TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

President warns of democratic and intellectual crises

Michael D Higgins told the audience at the LSE that if Ireland had retained some of the elements of its national revival, the economic collapse may not be as bad as it is.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

IN AN ADDRESS to an audience at the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) last night, President Michael D Higgins warned that we are moving towards both intellectual and democratic crises.

Praising the founders of LSE, Higgins said they offered an alternative form of society that would deepen democracy, advocate socialism over capitalism and prevent the violence of a class conflict.

In contrast, he claimed Ireland’s recent economic troubles may have been lessened if some of these ideas – taken on board by the leaders of the country’s revival and independence – were retained.

He also said that the idea of rational markets with infinite growth was the dominant myth of recent decades. Politics has taken second place to unregulated markets, he added.

In so many ways the tragedy of modern Ireland’s recent difficulties is that it did what the founders of the LSE hoped.  It was the first English-speaking country to decolonise, to walk in darkness down what would become a better lit road…The problem for Ireland was the failure to achieve economic lift-off at the same moment as soon after.

Higgins said that by the time Ireland started to experience an economic boom in recent times, both the country’s leaders and people had “all but lost connection with the cultural and political elements of national revival” which could have provided “an ethical brake”, as well as the regulation that was needed.

We have, as a consequence, been living through a period of extreme individualism, a period where the concept of society itself has been questioned.

Privatisation – road back to autocracy

During his speech, Higgins talked about a “drift to unfreedom”, noting the importance of the State but also recognising its current faults.

As parliament accountability stands in conflict with unaccountable economic forces, the Irish president said he sees an “emerging democratic crisis”.

Having squandered credibility through light regulation and thus powerless regulatory authorities the State itself has been made vulnerable.

However, privatisation is not the answer, he said.

The president quoted Richard Titmuss, “Privatisation is the road back to autocracy, in which a hollowed-out state is bereft of anything meaningful to attract the support of the citizen – especially the marginalised, excluded from the mainstream of society”.

Continued allegiance to democracy involves an open acknowledgement of the fraught relationship between state power and political activism. Citizen participation through the promotion of a vibrant civil society is the best hope of democracy in the 21st century.

On the eve of announcements by the Government to sell a multitude of State assets, Higgins said it would be “a tragic error” to walk away from the State.

Intellectual crisis

Higgins did not leave the universities blameless, stating that scholars who claim the legitimation of a university have stood in support of unregulated markets, unaccountable capital flows and virtual financial products.

We are experiencing now I believe an intellectual crisis that is far more serious than the economic one which fills the papers, dominates the programmes in our media.

He challenged universities to recover the “moral purpose of original thought” and “caring and concerned teaching”.

He suggested the establishment of an “endowed Chair” between the LSE and an Irish university so the “ethico-cultural idea of Europe and of the national could be invoked to check the drift to unfreedom”.

More: Michael D to arrive in London on first official trip abroad>

Read next:

Comments (56 Comments)

• President Higgins speaks the truth about the Irish nation. We need to listen carefully to his wisdom in making the choices we have to make over the coming years. So delighted that the President included the words and ideas of the great social scientist and humanitarian Richard Titmuss. Titmuss’s writings should be read by all politicians, especially those who claim to be left wing.Great to have a President who can bring a depth of analysis to our current difficulties – he is doing us proud.

• So heartening to be represented internationally by someone with Higgins’ depth. We’ve been very lucky with our Presidents this past while. I was going to observe that the US surely had us beaten in the ‘first english-speaking country to decolonise’ stakes, but I imagine Native Americans would disagree.

• a pity our politicians in the dail are so far removed from the intellectual capabilities of our good president.

• If only are other so called leaders would listen. With noonan, howlin and the rest announcing the start of the (Ireland Inc) sale today. It’s a pity accountability and integrity and decent morals have left our politicians. It’s time to realize the main causes of this financial nightmare where not caused by the average consumer but by speculating banks and other fraudulent market forces. If only a proper investigation was done and the perpetrators of this fraud where held to account.

• Correct. Will that happen ? Don’t hold your breath. What Michael D said has some ring of truth to it. He is now part of that system of way over the top salaries this country can’t afford. Slash it down & show us some of your real – ahem – socialist credentials. Divert some of that money to helping those in genuine need of some cash injection to buy food & heating. I was in a chipper the other day & some young gal came in with her buggy. She rummaged the price of a bag of chips from her purse. She looked a very decent gal who is at a very low financial point in her life. She is a low point where some money needs to go to help her up & move on with life. Not some arty-farty “socialist” on a huge salary spouting the bleedin’ obvious over in London. I’m very cynical when it comes to the Irish breed of socialist, especially at his level, who like to spout their so-called “socialism” to make them feel good about themselves.

