TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Column: ‘I’d lost over a grand gambling by 11 on Christmas morning’

A casino might close – but online gambling goes on all the time, everywhere. Former addict Marc tells TheJournal.ie why it’s worse than drug addiction.

Image: ND Strupler via Flickr

I WAS ALREADY in recovery from drug addiction when I started gambling. It started off as just a game of cards with other people who were in recovery – just a leisurely thing where we all paid €50 each and had a game of cards. Up to that point, I hadn’t gambled since I was a child playing poker for 50p pieces. I wasn’t into it. Going out dancing and drinking and drugs, that was what I was into. I thought gambling was just a waste of money.

Then I started playing with the lads. It was a Christmas that we played that first game, and it just rollercoastered from there. We started having a game once a month, and then it was twice a month, and then it was nearly every weekend, a different house.

Within the space of two years, I would be playing maybe three or four times a week. Because I wasn’t drinking, I wasn’t using any more, I could justify spending 200, 250 each night. And that’s how it was for a long time. Then we started going to a casino in Maynooth. And that’s just another level. A card game ends, but the casino never ends. The first night I was there, I stayed for about 12 hours. And I was hooked. This was the Celtic Tiger time when you probably had three or four credit cards, and I was just going out to the machine over and over, taking out 200, 300.

Then I stopped going to drug recovery meetings. I stopped being around the lads who were also clean. And I got into online gambling.

The online took me to terrible places. Worse than any drug ever took me, or any drink. It’s the most horrendous addiction of all. Because every house has a computer. And I started getting comfort from just sitting on the computer. It became like a drug. I just wanted to do it by myself, I didn’t want to talk to anybody. I’ve got three kids in the house, I didn’t even want to know about the kids –. So you’ve young kids running around, and I’d just have the earphones on. I’d just be listening to music, and I’d just be gambling.

‘The gun was put to my head’

Christmas morning, for me, was getting up – and before I even started opening the kids’ presents, the computer would be on straight away. To me at the time that seemed normal. I remember I’d lost over a grand, and it wasn’t even 11 o’clock on Christmas morning.

It becomes about just winning money to gamble more. It’s not ever about walking away with money, because you never walk away with money. Even though I would have won money, I would have won big. I won a grand on one hand, and that would have been big money for me. That was the good times. But because of the bad times, it probably cost me three or four grand to get that grand. You’re never winning.

I was forced to stop. The gun was put to my head, and I was told if you don’t do something about this, we’re gone. The kids are gone, I’m gone, the relationship’s over. I had gone back on the drugs at this stage as well, because I wasn’t able to handle how I was feeling about the whole thing. And I had debts, so many debts. I still have them. I’d remortgaged; I had three or four credit cards maxed out. And I realised that I was going to lose everything if I didn’t stop.

I’m nearly 30 months off it now. I started going to fellowship meetings. I went back to Narcotics Anonymous and got clean, and I went into a clinic, and my life has turned around again.

I got a block on the computer. It’s a one-off thing, and once you put it on, it can’t be taken off it the computer. There’s no passworsd, there’s no nothing. It completely stops you from accessing anything to do with gambling. It’s so strict that my wife can’t do the online shopping, because the word ‘slot’ is in it – you book a time slot for your shopping.

‘It was harder than coming off drugs’

It was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do. When I started going to meetings first, I was lucky enough to meet the right people. There was a guy who was a year ahead of me, a year clean, and he gave me his number and said ‘ring me anytime’. I must have rung him every day for about a year. I was obsessed; I couldn’t understand. It was like the illusion of love. I knew in my head that it was destroying everything around me; that I was going to lose my wife; that my relationship was in shite. I owed a fortune, and I was ruining everything.

But I still kept wanting to do it. I kept thinking, if I get back on it, I can get the money back. I genuinely believed that if I could just get back on it for a few hours, I could get the money back. It’s this lie that they sell. It was harder than coming off drugs.

The first couple of months were really, really, really difficult. I was on the labour at the time, and I used to go and collect my money, and just hand it all over to my wife. I had to give over total control. Laser card, everything. I don’t carry around money. I don’t associate or hang around anyone who gambles, or even talks about gambling. I’ve got to mind myself around that stuff.

I still go to meetings, probably two meetings a week. Yes, I’d love to be able to gamble again. But I know from continual checking in with people I help, and who help me, that it’s not a runner. I’ll lose everything, and I’ll go back to where I was again.

Marc did not want his full name to be used. As told to Michael Freeman.

