TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Sinn Féin TD and independents say they won’t pay household charge

Over half-a-dozen TDs say they will not pay the €100 tax when it comes into effect in the New Year with a number of Sinn Féin deputies considering their options.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

Updated 9.05pm

MORE THAN HALF-a-dozen TDs will not be paying the household charge when it comes into effect in the New Year it has emerged.

Sinn Féin TD Aengus Ó Snodaigh told the Dáil this evening that he had taken a personal, family decision not to pay the €100 annual charge and was prepared to face the consequences of fines and a tax of €2,500.

“I will stand with all others of like mind and will organise those who will take a similar stance. This tax is unfair and as our pre-budget alternative has shown not required and so should not be introduced,” he said this evening.

He joins a growing number of TDs who have said they are not going to pay the tax announced as part of last week’s budget and the legislation for which is currently going through the Oireachtas.

The Environment Minister Phil Hogan has described the actions of any TDs opposing the tax as “irresponsible”.

Earlier today, Socialist Party TD Joe Higgins urged a public boycott of the tax which he described as “unjust”. Under the legislation households will be required to register with their local authority before March next year and pay the charge in full or arrange payment in instalments.

“We will arrive at the end of March with the vast bulk of the 1.6 million householders having boycotted this registration,” Higgins predicted.

His fellow United Left Alliance TDs, Clare Daly, Joan Collins, Seamus Healy and Richard Boyd Barrett have all indicated they will not pay the charge.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie this evening said he would not be paying an “unjust, socially regressive charge”.

Sinn Féin

Meanwhile, Ó Snodaigh’s party colleague Dublin North West TD Dessie Ellis said he was not liable for the charge as he lives in a council house but that even if he was he would not pay it.

Sinn Féin TDs Michael Colreavy, Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin, and Martin Ferris all told TheJournal.ie that they were not yet sure if they would pay it. All other Sinn Féin deputies could not immediately be reached for comment.

A party spokesperson said this evening:  ”We support those who choose not to pay it, but we’re not advocating non-payment. We’re not telling people not to pay, unlike other parties.”

Tommy Broughan, who lost the Labour Party whip after voting against bank guarantee legislation recently, said this evening that he would vote against the legislation imposing the tax but added: “I honestly haven’t thought about whether or not I will pay it.

Asked if he supported TDs who will not be paying it, he said: “I respect their right to take a point of view.”

Fianna Fáil’s environment spokesperson Niall Collins told TheJournal.ie this evening that while he is opposed to the introduction of the charge, he would be paying it.

“We’re not advocating breaking the law and civil disobedience. I will pay it under protest,” he said.

Read: Higgins urges public to boycott ‘unjust’ €100 Household Charge >

Read next:

Comments (97 Comments)

• Dont get services from Meath Co Co so won’t be paying. already pay for bins collection, grass cutting , road cleaning in our estate as the Co Co haven’t taken our 15 year old estate in charge. PS wait for it to rise to 1000+ in the next few years. There will be a lot more independent TD’s in the dail after the next election.

• I paid 30 grand stamp duty let them take it out of that or give me it back and I will be happy to pay €100 fcuk them

• So many questions but very few answers.
    1) When the property tax comes in will the household charge be abolished ?
    2) Is the septic tank & water rates part of the property tax?
    3) Has the government any intention to increase the property tax & household charge in the future?
    4) Why is the government asking the public to register for the household charge ?
    Surely all households are already on record !
    I find it very worrying that governments in general feel the need to gain as much information as they possibly can on private individuals.

• The Priest, The Doctor, The Bank Manager, The wielder of power, influence and fear in Ireland of yesteryear.
    Now they have been replaced by the untouchable Politician, manipulating the meek and those still afraid of the slightest threat. Rise Up Ireland. It’s YOU who have All the Power.

• Dave 14/12/11 #

This will be a dignified, silent protest – but one which will cause maximum effect! Everyone get behind this, and do not pay! We have to stand up some time!