• Should read – “she is at a low point …” -

• Your point is well made Declan. There’s an asumption among some that the interests of the state and society are the same and to label this assumption socialism. As this crisis unfolds it is becoming increasingly obvious that this assumption is in error and that the state is quite happy to heap the burden of it’s incompetence onto society, while protecting itself.

• That is a sad story Declan but I don’t think you can blame MDH for that. He has always championed the poor and in particular poor women, as he sees their involvement in politics and communities as Ireland’s best chance of beating the poverty trap.

• I know, Reáda. I wasn’t blaming MDH for that. I quite like the chap actually. My point is why pay these people way ott wages at a time when we can’t afford it. That poor wee girl deserves better & a chance. She is one of way too many in similar circumstances. Isn’t socialism meant to spread the wealth, esp among the least well off ? She was a very pleasant young girl & the sad look on her face belongs in a Charles Dickens novel. Not Ireland in 2012. No doubt about it when u say MDH has enormous sympathy for people in her position but his way ott pay cheque is the sticking point with me & his espousal of socialism. Anyway – for what it’s worth. Have a nice day !

• It was a great speech . I felt when I heard it , some one at last was on our side …

• I was at the lecture last night. It was a great speech and he spoke alot of truths. Everyone was incredibly impressed with what he had to say. He is a great asset to our state and is well respected and regarded in political and cultural sectors. He is a wonderful spokesperson for Ireland, in a time when we need them most. Fair play Michael D!!

• Wise man Higgins! The world needs more politics like him !

• The main site of a democratic and intellectual crisis is in Leinster House. Where are those guys and girls during debates?

• I love Michael D!

• MDH is an ideal President for our times. Throughout his public life, he has been a staunch critic of the kind of crass individualism and unquestioned devotion to markets that have played such a key role in our economic troubles. During the ‘celtic tiger’ years, he was very much a voice in the wilderness speaking out on these themes, but now he sums up perfectly how most of us feel about those frenzied and ultimately wasted years.

We have been lucky with our recent Presidents. McAleese was also very much of her time in that her Presidency coincided with the peace process and of course Mary Robinson’s election symbolised our move away from oppressive religious control towards the more socially liberal and progressive society that finally began to take shape in the 1990s.

• Great speech

• Ooh tetchy!
    how can 1 person express the opinions of everyone?

• Fair enough. What he says is true. So much for his “socialism” on his megga euro pay cheque, tho’. “Champagne Socialist” comes to mind. He should be on no more than E120k. Recover some moral ground there & set an example.

• Personally i think higgins spouts aload of shite.

• not a fraction of what you do.
      Higgins is a fine statesman

• So do you sometimes. Just saying. Listen to MDH. He is a visionary.

• Big difference. I’m a nobody where speaking shite does not really make a difference. Higgins is the president of Ireland. He should represent us as a whole taking in all cultures and beliefs instead of spouting his own personal ideological bull.

• How does he exactly Begrudgy? You can’t just make a claim like that without backing it up with examples or analysis.

• Hey, tell us Begrudgy.
      What plurarist ideology might you present as a summary of the present crisis, it’s causes, effects and possible outcome? What all encompassing political stratagy would you suggest as a road to recovery?
      A little bit of what the FFers do best? Perhaps a little bit of Gilmore’s and Kenny’s duplicity? On top of that we could throw in a little bit of SF’s economic stratagy and then a little bit of the ULA’s muddled thinking…
      Know what? It getting a bit like what we have already.
      Anyway, over to you…

• I’ve an idea Messr Higgins, how about not referring to your electorate as a ‘tragedy’? If you want to jig things up a bit, how about (for fucking once) a single political figure does not polemically categorise all current events under an economic hermeneutic? How about a non-market solution to people’s problems?

Example; How about valuing someone’s education based, not on the economic return from it, but the actual development of a person with morals, ethics, knowledge and understanding of their surroundings? Perhaps, lets say, enough understanding of the economic system to realise that. as a builder or banker respectively, your foreman had you a) building houses faster and more expensively than you were selling houses or b) extending more credit to the people buying the houses than they could afford to realistically pay back?

I mean, sometimes the grass roots accountability of people’s mothers and fathers to the economic crisis astounds me. I’d maybe have said “no” to a person asking for a mortgage to the value of 700% their annual income, or maybe asked my foreman why we were building houses in and roads to the midlands to settle people primarily seeking housing in cities COMPLETELY lacking in infrastructure that, with that man power, could have been made megalopoli. Then again though, I can fucking tell me head from my arse, and my arse from a potato, can’t fucking I?

