TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 2 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Poll: Should grant holders have to prove payment of the household charge?

Do you think Clare County Council is right to demand students provide proof of payment of the household charge before they receive grants?

Image: scui3asteveo via Creative Commons/Flickr

CLARE COUNTY COUNCIL has sent letters to recipients of third-level grants demanding that they submit proof of payment of the household charge – or risk a delay or refusal of their maintenance funds.

The council said the assessment and processing of Higher Education Grants is carried out on an agency basis for the Department of Education and Skills, and that the IT, staff, and processing involved are done at a cost. It argued that the household charge was introduced to cover the cost of providing local services, such as the assessing and processing grants, and that there is no application fee for those seeking grants.

We’d like to know what your opinion: do you think Clare County Council is right to demand students provide proof of payment of the household charge before they receive maintenance grants?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (211 Comments)

• Are Clare co. co allowed to change the conditions of grant applications just like that? Is it not meant to be same nationally to apply or does each county have its own conditions. I cant understand how they can just decide to implement new rules without going through proper channels?!

• they cant……..its all shite, have they asked…..”did you pay your car tax?………did you pay your tv licence??…..did you pay your refuse charges?….did you pay your income tax?, NO they did”nt because they are only doing ADMIN for the VEC not deciding who gets the grant…….someone up high is pulling the strings on this!!!!

• That’s what I thought. Do they not get a salary to do their job? Why do they think they should get a bonus for doing what they were employed to do?

• Just a quick question: I paid a Student Contribution Charge this year of €2,250 with a Student Levy of €97 on top of that… What exactly am I contributing to if not the running costs of educational services?

• Any chance that Clare Co Co might look here to save a few bob?
    CLARE
    County manager (Tom Coughlan): €142,469
    Chief veterinary inspector: €93,436 to €109,927
    4 directors of services: €90,453 to €106,900
    2 senior engineers: €73,223 to €87,117
    Chief fire officer: €73,223 to €87,117
    Senior executive officer: €64,426 to €84,036
    * What the top 10 earn: €1,025,383

• What do you think these people should be paid, just out of curiosity?

• shockingly depressing figures that,im sure Clare county council made no mention of this with there bullyboy tactics

• Good point Alan. The salaries dont seem that excessive to me??? These are obviously people with high levels of qualifications and experience. Or maybe you believe that everyone should earn 30k Rommel…So then the ones that excel in school , in business in life can be held back becasue a huge cohort of people just aint bothered…

• I would say cut them by 20% and the same across the other 34 councils for starters. Local government needs total reform across the board.
      If Phil Hogan applied one tenth of the enthusiasm he has for threatening and bullying the soft targets, to reform of local government I’d have some respect for him.
      Could be a long wait….

• Cut people wages by 20% just like that…Its easy right…. give me strength…

• I was looking for these figure Rommel, fair play. How can people not feel robbed paying the €100? Yet if we don’t we could be criminals!??? I’m baffled!

• OK Declan try this one,
      The Dublin city librarian earns more than the prime minister of Spain at €106,900.
      Value for money?

• Declan,
      If you want more indepth reports ask Hogan. He’s sitting on them.

• Rommel it all depends on what the persons role is and what the equivalent position in the private sector would pay…
      Just for the record….A librarian in Dublin is not getting that figure. Pehaps the head of all the whole area is….
      The way i see if people earn good money, by and large its because they are experinced, educated go getters who go the extra mile in their Job….
      These are the people who make jobs and will drive the recovery of the state…It certainly wont be you and the rest of the whinge brigade on here.

• We should hire you as a recruiter in my company… I’d love to see you try and find a senior qualified vet or a post graduate qualified county manager with a minimum of 10-20 years who will work for €40K… hit me up mate we could really use your abilty…

I think I can negociate you a couple of million for every suitable candidate you deliver that lasts a year(no basic though)

• Well Alan they certainly shouldn’t be earning far in excess of the Presidents of Indonesia, Israel, South Korea and Russia to name but a few. No county manager should be earning anywhere near €100k pa when the country is bankrupt and especially not one in a county with such a small population.

• will they also request local councilors to be tax compliant before they get paid their salary and expenses, or employee’s if they are tax compliant before hey get their wages? is it not the home owner who is responsible for paying the household charge? if the application for a grant is made in the name of any other person bar the home owner, then i don’t see how it would or should affect them. i rent my house from a private landlord, it falls on her as the home owner to pay the household charge or not pay it, under present law it has little or nothing to do with me if it is paid or unpaid, surly then if i were to apply for a grant then they could not refuse me on these grounds as it is not my responsibility to pay in the first place.

• There is a judicial system in place for people who break the law. Withholding student grants is not part of that.

• People are refusing to pay Clare Co.Co. And Clare Co.Co. Are in return refusing to pay them. Very simple, if you do not put in the pot you are not allowed to take from it. A Council with Balls, that’s a first !

• if the students are over 18 then they’re not the parents responsibility. They are their own people and so this shouldn’t apply to them.

• @Paul Mallon, whilst the student may be of the legal age to be considered seperate from the parents, in this case it is where the student is financially dependant upon his/her parents. Also, in applying for a grant one must state that you are tax compliant.

• Much cheaper to refuse the grant……brilliant idea Clare County Council.

• The household charge is 1 tax which is currently ?100. Most people working pay multiples of it weekly. Even those who are unemployed pay indirect taxes on everything they purchase.
      The idea that people who can’t afford, or refuse (as a form of protest) to pay the charge pay no tax and therefore don’t deserve a college grant is nonsense. Money for college grants comes from general taxation not the household charge. Tax that EVERYONE pays.
      If I break the laws then there is a system in place to punish me. Clare co. co. have no place in this and are playing a dangerous game on behalf of the government. You can almost feel that we are at a tipping point……

• Imagine Irish people had a protest, LOL

• I call BS on this. Why should I be bled dry to finance people who won’t pay a penny to support the community?

• @Paul, to get the grant you must actually provide your parents earnings in the previous year.

