TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Higgins urges public to boycott ‘unjust’ €100 Household Charge

Socialist Clare Daly and independent Thomas Pringle both say they will neither register for, nor pay, the new household charge.

THE SOCIALIST PARTY’S Joe Higgins has encouraged the public to boycott the government’s planned €100 household charge – saying the government could not “coerce” over 1.5 million households.

Speaking in the Dáil this morning, Higgins said the charge – which will require households to register with their local authority before March next year – was an opportunity for the public to “have their own referendum on these ruinous austerity policies”.

“We will arrive at the end of March with the vast bulk of the 1.6 million householders having boycotted this registration,” Higgins predicted, saying the boycott could “break this unjust tax”.

Taoiseach Kenda Kenny defended the charge, which is required under the EU-IMF programme, by saying the charge was the equivalent of €2 per week and that the government had made many exemptions for people receiving rent supplement or other benefits.

Two opposition TDs yesterday said they were prepared to break the law and neither register for, nor pay, the €100 charge.

Speaking in last night’s Dáil debates on legislation formally introducing the charge, the Socialist Party’s Clare Daly and independent TD Thomas Pring both said they would not pay the charge.

Daly, a TD for Dublin North, said the government’s plans for the charge – which is required under the terms and conditions of the EU-IMF deal – were “reprehensible”.

She also feared that the charge could be raised by up to €1,000 in the next “two to three years”, the Irish Times quotes her as saying.

Daly encouraged the public simply not to register for the charge, telling environment minister Phil Hogan: “You can’t bring everyone to court.”

Pringle, meanwhile, told the Dáil that he would also not register for the charge – saying it was a measure “too far” for struggling households.

He added that he would support those who refused to register with the local authority.

Debates on the Bill will continue in the Dáil today.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (168 Comments)

• Ha
    €100 its just the sweetener.
    In parts of the states its 1% of full open market value PA.
    $200k OMV = $2k PA

Can’t Wait!!

• My worry would be that this household charge will increase on an annual basis.
    Once you have registered they have you.
    I would suggest as has been mentioned in this article. Dont register and dont pay the charge.
    For this to work, the majority of people affected will have to object to this charge.
    The track record of Irish people standing united is not a story to write home about.
    But then again…prove me wrong.

• I think an income tax increase would be an easier pill to swallow than this property tax, as a homeowner it really bothers me that we are being singled out and targeted. I believe homeowners contribute greatly to tax revenues through utilities and other purchases, and those who have paid large sums in stamp duty even more so.

This may be unpopular but it bothers me even more that those in social housing have been excluded from paying this tax. If in the future I am going to be means tested for this charge I would really like for those in social housing to be means tested. It should be all or no one in my opinion.

• Our homes, being our primary place of residence, should be the one thing that the government should keep their grubby, greedy hands off! 90% of people buying their own homes are struggling badly to pay back their mortgages and it’s these very people that are being targeted, again. If I chose not to work, defaulted on my mortgage and signed on and shouted loud enough I’d be given a house, furnished and wouldn’t have to pay the tax! instead I chose to work, while my fiancé minds our baby and we struggle to make ends meet! This would just be another kick in the nuts! It will go the same way as the disc parking. The residence were approached a few years ago about putting disc parking in the area, we could avail of annual residence permits for €50 a year per car. We agreed to put it in. €50 for the first year and €120 the next year. We now pay nearly €300 per year per car! That’s what will happen again. RANT OVER.

• You have my full backing Joe.

• I don’t think some people have actually cottoned on to what this means. This is a tax on your home, it is not a service charge. I have already paid thousands of pounds/euros in taxes on my home so I could own it outright. What this is saying is,I don’t own it. It is not like tax on your car, where once you’ve paid vat or registration tax, the car is yours to do what you like with, any further tax you pay is for access to a public service. This is feudalism by another name. I’m opposed to the fact that the Government want to be given a stake in my home, which I have bought and paid for.

• Independents, SF and Socialist Party are going to be very successful at the next general election. It’s nearly 10 months since the election and the country is in a worse state now than it was then. Enda says this charge is only €2 pw but he is apparently unaware that poverty is widespread in the country. I won’t be paying or registering for this charge either.

• A big middle finger to the government,a bunch of thieving scum! We are paying more and more and loosing more and more yet very few sacrifices have been made on their part! For Christ sake they even get a huge dry cleaning allowance that they don’t even need to declare. If they are taking from the tax payer then they should also take cuts themselves,proper cuts!