• Are these the thoughts of a deregulated President abroad or did the Government sanction both his leaving of the State and the words in public he uttered.

• “What lies broken, we can surely fix, but only if we break in turn the habits of mind and the tyranny of the man-made institutions which we first allowed to break the things we value – our freedom of association, our independence of action, and our individual chance of prosperity.”
      Sean Corrigan

• Higgins is an intellectual crisis!

• You omitted the word “in” Sean. MDH is is an intellectual crisis. But it must be noted that those he chose for his Council of State are not bound by the code of silence. They are quite outspoken about the current financial crisis in which we find ourselves.

• “Higgins is an intellectual crisis!”
      Correction:
      “MDH is is an intellectual crisis.”

Like is…

• Reada, I hope you’ll forgive my indulgence. I recently came across some articles by Irish economist Sean Corrigan and I am deeply impressed by his understanding & insights into the current crisis and how to address this.
      Corrigan is mostly well regarded in the economic & financial circles having not only predicted this current crisis but also the Dotcom bubble in the late ninties.
      In contrast with MDH’s myopic and dated musings at the LSE, which I find as an embarrassment as an Irish person.
      ” With the glaring failure to predict even the possibility – much less circumstance – of the recent Crash and with the even more foreseeable failure of its tired old, rehashed nostrums of ending the slump by means of an inequitable programme of corporate welfare, inflationary “unorthodoxy”, and the unleashing of the debt-spewing monster of the state to gorge itself upon such things as individuals and private concerns no longer care to consumer, it should hardly be controversial to asset that mainstream macroeconomics – and the reputations of the many panderers to power who practice it – are equally broken.”
      Sean Corrigan

• Thanks for not quoting Nietzsche today Sean. How does your quote this day support your assertion that MDH is in an intellectual crisis?

Interesting that as Head of a christian democratic State he was “Praising the founders of LSE…who offered an alternative form of society that would deepen democracy, advocate socialism over capitalism”. Fair play to him…

• Any web addr for him Sean ?

• @Declan
      Here’s something to start with.
      http://goldnews.bullionvault.com/user/sean_corrigan

• I understand that the essence of MDH’s address was to highlight the ”intellectual crisis” that “all but lost connection with the cultural and political elements of national revival”. That intellectual crisis through the adoption of the rampant neoliberialism of the last decade gave rise to the loss of critical thought in teaching in the schools and universitys where social responsibility should have went hand in hand with worthwhile education.
      His comments on the sale of state assets are timely and proper starkly pointing to it as the ”drift to unfreedom” and ”the abandonment of the state” – the last nail in the coffin of our free and democratic republic.
      He is quiet clear about the ‘fraught relationship’ between the state power (government) and civil society and promotes ‘political activism’ as the ‘best hope for democracy in the 21st century.
      MDH has in these few words identified the problem and proposed a solution. The only ‘intellectual crisis’ I see is in the minds of our government and state institutions and us for letting it happen.
      Well said Michael D. A voice in the wilderness.

• John Murphy
      Michael D is indeed a voice in the wilderness in Political circles ,
      but I reckon there are a good many people out here who believe
      like him that we ” advocate socialism over capitalism and prevent
      the violence of a class conflict”. What a fantastically simple concept .
      Well done Mr President .
      He covered everything in this speech and gave such a clear insight
      to his own understanding of what is happening in our society ,the
      ”drift to unfreedom” and the ”tragic error” to sell state assets.The
      man is genius.

• Indeed Eileen.
      And to say that in the manner which he did from the shores of our nearest neighbour, best customer, closest trading partner and conscientious objector to the demands of the euro zone was a stroke of genius.
      We have a unique advantage in the messed up state of the European economy in that our biggest economic asset is our trading links to the non euro British economy.
      When you look back on the embarrassing tomfoolery that took place between Sarkozy and Kenny in Brussels it would almost make one wish to have Haughty back! ( I could just imagine him telling Sarky to ‘fuck off ya little bollix and pull someone else’s ear!) We are an embarrassment and a disgrace and Kenny is a cringfest.
      Michael D gives us purpose and pride when there is damn all else.

If we have any chance of extracting ourselves from this financial euro mess it’s through the strengthening our relations with Britain and other non euro zone countries and it’s fair to say that Michael D sees this.

• Sorry Sean but that’s just unforgivable. I might forgive you next time you’re on my side. ;) I love MDH!!!

