TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Column: Europeans saying Obama has to win? It makes me want to scream

It makes little difference to us who sits in the Oval Office – and we shouldn’t kid ourselves otherwise, says David Cronin.

A lipstick kiss is visible on the right cheek of President Barack Obama

IT WAS A moment to savour when a helicopter whisked George W Bush away from Washington in early 2009. On the ground beneath him, Barack and Michelle Obama waved gracefully. Millions of us  felt that some of the world’s problems would disappear into that serene sky.

We were wrong.

Over the past four years, Obama has extended the war against Afghanistan, started another one in Libya, and threatened to attack Iran. He has ordered drone strikes against Pakistan, Somalia and Yemen. He has increased military aid to Israel. He has kept Guantanamo Bay open. He has incarcerated Bradley Manning for spreading the truth about America’s crimes. He has supported a coup in Honduras and a dictatorship in Egypt. He has approved weapons sales to Bahrain and Saudi Arabia. He has refused to act decisively against global warming or the power of Goldman Sachs.

Has he done anything positive? Apart from supporting the right to gay marriage and ushering in minor improvements to the health insurance system, I am struggling to think of examples. His withdrawal of troops from Iraq is hardly praiseworthy, considering the devastation inflicted on that country. And please don’t ask me to endorse the execution of Osama bin Laden. It is never excusable to kill an unarmed suspect, who could have been apprehended and put on trial.

Worse than Bush

Obama has in some respects been worse than his predecessor. Bush lied about Saddam’s non-existent weapons of mass destruction. But there was a general honesty to Bush’s aggression. Bush never purported to be anything other than a vulgar oil merchant, who referred to the captains of industry as “my base” and patently didn’t care about black folk left homeless in New Orleans. Obama had worked with deprived communities in Chicago and befriended the Palestinian intellectual Edward Said. Even if he was no radical, he still offered the prospect of change – or so we believed.

Every time I hear Europeans talk about how important it is that Obama gets re-elected, I want to scream. The question of whether the Democrats or the Republicans are in power matters to some Americans. Democrats tend to be marginally smarter and less inclined to say offensive things about rape victims than Republicans. Democrats do not tend to give as many tax breaks to the super-rich as Republicans do. In that sense, it might be preferable to have Obama running the show, instead of Mitt Romney.

On this side of the Atlantic – and in most of the world – it makes little difference who sits in the Oval Office. Both of the main candidates are beholden to corporate donors. Both think that the US may intervene in other nations’ affairs whenever it sees fit.  Both are believers in American supremacy, an ideology as toxic as any that deems one group of people to be more important than another.

Makes no difference

Whichever man wins, he will hear the same advice from the CIA and the State Department. The Pentagon will still see NATO as a vehicle for projecting US power. The International Monetary Fund – an institution largely controlled by the US – will continue to demand that Ireland scraps its minimum wage and Greece robs its pensioners.

The European Union will still be expected to act as a lapdog for an imperial leviathan. Belgium will continue to store some of America’s nuclear weapons. The US Air Force will still operate in Italy. Germany will retain the dubious honour of hosting the US command for Africa.

The granting of the Nobel Peace Prize to the EU doesn’t alter reality. Some of us thought that Barack Obama might behave slightly less belligerently after he picked up that same award.

Change does not come from the top. It comes from gatherings in town halls and city squares. It comes from the Occupy movement. It comes from the protests against the Keystone XL pipeline and the tar sands that neighbouring Canada hopes to use in accelerating climate change. It comes from Codepink and Students for Justice in Palestine. It comes from the nuns who fought the poverty-increasing budget championed by Paul Ryan. It comes from trade union activists in Wisconsin and Illinois.

Real change

Sure, you can quibble with the list I have just compiled. You can point to how those hardy souls who camped out near Wall Street  this time last year are now tucked up in warm beds. You can argue that DIY placards are worthless when confronted with the tasers and pepper spray of the police.

