TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Column: The correct handling of the promissory note savings is vital for Ireland

The knowledge that there is now €1 billion of wiggle room on the table could promote further reluctance to change, writes Aaron McKenna.

Aaron McKenna

THE PROMISSORY NOTE deal will save us a tremendous amount from day to day spending over the coming years, with the Exchequer having an additional €1 billion in 2014 and 2015 respectively to play around with. Or, will it? Every special interest group in the country – some more deserving than others – will come looking for a slice of that cash; already careless government departments could eat it up in overspends; and there’s an argument to be made that we shouldn’t spend the money at all.

Minister Leo Varadkar made a very prescient statement when he pointed out during the week that the promissory note saving could be viewed as a billion less to borrow, rather than a billion more to spend. According to The Plan™ the government will need to borrow €11.2 billion in 2014 and €7.5 billion in 2015. €1 billion of that in each year was to pay debts that, thanks to the restructuring of the promissory note, are no longer due in full during these years.

The problem of interest

One of the major difficulties faced by Ireland in the coming years is paying interest on debts already accrued, the vast majority of which are in relation to daily government spending rather than banking debt. In 2014 and 2015 servicing our debts will eat up 16 per cent of the tax take. The argument Mr Varadkar and others put forward is that we should reduce our borrowing by €1 billion a year and save ourselves the interest payments in the long run, which is in accordance with the theories about our children paying off our debts that many opponents of the prom note deal remarked upon.

The question of how to ‘spend’ the money (or merely not borrow it) then becomes one of weighing up the opportunity costs of whatever programmes we could go ahead with versus the known cost of borrowing. Would a ‘stimulus’ of some sort kick-start growth in the economy that would deliver more benefit than the reduced cost of debt interest in years to come?

The money could be used to offset the fiscal consolidation required in the next few years. The Government is supposed to raise or cut an additional €3.1 billion in 2014 and €2 billion in 2015 to meet its targets. In 2014 €2 billion is spending cuts and €1.1 billion in new taxes; and in 2015 it’s to be €1.3 billion cut and €0.7 billion raised. Regular readers will know I’ve long been an advocate of something Fine Gael was convinced of pre-election from studies at Harvard University: that, in general, tax increases harm the economy twice as much as spending cuts.

Tax cuts

In an era of consistently anaemic growth it is no economic question as to the damage year after year of tax increases has delivered to our country. The opportunity to tell the people of Ireland that there will be little and then no further tax increases from 2014; and perhaps even tax cuts in the foreseeable future would deliver a boost to confidence right now, in 2013. With confidence comes spending; with spending comes growth, the only real way to lead our country from this dark place our leaders have taken us.

More likely would be a hodgepodge of spending and tax proposals, carefully tailored towards the electoral needs of the European and local elections in 2014 and a general election in 2015 or early 2016. While these will deliver salve to some well deserving causes, they will not have the impact on the greater good from removing the drip-drip-drip effect of acid taxes on the structure of our economy.

Stimulus

In terms of a stimulus, you might recall (or be forgiven for not remembering) the ‘stimulus’ programme announced in the summer of last year. €2.25 billion to deliver 13,000 new jobs between then and 2018. A billion sounds like a lot, but in government make-work programmes it costs €170,000 to create a job putting band aids on the roads or building new school gymnasiums in electorally important areas.

A major worry about the fate of the money saved, and a subtext to Minister Varadkar’s statement, is that the Government will simply blow it all through unexpected cost overruns and a relaxation of reform in the public sector.

The departments of health and social protection ate up an additional billion in 2012 versus what they were allocated, with major failures to deliver savings in areas like drug payments and the trouble of stubbornly high unemployment contributing.

We’re nearing the apex of the Croke Park II talks, and while cuts to pay are fairly definite the other reforms and savings to be delivered require constant buy in and work from people at all levels of the organisation. As we’ve seen from the rather lethargic process of reform in merging many quangos and certain other reforms, when the public sector managers drag their heels they can take an awful lot out of the speed of reform.

Reluctance to change

From ministers to junior managers the knowledge that there is a billion of wiggle room on the table could promote further reluctance to change, and the Government will have to be even more vigilant now than it was previously when the targets were boiler plated and bolted down by the might of the troika. It’s a worry in general, that when they leave Ireland the mandarins will swiftly revert to previous form. The handling of the promissory note billion could be an early indication of how that will be managed.

