TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 3 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Column: It’s time to end the casual use of homophobic language in Ireland

Excusing homophobia by saying it’s ‘just a joke’ is no excuse and it’s not funny, writes Rory Geraghty.

Rory Geraghty

I AM TIRED.

I am tired of people thinking that hiding homophobia under the flag of humour is acceptable.

I’m tired of logging onto Facebook and seeing the latest joke about a ‘fag’. I’m tired of people finding this funny. I’m tired of my friends telling me to lighten up and that it’s just a joke. That word is never a joke.

That word is said to LGBT people to hurt them, to make them feel like they are lesser people, and  I resent that. It’s easy when you have never suffered homophobia to think that it’s just a word but when a teenager walks into school and sees it scrawled across their locker or when someone hears people shouting it at them as they embrace their partner in a public place, then that is when it is no longer just a word.

Imagine being afraid to embrace the person you love, or hold their hand in a public place. In a free and decent society this is something we should all be able to do without fear.

According to a survey of second level teachers conducted by Dublin City University (DCU), 79 per cent said they were aware of homophobic bullying at their school. 30 per cent of these had encountered this type of bullying on more than ten occasions during the last term in which the survey was carried out. What is most frightening about the findings of this survey is that 16 per cent of the respondents also stated that they were aware of physical bullying based on pupils perceptions of homosexuality.

So the next time you use the word ‘fag’ as a joke, remember that there is probably some kid in a school getting his or her head kicked in simply for being different. Is it still just a joke?

‘Being gay should not be an obstacle to entering politics’

At the same time, I’m tired of politicians being too afraid to come out for fear of a media backlash against them. Being gay should not be an obstacle to entering politics. Sadly, it was the last election, in 2011; before we actually elected any openly gay TDs. How exactly do we live in a free society if someone cannot be open about his or her sexual orientation?

I’m tired of listening to the arguments against gay marriage and gay adoption. In fact it is bizarre that in 2012 we are still having the same arguments. Society should have moved on by now. It’s depressing that it has not.

Most of all though, I’m tired of the fact that people are not more angry about the institutionalised homophobia in our society and that they are not motivated to do something to make it cease.

Last week, in an interview with the New Statesman magazine in the UK, the Labour candidate for Mayor of London Ken Livingstone was caught in a controversy when he claimed that the British Conservative Party was ‘riddled’ with gay men and women. In the succeeding days it emerged that this quote was taken out of context and was actually part of a commentary on how difficult it can be for gay people in politics.

As the media ploughed through this storm with snow boots and ski polls, I was reminded that if one politician has not tired of the fight for LGBT rights, it is Ken Livingstone.

In fact, Livingstone has been one of the most important straight allies of the LGBT community in recent decades. As Mayor, he took on discriminatory holiday company Sandals by banning their adverts on the London Underground, London buses & taxis, forcing them abandon their ban on LGBT people.

Furthermore, it was Livingstone who launched the first ever Partnerships Register in the UK, a step followed by many other local authorities, which helped create the environment that led to the UK’s Civil Partnership Act and a massive advancement of rights for gay people.

‘Gay people alone cannot advance the cause of equality’

Here in Ireland we have some excellent politicians promoting gay rights too. Senator Katherine Zappone, for example, has battled through the legal system to gain recognition for her and her partner’s same sex marriage. In this struggle she has been supported by her colleague Senator Ivana Bacik who too has dedicated much of her political career to fight for the right for LGBT couples to gain the right to marry. Of course, it would be wrong of me not to mention Senator David Norris, who too, made significant contributions to gay rights in Ireland.

If even half the politicians, or indeed ordinary people, in the UK or Ireland had this attitude and this bravery then we would be significantly closer to achieving full equality for the LGBT community. Gay people alone cannot advance the cause of equality. We need as many straight allies as possible!

It’s time we all stopped yawning and rubbing our eyes as homophobia scurries across the floor in front of us. If, as Mayor of London, Livingstone can take on a major holiday retailer and force them to end their homophobic policies, then we can force our friends to stop using the word ‘fag’ as a ‘joke’. If David Norris, as ‘A. Citizen’ can force the Irish government to decriminalise homosexuality, then we can support our gay politicians if they want to be open about their sexual orientation.

It’s time to fight the stigma and stand up for gay rights. It’s time to stand up against homophobic bullying and it’s time to end the casual use of homophobic language as a regular day to day occurrence. It’s not funny, it’s not pleasant and it’s holding us back from genuine equality.

Rory Geraghty is a former Chair of Labour Youth and works full time in politics having spent the last year studying at the London School of Economics. He tweets at twitter.com/MaybeRory.

Previously: UNESCO praises Irish anti-homophobic bullying campaign >

Read next:

Comments (251 Comments)

• I agree with the thrust of this article, but there are several concerns. I feel that this article fails to recognize that language and meaning are intrinsically bound. If a person uses the word “fag” to denigrate another person based on their sexual orientation, that is both disguisting and wrong in equal, large measures. If, on the other hand a person uses the same word to refer to a cigarette as many do, that is an entirely different matter. In the first instance, the word is used as a hurtful slur against a large group of people. In the second, it is a common term for an inanimate object, the usage of which has evolved naturally into the vernacular – no aggression is behind it, and it’s usage is entirely divorced from that of the first.

Language is simply a means of communicating meaning, therefore it is meaning that should always take precidence over the language used to express it. To turn that on its head is to beckon a culture of self-censorship and political correctness, where language no longer carries emotion or meaning. This, I feel, would be a rather emotionless and boring world in which to live.

I think Conor Kirwan hit the nail on the head here

• A small number of homophobes make a lot of noise. Most straight men will tell a “gay” joke occassionally without any real intention to offend. This is a long way from calling someone a fag which is a horrible term. I did call a classmate on it in college when he called someone a #%&*ing fag. That was unacceptable. But a mild gay joke is no more offensive than being called a culchie.

• @Dismas Okello

Your nonsensical rant only portrays you as being a consummate bigot – insinuating that some kind of conspiracy is being hatched by homosexual ‘lobbies’ to corrupt children by reducing the age of consent and then throwing animals in for good measure! – are you familiar with the term “consenting adults”?? Your ignorance is almost comical except for the fact that the kind of warped and woefully ill-informed thinking you have expressed here has gained traction in the likes of Uganda and other mainly African and Middle-Eastern countries with moves are underway to deny LGBT people even basic human rights.

And let me assure you – both here in Ireland and to the extent that we can influence events abroad, we will continue fighting for full equality and calling to account those who abuse human rights in the name of ‘culture’, ‘tradition’ or any of the other defences put up to justice homophobic bigotry.

And if you do not wish to be ‘provoked’ by a discussion on a topical and important human rights issue in Ireland and elsewhere, then I suggest you refrain from accessing such articles. That would also have the benefit of sparing the rest of us from having to come across your hateful nonsense.

• As a gay man I agree with the sentiment of what you are saying Rory. It can be upsetting to hear people use language inappropriately and make gay jokes, lesbian jokes and so-on without understanding what is being them. We have all heard and dealt with these disgusting witticisms about dropping soap, checked shirts, turning lesbians straight and so-on.

However, language does evolve, and for example, I would have less of a problem with someone referring to say an unfortunate event, or bad weather or something to that effect as ‘gay’, as I believe the word is being used in a different context, much the same way that the word ‘bastard’ can refer to someone born outside of marriage or to a person one dislikes.

When used in a certain context as a term of mild vexation, the word ‘gay’ has no connection with being a homosexual. Obviously I would rather the English language had not evolved in this manner in this instance, but that is the reality unfortunately and I can’t spend my life being offended by otherwise supportive straight friends and allies when they use the word ‘gay’ as a term of mild frustration not remotely related to LGBT people.

• Rory 22/02/12 #

I do take your point Conor but I think using the term ‘gay’ in that way is distinctly different to using ‘fag’. As you can see I focus on ‘fag’ in the column because I believe that word is inexcusable as it is almost exclusively said in a hateful and homophobic context!

• It all very much depends on the context, and I can’t myself think of the word ‘fag’ being used in a non-aggressive way. I wanted to raise the point that I did above do as to avoid confusion on the matter.

• “It’s time to fight the stigma and stand up for gay rights.”

Completely ignores the struggle of people over the last 30 (and more) years and reduces the gay rights movement to your dislike of the word “fag” as used by your friends on Facebook.

Congratulations!

• “Completely ignores the struggle of people over the last 30 (and more) years and reduces the gay rights movement to your dislike of the word “fag” as used by your friends on Facebook.”

I’m almost 100% certain that the point Rory was *actually* trying to make is that, since we’ve managed to secure a certain amount of civil rights and legal protections for gay people, society has tended to be less mobilized around issues of gay discrimination. Casual homophobic remarks aren’t typically seen as discriminatory in the same way that homophobic laws are seen.

I take issue with Rory’s occasional poor use of punctuation in the article, and I agree with the two Conors that sometimes a strong focus on language can obscure the importance of the meaning behind it, but other than that I think it’s hard to fault the piece.

• Luke- you might be right, but the fact that you need to clarify what the article says only serves to highlight its shortcomings.
      Is it about homophobic language as the title suggests? Is it about inclusion in politics? Or is it about homophobic bullying?
      Rory quotes that 79% of secondary teachers “were aware of homophobic bullying at their school” but he doesn’t state what form this bullying takes- to be relevant to the article this statistic should probably clarified: verbal, physical etc otherwise it isn’t necessarily relevant.
      I take issue with the article’s structure, not with what he is trying to say. Which I am still somewhat unclear on.

• If you’d read on further, you’d have seen that Rory clarifies the 79% statistic by saying that 16% of respondents were also aware of homophobia-related physical bullying. Even without taking it into account, I’d still argue that if bullying is homophobic in nature then it is relevant to the problem of homophobia regardless of what form the bullying might take.

We can agree to disagree on whether or not I “needed” to clarify what the article says in general terms–I made the clarification because you highlighted a particular remark and put a negative spin on it. My own perception is that you’re deliberately misunderstanding the article because you want to be difficult rather than genuinely not being able to see what point Rory has to make, but that’s just my opinion.