• They’re discussing a Children’s Rights Referendum, while at the same time denying children access to their education because only those who’s parent have the means to do so could afford to pay this charge. Disgusting. I’d like to know who made the decision to get parents to pay this tax by exploiting their children, will that be in the referendum?

• It costs the council €100,000 a year to process grant applications. So what non-payers want is for others to pay so their application for grants for their children are processed. Freeloading is a word which springs to mind.

• Hi Paddy,

About that €100,000. Where did it come from before the household tax was introduced?

• The fundamental point here is that the benefactors of the third level grant are not liable for the household charge. It is that simple. There may be the odd student out there who owns a property but I seriously doubt that that person’s grant is being assessed on the basis of their parents’ income or that they would qualify for a grant in the first place.

You cannot penalise one individual for another individual’s actions.

• medred 18/09/12 #

By that logic everyone should get the grant if we don’t access by family income as a whole. The whole grant scheme is a labour ploy.. it needs to be a sliding scale to be fair and a graduate tax.

• Ironic that we are about have a referendum on the rights of the Child when another part of the State are penalising children for the sins of their parents.

• Clare Co.Council only have to pay for the Administration cost of the grants, they were awarded 5.026m by the educational authority to issue to those who qualified, I believe the grant applications are decided by one body and not Clare Co.Council, the question of payment of the household charge is not contained in the application for the grant therefore has no relevance whatsoever,the grant HAS to be paid to those who have qualified,, there is something very very sinister in this manouvre, not for the public but the Government, someone is stirring it up!!…..

• Who applies for the grant – the student or the parent?

• The student applies, but if they are living at home they are assessed by the parent’s income in the previous full tax year. We treat the household as a unit for assessing benefits across the board, and I don’t see why this should be any different.

On the issue of paying tax, it seems only right, to me, that people should show tax compliance to avail of any benefits. This is a tad unfair, however, given the fact that the student is tax compliant more than likely.

I’d rather see some benefit for the actual homeowner withheld instead.

• @Rónán O’Suilleabháin
      On the issue of paying tax, it seems only right, to me, that people should show tax compliance to avail of any benefits

I largely agree with you but I wonder if there is a legal basis for what Clare Co. Co. are doing or is it just an ad hoc administrative measure?

• Punishing students for actions of their parents is totally wrong!!

• And this is the council prepared to break European law and build on an area of special scientific interest? Told repeatedly they were wrong the knuckledraggers pushed ahead.

• They have no right to ask anybody.next they will want to know if they have payed their tv licence.

• and I don’t pay a tv licence either because that is corporate thievery so to hell with it. TV3 are a better station and charge no licence. I paid it for years like a fool but no more. For what. I don’t ever watch rte,

• You’re right there Christopher. We should all just pay the taxes we think are fair and only obey the laws we agree with. People who think income tax is too high should only pay as much as they think is fair and evade the rest. I’m not unemployed so why should I pay for those who are?
      And if the Spar is charging too much for a Turkish Delight, well screw them, thats not fair, more corporate thievery – just stick it in your pocket.

This democracy business is a nonsense – why should I live by the rules of the majority? Everyone should be able to just do their own thing and pick their own individual laws. Civilization, me arse!.

And of course, burn the bondholders!

• Gagsy you are polarising this argument into an issue where I am picking and choosing based on my own standards which is false and wrong. I am choosing not to pay based on the fact that the household charge is UNFAIr because a millionaire pays €100 and a person unemployed pays €100 euro. That is wrong and the tv licence is the same and takes no account of a persons means to be able to pay. That is my reason for not paying and taking a stand on this so please don’t corrupt my premise that these are unjust charges.

• and yes BURN THE BONDHOLDERS. you got it in one. See. There’s hope for you after all.

• Brilliant idea!

• Christopher your argument could be applied by anyone to any tax or law.
      Just because you decree that the household charge is UNFAIR and put it in capitals, is that enough?

I think PAYE is too high and UNFAIR .
      I think Turkish Delights are TOO EXPENSIVE.

• 100% agree with you Gagsy 99, on all of your points – so many people commenting here think that if they put things in capitals it automatically makes their argument valid. Where is the logic? If you have to put words in capital letters your point is probably not worth saying. Like an English-speaking tourist in Spain shouting at a local in English instead of learning a few Spanish phrases.

On your other point – this government was voted in by the majority, everyone of course won’t like their policies, but the majority have spoken. If you want to claim extra revenue from the State then pay your way, otherwise, leave the country!

You think our taxes and way of life are bad? Try Germany for tax and try Syria for a way of life!

• @Gaggsy, yeah you’re pretty much spot on, if you think a law is unfair you should refuse to obey itpublicly, and explain your reasons, this is called civil disobedience and is a cornerstone of democracy. If you think Turkish delight is too expensive don’t buy it. If you think refusing to comply with draconian exploitative laws is comparable to stealing luxury items you don’t fancy paying for, your opinion is worthless and you should wait until you’ve some clue what you’re talking about before commenting.

• Ah Daniel, if everyone had to wait until they had some clue what they were talking about before commenting there’d only be half the traffic on this site.

I love the certainty with which you state your own opinion as if its a fact but dismiss an opposing opinion as worthless.
      That civil disobedience is a cornerstone of democracy is not a fact – it may be a concept with some arguable merit but it is not a fact..

• I’m not sure what the current income threshold is to qualify for a 3rd level grant, but the emphasis of such grants was always to help those from low income backgrounds. IMO the linking of the household charge is a cheap shot by Clare Co. Co. It’s a smart economy we are trying to build and the narrow mindedness and short sightedness of Clare Co. Co. puts that campaign at risk.

If they are taking the tone that it is the law and should be paid, why are they not including the septic tank charge and requesting those with septic tanks to prove they paid that charge too! That is the law too, and the law is an ASS!!! Typical Civil Servant attitude, can never see the big picture!!

• Jack Eagle
      They can’t include the Septic Tank Charge because it is a Registration fee and not a charge or tax. Furthermore there is still time left to pay same and thus not overdue!
      I really believe that this is a clever move by Clare County Council and applaud them for their innovation.
      For this who believe the Authority is breaking the law……oops I think it may just be yourself if your HHC is still unpaid.
      I must also confess to having a very substantial heaving of shoulders this morning when I first saw this news and the heaving came from outright laughter. This is one of the better days on the Journal!