It would be an awful waste to see the billion frittered away on some combination of public sector deterioration and constituency politicking. I’d rather just not borrow it than see ministers parading around marginal constituencies with chequebooks. I think we need to use the money decisively or not at all.

There’s half a year yet till the new early budget process begins. I daresay we’ll be hearing a lot about this billion.

Read: Government yet to decide how €1bn prom note windfall will be spent

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (49 Comments)

• Varadkar is right. We are overspending by 13 Billion per annum and the current croke park talks at best will save €1 Billion over 3 years. We cannot do anything with promissory note savings other than reduce debt. We have a long way to go before we are out of this mess.

• how does a large part of the population manage to live in a parallel universe?

They argue hysterically that the debt arrangement made by the Government doesn’t save money, but is going to cost us more money and is an act of treason.

Then, a few days later, their new complaint is that the savings (that they denied existed a few days earlier) are a reason to borrow even more money to preserve the Croke Perk agreement.

The Croke Perk agreement cannot be touched they say. Ireland, even if there was never a bank guarantee, anglo nor a promissary note, spends far more than it earns in taxes. This is due in large part to an enormous public sector relative to the population, and the best paid public sector staff in Europe, in many senior cases by several multiples.
      The world is in a deep recession which is not going to change soon.

Yet these protectors of the Croke Perk agreement refuse to even negotiate. They don’t want public sector people on 60,000 a year touched, they don’t want people on 100,000 or 200,000 or more a year touched. Nothing can give they say. Nor can any staff member can be terminated in the vastly overstaffed public sector. They won’t budge an inch.

This total top down public sector intransigence will help the private sector feel less sympathetic if the Government has to impose cuts by force rather than negotiate as they are trying to do. I don’t want to see my very high taxes squandered any more than than they have been.

• It’s not really a saving. We don’t suddenly have an extra billion or anything. There are still billions to be cut. It’s nothing compared to the cuts that have already been made, never mind the years of cuts ahead of us.

• M Bowe 23/02/13 #

We do not need further cuts. We just need a more equitably tax system and enforcement. 0.14% from googles 47 billion over previous ain’t near good enough. Especially while children are dropping into the hunger zone.

• I’m amazed at how quickly this so-called promissory notes deal is being accepted by the people of Ireland. How can a debt run up by private banks become a burden on generations of ordinary people? Where in the constitution does it state that a few government ministers have the power to financially destroy a country? Nowhere else within the EU would that bank guarantee have been issued. We are a bunch of fools who let ourselves be conned time and time again. In a real democratic society, all citizens are deemed as equal. Therefore Ireland has become little more than a tinpot dictatorship, where only a few wealthy and largely corrupt people make the decisions.

• In a real democratic society you elect a party to govern on our behalf. If you’re not happy You put them out. Our democratically elected gov guaranteed the debts and all but 1 party, labour voted for it. We put them out. Democracy. Like it or not. Dictatorship? Tell that to the Syrians…

• @ Rodrigo. Plainly and truly said. The bank guarantee of the 29th September 2008 was a fraud on the Irish people. It was treasonous. We apply full scale austerity measures during a recession and the conventional wisdom when austerity does not work is to apply more austerity. The purpose of the measures being imposed is to protect the financial welfare of politicians, senior civil servants and regulators.

An Garda Siochana are furious because they feel that they should be within the circle of protection.

• Well said rodrigo call it like it is the people are copping on to the level of criminality that has been allowed to grow in the dail and the courts.

• Its not been accepted by people who are keeping up with what this Government are doing in office.People are digesting what we are suppose to be getting from this Promissory Note fiasco.Along with Horse burgers Magdalene and the Pope alot of things are happening.In the last few weeks more and more protest groups have started up .Ballyhea led the way now Tralee Skibbereen Ratoath im sure there will be more in the next few weeks.People might say that’s not enough but its better than before and if people want change they should start a protest group in there own town and village its easily done just go and do it.Joan Burton felt the anger of the people of Dundalk yesterday it worth a watch on youtube.A billion a year saved and it wont be regenerated back into the country it just wont be borrowed to spend the country wont see anything from this it is small potatoes .We have to start thinking big or we will have an endless cycle of austerity there is no other plan by this government.PROMISSORY NOTE the name itself is an indication of what Bran Cowen and Enda Kenny is all about one Promised something and the other says Sorry and pays.What did the Irish people Promise what should we be Sorry for we did nothing wrong this is all a fraud and a scam to shift the wealth of this nation to greedy individuals by their political servants.