• If this charge is really an Interm thing, then surely there’s people at work as we speak going round making proper valuations of properties all over the country! I’ve never heard of them! Has anyone else? I suspect not! This is gonna end up like the bin charges. Reasonable for the first year or two, then raise them as high as they like. I believe Phil Hogan expects to raise 160 million euro from this next year. Not a chance. How can the taxpayer continue to pay huge wages to idiots in department of environment if this is the best they can come up with? It’s farcical that the low paid working class are expected to pay the same as multi millionaires!

• I pay a property tax every year. It’s added into my mortgage repayments and I also pay interest on this. Some call it stamp duty in the real world its called a property tax and I was told it was a once off payment but i still pay it every month. I pay my fair share but don’t get anything near value for money.
    I’d also like to say when most of us go on about public sector we dont mean the low paid frontline workers who provide services beyond any payment they get but the middle management wasters sitting in offices don’t sweet FA for their over inflated salaries.

• Did you get your stamp duty bundled into your mortgage? Did you also borrow your deposit from somewhere? It’s borrowing behaviour like that which got a lot of people into big fat messes.

• Reg 14/12/11 #

You were ripped off, blame the last government. Don’t blame this government for tyring to introduce a fairer system where nearly everybody pays and not just those that have to buy a house or move home.

• FYI It was European fiscal union got us in this mess. Cheap money was the last thing Ireland needed during the boom. But the powerful countries like Germany needed cheap money to build their economy so we got the same. And nobody call me a xenophobic. I don’t hate nor fear anyone.

• Thanks for clarifying that, chris. The constant abuse of public sector workers is getting very hard to take for us on the frontline. We are all struggling financially, yet we still go to work every day and do a job that very few others would ever want to do. Many of us, myself included, will leave our families on Christmas day to go to work to provide the people of this country with emergency services, healthcare etc. And it’s not easy. So thanks, we appreciate the support.

• Stand firm Ireland. This government lied to the electorate within minutes of being handed the keys and the deceiving and shiftiness continues. No services are coming out of this tax. We all know what it’s for. Go stick it up your hole Noonan, you can’t lock us all up but the people will have their way. Remember the medical card action. Remember the Poll tax rejection in UK.
    Now they come at you waving the rod of the fear of big fines. Shame on you. you immoral bastards.

• elaine 14/12/11 #

Wishes that the whole public sector was not tarnished with the same brush, I’m a frontline staff and am certainly earning nowhere near 100k, I struggle to pay my bills, save money and have some normal standard of living but yet when I say I work for the public service I’m immediately frowned at!!

• That’s just the divide and conquer tactic. Don’t worry – not all are falling for it Elaine.

• Elaine

It is indeed wrong that all Public Sector workers are tarred with the same brush.

Front line workers need to be protected. Maybe you and other front line workers should be approaching your union reps and pushing for a renegotiation of the croke park agreement, even if just a little, so that front line workers are afforded further protection and the support they need, and that protection is removed from the public sector workers that are unfortunately due to the economic circumstances, are now not required.

This global protection afforded to public sector works is partially responsible for the extra stress and workloads placed on frontline staff and its directly related to their pay cuts as well.

Its a simple fact that a government that is broke needs to cut some staffs pay if they wish to pay increments for others.. all public sector workers end up taking the pain for the benefits that some acrue

• If nobody registers they can’t fine us all. Please make a stand. You don’t even have to face the cold to march on this one. This protest couldn’t be easier !!!

• If we accept paying less then €2 a week now, do you think it will still be less then €2 a week the year after or two years from now? what will you do if and when it comes to €20 a month or more then that? its obvious the €100 a year charge is only a foot in the door tactic to get people to say that, s not much I can afford that, once you say that and accept it, just watch as the goverment rack up …the property tax each and every year afterwards.

Its time to now to take a stand and refuse to pay any property tax, if we don, t do it now, we will look back in a good few years time when property tax could be say €1000 a year and wonder why didn, t we resist when they tried to get a foot in the door?

In regards to the property tax, for anyone that, s opposed to it, there is a national boycott campaign being built that, s underway, w…e have already held many succesful meetings around the country in galway, cork, waterford, donegal, kilkenny, …where the majority who have attended these meetings have agreed non payment is the only way to go, and remember if you decide to boycott it and not pay it, you won, t be by any means on your own, there are others like minded people who feel the same way, who have signed up to this campaign, check your local newspapers for meetings in your local area.

