TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Sinead O’Connor: Late Late approach was ‘patronising and disrespectful’

The singer has explained her decision to pull out of Friday’s show, saying: I’m tired of being labelled crazy.

Sinead O'Connor performing in Dublin in 2008
Image: Niall Carson/PA Archive/Press Association Images

Updated 5.10pm

SINEAD O’CONNOR HAS explained the reasons behind her decision to pull out of a Late Late show appearance, saying an RTÉ staff member was “patronising, insulting and disrespectful”.

The singer, 44, announced yesterday that she would not be appearing as planned on Friday’s show, the first of the new season and due to be hosted by Ryan Tubridy. She said at the time that she would “absolutely” never discuss the reasons behind her change of heart.

However, O’Connor today posted a blog entry on her website saying she believed RTÉ’s reason for having her on the show was to exploit her recent public search for a partner, and make her appear as a “crazy performing monkey”. She said a researcher for the Late Late Show had “asked a number of questions which I found rude, patronising, insulting and disrespectful”, continuing:

The researcher said to me that since I suffer from depression do I not think its insane behaviour to be talking publicly about sex. While it may be called rude, inappropriate, naughty, silly, adolescent etc to talk rudely about sex, it is outrageous to call it ‘insane’.

The singer said the researcher had also asked her what her brother, the novelist Joseph O’Connor, would think of her behaviour. She added she was tired of being labelled “crazy”, and that it had led her to consider suicide. O’Connor also lashed out at the state of Ireland today, suggesting that little has changed since decades gone by.

We are still the same old squinting windows Ireland, the type which had women like me in industrial schools. When u start to feel good about ur self, sure enough someone will come and stomp all over your heart with their steel-toed docs, and tell u u deserved it.

An RTÉ spokeswoman told TheJournal.ie: “While we never discuss specific negotiations around any of guests who have been invited to appear on the show we would like to stress that it was never our intention to cause Sinead any distress. Sinead has been on the show many times over the years and she is always welcome to the show.”

Read more: Sinead O’Connor: Late Late Show ‘just isn’t safe for me’>

Read more: Sinead O’Connor to explore Irish reluctance to discuss sex>

Read more: Sinead still hasn’t found her ‘sweet, sex-starved man’>

Read next:

Comments (72 Comments)

• RTE is just all about celeb tabloid fodder these days and little else. Artists, writers, and people with something intelligent to say are not welcome it seems. Dumb and getting dumber…

• late late is out of date.

• On another note, Tubridy would make you laugh. He sets up O’Connor for a roasting, and yet his ole buddy Ronan Cheating got away with murder last year. Maybe she isn’t a Fianna Failer ;)

• sure Jim Corr can fill the gap, get him on again for the craic and let him speak this time.

• good still wont watch the late late, tubs wood give her a hard time but he let his aul pall ronan off very easy

• The Late late Advertiser is just a show now to try and shove people’s crap down our throats even more so now than in previous Gaybo days.
    Fair play to her for pulling out – this stands to her credit, not to her dis-credit!

• Sinead is right to cancel. After all, RTE isn’t famous for being progressive, now is it? She obviously felt she was viewed as a circus freak in their eyes. If anyone has anything god to say about RTE let’s hear it.

• I reckon she needs a jumper cake…

• He Niall, your ‘comment’ walks like an ad, talks like an ad, and quacks like an ad. It’s an ad.

• Hopefully you’re not comparing Jim Corr with Dawkins. Tubridy’s last interview with Dawkins, a strong and fascinating intellect, was pathetic.
    Regarding Sinead her contribution to Irish music has been outstanding. I would leave it that!

• Brian M 31/08/11 #

Yeah I fully agree. Tubridy is a gobshite and his Dawkins interview was the most ignorant, ill informed piece of crap I’ve ever witnessed. He can’t handle intellects and Sinead does fall into this category. She’s a beautiful, intelligent woman who just has her own opinion and a unique view. Tubridy is a talentless idiot and doesn’t deserve the company of these people. Take power and change the station people. Low ratings = bye bye Tubs!

• Nope, but I am comparing the treatment they both got at the hands of the “impartial” Jack Skellington that presents the thing.

• Im a fan. Sinead has more talent in her vocal cords then turbidy has in his entire body and if in fact the researcher did equate her depression to insanity then perhaps she should go on just to highlight his ignorance and that of many people. Additionally she has in her lifetime gone out of her way to provoke interest in her and she needs to take some responsibility for the labels that have been created and stuck to her. She is obviously an intelligent women and would do better to appear on show sing beautifully and do a little bit of advocacy. Either way i wont be watchin find turbidy painful to watch!

• Anyone should steer clear of Tubs the man can hardly draw breath without loving himself.