• I never said the Septic tank charge was a tax, I said it was the law the very same as the Household charge is the law, just like the TV License. I disagree about the Household charge being a tax, it is a registration fee too. If Clare Co. Co. are checking that people are tax compliant, well then that is a different story and therefore they should be seeking tax clearance certificates from the student’s family.

• Mick, I know your a great fan of law and order so can you clarify if as one professor of law has already said that Clare Co. Council withholding or slowing down the processing of student grants could be illegal you would agree that the maximum sanction should be applied to the officials who came up with this idea?

• The HHC is a registration fee too if that is the way you want to go . They told us that Property tax will be introduced next year . They just want your details . They want your name on a list ….

• If I remember correctly I did read in some literature that came in the door relating to the household charge (before it went into the fire) that no receipt or invoice would be issued once payment was received, so how exactly are they to prove they paid it.

• Its just another sneaky trick thought up by some over paid civil servant to try to force people to register.

• Boom!!! Their gona mess this up regardless cos it’s a hasty stupid decision.. Students need this money!! The application forms hav been filled out with no question of ‘have you payed th HHC??’ if it was a requirement then it should hav been shown.. Clare co co hired a private company to distribute these letters, have an amazing office building, had 4guards on the door today, another 2 in undercover car and then another squad driving around… Priority needs to go to stopping waste not punishing the struggling..!

• Who is paying for that security . No doubt it’s
      Coming out of their budget, another waste of money.

• Moe,I paid and I got a receipt,I paid on line not sure about other methods,it would be very strange if a receipt of payment was not given.

• They shouldn’t hold students responsible for the actions of their parents.

• Will they be checking parents road tax is up to date? that all their dogs are licensed? That they have no outstanding library fines?
    Pathetic stuff especially when you consider that the HHC funds will be paid over to irresponsible gamblers and not fund education anyway.

• I notice some people say it’s about those who break the law and not paying of tax. So should we expect people with public order offences, parking fines and other instances of breaking the law to be dealt with in the same way.

• Students are not liable for this tax
    It’s like sending one to prison for a crime his father committed
    It must be unconstitutional
    And highly illegal I bet
    Contravening citizens rights almost

• another way to hit the poor, rich people don’t get college grants. maybe it would be better if we all kept our children at home and on the dole.
    I am punished every year for sending my sons to college.
    the grant was cut because I became a widow. then they changed the milage criteria, I took on extra work to pay the loans and guess what, the grant was reduced again.
    now they want to bully people into paying an unjust charge in order to educate their children.
    soon you will have to produce your TV licence in order to receive child benefit.

• That is the most underhanded cheap shot I have ever seen. So now they feel that tying the household charge to applying for a grant is legitimate? Where does this stop? Will it start to include electricity bills or gas bills paid as a condition of applying. When are the rest of the Irish who do not protest going to get off their arses and protest on the streets. This is going to get worse if ye don’t.

• Agreed. It ranks up there with shatter going after wedding rings. Theres no depths this morally bankrupt debt collection agency of a government will not hit. The fact that they’re not even our debts is even more criminal.

• As long as the unions are bought off they won’t bring their members on to the streets one only has to look at the last big p a y e marches that only worked because of union participation.

• Exactly John. I have always wondered why the Unions won’t organise march protests but now I know why. They are are not threatened. They are comfortable and Croke Park is the price that buys their silence.

• This is gettin out of hand, why should a generation who had nothing to do with the incurred costs built up by an inept government be made to pay this. They already pay serious amounts on fees, and those that dont and apply for the grant do so because their parents cant afford the costs, this is going to put more pressure on parents and students alike, even more for leaving cert students to come, and then people wonder why students are leaving the country when they get their degree, its because they cant live here anymore, they cant afford to, this is going to get worse and it is about time people started to say no, law or no law taking money from those trying to educate themselves to have some sort of sustainable life is wrong, also when you think of the tax they will have to pay if they do get work here the tax will be paid anyway, they dont own the digs they will be in either, what are they gonna do next tax jr infants starting school!

• Responsibilities as citizens? Like paying for the gambling debts of developers and speculators? We have had “responsibilities” forced on us. Where do ye learn words like “handouts”? How come you get so enraged at a student getting a grant but not at Sean Quinn, the Catholic Church and numerous other organisations and individuals who swindle this country for millions?

• Amazing how people can jump to the defence of a County Council, desperately seeking to be the most law-abiding citizen whilst also unknowingly becoming the prime target for Government spin and lies. In any other country, this poll would be over 90% NO, but for some reason, some people out there continue to walk around with their hands over their eyes. As if the County Councils care about you, do they speak of the money owed to them by developers (here is looking at you Galway Co Co.)? No, they engage in divide and conquer, pretending that grants for community groups have to be cut due to non-payment of the household charge, all the while failing to inform the wider public of massive debts owed to them by developers and other speculators.

• If you can get children’s allowance for your children when they’re in college, then it’s fair enough.

• Declan Cotter
      You suggest the Aine decides whether we increase our taxes or roll back our services. It’s not her decision Declan. That is decided in Dail Eireann by our elected representatives who have already levied this tax called the Household Charge. It’s not a question of whether it’s popular or unpopular, liked or disliked. It’s the law and it must be paid .
      I remember the 800,000 bogus non resident accounts and find it interesting that we have the same number of people deciding to break the law with respect to the current charge.
      What is different on this occasion is the public flaunting of defiance against the State. This makes the decision to have the Revenu collect the Property tax an enlightened one.
      Fair play to Clare County Council for their innovation and ability to withstand the bully boy tax evaders. In MilltownMalbay all those years ago there were some three thousand fraudulent bank accounts.
      Why should we lawful taxpayers fund the college expenses of families that evade taxes that fund local services. Way to go Clare Count Council

• Mick, I was not being literal. The point i was making is that we need to cut services or generate new taxes and that is not a nice thing for anyone to do…

• “Mick Collins” with his “obey the State” mantra. Ironic, what?