• Well said John.
      MDH is our biggest asset and when I heard his speech I felt relieved and at ease somewhat . He knows what is happening ,he knows how we feel. He has experience . I feel so proud of him and in fairness there is no comparison between him and Kenny. Kenny’s tom foolery with Sarkozy was as you say cringe worthy.
      I have believed for a long time now that our greatest ally is Britain . We have all grown up and are in a grown up relationship with them . Long may it continue .He is a good man.

• @ Eileen. This language isn’t unique to MDH.
      “Fascism supports a socially united collective national society and opposes socially divided class-based societies and socially-divided individualist-based societies.[16] Fascists claim it is a trans-class movement, advocating resolution to domestic class conflict within a nation to secure national solidarity.[17] While fascism opposes domestic class conflict, it favours a proletarian national culture and claims that its goal of nationalizing society emancipates the nation’s proletariat, and promotes the assimilation of all classes into proletarian national culture.[18] It opposes contemporary bourgeois class-based society and culture for allegedly being based on selfish and hedonistic individualism that results in plutocracy and war profiteering at the expense of the nation.[19] Fascism claims that bourgeois-proletarian conflict primarily exists in national conflict between proletarian nations versus bourgeois nations; fascism declares support for the victory of proletarian nations.”
      Be careful what you wish for.

• Sean O K
      I am always careful for what I wish for , and I am not even going to pretend I understood all you said in your comment , and I thank you for making it BUT I do believe that when men like MDH come out and speak up for us the ordinary people and stand up for us as President of his country (the proletariat as you call us) then I say fair play and thank you Mr President . As far as I am concerned he is the only public representative of ”The Establishment” to come out and speak for us . Mr Kenny and Mr Gilmore should take note .

• Sean
      You don’t have a likn to that quote but it seems like an extract from some facist manifesto. You could replace the word ‘facisism’ with ‘socialism’ or ‘communism’ and the same passage would do. It seems like ‘a one size fits all’ piece of political retoric that could be lain down in any context and spouted from the mouth of any despot or cultural icon on the road to totalitarian rule.
      There is one very important word missing however – ‘democracy’.

• John the quote is from wikipedia’s definition of facism.
      You are correct the word facism could be interchanged with socialism or communism as these ideologies (along with corporatism) exist under the umbrella of collectivist ideologies.
      I find it concerning that our President, given the objectivity required of his office, would deliver such a deeply political address.
      Collectivism, while it may appear well meaning, readily lends itself to exclusivism and has a poor human rights record in nations where it has become the dominant ideology.

• Sean O K
      ”I find it concerning that our President, given the objectivity required of his office, would deliver such a deeply political address”
      I do not believe that his speech was deeply political.It was current and up to date and mirrored the feelings of us as a people who are deeply annoyed with the state of our nation …

• @ Sean: I couldn’t agree more about MDH using his office for delivering political messages. His office should be above that. I wonder did Gilmore (as Minister for Foreign Affairs) sanction the speech. If so it shows how much Labour are talking out of both sides of their mouth, with the President criticising policy initiated by one of his Labour colleagues. Populist hypocrites.

• Ah, Sean, Ryan. They’re politicians. How many sides of their mouths do you expect them to speak out of? Given your critique of the State, Sean, I wonder why it should bother you what its head should utter…

• You’re correct Ryan, this address would have required prior government approval.
      The issues raised by this address:
      1. It is overtly political.
      2. It calls in to question MDH’s objectivity or lack of.
      3. It is factually incorrect to identify individualism and capitalism as the source of Irelands difficulties. The ideologies that have lead to this crisis are corporatism, statism & collectivism.

• skeolawn 22/02/12 #

“President Michael D Higgins warned that we are moving towards both intellectual and democratic crises.”

Ireland has been in this crisis for years now. The Celtic Tiger and its aftermath are the results.

Wow Michael, you are a true visionary explaining the obvious.

• Adam you obviously do not understand how the Dail works. I can just see the usual comedians lining up their response now!
    It is not necessary for a TD to be in the Chamber to participate as the contributions there are usually set pieces but dictated by speaking times. How ever archaic you might consider the system your comments are invalid unless you know this. A full presence at all times would actually be silly and a waste of time.

• Just my comic insertion Mark:
      They are pretty quick to fill the chamber when it comes to voting on issues like the introduction of Troika inspired ‘austerity’ measures. Oh! And of course vacating it early of a Friday to go on their expense claimed trips home to check on how the tarmac laying is going.

• It is not the function of the President to advocate socialism over capitalism, or vice versa.

Add New Comment