• so correct me if my maths are not correct but the government would need about 1500 houses to pay bertie pension …. i take it he is on 150 k pa. .

well if so he and the government can sing for it he

• Nobody ok , NOBODY pay this horseshit tax!! We have do to something collective as a nation, we are already being primed today to vote yes to keep the Euro in this referendum in March, the failed currency that created this whole goddamn mess, people have to make themselves heard and we do this by refusing this tax together. We pay our income tax, PRSI, universal social charge, VAT (now 23%), stamp duty, local authority rates, school charges, it goes on…. They can piss off and come down to front door of my house and SING for this charge,,, for once in my life l am with the Shinners and Joe Higgins

• pagan 14/12/11 #

Enda.Run off to Germany and ask how else can you can screw the people of Ireland.Ive had enough of this bull shit from our so called goverment.I WONT PAY THIS TAX.
    And why wont i pay it,because you enda have taken every cent off me in stelth taxes and i just cant give any more.Jail me if you want.At least ill get a hot meal and a warm place to sleep which is more then im getting at home.

• jimbo 14/12/11 #

simple solution! NOBODY PAY IT!
    cant lock us all up.

• A few years ago I was working out in Greece for a British company. The Government there decided to go into every house and see who had receipts for any electrical item, theyhad a notion that they had been purchasing items from abroad and losing revenue on them.
      Of course they didnt let anyone know they had passed this law, they simply raided every home and arrested anyone who hadnt a receipt, people had no receipts unless they had literally just bought the things.
      That night the jails were over flowing, people crammed in and the Police were going insane because they just couldnt cope and had people lined up outside and by the morning they had to let them all go.
      I know this has nothing to do with the Property tax, however, it does highlight the fact that if everyone, or even a large proportion of people stand against them and say NO, they will have the same issue as the Greeks that hilarious night…
      Never seen its like before or since!

• I had withdrawn my euro from the banks and buried it in the forest. I like my new bank. Year on year I have seen a dramatic increase in my savings.

• Jesus l forgot carbon tax, water meters next.. No, no way am l paying this. See you in District Court

• I’m not opposed to the tax, just the inherent unfairness of it. Someone who lives in a private detached mansion will pay the same as those in boxed up terraced houses. And still the gambling debts of large financial institutions must be paid back, every cent. People need to take a stand at some point, this is an opportunity for ordinary people to fight back. Not just against this government but the German and French banks that we are bailing out. Send a message to Europe!

• I am totally against the home tax after all we paid tax on Our Homes when we bought them along with interest along with everything we bought to turn it into our home rather than just a house we pay tax on our income. We have NO. Say as to where it goes and we have no say as to how much is paid to the top politicians pay themselves and the hike they give their buddies or the people they hire or the positions they create like the one minister for houses in the name if God maybe we should have a minister for dogs or cats next or even a minister for cars
      This home tax is not right it is unjust and will destroy families when it is not just 100euro how will we afford the hike to 1000euro or more in a couple of years

• Why can’t we all hit the streets of Dublin and protest the fact on how us the people won’t pay d household charge. We need to get off our arses and protest like other countries do the same thing when there not happy but people in this country seem to just sit back and moan and do nothing. We all have to stand up to this and say NO.

• I totally agree about people sitting on their asses and moan
      There should be protests in every town,village and city in Ireland
      The elderly showed us younger people up big time 3 years ago when they tried to stop the medical card on them. They also showed us up when they tried to close a nursing home a few weeks ago in Abbeyleix now it is time for everyone to pull together and show this Government we mean business and we can give no more we need to show them that we want our country back, we need to show them that we need spending power to create Jobs. We need to let them know we need our children’s educated we also need to tell them that we need our health because at the moment the minister for health and the HSE should all be sacked for the total mess they are making of our health system

• John 14/12/11 #

Protest?…The Budget and all its bad news is held in December, one of the coldest Months’ of the year for a good reason…people don’t like to protest in cold miserable weather! The Greeks showed us how to protest…when the sun was shining!

• Dessie Ellis is on a pay and expenses package worth well over €100,000 and he isn’t liable to pay the charge because he lives in a council house? He’s rich. Why should he or any other low rent high income tenants be exempt?

• Dessie may be on that on paper but in reality he gets the average industrial wage, the rest goes to sf, likewise with joe higgins, claire daly and the socialist party.

• Dessie might be on that on paper but in reality he takes the average industrial wage and the rest goes to SF, as do the socialist s claire daly and joe higgins.

• @ John the Greeks get the Sun we do not…… and yes get out and PROTEST, We are too accepting in this country. What ever happened to us

• Ciaro 14/12/11 #

€100 next year is ok, its the €1000 in 2 or 3 years that I object to. I already pay almost 200 for a stupid tv licence.

At least we can smile when the government hand over 3 billion to anglo irish bondholders in March. They deserve it!

• never ever thought I’d agree with ULA or Sinn Fein but I’m with them on this. Let’s see them bring 1.6 m people to court. That’s if we could actually manage to muster some unity in our wee country.

