TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Savita death: James Reilly to “reflect” on meeting with Praveen Halappanavar

The Health Minister has met with the husband of the woman who died in controversial circumstances at Galway University Hospital last month at a hotel in Galway today.

Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Updated 8.15pm

HEALTH MINISTER JAMES Reilly has held a 45-minute meeting with the husband of Savita Halappanavar and his solicitor in Galway this afternoon, in the first contact between the government and Praveen Halappanavar.

Afterwards, Minister Reilly said he was to reflect on what was discussed during their meeting. He told RTÉ that he would reflect on the concerns of Mr Halappanavar, but said he had to make it clear that the HSE inquiry must go ahead.

I listened carefully to his concerns, I listened carefully to what his solicitor had to say, and I promised to go away and reflect upon that
The meeting took place earlier today after officials made contact with Mr Halappanavar’s solicitor to see if the husband of the woman, who died at Galway University Hospital last month, would be willing to meet with the Minister on a scheduled trip to the west.

The meeting took place at a hotel in Galway this afternoon and lasted around 45 minutes, a spokesperson for Reilly confirmed.

“The Minister was anxious to express his sincere condolences and condolences on behalf of the government to Mr Halappanavar,” the spokesperson said adding that a senior official from the Department of Health was also at the meeting.

The Department of Health said that Minister Reilly welcomed the opportunity to have a private meeting with Mr Halappanavar today to offer him his sincere condolences on the death of his wife, Savita.

It added:

The Minister listened very carefully to the concerns expressed by Mr Halappanavar.
Minister Reilly was in Galway for meetings on another issue and it was indicated to Mr Halappanavar’s solicitor, that should Mr Halappanavar wish to meet, the Minister would be happy for a meeting to take place. Mr Halappanavar expressed a wish for the meeting to happen.

Despite the meeting today Praveen Halappanavar has maintained his call, through his solicitor Gerard O’Donnell, for a full, sworn public inquiry into the death of his wife.

He claims she was denied an abortion despite repeated requests to staff at the hospital. She died days after she suffered a miscarriage and contracted blood poisoning at the hospital.

Mr Halappanavar has refused to cooperate with the HSE inquiry set up to examine Savita’s death but it is not yet known whether he will speak with those heading a separate investigation by the health watchdog, the Health Information and Quality Authority, which was announced today.

Earlier: Confirmed: HIQA to investigate the death of Savita Halappanavar

Read next:

Comments (97 Comments)

• Will we ever have a Minister of Health that actually looks healthy?????????

• the minister for health is the absolute double of Jim McCann of the Dubliners.

• The usual way of dealing with things. Make a little noise, pretend to give a sh@t. Bury head in sand and wait for things to quieten down…nothing changes.

• Good to see the Govt made it clear that Minister Grace was not in Galway to actually meet with Savitas husband, wouldn’t want to look too compassionate.

• While he is reflecting on this case I hope he also reflects on the entire medical regulations surrounding miscarriage in this country ! If it is the norm in this country , to leave women who are deemed by professionals , to be suffering a miscarriage , lie in agony in beds and do nothing to help , then this country is in a sorry state ! I really though we were well beyond medieval and outdated practices on this country. But it seems not !!!!

• The HSE are hovering over Praveen like vultures.
    Leave the man alone and do the right thing “public enquiry”
    I don’t trust The HSE or Jimmy Reilly either. X(

• This is absolutely ludicrous . At this stage there most be at least 6 Inquiries going on.
    I wish the Government would take control and not just be listening to voxpop polls all the time
    I would reckon the cost in all this will run to millions and the only people to benefit will be the legal teams .
    Not one person will go forward to these enquiries without a legal full team with them.

what will we learn … 5 years later. probably the same as we will learn from the inquest

• So typical in irish politics and society in general.
      Topics and affairs etc are being debated and deliberated upon until the cows come home.
      These deliberations rarely result in positive action or changes in legislation to resolve these issues.
      Go into any irish pub and you will witness people complaining.
      That is as far as it goes.
      Being a little more proactive would go a long way.

• Agree, what’s the story about two women who died in the Coombe within 48 hours of each other in October??? No mention of that????

