TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Column: Ten years of Enda – and it’s time we got rid of this spoofer

We know Enda Kenny is a nice guy and a clever politician, but Ireland needs more than that, writes Aaron McKenna.

Aaron McKenna

ENDA KENNY HAS sat on the throne in Fine Gael for ten years and he has over a year in post as our Taoiseach. While his party has seen an incredible renaissance during his tenure and the man certainly wears the gloss of office far better than his congested predecessor, Kenny himself is a spoofer.

In some ways he could be regarded as the jammiest fella in Irish politics: Kenny is a member of the lucky sperm club, born to a long-standing and well respected TD. When his father Henry died at the age of only 62, the 24-year-old Enda ran for his seat in what Kenny himself termed “one of the last old school by-election contests” when recalling it for Kevin Rafter’s book The Road to Power. The sitting Taoiseach Liam Cosgrave kicked off the campaign with a speech, which he followed up by handing Kenny a roll of notes and telling him to go buy everyone present a drink.

Kenny was one of life’s natural backbenchers, serving from 1975 until 1994 before getting the nod to his one and only full ministerial office prior to becoming Taoiseach at the Department of Tourism and Trade (then known to programme managers for the Rainbow Coalition as ‘the department of fun’.) Prior to that he spent a short period as a junior minister in Department of Education and Labour, but despite being an ally of Garret Fitzgerald he was passed over time and again for promotion.

If there’s one thing Enda Kenny has been good at, it’s dodging bullets. He surprised almost everyone when he ran for the leadership of Fine Gael after the fall of John Bruton, but lost out to Michael Noonan who went on to lead the party into its wipe-out election in 2002. Faced with a populist Fianna Fáil government that had fair economic winds at its back, Fine Gael was never going to win that contest with its brand of serious but nitpicky policies.

‘Kenny was seen as a terrible failure’

In the same election Kenny kept his seat by only 87 votes in the 14,527 between himself and his party colleague Jim Higgins on the eight count. Michael Noonan was gone as leader by sunset and Kenny again pitched his hat in to the contest, winning it as a compromise candidate in a broken party.

At the time, Fine Gael’s failure to win the 2007 election – at the height of Mahon, no less – was seen as a terrible failure, though the party comeback was impressive. Kenny himself just couldn’t match up to the Teflon Taoiseach in style or substance, being a poor debater and seen as somewhat shallow by the electorate. All things being equal, Kenny was the luckiest man in politics once again to miss out on that particular spin in the government Mercedes. Fine Gael hardly had policies that would have substantially altered the course of economic events in the country that followed.

There is great value in having a leader who is lucky, I think. You can’t discount it. But luck is best only when paired with skill, and on that front Enda Kenny has a patchy record. The man has a great emotional intelligence and is a long-standing constituency worker. These skills combined led him to picking the right strategy for Fine Gael to come back from the brink, with the new leader travelling the country to bolster and rebuild local organisations; with prior enemies brought together on his front bench; and most of all, Kenny ditched the high brow approach to politics and decided to play the populist.

‘He is regularly hidden so that he doesn’t have an Enda Moment’

That may not sound like a compliment, but it’s what kept Fianna Fáil in power so long. In 2002 one of the party slogans on billboards was “I’ll legislate for real social justice,” beside a picture of Michael Noonan. It was highbrow stuff and boring as you like. Fianna Fáil’s was “A Lot Done. A Lot More To Do.” (AKA, more gravy.) After the election Fianna Fáil slammed the breaks on spending promises, leading to the famous “Screwed By Liars” tabloid headline (proving how innocent we were during the Celtic Tiger, if that’s all that we considered getting screwed by Fianna Fáil to be.) Come 2011, Fine Gael had “The FivePoint Plan” and every hospital A&E department in the country would be spared the rod.

The debit side of Kenny’s skills account is not good, however, and particularly so given the qualities we need in a leader to deal with our present problems. We need a decisive, sharp and verbally competitive leader. Instead we have a chap who regularly gets hidden by his advisers so as he doesn’t have an Enda Moment, and who runs away from debates for fear of crumbling to pieces.

We know for a fact that some of Kenny’s own team don’t think he’s the man to be leading the country after the Bruton heave just prior to the election. Dissatisfaction had festered, and while everyone involved will tell you the issues were put to bed following the vote I’m not so sure that mental reservations go away just because Kenny’s side was better at marshalling numbers.

Twitter followers of the general election in 2011 will recall the #wheresenda? tag, which was recently resurrected for the referendum campaign. The Taoiseach’s popularity moves inverse to the amount of airtime he has to endure in debates, be they with his political opponents or protestors who, as he so eloquently put it, need a bit of work to sort themselves out.

‘This is not simply an issue of political optics’

Brian Cowen was a hell of a guy for taking you on a roundabout tour of the English language when answering a question, and Bertie Ahern tended to add some colour to the national discourse (“Throwing white elephants and red herrings at one another,” or “The boom is getting boomier,” anyone?) Enda Kenny is hardly much better when he is challenged. If you take the time to listen to his non-answers during Leaders’ Questions in the Dail you can almost see the gears moving in his head.