• Julie 23/02/13 #

Democratic society you missing one massive point, we have been getting spun lies and propaganda for too long, FG lies to get into power, vote for Lisbon is a vote for jobs and if we don’t vote yes on these things we will just keep going until you get it right. Lies and media spin for YEARS, now some of us seem to be waking up to the lies but more of us want to go on living believing the media spin.

As for this debt, really how can a nation be such shit takers. Okay let’s go back, we guaranteed to pay private investors of a bank who took a risk, that goes with investing doesn’t it you can lose everything. But we decided to guarantee these BH. 1st prom not payment fine, but people started taking notice, second payment was done in a sneaky way to trick the public(democracy Reilly)they knew they weren’t going to get away with it. We had brilliant people come along and take a stand against this, like David Hall and Ballyhea says NO.
      I don’t know about you but I cannot see the logic in taking a debt that wasn’t ours and passing it on to generations to come when we have no clue of the long term effects and will actually save us nothing it will all have to be paid actually , we have 3 year predictions for a 40 year bond. Michael Taft on Vin B said defaulting on PN would have had no affect on us.
      Do you not get it they are puppets they went over and said what would you like us to do= take 42% of banking debt, pay 9000 each and lets pass some on to the next Irish generation.

• Vote them out. That’s the beauty of democracy…

• Julie 23/02/13 #

Reilly do you think this is a good arrangement and do you genuinely believe that it was the best they good of got, keeping in mind we already have 42% of eu banking debt and 9000 per person. Do you honestly not think they should have ASKED for a write down, also if we could default on something without it having no affect than do you not think we should have done that, but in noonans own words “WE TOOK ONE FOR THE TEAM” what does that even mean. Is this just a game to them.

• Ben Gunn 23/02/13 #

I think you’ll find that most countries in the Euro zone as well as the UK have had to bail out their banks on way or another.

• Julie 23/02/13 #

So if everyone else is doing it we must do it, that’s the kind of mentality out parents thought us was wrong, if he jumped off a cliff then would you too, you would, I wouldn’t that’s the difference, and that was the difference in Iceland.

PN was not our debt it was private investors the contract was between the private investors and the bank and nowhere in that contract does it say if the bank can’t pay then we do.
      Defaulting would of had no affect on us so how do you justify passing it on to our kids with no real clue how it will turn out for then,

• Julie 23/02/13 #

http://youtu.be/R6M8an_XKL8

He puts it very simply for people who are still believing government spin

They don’t care about you.
      Why can’t ye see that.

• And vote who in O’Reilly? That’s the massive flaw with our so called democracy…it’s basically a two horse race and akin to Lanagan’s ball with one stepping out while the other crowd step in again. Until there is a third and even fourth major force in Irish politics, FG/FF will treat this country as their own private play ground and do as they will to us their subjects. The whole thing is a pathtic joke.

• censored 26/02/13 #

Vote for Dustin. We’ve tried all the other turkeys.

• Damocles 23/02/13 #

“We don’t have to spend this money we don’t have … phew … what shall we spend it on?”

• Why did we even bother re structure it at all if they were gonna spend it anyway

• There is no ‘savings’ here, any more than there was a ‘deal’. There is only a crime against the Irish people, illegal promissory notes, a bust bank under investigation, and a government who has probably doubled debt that does not belong to us, converted it to the sovereign, and stretched it out so it will also cripple the next two generations.

• Representative Democracy, which we purport to have, is turned into an Oligarchy by the Government of the day due to the rigidity of using the Whip system.

• the only material difference between a tax and a spending cut, is a tax affects the rich while a spending cut screws the middle class

• Aaron …sure don’t you know it will be used for their reelection ….This is how Ireland works until we change the way we vote.NO to FF/FG/LAB we can afford them!

• If banks were too big to fail, how about countries, if we’re to big to fail why not keep borrowing??