But dissent is seldom futile. Declassified papers show that Lyndon Johnson ruled out a nuclear strike on Vietnam because he was petrified of the public outrage it would engender. Why has Obama tried to keep reams of information about today’s wars secret? The only plausible explanation is that he is too cowardly to incur the wrath of his people.

Rather than trying to decide the outcome of the election on Facebook, the best thing us Europeans can do is to build alliances with the decent Americans struggling for real change. Regardless of what happens on polling day, America will be the world’s only superpower for some time to come. If you think handing the White House to the guy you like better makes the US any less dangerous, then please  reflect on something all of us should have been learned over the past four years. We were wrong.

David Cronin is an Irish journalist and political activist based in Brussels. He is the author of Europe’s Alliance With Israel: Aiding the Occupation (Pluto Press, 2011). His next book Corporate Europe: How Big Business sets Policies on Food, Climate and War will be published in June 2013. His website is www.dvcronin.blogspot.com

Read: Both White House campaigns: We’re winning>

Read: Why is Snoop Dogg voting for Obama and not Romney?>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (121 Comments)

• To be honest it has significantly more impact than whomever sits in Aras an Uachtarain…

Lest we forget the rein of incompetence that was president Bush

• “Rather than trying to decide the outcome of the election on Facebook, the best thing us Europeans can do is to build alliances with the decent Americans struggling for real change.” This is the only line in this article that was not filled with hate or contempt or bias! I am an American living in Ireland. It saddens me to see the polarized climate back home. Just like it saddened me to see the hatred for America when I moved here nine years ago. For the past four years I have been able to feel more comfortable and safe as an American abroad. So, if that’s the only thing Obama has done, at least it’s something!

• I feel VERY safe in Ireland , way more so than home in Chicago . The people are super nice . I stayed there a couple of years ago for 7 months and cried for 3 days when I left… It’s the people there that make it

• Hi Marilyn,

Yes, I agree with you, Ireland is one of the safest places to live. I appreciate it more and more every day! I love the sense of community! When I moved here, we had just gone into Iraq, and the attitude towards America was a shock to me! I can’t tell you how many times I heard about how Americans were ignorant, gullible, war mongers, etc etc etc. When Bush visited here he had to hide out in his hotel room. Imagine that! In Ireland,,one of the safest places in the world,,and the man had to hide out in his hotel room!! I think the author of this article has a different perspective obviously,,but I see a difference,,I know Obama has changed things,,he is not perfect,,and he has had a lot working against him,,but there has been change!!

• “I know Obama has changed things,,he is not perfect,,and he has had a lot working against him,,but there has been change!!
      Are you ever right, he has succeeded in dividing the country like no other President before him. He had both Congress and the senate to himself for his 1st 2 yrs and yet never carried out one of the promises he made to the American people during his campaign. He has been the most deviant president in my lifetime.

• I don’t think anyone’s under any illusion about Obama (at least I hope not), he’s shown himself to be just another US politician. He is the lesser of two evils though. i.e. More likely to push for green tech/energy, a little less likely to start a war with Iran, less likely to give the rich incredible tax breaks, and he’s more likely to push for women/emigrants/gay rights.

It’s one of 2 options, one of which is slightly better for America and by extension the world, so I don’t see the harm in Europeans voicing their opinion on the matter.

• Lets not forget that Obama has an awful lot of looneys to contend with to push anything through. He cant just go hell for leather reforming everything because all the aforementioned loonies wont let him (i speak of all the ultra religious evolution deniers, the gun lobby, all the eedjits who dont believe all people should have access to health care etc etc)
      He has to pander to them in some form or he wont get re-elected and he wont be able to change anything.
      Who’d be a politician?

• Well Dave you could never be accused of being perspicacious.

• Woman/emigrant//Gay. Rights?
      WTF. A little exclusive there pal
      What if u r none of the above? Have the rest got no rights ?
      Me thinks u r suffering from a dose of quintessential Leftieisum .

• Obama worse than bush? please! and then to say that America is the world’s only superpower, he’d want to get a globe for himself and check out a place called China!!!