Kenny is fine enough when reading a speech, but when he has to go off message or react in a debate he falls to pieces. His failure to come out and debate in the fiscal stability treaty referendum was not fitting of the man who would purport to be leader of this country. Moreover, this is not simply an issue of political optics: If you think a debate on TV with Gerry Adams is robust, how about the closed door sessions with Mrs Merkel? The results (“What results?”) seem to speak for themselves so far.

The leadership style of his government also leaves a lot to be desired. Kenny chose the path of maximum promise while knowing full well that he could deliver very little (and in fairness, so did that other spoofer Eamon Gilmore). His ministers have been shooting themselves in the feet since Day One on issues ranging from A&E departments to new taxes. It was Harry S Truman who kept a sign on his desk, “The Buck Stops Here”, and I think Enda could do with one of those too.

Enda Kenny is a really nice guy. He has brought a freshness to the office of Taoiseach sadly missing in recent incumbents. But what Ireland really needs is someone who can fight our corner with intelligence and tenacity, in Europe and at home in his own cabinet. A man who has to be hidden away from the electorate, who can’t debate and who runs his show as chairman of an unruly board as opposed to chief executive of a tight ship is not the person to lead us through.

Fine Gael (and Labour) need new leaders, and our government needs to adopt a better sense of purpose and take control of our destiny in Europe. The first step to getting there would be having a leader who we are confident can stand up and brawl with the likes of Frau Merkel, rather than sitting quietly in the corner and waiting to receive a gold star in his copy book.

Aaron McKenna is a businessman and a columnist for TheJournal.ie. You can find out more about him at aaronmckenna.com or follow him on Twitter @aaronmckenna.

Read next:

Comments (157 Comments)

• The “Department of Fun” was Arts, Culture and the Gaeltacht not Tourism and Trade…… It was Michael D who was the Minister (his first cabinet position)

• “The boom is getting boomier”
    The doom is getting doomier

• I’d say this article made Leo Varadkar a happy man this morning. He could almost have written it himself.

• Just a quick question. When is politics going to be based on merit and seeking the best and brightest to lead the country instead of being a popularity contest?

• This is called an opinion piece. Of course Its biased…that’s why it’s an opinion

• The one thing that strikes me about Enda Kenny is the fact that he would not engage in a televised debate during the referendum. If he is afraid to take on our own politicians then what does that say about his ability to take on Merkel and the rest of Europe? He might be a nice guy but we really don’t need nice guys in Europe right now, we need someone who is willing to tell Merkel to go and F*@k herself and I’m afraid that Kenny is not that guy.

• I think enda suffers from a god complex. He has no idea what the little people are going through in this country. Little people who are working hard to pay for all his new taxes. Sheriff of Nottingham comes to mind. Great article.

• And does the business man with the expensive shirt writing this article know what the little people are going through?

• Fine Gael know all a out shirts, don’t they?. Particularly the blue variety

• @David
      Always there to defend your leader. It’s not the author’s job to be in touch with the electorate and the financial difficulties they are going through. Kenny has turned his back on the whole country to be Merkel’s errand boy! What a sell out

• If the little businessman with the expensive shirt is anything like the entrepeneurs I know, he probably employs a number of staff who in turn get to support their families, works 80 hour weeks, and pays a hell of a lot more tax than you or I.
      If picking up on his style of shirt, or diminutive stature is all you have to offer, then you have managed to emphatically endorse the article’s view of FG and it’s leader.

• Interesting article, though a bit ‘if you can’t get the ball, get the man…’ could the column writer let us know if he plans on running for election at some stage? Based on his website, this may be a possibility. If he is planning to run, could he let us know for which party, if any? If this is his approach to debating the issues, maybe it would be better if he stuck to the computer retailing sector. Name calling might get you support, but it doesn’t solve anything

• @Aaron
      I’ve been trying to post a few comments but they haven’t appeared????

• @David..Enda Kenny is a liar !!

• Well said Andrew.

• @David Didn’t you only did your leaving cert last year? What would you know about little people coming from your leafy suburb in south Dublin having never supported a household or paid taxes in your life.

• @ David…are you implying that FG/Lab know what ordinary people are going through? The author should have put arrogance in to the mix aswell…otherwise he’s completely on the money in everything he says. Kenny is a spineless, timid creature who couldn’t stand up for us against a heard of cows et alone the Euorcrats bunching ths country. It’s disgusting to think back on that pious load of horseshit he spouted on the first day in the Dail and his talk of defending this country. He’s become nothing more an Merkels representative in Dublin and has utterly and completely failed in his and this useless governments duty to its people. I have voted FG since I was 18 but as long as that man stands as ‘leader’ ( I use that term extremely loosely), I’ll never again vote for them. If there is anything good to come of this sad and sorry mess, it’s that the Irish people have woken up to the fact that the calibre of political leadership and representation in this country is dismal. You’re on borrowed time Herr Kenny, enjoy it whilst you can.

• Nice article! I don’t believe in any of the political parties in Ireland. We need a new party that we can believe and puts the policies and running the country first rather than there political lives!

• “We get the government we deserve” is the old quote but our present regime has mismanaged the nation at the most critical point in a generation. Parish pump politics practitioners are just incapable of the decision making and leadership that has been needed…and yet we put up with poor administration and where our resources and interests are sold down the river. We comment and complain in media like this or talk radio and nothing changes. Are we as a nation so apathetic to protesting and demanding change or have we simply resigned ourselves to the inevitable…until the next election?