• Ask Merkel she will tell you what to do

• Julie 23/02/13 #

I’m sorry but you have a lot of speculating, firstly this whole inflation thing really annoys me, how do you know, we are in a global recession who is to say that there will ever be inflation at that scale again.
    We have 42% of the banking crises I’m sure we could have don’t some negotiating to get a write down and if not I’m not too bloody sure I want to be apart of the eu thing give me my punt back.
    not paying PN would have had no affect says top economist over you, I believe him. Sorry no offence intended.
    What makes you think there will be a single eu government bond system?
    If you are going to take a illegal debt and make it a long term bond to be paid for by children then at least have facts and not speculation. You are guessing in everything I have facts. We needed someone to go over and negotiate. They went over and said era we are doing all right the Irish people are taking their pain and sure anyway they went mad, now he says this while there are just under 300,000 children in poverty. Give me a break we all this guessing and scare tactics of severe consequence, not falling for that anymore.
    Iceland is an example we don’t have to follow everything or believe that the world will end if we don’t stick with eu rules.

• Japan went through a long period of deflation, recently trying to inflate their economy , who appose this, Europe that’s who, Britain devalued too, so the USA, but not Europe,
      Europe opposes inflationary pressure, it’s Germanise way of thinking,
      They is little to suggest long term inflation in the euro zone,

• Julie, on speculation:
      “who is to say that there will ever be inflation at that scale again” – inflation is inevitable over long periods of time, all of history demonstrates that. You are speculating if you believe otherwise. You may be right, but it is very unlikely.
      “I’m sure we could have don’t some negotiating to get a write down” – you are speculating that didn’t happen, and we were told no way.
      “top economist” – you can find an economist who will make an argument for anything.
      “a single eu government bond system” – that is what the EU wants, they will get it. We don’t have to join it, but with our new debt, it is a no brainer.

I agree with your last sentence. That should have been the decision when the bank ceos and property developers met with Fianna Fail and demanded a guarantee and the ECB and international investment banks were on the phone demanding the same thing. With the EU caught on the hop, unprepared for the crisis, we could have pulled it off as they would have knee jerked into rescuing our system and ended up with the short end of the stick rather than ourselves.

• Arbitrasure. Interest on the new sovereign debt issued runs at 3%. We’re locked into a currency whos central banks main goal is to keep inflation under 2%.

Would you like a pencil and paper?

• Julie 23/02/13 #

No I’m just saying inflation went too far in this time, I’m not saying it won’t happen, just saying that it will not be the same and eu policy is to keep inflation low, 2% I think.

Okay I will tell you what noonan or one of them crooks said is that we didn’t ask for a write down because what is the point in asking for something you won’t get, I don’t know what program but I do remember thinking we are F word with a ed.

They should have done their job they didn’t we need new Tds like Stephen Donnelly and Pearse Doherty. These guys are not up for the job.

Government bonds system, I don’t know anything about that , but their you are most certainly speculating.

It pretty simple we can afford to take on this illegal debt unless we want to cripple generations to come.

Emigration was on my mind and I knew I would have to go for a few years but I have no intention to come back here to start a family, I will not have my children being saddled with this debt, and I will not have myself in my retirement saddled with this debt. End of. If they are to be I would like to see the people who you say are to blame for all this Bertie and M Martin behind bars.

• Julie 23/02/13 #

Top economist no, economist that have no connection to government and are not on their payroll, or in anyway connected to media etc.

• werejammin – remind me of the rate on the PN, and its repayment schedule, so I can factor that into my calculations when determining how much less the bond will cost us.

• Google’s your friend, facts are obviously not…..

• 1/(1*(1.02)^40) … in 40 years time a euro today is worth 45 cents at a 2% inflation rate.

• And the new sovereign debt? Good luck with that one…..

• O'Reilly 23/02/13 #

We are repaying our own central bank who borrow at 1%. They’re making a 2% margin on the 3% interest they charge. Which goes back to the exchequer… Effective cost 1%…

• Would the Journal mind if all posters agreed that the Bank Guarantee was the thickest thing ever and the Government of the day should not have done it on the people’s behalf?

If we could put that axiom at the top of every forum, perhaps then we can save people posting the same thing over and over and over and over again. WE KNOW.

(supporters of the bank guarantee please red thumb this comment.)

• Julie 23/02/13 #

Do you think this is a good deal, sure it’s their fault so we can’t be blamed for messing it up more is that your argument?

• Testing to see if some thumbs are generated randomly by a forum bot:

1+1=2 -> green thumb

1+1=5 -> red thumb

• the recent new arrangement is a major improvement for Ireland.