• China isn’t a superpower. They have a weak per-capita GDP, an oversized and outdated military and no way to project their power outside of Asia. They don’t fit any definition of a superpower.

• And Russia, India and Brazil

• to be fair Jason, China are a bit like Russia in ww2, only a fool would underestimate them, population of 1.8 billion and the largest manufacturing capacity in the world. not a superpower?

• A superpower is a nation which can influence nations on a global scale (which it can) and protect those influences militarily(which it can’t). You’re right in saying that China is like the USSR in the Second World War, however that fits the term of a great power as opposed to a superpower.

A great power can project global influence but cannot protect those influence militarily. China doesn’t have a blue water navy and it’s airforce is outdated. No matter what way you swing it they are not a superpower.

• do a Google search for China and inter continental ballistic missiles, I think you’ll find that China have plenty military clout. a large navy is one thing but a bunch of missiles capable of striking targets 15000km away is another. A small number of tactical submarines would be capable of inflicting great devastation. Also, I’d be much more wary of the equipment that we don’t know China have!!!

• Conor, Jason; your discussion is quite interesting as to what constitutes a superpower. It’s not that China and Russia are not powerful (ordinarily they would be superpowers) it’s that we underestimate just how powerful the US is. It’s shocking. Compare the list of operational aircraft carriers in the world currently http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_aircraft_carriers_in_service. I think it illustrates the disparaity in power very clearly, before we even approach WMD stockpiles, where the US again outstrips every other nation on earth.

To repeat, it’s not a case that Russia and China and India and the other similar nations are not immensely powerful, it’s that they have to all band together to even begin to compare to the US.

• Conor, there’s 1.35 billion people in China and not 1.8.

• I stand corrected William, I don’t think it disqualifies them from being a superpower though!!!

• Conor, ballistic missiles have limited value in power projection. They are only used to augment a nations combat abilities. Long-range missiles are also much more vulnerable to countermeasures (look up the missile defence shield the US uses to protect them and Europe) and cannot be relied upon for force projection.

The key to being a superpower is to be able to put a military force anywhere in the globe at any time effectively. China has a large navy but most of its ships are green water vessels, not the blue water required for going global. Also aircraft carriers play a huge role in this, China have one rusty decommissioned Russian carrier which they are trying to examine compared to 13 the US has available. The US also has numerous amphibious assault ships which are basically mini-carriers which can also deploy troops.

Lets not even begin to get into the fact that most of the aircraft available to the Chinese are old soviet designs that are not able to compete with the latest examples from the US, Europe an Russia. While they have modern aircraft they do not have enough. Same goes for their fleet of armoured vehicles (many Chinese copies of soviet designs from the 50s and 60s).

This is not the makeup of a superpower. A growing power yes, but not a superpower. Numbers alone do not equal a global force.

• your dead right Jason, they’re a bunch of feckin cowboys!

• The democrats are by far the lesser of two evils. George W Bush never declared himself a ‘vulgar oil merchant.’ The way you breezed over the fact that he invaded Iraq for nothing in that article is actually quite alarming. And I would imagine the reason Europeans are hoping Obama get re-elected is because the democrats have shown time and time again that they’re willing to work with Europe, whereas the Republicans tend not to be.

• Did George W Bush write this??

• Wow America bashing, how original……. yawn….. And I’d still prefer Obama

• FOR not with Afghanistan.

• Priceless. A lefty whinging about another lefty not being far enough to the left.

• It’s an article which really boils down to self congratulation about the occupy movements and nothing meaningful to do with the us presidency

• Couldn’t have said it better… It’s basically a pro-protest manifesto disguised as an article about American politics.

• Going to have to agree with you Matt. I like to think that Ireland would benefit from job creation from American companies more if Obama wins then if Romley wins, maybe David forgot that job creation has a big impact for Ireland. The press reports job creation as little as 10 these days, every one counts. As a political activist I’m a bit unimpressed he missed out on that, the word job didn’t get one mention.

• Have to agree, its a ridiculous article. If only real life could be so black and white. No credit for leaving Iraq but if he was still there he’d be in for criticism.