• The Irish don’t protest anymore.. Did you not know? The only people who attend protests are “crusty lefties” who would “protest against anything” and are “uneducated fools who know nothing”.
      Forget the right to peaceful assembly, civil disobedience, letter writing, petitioning.. All of our modes of recourse and keeping our civil servants in check are only for those we choose to look down upon for having morals, and if they escalate methods to stand up against corruption and inappropriate leadership then they will be labelled terrorists..

Some democracy eh? When trying to participate (outside of the polling booth) is looked down upon by the electorate..

• You would be hard put to it to find a halfway decent leader in any political party right now.

• Have to agree with your article Aaron, dozy Kenny is a nice guy but unfortunately not the man to lead in these turbulent times. An honest politician though and that’s a welcome change.

• This man is out of his depth. I would have so much respect for him if he’d admit that and appoint a team of engineers, accountants and economists to run the country.

• Joan Burton is an accountant and Richard Bruton is an economist….

• David, once Burton and Bruton got the whiff of the ministerial leather in their shiny ministerial cars, they forgot EVERYTHING they stood for. Morals, empathy and public-service thinking went straight out the window, and was immediately replaced with trying to cut carers allowances, household charges, water charges etc etc.
      If you don’t believe me, how else do you explain the cynicism FFg/Labour employed during the referENDA campaign? They kept Hogan under wraps for a 3 week period, only to unleash the gobsh*te within 4 days of the referenda being passed, to continue his financial terrorism campaign.
      FFg/Labour haven’t once looked for Mitchell to be sacked from the Government, even though we the tax payer paid 300,000,000.00 euro for the tribunals to uncover some of the corruption FFg were engaged in. In fact, i haven’t heard one single word from any of you on the Mitchell corruption story. Yet you all went after Wallace without the slightest hesitation (I personally believe Wallaces position is untenable and should resign. But, you see, i think Kenny should resign also, he is complicit in supporting TD members taking bribes, as he hasn’t taken any action against Mitchell.

• Ok dave, i should have stated competent, rational, sensible, practical, capable, experienced Engineers, Accountants and Economists. We need experts – NOW.

Not someone who has barely passed a college course

• Enda is what we call a fake opposition. Our illusion of choice in this show they call politics. He was a puppet in opposition during the debting years and now hes the leader of the country when the debt is called in.

Look at the parties, spot the future contenders. No too hard is it?

• Kildare 09/06/12 #

Where’s his five point plan,his 100,000 jobs,quashing quangos,a better deal on bank debt,tackling waste especially in the public service,if you don’t call that spoofing then I don’t know what is
    Oh yeah and he still has his teachers pension ” on hold” , even though he hasn’t sat in a classroom in over 30 years,inspiring isn’t it!

• i think FG and Lab who went without power for so long are clinging on so tight they can’t see passed their own white knuckles. They fail to take any responsibility for any actions they thrust upon us and continue down the party line of blame everything on the last shower, which is partly true but as leaders of this country we don’t want representation from cowards who hide from debate or confrontations we want leaders who lead from the front. Sadly Enda is no leader and is so drunk on the power he has he is afraid to be shown up as the failure he has become.

• incredible renaissance??
    They finished last in Irelands political race to the bottom and they still seem determined to mess it up

• And yes the sleeping FG Internet guard dogs have awoken to defend their great (yeah right) leader! Attacking the author and his well written piece!

• Excellent article all round and pretty much sums up the luckiest politician in Irish History, what is a real shame is Edna’s inability to utilise his luck and actually do something meaningful. I guess him being the luckiest equates to Cowen being the unluckiest politician in Irish History. Spoofer is probably to kind a word to describe Kenny, in simpler terms, he is at best Meak and a worst incompetent. Bad enough he has watched over a shocking lack of progress over the past year or so but shocking he and his coherts continue to convience themselves how wonderful they are when in reality not a single positive achievement can be noted, infact for all intense purposes things have got worse. Kenny’s performance on the world stage in some respects highlights the man’s inability to communicate and at times its embarrassing stuff. What gets me is this “where in this together BS”, decent and honest man he may be, but equally it may be said the man is quite the Hypocrite.

• Time is up .done nothing as usual .

• Great article Aaron and spot on Enda has shown to be a poor leader of this country who had no fight in him and can’t wipe his own arse without being told by his highly paid bunch of advisers and big Phil Hogan who made sure he survived the Bruton heave. But the problem is I don’t see the tough negotiator that’s needed for the job in FG or Labour’s ranks!

• Kenny is like the Harry enfield character ,Tim nice but dim !

• Cynicism and conspiracy theorists aside, the current positions are speaking for themselves. Especially the horrendous 400k still unemployed with no means of a cogent plan. What’s needed is a Martin Luther King type, some one with vision and the ability to bring us all together. Enda sadly is a product of his ‘age’. Sli Nios Fearr the new political party in Ireland would benefit from the likes of Aaron McKenna as a member.

• I see possible links with UKIP a-brewing in the comments section of your website Martin. How would you respond to accusations against that party of racism? Why would anyone vote for a party aligned with a party in the UK which is more right wing than the Tories?

• censored 11/06/12 #

If you want to create a new political party can I first suggest that you name it in English.

No offense to the Irish speakers out there, but it’s particularly noticeable how the cupla focal is abused by gombeens.