• Sinead O’Connor may have outspoken views, she may be even seen as “odd” at times but to describe her as crazy is going a bit too far just because you don’t agree with her point of view. She has been described as one of the most beautiful women this country has ever seen, with a voice to die for and, sadly, like hundreds of thousands of others she suffers from depression. No big deal, or so you”d think, but its precisely because she isn’t a shrinking violet and faces the problems life throws at her head on, talks openly about them in a frank and humorous manner that others can’t handle her and place the “crazy” label on her.
    If what she said is accurate, and I have no reason to doubt her, and someone questioned what she talked about as being “insane behaviour” as she suffers from depression then I think she is very right to be insulted. Does this mean that anyone who suffers from depression and speaks openly about s-e-x in catholic Ireland may be seen as crazy, why stop there, lock ‘em up in an institution and have the church “re-educate” them? Oh wait, we did that didn’t we? If this was a male pop star in his 40′s (ok, ex pop star) saying he was “gagging for it” on an internet posting it would be seen completely differently, even George Michael’s arrest for a “lewd act” in 1998 was eventually laughed off. Give the girl a break, if someone you cared about was described as insane or crazy because they suffered from depression and had a sense of humour you’d be angry too, wouldn’t you?

• Thumb me down all you want folks, while O Connor is clearly an intelligent, articulate woman…she is off her rocker with the way she goes about doing stuff.

• You’re not wrong. But, if I had to have a drink and a chat with either Tubs or Sinead, it’d be Sinead. She may seem a bit crazy, but she’s not a plonker like Tubs. In fact, listening to Tubs drives most people crazy. Almost as bad as Derek Mooney.
      ‘Mooney Goes Wild’. Never went wild in his life. What a piece of ****.

• Yawn..

• Never heard of 4fm?

• Sinead is really just saying she does have standards

• Sinead is unbalanced in an Irish way.
    It’s a result of her upbringing I think – her role as mother is to help shift that balance in her kids toward a less traumatic life for them. I wish her luck.

• I think it’s a little unfair and naive to assume Sinead O’Connor had a “campaign” to get a man. She posted a tweet, tabloid media jumps up and down desperate to blow up any celeb related blather into ‘news’ and before you know it it is a story. That my friends is what counts for journalism in Ireland. And that is how desperate RTE is these days to wade up to its neck in tabloid fodder.

• It was a good decision for Sinead to pull out of the show, if that’s how the researcher is going to behave quite possibily the attitude will continue to the ‘top’. We all have a right to protect ourselves. Hope you’re well Sinead, you’re a decent human being deserving of better.

• All this malarky bout appearing/not appearing on late late show is a free advertising stunt by S o C, obviously her ‘find a man campaign’ hasn’t got her enough coverage…is she really that anal that she thinks Ireland of 2011 give a shit what she gets up to?

• I have one good thing to say about RTE: Sharon Ní Bheoláin

• Methinks Sinead has a new album pending ,free publicity is the best publicity.

• JR 01/09/11 #

The same Late Late Show that asked lesbian mothers if they actually used a turkey baster? Oh yeah, why wouldn’t you go on that show? FFS.

You know what? I deal with dozens of random people every day. Most of them are stupid and thick. I’d far, far rather have a chat with someone like Sinead O’Connor. You can say what you want, but she’s not stupid and she’s not boring. And she’s not a bad person. Why are people so awful about her?

• I don’t watch the Late Late Mr Smyth. I’m not a practicing Catholic and I am not in the slightest bit interested in what Sinead O’Connor does or doesn’t do behind closed doors. Anal sex is her personal choice and I don’t have any difficulty with that but what I have difficulty with is O’Connor trotting it out as if it’s a topic we can all happily discuss around the dinner table. That’s just not appropriate. Some people however are natural exhibitionist’s. They say and do things just to be provocative or get a reaction… nuff said

• I meant ‘never heard of 4fm!’ Seems no one but thr co host has?

• my very last phrase has not made an iota of sense!!!:(

• Totally agree, Edward W. U said it.

• If Sinead doesn`t want to be treated as crazy then she should stop giving Crazy attention seeking interviews, she can`t have it both ways, what i find most interesting about the tweets is how most people are taking it as a Tubridy vs Sinead senario and everyone is backing Sinead, it shows how unpopular the arrogant Tubridy has become, Noel Kelly agent is running a mafia style organisation with all his clients getting top jobs and salaries and top rte exec`s getting kickbacks from Kelly co,`s 10-20% management fees, hence Tub, Seoige, Craig Doyle etc get every single gig even when public hate them. Sinead stick to the singing- that you do well

• I wonder what a typical Late Late viewer is. My guess is probably similar to yours Ed.
    Over 50, practicing Catholic, sexually repressed, closed minded and doesn’t get out very often (hence watching Tubs on a Friday night).
    Being that this is the target audience for The Late Late, (which isn’t very Late), I would have to agree that Sinead would be well advised to steer clear of Tubs.
    Perhaps they could do a special where she gets interviewed by Gaybo for one night only. The ratings would go through the roof.

• As it happens, it was the LLS, in its earlier days, that was frequently read from the pulpit for dragging the country kicking and screaming into real debate about our treatment of abortion, homosexuality, drugs, corruption, abuse etc. True, it’s now only a pale imitation of those days, but let’s not forget that it once had a soul.