All war should stop instantly is not a realistic idea. Afghanistan war has to be upped to try and root out the Taliban. You can’t just leave, the country would be in left in tatters, with power struggles and eventually extremists left in power. That was basically what happened in the 80′s and look where it got us, a breeding ground for extreemists and an oppressed people (especially woman). If you half finish a war then the people left in the country with the biggest guns take over.

I could keep going down through the article but the last point ill make is, I’m in favour of Iran being stopped getting a nuclear weapon. When the country is led by clearly unstable individuals who have already threatened to wipe other countries off the map allowing them have nukes is not the way to go. The non-violent method of sanctions which every country including the US would prefer to use shows evidence of working as the people get more and more frustrated by them so it may never come to military intervention.

• Its clearly not as “black and white” as the author suggests, however to consider Obama a “leftie” is incredibly ignorant, Obama’s policies in any other developed democracy on Earth would be to the right of centre. In the U.S you have two right wing parties, one further than the other, socialist is akin to Nazi in the U.S., only recently Lawrence O’Donnell of MSNBC highlighted the absurdity of this position. Sadly power in the U.S. is acquired and used through the manipulation of ignorance, one could say the same about many democracy but in the U.S. it is most acute, the level of public debate appears intended for the intellect of primary school children, with talk of “getting the bad guys” used with faux sincerity in debates about what are in reality complex foreign policies issues. There is a valid point to the article despite it’s oversight of a lot of factors that undermine the proposed clarity of the point the author makes.

• Conor 25/10/12 #

Couldn’t have said it better myself.

• Mick. You didn’t understand his article.

• Mr Cronin will be screaming for real if the Republicans triumph and return America to the 1950s.

• What was wrong with the 1950s ?
      You can blabber on about woman’s/Gays rights etc
      But the fact is most woman were not expected to raise kids AND work to pay for the mortgage. The air /water was cleaner there was more space for everything more trees more wildlife the streets were safer Doctors made house calls the corner shop created jobs for the grocer friendly service the local cops knew the locals kids could walk to school and play in the street very few people walking around with name badges and clipboards you could talk about issues without the threat of being sued people were more honest and trustworthy there was respect for our elected representatives above all there was a great feeling of conference for the future. Why do so many look back to that era with such scorn ? Are we really so better off today? I don’t think we are I am disappointed the way the world has turned out and don’t see much optimum for the future with 7 billion people and still raising out of control.

• Obama has to win

• Well in fairness we can barely run our own countries, so I don’t think Americans could care less what we think about the election.

• You refer to yourself as a campaigning journalist!!! A polarising one more like. I also read your recent article on the euro, 8th Oct. You were particularly scathing about the Association for the Monetary Union of Europe (AMUE) and its researcher Stefan Colligen. You titled his paragraph, Spawning a Monster!!!!! In todays article you referred to someone else as having ‘Turgid Prose’. Seriously David, how can you expect people to take your articles seriously if you come across as tediously pompous or bombastic, this being the real meaning of turgid. Your desire to be perceived as clever supersedes your duty as a journalist to be fair and balanced. Like the Analog signal yesterday I will now be switching you off.

• I don’t think anyone’s under any illusion about Obama (at least I hope not), he’s just another politician. He is the lesser of two evils. ie More likely to push for green tech funding, a little less likely to start a war with Iran and less likely to give the rich incredible tax breaks..

• Fair point Vinnie, but if a journalist wants to be taken seriously they should be more detached and less hysterical. What well this article achieve only polarise opinions and exclude reasoned debate. There is so much to read and so many people offering opinions on all these social medias we tend to become more selective. If you want to express an opinion as David does, shouldn’t the primary aim be to not alienate your target audience.

• Yes but then it wouldn’t be an opinion piece it would be a regular news article. The journalist is giving us a controversial viewpoint because this sparks better debate on the issue by getting people riled up (Think K. Myers).

• So long as they DO state that its an opinion piece it’s fine. It’s almost like sticking a disclaimer at the top saying the piece is biased. Obviously Ireland is very pro Obama, so he’s challenged that viewpoint with an equally anti Obama article. It’s up to the readers to be sceptical.

