TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Quinn family call for public inquiry in wake of Liberty Insurance job losses

The family say a public inquiry into the Administration of Quinn Insurance is now more necessary “than ever”.

Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

THE QUINN FAMILY has said this evening that the 285 job losses announced at Liberty Insurance was “a terrible indictment on the deal agreed by Anglo Irish Bank and the Joint Administrators of Quinn Insurance in April 2011″.

Liberty Insurance, which took over Quinn Insurance, said that he redundancies had been deemed necessary following a review of the market entry moves and its cost base.

In a statement, the family said that in October 2010 – six-and-a-half months after the administrators were appointed to Quinn Insurance – the Irish public were assured the Irish public that ‘there would be no call on the Insurance Compensation Fund’.

However, the Quinns said, the figure now stands at €1.65 billion.

They continued:

In April 2011, the Administrators assured both the staff of Quinn Insurance and the Irish Public that “all the jobs are preserved in the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland.
In August 2012, the Irish Government stated that it had ‘been misled by incomplete information’ from the Administrators. The Quinn family has continuously maintained that the deal agreed between Anglo Irish Bank and the Administrators will have the worst possible outcome for the State.

The family said they had “repeatedly” called for a public inquiry into the Administration of Quinn Insurance and have openly confirmed their willingness to participate in same.

“More recently we have been denied an audience before the Oireachtas Finance Committee to voice our concerns in relation to these and related matters,” they said. “Following today’s developments we feel more than ever that a public inquiry is required.”

Read: GALLERY: At least 5,000 attend rally supporting Quinn family in Co Cavan>

Read: Liberty Insurance to cut 285 jobs>

Read next:

Comments (92 Comments)

• “Is there anything to be said for saying another mass”

• Reg 15/11/12 #

And can we have the insurance levy just paid by the Quinn family and their supporters only please?

• Here we go again, Feck off Quinns, you’re deluded, your time is up, you messed up, face the consequences, let Ireland move on !

• Reg, you are one of the people being fooled by the Anglo propaganda that you and I are paying for. If the Quinn family’s proposal to pay the State 2.8 billion euros, save all the jobs and create 1700 additional jobs, HAD NOT BEEN INAPPROPRIATELY DISCARDED BY THOSE WITH VESTED INTERESTS, THERE WOULD BE NO INSURANCE LEVY, THE TAXPAYERS WOULD BE BILLIONS OF EUROS BETTER OFF AND THERE WOULD BE THOUSANDS MORE IN EMPLOYMENT TODAY.

THAT IS A FACT WHICH WILL BE PROVEN.

• Stephanie, do you not understand that the Quinn family did everything possible to prevent the people of Ireland being burdened in any way and they offered to pay the State 2.8 billion, despite the fact that 2.3 billion of that was advanced by Anglo for market manipulation all of which is a matter of public record.
      As for the Quinn supporters Reg, you and all the Quinn bashers really should google concerned irish citizens facebok page and Quinn/Anglo blogspot. I guarantee you that you will see another side to this story. Have a read about what Dr. Rory Hanley writes about Quinn supporters. Shame that you and so many are falling for the Anglo propaganda that we are all paying for.
      IF YOU WANT TO DO SOMETHING CONSTRUCTIVE, WHY DONT YOU ASK TO SEE A COPY OF THE LEGAL/PROFESSIONAL ADVICE THAT THE FINANCIAL REGULATOR RELIED UPON TO PUT QUINN INSURANCE INTO ADMINISTRATION AND REPORT BACK ON JOURNAL WHEN YOU HAVE OBTAINED IT. I WONT HOLD MY BREATH.

• Reg 16/11/12 #

Gearoid, the losses at Quinn Insurance in the two years before the Quinn family lost control were the best part of one billion euros. Quinn was screwed before even if he never heard of Anglo.

• They offered to pay the state 2.8 billion. Ha.

Sure I could offer to pay the state 2.8 billion as well. Easy to offer what you don’t have.

Another Gilheany defending the Quinns. Hmmmm coincidence?

• Reg and Paul , where do I begin? The alleged losses in Quinn Insurance was not losses atall as they were solely down to the fact that the reserves were set at two and a half times that of any other insurer and the write down of property prices and Paul, how exactly is the current strategy performing :
      I would say that the failure to recoup one cent and the squandering of millions of taxpayers money plus the loss of over 1500 jobs is not exactly success.