If you think yourself or someone close to you could have a problem with gambling, the Gamblers Anonymous website is here. You can also call their phone numbers around the country – 01 8721133 (Dublin); 087 2859552 (Cork); 086 3494450 (Galway); 086 2683538 or 086 3973317 (Waterford).

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (35 Comments)

• Well told, very honest. Good luck with your recovery.

• That’s a nice story Marc, thanks for sharing.

• fair play to you Marc. Wish you well in your recovery.

• what a brilliant insight to a terrible addiction. As a sister to a “recovered” gambler I have lived through a lot of what Marc has described & its not easy for any family but when you see someone come out the other side & manage to have money in their pockets again & be trusted with, to watch them buy gifts for wives/husbands/children or even just a treat in a sweet shop is absolutely fantastic. it doesn’t happen overnight & there are lots of tears & frustations along the way but when they reach their goal the feeling both they & you have is the best ever. It probably is a worse addiction than drugs and alcohol as these are tangible things you hand over money, you get something given to you, you get drunk or high & you stop spending ( not that im encouraging alcohol or drug addiction in any way)but with gambling you put your money in a black hole and when you do get a return you just keep putting it back.

• you can only drink so much before you pass out and do so much drugs befor you O.D, but with gambling you can lose everything for you and your family. Fair play on the recovery great story very honest.

• If we would all learn from the advice and experience of those who have gone down the roads of drink,drugs and gambling and come out the other end we might be spared the suffering to ourselves and those around us but we are arrogant and don’t listen and we have to pay a very high price very often. Good luck to anyone trying to walk away from any addiction, it takes courage and willpower.

• Marc, wishing you all the very best in your recovery, in my thoughts and prayers!!!

• Yeah usually we look at the addiction as oppose to the reason behind it. Keep it up Marc

• It must be wonderful to be perfect…to all of you who have the nerve to judge this man. Marc…well done..anyone can fall down….it takes courage to get back up….well done to your wife also…that’s what our marriage vows are for but it can’t have been easy. Good luck with the rest of your life.

• I am now separated because of the very same thing. I know how hard it can be to stop and it takes a hell of a lot of help. He did try, but couldn’t do it. He had to lose everything before he could see the light. The cycle in absolutely vicious, my ex was always waiting on that big win to cover all of his losses. In the end, I had to end it. Today he is broke and but I believe trying to rebuild his life.
    I admire Marc’s strength in overcoming this. Well done, and keep up the good work.

For those of you who have never known and addict – drink, drugs or gambling – and think it clever to call names – you are showing your own ignorance and naivety. This is heart-breaking for all concerned.

• Mark 21/01/12 #

Hi Shanti Om, thanks for your response. Depression and addiction, though often are co-morbid conditions (they occur at the same time in addicts, but which came first is often unclear) are treated differently, so I wouldn’t include them both in this response. AA and NA use the same definition of addiction, from the Journal of the American Medical Association – “Addiction is a primary, chronic disease with genetic, psychosocial and environmental factors influencing its development and manifestation”, where primary suggests the addiction is not a symptom of an underlying disease state and we can take the definition of disease as an involuntary disability. That is just one example. There are any number of corresponding definitions in agreement. Furthermore, the genetic factor is generally considered to be between 40-60%. And the relapse rates are nowadays measured against other diseases like diabetes and asthma (also 40+%). Hope this helps.

• Sorry Mark, that response didn’t help at all.. I am trying to ascertain whether you think psychological addictions are the same as physical. And whether this is what you were suggesting to the person you responded to.

1. I realise that depression and addiction are not the same. I never said they were. I used the example to highlight the fact that doctors still say depression is caused by a seratonin imbalance despite the fact that this was disproven almost 20 years ago. It was a theory, it was disproved, yet we are still told this and SSRI drugs are marketed and prescribed upon this lie. And in case you hadn’t noticed, they are a very popular class of drug despite any clinical evidence of their overall efficacy.

2. Addiction is a physiological response caused by dependence on a certain chemical. Hence why when alcoholics or heroin addicts go cold turkey they get really ill as their body screams out for the drug (funnily enough, pharmaceutical medications including SSRIs are never classed as addictive, but you will suffer “discontinuation syndrome” from stopping them suddenly.. Symptoms are the same as cold turkey from addictive substances). Even the definition you quote sounds like the description of physical dependence. You didn’t link to it, and although you made allusions to others that corroborate it, in absence of context or actual proof, I can only take this as a perceived appeal to authority without sufficient evidence to back it up.