• Muc Beag 15/12/11 #

That’s right, the best way out of €16bn budget deficit is by not paying taxes and serfdom to the IMF/EU/ECB. These lot clearly have the interest of the republic at heart.

• alan 14/12/11 #

the most effective way to oppose this tax isnt for individuals to take the risk of ending up having to pay more through fines. why should they have to do this?

rather than you or me taking a risk the tds who dont agree with the tax should themselves make the dail unworkable. they were elected to represent us. so why dont they?

joe higgins not paying wont make ablind bit of difference to anything. joe higgins blocking labour or any other tds from work will

• Dave 14/12/11 #

BBC just tweeted that the IMF is to lend Ireland another 3.9 bn euro!!! What the hell is going on??!!

• I only forgot carbon tax, water meters next, any other taxes l forgot? No, no way am paying this, it’s gona be a day out in Court

• Can’t pay, won’t pay. All together we can do it. They can not prosecute us all. It’s a win win situation.

• I hope that this fiasco takes the government down and brings on a general election. Hell, they could hold it in conjunction with the referendum and save a few bob.
    Now FF’s corruption and missmanagement is still fresh in peoples minds and the lies and broken promises of FG/Labour are hitting home people might make a more informed choice at the polling stations.
    Bring on the day.

• try their own wages for starters and how bout these big pensions and then theres the unsecured bond holders they keep throwin money at

• That is a thought Reada, no party whips ? Now that would be something . Can you just imagine all the real work that would get done !!

• Mega respect for Joe Higgins a decent and honourable politician but I would prefer to pay €2 household tax than see another levy on my ever depleting income. I note also that this charge is worthy of Dail time and of RTÉ’ prime airtime attention as opposed to the levy on septic tanks which only affects rural areas where householders do not have the luxury of local authority sewage schemes. Clearly the urban electorate takes priority over the rural electorate.

• Aren’t rural properties in most areas cheaper to buy than similar properties in urban. If rural dwellers got the same services as urban dwellers, they would have to pay extra in some way, and things like septic tank charges are how it should happen. We all have to drink the water as well. If people want to live in one off housing they have to take the downside as well. I live in the city – I’m surrounded by concrete, but I have a decent bus service, and my shite is treated (I hope!) by the council.

• @Donncha Foley …. so what you are suggesting is that rural tax payers do not have the same rights to services as urban tax payers??? Perhaps we should all sell up and move to the city and double the population overnight thereby overcrowding your public transport and flooding the sewers : )

• Donncha. The houses in the country are available for any of us to buy too. Not applicable to this argument really.

• That’s my point – if you live in the country you get benefits you don’t get in the city. But there is also a downside. Your house/rent may cost less but you will probably spend more on travel, septic tank charges etc. Your can’t expect to have the good of both situations.

• @mairin, of course rural dwellers have the same rights, but they may end up costing more, if you want the benefits of rural living as well. People living in close proximity in urban areas provide an economy of scale, and are cheaper to provide services for e.g. Water, roads, sewerage, policing, transport.

• Grand Donncha but do you not think that we have enough division in our country, civil war left us with FF and FG as main choices for governments. Now we have the Private Sector vs the Public Sector and now you’re muting a division between rural and urban? I’m tired of it.

• Hugh – I think Tommy Broughan lost the whip because he voted against the renewal of the banking guarantee. It was his colleague who won the Dublin West by-election recently ( his name escapes me) who voted against the budget.

• they are gas some of us cant pay our mortgages and now theyTHINKwe can pay another 100 euros oh du know something they are desperate bolixes

• Enough is enough , where will this all end , people are being bled dry , if td’s are refusing to pay it on there substantial salarys i would support any ordinary joe on his refusal to comply .

• My comment that I do not have as much an issue with this tax as I have with the septic tanks levy and that it appears the needs of the urban electorate supersedes that of the rural electorate is removed from here despite getting lots of thumbs up … Hmmm….does this touch a raw nerve I wonder …did we also trade our freedom of expression in the bailout????

• Good for them but don’t reckon I could afford 2,500 euro. I don’t have a TDs salary to fall back on. I’d say moSt ordinary folk are gonna pay it from fear now, despite what Joe Higgins has to say about a mass movement not paying it.