Have a look at Concerned IRish Citizens facebook page and Quinn/Anglo blogspot if you want to know the FACTS

• And we’ll pay for this inquiry by putting another 3% levy on all insurance policies.

• mike 15/11/12 #

The Quinn’s left that company 1.65bn in the hole, due to keeping illegal reserve levels. There will have to be a lot more cost cutting before its back on track. In America Sean would get 20 years in jail for that illegal trading.

• Cara 15/11/12 #

Well ok, have an enquiry into the whole lot and finish this whole debacle once and for all. Remember that the administrators said that the company was very well run months after taking it over. Also remember that Liberty was in effect gifted this company – they bought it for €1, with a lot of the bad claims being left with the administrators. They said there would be no more redundancies….. They also were not interested in the British business, let the business run down until it was worth nearly nothing and are now going to reenter the British market – probably getting this business at a knockdown price….. Oh yes, we are all being played for fools…..but not necessarily by Quinn.

• Cara, whether it appeared to be well run or not months before is irrelevant. What elderfield discovered was that assets held in reserve by Quinn insurance had holds on them from other parts of the Quinn group, making them invalid as reserves, thus the stated position of the company was entirely false.

This isn’t a case of a healthy bank account being ignored because of some conspiracy against the Quinns – it’s like the bank discovering you have another mortgage secured on your house secretly, invalidating their security.

• Mike, if you are correct in saying that the Quinn’s left a hole of 1.65billion in the insurance company, can you explain why one of the administrators went before a High Court judge for months after administration and said that there would be NO call on the Insurance Compensation Fund.

Do you not think that it is a bit strange that the Quinn family are repeatedly calling for an inquiry and all the other parties are running for cover, including the Government. Those who have nothing to hide, hide nothing.

• Bad news to hear of the job losses. Liberty has been working hard to generate a good public profile. Quinn family should leave it alone, they have done enough damage already.

• Who really cares what the Quinn family have to say about anything. Or their supporters for that matter.

• Go away , and have some of your 100,000 cake I’m sure you were thinking of your employes eating that !!

• Finbar, are you so gullible that you do not realize that the story of the cake was a distraction that Anglo fed the media so as to distract from the mess that they are making of their entire strategy on Quinn. Well done Anglo, another goof who believed your nonsense.

• Gearoid. I agree with everything you say. Unfortunately a lot of comment on this comes from badly read, ill informed people who do not bother to look past the Anglo propaganda. The saying “none so blind as those who don’t want to see” comes to mind.

• +1 Alison, It seems that the propaganda machine has started early today, it’s a shame so few of us are open minded enough to see exactly what is happening. I’m beginning to wonder if it is worthwhile staying in this country between the level of incompetence in government and the lack of will amongst the population to challenge the status quo.

• Oh. So the €100,000 personal cake “put through” the company didn’t happen. It’s just Anglo spinning this story??

• I’d say €100k cake is unreal in fairness.

• How much would a public enquiry cost it would be far more beneficial to overhaul white collar crimes legislation. The sooner we treat perpetrators of white collar crime as criminals the better for the citizens of this country. In America Bernie Madoff admits to running a ponzi scheme and is arrested tried and sentenced to 150 odd years within the space of 6 months. In Ireland Breifne Ó’Brien has been sent forward for trial 4 years after the investigation started.

• Y.B cop on to your self ,, the British government looked into Quinn first and the sums did not add up ,, is the hole world trying to rip off the quinns ,, leave
    It to the high courts and not wast any more of the Irish tax payers money it’s just another pr stunt by the quinns

• Finbar, I despair when I read such nonsense. Who do you think is paying the enormous legal fees for Anglo in attempting to finish off the Quinns so that the corruption at the heart of the establishment would not be exposed in the big case. Who do you think is paying for the enormous PR and security fees for Anglo fat cats including several security guards who accompany these fat cats every day in the High Court even when they have no business being there. Did I not read recently that Anglo had conceded that they had spent 80 Million euros in legal fees in pursuit of Quinn and WHAT HAS BEEN RECOUPED TO DATE-YES YOU MAY BE COPPING ON-NOT ONE RED CENT.