In the post I was replying to you stated that the addiction response is tied to the sympathetic nervous system – but you left something out (which was why I wanted to see where you got your info from). When the fight or flight response is triggered, the body is flooded with stress hormones including adrenaline. This is what causes the “rush” of gambling, bungee jumping, sky diving etc. it’s also what causes the anxiety and negative feelings associated with stress and shock.
      It is merely the perception that is different, and the perception is a psychological or conscious one.
      Giving up gambling cold turkey is actually triggering the same response as the gambling – but it will not be perceived that way in the mind.

Yes, you can set up an automatic response – to create a subconscious pathway between two things in the brain (like picking your nose or sucking your thumb) but these are not addictions they are habits.

This story was about gambling “addiction”, but addiction and habit are not the same thing. This was why I wanted to see where you got your info, I wanted to know if this was theory or if some attempt at testing it had been undertaken. Or perhaps you are indeed referring to physical dependence, in which case you missed the point that the guy you replied to was making.

The author of the article stated himself, he had previously been physically addicted to drink and drugs. So the psychological wish to experience a “rush” is already well established, once one discovers that the human body is capable of similar things without the drug – a former addict has indeed more reason and likelihood to pursue these activities, but if he had taken up skydiving over gambling, would he be attending addiction meetings? It’s just as dangerous to your health if you’re not careful..

With regards the AA and NA a) they are dealing with physiological addictions where I was discussing the difference between physical and psychological – because a heroin addiction is not the same as a gambling addiction. And b) they’re not exactly scientific sources, especially as the 12th step is surrendering yourself to god.

Addiction to certain substances cannot be denied (mind you if they’re prescription drugs they will change the name lol!) but to equate alcoholism or heroin addiction with a gambling addiction is just wrong, they’re very different beasts, and I agree – gambling would be harder to quit because it’s easier to access. But stopping is entirely down to the conscious mind unlike coming off drugs where you are actually craving them.

• Ps, the whole genetic predisposition thing is a shady reference.. A) no actual references supplied, and b) they are trying to blame everything on genetics these days – including obesity. When in reality it is more likely to be down to Nurture over nature. Of course the child of an alcoholic is more likely to have a problem, they’re also quite likely never to touch a drop for the same reason..

An child born to obese parents is more likely to be served inappropriate portion sizes and meal choices – does that mean obesity is genetic? Because there are lots of people happy to defer their personal responsibility to “genetics”.
      You aren’t in control of your genes, but you are in control of how they are expressed.

• Frank2521. While addicts may benefit from approval and re assurance post addiction it certainly is not something that they ‘”look” for. My experience of addictions only relates to others in how I may of hurt them, done things I wouldn’t of done when sober and driving people away. I would be honest is saying that I have had a fairly negative experience with alcohol since starting college (12yrs ago). This is not something I choose to have cloud my mind and hold me back in most things I do. If some addict is happy being where they are then that is great for them, but for the majority of us all you want is to be free from it. To know you can sleep at night without it on your mind, to enjoy life as your friends do, to be happy and not feel as though you hate yourself. My addiction is the bane of my life and I hate it, I hate it with a passion cause I feel it’s something I can never really control and that’s not a nice feeling. I am a intelligent young man with a very concious mind. Both my parents we alcoholics (and I do not blame them at all) but it is something they have lived with and it’s something I live with too. Addiction is not a choice…it’s a lifestyle.

• oh to be perfect

• Seems to me addiction is an excuse for excessive self satisfaction in food, drink, gambling, sex, sport or whatever. Very few addicts get addicted to doing good like caring for the elderly or voluntary work – why is that? Selfish and mean are the common treats of addicts yet when they stop their mean and greedy behaviour they want a clap on the back for doing what normal people do everyday. If a criminal leaves prison and looked for a clap on the back for going straight people would be aghast!!! But an addict who has committed his family and sometimes his children to abusive behaviour in so many areas of emotional distress feels that a clap on the back is needed, I think the least addicts should do is stop their appalling behaviour and start behaving properly. I hope for this mans family he stays on the right road but for him – simple answer is his family deserve better. If he can do that then maybe he should with good behaviour get a second chance.

• Mark 21/01/12 #

Society needs to understand that addiction is a brain disorder or disease. The actions of an addict are borne from a triggering of the limbic system, in particular the amygdala, which is the same area of the brain that takes over in a fight or flight scenario, and before cognitive function can intervene. The amygdala switches the thought process off so it can react quickly and spontaneously. This means that this man, and all addicts, are fighting against huge odds. We need to show compassion for them, as we do anyone with any other brain disease.