For everyone against the household charge/property tax, please share this link on your facebook wall and ask all your friends to sign up to this campaign, we shall be stronger in numbers-we shall be one-we shall be many.
    http://www.nohouseholdtax.org/

• I Wil not be paying this tax, I pay enough tax as it is, I bought my house second hand, & paid my stamp duty on it, then the council changed the water supply to the estate and as a consequence i’ve gone through 2 showers, 1 washing machine, & 3 kettles thanks to the substandard limescale ridden water I receive, I also bring my rubbish to a private company for €4 per bag, as i live alone and its cheaper to do so, and i dont see what service the council provides me? Except cost me money replacing appliances, also add to this the fact that I need to drive a pick up for my job, which I cannot tax as commercial (thanks to John gormley,) but instead must spend €1293 per year on private tax, on top of the 20k in taxes I pay from my wages annually, I work in forestry, and I earn 51k a year, I work 6-7 mon to fri & 6-3 sat, an I also pay a mortgage of €700 per month, for the next 35 years, that’s in negative equity,. I believe we all need to take a stand on this, cos if we let this go, it’ll be €1000 in 4-5 years time, they’re only testing the water so to speak, I’ll gladly goto jail an cost the government €900 per week to keep me There before I pay this. I am paying enough.

• It’s really very simple, the governments wages are paid out of our tax revenues. They are supposed to represent us but don’t. It would only be logical to stop paying them then.
    A general tax strike is the only way short of a revolution that we can use to hold a renegade government to account.

• This government know that it will take a referendum to change the treaty, that’s why they’re looking for ways to circumvent the people of this country. They’re trying up bring it in without a referendum. They’re able to bring in retro legislation for nursing home charges etc. why can they not do the same for the salaries of these executives (term used loosely) in the banks and the public sector. Cap them at €85k. No benefits or special allowances or bonuses. Thats their salary and that’s it. They shite on about having to be on par with the private sector. No they don’t! If these guys don’t want up take the wage, fine, let them go to the dole queue. See how much they’ll work for then.
    I’m out.

• Sorry Adam hit the tumbs down by mistake. Totally agree, those struggling get hit again those who have more than enough can pay €100 and feel like they’ve done their bit for the country.
    Fat cat chums of our political elite just keep winning while the rest of us get to pay for it

• This charge is complete BS – what about all those who have already paid *tens of thousands in stamp duty* after buying a second-hand house? As far as I am concerned, those that have paid the stamp duty have paid their dues… this household/property tax should *only* be applied to new mortgages going forward, and after the stamp duty charge is gone completely. It’s completely robbing the public by making them pay tax on their property TWICE!

• Every red cent raised in ALL taxes is first and foremost earmarked for unsecured bondholders then the troika and then, and only then with whatever is left Ireland inc. has to survive on. Reduced services, deprivation, impoverishment, disgruntlement, fear, betrayal, division…. need I go on? STOP paying unsecured bondholders! SIMPLE! And to the people responsible for creating/continuing the greatest ever act of treachery visited upon the Irish people I simply wish you ill — because at your core this is what you are!

• I love your posts William. They are very stirring and for a few moments I “wrap the green flag around me boy” metaphorically. I knew Romantic Ireland wasn’t dead and gone. You’ve been minding it for us all along. :-)

• @ Reada, as the vast majority of Irish people quibble over who gets the cat’o nine tails, who gets the cane and who gets a scolding…………. let’s not forget who’s getting the cream… and still is?????
      BTW lol here thanks.

• This is where we as Irish citizens need to stop this crazy tax. Just don’t pay. Once they have their foot in the door we are fecked.

• I along with many others are deep in negative equity and nothing has being raised to address this…I’m not looking for portions of my mortgage to be written off( tho it would be nice!!), I borrowed the money so I’ll pay it back…but I look to be stuck where I am with no hope of selling and moving on so for that reason I won’t pay a property tax on a property that’s worthless relative to the debt on it

• I swear I will not pay this, I for one am sick bailing out the banks, I will go to jail if I must but I am NOT being punished for owning my own house. We have to stand up this time and be counted.

• Only homeowners paying their way will pick up the tab. Everyone else gets an exemption, and landlords will reverse it into rent rise. The usual botched response from the political elite.

