TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Column: Stephen Donnelly TD answers 10 questions he’s frequently asked by the public

Are Dáil holidays too long? What do TDs do all day? And what’s the food like in the Leinster House canteen? Independent TD Stephen Donnelly answers some of questions most frequently asked of TDs.

Stephen Donnelly

1. What have you done for me in the last 6 months?

That depends who you are, but hopefully there’e beeen something! Here’s a flavour of some of the things I’ve been working on over the last six months:

Legislation: I introduced the Family Home Protection Bill, the essence of which made it into the Personal Insolvency Bill. This will provide substantial new protections to tens of thousands of people around the country who are being squeezed by the banks. It’s something I’m very proud of.

Finance Committee: My interrogation of Permanent TSB a few weeks back made it onto the front page of the Irish Times Business Section. Specifically, it reported my accusation of rent gouging of variable rate mortgage holders. My hope is that this sort of political and media pressure helps keep a focus on the public interest aspect of what the banks are doing.

Policy: I have been highlighting the destruction of the third level education sector in Ireland, including a 50% cut in per student funding. Watch this space – this is becoming the single biggest threat to Ireland’s status as a wealthy country for the next 30 years.

Wicklow: I’m working with local organisations on an enterprise strategy, to reverse some of the damage done and to revitalise a local, innovative businesses environment.

Individual: I helped secure critical funding for the support of a severely disabled teenager. Kudos to Kathleen Lynch for her work on this.

2. What do you do on a daily basis?

Here’s what a typical Wednesday might look like:

07.00 to 08.00: Onto the exercise bike, listen to Morning Ireland & scan the news online. Discuss a wide range of pressing issues with my 2 & 3 year old boys (like who’s better – Fireman Sam or Bob the Builder?).

08.00 to 09.15: Drive into Leinster House: Sit in traffic, listen to the radio, phone calls with the team on day’s agenda.

09.15 to 10.15: Arrive in the office. When I’m in the Oireachtas, I’m based in the department of Agricuture. The Independents don’t get the cool offices close to the corridors of power.

We are out the back near the cupboards of influence. I start with meetings on policy, press releases, analysis and constituency issues.

10.15 to 11.15: Over to the Dáil to sit through an episode of ‘How to avoid answering questions’ – also known as Leader’s Questions.

11.15 to 14.45: Tactical coffee, back to the office to prepare for Dáil speech, Finance Committee, media appearance, etc. I reagularly meet with industry groups, NGOs and interest groups on anything from offshore drilling to anti-competitive behaviour to philanthropy. This is followed by lunch, replying to correspondence, reviewing the answers to recently submitted parliamentary questions, and maybe losing a vote in the Chamber.

14.45 to 18.00: Finance Committee. Recently it’s been banks, public service pensions, the Troika and whistle blowers.

18.00 to 19.30: Coffee, back to the office, prep for speech, head to the Chamber to listen to other speeches, deliver speech and listen to a few more.

19.30 to 21.00: Back to the office for reading, correspondence, and maybe the odd spot of pondering (e.g., how are we going to save our universities?).

21.00 to 21.20: Vote in the Chamber on the week’s Private Members Motion. These are tabled by Sinn Féin, Fianna Fáil or the Technical Group. They are always lost to a Government counter motion which invariable looks like this: ‘To delete the entire motion from the Opposition and replace it with some tripe saying that there is absolutely nothing to worry about, no mistakes have ever been made on any issue, everything that could conceivably be done on the issue at hand is being done, and the Government and Civil Service are so awesome that to attempt to contemplate their brilliance would cause a nosebleed.’

21.20 onwards: This depends on what’s happening on any given week. I could be driving home, out to RTÉ for the Late Debate, or out to chat with Vincent Browne in TV3. Home sometime between ten and one.

leinster house

Leinster House. (Photo: Brood_wich/Flickr/Creative Commons)

3. Are there too many TDs?
Yes, and most are not getting to use the experience and passion they bring to the job. There are 76 new TDs in the Dáil and they are there to serve their country. The Dáil is badly broken, and despite promises of ‘a democratic revolution’, this Government is clinging to a centralised power structure just like last the last crew. I would halve the number of TDs and seriously consider single seat constituencies and a list system. Radical reform is needed.

4. Why do TDs get so much for a travel allowance?
I don’t know. I’ve handed back half of what I’m ‘entitled’ to. It is reasonable to cover the travel and accommodation costs of anyone who’s travelling for work, but the amounts need to be reviewed and vouched. I’d say part of the reason it’s probably higher than necessary is that there are other work-related expenses as a TD which are not refunded in any other way, so this allowance was padded. Needs urgent review, as do the allowances across the public sector.