• Luke, i’ll concede that I missed the clarification re the 16% But I am not trying to be difficult. I thought the article was poorly written, it lacks focus and jumps onto irrelevant points without explaining why they might be connected to the title.
      The article is headed “It’s time to end the casual use of homophobic language in Ireland” if the column had been called, “Stop using fag, because it’s offensive” or “Homophobia hasn’t actually gone away” then maybe it would have been passable.
      Why on earth is the following paragraph included:
      “I’m tired of listening to the arguments against gay marriage and gay adoption. In fact it is bizarre that in 2012 we are still having the same arguments. Society should have moved on by now.”
      It’s a different topic altogether. That’s why i stand by my original comment- the author co-opts other areas of the debate for no discernible reason and it serves only to lessen the impact of what he is trying to say.

• Iighten up. This country is too PC. I’m tired of all you PC police….there is so much more to worry about than this stuff.

• I thought the terms queer and fag or faggot were largely reclaimed by the gay community. At least in the States they are.

• Conor, if your friends are using the word “gay” to be synonymous with “bad”, then they’re not being as supportive as you think they are. To me, that’s far worse than the bigots who come out with popular phrases such as “Oh here come the PC brigade” and “It’s a free country”/”What about my freedom of speech?” to hide their racism/homophobia behind.

Whatever is used to excuse it (“Oh, it’s just the English language evolving”/”I’m exercising my freedom of speech!”), at the end of the day it is homophobic language. It is used to insult, belittle, and make gay people feel different from the rest of society. Its use results in discrimination and hatred. Short-sighted people like Niall above say we should “lighten up”, but they’re missing the big picture: _lives are actually being lost_ as a result of this, whether it be through suicide or assaults motivated by homophobia. Stick “Stuart Walker” into your favourite search engine, have a good read and then tell me to “lighten up” and that “there is so much more to worry about”. Because, really, if we’re not going to worry about people being murdered, what are we supposed to worry about?

• @John McAree: With the greatest of respect, I will decide how supportive my friends are of who I am, and not you. Were I to turn around and say that Adolf Hitler was a bastard, would you associate that with a child born outside of a marriage? No I don’t imagine you would. I can honestly say in a similar vein when people use the word ‘gay’ to describe something in a negative light, in the vast majority of cases, they do not associate it with homosexuality whatsoever.

I really don’t understand how you can think that this is worse than genuinely vile and repugnant comments and by levelling such a charge against people who are genuinely supportive of LGBTQ people and LGBTQ rights, you only serve to undermine that cause.

• @John McAree: I think what makes your comment even worse is taking a look at some of your recent tweets. There was one in particular that struck me that read ‘@jonmcb or possibly track that guy down and punch him in the face. I actually find that worse than bigots using the “freedom of speech” def.’

Bullies come in may shapes and forms John, it is not the exclusive realm of straight people! The readers await your response.

• @Conor Kirwan: Firstly an offhanded comment to a friend of mine made on Twitter is pretty irrelevant. If I’d actually directed it at you then fair enough you could interpret it as a threat. It wasn’t though, it was just meant as a joke.

Secondly I really don’t buy that “language” argument. “Bastard” is an archaic word that is no longer in use with its original meaning. If it wasn’t for the Simpsons, its original meaning probably wouldn’t even be common knowledge. “Gay” also has meanings that have fallen into disuse, however first and foremost it is still being used to refer to us. While the more “modern” use of it is in a different context, it’s pretty difficult to separate the association, especially since its origins were probably not meant in a kind way. While your friends obviously don’t associate its use with a gay person, I don’t think perpetuating its use is very supportive given the likely-unkind origins of its use. The fact that it is sweeping into common use is a bit sickening to me, and to most gay people I know, which is why I feel that it’s important for us not to accept its use, just as we wouldn’t accept someone calling us a “fag” or another derogatory term.

And yes, in a way I do think its worse since bigots typically are pretty open with their hatred, and easy to spot. The use of “gay” synonymous with “bad” is a bit more insidious though, while I’m sure a lot of people (such as your friends) don’t intend it in an offensive manner, I’m sure there are a lot who do use it and genuinely feel that way, and associate its use with the gay community.

Finally, just to throw a white flag up, I apologise if my comments (here or elsewhere) caused you offence, I didn’t mean to in all honesty. Just a bit of hot-headedness!

• Andrew 24/02/12 #

@John,

Are you saying that you didn’t literally mean you wanted to punch him in the face? It was some sort of expression?

I wonder how many fights and indeed murders are caused by such use of language….

• Pidge 22/02/12 #

Good article Rory.

I remember the day in school when I suddenly noticed that I was using the word “gay” essentially as a synonym for “shit” (like many were), and thought that it just wasn’t on. I made a conscious effort to try and stop, and mostly did, albeit with some slips through college.

Nobody’s going to be perfect, and god knows I’ve said some bloody stupid and ignorant things about sexuality (and probably will do in the future). The important thing is that people try and consider the potential for hurt their words carry. It takes some effort, and there’ll still be times when you’re be a prat, but it’s completely worth trying.

Oh, also,

• Pidge 22/02/12 #

Huh, the comment system ignores anything written in tags. I was saying that I imagine the usual rubbish comments regarding “the PC thought police” etc etc. will appear shortly.

• Not too long ago I had a staff member in the UK who was gay and and a valued member of the team. He’d been bullied at school and his self confidence was shot. He was given plenty of support but no special treatment as I believe in equality. His mother came into the place of work to personally thank be as she had noticed a radical change (for the good) in his personality. He asked for a weekend off but I said no as we were short staff and very busy. Unbeknown to me it was Gay Pride weekend so his darling mother decided to report me to LAGER who then set their legal (pro Bono) team after me. Its a long story but it has has always left me wondering when to recognise someones sexuality or just ignore it.

• @ Dismas
    I was wondering how long it would take you to pull out your bible lol!!!

• It’s so predictable isn’t it Shane. Their homophobic nonsense nearly always boils down to an extreme and fundamentalist interpretation on their particular brand of religion.

Although I’m confused (and a little amused) at how terms such as “beasts” and “swine” fits in with a ‘christian’ worldview…

• I served in the army for 24 years and I assure you that the word gay to describe a fellow soldier was used more times than “f**k was used, but I hasten to add never used in a derogatory manner. I could be getting myself into trouble but may get away with these lines as I have many friends who are gay but they are friends, not “gay friends” if ya get my drift…. The portrayal of gay men for many years on screen was the ” camp gay” so if a soldier said or did something camp or girly , it would be considered ” gay” funnily enough the word ” fag ” was rarely used as it was deemed to be in he same genre as n****r or c**t so it was a playful way to describe someone who was just not being manly… All in good fun. Just to put it in context, the other day a mate of mine ( soldier) stated on Facebook ” ER I have missed you so” well he got hammered and abused , now I thought about just putting the word ” gay” down as a response but felt it just was not right in an open forum like FB , so I put down ” girl” so I hope you see my point , on one hand it’s seems ok in a group of lads to say gay balls etc but I found it quite difficult to write it in an open forum.

• The word “fag” terrified me in my school days and for a couple of years after I did my Leaving Cert and left secondary school. I remember coming into school in 5th and 6th year terrified every single morning with dozens of students shouting “faggot” at me from across the school yard, I didn’t even know most of them. I experienced these hate words being written on my desk too. I would never have considered myself vulnerable in school and I probably hid the fear and mental upset it caused me pretty well. Not everyone is going to be able to hide it and no one should ever have to be subjected to it. There are so many vulnerable LGBT kids in schools, you only have to look at the highly publicised LGBT teen suicides around the world to realise this.

It infuriates me how little understanding there is by some of the commentators on this thread and by a lot of heterosexual males online on Facebook pages etc. and ones I have encountered face to face over the years of the affect this has on LGBT people in school and in later everyday life.

That’s “gay”. He’s a “fag”.

It is not OK to use the word “fag” and to use the word “gay” as a negative for something. In so many instances there is no bad meaning or ill will by a lot of people using “gay” as a negative and they are simply using this word because it has been accepted as a negative in society.

I am not part of the PC brigade, I am a gay man who finds the word “fag” offensive. It has a negative affect on the LGBT community and it can incite hatred towards LGBT students in schools, leading to physical and mental bullying and in some cases self harm or suicide. This can of course also apply to adult life.

In reference to some comments above, calling somebody fat, speccy, spotty, skinny etc. etc. is very different to calling somebody a “fag”. This word incites hatred towards an individual because of his identity. The same way the “N” word incites hatred towards the black community, there are other words which I wont type – we all know too well what these words are and how they affect people based on race, colour, culture, sexual orientation or gender identity.

• on the subject of david norris, something that saddened me during aras 11, even though I was not a supporter… I couldn’t understand why he felt he should announce that he would not be taking a partner to live with him in the aras should he win the election. nobody would care if he was heterosexual. the people who make ‘fag’ jokes are the kind that excuse ‘rape’ jokes as humorous, but there is no excuse for sexual discrimination or abuse.

• There are those who find rape and fag jokes funny and you will never be able to police or control that fact. You can be offended by it and in doing so validate that sense of humor because it’s based on offence.

• I’m a gay man. I find jokes hilarious, because, as jokes they are meant to humour. People who get offended by jokes are looking to be offended. The fear of the unknown (This case, us Quaaairs) leads people to poke fun. If i was accosted by a homophobe, I wouldn’t find it funny, because its not meant to be. It is all about context.

I refer to my friends as ‘faggots, queers and poofters’ in an endearing sort of way.

Let me bring you back to your childhood. What did your parents teach you, about bullies?
    ‘Sticks and stones may break my bones, but names wont hurt me’
    Its still valid?

I was also a public representative for 6 years, Local Cllr, in Limerick. I was gay, it never affected any single thing I did there. I didn’t let it and thus it never arose..I was never in the mould of Zappone or Norris though, but i’m openly gay and support the right of every human to lead their life as they please without societal interference.

I contend that the usage of the word ‘gay’ in the context of ‘The weather is a bit gay today’ or ‘thats so gay’ are collequalisms. if your offended by them, I suggest you grow up and mature into yourself a bit. Why do people feel the need to be offended?

Is it an inate sense of worthlessness?

• I’m not gonna bother commenting now, cos you said it all perfectly. nail on the head.