• The McCracken Tribunal took 6 weeks. It dealt with a broader range of facts. We have unity of time, place, events, personnel, we have limited records, a short elapse of time and defined issues. This tragedy is amenable to a Commission of Investigation or a Public Tribunal to allay a matter of serious public concern. The HIQA investigation is trying to fit a square peg into a round hole. A Commission or a Tribunal can be fast tracked in the circumstances.

The State failed Savita and Praveen. It continues to fail Praveen. Read today’s ICCL letter to HIQA.

Personally, I am of the view that the crisis and tragedy has been caused by bad law, not bad medicine or by medical negligence. Our sacred cow Constitution, Article 40.3.3, Eight Amendment is pernicious and dangerous. It keeps Roman Catholic Fundamentalists happy but it can and does kill. Article 40.3.3 is potentially injurious to the lives of pregnant women. We want to ignore this and we run scared of a Referendum to repeal Article 40.3.3 because it might be upsetting and even divisive. So what, let us face up to our moral and civic responsibility. Are we spineless cowards? I think that we are.

• Mr Hallapanavar has my support. I wish him well in his efforts to get justice ,and I think he is very strong and loyal to his wife in seeking justice for her and making sure that it can never happen again to any other family. Like I said he has my support.

• Thanks Eileen
      A reply from the heart.

• @eileen. Well said. It is disheartening to see that there have been many negative comments regarding this poor man’s courage to make a stand in seeking justice for his beloved wife.

• Interesting use of the word justice. It seems to show you have already made up your mind. What if it is found that no medical intervention could have saved her? What would be justice then?

• Eileen
      What do you mean by the use of the word Justice. It is an interesting demand. Do you mean something beyond a public explanation of the circumstances in which this unfortunate lady died. I say this because justice implies some form of retribution or compensation or balancing action for the wrong that was done.
      All of this suggests that the cause of death was something of a deliberate or negligent nature and for you woman to sit in judgement on this sad circumstance and to issue your sanctimonious findings on nothing more than gossip and malign thinking plus your own prejudice is appalling.
      Where will you be if the findings of the various enquiries point directly at a patient who was admitted to a hospital with a condition that prevented surgical intervention as is very possible.
      Oh no you prefer to hang the entire Medical Team in University Hospital Galway and you blatantly don’t want facts to get in the way of expressing your bile.
      I surrender . I give up . I want to leave.

• And where will you be Garry if the enquiries find that there was indeed negligence due to lack of legislation?

• Garry just wants to be a contrary bastard, it does not matter what he thinks Eileen

• Does anybody have a clue wtf Garry is talking about anyways?

• Of course. Don’t pass judgment before anything is known about what happened. You, me and everyone else doesn’t know what happened. Simples!

• I guess Garry your not a woman, who may be pregnant, who has been listening to this story unfolding and wondering what if she presents with a problem say at 17 weeks? Or someone like the lady in Cork who was receiving treatment for cancer and discovered she was pregnant? She is also dead now Garry the ethics committee down in Cork decided that the pregnancy could not be terminated or if you prefer the term aborted because her life was not in “immediate danger” but they stopped her treatment because she was pregnant. So maybe Garry rather then fixating on a word you might step back and realise that real people do die in Ireland because governments for the last 20 years have buried their collective responsibility to legislate based on the Supreme Courts judgement on the X case. Better you should ask your government when will they act.

• It is actually fault of Irish law, specifically the Eight Amendment to the Constitution, Article 40.3.3. There is no evidence of accident or negligence in the medical treatment of Savita. Article 40.3.3 manacled the clinicians from intervening. The clinicians will be proven not to have been culpable. The problem dates back to 1983. Savita was not the only victim. It is wrong to blame the clinicians for bad law. This is truly a case of bad law, not bad medicine.

So, HIQA will now investigate standards of medical treatment in the hospital. Talk about looking up the wrong tree.

Yeah, the Irish electorate is the most intelligent and sophisticated in the world! Take a bow. We Irish are the best in the world. Yeah, right. I have a different description but I think that I have earned enough red thumbs as it is.

We want to look at everything but look at the reality of a bad and dangerous Constitutional provision. Why is that? Because the Roman Catholic Church directed a large majority to vote in 1983 for bad law. Now we will do everything possible to evade responsibility, refuse to admit the mistake and fail to fix it.