• Hey Mick Collins. Should we follow the law even when it is unjust?
      Should we follow a statute (which the HH Tax is) even when it is unjust?
      I’m sorry, but the HH Tax is not a tax, but a statute, and to force its payment is illegal.

• Really hope the students organize and stand up against this. Pay for items provided by councils……why??? We already do! They are doing less for more while we do more for less. Stand up and be counted as one of those who realized this is an unfair farcical charge. Councils say they cannot operate without this funding yet they can pad bonuses onto councillers salaries!! Its an honour to represent people…..yet the vast amount of councillers only see the power & salary. DO NOT PAY!!!!!!! Demand change, get change, then co operate.

• I hope that if the students organise , they will have the support of us all with them. I for one will stand with them .
      I do not take being intimidated easy and will stand up to the BULLIES. I am done being afraid and I am done running away . I will not register I will not pay .

• Here here Barry , well said.

• I will support student too because they are clearly an easy target now for this lot in power.

• Barry.
      It’s an honour to be a teacher?
      It’s an honour to be a nurse?
      Why would they need to be paid…….that’s the logic of what you have just said and at the same time you pick and choose which laws you are going to observe?

• Who do teachers, nurses represent Mick? by chance, are you a counciller??
      Do I pick & choose the laws I’m going to obay, no I don’t. I’ll pay it, as soon as money stops being waisted by councils & councillers. Please do not drag this comment into the public sector agruement. Councillers are elected by the public (in most cases) to represent. Nurses, teachers, fire fighters, gardai….all protect and serve the public, not represent (& do a fine job at that).

• I paid the HHC and it’s bad enough that I’m subsidising the services you get from the state, I’m paying for your brats to go to college too. College is not a right, it’s a service that needs to be paid for.

It seems to me that those who cry loudest seem to be the same parasites who contribute least.

• The country benefits from a skilled tax paying workforce, hence the grants Paul. My tax, your tax goes on much much worse items daily than college grants. My brat is far from that stage in life but I hope to be well able to fund the brats education.

• There is anarchy in the air!

• This is bullying and blackmail, plain and simple. People who have been paying income tax into the system for years, for which they should be provided with local services are now being threatened via their children’s education. So much for the “knowledge economy” eh? At what point do we draw the line? Do we continue paying income tax for the sole reason of paying government salaries or do we expect a return on what is deducted from our dwindling pay packets? A principled stand has been taken by over half the country against the creeping layer of new taxation to pay off the enforced debts of private gamblers. Anyone who cannot see the correlation between this and government austerity policy should open their eyes and take their fingers out of their ears. Council budgets were slashed by €170 million last year so even if 100% of the population paid the household charge there would still be a €10 million shortfall. The reality is that somewhere in the near future we will still be paying income tax, but all of our public services will be outsourced to private companies. It already started with the bins a few years ago. For those like Declan who continue with the mantra “we spend more than we take in”, or Vincent Browne’s favourite “where will the money come from” etc etc. – we have put €64 billion into the banks. If these debts had been repudiated and even a fraction of that kind of money put into a massive stimulus public works programme we would not have the degenerative effects of long term unemployment and emigration. This kind of programme could be funded by a more progressive taxation system to include the likes of a wealth tax and financial transactions tax. A recent comment by the US Ambassador to Ireland also stated that our corporation tax level was by no means the primary reason for companies locating here. In these times it is ridiculous that touching the 12.5% rate is still a neo-liberal taboo. The longer we continue with these failed austerity policies, the further we dig ourselves into a hole. And to deny student sof this generation access to third level because of these policies is not just immoral. It is economic suicide.

• You have no idea how glad I am to have gotten the hell out of a county mired by Fianna Fail & Fine Gael obsessed, nepotistic and ignorant individuals. The politics is a direct reflection on the electorate. An excellent minority losing out to an apathetic and ignorant majority. That they should come up with such a “questionable” measure to get there hands on money doesn’t surprise me in the slightest.

For me it is no better than blackmail using bullyboy tactics.

Additionally the argument that the “household fee” is to pay for administration costs, for example the “issuing of third level grants”, for which they do not charge is a joke… the logic is that they are not charging to do what they are paid to do… why don’t cashierers charge a fee to scan your groceries… hmmm, maybe because it’s what they are paid to do. The county councillors should start doing the job their paid to do and not simply seek to blackmail kids based on the actions of their parents.

• bullying is what this is

• This is awful! Yet again those that are financially challenged are being punished we have to accept that many households can’t actually afford it , some may choose not to pay as we all know in reality it is in fact a ploy in order to come up with funds to pay the mountain of debt this country has. If I thought that funds were actually directly contributed to services which I don’t believe for one second that they are. We already pay tax on our income including all the other indirect taxes an order to pay for services we avail of. I’m sure we’re all well aware of things that need to be done in your local towns/villages that the council are delaying due to lack of funds its a vicious circle.

Punishing the young & not to forget the elderly today is a crime in my view!

• Our overall tax levels are low to medium per european standards for the level of service we get. Thing is we dont make that much money anymore so either we pay more tax or we roll back on our services and social welfare…You decide Aine..

• Declan punishing the students of today is just not the way to do it! Thing is we’re well ware of the challenges facing this country which in reality has impacted on services & will continue to do so but cheap ploys to generate extra income and to punish students is not the way to do it..

• Aine, we have one the highest rates of 3rd level attendance in the world. In the UK or US for example students or parents have to pay vast sums to get the advantage of a education.

• Aine, if you qualify for a full non adjacent grant it’s over 3000 euro ands your exempt from paying registration fees,the house hold charge is only a fraction of what the state is paying out for a students education.no matter what way you look at it house hold charge or property tax you are still in the black,if your a student going to third level the state will be investing large amounts of money on you before you pay a single cent in direct tax,and there is no obligation to pay any of it back.i would prefer a system where each adult is assessed individually ,but that individually would have to be responsible for the cost of their own education.the dept of education should present the invoice of the cost of education at the end of each term to each student.aand maybe students can start making the link between taxation and services.