• Kieran, that is wonderful that you never experienced any issues as a gay man in your personal or professional life. Now if only that could be said for every single LGBT person then your comment might be valid. Not everybody within the LGBT community is as fortunate as you or I (I have never experienced any prejudice in my adult/professional life) As I said above I did experience prejudice in school which did make it very difficult for me at times in my teen years, but I rose above it and got on with things.

But, not everyone is strong enough to that. It is the vulnerable that suffer most from the homophobic name calling etc. It has a terrible affect on LGBT youth in particular. As I said above, depression, self harm, mental anguish and sometimes suicide can occur amongst LGBT youths and adults as a result of homophobic name calling/bullying. The use of fag and gay as a negative is made OK by these so called jokes.

I think it is quite narrow-minded to presume that anyone who takes offence is immature.

So as a Local Cllr, if a member of the LGBT community came to you voicing concern over being subjected to name calling/bullying etc. would you have told them to toughen up, grow up and cop on to themselves and not be so easily offended?

• Well said Sir!

• I am referring to Kieran’s comment in the above comment.

• Great points Brendan.

• So because it doesn’t affect you, fuck all the other gay people?

Great. Of course, privilege isn’t an absolute thing and some “fags” will get off the hook easy. Some will not, at all. You are showing the same empathy failure the privileged straight white males here do.

http://derailingfordummies.com/#enjoyit

• @Alan Aston

Funny how when a heterosexual wears a wedding ring or displays photos of their partner and family at work, or talks about their latest ‘conquest’ – that is never seen as flaunting ones sexuality…

And do not presume to speak for what you describe as ‘normal’ people. Most Irish people accept LGBT people as equal and deserving of equality (as numerous surveys have revealed) – indeed most have a gay friend, family member, work colleague etc. And most are not content to dismiss bullying and its effects as ‘childish bleatings’.

And what is thankfully been seen as increasingly abnormal is the kind of homophobic views you obviously subscribe to.

• I really hate when people jump on articles like this shouting about “free speech”. It is socially unacceptable to call someone a “fag”. This is not a limitation of free speech.

Freedom of speech is the right of freedom to seek and impart information. It is not your right to call someone a fag if you wish. This is called hate speech.

Learn the bloody difference, please.

• And what the American government says against Muslim countries in what… “Love speak”… Everyone has their little bit of racism, sexism, ageism etc…. But YES freedom of speech is exactly that FREEDOM, that someone says something you don’t like or support doesn’t take away that right to speak freely……… It appears that the only sector of society that can be discriminated against these days are … Straight, white men, between 18-50… everyone else seems to be in sub groups of society… gay, women, old, kids black, yellow grey etc…..TOUGHEN UP folks there is a lot worse things to be called

• Damocles 22/02/12 #

Shaun, while I agree that abuse is socially unacceptable, many consider freedom to be offensive to be part of freedom of speech, consider the Danish Mohammed cartoons by way of example.

The way forward is to educate people in the ways of politeness and mutual respect. Policing how people speak will only lead to bitterness, resentment and more hate.

• “But YES freedom of speech is exactly that FREEDOM, that someone says something you don’t like or support doesn’t take away that right to speak freely”

But it’s not freedom to say whatever you like! It’s the freedom to share ideas. What ideas are you sharing by calling someone a fag? Freedom of Speech in Ireland anyway is restricted by anything that undermines public order or morality. That is obviously open to a plethora of interpretations.

The fact is freedom of speech is supposed to go hand-in-hand with respect, tolerance and understanding. It’s been my experience that people who use the freedom of speech argument are mixing it up with hate speech. There’s a massive difference.

Example:

I believe homosexuality is caused by environmental factors. = freedom of speech. Fine. You are expressing an idea. I disagree with you, but fine.

That guy is such a fag. = hate speech.

Massive difference.

• Damocles:

I completely agree with you. I don’t agree with policing at all, but I do agree with the protection of minorities. I’m aware there is always going to be a blurry line between the two.

• There’s a difference between the freedom to be offensive and the freedom to actually abuse another person, though.

• “I believe homosexuality is caused by environmental factors. = freedom of speech. Fine. You are expressing an idea. I disagree with you, but fine.”

Just to point out too, that ideas can be wrong as well. Freedom of speech does not mean “Freedom to be correct at all times”. If you say something that is based on invalid reasoning or incorrect factual information, expect it to be rejected from serious debate.

• Exactly Leigh. Opinions are there to be challenged and debated (especially on a debating forum!). Some people think having an opinion in itself makes them immune from criticism and that all opinions are equal, even when facts completely fly in the face of their beliefs.

And on a wider and more important point, hate speech should never be confused with freedom of speech. We are a relatively free and stable democracy, yet we rightly have laws against Incitement to Hatred, to protect groups against extreme forms of bigotry and hate.

• Dismas, gay people want equal rights to straight people. That’s all.

An equal age of consent. The right to marriage and fair treatment and protection from the state.

Stop talking about dolphins, would you? I’ve never heard of the “W (Whatever)”, either. That’s bull. Also not every girl who goes to college comes out a lesbian (I’m sorry, but lol).

• homosexuality
    is found in ovar 450 species
    homophobia is found in
    only one
    ??????

• Homosexuality is an exclusively human practice.

Do you suppose 1 male dog mounting another to be a homosexual act? Or 2 penguins hanging out? Do you think animals of the same sex, when they copulate, are doing so purely for the pleasure of the act as humans might do? What kind of reasoning do you suppose your 450 species to have engaged in?

You have made the mistake of attributing human emotions to dumb animals.

I suppose you think that a whale killing a dolphin is murder too, while you are at it?

• Your ignorance really knows no bounds. Homosexual behaviour is a well documented fact in the animal kingdom. But don’t let facts get in the way of your bigotry.

• Adam
      Facts?
      Where?

• @Dismis Okello,

There are extensive accounts – Google or Wikipedia ‘homosexual behaviour in animals’ for a full and exhaustive list.

And I feel no need to prove or justify anything to someone like you who holds such bigoted and obnoxious views, which thankfully is not reflective of how most people in Ireland think today.

• The internet is an exclusively human practice but you seem ok with that

• Dismas it’s clear that you didn’t get it :(

• Adam you’re a demagogue to much talking no message

• @Jose Porto

There are quite a few messages in the points I raised actually, one of the most important being that homophobia in whatever form it takes is never acceptable and those who seek to defend it on grounds of ‘religious belief’, ‘culture’ etc are still engaging in bigotry. Like racism and other forms of prejudice, it should never be seen as socially acceptable and the author is right to draw attention to the fact that it is dismissed as ‘funny’ far too often through use of language and so on.

You might not have understood or agreed with the points I was making but that’s a different thing entirely.

• Dismas, in that case heterosexuality is a purely human practice.

• The number of responses to this article is depressing. We have a long way to go. I reserve the right to be offended and God help if you cross me on a bad day!

• Dismas there’s a difference between arriving at a conclusion that you hate an individual and hating a class of people en bloc

Why do you think god wants you to fight the gays for him?? If he’s omnipotent, would he not give them the same treatment he gave the Egyptians? He either doesn’t care or doesn’t exist. Either way he doesn’t need you fighting his battles. Judge not lest ye be judged (in other words, mind your own business)

If god decides to send all the rest of us to hell then there’ll be more elbow room in heaven for you and Jesus to party down

• Every bit of society gets a bit of a slagging (on tv I think straight men probably get more than most) and I laugh just as hard when Alan Carr slags a straight man as when Jimmy Carr slags a gay man.

• You’re completely missing the point. He’s not talking about a bit of slagging.

• Obviously not about the writing on lockers and such, I should have pointed that out. I mean just an everyday bit of humour, it will be a sad day when people can’t even make a joke.

• It’s about being careful about how you use certain words. I’m all for making fun of stereotypes, but I think you will find the number of straight men being bullied by gays or being beaten by them to the edge of their lives to be rather small…

• Are you seriously trying to compare what you call “slagging” of straight men with that of gay men? Firstly, the reality is that every state, organisation and society in general is predominantly controlled by straight men. They’re just not a vulnerable group in any society. Secondly, I’ve never heard of a straight man being bullied, let alone beaten to death because of his sexuality.

• Are you comparing slagging with being beaten to death?

• Sean Davids, do you understand what “privilege” is at all? You do realise that slagging a gay man is far more culturally significant, and far less likely to be tongue in cheek? Almost nobody “hates” straight people or heterosexuality. Can’t say the same for the reverse can you?

• Dismas what does age of consent have to do with this gay rights?
    Gay people want the SAME rights as their fellow straight citizens.Simple.Nothing more.

People who do not agree with giving equal rights to Gay people are being discriminative and should be challenged..Many people today feel that non-white people are inferior – they are racist.
    Many people today think Gay people are inferior – they are Homophobic.
    So It might be your ” right” to stand up to and be against what GLBT people stand for but what does that make you?
    Go figure

• I have a gay friend and he calls the girls that we hang around with the “fag hags”
    As he’s my nearest gay friend and he uses the fag word all the time but I’m not allowed?

• Same way as some back people call themselves niggas all the time. It’s a form of defense. It’s seen as taking back a word that was and still is used to beat the community down.

Queer used to be a huge insult but it’s potency has subsided since the LGBT community took the word and gave it another meaning, The Ideals of differing Sexuality and Genders. Many colleges now offer Queer Studies and Queer theory is on most Communications courses

• Excellent piece. It’s frustrating overhearing ignorant people, using such derogatory language and making snide comments on a daily basis, so casually and publicly without giving any regard as to what they say or who might hear.

• “Dumb homosexual beasts”, sulphur found in Sodom. Oh Pease !…I have no intention of engaging with you or your ridiculous and offensive views any further.

• Rob 22/02/12 #

while i fully agree with the premise of what you’re saying here – i just don’t see any simple way to achieve it.

kids are a*sholes! everyone is called gay! everyone is a fag!! you kissed a girl – thats so gay!! i just dont see the link between those words an actual homophobia! if i called someone a fag when i was 12 does it mean i’m less likely to vote for gay marraige?? and whats even more obvious is if you tell kids not to slag the gay guys – all you’re doing is ostrocising them!

i dont mean to trivialise this issue – but kids get bullied for all sorts of reasons! for being tall / small / thin / fat / rich / poor / etc etc etc…… we can’t go banning every word that makes people uncomfortable!

• I am far more offended by bigoted comments made by the likes of Scully PJ then I am by hearing the occasional use of the word “Fag” or “gay” in the negative!