• On a positive note, if you shop around you can get a mojito for €3! So its swings and round abouts ;)

• If they won’t we won’t

• We are with you Clare ! They are reintroducing RATES , there is gross wastage in the local authorities , we want proper sewage no septic tanks, we want good clean water and good pressure , we want good roads, we have no power how this money would be used. Better wages, trips abroad, parking and great pensions for the local authorities !

• What cracks me up is the threat of inflated fines. We were TOLD that if we contested points on a Driving Licence , we’d be penalised by a bigger monitory fine and more points on your Licence! in other words, disagree with the authorities and you’ll pay double, we sat back and accepted that! the Irish, I am Irish BTW, are wimps, we moan and complain and just like I heard on the 6 o’clock News say, but sure what can we do? we just have to accept it or, they have to get it somewhere……………. they already are, it’s called Income Tax! Road Tax etc etc etc.
    I am sick of the dumb Assed Irish Public, the Students marched against Fees, the People in receipt of Pensions marched to object to the threat of their Medical Cards being withdrawn, Nurses, Teachers did the same but all separately……. why can’t one huge concerted effort be made to tell those with the Brainwaves
    WE HAVE JUST HAD ENOUGH. WE ARE STANDING FOR NO MORE ?

As soon as someone suggested not to pay, the Government PR go to work trying to dismiss it or say it is irresponsible, IRRESPONSIBLE? you mean, just like the Bankers, Politicians and developers?

Give me a break!

• I live in an estate where the roads haven’t been finished. I risk damaging my car every time I pull out of my driveway. The water in my area is so bad I had to get a softener and filter installed. I have to pay €12 a week for my bins to be collected. As well as that Eircom refuse to upgrade the local exchange to allow cable broadband in the area and I have to pay ridiculous prices to get phone and wireless broadband in the house. I won’t be paying any house charge until all that is sorted.

• This bloody Government has been dipping into my pocket to pay fat cat deals and bonuses to their chums since they came in. Do they now think that I’m thick enough to put my hand in my own pocket and hand it to them?
    I do not believe that this charge is specifically required under the EU/IMF deal as claimed. Why should someone living in a two bed apartment pay the same as someone living in splender in a neo-Georgian mansion in Howth?
    They can shove it!
    And the happy hookers Labour are following in the grand tradition of the past.

• I think that the charge shows the contempt FG has for the Irish homeowner. Already struggling with mortgage repayments, negative equity, possible mortgage defaults. How much more do they have to pile on us before we are prepared to say enough?

• @will butler

I have only read your Post now and mine pales into insignificance, really well put.

We pay Browne Thomas Taxes and receive third world services. It will NOT stop here, as you said, it’s dip your Toes in the Water time, let’s introduce it, once it’s passed it’s here for good ( Bad ) and will get more and more expensive. Lock Jaw Kenny said it’s only 2 Euro per week but do the sums, add all the stealth Taxes together and it will come to way more that two Euro.

• Save me a place in jail….free bed and water….I’ll drink like I’m in a desert and sleep like a baby while I’m in there….catch me if ya can….

• What sort of pathetic subservient victims have we become that we would even contemplate entertaining this new poll tax? How much more do we have to be brutalised to pay off the gambling debts of banks and bondholders? At last we have public representatives with integrity and backbone to defend ordinary people, unlike the treacherous Labour Party. There is nothing populist about this stance by Joe Higgins and Clare Daly. It is a conscious political act of civil disobedience against injustice of which we have had more than enough over the last 4 years. This trojan horse will see households paying anything up to €1300 per year according to the ESRI so don’t fall for the “€2 per week” rubbish. There is plenty of wealth and resources in this country to implement a progressive taxation system to provide public services and invest in employment. But that of course would require a complete change of ideology on the part of our so-called leaders. It’s time the ordinary people of Ireland who have been ripped off by the boom, conned by the bubble and savaged by the crash stood up and said “no more”. Do not pay this new bank bailout tax.

• In 2000 i paid stamp duty of 2800 irish punts on a 320 sq metre apartment. I paid my government fee. Now the IMF have instructed the Irish government to implement a household tax that starts at 100e. The fee will not go to local authorities as governments in this country are obsessed with being centralised and holding power. It is a central government decision and will not stop at 100e. Look at many of the the Dept budgets estimated for 2013 and 2014. It is clear funding cuts will be substantial across them all. By the way someone earlier mentioned artists as being wealthy. Many that i know are not, dont own their own homes and if you look up the Arts Councils research into artists income they are among the lowest earners in the state.