5. Are the holidays too long?
Depends what you mean by ‘holidays’. The Dáil has been in recess for two weeks now, and I’d say I’ve dropped my working week from 65 to 40 hours.

Should the Dáil recess be shorter? A year ago I would have said definitely. Now I’m not so sure. The job is far more intense than I had expected. You really do need time away from the goldfish bowl that is Leinster House. And you also need time in the constituency.

6. Where will you be going on your summer holidays?
Doolin, County Clare. Some of the best trad music on earth, perfect pints, long sandy beaches and impromptu parties. Lots of time with the boys. And books – I’m actually going to get time to read novels, starting with the Girl Who Played with Fire.

7. What’s the food like in the Leinster House canteen?
Very good, and the staff are brilliant, especially when you realise at 8pm you’ve forgotten to eat all day! I’d like to see some healthier stuff added – it can be pretty heavy on the carbs and butter.

8. Is it hard for Independent TDs to change things?

17/1/2012 United Left Alliance Troika Meetings

United Left Alliance TDs Richard Boyd Barrett, Clare Daly and Mick Wallace with Independent TDs Shane Ross, Catherine Murphy and Mattie McGrath (Photo: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland)

It’s hard for any TD to change things. The system is designed to resist change (for some good and some bad reasons). Some civil servants view Dáil Éireann as an inconvenience to be managed while they get on with the serious business of running the country. The stronger Ministers manage to impose at least some of their vision on their Departments: others don’t.

Similarly, a number of Ministers are openly contemptuous of Dáil Éireann. They seem to think that they are elected to rule, their backbenchers are there to vote as they’re told, and the Opposition is a collection of criminals, idiots and lunatics. Pat Rabbitte’s ugly outburst a few days ago on the (democratically elected) Opposition is an example of this arrogance at its worst.

9. Do politicians only ever socialise with other politicians from the same party?
I don’t know – I’m not in a party, I live at home (that is, I’m not up in Dublin two nights a week in a hotel) and I have two young boys, so I don’t get to socialise professionally much. I think it’s pretty tribal when it comes to nights out, but certainly TDs from any party and none would sit down for coffee on a daily basis. I’ve had excellent pints with some fantastic TDs from across the parties. It’s an odd professional dynamic – a few months ago a Fine Gael TD and myself walked over to Newstalk together, knocked lumps out of each other on air, then went and had dinner together.

10. Does the current committee system work?
Some are better than others. I’ve been very impressed by the Justice Committee. The Finance Committee, which I’m on, is beginning to find its voice. However, the control which the Cabinet exerts means that no Committee can do what it’s meant to do, which is to hold an individual minister to account. In reality, the Ministers control their respective Committees.

Stephen Donnelly is an Independent TD for Wicklow and East Carlow. See: http://www.facebook.com/DonnellyforWicklow and  http://www.stephendonnelly.ie

Read: More columns by Stephen Donnelly >

Read next:

Comments (65 Comments)

• Good insight in article and respect the effort Stephen Donnelly makes , but the feedback comments and willingness to jump down any Td gets really tiresome , what is he to apologise for driving these days , putting in a 65 hour week on occasions and he’s suppose to only consider public transport , do people realise that getting to tv3 in city west or back across to news talk or out to Rte ain’t easily served with the greystones dart line , Christ there’s elected people working hard doing the best in the circumstances and no matter what there’s always an idiotic feedback like does he know there’s a dart , seriously some people need to get a life.

• Have we disgraced ourselves again, then? Are we all idiots if we disagree with Dave Hammond’s favourite TD?

Are we moving more towards an authoritarian state each day?

Do we really need a dictatorship?

I think of heat and kitchen.

Oh, and a ‘Dislike’ for Dave.

• censored 10/08/12 #

I work more than 65 hours a week, every week. That said, I get results. If I was a TD I’d be ashamed of making the claim that I work 65+ hours a week with the results they achieve. I agree that I’d be questioning whether it is really worth the time away from family and so on.

That said, there’s nothing more tiresome than these comments effectively saying we should not be asking any questions.

• Very good insight into the workings and failings of Irish democracy, more articles like this please

• Nice to read that. I’ve always appreciated his honesty and intelligence. Good contributor on VinB too.
    I’d love to know with all those hours away from home…..Is it worth it?

• Yeah, I know I can’t be the only person who saw that and thought “wow, a lot of time away from the kids.” Which I think makes it not only different for women (often cited as one of the reasons women don’t go into politics) but anyone with a partner who doesn’t have a flexible job or stay at home.