• i think it’s totally offensive to call ANYONE ‘crazy’ ‘unbalanced’ ‘off their rocker’. yes people do have mental illnesses, yes people do things, say things not in the general realm of behaviour however labels hurt, depress, and are prejudicial, discriminatory and unkind.

i am not commenting on sinead’s ‘mental illness’ all i want to say is she is living life the hard way, in the eye of a storm…of unkindness , prejudice and utter inhumanity , she has a lot of good things to say…she sings like a lark, she brings up children , all i can say is…i’d sure like to meet her.

and some of you jerks commentating here are not worth anything in my eyes. you obviously are unitelligent, and wouldn’t get near the late late show for ANYTHING you might offer!

• As the wonderful Judge Judy says to some of the people before her – “that is the dumbest thing I have ever heard”. U start off by saying that u find it “totally offensive to call ANYONE crazy …etc…. are prejudical, discriminatory & unkind”. That’s fine – if u left it at that. Then u yourself turn around & start to be “offensive” by calling the people who reply to this story “jerks” & “not worth anything” in your eyes. U go on to insult by calling all the people who replied “unintelligent & wouldn’t get near the LLS ….”. . Are u Sinead O’Connor in disguise ??!!! Coz your reply is ridiculous. S O’C is not living life the hard way. She is an attention seeking idiot & all this is attention seeking publicity. She can help herself by keeping her mouth shut.

• I actually like Sinead. She has character, she is at least truthful, says what she wants and I say good luck to her! I hope she finds who and what she wants in her life, she, like all of us, deserves happiness and doesn’t deserve to be ‘kicked in the heart’ by begrudgers and researchers out to make a name for the likes of Tubridy.

• Drama queen!

• I agree with the first part of ur comment, but why is she always looking for publicity? If she’s that good of a singer/songwriter can’t she let her music speak for itself, why does she have to do ‘crazy’ things like, become a priest or say she was a lesbian when she seemling wasn’t or claim that she is going on late show naked???…does she care about the feelings of her kids to be doing/saying this and other stuff, is this the actions of a normal person, for some one with bi-polar or depression to see the way she is acting out must be frightening, I believe she may have more money than sense…but that’s just me

• i am a bit kinda curious to know why anyone would advertise so blatantly about her/his need for sex and with which type of person!
    i find that sort of ‘odd’ and yes she has a point that depression has nothing to do with her feelings on sex. and yes, we do have a problem in ireland with stigma if you have a psychological or mental condition.
    she does have children and i think some may be at that awful age of ‘oh gud look what my mother has just done’ and that worries me. bullies are all around.
    if she states her wishes so flamboyantly well…just donno on this one really. we are a staid old country but a small country. such comments of Sinead in a population of over 48million may have bit the dust and be irrelevant in the scheme of things, but we are only but a belly button on the map.

• ‘make her appear as a “crazy performing monkey”.’???

Did they ask her to sing into a banana?

• I think Sinead was surprised at the negative response her article got .She probably expected a lot of attention that would boost her ego.When she sees all the comments from ordinary people who are less than impressed by her she probably got cold feet.She would not appreciate anyone in RTE telling her what is and is not acceptable so that s why she pulled out of LLS She is just throwing her toys out of the pram because she could n’t get her own way.

• @Cpm: I wonder if you know what “spamming” is, and if you realise that the fact that what I posted was relevant and on-topic means that I actually wasn’t?

Regardless, I don’t see you posting anything relevant to the topic yourself other than to jump on the bandwagon of attacking me… maybe it’s not me who should “go away”? At least I’m trying to contribute to the topic by pointing out where Sinéad would be speaking *in relation* to the topic covered in this article.

I have to agree with John – her contribution to Irish music HAS been outstanding and superb. Her comments on the Catholic Church have been proven to be ahead of their time also. I think it’s all too easy and a bit silly to just brand her as a nutter because she may have relativey extreme views compared to the average person.

• probably on her terms…good for her. go get tubs sinead

• Evan O'Q 01/09/11 #

I respect O’Connors decision not to go on the show, Tubridy can be very disrespectful to his guests, especially women. She’s got a few interesting things to say about ireland and why we’re reluctant to discuss sex etc. and it’s unfortunate she won’t be on to talk about them, but at the same time, knowing the general conservative anti-progressive attitude of the LLS she’d only end up being ridiculed for it.

• @Declan – This isn’t a ‘forum’, it’s a news article with comments, and in answer to your question, I’m making a comment, and one which is very much relevant to the subject matter of the article.

• BANANA REPUBLIC, IRELAND IS FULL OF SHIT.

• @Declan and Ryan: it’s relevant because it’s the same person – Sinéad O’Connor, and I’m sure she’ll be talking on the show tonight about why she’s decided not to appear on the Late Late on Friday, and will be answering the questions that Tubridy probably planned to ask her (about her search for a man, etc.). Disagree with me all you want, but I’m not “advertising”… people who are commenting on this news story may be interested in where they can hear Sinéad, and I’m just letting them know. Tune in if you want, don’t if you don’t,… your choice.

• Having had nothing but exceptionally pleasant dealings with the Late Late team, I find this story very difficult to believe.

Add New Comment