• I guess you won’t be voting for Obama then!

• I got as far as something about nuclear weapons and Belgium and stopped. This article is just very very poor; badly written, rambling from one issue to another, scant on evidence, no new research and worst of all its not interesting.

• Zartan 25/10/12 #

This is the silliest article I’ve read in a long time and it gave me a good giggle over breakfast. The author is so far removed from reality that he may as well have written it from the feckin’ moon. I’ll be cheering on Obama all the way and I hope it makes the author scream and scream and scream.

• Lambasts everything Obama inherited and says There was a “general honesty to Bush aggression” …..this read like an extended troll comment…….and what did the Romans ever do for us eh, well apart from the minor adjustments in health care – if the shift was so minor why all they rhetoric to undo obamacare ?? seriously this guy is so wrong even on just basis facts —-his article is atrocious…I get his obviously anti democrat and pro republican but he makes the case with the intellect of a secondary school debater…

• That’s the sort of shite I was coming out with when I was seventeen as well.

• Come back and say it doesn’t affect us when Europe gets caught between a Romney Putin conflict.

• I hate to break it to Cronin but it’s choice between Obama and Romney, not between Obama and John Pilger.

P.

• After reading that silly article I would certainly be disinclined to buy any of the author’s books

• I’ll tell you what would have been wrong four years ago: putting the presidency within a dodgy prawn salad of Sarah effin’ Palin’s mitts. THAT would have been wrong.

• Terrible terrible article.

• George Bush Snr — Gulf War 1 — Bill Clinton —peace — George W Bush — Gulf War II and record Deficit — Barack Obama — Bin Laden Dead, Gaddaffi Dead, better health care, nicer guy alround , point is Democrats are a million times better in power than republicans! Rant Over

• Bill Clinton peace? Are you mad? Go check your history

• For the record, President Johnson (Democrat) escalated troop presence in Vietnam in the 60s, taking most of the responsibility for entangling the US in the war for years afterwards.

Also, Clinton has a mixed legacy. Under his presidency the US was involved in carpet bombing Iraq, as well as sanctioning countless military interventions across Africa and South America. At the same time he can be credited with intervening in the Balkans and stopping the massacre of Bosnians while the European ‘Union’ looked on as this happened on its doorstep.

Like everything, it’s not black and white, a case of Democrats good vs. Republicans bad. Remeber earlier in the year when Obama was talking about taxing US companies with headquarters abroad.. who do you think that would affect?

• Too much indignation in the press, not enough research and time dedicated to writing a good article.

• I can’t believe that a writer for the Journal could write an article that would appear to be pro-Romney, the man is a bald-faced liar, and an incompetent boob.
    The tone of this article is inappropriate for a news outlet that should be unbiased, and the author plainly fails to see how evil the regime of G.W. Bush was.

• there’d be no way to give bin laden a fair trial if he was captured

• I agree the Bush regime was evil, but seriously how can anyone look at Obama’s last four years and not see a continuation of agenda with a different PR spin?

Whether it is bogative weapons of mass destruction or the shelling of a country for “humanitarian” purposes a war is war (except when it is kinetic military action)
    Obama or Romney will still continue to feed the war machine.

I will await the flood of red thumbs and arguments but just please look up and see which president has put most troops into the field over the last few decades, you may find he has a ‘peace’ prize.

• You know, one of the things I appreciate about Ireland is its neutrality. I love that war is not viewed as patriotic and I love that the gun laws are strict and it’s because of these that I can reconcile myself to the fact that abortion is illegal here because at least there is a consistent theme. But what if Ireland was one of the most powerful military forces in the world? Would Enda and Ireland be damned no matter what their choices were,,no matter what complicated disaster they inherited… no matter the outcome? I’m not really arguing with you,,,but what I would say is that it seems to me America is damned if they do and damned if they don’t militarily speaking.