• I do appreciate Stephen’s openness and candour.

• Thanks Stephen. I needed to hear that. Unfortunately its hard not to be suspicious. Your predecessors and current co-workers have made it difficult to believe politicians. But your article gives me hope.

• Good to see an elected TD at least attempting to work for their constituents. However dail sits for how many days in the year ? Going on VB etc is really to push a profile. Would far prefer to see elected TDs challanging the Government more.

• Decent chap streets ahead of the 100 plus Val Falvey T D types

• One of the few good ones..

• Jer O'G 07/08/12 #

It just seems like huge time and effort to achieve very little tangible outcome. There met be a better way.

• Great article from one of the more competent TDs

• Should we get rid of the useless 753 councillors we have and reform the Seanad to do local council business, have one local authority per county or four regional councils.Elect the senators, allow it to be the one super council to pass laws and budgets. It could also hold the dail to account!

• Stephen, The Seanad is an “upper house” it is meant to hold the Dáil accountable already.

Also getting rid of councillors is not the way. I would say to reduce the Dáil to a fairly small number (40-50) plus the cabinet (non-elected, picked by Taoiseach but accountable to the Dáil). Election by list system.
      I would also increase the power of local government while reducing overall numbers and it would be made into a full-time position. Also I would lose the dichotomy of city and county councils… our elected officials are there to set direction and hold civil servants accountable to the people, they should not be micro-managing anything. In fact a micro-managing elected official is usually a sign of something dodgy!

• Not good enough, we can’t afford 753 wasters! The Seanad is part-time, make it full time! Let it do council business for 26 local Authorities and hold the dail to Account. This small Country cant afford all this Government, Cut, Cut, Cut! All the money saved from, getting rid of 753 wasters+80 dail wasters = more money for services!

• Any examples of a system like that working in other jurisdictions similar to our own? Because I could show you where it didn’t work. . . . http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Supreme_Soviet_of_the_USSR

• Russia was/is a Communist Dictatorship, just because it didnt work there? It doesn’t mean it couldn’t here, we don’t have the same population as Russia. We operate like we do, but we don’t and we have too many politicians. If Manchester in England, can run their business with less politicians and the same population nearly? Then something is wrong here, it needs fixing and a serious slimming down. Unless you’d like to pay for it?

• Mick Wallace was never a ULA TD.

• Rob 07/08/12 #

” .. the Government and Civil Service are so awesome that to attempt to contemplate their brilliance would cause a nosebleed.” nice comment. A fan of “the Oatmeal” perhaps? Great to hear a critique of “the system” from the inside!

• It would b better if Roosevelt s policy on dealing with debt was followed by Ireland it’s been known to work in the 30 ies.david McWilliams explains it simply enough ..

• Oh dear Eilish, you can’t expect people to work!!

• Eilish or anyone else – Would you be able to elaborate more on FDR’s debt policy?

• @Patrick

FDR’s economic policy, or what most people are referring to, is the ‘New Deal’ package of the mid 30′s. It brought in a host of new regulatory bodies to guard against future financial collapses (such as the SEC); relief programmes in the way of federal insurance companies for farmers, the Social Security System, and (most dramatically) the WPA – where the state directly or indirectly employed millions of workers in grand federal constuction projects; and lastly promoted labour unions and set minimum wages and a maximum working week.

Basically, FDR increased massively the regulation of the financial and employment sectors, while spending millions of federal dollars to employ the nation’s poor and kickstart the economy. A great deal of America’s eventual recovery was due, however, to the advent of WWII and the formation of the USA’s enormous military industry. It’s drive and scope was carried on by JFK’s New Frontier programme and Johnson’s Great Society (brought in Medicare and fed funding for education).

In terms of fiscal policy, FDR did several important things. 1) He amalgamated thousands of small local banks into consolidated networks, 2) he insured bank deposits, to a point, to bring back confidence, and 3) the US dropped the Gold Standard, which allowed the printing of a heck of a lot more paper money which was only worth what you were willing to pay for it – not how much gold it stood for (a process the US somewhat unwisely continues today). It should finally be noted that FDR and the supporters of the New Deal were NOT in favour of government spending its way out of recession, but of balancing the books. FDR used a bit of smoke and mirrors in this regard, where he balanced a regular budget, then allocated a – hugely overspent – emergency budget for New Deal programmes.

• Very insightful, as always from Stephen Donnelly.

• It annoys me that people get so upset over a typo. at this particular time when there are so many really important decisions to b made . U know what he means get on with it.

