaster prob not the best idea, has he been on the nurofen again?

• I suppose 96FM will have to clean up the mess……

• Where’s the option for ‘I don’t care’?

• What a lot of nonsense. The handwringing. Should not be allowed “back on the air”.
    There is no moral qualification to be a broadcaster. Nor should there be. It’s no one’s decision (outside the management of the various broadcasters) who should or shouldn’t be allowed to broadcast. What kind of country would that be?

There is one determining factor as to whether he’ll stay on the air – how many people listen to the show. And people will listen to the show, I’m sure. As they did before.

Let the law be the law – let him be prosecuted – in ROI or UK or whatever. But, talking about whether he should be allowed to work at his profession as a result is simply stupid.

• There are a lot of jobs where a criminal conviction automatically leads to dismissal. Broadcasting isn’t one of them. The only true test for a broadcaster are ratings. Let the listeners/advertising decide his future. He has been convicted of nothing.

Basically, meh. Who cares?

• I personally couldn’t stand listening to him in the first place and I thought that PJ Coogan did a much better job in the interim, actually bringing a degree of intelligent debate to the show, rather than the usual opinionated preaching that Prendeville delivered.
    When all’s said and done though, he did and still does have fans and I would be surprised if he didn’t regain at least 80-90% of his original listenership numbers. 96fm are around long enough to know what they’re doing; if the people want to see a circus, you’ve got to give them a clown.

• I agree with Brenda.

• Thought I logged on to the Daily Mail site there. What’s the journal up to running such reactionary polls. As someone earlier said “I don’t care”. If you don’t like him, don’t tune in.

• I honestly think this man and his family have suffered enough. I hope that he is not defined by “that act” for the rest of his life. I can’t begin to imagine the shame he feels every day since that flight. I know it was a terrible thing to do, but give him a break, I’m sure he is not straining at the leash to get back on air, he will be quaking at the thought of it on Monday. I say good luck to him and to his family for the future.

• 96fm are about to get their highest ratings ever.
    I know I’ll be listening on Monday.

• Aw come on lads isn’t he a celebrity why would’nt we allow him back. They do not have the same restraints we have. Td’s selling thier influence others Robbing the country. But at least they get to call the plebs junkies scumbags etc.

• Although our system may be a joke for many reasons, he couldn’t have been prosecuted here; it happened in England and therefore within British jurisdiction.

• The question for me is not whether he should be allowed back on the air or not. The question is more fundamental and contains the following elements.

1. is this the best we have to offer ourselves?
    2. is his history before this in line with the spirit of forgiveness?
    3. is it sufficient for his employers to make this decision?

My view is that he has deomonstrated a mean streak continuosly in the past when others made mistakes often times appointing himself as a focaal point for higher standards. This in itself disqualifies himself from returning.
    Secondly, is he really the best we have to offer our society? Really?
    Thirdly, to all those who say he has suffered enough, I say, maybe he has finally realised that he is not immune from bad behaviour. I think that the radio station bosses are showing an amazing lack of courtesy to their own community. Their decision making shows that in the long run they care little for anything other that what suits their agenda.

I will probably receive a measure of criticism from people who will seek to brush over this. I can tell you simply, I don’t care any more about what you tink that you do about what I think.

• The question for me is not whether he should be allowed back on the air or not. The question is more fundamental and contains the following elements.

1. is this the best we have to offer ourselves?
    2. is his history before this really squueky clean?
    3. is it sufficient to run and hide and then come back after a period of penance stating that his empoyers “have balls of steel”?

My view is that he has deomonstrated a mean streak continuosly in the past when others made mistakes often times appointing himself as a focaal point for higher standards. This in itself disqualifies himself from returning.
    Secondly, is he really the best we have to offer our society? Really?
    Thirdly, to all those who say he has suffered enough, I say, maybe he has finally realised that he is not immune from bad behaviour. I think that the logical next steps though is to be a responsible adult and member of the community and stay out of sight. Sure, go back to work behind the scenes. Contribute to teh community through charitable acts. Even write a book about it. We can choose to include you if we wish in our lives but for the love of Jesus learn the following, Neil

“Grow up, show balance in your judgements of others and takke responsibility now man and be a big boy and run along again now.”

• Let’s be honest…..perve!!!!
    If my neighbour did that he’d be on a register and not getting paid well to give his opinion to listeners!!!

• If it was any of ye would ye want to be forgiven? I’m not saying what he did was right. But if it was ye, ye would be begging for forgiveness

Add New Comment