• Carrie, I realise my world view is probably skewed (possibly warped even) but I see the US heading down if not all the way down the path Eisenhower warned of http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8y06NSBBRtY .

To be honest all the politicking seems like a charade to me, lets face it look at the mess that developed in this country as business and government got cosy. Imagine now those interests being 100 fold magnified. How many 100′s of millions were spent when “The Pentagon said that 110-112 Tomahawk cruise missiles were fired from U.S. and U.K. warships and submarines, targeting “at least 20″ key communication nodes and air defense systems in Libya.” http://www.cbsnews.com/2100-202_162-20045015.html someone that day made a lot of money.

• Also for the record, I too don’t like arguing (especially on-line) and was pleased to get a non aggressive response.

I hope we stay forever neutral.

• Jason, Thanks for sharing that Eisenhower video with me. I posted it on my facebook page. My grandfather was a world war II vet, and one of the things I will always remember him saying is that he would never want his grandson’s fighting in wars of today because you do not know what you are fighting for or who you are fighting with, and I believe he was right!
      When Romney talks about building ships and submarines, I know it’s because of money. When Obama talks about being friends with Israel, I know it’s because of money. When we went into Iraq, I know it’s because of money. It’s sad because the people suffer. Just like the people of Ireland are suffering because of the relationship between business and politics. So, I don’t think your view is skewed at all.

• Conor 25/10/12 #

TheJournal is teetering on the edge for me. I enjoy the articles but the content quality is getting a little sensational recently. Articles like this do no favours for the credibility of TheJournal.

• Mr Cronin your blatant bias renders this article a rant. Particularly farsical is your defense of Bush admonishing his intransigence to the black poor, his maniacal aggression and cowboy style dishonest war mongering as being ‘ah sure that’s just what the fella was like’. He was the leader of the free world. As Europeans we are also part of that world. We didn’t trust or like him. That’s why we do like Obama. He is intelligent and calm. He is the best thing, still, that your great country has seen since Bush. Spend more time understanding europeans and you’d understand the love affair.

• niall 25/10/12 #

Obama WILL win.

• I really don’t know where to start with what is wrong with this article. Whilst it raises some valid points, to say that Obama is “worse than Bush” and that the only good thing he has done is introduce gay marriage is ludicrous. He has brought in major health reforms ensuring that every single person in the US can have access to health care if they wish. He has also stopped health insurance companies from discriminating based on previous conditions, age, sex etc – this is something that Ireland and the EU should learn from. He has also ensured that health insurance companies cannot block a womans right to abortion and has brought in legislation insuring an extra 4million children. He has reduced prescription costs for medicare (elderly on low income) patients by 50%.

He has repealed the Dont Ask Dont Tell Act. He has introduced a federal hate crime law which includes sexual orientation. He has extended benefits for same sex partners of government employees. Ended the ban on HIV+ travellers and holiday makers to the USA. He has pulled the troops out of Iraq and to say that is no major deal because the damage has already been done is absurd, the damage was done by Bush who you say was better than Obama. Obama was one of the few senators who voted against the war in Iraq in the first place so he is completely blameless. He is also pulling the troops out of Afghanistan. Libya was an international effort, whilst I dont agree with that invasion, there’s a lot more people to criticise than Obama. He has brought in legislation to ensure poorer families can send their children to college and university. He has taken steps and brought in legislation to end pay discrimination for women.

I am disapointed that he has not closed Guantanamo Bay but you need to recognise he has signed an executive order ordering its closure and this is likely to happen if he secures a second term. The list goes on but please don’t say the only thing he has done is endorsed gay marriage because that is just the tip of a very large ice-berg. If you think Bush was better, then you may as well hope for a Romney victory and see how that effects Europe and the world.

• It makes little difference to us who sits in the Oval Office

Pretty sure I said that the other day and someone got all previous on me.

• Wow,sounds like somebody had a real dislike for Americans. Hope the rest of Ireland doesn’t feel that way. Very passionate article, I wonder has the author ever been here? Or just pick and chooses what he would like to believe about us. I personally would like to see Obama be president for the next four years. He was left with a mess and has tried to make it better.