• Anyone with a mortgage borrowed to pay their stamp duty, mine was paid from the money I had for my deposit which ment I had to borrow more for my mortgage. Either way I paid a Hugh amount for the purchase of my apartment to the government. This was a tax on buying a property, ie a property tax. I’ll pay €100 a year if they give my back the thousands they took off me already plus the interest.

• You were not supposed to borrow for stamp duty, all the guidelines at the time stated that. I know people got duped into all sorts of borrowing by banks at the time though, 110% mortages, including cars and whatnot. Either way, your argument makes no sense as there is no correlation. Does the fact that you pay import duty, VAT and VRT on a car purchase mean you are not liable for motor tax in your books?

• You pay car tax relative to the size of your car.

• So what John? You are flippen liable for it.

I don’t think this is a good tax, I am not defending it at all. What I am attempting to get across is that a TD encouraging tax evasion is more of the same brown paper envelope politics of yore. I am surprised that people are falling for this populist claptrap AGAIN, instead of seeing straight through it to the corruption and ‘The law doesn’t apply to me’ ethics of previous governments..

• These TD’s are not recommending tax evasion. They are recommending tax resistance as part of a campaign of civil disobedience.

The first is an individual act of sneakiness, designed to pull one over on your fellow citizens, the other is a challenge to duly constituted authority to reconsider the justice of its actions, while personally risking punishment.

Quite different.

• P Wurple.
      This is what. I don’t consider my self liable for this charge/tax and I will flatly refuse to pay. I have no problem paying taxes/charges properly accountable for in relation to the income or standing wealth of the individual or householder. This Government made great play of their intention not to increase direct taxation in the budget which would have applied on a proportional basis but this tax/charge is not applied relative to income or wealth and is unfair.
      The TD’s that are using their position in the Dail to call for non payment of this charge are entirely correct, they are representing the views of their constituents and supporters and are being consistent with the policies upon which they were elected unlike some in FG and most in Labour.
      I think the accusation of ‘populist claptrap’ might be better aimed at the lies and false promises made by FG and Labour in the policies put forward before the general election which they have abandoned with impunity in government.

• If you pay it now, if you have the money to do so, what stop them of revisiting you in a few months time and ask you for more money?

• biggest challenge with any of these charges: septic tanks, household, water etc. is introducing them. From the on, increasing them is relatively simple. €100 per household per year doesn’t sound a lot now IMO and I do not think that it is fair for someone with a 5bed to pay the same as a 2bed…BUT where does the buck stop?

It will probably be means tested (if feasible, but then again the TV licence is enforced) but what will constitute the means? Current house value?/ employment status?….. I’m just happy to be renting…….merry xmas

• NO CONTRACT – RETURN TO SENDER. Google it……

• If you would like to make you collective voices be heard

It appears increasingly likely that there is an EU treaty change required to allow the ECB become a lender of last resort which will basically save the EURO currency. In Ireland and ONLY IRELAND this requires a referendum of the people. Therefore we Irish (1% of the total European population) will have the power to save or scupper the euro. Think about that folks. This gives us amazing bargaining power to get a MUCH MUCH BETTER bailout deal. I think we need to start shouting this fact NOW. Spread the word far and wide across this Island. Our politicians need to know that we know this and they need to REPRESENT US on this matter

• Good woman claire.

• P worple infact it does. We pay vrt, motor tax, tax on petrol and excise and carbon tax on the same petrol. Never mind parking at nearly €4 an hour and if you delayed by a few minutes the bastward clampers want another €80.
    Either tax the car or the petrol but why both? Rip off.
    Maybe one of the advisors our minsters are paying€100,000 plus can come up with an answer.
    Choke park agreement has ruined any chance of a fair budget but as long as civil service management get to keep ripping us off Enda’s happy

• Oh for gods sake…after what this country has been through, after we have been crippled by the banks and continue to pay the fat cat bond holders you would see politicians finally willing to stand up and be counted as a crime. Ireland…I despair!

• YEAH, fight the power…I’m definitely not, not paying it.

• I am lucky that I am able to build my house at the moment, but I remember having to pay the local County Council fees before I was able to start building (at the time was €3,500, I think it could be gone up now), so does that mean I am paid up for the next 35 years? Doubt it! In one way other another people who have bought or built a house have paid taxes, charges and fees, so why more?