• Once again the high and mighty of this country are picking on students because they feel they’re the easiest to target, maybe if spending was kept under control and planning permission for ghost estates was kept under control in the boom by these people we wouldn’t be in the mess were in and targeting the generation that will get us out of this mess!

• a sly tactic on behalf of co claire council whilst they enjoy wages and bonuses they want to crucify the next generation for the mistakes and policies made by this goverment, what about those who really cant afford to pay this unjust and unfair tax they will be punished unfairly by this council and its only a matter of time before it spreads to other councils around this country

• What a Country, failed rebellions and sell outs by corrupt politicians

• Claire County Council, your a disgrace what a new low, this should be illegal, i hope anyone involved kicks up a stink what a nerve…..

• We paid the household charge because we had to but we didn’t want to.

Equally If nobody got the grant at all there would be less of a need to tax me more in December but that’d be wrong. As a society we fund the education of the next generation who can’t otherwise afford to go to third level because it’s the right thing to do.
    But it’s important to remember that nobody should feel like they have some right or entitlement to the money.

You can’t or at least shouldn’t pick what suits yourself When it comes to paying tax. Like I said earlier I didn’t want to pay the household tax I needed the money for other stuff but I was obliged to pay it.

I am part of the coping class who pay for everything in this country. All I have done since 2007 is cut back on all of my personal low hanging fruit. Basically all the comforts or benefits that were there are now gone. I’m working 60 hrs a week for less than I took home for 35 hrs a week in 2006. I’m privately employed.

As a voter and a taxpayer I’ve no problem with someone getting the grant at all as long as they pay the same taxes that I have to pay.

Let’s be honest here the only people who have a problem with this are people who didn’t pay up. Get real here guys it’s nothing to do with people who haven’t paid this is about being fair to the people like me who have paid.

• lol at those 22% who voted “i don’t. know”.

• “I don’t know” is a perfectly legitimate response to this and most poll questions posted by thejournal.ie. In fact, an “I don’t know” answer is probably preferable to the knee jerk reactions that can be seen on this page, suggesting as it does that the respondents are thinking through many issues here (household tax/student grants/dependents/role of councils/government incompetence etc. etc.) and a yes or no answer is simply not adequate.

• How bad is that? Your parents can’t fully provide your education funding, so you turn to vec for financial aid. Then they won’t help because your parents haven’t paid a bill!!
    It can’t be legal, can it?

• While I don’t oppose the household charge per se, I really think Clare Co Co should impose a processing charge to cover the cost of providing the grant service. That way parents who refuse to pay can stick to their principles and Clare Co Co can cover the cost of the service.

• Who votes ”Idon’t know” on these polls….. Stand up and grow a back bone .

• I think you might need to grow a back bone before you stand up, otherwise you would be slumped over.

• Eileen
      I don’t know where you’re coming from!

• bren 18/09/12 #

It’s not a black and white issue, that’s why people vote “I don’t know”.

If parents cannot pay the household charge, then it is brutally unfair to deny their children grant aid to go to college and improve their opportunities in life.

If parents can pay, but decide against paying, then they are being somewhat hypocritical, as they refuse to contribute to the public purse, but then expect to benefit from it.

As others have pointed out, not paying the household charge should be dealt with using proper legal channels, not bully boy tactics.

However, those who have paid the household charge probably feel that others are getting an unfair advantage if they can get a grant without paying their contribution. Everyone seems to agree that the legal route, should it come to it will be a very long and contrived process. The argument then is that this act “short circuits” the process, forcing people to pay in a more timely manner.

My own opinion is that it is unfair to punish the children at any rate. It’s ironic that the child of a non-paying parent (who refuses to pay) may well be in disagreement with their parents about the charge, and yet as they have no control over the situation, they are punished anyway.

• Who votes yes in this poll???

Most of the time these teenagers are being penalised for a decision and stance their parents have decided to take. It’s unfair to put this on them. An hopefully it’s illegal

• I voted yes !!

Who says education is a ‘right’ !
      Its not, its a privilage and needs to be paid for.
      The cushioned celtic cubs don’t know what life is really like. I funded my own way through college, with a loan from my parents which I repaid.

This nonsense about not paying a TV licence or Household charge and then saying you are law-abiding is ridiculous

• I paid my way through college with a JOB and had no free time to speak of.

How “cushy” it was for you to get a loan off your parents who were obviously getting a kick back from the Celtic tiger and passing it on to you.

And you vote yes and don’t even address the issue. It’s people being penalised for their parents decision. Which is fundamentally wrong.

• Shame on minister Quinn for once AGAIN, stabbing students in the back. He came out this morning and supported this measure.

• how many students who are eligible for a grant actually own a house? storm in a tea cup.

• What a shower of begrudging effers. You all got your grants to go to college yet you begrudge my kids and others that same opportunity. I could not afford to go to college when I was young , but my kids can go now thanks to MY hard work and paying MY taxes over the long hard years working in the public service. I can not afford the hhc now , nor will I afford it in the future.There is only so much in my purse .

• Finally some joined up thinking. Well done Clare Co Co.

• where do people think the money for these grants come from? Of course they should have paid the household charge

• And what about students who are in rental accommodation or those who are abroad? It doesn’t say anything about withholding the grant, only prioritising those who have paid the HHC.

Lets say hypothetically I living in Rotterdam with my mother living in rental accommodation, should be passed over until everyone who paid the HHC has received their grant. Even if that means I have no money to pay my tuition and could possibly lose my place. That is petty, and we should expect our state institutions to behave more like state institutions and less like 4 year olds who had a cookie taken from them.

• Well said Brid
      When you look at the above attacks on myself you have to wonder how a Society can function with these ideas around.! I pay a one hundred Euro tax lawfully imposed on me and I am a “knob” or some other filthy manifestation of a law abiding citizen.
      These attacks come from the active members of the ULA and Sinn Fein who solemnly undertake to defend our Democracy and the incite citizens to become lawbreakers.
      These are the same degenerates who hope to be able to form a Government at some not too distant point.
      They shouldn’t be allowed to enter a Hall of Democracy like Dail Eireann until they vow to honour its democratic decisions and thus observe their Constitutional imperative.