• Finally, an honest article about Obama in the European media… People in Europe should put aside the anti-American cliches and stereotypes that make them hate Bust and love Obama (or see Obama as the lesser evil). If there is any non-cosmetic difference b/ween them, it is that Obama is worse. Glenn Greenwald has a great series of articles in The Guardian on the subject, which is well-worth following.

For example,
    “But if there is one thing the 2008 campaign should have permanently taught, it is that campaign rhetoric often bears little relationship to what a person will do once empowered. More important, it is almost certainly the case that an Obama-led attack on Iran would generate far more public support than a Romney-led attack, because most Democrats will almost certainly cheer for the former while pretending to be horrified by the latter, will while Republicans would support both (that’s the dynamic that made the very same “counter-terrorism” policies that were so divisive in the Bush years become wildly popular once Obama embraced them).
    That’s true on the international level as well. Recall the 2008 CIA report fretting about growing anti-war sentiment in western Europe and concluding that the best weapon to safeguard against its continuation would be the election of Obama. That’s because, the CIA presciently realized, Obama’s election would massively increase public support for US wars because it would be a kind, sophisticated, progressive constitutional scholar rather than a swaggering, evangelical Texas cowboy who would be the face of them. Add to all that the Nixon-to-China dynamic – just as only a conservative president could have established relations with the Chinese Communists, arguably only a Democratic president could start a new war in the Muslim world, cut Social Security, etc. – and the picture is far more muddled than many like to depict it as being.”

• Anna I wish I had been able to put it so well.

just to add what would have happened if Bush or Rodney for that matter had signed the NDAA into law (on New Years Eve no less) or had been widely known to have a kill list that consisted of men, women and even children, or sanctioned “double tap” drone strikes (look it up), or… enough the list goes on.

The man in office will be the one for the job, simple as that and the agenda will roll on.

• He will win…Mitt is a git and a Mormon, … I mean moron…..poTAYto—poTAHto

• Banker puppets ..no change more hardship more war .

• Adam 25/10/12 #

lol @ this article, pure crap.

• I agree with the general thrust of this article. Those who dismiss it out of hand know little of US foreign policy. A case could certainly be made, in my view, that Clinton was responsible for more civilian deaths than Bush. Have people forgotten/ never heard of the million plus civilians inc. 500,000 kids who died as a result of Clinton’s sanctions on Iraq. This was more deadly, if perhaps less destabilising regionally, than Bush’s aggression.

The article also draws attention to little known issues such as the fairly recent coup in Honduras which the US could turn off with a phone call if they wanted to as well.

It is not anti-American to criticise it’s foreign policy. If we compared countries to people we would say that it is a friendly act to tell someone if their behaviour was out of order.

• Finally, an honest article about Obama in the European media. People in Europe should put aside the anti-American cliches and stereotypes that make them hate Bush but love Obama (or see Obama as the “lesser evil”). If there is any non-cosmetic difference between Obama and Romney it is that Obama is worse.
    As Glenn Greewnald recently said in The Guardian:

“it is almost certainly the case that an Obama-led attack on Iran would generate far more public support than a Romney-led attack, because most Democrats will almost certainly cheer for the former while pretending to be horrified by the latter, will while Republicans would support both (that’s the dynamic that made the very same “counter-terrorism” policies that were so divisive in the Bush years become wildly popular once Obama embraced them).

That’s true on the international level as well. Recall the 2008 CIA report fretting about growing anti-war sentiment in western Europe and concluding that the best weapon to safeguard against its continuation would be the election of Obama. That’s because, the CIA presciently realized, Obama’s election would massively increase public support for US wars because it would be a kind, sophisticated, progressive constitutional scholar rather than a swaggering, evangelical Texas cowboy who would be the face of them. Add to all that the Nixon-to-China dynamic – just as only a conservative president could have established relations with the Chinese Communists, arguably only a Democratic president could start a new war in the Muslim world, cut Social Security, etc. – and the picture is far more muddled than many like to depict it as being.”