By the way , the truth will come out and the corruption at the heart of the establishment and those who tried to cover it up will be exposed.

• CM 17/11/12 #

Have you a source for this? The british arm of Quinn insurance was regulated by the Irish financial regulator so cant see what it’d have to do with the uk govt

• Apparently the previous owners were a bunch of cowboys. The cement monopolists deserve a response on this. It might teach them how to run an Insurance business, albeit a little too late.

• Cement monopolists?? Quinn broke the monopoly(CRH etc) and price fixing in the cement and glass business’(IGB) in this country. And brought cheaper car, life and home insurance to us also!! He bet too big on a insider dealing scam (Anglo, and let greed lead him by the nose certainly), but your comment is ill-informed at the least, and ignorant at best.

• RP, you’re right about the cement monopoly. You’re also right that they gave us cheaper insurance, but only because they had an unsustainable business model in which insufficient reserves were being maintained to pay future claims – this was in effect like an enormous pyramid scheme which was destined to crash at some point as it couldn’t keep growing indefinitely.

• His insurance pricing was a ponzi scam and his cement business was a built on basing his operations in Northern Ireland and exploiting British government grant schemes (designed to support the ailing economy there).
      However he used those grants to subsidise himself in the Republic at the expense of operators in the Republic.

Not that anyone should have sympathy for the incumbent dominators of the the market in the Republic, Quinn was still monopolising market inequalities and benefitted from the monopolised market in the Republic to his own gain. Far from white as snow.

• And insofar as an insider dealing scam goes – I think Quinn is innocent of that. If he knew what a crooked mess Anglo was internally he would never have bet the farm on it.

• Got a renewal bill for house insurance from BOI insurance this morning & it reads out €535, increased by €34 even no claim for 7 yrs. What a rip off!

• The Quinn family have cost Ireland enough. They are still keeping money hidden from our state and have the nerve to ask we pay for an enquiry? Pay your debts and shut up…..

• This family have a brass neck. Junior & senior should be jailed for contempt until they give up all property.

• “The family said they had “repeatedly” called for a public inquiry into the Administration of Quinn Insurance and have openly confirmed their willingness to participate in same.”

Forgive me if I am sceptical about the quality of the Quinns’ “participation” in official proceedings.

• Give them the enquiry.

• Quinn broke the cement monopoly? Maybe he did. Just a pity that he broke so much more by the time he was finished. Greed always catches up! Cement….glass…hotels…bars…golf courses..ummm…Id love an insurance company….ah to hell with it…lets own a bank!

• Quinn broke many rules and he was permitted to do so by the people on power. He was even encouraged to brake the law by our council officials. One of his quarries did not have planning permission from the local council yet they bought stone etc from them. Behind most successful business is a crime. He could have been shut down then and saved our country a fortune.

• The poor track record of Quinns badly running the insurance business is costing us all enough already , they have NO credibility , what’s next, Michael Fingleton calls for enquiry into mortgages , Sean Fitz calls for enquiry into banks , FF calls for inquiry into last govt , bank calls for enquiry into bank bailout, Mick Wallace calls for inquiry into Revenue commissioners , Ronan Keating calls for murder enquiry into his cover versions…..

• I am disgusted by the Quinn family and their supporters including the Fr Darcys, Hartes, and Gaa supporters. Also the politicians in Fermanagh supporting these people who have caused us all so much financial hardship. Let us boycott the Republic of Cavan and Fermanagh with our tourism euros and let them take care of themselves as obviously they do not care about us, the rest of the country.

• Tommy,
      I believe these people need our support to get a full inquiry into the administration of Quinn Insurance and think you should follow the lead of the supporters who know the callibre of the Quinn family and are prepared to stand up to injustice. Mickey Harte is a man who has seen injustice at its worst and I’m sure he would tell you both sides of every story should be told or the people with power can tell you anything.

• Oh how the “mighty” have fallen !!