• Totally agree. While I think Clare county council have done this in a very under handed way, it does make sense. You can’t have your cake and eat it

• @ Mick I am not a member of any of the parties or organisations you mentioned and I have always and still am a law abiding citizen so demonizing those who refuse to pay on a point fairness will not work. I have paid over an above my taxes living and working in this state all my life and have NO criminal records and would actually be seen by my neighbours as a good person who would do a favour as I have done for many of my neighbours. Do you really think you are an example of what is a law abiding citizen with Brid? There are thousands millions even of law abiding citizens in this country proud to resist these unfair charges so please do not demonize us according to your own self righteous standards. Thank You.

• these college students are for the majority not home owners they are holding a gun to the heads of our future work force, possibly holding them back from their right to an education and narrowing Their prospects over a tax that doesnt even apply to them yet.

• Jason if you live in Rotterdam then there is no point in applying for a grant cause you ain’t going to get one . if your mam does live in rented the household tax question does not arise

• @ Jerry,

I’d do my research if I were you, I’ve been receiving the student grant for the past 2 years while living in Rotterdam and the county council are aware of this. It is fully within the rules and regulations.

And rental homes do count. You need to be able to prove you paid the HHC, otherwise you will face delays. So you need to get proof of payment or proof of exemption which in itself is a significant delay.

• @Mick Collins

To be fair to you Mick,you’re a knob whether you paid the household charge or not.

• another cock up from “big phil”.
    If this tax was introduced properly on an “ability to pay” scale, linked directly to income and assets then there would have be very little furore over it. It is plain and simple a tax on the poor. That €100 will hit those less well off disproportionally to those better off, thats simple economics. Also, people are petrified as to where this household tax will lead to. If the less well off are hit disproportionally now, will the be ultimately completely screwed over when a property tax comes in instead? The government have done NOTHING to allay that fear, in fact everything they do serves to increase it.
    On the other side of the coin the SF / DL attempt at urging civil disobedience is disgraceful. Without offering a credible alternative, encouraging citizens to break laws is reprehensible.

• Grants should be there for every student,putting household charge on irish people is a crime by fine gael.

• I live in a house in which I pay a mortgage on…
    Technically I don’t own it until the last repayment has been made
    So the bank can pay my HHC

• Damien, you’re wrong! You do own the house, you simply put the house up as security for the mortgage and also on drawdown of the mortgage you gave a personal guarantee to repay the mortgage. That is why a mortgage lender has to go to court to have a repossession order granted to take the house off you. If they owned the property why would they need to go to court to repossess something they already own? In addition, if the mortgage company were to sell the house and the sale price did not clear all the mortgage you are still liable for the balance outstanding. Of course if you read your mortgage contract you would already know this!!

• Fair play Jack point taken!

• I love the way Mick identifies with the Government who couldn’t give 2 fiddlesticks about him rather than students who want to be educated. “Back in my day…”…..Yawn, stop making things up, every time I hear a “back in my day” statement t usually contradicts the one that came before it.

• Mass demonstration is the only way, i have said this so many times. These people forget who put them in power and they think they are untouchable now, so it’s time for us all to get of our asses and show them who really has the power, and that’s the people

• I haven’t moved out but I know that if I had to pay that fee while paying for accommodation I’d simply crack.. #VoteNo

• Well it seem the Govt are at odds with 54% of the voting population on this issue. Why dont we shut up and do what we’re told?

• Another classic Journal poll: this time, the question smuggles in the proposition that it is self-evident that the household charge ought to be paid, despite the manifest widespread opposition to its imposition.

The Journal justifies asking poll questions of this nature on the basis that these are the sort of things people are talking about. Well, hundreds of thousands of people are not paying the household charge, for many different reasons. But their viewpoints can be cast aside, and the poll question can be posed precisely in the same terms that the authorities imposing the charge consider things. But sure what odds, it’s only a poll, no?

• As someone who has paid his lawfully imposed taxes I was delighted to see this move that drives home the cost of providing services and that also creeps up behind some of the 800,000 lawbreakers. Next year it won’t happen because the Revenue will be collecting and even the really smart thought leaders like Sinn Feiners won’t want to expose themselves to an audit by those guys!

• Sorry but your not well

• I have paid every lawful tax in my life but it stops at the unfair tv licence and household charge. Great to be well off and have the money Mick like you. Sorry I don’t have the money to pay.

• Simon I have also come to that conclusion a long time ago regarding same. In fairness what kinda sick says he is glad of this to bolster his ego that he is being lawful? Incomprehensible.

• You would be delighted alright ! You and your ilk have no back bone and will follow where you are told to go . This is nothing to do with Legal or illegal taxes or fair or unfair taxes .This sir is downright bullying . Short and sweet . They will regret holding our children’s
      education to ransom. Where will it stop . Will we have to pay for education from the age of 4 in the future . Why should our children be held to ransom for the crooked dealings of Bertie Aherne , Charlie Haughey…et al. Did the Mahon Tribunal mean nothing ?
      This is a NATIONAL DISGRACE and will force people to react …………………..

• Unfortunately Mick this isn’t the place for common sense. Please leave yours at the door next time. Chris here can’t afford the household charge or tv license, tho one wonders if he is using a smart phone or computer to write these comments. I don’t have a major issue with people who refuse to pay taxes mind. I just agree that ones ability to pick and choose what taxes they will and won’t pay should be matched by governments ability to pick and choose want benefits and grants those individuals should be allowed to claim.

• Tommy 18/09/12 #

Great to see Clare CoCo take this initiative, no properly run organisation should hand out cash to its bad debtors without attempting to recover the overdue debt. Simple accounting that, lets hope other local authorities follow their lead.

• Of course! It’s the law! It needs to be paid!