Greenwald writes a series of articles on this issue for The Guardian I think is well worth reading: http://www.guardian.co.uk/profile/glenn-greenwald

• Dec Rowe 25/10/12 #

Ah hello!!!!!!!

• Blah Blah Blah, what a waste of time reading this.
    Please use your skills to uncover how nothing has changed in our Nation since The Irish Conservative Party took over with all its bluster about change and new transparent politics.

• just to clear America is no benign entity, Obama has blood on his hands..

• Damocles 25/10/12 #

This is quite good, by Ed West:

Note to European liberals – no one in America gives a damn what you think about the US election

http://tgr.ph/P4oDbv

• It’s not Bradley Manning – it’s Breanna Manning. For all Obama has done for LGBT people, the erasure of Breanna’s gender identity is incomprehensible.

• Why does The Journal seem to be fixated on one ideological perspective in its articles? Surely to be a valid opinion section you need to have columnists on both sides of the subject rather than exclusively left-wing and very liberal.

• ECP 25/10/12 #

What is a lefty can somebody explain me? And why do most people o. Journal.ie feel they are not to be listened too? Are they ill informed? What is it? Are there righties too and what are they – do people like them? I never here people talking about them?

• As a Gay Irish American, it very much matters to me that Barack Obama be re elected,
    Romney/Ryan will put down all our efforts for equality for at least another decade.

• This is pure Bilge and hysteria put out by Obama is his unfounded attacks on Romney. Woman going to die with cancer because he would stop making payments to Planned Parenthood and they would die of breast cancer because the screening would be decreased.Planned Parenthood only put out a statement last week to kick this myth in the teeth. They do not provide such treatment.

• Great article!

• Adam 25/10/12 #

Thinking Mitt Romney’s Foreign Policy would be any better is a joke.

• What does it matter to my life who is commander in chief of the USA.

• ColindeB 25/10/12 #

Seeing as previous US administrations have played a big part in forcing US to pay for the debts of private banks, maybe a change of administration might work out better for US.

• ok I better come out with my hands up but at the same time cannot apologize for the fact that down through the years I have read a lot about what happen to society and human behavior at large during the 1930’s – 40′s I.e the great depression and world war 2 – what my main point is, the strongest will always be at the top even if we can’t see them or we don’t want to see them.(good or bad) As I said I make no apologize for those who do not know there history

• This article is hysterical. More Utopian than realistic.
    No doubt the author has no pressing income issues.
    I ocassionaly read the Journal and it amazes me how much time people have on their hands.
    Wake up.
    ROMNEY will win because it’s all about the economy.
    A healthy vibrant US economy benefits Americans and a lot of the western world. That’s part of history.
    I would think that anyone who wants to have a better life for themselves and their children would want to live in an economically healthy environment, what ever country that is in.
    There will always be needs for the less fortunate and underdeveloped countries, but to help them there has to be a means. There will be no means, just like there has not been for the last four years, under Obama.
    As for America’s military dominance. I don’t know any other country that has more of their young (military) buried around the world, especially in Europe,
    because they tried to help other countries.
    Capitalism is not always an easy pill but it works.
    I work with a lot of Latinos (some are illegal immigrants) here and they all want Romney to win because they are hungry and have a simple basic understanding that if there is work they can give their young families back home in Mexico and South America a better life.
    Beautiful prophetic “Hope and Change” did not put food on the table.

(An Irishman living on the US for over 20 years.)

• @Stewie Griffin Who left it to him. Did you not know that both Congress and the Senate was Democrat for Bushes second term. So it wasn’t Bush left him the bad economy.
    @Colin Kavanagh You relay need to get a grip. nearly half of doctors have declared their willingness to leave when Obama care comes in it is so costly and will put an average $2000.00 extra per household.
    Obama was one of the few senators who voted against the war in Iraq. About the only vote he ever made in the Senate. His usual vote was “Present” He only Voted against that because he was a Muslim. But then was taken under the Rev Wright and Bill Ayers wing in Chicago.

Add New Comment