• How in the hell does Dessie Ellis qualify for a council house????? The man must be on 100K a year. That is as hypocritical as enda going on about public pay restraint and then giving his assistant a whopping amount over what had been laid down

• maura 14/12/11 #

Very good of them, BUT who is really paying the fine=THE TAX PAYER AS USUAL
    If you have to pay a fine please ensure its your own money.

• Barry 14/12/11 #

Ok so lets say nobody pays it come January, then what..have these people put thought into this?

Where do people want the gov to get the money from, cut more healthcare, education…what about social welfare payments?

I’m not supporting it, merely pointing out the problem with not paying it.

• gerry 14/12/11 #

As usual the opposition targeting what’s in the tabloids and not what really matters, talk about preparing for the next election already

• Frank, your nothing but a clown with that sort of comment . The difference with the socialists and independents is they actually ‘do something’ and stand up to unfair taxes and burdens imposed by the govt. You mention what have they done since the new govt came in. What can they do ? Their in opposition you Gobshite . I along with thousands of others votes for Joe Higgins along with Joan Burton (my local Tds in D.15) in the last election. Little was i and thousands of the electorate to know that as soon as Burton, Varadkar etc .seized the sniff of a ministry they would abandon every pledge in election . Are you a fine gaeler? Do you not remember the 5 point plan for govt.? The ‘not one red cent more ‘remark by Varadkar about the banks? The ‘Dutch health system’ model by James Reilly? . Every weasel TD who voted that budget in ( fair play to Nulty by the way ) is as culpable as the powers that be in the IMF , ECB etc. Get a grip you clown !!!

• I plan on paying in 5,2 and 1 cent coins all mixed up just as my little way of protest

• Hello..?? If you owe me €100(the government) and I have to pay you a salary of €6/7k per month should I not be allowed to deduct it from your salary??
    Why don’t these guys just go on strike ,like they ask everyone else to do, until the tax is removed. That way we would save a fortune and we’d really miss them….not. Joe Higgins thinks he is a court jester, he talks complete shite that is mildly humourous until you realise he is being paid €80/90 grand of taxpayers money to do this.

• @ Holeymoley… Yes Joe is an Irritant most of the time but I think it’s because of his extreme commitment to the people of Ireland.He is hard work, however theres a lot of people in this country whom are sick to death with worry because of all this very heavy news of Property, Septic tank and water taxes / charges. “It’s not your fault” we were told by Enda in his state of the nation speech, What a load then when his and Gilmores parties are introducing such heavy handed additions to peoples outgoings. There will be no extra benefits to you and your City, village of town. This money is being earmarked for export.
      When people like Joe Higgins say they are opposed you can be sure they will stick to their word. Things are changing at such a rapid pace today that some people need to say STOP wait a minute.
      So as much as Independents Sinn Fein and Joe Higgins might annoy some of you, they are your Countrymen and Women, and because they see things as bad for you they say it. Where is our unity as a nation anymore?. Are you all too comfortable with how the country is being run? Do you have no problem paying every tax without question?. One day we will all be Old, Dead and Gone.What the F are we leaving for the future generations? .
      I love this country but Im not prepared to pay stupid unfair and unbalanced taxes, We all need to pull together and put aside differences and dislikes of certain people and enjoy being part of something we all can do to make living in this country fair and enjoyable for now and the future.
      Thats why Im definitley opposing this property tax and standing beside people who’s politics sometimes worry or annoy me. Please think and act on what your Irish heart tells you, and if you pay the tax, fine it’s your decision and I wont hold that against anyone.

• Wish I could give you 100 thumbs up Tom. My Irish heart loves the language.

• Interestingly 400,000 people won’t be paying anyway so what game are they playing

• I’m on E188 a week BTEA, paying higher car tax, higher diesel, higher college fees, septic tank charges, higher vat (everything) and now they want to criminalise me if I don’t pay a household charge too. What the hell is this country coming too!

What 400,000 are you talking about? Unemployed people with their own houses will have to pay this too. The same amount as a millionaire. Seriously, this has to be resisted from the get go. Even if everyone doesn’t pay for the first year and see what happens, it is only e30 fine and by then they may have to have a rethink about the whole thing.

Let’s stand together for once please!

• We can do something really valuable for our country, we can pay the Tax and let them lock up the Shin Fein gang and the Independants. It would be worth every cent if every year they were put away and it only cost us 2 Euro a week. Sooner the better as these impotent powerless lot are doing nothing to help just talking to get noticed. Anybody know of any one important thing these guys have achieved since they got in? Mick Wallace a developer elected to the Dail being paid by the rest of us and his millions of debt being paid for by those on welfare. Only in Ireland. Let the Independants do something they were elected to do and which they insisted that they would make a difference. Useless lot.