• Mjhint 07/08/12 #

Agreed. The amount of people that complain about bad spelling & grammar is terrible. I wish I had the luxury of their education. It doesnt surprise me literacy problems carry such a stigma in Ireland.

• Illiteracy in a comment detracts from the comment you are trying to make as the eye of the literate onlooker is drawn to the fault.

http://damoclesbda.wordpress.com/2012/05/22/and-then-you-go-and-spoil-it-all/

• Nice blog, worth a read. Might ease up on the Irish destroying the language bit. I know a great many British that totally mangle the language too.

• Damocles 07/08/12 #

That’s more in the context of Irish people saying “Oh, we speak English much better than the English do.” When it’s really no better or worse on the whole.

• Damocles 07/08/12 #

Apologies to Stephen for the massive off topicness. You are a great TD, I just wish we saw a little more of you on frinstance the Dart.

Before the election you were at various Dart stations all the time. A welcome sight on a cold morning. I can’t recall seeing any other candidate standing there in the early morning talking to people. I commented on it at the time to friends. Here, I would say, is an ordinary person, versed in real world experience looking at getting into the Dail and doing things for his constituency, not a career politician who thinks he merits a seat just by standing under his party banner. Yeah, they said, he looks good on paper but you’ll never see him again after the election. They were wrong, of course, we saw you at the station again near the referendum. But I’ve yet to see you on a train.

• *off-topicness* and *for instance*. Small cough.

• Philistine!

Typos are ok; ignorance is not!

• Mjhint, I did not have a ‘high’ education. I have pride, though, in what I do and I take the trouble to correct and better myself when I can.

Unfortunately, it is increasingly more difficult to have faith or take example from the print media nowadays. Standards are appalling and ‘text-speak’ has ruined grammar and spelling.

Bad spelling, bad grammar and carelessness by those who profess to know better is a sign of arrogance and a lack of sincerity. And a lack of self-respect.

I always welcome correction when it serves to enlighten me.

• Seems like a nice hard-working guy with plenty of good ideas, but what has he got against carbohydrates?

• If Private Members Motions are either destined to be defeated or emasculated then what is the point of wasting time and money debating them?

I agree that the Permanent Government (Higher Echelons of the Civil Service) rule the country…. that’s one of the major reasons why the country is banjaxed. Sir Humphrey agus a chairde roam the corridors of power, and although we inherited our system of permanent government from the British… they’ve moved on and evolved whereas the main legislation ascribing power to the Senior Civil Servants in this jurisdiction is The Ministers and Secretaries act 1924….. legislation that is almost 90 years old…The time for real change is overdue.

I would abolish the posts of Principal Officer upwards and allow a Minister to pick his team…these would then be deemed to resign when the Minister goes. This allows for fresh thinking and a better means of accountability from the policy makers. The Assistant Principal Officers etc…. would execute government policy or carry out research etc. Technical or professionally qualified specialist Civil Servants would carry out the duties of administering and adjudicating on matters of a specialist nature.

• One of the few impressive TDs in fairness. Still don’t understand his U turn on fiscal compact treaty referendum though.
    That said more TDs of his overall calibre are badly needed but it’s hard to see it happening.

• I have great time for this TD so I don’t want anyone to think I’m trolling here but he has misspelled losing. I see this happen so often on forums and comment boards and it annoys the living sh*t out of me. If he could use whatever power he has to eradicate this widespread problem of putting an extra ‘o’ into lose, loser and losing etc, then I will personally go canvassing for him next election.

• You drive from Greystones to Dublin? You know there’s a Dart service?

• Tom Fleming TD is othner Ind who work hard in Dail,

• Stephen Donnelly is sound.

• Do you think we should leave the Euro Stephen, go back to the punt or join the pound?

• Does he know it is illegal to use his phone while driving to work?

• Fagan 07/08/12 #

Single member constituencies, List system..

Didn’t know you had so little faith in the electorate or democracy? I think that’s incredibly naive and shows surprisingly little understanding of electoral systems. Do you think you would have been elected in 2011 in a Dáil of even 100 members? No. Definitely not. A list system? No sir. No independnet candidates could ever get elected under a list system. It is effectively like saying that you think the Taoiseach’s nominations to the Seanad is a good system. As for the First Past the Post idea, well that’s just not representative democracy. underr our current system something like 75% of the electorates first choice gets elected, in FPTP, this moves down to 40%. I see you’re somewhat alluding to the German system. The ‘halo effect’ of the only recently good German economy is also disappointing, with people forgetting how the german economy was so poor for much of the 90s and is now so heavily dependnet on exports that it could implode in an instant if the euro collapses.

Add New Comment