Although I agree the fag word is our equivalent of being called “nigger” if I were black, I’m someone who sees humour how it is intended, find “inappropriate” humour hilarious and therefor will decide for myself to which context the F or G word is being used before I chastise the person or saying it!

People should be allowed say what they like, it’s the beauty of living in a free society and the best part is you don’t have to like it either! But it’s when they actually say something with feelings of hate or superiority, that’s when I become concerned!

• People can say what they like, but articles like this may make them not want to say damaging things.

• In case anyone thinks I use “gay” or “fag” in a derogatory way, I don’t. As to wheather or not I’m “bigoted”, I don’t think so. I do have opinions, and they disagree with many who comment here, maybe I should stay away and leave you discuss the issues with those who agree with you. I wonder who are the persecuted today, those who promote the gay agenda, or those who try to civilly speak the opposite view?

• @Scully Pj

Can you tell me what the “Gay agenda” is please?
      Very interested to know.

• This nice person PJ Scully ( see his comments and the responses above) has been insulted and castigated for having an opinion.

that is an intellectually lazy, arrogant, self-aggrandising, prideful and ignorant manner of addressing his considered and polite postings.

It seems that many of the people who respond to Mr Scully in this and other articles he has written about revert to a stereotypical “bitchy” attitude. Stereotypical of what? Go figure

• The elements of the gay agenda I have difficulty with are their efforts to redefine marriage and their pursuit of adoption “rights”. As a group the gay community has much to fight for including homophobic bullying and any other derogatory names gays as a group are subjected to.

• Agenda:
      8am: Wake Up
      8:10am have a big oul gay breakfast
      9:00am destroy the institution of marriage
      11am Sodomise everything
      1pm Lunch
      2pm OMG SHOPPING!!!
      3pm Destroy Religious Freedom
      6pm watch Glee
      7pm Indoctrinate some kids to our way
      9pm Dress up like a woman
      11pm Bed time

• What I don’t understand Kevin is how do you succeed in getting 9 hours sleep. You must have a clear conscience after a good days work.

• While I generally agree with this column, I wonder why it has to have 5 paragraphs about Ken Livingstone. Somewhat irrelevant to the matter at hand?

• David Hockedy
    Sean Davids
    angryzes

And all of those commentators who think that this is a bit of a laugh or PC gone crazy have very small penises, and are probably not very good at sex.

If you’re happy for gay people to be called names under the broad heading of “slagging” then I’m allowed to use the same defence when I say that those three contributors are sexual inadequates with very small penises.

• But we didn’t post anything like that. I wasn’t going to make a gay joke, butt f#%k it.

• @DublinTechGuy :

You are another good example of positive discrimination. You want us understand and respect you when you fight for your rigts as a gay and you are totally disrespect our rigths to be ourselves.

• DubTechGuy,

I can’t speak for the guys you mention, but most normal folks wouldn’t get too bothered about being slagged off as being sexually inadequate. If it it is obvious that it is a joke (and a comment about someone’s sexual adequacy is usually a joke) then who gets offended?

It’s when the motivation for such goes beyond a cheap laugh and statrs to get aggressive, then it is totally unacceptable.

• Hey Dublin techguy, what about the girls? Do they also have small penises?

• @Dismis Okello

You conflated a worthy and legitimate campaign to secure equal rights for LGBT people with paedophilia, compared the love and commitment of two consenting adults with wishing to marry a dolphin, ridiculously claimed that Irish universities are somehow breeding grounds for what you described as the “perversion” of lesbianism (!) and you have the temerity to accuse others of engaging in hate filled rhetoric…

Through your ramblings on this topic, you have more than demonstrated the fact that you are a bigot who is ‘provoked’ by and seeks to resist the awful vista that is gay people securing the same rights as everyone else.

And it is a predictable tactic of those opposed to human rights to deflect attention away from their own bigotry by accusing those who they oppose of being the ones who are intolerant. But there is no ‘reverse prejudice’ here – extending full equality to LGBT people will have no adverse effect on others but will bring about great benefits for a section of our population. Opposing this and using offensive and pejorative terms to express such opposition is indeed damaging, but like other civil rights campaigns throughout history (womens suffrage, black emancipation etc) human rights and the demand for equality will prevail over prejudice and discrimination in this case too.

• Well with respect Elizabeth, we are not in the 40th century and in present times, the use of the term ‘gay’ to describe anything weak, bad, inferior etc is linked to a belief that homosexuality involves such things. I again make the point that this has become so widespread and mainstream that many who use the term do so in an unthinking way with no intention of causing offence. That is why columns like the one above (and anti-homophobia campaigns in schools) are so important as they educate people about these issues. And words do have consequences – It is a cop out and simply not tenable to argue that the constant use of ‘gay’ in a negative context does not make life difficult for LGBT people, especially those at school. And we know that homophobic bullying has been identified as a particular problem, both by researchers and those on the ground such as Teachers.

• Firstly, people will always assign labels. And homosexual hatred can be equally scathing. Playing the puritan won’t change that. The point is bullying is a regrettable human activity engaged in by all persuasions – gay straight bi etc. Personally I think people (of any sexual orientation) should be able to laugh at themselves a big more often to see how ridiculous their whinging and whining is…

• @Elizabeth Dunne

Your views on bullying are disturbing quite frankly and I hope you are not in a position of authority over people who actually need help and support in confronting it – especially if it involves homophobic bullying, which, regardless of how you try to spread around the blame, is a particularly serious problem as identified by people who are familiar with the issue.

• A side point wrt school bullying. It’s not unique to gay kids and many kids, myself included, often got called a “fag”. It is a terrible term and hugely offensive.

• how does the author and other commenters feel about gay people using the term ‘faggot’, ‘fag’ or ‘queer’ to describe each other? Similar to black Americans commonly referring to each other as N***er.

Just curious…

• Excellent column Rory. Language is important and the constant use of the term ‘gay’ to denote anything negative or bad is demeaning and insulting to LGBT people, particularly in schools where it is especially rampant. Because this homophobic use language has become so mainstream and accepted, it is often used by people who do not intend to cause offence but it still has the same effect and should be avoided. And this is not about ‘political correctness’ (that ultimate smokescreen in these kind of debates) – rather it’s about basic courtesy and respect towards others, who should not have to listen to something that forms such an important part of their identity disparaged and made fun of for the amusement of others.

And for those who disingenuously claim that there is nothing that can be done about the problem, that is simply not the case. Where there is a determined will to stamp this out, positive results can be seen – http://www.pinknews.co.uk/2010/10/26/london-school-claims-to-have-eradicated-anti-gay-bullying/

And I agree with Rory – It can become tiring challenging homophobia in Irish society. It is still seen as legitimate to argue against equal rights based on someone’s sexual orientation, usually under the cloak of ‘religious belief’, yet we would never humour the likes of racism in mainstream debate in this way and the same standard should apply to homophobia. And therein lies a key point – those in authority who seek to deny us full equality in terms of marriage, adoption and in other areas of society contribute to a climate where those with extreme homophobic tendencies feel empowered to express their bigotry and hate in much more direct and violent ways. And those anti-gay public figures must be held accountable for that.

But in the midst of these challenging circumstances, solid progress is being made. We have made enormous strides in recent years and are clearly winning the battle for hearts and minds as evidenced by findings such as 73% support for marriage equality and the fact that more and more people are ‘coming out’. We are not there yet, but Irish society is slowly reaching to a point where homophobia rather than homosexuality is seen as socially unacceptable and articles like the above certainly help that process along. So well done again Rory.

• Rory 23/02/12 #

Thanks Adam

• As you can see Rory, lots of people share your concerns around the casual use of homophobic language and how this feeds into the wider prejudice and discrimination that we continue to confront. But we have most of public opinion on our side (see the story in today’s Journal once again indicating overwhelming support for marriage equality). As you can also see on this thread, there will always be bigots (some downright ridiculous and almost comical in their statements, others more sinister and influential). So we need to keep the campaigning and awareness going and we will continue to build on progress already made.

• We’re bombarded by literature about how bad they are, even on the telly, now people want to stop us talking about them altogether?

The smoker’s lot is not a happy one.

What a chore.

• LAGER lesbian and gay employment rights

• Great article. If anyone in ear shot of me uses the term “gay” to describe something as bad I let them know that it isn’t acceptable in such a way that they won’t use it again in my company at least.

Have heard the word “fag” used once and the person that said it wanted the ground to swallow him up after my self and my partner were finished with him. I think that rather than get tired of the use of the word it needs to be confronted. Any time that the word is used In an incorrect manner then I challenge it like I would anyone incorrect use of a word like nacker

• Rob 22/02/12 #

yep – a very effective puppy training technique!!

what happens when you get confronted and told that eavesdropping on other peoples conversations and then interrupting it to ram your own philosphy down their throats isn’t acceptable??

• @Rob

It’s not about ramming anything down anyone’s throat – It’s about displaying basic manners and consideration for those around you.

And yes Garreth, I too have confronted homophobic language and behaviour and will continue to do so. Certainly in a work situation, we have very stringent laws and anyone who engages in anti-gay behaviour (or indeed against those covered by the other 8 grounds contained in our Equality laws) does not have a legal leg to stand on. Except for those under the Section 37 religious ‘ethos’ exemption of course but that is another story entirely..

• Ok as a man with many gay friends and family members, I agree completely with the article!
    But I and my friends use “gay” “fag” all the time!
    We’re a nation who thrive on using words which may cause offense but they’re not intended to!
    We’re living in a totalitarian society where if you say something which you are entitled to say you can still be destroyed by everyone for practising your right to free speech! Sure people say things other people don’t like!