• As if they really care bunch of gamblers

• Stop this delusion the Quinns are history now please jail them

• Get out of here Quinn sympathizers – look I work in Insurance and everybody knows Quinn Insurance was a joke – They never settled cases they let there run for years always putting off the day of reckoning

As for the Anglo Shares – It was more than likely his fugitive nephew of spoiled brat son that engage in the contracts for Difference – These are the instruments of the devil – the city of london deals in there and they saw two muck savages from Ireland whose greed was limitless

Go away Quinns and please can somebody Jail the lot of them

• Y.F. 15/11/12 #

I hope there is a public inquiry into this farce that they call what has happened Quinn Direct since it was put into administration. Following the company being put into administration we were promised that there would be no job losses. Matthew Elderfield said that he was concerned about Quinn direct and put it into administration….after examining the books for 3 days. 3 days!!!! He refuses to show anybody any legal advice he got to take the drastic action he took. Why is this? Could it be that there was none? On the day that the administrators took over the company, they had suffecient reserves in their reserve bank…and more reserves in it than most of the other insurance companies in the country at the time. They paid the staff redundancies that were so attractive (over 3 times the standard redundancy rate) that the staff who didn’t get it were crying over it. They then paid the staff who were left ‘keep them happy money’. They paid some of the top managers and experts who came into the company up to 1000 euro AN HOUR! 18 months on there is a defecit of 1.65 bn in the company. No-body will explain where this came from. The Quinn family are repeatedly asking for an inquiry into it (2 t.v appearances and 3 radio interviews) because they beileve it has nothing to do with them. Their requests are falling on deaf ears. How can we stand by and let these people be blamed when there is quite obviously some kind of ‘cover-up’ in the entire debacle. An inquiry is the only way to go.

• The upper hands has all the say and all thing relating to decisions…. That’s just a MASSIVE COVER UP.

• €2000 an hour? Don’t be stupid.

• @YF I think you’ll find that the deficit of €1.65bn is due to the fact that Quinn insurance didn’t hold adequate reserves to meet future insurance claims. Quinn’s supporters continuously harp on about the insurance business as being profitable – this was never the case. The only reason the company reported profits is because they released reserves when they shouldn’t have!

• Y.F. 15/11/12 #

Des,
      I’m not stupid. Murdich mc Killop was paid almost 1000 euro an hour for his ‘expertise’. (And I believe the number of hours of expertise were substantial) He must be quite the expert when this is the end result.

• Darren 15/11/12 #

Any proof of this Y.F.? Some wild accusations being made there so I’m sure we’ll all be delighted to see where you getting this information from. Or are you making it up?

• Exactly. What Y.F. fails to acknowledge about the Quinns is that they broke the rules. The reason you pay insurance is so that if you need to make a claim there is sufficient in reserve to pay out.
      There is more to insurance that just getting the certificate in the post.

• Cara 15/11/12 #

@ Des Doris Y.F. said up to €1000 an hour. This has been quite well documented in some of the media. One such “well paid” employee was Murdoch McKillop. Google it if you want to…..
      The fact is there was a viable plan, which was due to pay back the debt over 7 years and create 1700 jobs. This was developed with BDO and passed by Deutsche Bank, so it was viable. What is happening now? 900 redundancies lost previously. 285 redundancies now. Quinn Group managers being let go under secrecy agreements. €80million spent by Anglo on lawyers against Quinn. How many million on PR against Quinn? Anglo have signed a contract with a Russian recovery company to recover assets. Anglo are paying them €155milliion for this honour – the value of these assets at their peak in 2008 was €500 million. Another point about this is that Anglo’s claim over these debts is in dispute as they were not the lenders for these companys.
      A public enquiry into this is needed.

• Cara 15/11/12 #

@Darren Irish Independed Sunday Sept 18 2001
      “The man being paid €900 and hour…”

• Y.F. 15/11/12 #

Darren,
      I’ve given you the name. There’s a search engine on you computer called ‘google’. I’m sure you’ll find I’m not making it up.

Sean
      , Quinn did break the rules, and was punished for same. He had to step down as a director of the company. What ensued was Matthew Elderfield’s decision. Why did he make it? Was he right? Why won’t he share his decision making skills and advice with the public? Who advised him? How could he make such a drastic decision in 3 days? ……and now we know the detrimental effects of this.
      Spells Public Inquiry to me.

Fiona,
      I replied to you below. I won’t copy and paste

• Darren 15/11/12 #

Y.F.
      Perhaps I should have been more specific. You stare they had adequate reserves and more than other insurance companies. Where are you getting these details from?