• The charge E3,500 was introduced on the basis that it was a contribution towards the local infrastructure that the local authority maintain for the facilitation of your development (your new house). That means infrastructure like potholed, unmarked, poorly signed, badly drained and unlit roadways.

• I live in the country side! There is still potholes, unmarked roads and no lights on my road. I made the payment, like many others, so why do we need to pay more again? I will have a private water well and septic tank with no connections to public services. Our road tax I thought was meant to pay for the up keep off our roads.

• This is a stealth tax that the government is imposing. The last generation of house buyers were screwed due to excessive stamp duties, fees etc, witch is still not regulated. The croke park agreement is protecting fat cats and if tackled would yield billions over the next few years! Best paid public service in the world just compare the salaries against other eu countries!

• Not very stealthy at all I’d say. A stealth tax is one such as on pension funds, or fuel, that people are unaware of paying. This is quite obvious, as you have to hand over the cash directly.

• Looks like we have some Enda huggers here, great 7 minute speech my Arse! they should go grab a Leaf Ticket and blow away with the rest of the crap in the City. What motivates Schoolboys in cheap Suits to get on the Political trail? @David Higgins quote “Increase in the HIGHER rate of VAT
    Increase in DIRT
    Increase in Capital Gains
    Increase in Capital Acquisitions
    Increase in PRSI on rents and other investment income
    Reduction in the USC for the lowest paid and part time workers!

Like it or not, but these are all progressive measures and they take from those who can most afford to give. Some regressive measures in there but on the whole these are fair tax measures.”

You REALLY believe this?

• Jeff 14/12/11 #

I agree with Claire, we should not bring in this charge, we should just not paid Public sector increments & reduce public sector numbers, pay, what happen to the bonfire of the quangos FG? merging them isn’t closing them ? & know one in the public sector should be paid 100k a year. Reduce spending & cut taxes = growth + jobs, Simple, worked in the 1990 will work now.

• This is great for the state, they’ll get a bill of 2.5k from their Td’s salary for non-payment.

• Let me guess “can’t pay, won’t pay”.

The same “socialist” TDs who complain we don’t have enough taxes to fund basic services!

• Come march and we’ll all be paying the 100 like good boys and girls we are

• can we take it that both Daly and HIggins have no problem in collecting there massive salaries that the state manage to find for them

• Posturing. Amazing that so-called Left TDs oppose property taxes.

• Oppose regressive property taxes. Everyone pays the same whether you’re in a mansion on Shewsbury Road, or a two up, two down in Crumlin. Renters and those accommodated in Council properties are exempt, so that means those worse hit by this tax are those that ‘own’ a house, but are not capable of paying it off. I think its meant to become a graduated tax once they get proper values on properties, but who knows how long that might take.

• I agree, Brendan, that without progressive scales this is major weakness in the proposed tax. But the Trots oppose the household charge “on principle”. They’re engaged in posturing, nothing more.

• At least it might make Claire Daly smile, Desmond. Instead of scowling all the time. The fairest way for this tax to be paid is to have it based on the value of your property. And “NO” exceptions & exemptions. Everyone must contribute.

• I doubt they’d be engaging in posturing if the tax was only applied to ‘trophy houses’ (there’s another difficult one to define!). Trots engage in posturing all the time, it’s part of the fun of being a Trot, but at the same time they know their constituency well and taking issue with a regressive tax that is inherently worse for those struggling to make mortgage repayments is really an open goal for them.

• its about time somebody in the dail stood up to these banker bitches we the people have had all were going to take i

• I read today there will be a €2500 fine for late or non payment ! Rule by fear seems to be the norm these days. I hope there is big opposition to this.

• All they want is More More More and they will get it too!

• €100…. If you do have to pay, just send a postal order to the amount of €99.99 let’s see if they them come after you with a letter for one cent. That would get funny!
    Sticking it to the man!

• “register with the local authority” – That better not mean queueing for hours in the local authority offices like when we have to sort out Motor tax etc. Those of us managing to hang on to our jobs simply can’t afford the time.
    Why is this not some central register, which can be accessed online?

• Do people not realize that it doesn’t matter if you register or not. When we all put pen to paper to sign the contract for the house it’s put in a data base.