Paddy is afraid to look in the mirror and maybe Paddy is right because Paddy will not like what Paddy will see if he does. Begob and begorrah, sure aren’t we grand.

• well at least all these comments matter and will make a difference!

• Yoyo 23/11/12 #

Really prefer if he wasn’t my representative to her poor husband.

• This is turning a tragedy into a farce!
    The Government should be bending over backwards to have a fully open, sworn inquiry on this matter. Leaving aside the personal concerns of Mr Halappanavar, this case has opened debate on issues that have been ignored & avoided for far too long and has brought renewed calls for legislation to once & for all settle the matter.

If the required & necessary legislation is to have any relevance to the people most concerned it surely must be seen to be informed and drafted on the basis of the issues that come to light. The most appropriate way for these issues to come to light is through an open and fully sworn inquiry where the truth will come out in the most unambiguous manner possible.

• Oh dry up, Garry, and take your delicate sensibilities elsewhere.

• So now, he’s going to reflect upon the conversation. In time, he may well recall a mature reflective stance, just like a senior politician, recalled making a mature recollection when he was found out to be a proven liar. The only reflection that needs to be engaged in, is our corrupt politicians looking in a mirror.

• Ed O’Standun, it is irrelevant if it could have happened in other countries. We are in Ireland, talking about a needless Irish tragedy when a woman needlessly died. If you examine the law and the facts as disclosed so far, the horrible reality dawns that the clinicians hands were tied. I don’t like to see clinicians scapegoated for the evil mischief introduced into the Constitution in 1983 by means of the Eight Referendum. The basic facts are already established and I believe Praveen because he is evidently and palpably truthful.

I am appalled by the atrociously messy handling of this matter since the Government became involved and the egregiously unjust stonewalling of a properly constituted inquiry.

I will resile from my position if you can identify the countries where this might have happened, exactly how it might happen in other countries and what laws or medical practices might cause this to happen in other countries. Please be specific if you wish to persist in your position or else It is a bald, bland, lame and logically irrelevant fob off. This is not about bullying; it is about rigorous thinking and not evading the issues.

• Happens in the Phillipines and Brazil on a daily basis Peter! both Catholic countrys too may I add, people are blaming Ireland and Irish law for all this, the thing is, we don’t know the facts, how do we know it’s the countrys fault? for all we know it could have been mal practice by the doctor. The law permitted him to remove the foetus if it was a threat to the mothers life, in this case he does not appear to have identified the mothers life as being in danger, but like everybody else, we will just have to wait for the facts to come out, trial of eachothers views by internet is not to change much.

• @ Peter TBH I think your comment is more about you trying to bully other people over the internet for the things you have mis interpereting them as saying, i think you are just looking to start a row, not going to react, good luck.

• Ed, I have checked. Neither the Philippines and Brazil have laws which place a woman at risk of death due to preservation of the foetus. I am not talking of standards of care but the intentional withholding of necessary life saving medical intervention. You offer no specifics and you offer no argument or reasoning why the supposed situation in other countries justifies what happened in Ireland.

Your statement that the law permits the removal of a foetus if the mother’s life is at risk fails to state that can only apply when the foetus has expired. It does not apply if the heart of the foetus is still beating. Article 40.3.3 guarantees parity of the foetus and the mother. One cannot be preferred over the other. Look at Praveen’s credible account.

We do agree on one thing. Exchanges on the Internet cannot alter the facts of what happened.

Sad to see you trying to justify, defend or mitigate the unacceptable Irish tragedy by facile and irrelevant reference to other countries.

I noticed you dishing out a lot of smart remarks earlier.

• Ed, I see you feel bullied. I merely sought to challenge your views and the irrelevance of what happens in other countries. That’s what happens in a debate. I have been correctly challenged on occasions. It’s healthy. It disturbs comfortable assumptions and unexamined opinions. Are you the individual who was jeering above? It might be someone with the same name.

I can reassure you that I am not looking for a row, merely to correct flabby thinking and defective reasoning. We can all be guilty of that.

The priority has to be how to ensure that bad laws are repealed and how the tragedy of Savita’s needless death can be avoided happening again.