• @ Darren “The Central Bank Insurance Statistical Review illustrates that QIL’s claims were reserved at twice the industry average, and both the current and historic management reports of QIL prove the effectiveness of the claims model. Furthermore, the company’s accounts and reserves were audited on an annual basis by the best accounting and actuarial firms in the UK and Ireland.” 26th August. Irish Independent.

• Its just ridiculous reading this.

When the financial collapse happened people were screaming about why the Financial Regulator hadn’t done his job properly and checked out our banks and financial companies. So we got a new guy in (Matthew Elderfield) and when he did check and found major irregularities in the way Quinn Direct was being run and put it into administration we get people screaming about an over zealous regulator.

No wonder this country is in the state its in. Talk about wanting everything at the same time.

• @Toyna that piece in the Independent was written by Sean Quinn’s daughter Colette.

I’m not sure where she’s getting the information wrt the company holding
      twice the industry average. One important thing to bear in mind with an insurance company is that it can appear to be profitable and to have adequate reserves provided premium income is rising faster than claims are being paid. This is what Quinn was doing in the UK. It entered a mature market and tried to gainer key share by under pricing policies. However this falls apart when claims start to roll in meaning an insurance company can be liquid but at the same time insolvent.

As for the employment case which Colette also refers to in her article – it would have been cheaper for the State to give 5,000 people €500k each…

• YF its totally disingenuous to state that the regulator moved on Quinn after just 3 days.
      In actual fact the regulator had been working closely with Quinn for several months to put a recovery plan in place – he was well aware of the precarious financial state of the company and only made the final decision to apply for administration after it was revealed by Quinn that €450 million of reserves had been illegally used as collateral to secure further loans, effectively rendering QI hopelessly insolvent.

• It is also not true to state that QI had sufficient reserves in the bank at this time – whilst they had a certain amount of cash available (as is normal for insurance companies, who take premiums up front but only pay claims down the line sometime) they were legally obliged to maintain a 150% cash reserve, which they did not have.

• Y.F. 16/11/12 #

Mattoid,
      The fact remains that Quinn had suffecient and legal reserves in the insurance company on the day (and for quite a time prior to) the administrators being sent in. Whether these reserves were taking the correct form in the eyes of the regulator may be another story. If Elderfield was unhappy with the access to the reserves, surely he could have worked with Quinn in making sure this was done, instead of taking the drastic, and as we see now, disastrous decision that he did.
      Elderfield may have had dealings with Quinn prior to the take-over, but it is perfectly accurate to say he spent 3 days examining the books, before sending the company into administration. This type of rash decision cannot be justified by his ‘word’, given the serious and catastrophic results of same. He refuses to give any proof that he received legal advice. Why is this? I’m assuming that legal advice would be essential when dealing with a company of this size (or any company) If Elderfield has nothing to hide, why won’t he talk about it?
      This is why a public inquiry is due on this. I’m assuming Elderfield won’t be pushing for one.

• mattoid 16/11/12 #

YF, your loyalty to the Quinns, as demonstrated by your dogged adherence to their version of events, is commendable, however the reality is that Mathew Elderfield did everything possible both before and after the application for administration to work with Quinn and save the company, whilst still protecting the policy holders.

You may find the following of interest as an alternative to the Quinnspin:

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/emmet-oliver-quinn-insurance-was-indulged-for-far-too-long-2120420.html

• Y.F. 16/11/12 #

Mattoid,
      If ever I’m looking for a commendation, I know where to go.
      With reference to a discussion we had last week, the 80 million euro, of our money, spent by Anglo on legal proceedings in pursuit of Quinn (so far) was in the Irish Independent on Sat 3rd Nov under a title ‘From richest man to common prisoner’

• Y.F. 16/11/12 #

Mattoid & Fiona,
      The reason I want an inquiry is because there are far too many uncertainties and mis-truths being pushed on us from the start. The central statistics issued by the Central bk. showed that in 2009 Quinn Direct had the highest reserves of any insurance company in the country. Judge Kearns acknowledged this in 2011 but said that he had been heavily influenced by a letter he received from Michael Noonan (esquire), stating that the administrators were taking the best possble action for the state. This was when the compensation fund went up to 600 million. So, it still makes no sense to my why Elderfield moved in when/like he did. Why did Noonan send this letter? What was his motive? Was he really working in the best interest of the state? It has since (ie yesterday) been proven that it was most detrimental for the state. Who’s going to answer questions about it now? Who is answerable? Inquiry Inquiry Inquiry

• To the Quinn family, rearrange these words, BLACK, KETTLE, POT, CALLING. Because of your family I am paying a 5% premium on every insurance product I am forced by law or contract to take out. Would the Quinn family please GO £UCK RIGHT OFF.

