You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The landmark pub on Drumcondra Road Lower Google Streetview
End of an era

GAA fans lose an institution as Quinns of Drumcondra shuts its doors

Where many a day turned to midnight…

IT WAS THE pre-match meeting point and the post-match watering hole for many a GAA fan.

Whether you were coming from Mayo or Donegal, Kilkenny or Wexford, for the hurling or the football, or the camogie and the ladies football, there was a welcome atmosphere in Quinns on the Druncondra Road.

Located at the bottom of Clonliffe Road, the pub has become an institution not only for GAA supporters, but also students in the area, over the past 25 years.

Following a long battle with the IBRC over rent arrears, the premises has officially closed its doors. A report in the Sunday Independent on 11 November revealed the landlord, Eoin Quinlan, had agreed to pay €15,000 per month for the lease but the IBRC insisted on €30,000.

On Monday, he posted the following message on the pub’s Facebook page:

To all our customers – Just a very big thanks for all your custom, craic and banter over the last 25 years, we had a savage time there. We won the battle but lost the war! But with heads held high we say goodbye.  Quinns may reopen at some stage by the banks, so think long and hard where you spend your hard earned money. The banks and government made a mess of this country the first time round and are being allowed to do it again!! – Slan agus adh mor oraibh!

The post has received more than 5,000 ‘likes’ – double the number of fans the page actually has – while 243 people have responded in the comments section.

TheJournal.ie and TheScore.ie teared up a little when reading some of the emotional reactions to the closure. Here’s a sample:

Ah no that’s so sad.Quinns closing?oh my gosh the memories always will make n smile n warm heart..where else could u go for 3 pints.a pack of ten jonnie blues,2 snogs at the very minimum and a some like it hot quarter pounder for a tenner.ah Quinn’s and the late 80s early 90s…that’s really very sad for Drumcondra.sympathies from Singapore

“Match days won’t ever be the same, end of an era…”

Reckon we start a petition to get the GAA to save Quinns

“Quinns made me the man that I am today.”

Many’s the culchie couple found love in Quinns. Sorry to hear the news Alan and co. You should raffle off the county jerseys for charity not the banks.

“Some great memories. Meet my husband there 18 years ago.”

Heartbroken to hear my fav pub in Dublin is closed….I met my hubby there in 2001! So many great days & nights x

“Ah f**k, i only got to know you really in the past 6-7 years many the kiss was had and slap was thrown jacket lost and drink drank sad end to a ledgend of a beer shop…RIP donegal abu….”

Legend of a pub going to croke park just wont b the same.

“Sad news. All my college memories and match days involve this pub!!! And of course you introduced me to my now favourite song-streets of new york and my now favourite band the saw doctors!”

Championship Sunday’s will never b d same again

“The last time I was there Meath pumped 5 goals past the Dubs, been in oz since, just the last of manys a good time that I owe ye thanks for”

I spent enough money in there to float a bank so how can Quinns close? So sorry and sad to see these doors close. We learned as much in there as we did across the road in MD lecture halls. I hope the closing is only a short holiday rather than a permanent closure. Thanks for the wonderful times Quinns. Ye’ll be sorely missed. X

While others, just baffled us and made us laugh:

“Me and [...] nearly missed a flight to thailand after a savage night in quinns..best part of the trip.”

I’ll always remember putting a stool through your toilets!xox

Do you have your own memories of Quinns? Let us know in the comments section…