I think ” I don’t like people being hostile towards homosexuals” would have been a more appropriate title

• I don’t know does it – as I said before
    Many people today think Gay people are inferior – they are Homophobic.
    Take form it what you wish

• Before we impose the rights of Gay people to have, adopt or foster children… Let us as a society enshrine the equal treatment of biological parents first. If you believe that there is discrimination against LGBT with regard to this area, then lets look at the treatment of Fathers with in the family courts… An unmarried father, can separate from his partner and have NO rights at all to his biological child(ren)… His ex can thereafter start a lesbian relationship( if she so chose), have a civil partnership and then her new partner has more rights to the child than the Biological father has…… Everyone deserves the same rights regardless of whom we chose to sleep with, by right. Two men or Women for that matter can’t make a child, that said it doesn’t mean that they can’t make good parents.. That the Religious lunatics wish to OWN marriage is beyond belief. As a straight man, I don’t feel threatened by LGBT’s having relationships, sex, children etc… But in your battle for equality remember that equality is for all, not just sectors of society

• Brian I totally agree with your points made about the treatment of unmarried fathers in this country – It’s utterly wrong in every way but I must point out that if a woman with a child enters a civil partnership with another woman that woman has NO rights towards her partners child.The mothers next of kin ie her parents do.
      That is one of the issues that the gay community have with the differences between civil marriage and civil partnership.

• @Shane…… But the family unit, however it’s made up has priority. If the father is unmarried, he has no rights to his child unless the court grants guardianship to him…. If a lesbian couple has a child, can’t the non biological partner adopt the kids legally??? Step parents have the same problem when it comes to kids….. Screw adults rights here for the moment… the kids should have the rights to their parents, gay or straight. Gay rights have come a long way, and rightly so but in my opinion Rights are something for People and not groups of people. What I find hilarious is that the so called ” Christians”, want to monopolies marriage and deny others heir human rights… In the end people are so much more than how they chose to sleep with.

• The role of a mother as “natural guardian” is a logical and reasonable one. There are countless historical and societal reasons for it also. At least one fact that the courts protect is the statistical reality that the mother is and always will be the main carer for a child. Spelled out: women do the lions share and more than not, men walk the other way. Marriage is benchmark in relation to the rights of fathers. Spelled out: a willingness to commit to a relationship via marriage is society’s only way of measuring a child’s welfare by reference to the biological father.

• Just to clarify Brian – the non-biological parent in a same-sex union cannot legally adopt the child at present. Unlike in Britain, this was one of the glaring anomalies in our version of Civil Partnership – Another practical reason why it is important to proceed with marriage equality.

And I understand the points you are making about the rights of fathers, but do not fall into the trap of setting up different groups against each other (Slightly off topic, but I would suggest that the likes of John Waters with his reactionary views on these kinds of issues does the fathers rights movement no favours whatsoever)

• Any view contrary to the author’s and any view contrary to the pro-author comments, is homophobic.

If your beloved son is homosexual and you completely disagree with his choices yet continue to love your son, you are homophobic.

If you hang onto your faith, which faith expressly forbids same sex relationships, amongst other immoral acts, you are homophobic.

If you believe the law of the land is adequate and need not be changed, you are homophobic.

The one time I was genuinely homophobic (what a word, it really is a self-indulgent knock-everyone-down thumping stick for the gay community) was when I was enjoying a quiet sandwich and bottle of water in the phoenix park, and a scruffy looking individual walked up to the car parked in front of me, whipped out his pecker and was then fondled, in public, through the open driver window, by some bloke in a Renault.

If the heaving stomach, nausea and disgust I experienced that day is homophobia, then that’s what it was.

• @Dismas Okello

So my disgust at seeing numerous straight couples engage in lewd behaviour in public over the years was really just ‘heterophobia’…lol

I know I said I wouldn’t engage any further with your idiotic posts but your latest rant was just crying out for a response.

• >Any view contrary to the author’s and any view contrary to the pro-author comments, is homophobic.

No. Why do you assholes always pull this? Some views will be labelled homophobic because they are offensive or damaging to the LGBT community. It is not purely because you disagree with someone, though if you disagree on something as fundamental as human rights, of course people will chastise you.

If you have a good argument, make. “Bawww you’re calling me a bigot because I disagree” is a lazy argument.

>If your beloved son is homosexual and you completely disagree with his choices yet continue to love your son, you are homophobic.

It’s not a choice. And there’s no valid reason to disagree with it that isn’t ignorant or hateful. I’d also be sceptical of the degree to which you’d “Love” your son.

>If you hang onto your faith, which faith expressly forbids same sex relationships, amongst other immoral acts, you are homophobic.

Yes, because such a faith discriminates against homosexuals. That practice is considered hateful in the modern world and has ultimately been the result of violence and social rejection. You can be gay and christian.

• One interesting point to make is that internet/4chan culture has done something very interesting – it uses the word “fag” to refer to everything. Homofags, straightfags, if you’re from Britian you’re a Britfag, if you listen to Metal you’re a Metalfag, etc., there is no longer any offensive connotation to it.

It’s actually been quite successful in removing the impact of the phrase on many levels. It doesn’t mean anything negative anymore, it just equates to “a given type of person”. It’s interesting how language has evolved like this.

But similarly – that means that there must be context in which such words can be used that *do* have an impact. And none of the “PC gone mad” types address that, since linguistics and sociology go way above their head.

• Please note ‘fag’ is also another word for a cigarette!!! Everybody has dealt with some sort of bullying at some stage of their lives! Bullying is bullying and it’s all wrong.

• @Dismas
    let the dolphins in peace
    to be a homosexual is a process each one find out in they own time
    and to be heterosexual also it is a process
    and Q it’s for question to yourself

• Shame on you journal. That is a very badly written piece that comes across as something by a person with an agenda or a vendetta. Almost a grumpy old man monologue. I can appreciate and empathise with some of the points but the general tone is so oppressive and almost aggressive that I can’t help but feel that this person needs to relax and take a deep breath. The last thing we need is more censorship.

• So wait a second, up above you’re saying people should be allowed say what they want and now you’re giving out that this piece was published?

• he doesn’t come across as almost aggressive, he sounds exhausted from the uphill battles of trying to reach the humanity inside those wh just dont want to listen. I thought it was a well written piece because of the passion and belief that came through. it is an opinion article after all, not a clinical, objective article.

• Hey! You leave us ‘culchie’s’ out of it! It’s not my fault as I was born this way. I say equal rights for ‘townies’ and ‘culchies’ in a fair and tolerant society. What’s wrong with two culchies getting married? Aren’t we people too? It’s said that God made us in his own image…..therefore a part of Him must be a culchie. There are clubs and social networking sites where we culchies can meet and form relationships; even bring up children together. Times are changing, but it’s not fast enough! I wear the green badge: ” Culchie and proud of it! with pride and honour. I plan to put together a “Culchie Pride Week” with a march on Clonmel Town Hall in the coming weeks. All your support would be gratefully accepted. Let’s get out our Tractors and drive on the road to Freedom!
    [ P.S. No townies welcome!!]

• In a free society you should be able to say what you like! Not be oppressed like in a certain old European police state.

• I’m tired of people thinking they should have special privileges because they are LGBT…. I got slagged for having red hair, tonnes of kids do, tonnes get beat up…. you don’t see any big campaings to stop bullying red heads. Deal with it. People make jokes, so what, grow up.
    Politics and sexual orientation are not related, you don’t see all the straight member of political parties coming out and proclaiming their sexual orientation, because it has nothing to do with acting as a public representative. They’re job is to make decisions about what they think is best for our society, not have a big song and dance about what their sexual orientation is.

• LGBT people are not looking for special privileges.Were black people looking for special privileges when they didn’t want to sit in the back anymore?
      Have a read of this article about a 15 yr old boy who committed suicide last December for being “slagged”

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2011/dec/04/observer-editorial-homophobia-bullying-schools

I looked for any evidence of something similar happening to a red haired child – couldn’t find anything…funny that

• @ Mike El
      Spot on . I am sick of ‘gay rights’ . I am hetrosexual, but my sexuality does not define who I am.
      No more than the fact that I have black hair defines me . But dare I say it to certain people , I would be slated
      for my sexism…. or some other ..ism. I do not care who any one shags . It is of no consequence to me what a persons sexuality is ,once they do it on their own time .
      So if there is a gay teacher , he is still a teacher and I expect him/ her to teach . Or Doctors should doctor , nurses ,nurse. Bus drivers , drive buses… See where I am going with this . I Don’t care . I do not define any one by their sexuality. I do not use the words ‘fag or faggot” .I do laugh at jokes, all kinds of jokes .About gay people married people , husbands wives , you name it ,teacher pokes and doctor / nurse jokes .. not all sexual or political….just funny.
      Lighten up people Live and let live /love and let love!!!

• @ Eileen
      If everyone were like you ,as in, your indifference to whether someones sexuality affects how they do their jobs
      and live and let live.Gay people wouldn’t need to fight for equal rights( not gay rights)
      I don’t define myself by my sexuality either – I hardly think about it, but I do when a random stranger calls me a fucking faggot for walking out of a Gay bar.I’ll try to lighten up the next time and buy him a drink.

• Why waste money on a drink for him , if it is a him that calls you names . Ignore him . Sticks and stones…..
      If you are gay , why get hung up about it !
      Honestly ! No one else is.

• Not hung up at all Eileen,just would like to socialize without being verbally abused.
      Oh and maybe be allowed to donate blood,marry my partner,adopt children!
      Live and let live!!!
      I wish

• Shane
      I believe you speak for us all when you say that .
      I too would like to socialize without running a
      gauntlet of totally inappropriate comments too .
      Maybe it is ok for a woman to have vulgar and lewd
      comments shouted at her ,if she prefers not to kiss/sleep
      with a total stranger on first meeting them,or a man to be
      called names because they do not ‘like’ a woman who is not
      attractive to him….
      However I take your point and wish you well.

• Shane I am sorry all of these things are in your way to your life fulfillment .
      I can not give blood after suffering Hepetitis (excuse the spelling) when I was six….
      A lot of people go abroad now a days to marry their partners . In fact two of the best
      and nicest weddings I was ever at, was away, I am sure adopting a child is not
      impossible either . So you see every problem has a solution. I am not being flippant
      towards your problems , but they are only problems as long as you let them be that.

I do understand that there is a quyestion of adopting as a couple , and there is inheritance
      rights etc . Please don’t let any of these stop you . because all will come right in the end.