• Mattoid, if you knew anything about the Quinn family, you would know that they have never engaged in spin. They were hung, drawn and quartered by the establishment and the media who were fed propaganda by Anglo so they had no option but to come out and defend their good name and what a great job they are doing. I for one, would prefer congruence simplicity and transparency which is what the Quinns are displaying every time they appear in the media and it tops spin any day. Expect to see and hear a lot more from this impressive and hard working family.

• mattoid 16/11/12 #

Are you for real Gearoid – the Quinn family have never engaged in spin??

Clearly the high court did not agree with your assessment.

For the record, I would welcome an inquiry into the whole episode to get all the facts out there – there have certainly been some highly questionable actions on the part of Anglo, but the Quinn family are far from the angels you are making them out to be.

• Good old Sean. The poor wee simple man, done down by the evil meeja up in Dublin. Share bejaysus he just loved a wee game of cards. He never had a super duper mansion and was duped by the city slickers. They should put a super levy on the hicks in wee Cavan and let them pay for the crimes of the poor wee simple Quinns. Lovely Quinns, Shute they’d doff their caps to us on their way to the mansion. Go away.

• Y.F. 15/11/12 #

Fiona, I don’t think that without having a public inquiry into the whole debacle anyone can say that there were inadequate reserves to meet future claims. This is what we’ve been lead to believe by the administrators, but why would the Quinn family be pushing and pleading for a public inquiry into the matter, if they believed this? Some-one is telling big porkies, and I can’t imagine that it’s the Quinn family, who are, afterall, the ones looking for the inquiry!

• public enquiry

• Nobody knows the true facts only the Quinn family themselves. Don’t judge a book my it’s cover. Unless you know the true story behind it all nobody can judge the Quinn family. Everyone makes mistake, it’s just they’re mistakes were make public.

• Y.F. 15/11/12 #

Darren,
    I’ve given you the name. There’s a search engine on you computer called ‘google’. I’m sure you’ll find I’m not making it up.

Sean
    , Quinn did break the rules, and was punished for same. He had to step down as a director of the company. What ensued was Matthew Elderfield’s decision. Why did he make it? Was he right? Why won’t he share his decision making skills and advice with the public? Who advised him? How could he make such a drastic decision in 3 days? ……and now we know the detrimental effects of this.
    Spells Public Inquiry to me.

• Darren 15/11/12 #

Y.F.
      Perhaps I should have been more specific. You state they had adequate reserves and more than other insurance companies in Ireland at the time. Where are you getting these details from?

• Y.F. 15/11/12 #

Darren, this is public knowledge.
      Quinn direct had more reserves than the other insurance companies, but this wasn’t good enough for Elderfield. He ‘felt’ that Quinn Direct should have more reserves than the others.

• Y.F. 15/11/12 #

Darren, If Quinn was at fault for the hole of 1.6bn, why on earth would his family be pleading for a public inquiry? It doesn’t make sense….

• Darren 15/11/12 #

Y.F.
      I’ve never seen a breakdown of reserves held by individual insurance company published. As you say this is public knowledge, can you post a link to where this can be validated? Don’t think a breakdown is available on the central banks website.

• Y.F. 15/11/12 #

Darren,
      I’m not here to argue. Tonya (above) has given the information you need. I’m sure you could find the facts if you looked indept into the whole case. That is what a public inquiry would do. All we would have to do is watch the truth unfold. I hope we get this opportunity.

• At last, the Government is beginning to realize that they were conned by the Anglo fat cats again. Frank Feighan on Shannonside not talking about an inquiry. Hope this time he delivers.

• typo in last comment-should read -Frank Feighan NOW calling for an inquiry,

• I love the way that Quinn is taking this whole government run hate campaign on the chin.

Wouldn’t you think that our “fine government” would have better things to spend our money on?

Add New Comment