• Frank2521. While addicts may benefit from approval and re assurance post addiction it certainly is not something that they ‘”look” for. My experience of addictions only relates to others in how I may of hurt them, done things I wouldn’t of done when sober and driving people away. I would be honest is saying that I have had a fairly negative experience with alcohol since starting college (12yrs ago). This is not something I choose to have cloud my mind and hold me back in most things I do. If some addict is happy being where they are then that is great for them, but for the majority of us all you want is to be free from it. To know you can sleep at night without it on your mind, to enjoy life as your friends do, to be happy and not feel as though you hate yourself. My addiction is the bane of my life and I hate it, I hate it with a passion cause I feel it’s something I can never really control and that’s not a nice feeling. I am a intelligent young man with a very concious mind. Both my parents we alcoholics (and I do not blame them at all) but it is something they have lived with and it’s something I live with too. Addiction is not a choice…it’s a lifestyle.

• Quite a heartless reaction to somebody who realises they have a serious problem and is now trying to rebuild his life. Maybe step down off your high horse and try and show a little understanding.

• Frankie of course it’s a selfish behaviour that’s why it’s so addictive. It’s about self, and feeling good, exited and powerful. All the opposites of insecurity, feeling bad and powerless. People who have addicted behaviour have normally come from Some hurt, dysfunction which causes them to seek out some relief through obsessive self gratifying behaviour whatever it may be.Therefore once it starts its difficult to stop. But your right no one should put up with the behaviour, but his wife obviously loves him and realised he was sick and needed help. There’s no winners in that situation, neither him or them. But now perhaps they can move on with their lives and rebuild it. It seems very simple to say she should have left, but they have a family to think about and he seems like a nice guy, that’s trying to change and deserves a chance. I hope people are less harsh on you someday when you fall short.

• The milk of human kindness flows out of you Frank in a torrent.God but you are so self rightous must be terrible having to know that you surrounded with people that have human failings.I hope you stay as perfect as you obviously feel you are.

• Mark, don’t suppose I could ask you for sources for this claim that addiction is a brain disorder please?

It’s just we’re told on a regular basis that depression is caused by a chemical imbalance (namely seratonin) but this is a theory which was never proven and was in fact disproven, many times over.
      (http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/mad-in-america/201108/in-defense-psychiatric-medications-part-two)

Physical addiction is a different story altogether, but psychological addiction.. Is it psychological or biological as you suggest? Hence why I ask for references..
      You can’t toss out a statement that implies people need to change attitude without evidence. Burden of proof buddy..

• Mark, good argument to counter the ‘selfish’ brigade.

• @Frank2521
      I fail to see how someone sharing their experience of addiction and recovery is “looking for a clap on the back”. I would say its to be encouraged as it may give a glimmer of hope to someone out there struggling to see a way out of what is a very dark place to be.
      A bit of compassion and understanding for someone trying to turn their life around costs nothing!

• Wow.. More thumbs down for asking for evidence of a statement passed off as fact..
      Can see none of those red thumb brigade knows the first thing about logic then..

• Ban gambling and put everyone in a cage. Then no one will be able to make stupid personal decisions. Let’s have a human farm where the state tells you when to eat, when to sh*t, which teat to hand to the state to be milked, at what time to stop drinking and go to bed, which hand to use when you scratch your ass etc etc etc. Let the state micromanage everyone’s life and we will all be a bunch of happy sheep!

• Your wife is either a saint, or just very stupid. I certainly wouldn’t have put up with those shenanigans.

• You’re going it wrong

• Abbie, Marc had a serious addiction problem, could happen to any of us. Fair play to him and to her, i say!

• Apologies if I gave offence, but I disagree with this mind-set completely I’m afraid. Having 3 or 4 credit cards in the first place indicates greed, and not having the self control limit the amount you spend is an absolutely bizarre concept.
      As for it happening to anyone, I really can’t fathom “just anyone” ignoring young children, especially their own.

• Me and you Abbie, are very lucky that we don’t have an addiction problem. How lucky are we? Marc
      isn’t selfish he has a serious problem that hes trying to deal with. Nobody is perfect! I admire him for dealing with
      it. We all have problems and sometimes make the wrong choices, i certainly have! My friends and family are
      always there for me, as his lovely wife is for him. I wish Marc, his wife and kids all the very best. Keep strong Marc.

• It’s an addiction, so I would venture that normal, rational decision-making doesn’t quite apply. And presumably the credit cards were sought to facilitate the addiction.

Best of luck, Marc.

• Cpm 21/01/12 #

You might want to look up the meaning of the word ‘addiction’ Abbie. While you’re at it check out ‘compassion’ and ‘understanding’

• Fair comment Abbie!
      Thats your own honest opinion yet so many people thumb it down?? You cant please everyone :P

Add New Comment