• At times I can n’t decide what’s worse, the hard left, the established parties (at least we know about them, mostly) or those that pine for the days of the PD’s. All can find faults but everyone is short on real workable solutions.

• Enda’s not fit for purpose – not up to the job. We can actually do something other than just talking ad infinitum but first we need to know what we want and how best to effect it; who we want to lead this precious little country out of the mire. We have to get it right this time!

• I think what is most depressing to me is the similarity of all the parties/ leaders. It’s almost a “different shades of grey” scenario when it comes to their outlook/ policies.

But out of curiosity, is their no method enshrined in the Constitution regarding a recall election? Something similar to the American system, that I’d enough constituents vote on it, a “problematic” politician can be removed from office?

Granted, we would then be depending on Endas people in Mayo to do the decent thing, and put him out to pasture.

If there was a system like that, it might have the politicians thinking that they are accountable for their bulls**t/ broken promises.

• Want election promises up held – an new citizens charter is being promoted on Slin – Nios fearr.com – that way parties could be fined for there bull****

• Paul 09/06/12 #

He is a shockingly inept political leader and the perfect puppet for his masters.

• Great article. Kenny is Taoiseach by default , not by merit. He came power on the back of a protest vote against FF, not on the quality of his ideas or policies.

Fine Gael were atrocious as an opposition party under Kenny. Considering the amount of blame they deflect back on to the previous govt, you have to ask where they were when all the bad decisions they blame FF for were being made; asleep at the wheel is the answer.

He is proof if any was needed that Irish politics is not a meritocracy but a gerontocracy; hang around long enough and eventually you’ll progress.

The electorate and even his own party rebuffed him due to his bland demeanor and sub par performance in the dail. They wanted an alternative to FF that didn’t comprise the shinners and the other unemployable socialist seat warmers, so they were forced to let Kenny prove them wrong. unfortunately it seem

• War is peace. Freedom is slavery. Ignorance is strength. Kenny is leader.

• Poor Enda but luckily for him he’ll never see this article because he doesn’t know of the existence of the internet or general media… which is why he can tell us it’s not our fault the country is in such a state here and then tell others that it is indeed our fault when he’s abroad getting his hair ruffled.

• An informative and intelligent piece of reporting. Keep it coming !

• Huh? Informative? Intelligent? Try pointless and self-serving. How does Mc Kenna suggest “we” get rid of him – wait four years for an election? Join FG and force a leadership election? Coup d’etat? What exactly. Aaron’s not short on the spoof himself.

• Fine Gael grass roots may decide to get a better leader. That’s the only hope in the short term.

• I agree. Another fine article from Mr McKenna.
      This highlights the pressing need for a mass cull within Irelands political establishment, which for some time has been past it’s sell by date.
      The mainstream party’s are clearly no longer fit for purpose and have not come close to identifying the reforms required to lead Ireland back to growth. The more radical parties, while benefiting from pursuing a populist agenda, in reality are just as clueless.
      Due to glass ceilings and an array of established political dynasties within party structures, attempting reform or renewal from within would be futile.
      Ireland not only requires a new dynamic generation of politicans to begin to sort through it’s problems, it also requires a new generation of political parties.

• I think we squabbling over nothing. Look what’s happening in the bigger picture . A bankrupt Europe and the real possibility of a wider war concerning Syria. All the ducks are getting in line for WW3 and were worried about Enda Kenny. We should be worried about Enda planet.

• Mia 09/06/12 #

We need more TDs like Sean Lemass. Granted simpler times in terms of budget constraints and debt sizes. We need a turnaround while we still have a voice.

• If Enda takes back his teaching job does he get his Taoiseach pension!

• I love the fact that every man and his dog think they could do a better job that the government. Dream on, if there was an election tomorrow they would get voted in again. Change doesn’t happen over night, it will take the full 5 years to put right or more

• Great to see the fg fan club out today. I do recall Enda not being a terribly popular chap among the blue shirts prior to winning the last election because we all knew then as we do now , that the man is the Fr Ted of Irish politics but sadly not nearly as intelligent or funny as as Fr Maguire! He’s a plank but a very well paid plank – as for the fan club followers – what’s your excuse??

• I’m not a FG supporter but this opinion piece is just a biased disgrace.

• You can’t disagree with what the article says. Enda Kenny is s nice man but nice doesn’t cut it in politics – especially at this time. Enda Kenny has all the charisma of a polished turd. FACT.

• agree one hundred percent, the writer should at the least include his own politics ie s/f f/f etc. merkel is on borrowed time and we will have changes to our bank debt in the near future. rushing off to change things for the sake of change doesn’t make it a good idea

• right paddy, we sit back and HOPE for the worst to happen to some other country! so we might not look so bad when everyone is reduced to ruin.

• FACT or not, that’s not my point. I’m saying that the piece is just full of biased catchphrases and brash insults.

“Spoofer”
      “the jammiest fella”
      “lucky sperm”
      “good at…dodging bullets”
      “terrible failure”
      “kept his seat by only 87 votes”

It goes on…
      “crumbling to pieces”
      “gets hidden by his advisors” etc.

There are some spiteful backhanded insults too!

So as I said, this piece is no more than a biased disgrace.