• @Mike Ei and Eileen Gabbett

It is not looking for ‘special privileges’ to expect not to be bullied, insulted or denied the same rights as everyone else based on your sexual orientation. And it is thanks to the work of the gay rights movement you are so keen to dismiss, that we as LGBT people can live our lives openly without fear of criminal prosecution. It is thanks to the work of such activists that it is now illegal to fire or refuse service to someone on the basis of sexual orientation (although if you’re a gay Teacher or Doctor working for an institution with a religious ‘ethos’ you can still be discriminated against, an ‘opt out’ we are actively working on having repealed from our otherwise excellent employment equality legislation.). Furthermore, it is thanks to the work of gay campaigners and our straight allies that we now have some degree of legal recognition of same-sex relationships in Ireland. Do you think all of these developments came about by accident or that being gay was always seen as just another characteristic such as having ‘black hair’ or being left handed etc – And please, do not trivialise in this way the hard fought for gains that have been achieved for our community.

And yet, significant challenges remain. All very well to say ‘live and let live’ but as heterosexuals, you are entitled to marry the partner of your choice and if you enter a union with someone who has existing children, you can become their official guardian. That is not the case at present for same-sex couples, so with respect, we will continue fighting for full equality until such a thing is achieved. We expect not to be discriminated on the basis of our sexuality – nothing more and nothing less. So less of this ‘special rights’ nonsense which is an import from the extreme anti-gay religious right movement in the US.

• A quick aside, Donal Og Cusack used to get a fair amount of abuse from the terraces at hurling games, not homophobic abuse, just regular pig ignorant abuse. I actually always went to the stand myself to avoid the knuckle draggers on the terraces.
      However in recent games he gets less abuse as no one wants to be seen as homophobic. A few lads still shout out vulgarities, and some is indeed homophobic, but the overall amount he gets has gone down in my humble opinion.

• Adam Long
      You say
      ”So less of this ‘special rights’ nonsense which is an import from the extreme anti-gay religious right movement in the US” Already you have labelled me Adam . You are very wrong about me ,if this is what believe . I am not anti -gay.
      I have trivialised nothing . It is important that people get on and live their lives and change things as they see fit to suit their own lives. Most people do this .
      Then you said” do not trivialise in this way the hard fought for gains that have been achieved for our community” Adam what ”community” do you mean ? Again you have marginalised yourself with this comment . Strange that!
      I wish you luck for your future . I live and let live.

• @Eileen

I was responding to you agreeing with another contributor who claims to be sick of LGBT people looking for ‘special privileges’. The same contributor then goes on to trivialise the very real problems of bullying and discrimination that gay people face by comparing it to being teased for having red hair.

That kind of statement irks me greatly because any fair or reasonable examination of the facts would show that far from looking for ‘special rights’ (which is a buzzword of the christian fundamentalists in the US), we have yet to fully secure equality under the law despite the fact that a large majority of Irish people support such a concept. And that kind of glib ‘special rights’ comment is further undermined when you consider such simple things as same-sex couples being afraid to hold hands in public for fear of being met with verbal abuse or worse – something straight couples do not even have to think twice about.

In terms of ‘community’, I was referring to the LGBT community, which I am happy to consider myself a part of. Society is made up of many different groups and it does not follow that by identifying with a particular group, you are marginalising yourself.

And I accept you are not anti-gay but please recognise that the battle for equality is a real and necessary one.

• Adam Long
      No problem. I support your rights and I understand the need we all have to be accepted as equal as we are .

• You’re not gay, you haven’t experienced homophobic bullying, and far more people die or are depressed from it than “ginger bullying”.

You are not at the receiving end. It is very easy for you to tell others to “grow up”. LGBT people already get “special treatment” in the negative sense. But that of course, doesn’t bother you.

• Eileen that is one of the most ignorant things I have ever seen written here. I suggest you actually read up on the kind of issues LGBT people actually face and why they feel the need to “define” themselves. Because you claim not to define others by their sexuality, does not change the fact that people in general will view someone differently because of it.

It’s incredibly insulting and homophobic to claim LGBT people “define themselves by their sexuality”. You’re essentially chastising them for standing up for themselves and there’s little more disgustingly privileged than that.

• While we’re at it can we stop saying retarted? I dont like people using thats gay and so I dont use thats retarted out of principal

• Chris Ld 22/02/12 #

Yes, this is good – look how much we have achieved in making certain topics off limit and not ‘acceptable’ in the way they were before.
    Yet, speaking from a psychoanalytic and linguistic point of view – there will always be ‘taboo’ topics in society, and if you look at any language or civilisation, all humour has the same transcendent topics: sex, defecation etc – these are taboos in society, and have been there as long as language has, and humour is derived from pushing taboo. Therefore, sadly, homosexuality will always be a ‘theme’ for jokes, and therefore cannot be eradicated entirely. What can be done however is to make it socially unacceptable, so that we are not at a stage where we have such great prevalence of these types of jokes and their casual nature, but, as a ‘theme’ it will sadly be there as long as mother-in-laws are

• I’m tired of always been preached to by minority groups. I’m tired of the PC Brigade telling me which words I can and can’t use while they continuously change them (seems words have a PC shelf life). I’m tired of being labeled homophobe, racist, misogynist, rapist, classist, and insensitive simply because I am a straight white middle aged male with a privileged background. The irony of all of this is that these LGTB groups and I will also throw the feminists into that group, who are supposedly holding up the liberal flag also happen to be the same people who display the least amount of tolerance and understanding to anyone with a differing opinion.

• Minister for health has welcomed the decision by the HSE to ban fags from the grounds of most major hospitals
    That’s what I find fuckin’ offensive

• AlMar 22/02/12 #

I, too, am tired.

I am tired of arguments like this:
    “In fact it is bizarre that in 2012 we are still having the same arguments. Society should have moved on by now. It’s depressing that it has not.”

What has the date got to do with anything? If something is right, it’s right no matter what the year is. Similarly, if it is wrong, it is wrong no matter when it takes place. Certainly, popular opinion moves on, but that’s a different thing entirely. Racists and slave traders could have used the “this day and age” argument against abolitionists 200 years ago; the Nazis could have used it against defenders of the Jews 70 years ago.

This appeal to “progress” or to “this day and age” is intellectually lazy, but it is also a way of bullying and silencing those who disagree. And it also sets a terrible example for teenagers – we tell them to resist peer pressure, but then we tell that we should change our laws because of peer pressure and because it’s 2012 after all…

Yes, I am tired of this.

If you want something, argue on the basis of its merits, not on the basis of the year.

(PS – The Journal regularly publishes agenda pieces with this line of “argument”. It’s not good enough guys, some quality control is needed).

• And I’m tired of hearing people like you suggest that people who disagree with the use of homophobic language are bullied and silenced.
      homophobic language is as damaging as racist language and yes people who use it should should be silenced.
      Do you think it’s acceptable for black people to be called niggers? wheelchair users : cripples or retards?
      I think not..words like faggot and queer are just as unacceptable.

• AlMar 22/02/12 #

Shane – read my comment and perhaps try to reply to what I said, rather than what you simply presume I said.

• Ciaro 22/02/12 #

It’s official, the world is gone PC crazy.
    What next? Don’t use the following words:
    Kids, babbies, brats, culchies, dubs, skangers.

The author of the article is one angry man! Oh be nice!

• You could say the same for the use of “PC gone mad”. Sooner or later, you won’t be able to express any progressive opinion without it being immediately dismissed as “political correctness”. Sounds crazy, but it’s already happening.

The post makes a valid argument, you may agree or disagree with it, but writing it off as “PC” is ridiculous.

• This is a vary interesting article about a very difficult topic for society. There is no doubt that the rude jokes, the bullying and the rudeness toward the LGBT grouping is “homophobic”, and must be condemned and rooted out of society.
    However!, and this article is perfect example, it is not good enough to move from real homophobia to use the term homophobia to smear everyone who disagrees with the LGBT agenda.
    I don’t want marriage redefined. I believe the ideal for a child is to have a father and a mother, and to deliberately circumvent this is a travesty. I believe scripture, new and old condems the homosexual act, and Catholics uphold this in their teaching. That does not make me or the church homophobic.
    It is strategy by the active LGBT community to move from real homophobia, to items that are not homophobic in themselves within the one article, as above. Once the emotions are stirred who could talk against the LGBT agenda?
    Argue the issues on merit, and avoid constructing articles designed to shut up those who oppose your viewpoint on good natural law grounds.

• Pidge 22/02/12 #

Hang on, you’re against same-sex marriage, against same-sex parenting, and condemn the homosexual act. How is that not homophobic?

• Pidge 22/02/12 #

(Sorry “the homosexual act” should have been in suitably mocking quotation marks there.)

• By your definition then, marriage is strictly a religious contract and the civil marriage papers that are signed are of no import. By your definition atheists should not be allowed to marry either and I gather from what you are saying, people of other religions.

Your ideal of marriage is between a man and a woman in a Catholic church, many others have a different ideal. The only difference is, we won’t try and stop you celebrating your ideal of marriage where you are intolerant of mine!

• Scripture, old and new, condemns a lot of things that a perfectly acceptable in modern society and on the other hand contains laws and rules that would be completely unacceptable – for good reason – these days. Here are a few definitions of marriage (which EVOLVES as a concept in the course of the narrative of the Bible). I’d think you’d find that most people today would oppose to a victim of rape having to marry the rapist (Deuteronomy 22:28-29). For more: http://cdn.unicornbooty.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/Marriage-According-to-the-Bible-.png

• an interesting comment. while I respect that catholics may want to uphold the teachings in their scriptures, is it not our modern responsibility to question them when they ask us to exclude individuals on the basis of archaic prejudices that should no longer occupy our society. I am not saying condemn the religion and its beliefs, but simply to recognise errors of the past and then adapt. not only that, while marriage can be seen as an institution to support the bringing up of children, there is no doubt that when people think of marriage first, they think of it as a way to unite in a very definitive way with the partner they love. why should anyone be excluded from that.

• I wish people would realise that there is a difference between religious marriage and civil marriage. One doesn’t necessarily infringe on the other.

• No I am not homophobic, I love the persons but cannot support their actions. You obviously have accepted the LGBT redefinition of “homophobia, marriage, human rights”.
      I wish marriage within the church for all, but I know marriage is a civil issue and recognise all marriages between a single male and a single female.