• Sinn Féin the lefties and Independent TDs are suggesting not to pay €100. They would rather householders have to pay a fine?! The polices put forward by the left are those that are not these-able. They also say they will oppose the water charges. Just ridiculous. The ULA and Sinn Féin would never be able to form a Government. In my opinion it is all a publicity stunt.

• No, you need not pay a fine. You can go to prison. Which I think would be better. Would I like to know that my money is being given to bankers, simply because I gave in to paying an unjust charge, or go to prison, with my conscience clean and the knowledge that I put my country’s principles first? When one breaks an unjust law, he must do with the willingness to accept the penalty. Martin Luther King said “an individual who breaks a lwa that conscience tells him is unjust, and willingly accepts the penalty of staying in jail to arouse the conscience of the community over its injustice, is in reality expressing the very highest respect for law”.
      These laws are unjust. They are not there to help the country, but rather as part of the EU/IMF/ECB agenda for raising money to pay back the bankers debts (and in the mean, give the bondholders a bit of a profit too). The ultimate law are the people, and their needs and rights. You may call this a publicity stunt, I disagree. You can criticise SF and the ULA all you want, but one thing you can’t criticise them for is their principles, and their willingness to stand by them. Even if this was a publicity stunt, would you rather they sat by and watched their fellow countrymen struggle under yet another austere and cruel judgement, when those who benefit are those who deserve most to pay, simply so as not to appear to be seeking ‘publicity’?
      Just because some TDs are willing to stand by their principles, you are prepared to call it a publicity stunt. In other words, whenever someone does something good, it is not with good in mind, on their own selfish ambition.

• There is more cost to this than just the bank bail out. FF/PD/Greens and Independents erased the tax base by putting all the eggs in one basket i.e. Stamp Duty on a property boom. Now that this base has been eroded new forms of taxation has to come in for permanent stability of public funds. We can say politicians should get a pay reduction but there salary is small in to the big black hole we find ourselves in. People don’t want tax increases but yet don’t want services withdrawn. Its a mess sure and a pain to pay for it but its also great for the opposition to stir this up as they know they are the opposition and are champagne socialists anyway as are taking there salary or giving it to there party and not back to the State. This as far as I know was agreed with the EU/IMF along with the VAT increase so people need to know where this is coming from too. I don’t agree with the tax but surely its better to pay €100 a year (€1.92 a week) and help clear the mess up than put more of out citizens on a plane into the indefinate future. I have no kids but have young nieces and nephews and hate to see them leave so if €100 a year means we clean up the mess and they can stay in Ireland (of there own free will) its a very small price to pay.

• So when does the household charge become too expensive? 100? 200? 2500? The line has got to drawn here!

• I agree David the line has to be drawn and people have to be advised what it will be going forward. I am annoyed over it as already pay a fortune in management fees but the tax base has been eroded. The other options are increase income tax, reduce the dole, reduce services etc. Im not supporting the tax just pointing it out. I overall don’t have a problem with a property tax if it includes bin collections, maintenance etc so if these costs were incorporated into the property tax it might be an option that people can live with. The idea of just paying a tax and no benefit to the area you live in is lunacy so its a case of wait and see. The sooner we are given the full picture of how much into the future we will be paying the better. There is too many question marks for people and the Government needs to advise people where the stand.

• I have a daughter born in 2008, when she is 23 we will still be paying the interest on the money buried to pay off unsecured bonds….do you honestly think that our ‘meagre’ contribution is going to go anywhere towards keeping our children (nieces, nephews) in this country? Not a hope. That is why we have to draw the line now.

• Niamh, The bondholders should have been told to take a hike but the previous Government signed us up to pay them off. The household charge was coming in and was advised before the election campaign by most parties. If we didn’t have the bondholders we will still be in the mess as I said previously the tax base has been eroded. We are borrowing money at present to pay for public services, dole, childrens allowance etc and we need to get the countries finance back in order. How long do people think we would be able to fund all these services/payments without paying additional taxes or else the Governement rips up Croke Park which I would be in favour off to bring in additional savings. It may come down to no childrens allowance etc in the future or seriously reduced along with the dole etc if the tax base is allowed to continue to erode. we cannot borrow indefinately so we have to get the tax system sorted and this is just 1 measure.

• Good on them though at least someone in this country still has a shred of backbone

Add New Comment