• Oh FFS, it’s an OPINION piece.. The clue is in the title and the fact that Aaron is not a Journal member of staff like say Gavan, Christine or Hugh..

Of course it’s biased, it’s one guys opinion.. If you would like to present the opposite to that opinion you are more than welcome, after all the journal is about “read, share and SHAPE the news”..

Although you’ll get people like yourself who will fail to realise its an opinion piece and call you biased..

• censored 11/06/12 #

Gosh, a biased opinion piece. Perhaps you *should* be an FG supporter, certainly got the brains for it.

• Great piece. Very engaging. It is hard to argue with the realities of this particular Taoiseachs leadership. The country needs and deserves more. Many on this site will blindly champion Enda Kenny, when the truth is as clear to them as it is to the rest of us. FG need a new leader, as does Labour and Sinn Fein. Enda is not the man to guide us through these perilous times. He is a nice guy, but a weak willed and failing leader.

• Very similar to John Drennan piece in Sindo recently.

• Patethic article arrogance of the highest order why don’t ye all run for office and get off Yere arse and see can ye do better

• Ok but first I’ll have to check back and see if any of my family were prominent members of a political party who will fund my campaign and parachute me into the ranks.
      I could stand as an independent and who knows, I might become the first leader of this country free from inherited parish pump political allegiance.

• Any idea how much it costs to run?
      A friend and business owner in my local area who knows absolutely everybody due to the work he does with the community nearly bankrupted himself trying to run for the local elections as an independent.
      And he had connections.. So how do you reckon someone without that back up capital or prominence in the community would fare?

So really, while your plan sounds workable and a great way to shut up those who disagree in your head, it’s actually very poorly thought out as the current system stands..

Think about it like this, you have two brands of cola running for election, one is some small manufacturer no one has ever heard of with a budget of €1m and the other is Coca Cola with a far larger budget.. Who do you think will win?
      And there’s the problem with politics the world over.. It’s no longer about the parties core values (except for the minority who take an active interest), for the majority its a jumped up popularity contest..

Take the money out of politics, make elections an even playing field, and have a system to ensure that elections promises must be kept (let’s face it – FG made all their promises with full knowledge of the facts and what they would and would not be able to do, yet they made them anyway, and for the record – so do all the other parties – they share guilt on that one)

• Mia 09/06/12 #

Democratic society?? No chance! Them days are long gone! If a no vote had of won in the Fiscal Treaty we would have asked to “try again”. As for Enda wouldn’t be my favourite person but who else can we get to run the country? Is there an alternative? Does the future of Ireland lie in Germanys hands??

• I’m sure the straight after FIanna Fail bankruptcy is *exactly* when Enda Kenny chose to enter Government.

Yeah, he’s doing all this for fun and ego of course.

The man needs our support right now and the hurler on the ditch attitude is tiresome.

• Johnny! We all supported him 15 months ago, but we’ve since discovered he’s a complete liar! Then on top of that, we find out he’s a total coward!

• FG and Lab entered government with a huge amount of political capital and the country wanted reform. They have absolutely wasted their opportunity!

• Ahh of course,
      Do I sense that you expectation is/was;

1–The Government would have the country fully recovered from the biggest crisis in its history without pain.

2–The Government would have done this in 15 months !!

3–The Government would achieve this and still spend the way the previous Government did.

4–The Government wouldn’t annoy *anyone* on their tough journey

…So Lets keep rowing over the size of the fire and the colour of the fire brigade while the house burns around us.

• @johnny, that’s a great comment – should be posted on practically every story on journal. Nail’s head has been hit. Well done

• Johnny,
      I think people voted for him / them on the basis that they promised tough renegotiations on the banking element of our debt (I don’t think anyone would disagree that we should pay our debt – just not the debt of venture capitalists and bankers who should be taking their losses as understood in capitalism).

Since entering office we have been informed that Kenny and Noonan weren’t even trying to get a better deal for us, they reckon we should pay it all, with interest. Indeed, they’ve been happy to sit back and take orders from the EU and not even try to fight our corner – this is of their own admission! Then you have Kenny off at Bloomberg telling the world that the Irish people went mad borrowing (nothing to do with dodgy banks being deemed too big to fail) only shortly after telling the Irish electorate it wasn’t our debt! Talk about barefaced lies..

No one expected him / them to walk in and have everything fixed in a year. But every shred of evidence has proven that he hasn’t actually tried. All he has done is walk into Merkels office, hand her the strap on and bent over. Hardly what people voted for now is it?
      If you cannot understand their anger at these broken promises then I’d hazard a guess that either a) you don’t actually live here b) the recession hasn’t hit you too badly or c) you’ve left your rose tinted glasses on a tad too long..

We need new blood throughout our entire political system. We need someone who can walk into those meetings with their head held high and their morals intact. Someone who can stand firm and true to what they are saying, and if a compromise be necessary that it is a fair compromise and not just doing what they are told.
      Sadly in Kenny, we do not have that. I have been told he is a very nice gentleman, and I don’t doubt it, but he’s not a leader and he’s not a statesman.

• This article is riddled with poorly formed arguments & mistakes. If Enda Kenny engaged in a referendum debate with Gerry Adams, he would be the first Taoiseach to debate a referendum in the history of the state. Bertie had the media on his side, Kenny has always been the media’s whipping boy. As far the lack of Golden moments, you will find most people regard his speech on the Cloyne report as a watershed moment in Irish history. Any fool who believes that you can become Taoiseach of a country based on luck shouldn’t call themselves a journalist.