• Which of my actions can you not support? Shopping? Going to work in the morning and paying taxes? Watching the Six Nations? Having a pint? Or the one thing that I do that is ABSOLUTELY NONE OF YOUR BUSINESS and, unless you’re a creepy peeping tom you’ll never get to see? :)

• Homosexuality has been widely documented in the animal world – therefore according to whatever “natural law” you wish to place on life, it is perfectly normal and should be acceptable. The only LGBT agenda which I am aware of is the one to push acceptence of their personal choices, and this is entirely reasonable. A homosexual marraige should have no baring on your marraige PJ, nor does a homosexual relationship have a baring on your life. And what data exists points towards the sexual orientation of adoptive parents having no baring on the quality of a child upbringing – there are plenty of children waiting for good homes and caring guardians, and there are plenty of homosexual couples prepared to provide that if only given the chance.

I presume from your post that you are a religious believer, so perhaps you can answer a question for me. If God created man in his own image, and a certain percentage on mankind is homosexual, does that not also make God just a little bit gay? This may sound facitious, but there’s a larger point being made here…

• i kind of agree, and i don’t always see it as homophobic, however what i DO usually argue about is keeping YOUR church out of MY politics

• No I’m expressing an opinion which is exactly what this person did. It’s the taking away of opinions that are the problem.

• If you use the word fag, people will assume you’re of the opinion that you do not like Gay people.
      It is not neseccary to use that word as there are many other ways you can express your opinion.

No one is asking you to give up your opinions, just the words you use to express them

Fag means hate.

• Well hang on, doesn’t that mean it’s preferable to say “Homosexuals are an abomination” to “I couldn’t care less if you’re a fag” ?

Is it offensive words you want to stamp our or offensive opinions? And who decides?

If you want to campaign for something, campaign for equal treatment. Let’s keep the hatred where we can see it so we can fight/laught at/ignore it

• Chuck, the point is that using words associated with homosexuality in common language, to express negativity, sends the message that homosexuality itself is something negative. Language has a big influence on how culture develops. Ask Noam Chomsky or some good linguist.

• That could hardly be less relevent to what I said

• Watch out Chuck
      She might use her privilege to attack you based on your race, sex and sexuality

• Just to point out that both of you have done nothing but argue with Marginalised people in these comments sections. Since all you do is defend your privilege, of course I’m going to call you on it.

• Don’t feed the trolls Leigh. Simply looking for a reaction..

• No I haven’t Leigh
      I have no problem with marginalised people demanding respect
      I do have a problem with you making gross generalisations about people and attacking them based on their age, gender and sexuality

• No Adam, it was a serious question. This is a forum, the whole purpose is the discuss things not just to say how much you agree with the original article – that would add nothing

Leigh, why would I bother with you when you have no reply to the points I already made to you? I have no privilege, and you have no leg to stand on

• Shane

Your pathetic reply illustrates my point perfectly.

How many people today do you know have in public debate put forward their opinion that “Gay people are inferior”?
    Or have intimated that in their arguments?

Is that all you have?

You must be a very insecure person. Perhaps you should examine yourself, I think you are “heterophobic”

• Next big thing: Make a racist or gay joke and you will be deported, even from your own country.

• And by ‘other countries’ you mean the North, where the age of consent was lowered from 17 to 16 since 2008?

• Does that make me “Homophobic” Shane?

Rubbish!

I do not go out of my way to bully, slander or assault homosexuals, I do not fear them and I am not worried about becoming one. I have not got an unreasonable or excessive fear of them.

Accusing those who oppose the homosexual agenda of having a phobia firstly indicates your unwillingness to address points raised and secondly is pure lazy on your part, and typical of the hate-filled rhetoric coming out of the homosexual lobbies less intellectually stalwart supporters.
    You think everyone who does not share your view has a “phobia”?

Much as I disagree with the likes of Peter Thatchell, at least when he debates he addresses issues and does not put up straw-man rubbish arguments by accusing every interviewer he debates and who disagrees with him of having a “phobia”

• Adam

I expected you to comment here. Your vociferousness is not unexpected either.

It is wonderful, is it not, that you who accuse me of hate make such personal and hate-filled comments?

The hypocrisy of the middle-brow homosexual commentators and campaigners is amazing. You all fight for the right to be loved, and you are so full of dark hatred for anyone who resists your campaign that you cannot contain your anger, and It spews out of you in impotent rage like lava.

Where do you get peace from? Or have you ever known peace? You speak as though you were being tortured and
    tormented.

All that I can do is pray that you will find peace. From the bottom of my heart I wish you no ill nor do I bear any ill feeling toward you. Nor, for that matter, against any GLBTQ person

• I for one believe people are deserving of love and acceptance, regardless of their sexuality. I bear no ill will toward anyone because of their sexuailty. I don’t believe homesexuality is “normal” though. Nature designs males and females sexual organs they way they are for a reason. Now if two people of the same sex want to be together, fine, and as a couple they should be entitled to the same as a “normal couple, they should be free to go about their business without prejudice. But as I respect you and your rights, please also respect my right to my views and beliefs. I am entitled to them.

• @Tom Kenny –

As you well know, nobody is trying to deprive you of your beliefs. That is a complete misnomer. Treating LGBT people with equality and respect does not come at the expense of those who are religious, unless of course your intent is to enforce the moral codes of your particular religious brand on to society as a whole. However, you state that you are opposed to prejudice and discrimination against same-sex couples so I take it you do not favour such a course of action.

What gay people are looking for is equal treatment in civil law, which should be secular and not based on any religious doctrine.

I will say however, that as a gay man, I take strong exception to your definition of what constitutes ‘normal’. LGBT people have existed throughout history and will continue to do so and the fact that we comprise a minority does not make us any less ‘normal’ or deserving of equality.

It also should be pointed out that every credible and mainstream medical and psychological organisation has stated that homosexuality is a completely natural and normal variant of human sexuality. You are of course free to believe what you want but the view you express about LGBT people not being ‘normal’ should never influence any public policy in this area.

• @Tom Kenny

…Also, what a limited view you have of humanity. We are not simply about procreation. Human nature (and sexuality) is much more complex and interesting than that.

• What do you define as normal, and why is normal a good thing? I would say homosexuality is relatively normal, it’s not very rare and is increasingly a part of mainstream culture, but that we as a culture are lacking things that are abnormal. We have become a very mainstream oriented culture, hard to believe the Virgin Prunes came from here.

• Well Adam you appear to have been busy carrying the can and defending the camp for the second half of the day. It is sad in later articles where your side of the argument has to find approval for your actions among the animal kingdom. I always considered us above the animals. I agree with you that we are more than procreation machines, but I doubt if you were referring to our spiritual nature.
      Redefining marriage is the next big mistake society will make, this follows the abortion catastrophe, and soon to follow will be euthanasia. It is much harder to wind back our mistakes.
      Society has a problem with definitions, many mix up love and lust, others freedom and licence. But we all tend to find a way to justify our own wrongdoings, isn’t human nature wonderful, sometimes.

• PJ, can I ask you one question. Will your gay neighbours down the road marrying or being able to get married effect your life in any serious way, and how?

• I presume your question is rhetorical, but I’ll answer anyway, not that you will put much weight in my reply. As I said elsewhere marriage, as currently constructed by law, and for several millennia, is designed primarly to provide a stable, loving environment for the creation/sustaining of children for the benefit of society going forward and to set the man and womens relationship on terra firms. The marrige you propose is of no benefit to society or children, merely a legal mechanism for the benefit of the “couple”. The “new” marriage, will of course devalue all true marriages by redefining the necessarry characteristics that the wisdom of ages set in place to facilitate the propagation of individuals and society.
      Are those of you in the gay community so unsure of the validity of your relationship that you find it necessarry to tear down marriage. Marriage and the propogation of society is already under attack from within by couples using divorce as an easy exit and by the proliferation of the contraseptive mentality and worldwide abortion.
      So if my neighbour/friend marries in a gay relationship, then marriage has a new meaning, and it is certainly not what I ment when I said “I do”.

• @Adam, Read again what I wrote, I’m happy for you, sincerely, I believe that you should have the same rights as everyone else, But like wise I’m entitled to my beliefs. I don’t think your evil, I’m not calling you a sinner or any other names. But I take exception at being told what I should or should not believe, I really don’t care if mainstream medical or anyone else says it’s normal, or if they say it’s not. I have no problem being tolerant of your views, opinions etc etc, but it appears that you are struggling to be tolerant of mine, I wish you well, but please don’t try and tell me that there is something “wrong” with me because I view things differently than you.

• @Tom Kenny/John Johnson

Being LGBT is not a ‘view’ or ‘opinion’ so please don’t equate that with your views about gay people not being ‘normal’. Yes, you are entitled to your beliefs (as if that was ever in any doubt) – I’m just glad however that most people seem content to extend full equality to their gay friends, family members etc without feeling the need to qualify their support with (ill-informed) notions of what constitutes being ‘normal’.

• Okay Adam, I certainly have no intentions of upsetting you or hurting your feelings, you are obviously very passionate about this. I was trying to make the point that we are all entitled to be our selves, warts and all, tall, short, skinny, overweight, straight, gay, also our opinions that may be popular or unpopular, as long as we don’t infringe anothers rights regardless of their sexuality. I was saying all along that my respect for another has nothing to do with their sexuality, I still don’t believe it is “normal” but that is my personal opinion or how I feel about it, I wouldn’t dream of trying to say that my “opinion” is right or more important than anyone elses, but I am entitled to it. Hope you have a nice evening, PS on mates computer, thought I logged in but obviously not.

• @Tom Kenny –

You certainly don’t need to worry about hurting my feelings. I have no problem engaging in robust debate. That’s not the issue here…You will find that most LGBT people and anyone else who feels strongly about human rights/equality issues will be quite passionate on this subject. And if you claim (without a shred of evidence to back it up) that being gay is not ‘normal’, you have to expect to be challenged on that.

• @Adam, You really seem to struggle with what I’m saying, I NEVER said it wasn’t normal,
      I said that was my opinion………never said I was right and you were wrong…….

• Baseless opinions are useless in a real debate where we’re trying to decide on what we should and shouldn’t do, especially when a minority’s rights are at stake. Have more respect and don’t throw them around where they don’t belong.

• Well Leigh I’m not sure who you were addressing with your comment, but it smacks of burying ones head in the sand to dismiss others opinions with such an authoritative air. But you are correct in one respect, there is an issue with a minorities “right”, and that is, that a minorities right should not undo the majorities right to preserve the multispectral nature of marriage. A man, a woman and children.