• Laws come and go Joseph and tell me. Do you normally blindly obey the law? What if you lived in South Africa during apartheid it was the law to segregate whites form Blacks. Would you have obeyed or would you have said no, this is wrong. Well I say NO THIS IS WRONG and I am not paying full stop. I do not have the money. If it was fair I would agree in principal but it is not fair or equitable so its a bogus law.

• “Well I say NO THIS IS WRONG and I am not paying full stop. I do not have the money. If it was fair I would agree in principal but it is not fair or equitable so its a bogus law.”

…….but I still demand to be given my free grant money!

• Gagsy I got no grant money for college and thats a fact but i stand up for those who need a grant because they cannot afford college and tying it to the household charge is underhanded. Wait until they link it to something you need and then see how you feel. Its the students who come from low income families I am defending in this point not those who can afford to pay.

• Ha brilliant stuff from Christopher. Equating the household charge with apartheid. You are a regular Nelson Mandella alright. Get over yourself. So often we give out about councils and public servants not showing initiative. This is a great idea and should be applied to more that just these grants.

• It is a statute. Not a law. All this because the gombeens in government agree to pay the gambling debts of the super rich.

• its another way of conning money out of people who dont have that kind of money the government rob ya in anyway they can the country is a joke

• NO. NEVER.

• Suprise suprise!!!
    Usual result from journal.ie which just shows its lack of relevance to the opinions of the Irish people… Ive a feeling that the real general opinion on this is a strong majority of support. If you dont pay your dues why should you e allowed to draw down funds….I believe newstalk found that from their texts this morning..

• I watched Pat Kenny and The Frontline last night and in all my years I don’t believe I have ever seen a more unrealistic and grasping generation of young people. I was shocked to learn that fifty percent of all students are in receipt of grants. Last night they insisted this was their entitlement. Wow.
    When I was a student there were fees and no grants and now that we are bankrupt as a Nation they believe in Entitlement!
    The quicker we move to Government backed student loans and full cost fees the better. University education is a privilege NOT a right.

• Mick, to my knowledge grants have been around since the mid to late 70′s, so I assume you are of an earlier vintage! Reading between the lines you seem to suggest grants are something from the boom times, which is not true.

The idea of the grants was to take the privilege out of 3rd level education and make it more accessible to the wider community. Before grants were introduced it was very much the privileged few that went on to 3rd level education. Now we have the govt talking of the Smart Economy, regardless of this campaign this is the very time we should be investing in education, is it not better to pay out in a educational grant format than having those that are capable to go on to further education wasting away on the dole?

I agree the grants system should not be seen as guaranteed, but holding the HHC as a stick to beat those that perhaps are not in a position meet such demands is wrong. If this was a requirement at the out set then the Co. Co. should had made it transparent and set it out in the terms of the application process. Instead what they have done is wrote to all that applied saying you get nothing unless your Parents cough up their HHC receipt. Where is the transparency in that? If you are going to introduce a new requirement it must be done prior to the application process has started not when those reliant on the grant are just about to start or continue their 3rd level education.

• So your saying people in poverty should’t be allowed to break the poverty cycle? I wish people like you would realize that we are not going to lie down while our futures are taken away from us due to stupid selfish people that most people my age had no control over putting into government why should we pay for the mistakes? why aren’t the right people brought to justice, no we will blame the people who are disabled the elderly, students the easy targets not the bankers with the cushie jobs and security for the rest of their lives so why don’t you take your anger out on the right people.

• Good on Clare County Council! An imaginative move. I hope other councils follow suit.

• Are you serious. Blackmailing college students who in many cases pay for their own food and accommodation. Are independent adults to be held accountable for the actions of other independent adults!

Discrimination by association has now seemingly evolved into intimidation and extortion by association… How would you like to be held responsible for what your neighbours and/or friends do. E.g. your friend stole a car, “I’m afraid you will have to go to prison until they are caught and borught to justice.” “What, you think that isn’t fair!?!?” “Well their your friend and shouldn’t have stolen that car!”

• Booooo.

• The students’ grants are linked to the earning power of their parents so “independent adults” my eye.

• @Tertullian:
      “The students’ grants are linked to the earning power of their parents so “independent adults” my eye.”

You do realise you just provided one of many valid arguments as to why councils should NOT withhold grants based on payment of the household tax!

“grants are linked to the earning power of their parents”
      The parents are poor so they cannot help fund a childs third level education. Third level education is extremely important… to enable everyone to be educated the state provides support for those who cannot/do not have the financial background to go to college. So these individuals (more so than others with rich parents) need to independently fund there studies. Great idea (the council thinks to itself) we will target these young adults who need the money withholding/refusing them the support, because their parents didn’t pay a ludicrous tax (I’m not getting into another discussion about the demerits of the “household charge”).

Prey on the vulnerable, way to provide an example for society as a whole… what a bunch of bullies!

• Why shouldnt they have to pay? This sense of entitlement is ridiculous, you cant take everything and give nothing in return, the money has to come from somewhere.
    The law is the law whether you agree with it or not. If parents wont contribute to their childrens education then why should everyone else have to?

• The parents don’t receive the grant, the students do. The parents are liable for the household charge, the students aren’t. It’s that simple. Following your logic everyone on the list of revenue defaulters should be forbidden access to A&E and so should all their children.

• the law my arse, slavery was enshrined in law too, given your logic you would have been a slave owner.

• yes the money comes from the €2347 those of us who don’t qualify for the grant pay as well as those doing masters and post-grad courses now that the post-grad grant was abolished.

• medred 18/09/12 #

Stephenaie people who attend AE pay a charge for the pleasure of doing so but if I coorect your analogy to medical cards then yes people who break the law should be denied a medical card

• Medred, payment of the property tax is not part of an income assessment (I assume you meant assess instead of access in the post further above). However, I do agree it should be a sliding scale.

Also the A&E charge is €100 and is nothing near the cost it takes to treat someone who is admitted to A&E. Should we deny them all the other charges as well? As for your proposal to deny medical cards to people who break the law, how do you propose we deal with the resulting homeless population? Or the burial of those who are the victims of your proposal.

Also, I give it three posts before you insult me. I see that despite your twitter account being suspended (my guess would be for abusing other twitter users) you’re still able to post here.