• Yes Ed, get in that tired, trite, irrelevant get out of jail free card that it could have happened in other countries. Let me let you in on a secret, Savita died in Ireland, she actually died, not could have, or might have. She died because we put a unique provision in our Constitution relegating pregnant women to parity with the status of a foetus.

Live in illusion, delusion, denial and lame evasion because reality is inconvenient and even upsetting.

• Peter, let’s just wait for report to come out, to much blame going on here, we don’t know yet, but yes I stand by what I said, this could have happened in other countrys besides Ireland and that was all I was saying. No need for a cyber bullying contest now surely.

• @ed. the fact that this could have happened in another country does not negate our responsibilities to a) investigate the savita case thoroughly, and deal with the findings appropriately to safeguard other pregnant women b) deal with our appalling legal mess in relation to abortion

• @ Irene, well you said that not me! think your putting 2 and 2 together and getting 5

• @ ed. referring to your comments below re Philippines and brazil. Apologies if I didn’t make that clear in my post.
      But my statement still stands.

Regardless of what happens in the Savita case, the opinion of many legal and medical experts is, is that our legislation re termination is a disaster. That is why countries in the western world are looking at us aghast and rightly so. We have signed up to the UN and EU convention for human rights for goodness sake and 20 years after the x case ruling we still haven’t managed to legislate. In 2010 the ECHR ruled that we must legislate nd it still has not happened.

As an Irish WOMAN living in IRELAND I think our main focus should be getting things right in our own country. Women in Ireland are more concerned with what happens in OUR hospitals ( what happens in brazil is totally irrelevant to an unfortunate woman in Ireland whose pregnancy runs into difficulty).

My life NOT yours.

• I do get what your saying Eileen, I have an awful feeling that this report is going to point finger at the doctor involved who quite possibly is not Irish and may have mis interpereted the law which does re X case account for termination where the mothers life is in jeopardy. I suppose what I mean about it happening in other countrys is that medical negligence and/or religious and state failures do and have cost mothers and unborn their lives.

In this case they had identified in UCHG that Savita had miscarried but the foetus still had a heartbeat (however that is possible) and although she asked for a termination was still refused one on grounds of Ireland being a catholic country, I will be surprised if it does turn out that Irish law is the sole cause of this mess.

• @ Peter, please read my reply to Eileen, yes the smart remarks were directed at Garry only, and if you read his comments you can see for yourself he earned them.

• Ed
      Unless the details of the medics involved have been made public, which I doubt, you have no shred of evidence to assume the consultant was not irish. Also your musings that a consultant might misinterpret the law because he/ she may not be irish is again an assumption on your part and not based on reasoned argument or fact.
      To quote yourself ‘wait and see til the report comes out’ before you cast judgement on the consultant involved.
      There has been plenty of reasoned argument that our laws re abortion are not adequate. This needs to change for women in this country

• Ed, it pains me to have to say this but having read through your posts and, in particular, your raising of the possibility that the consultant may have been non Irish and supposedly confused as to the application of Irish law, it is reasonable to conclude that you are mildly xenophobic, as are many Irish people. That is not your fault, it is a consequence of slow adaptation to a multi cultural society and the changing demographic in Ireland.

I have noticed that Brenda Power in the Sunday Times, a staunch and devout Roman Catholic is willing to accept that it is Irish law which is actually at fault. Look at Carol Hunt’s article in today’s Sunday Independent and please read Dr. Peter Boylan’s article in today’s Sunday Business Post.

As a retired lawyer, I can say that if a clinician intervened to induce contraction whilst the heart of the foetus was still beating and if an Garda Siochana and the DPP were to be informed, the clinicians involved or complicit would have been liable to be prosecuted for a serious criminal offence contrary to the Offences Against the Person Act, 1861, regardless of how humane their intentions were.

We urgently need legal reform so as to avoid the risk of a death in similar circumstances to Savita’s sad and needless death.

Savita and his solicitor are right to stand up for a proper form of inquiry and I am convinced that the unusual and disturbing facts of this case warrant an appropriate form of inquiry on a proper legal foundation, preferably under the Commission of Investigation Act, 2004.