• He didn’t call himself a journalist.. It clearly states that this is a) an OPINION piece and b) he’s a business man.

This is not an article written by Journal staff.

The Journal is an interactive news website, they welcome your submissions.. If you reckon you could do a better job then feel free..

• It is unfortunate that The Journal is now publishing uninformed “bar stool” politics as opinion pieces.

This article is simply junk and makes embarrassing reading. Where is the standard or bar in The Journal for these pieces? Can anybody get a rant published? I thought the ranting was just for us in the comments!!

I’m not a fan of Mr. Kenny but there is nothing in this article of any substance that supports the headline. Only pub talk type conventional wisdom. I laughed at the paragraph about the Twitter hashtag. Also we live in a democracy and this Government – like them or not – have a majority and a strong mandate.

Should we expect a coup d’etat soon to get rid of this spoofer?

• Maybe they could actually stand by the mandate they sold us and not the one they made up after election or did I read the manifesto wrong?
      Did the majority vote for FF policies on a grander scale?

• You are free to submit your article for publishing.

It’s embarrassing to see all these people whinging about the Journals opinion pieces and comments section when they clearly haven’t paid any attention to the website itself..

The Journal make a point of saying this is an interactive news site.. They make a point of saying that the comments aren’t moderated, and they have a section for you to submit your own opinion pieces and photographs, they even have the comments of the week section..

Complaining about this is the equivalent of whining about whether a story in the daily edge is really newsworthy..

• The political process is based on an outmoded model. Time for a political paradigm shift across Europe.

• Trying to change the personalities within in the current political system is I’m afraid to say is something akin to deck chairs and titanic. You cannot elect locally on local issues and expect quality national and indeed international leadership. The system must change. But will the proverbial turkeys pass a motion on the festivities, I think not. A movement for political overhaul is needed. However not just a mob of stone throwers. A well thought out, strategic review of the electoral and government system with a view to both social and economic success existing side by side.

• If only we had you running the country Aaron. It would all be so different, wouldn’t it?

• Great article from another Hurler on the ditch. The people of mayo voted him him and it was obvious at the last election that he would be Taoiseach.
    It’s democracy, suck it up and offer some constructive advice.

• Nozaed 09/06/12 #

Compared to Daily comedy show when Cowen was in Government, Enda is a hero and as for answering questions, what about Bertie, he never answered a question without spoofing or telling people they should commit suicide. Well done Enda you are doing a great job Ina difficult time!

• My sense of Enda is that he is probably the right man at the wrong time.
    At the last election he was sold to us as a kind of political Trappatoni. He was good at picking a team, getting the right people and putting them in the right positions.
    He would be, we were told, a chairman not a Chief.
    This was quite a convincing argument as he had been brave in his ‘squad decisions’ in opposition, promoting many young, able, newly elected TD’s.
    This chairman approach had worked quite well in the past.
    Liam Cosgrave took a similar approach. He,like Kenny,presided over a cabinet of people with bigger brains (and ego’s) than himself but managed to successfully navigate that coalition through turbulent times.
    The current situation is different though.
    With all the work being done now at European level, the Taoiseach needs to be a good negotiater, and this is not Kenny’s forte.
    Having said that, it is hard to see anyone who could do any better.
    Richard Bruton is a very capable guy with an impressive intellect but lacks the steel needed.
    Bizarrely, the one person who would be good at this, and who was very highly thought of at European level was…..Bertie.
    Now don’t get me wrong, I would rather eat my own liver than see him return but there was no denying his ability to do a deal!!

• O'Reilly 09/06/12 #

Kenny dispensed with Brutons coup in a manner that displayed real political aptitude and took everyone by surprise. You won’t get bull in a China shop reactions from Kenny and I for one had enough of that bullish yet substance free leadership we’ve seen previously. Aarons article is a rehash of populist waffle with very little substance. Still, he’s entitled to his opinion…

• Good article, get rid of him

• I am a Fine Gael supporter and have to say that the author, who I do not know, must be some ‘businessman’ as his description goes. Where has he been for the past year – has he not noticed the work undertaken by the Taoiseach in respect of regenerating oprtimism wtih a sense of purpose and determination not seen in and Irish leader in a generation. Has he not noticed, while endeavouring to deal with a very difficuilt domestic/European situation the level of effort Enda Kenny and his cabinet collegues particularly Bruton, Coveney and Gilmore have gone to in promoting Irish business interests in Britain, the US, China and beyond. Does he not read his business pages every day? I look forward to hearing abour Mr McKenna’s business successes.

PS – I’m alll for the freeedom of speech etc but this article, aside from being insulting to the Irish elecotrate, is time wasting tripe

• Surely as a FG supporter you must be aware that there is a genuine push to replace him as leader. There has been a quite steady build of support for a heave for quite some time now. All it’ll take now is the inevitable dip in the polls or a gaffe by Enda and the heave will be under way. The pieces are in place, now it’s all about the timing.

• Nigel, while I agree Enda had done a lot to instill optimism in the country, for a lot of people that optimism is no longer there, or simply not enough.

