You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

say that again

'I want to take a ball of legal yokes and talk to Joe Duffy': The week in quotes

The Rubberbandits had some interesting ideas on Yokes Tuesday.

IT WAS A week when we lost DJ Tony Fenton and author Terry Pratchett, Irish politicians spoke emotionally about their private life and Obama read mean tweets about himself.

All that, and more, it’s the week in quotes.

fenton

Tributes poured in for legendary DJ Tony Fenton after he died at the age of 53 after a battle with cancer.

His former colleague Will Leahy wrote a moving Facebook post about Tony, saying:

He was quite literally the d.j.’s d.j. He was, off air, exactly the same as he was on air. Larger than life, the booming voice and the cheesy one liners!

Jimmy Kimmel Live / YouTube

Is there anyway we could fly Obama to some golf course half way around the world and just leave him there?

US President Barack Obama read out some mean tweets about himself on the Jimmy Kimmel show on Thursday night.

Meanwhile, TV host Rodner Figueroa was fired after making this comment about Michelle Obama:

Mind you, you know that Michelle Obama looks like she’s part of the cast of “Planet of the Apes,” the film.

Terry Pratchett died on Thursday at the age of 66. The author who sold over 85 million books had been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease eight years ago.

90348205 Leon Farrell Leon Farrell

Minister James Reilly broke down speaking about his son with autism during the week saying:

I never thought that’s where I’d end up as Minister and as a parent of a child with a disability, taking cards off children with a disability.

https://twitter.com/TJ_Politics/status/575584379034013696

Sinn Féin MP Francie Molloy apologised for any offence caused after he described revelations on BBC Spotlight programme as “a load of rubbish”.

michael-12-2

When I discovered my son, Michael was gay I was devastated. I cried for weeks. The hopes and dreams I had for my son were shattered. I felt guilty, almost as if I was to blame for him being gay.

Fine Gael senator Eamonn Coghlan revealed his struggle with his son’s sexuality in a speech calling for a Yes vote in the same-sex marriage referendum.

Hugh O'Connell / YouTube

Put on your translation system.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny’s instruction to Independent TD Mick Wallace, who was struggling to understand Irish being spoken in the Dáil.

James Heffernan Resigns Party Whip Mark Stedman / Photocall Ireland Mark Stedman / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

I’m happy to get on and go about my work. If I’ve to work out of a shoebox somewhere I’d do it.

Former Labour Senator James Heffernan after he was moved out of his office.

Rubberbandits on Yokes Tuesday.

pastedimage-26277 BBC Northern Ireland BBC Northern Ireland

He says ‘listen to me, if you ever open your mouth about this to anybody you’ll be found on the border roads’.

What Paudie McGahon revealed what he was told by his alleged abuser.

Additional reporting by Cliodhna Russell.