• @ Garry – yes it’s very true that there was an underlying condition that prevented immediate surgical intervention – a “Catholic Country” as reported by her husband…

• Mike Roe 24/11/12 #

I think Ed has had a couple of shandies.

• Still looking for a black or white solution/answer? This is the umpteenth article on the tragic Savita case and nothing can be solved nor will be. read between the lines people FFS!!!

• My god I’m ashamed of this country and the useless c*%ts that run it!!

• Im wondering if thechange of wording from the last anti abortion referendum is what had the hospitals hands tied? Years ago, a woman having a miscarrage – lets call it what it is and leave the A word out – would have been given a D&C to end her pain and distress.
    But who are we to judge and comment? The full facts aren’t known yet. And why are men venting their anger on this issue? It’s women who face danger. Find something else to agrue about boys – like football!

• @valerie. You are spot on there valerie. Through all the ‘savita articles’ negative posts, be it about savita’s husband or the more general issue of women seeking termination, as far as i can see have come from Irish men! Odd that.

• Valerie, I agree with some of what you say but I consider that the legal problem goes back to Article 40.3.3 of the Constitution introduced in 1983 by the Eight Amendment. This prevents early induction by oxytocin or a D&C, a miscarriage to address the consequences of a spontaneous abortion.

I have considerable sympathy for your view that this is an issue for women, not men, and I have felt some unease addressing this issue. That said, and as a man said in a letter during the week to the Irish Times, he values his wife’s life beyond all the foetuses in the universe.

Had the issue of miscarriages and abortion not been addressed by male dominated legislation and Constitutional Amendment, as a man I would gladly not get involved. It is desperately unfortunate, even a little that this area is being dealt with by an 85 per cent male Dail. On balance and with some reservation, I think that men do need to engage on this life threatening issue because they have stakes as partners, husbands, brothers and even as friends of potential victims. Certainly Praveen has the right to speak and the right to be heard. He has a legitimate interest.

That said, I am not sure that I should have a right to determine or to dictate what should happen to a woman’s life and health other than that I don’t want to see any woman allowed to dies a a result of bad law in a country of which I’m a resident and citizen.

• @ garry fitzgearld. Absolutley agree with you. I said earlier my wife and I have had 3 experiences with medical teams and doctors. If we had anything other than an excellent outcome we certainly could not attach any blame or negligence to the midwives consultants and staff available to us

Lets just wait and see what the facts say

• i tell you one thing o reilly you cretin..if that was my wife that you killed and i agreed with a meeting with you…there is no way you would be walking away son…

• Severe condolences?

• I’m sure he reflected good and hard after ordering the lobster for himself.

• Is there no other news? Let the woman rest in peace.

• Yeah lets go back to the silence we had before.

I’m sure that’s what she’d have wanted.

• SL 23/11/12 #

As much as some people would like it all to go away and be forgotten, that will not be happening. “Can we not all move on and let the woman rest in peace?” Eh, No actually. It is important that it still has news time. The fact that related case notes taken in Galway University Hospital are now ‘missing’, it is more important than ever to keep the pressure on the government so this doesn’t become a whitewash.

• Gamma 23/11/12 #

@SL it’s not a ‘ fact’ that notes are missing, its possible that the termination request was never recorded. if everyone could wait for the actual facts instead of inventing “facts” there’d be far fewer bandwagons to choose from.

• I am not impressed with this development.
      This meeting should have taken place a long time ago.
      Irish politics at it’s worst.
      Once again.

• Mick 23/11/12 #

Well said…wait and see there will be plenty to ponder when the actual facts come out…facts not the “he said she said” rubbish that’s going on now. Stick to the facts people, it’s always the best way to go.

• Shhhh Mick! They don’t like sensible ideas such as that.

• SL 24/11/12 #

@gamma fair enough. no facts known yet. however if the formal termination request(s) were not recorded on multiple days, as alleged, that’s another can of worms. we’ll wait for the facts. my main point was that this story won’t just fade away as some would prefer. This is a painful but necessary process.

• I feel sorry for James Reilly, I think he is a man of good character that would have been deeply affected by meeting with Mr Halapanavaar, we won’t know until the report comes out, there are more countrys than Ireland where a thing like this could have happened.

Add New Comment