Optimism is great and all that, but it won’t pay the bills/ put food on the table etc. it won’t create jobs. It won’t fix a broken Health System. It won’t make our streets safer, as the numbers in the Gardai are falling. It won’t repair a creaking Water mains infrastructure.

I know my attitude will appear churlish, but Enda and F/G need a dose of reality.

I’m aware that the problems we are facing are not solely of our own/ the current governments making, and they will take years to resolve. But optimism by and of itself won’t cut it.

Action will.

And Enda is not a man of action.

• And for the record, I don’t support any particular political party.

• Pat…note you are a former FG party strategist and NCH board nominee but what’s with trotting out the party line?

• How is the truth time wasting tripe???

• Maybe you could answer some of these questions nigel because these people weren’t able to for some strange reason.

Search these headings on youtube, I had the links under each title but it won’t like me post with they haven’t appeared

Banker Left Speechless by Irish Journalist’s Question

Vincent Browne destroys Lucinda Creighton

Fine Gael’s James Reily schooled on his own party’s manifesto

• Yea, it worked, I wonder why it didn’t let me post with the links to the videos???????

• As a non partisan, I have to agree about the article! Really poor “journalism” and as mentioned, some nasty elements which add no value! Null points!

• How can an opinion piece by a person who runs a business in the IT sector be poor journalism?
      I think what’s actually happened here is that a load of people got too incensed by the criticism of Kenny and failed to read it for what it is..

It’s like complaining about the newsworthiness of the daily edge or calling for the Philpotts blood because they were *charged* with their kids murders (yet not convicted in a court)..

Try reading things.. you’d be amazed how much clearer life can be when you read what is actually there rather than what you want to see.

• Folks this Aaron prat who wrote the piece must be laughing up his sleeve. Editor of Journal probably said to him “wind up the plebs so we get lots of comments on the page”

Don’t fall for it, ignore him or better still use the button at the top of the page to reply privately

• Enda is a fool and a failer just like MR Fitzgerald, RIP / he sold us out now another blueshift enda and his beloved colleagues. Have sold us out too, and so did red tie men Labour of liberty, so for the record all FG / LB/ FF did sod all fr any Irish decent person living in Ireland, they are very British, more than Irish politicians, now they want British students to roll into our Irish schools , all aboard free passports, come and study in Ireland, Ireland’s for sale, well FG and LB and FF you should be proud of yourselves as your nothing to the people of Ireland you lied to us you ve broken promises, you promised to deliver and never did so, now you drag us down the drain pipes to obey EU Masters by bailing out the EU countries Banks and sod us the Irish people of ireland well ye lot can waste and go to hell, it wont take long till we get the likes of ye lot out, enough, people are sick with disgust as you treat Irish people as second class citizens, your a load of waste crap , get rid of ye crap.

• Noel O'D 09/06/12 #

It would be interesting if all those who feel so free to criticize were to actually put their own name on a ballot paper…..however I doubt that will happen, would be too much like work for some people.
    I get the feeling that there are a lot of people on here who are worried because it now looks like there will finally be accountability in the social welfare system and the thought of possibly having to work is making them sick to their stomachs. I wonder how many of the Occupy Muppets are on here.

• Nothin but a cheap tabloid piece to play to the anti-government sentiment on this site.

Watch as it gets lots of views and TheJournal gets lots more advertising revenue as a result.

• mcbab 09/06/12 #

That is it exactly David. The journal just likes to push people’s buttons and get the insults flying. Not any “journalism” involved here, just giving some obscure “businessman” a platform for his vitriol. Kinda pathetic really.

• Something’s rattled your cage this morning David, I can feel the steam coming out your ears. I will personally write to the editors of all newspapers and online media sources for you, to tell them not to print/write anything critical of our Taoiseach or his government as you find it very upsetting.

• hahahahaha.

The journal would get more views and advertising revenue if they ran a piece on all Mr Kenny’s and FG’s conversations with Frau Merkel, the EU and the ECB…but they’re not available, they’re still clouded in secrecy contrary to Mr Kennys assertion that he would lead – “an open and transparent government”.

Maybe he’s ashamed that his recollection of meetings differs greatly from Merkels and the EU’s LOLOLOLOLOLOL

• http://www.irishexaminer.com/analysis/glass-farce-as-enda-puts-press-in-their-box-196513.html

LOL limofax – FG already have plans in place so the media will not upset Enda.

A press conference without the press?….only in FG

• Maybe you could answer some of these questions David because these people weren’t able to for some strange reason.

Search these headings on youtube, I had the links under each title but they haven’t appeared for some reason???

Banker Left Speechless by Irish Journalist’s Question

Vincent Browne destroys Lucinda Creighton

Fine Gael’s James Reily schooled on his own party’s manifesto

• @ David & McBab

If you would care to look, this is a column, an opinion piece, by a businessman – not one of the Journals employees.
      For you to complain about how this is “poor journalism” and accuse theJournal of bias / pushing buttons etc really shows a complete lack of understanding of this simple fact.

It may interest you to know that you are both free to compile your own pieces to counterbalance the opinion Aaron McKenna put forth here, the Journal accepts submissions from readers.. They tend to end up in the opinion or “read me” section, like this one did!! Who knows, if your piece generates enough page views, they may even decide to post your contributions frequently like they do with Aaron’s!
      Opinion pieces are not positioned as fact, they are OPINIONS. To get your knickers in a twist because someone’s opinion was published is like those people who whinge about the lack of seriousness in the Daily Edge section..