• @PJ Scully

You hold fringe views on this issue and certainly do not represent the majority you talk about. I refer you to another story on today’s Journal which shows that nearly 3 out of 4 Irish people – 73% – support extending marriage rights to same-sex couples, and the most recent survey on the right of gay couples to be considered for adoption shows 3 in 5 in support. These positive findings are growing all the time.

So equality for gay people is not only the right thing to do, but the popular thing also.

• @ Adam Long
      I look forward to that Adam. We both believe what we believe with a passion. You are quite a
      frightful opponent for your cause, I’d hate to see you when you’re angry. But despite the 73%, you may find that “might makes right” does not always apply. Who commissioned the question? How come the results were mentioned by the GLBT group even before they were mentioned on Newstalk two days ago? Why has this media being preparing the ground for an attack on marriage for weeks now?
      So I suppose we shall see how “fringe” my views are, and we shall determine if the majority you see in your numbers is real or fictional.
      I can hear the Rosary beads rattling already D.V. Hopefully the cause for marriage will find it’s voice.
      In a way the closing of the embassy may help the cause as it warns the people that there are ideologies against their interests, and It warns the politicians that the backlash would be fierce.
      Now let me see how should I put it to my wife, “Darling do you mind awfully if I redefine marriage….”. I don’t see that going very well do you? See you in the new article later.
      P.S. This is not an equality issue, you Adam are free to marry any woman you please.

• Adam I posted a reply twice but the taught police had their way and removed it.

• @Leigh, I show respect in all my comments, Your reply is strange, as in it you reply with “your opinion”.
      Having read some of your other comments, I would suggest that you attempt to refrain from name calling etc, as this will have tho opposite effect you are looking for. If you can make your point in a calmer way people are more likely to listen to you, where as if you name call etc, no one will be open to hearing your views or “opinions”

• @ Adam Long
      I received your post by mail but it does not appear streamed, so ill reserve my response.

• @ Shaun… I know where you are coming from, but in general Hate effects only the person who Hates, it’s like a cancer. If someone chooses through ignorance to call people Gays, Fags, Chinks, Niggers etc it is in effect a display of their ignorance… something that is to be pitied rather than be pissed at. I believe in live and let live, other will always have a different view to yours, mine and other definition of freedom of speech.

Name calling is also a very different thing to inciting violence or murder, now I’m not saying that it’s not hurtful to be called names, hasn’t everyone been called something at times.

• Yes but it does not make it right nor acceptable – verbal abuse and violence often go hand in hand.
      I have be called names leaving a gay pub and have ignored it and moved on but i also know someone who was verbally abused and then jumped by 2 lads on a sat night in Dublin city center all because of hate so I do think that hate affects more than the person who hates.So yes I’m all for live and let live..

• Adam – “jock” describes a brainless, homophobic, over-reliant on brawn member of the male sex. A jock strap or cog piece is an item of clothing around male genitalia. A faggot is a piece of wood used as kindling. Chaucer used the term “slut” or sluttish to describe a slovenly MAN in the 14th Century. The term now attaches to women. Possibly in the 40th century a Fag will be a boring politician. Work out the math. I wish people would realise this is only language which will continually change over time and this argument will be futile.

• Rob 22/02/12 #

just a thought – is there any word that would be acceptable??

like with the right tone – pretty much any word can be homophobic?! not just gay or fag or poof or queer…..

so what are you really looking for here?

• Yeah you have a point. If someone spits the word ‘homosexual’ at you it can be filled with hate. Whereas someone with a, shall we say, ‘robust’ manner might say “Hey, you’re queer, can I borrow your eye to pick out a shirt? I’m a straight guy.”

• Luke- you might be right, but the fact that you need to clarify what the article says only serves to highlight its shortcomings.
    Is it about homophobic language as the title suggests? Is it about inclusion in politics? Or is it about homophobic bullying?
    Rory quotes that 79% of secondary teachers “were aware of homophobic bullying at their school” but he doesn’t state what form this bullying takes- to be relevant to the article this statistic should probably clarified: verbal, physical etc otherwise it isn’t necessarily relevant.
    I take issue with the article’s structure, not with what he is trying to say. Which I am still somewhat unclear on.

• I can see I’ve touched a nerve. Where do you draw a line with free speech??? Free-ish speech?

• Context is everything. When I was a kid ‘gay’ meant happy. Then it meant homosexual, now my kids use it for stuff they don’t want to do.

Me to son: “Alex, you’re on the wash up tonight”
    Alex: “ah dad, that’s gay, I did the wash up last night

If I say my friend is homosexual, is that ok. Is it different if I say he is a ‘homo’?

• Adam

Great name, “Adam”. It’s Hebrew for “ruddy”, as in earth coloured – the first Adam was made from the earth, and the name is a wonderful description of his origin.

One day you and I will return to that dust which formed our common ancestor Adam, and we will find ourselves standing in front of the Creator who gave us life.

King David wrote “the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom”. Fear in that psalm meant “reverential awe”. Male and female we were created, and a man should “leave his family and cleave to his wife”. Your sins will kill you, because the end of sin is death – and we will all die.

Best you find out how to worship God whilst you are alive to bring Him glory, rather than when you are dead and can do nothing. And soon you will be dead. If you are 50, it’s likely you are well over half way through your life.

Did you know that there have been archaeological traces of sulphur discovered and recovered in the plains where Sodom the city once stood? That is an indisputable fact, worth googling when you are looking for poor dumb homosexual beasts online

• Dismas, you should quit while you’re behind.
      Also it wasn’t King David who wrote “the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom”. It was his son, Solomon. It also isn’t in the Psalms, it’s in Proverbs.

• Todo 22/02/12 #

The word Gay was hijacked by homosexuals to mean something different. It has now been hijacked again by teens mostly. Nobody owns the word. I’ve never heard the word Fag being used in anything other than a put-down so that’s a fair indication that the user doesn’t like you or what you are. The same person is likely to use nig#er pr#ck fat fu#ker depending on who fraws the fite. Homophobe is sometimes bandied about as a put-down too freely these days. LBGT people should possibly review the value of “Gayness” as a means to achieve their ends. It seems to me that it has become a millstone for the conservatives because the public face has been hijacked by the radical exhibitionists. As i have said to my son, in a perfect world the guy who looks like a yob should be given a fair hearing at a job interview but he’s disadvantaging himself to negin with. Similarly, average mothers and fathers would have a lot of doubts about letting the “circus cast-members” marching in a Gay pride parade adopt a child.
    -

• @Todo

As someone who has attended many Gay Pride celebrations I can assure you that there are many diverse elements to it – gays and our straight allies marching behind equality banners, organisations promoting sexual health and awareness and yes, like with any party or celebration (Mardi Gras anyone..), colourful performers and acts. It’s that diversity which makes Gay Pride such a fun and important event (second only in size and turnout to the St Patricks Day Parade in Dublin).

Clearly this is something most of us understand – In the last survey on the issue, 3 out of 5 people said they favoured allowing same-sex couples be considered for adoption. This makes sense, as most Irish people now know an LGBT person directly, so the false caricatures put out there by anti-gay groups trying to spread fear of the unknown have been completely debunked for the most part. We are not ‘circus cast masters’ – we are peoples sons, daughters, mothers, fathers, friends, work colleagues living everyday lives.

• @Tom Kenny

You certainly don’t need to worry about hurting my feelings. I have no problem engaging in robust debate. That’s not the issue here…You will find that most LGBT people and anyone else who feels strongly about human rights/equality issues will be quite passionate on this subject. And if you claim (without a shred of evidence to back it up) that being gay is not ‘normal’, you have to expect to be challenged on that.

• One final small detail, You continously refer to LGBT, I am not putting labels on anyone, someones sexuality
      “in my opinion” is a very small part of Who they are and how they are with the world. It neither makes them good or bad

• @Tom Kenny

Yes, LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered) is a real and legitimate community which I am proud to identify with. Society comprises of many diverse groups and that is a good thing.

And I fully understand what you are saying. But being of the view that gay people are not normal flies in the face of accepted mainstream and expert opinion in this area, which absolutely needs to be pointed out – we are not simply having a ‘difference of opinion’ here.

And don’t be so naïve to think that saying you believe LGBT people are ‘abnormal’ is not an offensive statement to make. How do you think a member of another minority group would feel it you made a similar comment about them??…Please get real.

• Shaun

I know of several cases of young ladies “converting” to lesbianism after 3 years in an Irish university. I was not saying all young women were

Re the “w” – my mistake, should have been “Q” for “questioning” – am
    I, am I not, a little fornication here, a little there, I’ll decide later what I am or will be.

Maybe the “Q” members of the GLBTQ club might be finding they have unusually strong feelings for dolphins. That might be funny, and is a little tongue in cheek, I’ll admit, but…

Where does it stop?

• I too have no desire to cast any more pearls before swine

• @ Adam Long
    I look forward to that Adam. We both believe what we believe with a passion. You are quite a frightful opponent for your cause, I’d hate to see you when you’re angry. But despite the 73%, you may find that “might makes right” does not always apply. Who commissioned the question? How come the results were mentioned by the GLBT group even before they were mentioned on Newstalk two days ago? Why has this media being preparing the ground for an attack on marriage for weeks now?
    So I suppose we shall see how “fringe” my views are, and we shall determine if the majority you see in your numbers is real or fictional.
    I can hear the Rosary beads rattling already D.V. Hopefully the cause for marriage will find it’s voice.
    In a way the closing of the embassy may help the cause as it warns the people that there are ideologies against their interests, and It warns the politicians that the backlash would be fierce.
    Now let me see how should I put it to my wife, “Darling do you mind awfully if I redefine marriage….”. I don’t see that going very well do you? See you in the new article later.
    P.S. This is not an equality issue, you Adam are free to marry any woman you please.

• @ PJ Scully

Do you honestly believe that the kind of extreme religious views you spout on this forum (and which are invariably met with such negative reactions) are in any way representative of how most people think in modern Ireland – rosary beads at the ready, expecting gay people to marry someone of the opposite sex etc etc?!…You are clearly living in your own world, completely detached from the realities that exist around you. In fact, you are such a stereotype and caricature of an outdated, oppressive and long since dead Ireland that you are actually an asset to those of us campaigning for full equality in this area. That is one of the genuinely hilarious aspects of your interventions here!

Add New Comment