• medred 18/09/12 #

End like you mean to continue

You don’t seem to understand that the 100 charge or a referral is all that is needed to get access to all public health services while failing to declare income or failure to pay relevant taxes is and should be a reason to be denied a medical card. If you worked in the real world you would understand that many people don’t have medical cards and struggle to pay for thier own and there childrens healthcare. I don’t understand how you think failure to provide a medical card would result in homelessness the HSE won’t take your house. While it is clearly to illegal to deny some emergency healthcare.

• Well, look at that. It only took one post for you to insult me. I was giving you far too much credit.

Firstly, of course €100 is all that is needed, I’m perfectly aware of that. Public health services should be available to all, the reason people who wouldn’t pass a means don’t get these referrals is because of the 16 month or so waiting list most services take. For example for me to have my hearing checked, I am partially deaf by the way, I had to wait 18 months to be told I have 15% hearing deficit. Second, I struggle to pay for my own healthcare. I haven’t had any dental work since I started college 6 years ago because I can’t afford it. And believe me, I need it, but I am just over the limit to qualify for a medical card and even if I did qualify for a medical card it would cover me for two fillings when I need six (according to the check up I got a dentistry student friend of mine to do). But hey, I can have all the extractions I’d like!

Now I know you’re going to wait all of, oh maybe, one more post before you imply I’m some privileged little rich girl and say something like “GO CRY TO YOUR MIDDLE CLASS MOMMY” again so I’ll just say this – Mohamed Reda Bennani, you don’t know me, you don’t know anything about me, leave me alone.

• medred 18/09/12 #

You seem to have an inferiority complex so please don’t displace yourself hatred towards me.
      I am in no way arguing that the health service in Ireland is good I’m saying that it is crap but it is crap for all just some are in Labour’s and Fianna Fails special group and don’t have to pay the token AE fee and get free GP care the rest of us who try and work have to pay E60 for a 5 minute consult. Same applies to college grant the family should pay the token gesture in order to get a grant that is unfairly handed out. I know people who have millionaire uncles and grand parents who pay their accomodation and living expenses while they get a grant. But they are labour supports and socialists… I guess that makes them more entitled than me

• Misplaced hatred? Oh please. I’ve got a screenshot of the above mentioned comment if you’d like to see it?

Now stop talking to me, stop contacting me and if at all possible, get some anger
      management counselling. You’re harassing me, you’re misusing the comments thread and you’re boring everyone else.

• I love a good “report this comment” option.

• No.

• I love the sound of an embarrasing retreat……………

A COUNTY COUNCIL which had yesterday indicated plans to withhold student grants from households which had not paid the Household Charge has said it has abandoned the plans.

South Tipperary County Council, which yesterday said it would seek proof of payment of the €100 charge before releasing grants to third-level students who qualify for them, is no longer proceeding with the plans.

County secretary John O’Mahony told TheJournal.ie that the council had made the decision after taking “further legal advice”.

“Our initial legal opinion [...] was that we would have had an entitlement under general local authority legislation to withhold money,” he said.

But when the matter was looked at more closely on a national level… on that basis it was decided not to continue.
    The council had given regard “to legal advice that was made available by the Department of Education and the Department of the Environment,” as well as legal analysis carried in the media.

O’Mahony stressed, however, that the decision had been made on an independent basis and that he was not aware of any directives being issued from either of the two government departments.

He added that South Tipperary County Council would “never have been our intention to do anything that could be construed as illegal.”

This morning’s Irish Times reports that eight councils had indicated their plans to seek proof of payment of the divisive €100 charge before grants would be issued.

Councils in Leitrim, Clare, Cavan, South Dublin, Kilkenny, Limerick City, Longford and Roscommon all told the newspaper they were considering the move.

Yesterday environment minister Phil Hogan said the councils were not acting on Department instruction, but that he supported councils who opted to do so.

Those councils were “doing no more and no less” than any council should, Hogan told the Dáil.

• The way I see it, there is one way to stop the blatant blackmail from Clare Co. Co. and all other councils. Those that can not produce a receipt for the HHC, deduct the €100 plus the interest accrued to date from the initial grant payment. Once the student produces the HHC receipt they can be refunded the amount deducted from the grant.

It’s not perfect solution, but IMO would reduce the protests. I still feel it is underhanded to be putting this new requirement in place so late into the application process. This should had been set out in the terms of the application at the very start not when the college term is about to start.

• When you go to tax your car, you have to provide proof of insurance – same principle!

• Another household charge poll on TheJournal…..

• They shouldn’t withold the whole lot… just €100 and whatever the official penelties for late payment are.

• O'Reilly 18/09/12 #

Campaigners against the charge argued that you shouldn’t pay cause the money was going to banks, not local authorities. Those same authorities have since had their funding cut based on the compliance gap. Sinn Fein, who supported non compliance held a protest in Dublin two weeks ago against cuts to local funding! Clare councill come up with a reasonable initiative to boost compliance and there’s outrage. Why do people think they can roll up to the counter, put their hand out for taxpayers money while at the same time not paying their own way…

• I suppose Clare Co. Council could give the grant ,and withhold the 100 euro for the household charge from those who haven’t paid…

• Except that would be against the law, since the grant is paid to the students, who are not liable for the charge, and not to the parents, who are.

• Ann, they cannot do that because you have to sign up for the charge in the first place. That why people are so anxious about this charge…how much it will go up to next year. If you do sign up and pay you are ” in the system ” as they say and cannot go back…

• We need to lose the attitude in Ireland that we are owed the fulfilment of every dream by the State. The focus needs to shift towards our responsibilities as citizens, rather than constantly demanding privileges as rights.

Unfortunately this attitude is not restricted to the government; it has permeated every area of society. And the days of 3rd level handouts needs to come to an end; make it a government student loan scheme like everywhere else.

• ” And the days of 3rd level handouts needs to come to an end; make it a government student loan scheme like everywhere else.”

And where has the student loan scheme worked effectively? In the UK? Oh no wait maybe the US?

Add New Comment