If this piece had been written by say Gavan, Hugh or Christine etc – then you may have had a point. It was not. If it had been presented as a news story you would have a point, but it was not.

For you to complain about how this was merely put here to raise page views is also kinda ignorant to how a business works (hint – they need those page views and they need that advertising revenue – its their income! So naturally anything that will a lot of page views will be included – it’s called targeting the audience, surely you realise that?)

Lastly, you can’t blame the Journal for their readership. Every person here is entitled to their opinions, in the exact same way you two are, the journal cannot be held accountable for the comments section.. Anyone who tries should be held accountable for their own ignorance (it’s there, in the comments policy, along with the rules that the majority of posters here never bothered to read).

Or if it all bothers you so much you have the choice to stop visiting the site. I don’t see why you should, but if you’re gonna hang around it would do you world of good to learn the difference between an opinion piece and journalism..

• Also in Kevin Rafter’s book you’ll find that the reason Enda never saw ministerial office in the 1980s was because Garret Fitzgerald kept close to “The Donnybrook Set”. Rafter points out how many were surprised at Kenny being overlooked for appointment because he had shown huge energy and enthusiasm in youth and sport affairs in opposition.

To say he was “close” to Fitzgerald is wrong because he was also close to Liam Cosgrave and was wrongly seen as being part of the “old Fine Gael” that Garret didn’t want.

As has been pointed out above, it was Michael D. Higgins who had the role of “Minister for Fun” during the Rainbow coalition, not Enda.

Aaron fails to point out that in 2002 Enda was up against Richard Bruton, Gay Mitchell and Phil Hogan to lead the party. To point to his victory as simply being “luck” is completely false.

In 2007, Enda Kenny won 20 seats. Considering we were at the height of the Celtic Tiger in 2007, I don’t know how you can say that was a “terrible failure”.

Finally on the issue of Enda’s debating and negotiation skills, Aaron is comparing apples and oranges. You cannot compares ones ability to debate or give arousing speeches with ones ability to negotiate behind closed doors. They’re completely different scenarios that require distinctly different skills.

Having said that, how quickly we forget Enda’s Cloyne speech?

Believe it or not but Mother Teresa is often cited as being an example of a strong negotiator. She never gave any strong speeches and probably couldn’t hold her own in a debate but when it came to face to face personal engagement she knew how to change minds.

Yes we’ve had 10 years of Enda, but only ONE year of him as Taoiseach and it has been his strongest year yet.

It’d say the best of Enda is yet to come.

• Paul 09/06/12 #

Strongest year yet? For whom?

• LOL.
      I respect your incessant defence of your leader but in all fairness, conducting meetings which will affect the majority of people in this country behind closed doors and then refusing to release what was mentioned is the work of a government with scant regard for the electorate, you can bleat on like you did before about it being a game of poker and not showing your hand and secrecy is best but FG have already shown their hand and still gambled.
      We want…nay… we demand that whatever Kenny says or does on our behalf is relayed back to the people he purports to serve, we’ve had enough of backroom meetings from the the previous incompetents which lead to blanket bank guarantees and subsequent bailout…orchestrated by Merkel, the EU and the ECB so you may acknowledge peoples concerns when he – a committed europhile from a europhile party – conducts secret meetings with the same people who designed and engineered bank bailouts and forced the cost onto us.

Time to get real David, your arguments for the lack of transparency are null and void and for the record, Kennys stand against the crimes and cover up by the Catholic church was the one thing I gave him plaudits for, his strong words at the time when he was just elected gave me hope of a strong willed leader who will truly protect his own people – how wrong was I eh?

• I hope for all our sakes you’re right.

• jrbmc 09/06/12 #

Mr kenny how would describe the last ten years in a few words ?
      ” oh yessssss….,I’m the great pretender……

• censored 11/06/12 #

“Finally on the issue of Enda’s debating and negotiation skills, Aaron is comparing apples and oranges. You cannot compares ones ability to debate or give arousing speeches with ones ability to negotiate behind closed doors. They’re completely different scenarios that require distinctly different skills. ”

That may be true, but the evidence shows that Enda is cr*p at both.

• They won’t let me post???

• Thanks for letting it through Aaron

• Woah.. You’re rather paranoid aren’t you?

1) Aaron doesn’t work for the Journal, he has his own business to run

2) it’s an opinion piece, the article states as much. While he may have been asked for his opinion, as a non staff member of the Journal the Editor wouldn’t have been able to colour it.

3) The journal clearly states that it is an “interactive news source” and that submissions as well as comments are welcomed. Including yours.

4) Your comment was posted, perhaps you’re using the app – which is quite buggy, and didn’t see it. Your “thanks Aaron for letting me post” is ludicrous.. He has no say in who gets to post! The app simply didn’t show the most up to date comments..

Take a few deep breaths, take a step back and try reading some of the stuff at the bottom of the websites main page (or in the “more” section of the app) you may find reason to be embarrassed, but it’s only a mistake if you fail to learn the lesson..

• In what world would Minister for Tourism and Trade be the Minister for Fun. You’re thinking of the Minister for Arts, Culture and the Gaeltacht, which Michael D. Higgins held.

• s they were right all along

Add New Comment