There was no alternative unless detaching ourselves from the global economy and ceasing to pay any public salaries was a scenario people wanted. That is what electing to default and exiting the Troika program would look like. I think Richard Boyd Barratt was expecting in that scenario we’d be able to borrow from the Russians and the Chinese to fund the state.

• Julie 23/02/13 #

I will try again , not bailout default, PN lets not pay it, would have had no affect on the economy, do you get me now ?

Also how do you know it was the best deal they asked for nothing else?

• Julie, had we done that, then effectively the central bank ELA that was provided in exchange for the PN would still need to be withdrawn from the system. EU Governments are banned from creating money, let alone 40 to 50 billion euros worth and spending it on national needs.
      The EU law on that is crystal clear.
      The consequences of our being in blatant breach of EU rules, negatively affecting every EU country as we would be destroying a key principle of the union, would have been severe.
      Instead, the replacement of the PN/ELA liability with a Government bond is both cheaper to fund and the real value (inflation adjusted) of the principal owed will be much less. If you believe, as I do, that sooner than 40 years time there will be a single EU government bond system whereby our national government bond debt is pooled with other nations who want to join that system, then the EU will have collectively absorbed co-responsibility for servicing the 40 year bond and rolling over the ultimate principal repayment when that time comes.

• Furthermore, nobody knows the totality of what Ireland asked for behind closed doors in the EU.
      I would have thought it most amateurish if Noonan and his advisors were providing updates in the Evening Herald about who they were negotiating, their tactics and what the best result, without risking being shunned by the EU, could be for Ireland.
      Being shunned by the EU is all to easy. We must not forget we are of very little importance to the big EU countries. The political leaders in the EU have more time for Ireland than the man on the street in the EU because the leaers see the big picture about holding the EU together and civil stability.
      Rioting Spanish and Greeks could not give a toss about Ireland and would gladly see havok emerge here if they thought it was good for them; they are in major strife and fighting to survive. The voters in these countries, including Germany, would not vote for an Irish write off. Nor would the EU not be easily challenged in court if it permitted an Irish write off, funded via the ECB system if ELA was allowed to be permanently released into the economy with no payback.
      Ireland is currently high in the world wealth rankings and a portion of Irish society profited handsomely from the monies they were allowed to freely borrow by our Financial Regulator, Minister for Finance and Taoiseach of the day.

• Arbitrasure, Noonan was on the radio alluding to the fact that the notes weren’t legal less than a week after the late night ‘emergency’ rushing a bill through to allow him to do this BS ‘deal’ with them. This late night emergency just happened to be the night before David Halls case on the legality of the notes was due to be ruled on.

Instead of saying that on the Pat Kenny show when it was, thanks to him,too late. Why did he not say it after the election to the ECB when he had the mandate?

People aren’t thicks, don’t treat them as such. Noonan is for europe and the wealthy. A minister for finance of a bankrupt nation has no business attending a bilderberg meeting.

• If the case had gone to court and the PN wasn’t found illegal we would be in a weaker position.
      Furthermore, that process may have taken a long time and would ultimately have been taken to the European Courts by the aggrieved parties owed money by IBRC. If if found illegal, is it to be believed that would have just neatly resolved the matter? 50 billion of ELA was pumped into the Irish economy by a Government who offered an illegal instrument as collateral?

The threat of the court case was useful to Noonan in pushing through Ireland’s solution to a bad problem. Of course he was going to try add subtle weight to the court case’s ‘threat factor’ in his comments; it helped his case. That threat was constructive in getting the ECB to play ball in at least ‘noting’ the new arrangement rather than deciding it was in breach of clear EU rules in individual states creating permanent money via ELA.

• “If the case had gone to court and the PN wasn’t found illegal we would be in a weaker position.”

What a ridiculous comment. Are you just trolling now? The case did go to court and noonan undermined the process just in case.

Whats weaker than the worst possible outcome, which is what we got?

• M Bowe 23/02/13 #

And also list the IRBC bill as unconstitutional as it has legalized an illegal deal on the prom. Notes.

• M Bowe 23/02/13 #

The Hall case on prom notes wasto be taken before the Supreme Court which is the protector of our constitution. Any government which pulls strokes like the IRBC bill are behaving Unconstitutionally and therefore treasonable……..

• I think Luke Flanagan will test your theory in court soon.

Add New Comment