• I will pay because I have children and going to prison won’t do but I think I’ll pay in 5,2 and 1 cents mixed up and let them count it in front of me and if they don’t except that then at-least I’ll have an argument in court

• I too have young children but I am prepared to stand up for what i believe is the right thing. This is a personal choice for everyone and I choose to not pay this 100 euro. I will accept whatever the courts deem fit but they will never see a cent from me! If that means prison, then I will do it. I can be proud that my children will see that standing up for yourself is always the right course of action regardless of sanction. Tuck tail and bow is not a lesson I will ever teach my children.

• guys they cant send everyone to prison, and besides it makes no sense if a judge has say 100 people in his court who havnt payed this fee than he’s hardly gonna start chucking them in jail is he7she? Economically it makes no sense for the government to prosecute either it would cost at least ten time the 100 euro they’re looking for per person to put them in jail for even one night!
      Its not gonna happen. Dont pay this, talk with neighbours and organise a community bycott, for once you have a reason and an group of activist behind you on a cause, whether you truely believe in the principle of it or not . Jump on the bandwangon I say and just dont pay.

• the rest of will end up funding those who won’t pay. If they didn’t charge this as a seperate tax it’d end up being some sorta income tax anyway. We made our decision collectively to elect these decision makers so now we have to accept that. That’s how it works.

• rest of us even

• Blind submission to unjustified rules or charges in this case is a cowards way, ‘the rest of us’ as you call them will only include those foolish enough and lacking the courge or political conciousness to resist these unjustified charge. Its starts as ONLY 100 euro….but where does it end?

• OMG… subservience!
      If they told you to open your spare bedrooms to those on rent supplement (imagine how much money they could save that way) Would you feel inclined to because you were one who helped elect them.
      Shite.
      Theyre charging the most ludicrous amounts for everyone to keep a damned car on the road, its criminal and appalling…they keep putting it up at regular intervals and they will do the same with a household tax.
      These people making the decisions are the biggest crooks of all.

• Just read (in the Irish Times) that there’s going to be a €10 “transaction fee” if you pay the €100 charge in cash! FFS!!!

Feel free to thumb this comment down!

• I have no sympathy for tax evasion of any kind. Chuck them in jail.

• I am not evading it I am just not paying it! Simple as.

• Niamh, you are more than capable of looking up the definition of tax evasion. Not paying your tax IS tax evasion. If you do it yourself and encourage others to do it, how can you possibly then judge all the other tax evaders who have ripped off this country? Has anyone got any morals left in this country?

• Tax avoidance is the legal version of evasion. How much of that goes on?

• P,the government have no morals,it’s hard for the tax payer to have them in all these situations

• P…the tip earners in this country have avoided and evaded taxes for years with all the loop holes made available to them by various successive governments…artists blood stock, politicians, bankers. They have used and abused terminology to suit themselves and us lowly middle earners carry the can for them.l I along with several others have been left paying a mortgage on a house that is unfit for propose due to the failure of building regulations and the system of self certification. I will not party a property tax on my house. I am not defrauding or misleading the government, I am starting a fact. When the government face up to their responsibilities then I will consider paying but not until then.

• I think this is a blundering moronic tax, badly implemented. I am not in favour of this in any shape or form. I can’t defend it for one second.

However, TD’s, the elected lawmakers of this country, encouraging criminality, evasion and fraud, is also flippen wrong.

Two wrongs, yada yada…!

• Some people still haven,t actually cottoned on to what this actually means. This is a tax on your home, it is not a service charge. I have already paid thousands of pounds/euros in taxes on my home so I could own it outright. What this is saying is,I don’t own it. It is not like tax on your car, where once you’ve paid vat or registration tax, the car is yours to do what you like with, any further tax you pay is for access to a public service. This is feudalism by another name. I’m opposed to the fact that the Government want to be given a stake in my home, which I have bought and paid for.

• RE: ‘throw them in jail’, this makes a lot of sence doesnt it?
      Well no actually it doesnt, Why would the government bother to got o the expence of court cases,prosecutions and then actual time in jail for non payment of an unjust fee of ONLY 100 euro, it would cost them ten time that per person to prosecute….it makes no sence. If no one pays they cant get everyone…it’ll cost too much money…money they say they dont have.

• So you think people should pay up whenever the enforcers for the ECB/IMF demand more money? Do you believe that we should pay any amount demanded of us? What about the Carbon Theft, which is based on junk science? Come to think of it, should people just hand over their wallets when they are being mugged?

• Hate this tax, but will have to pay. I believe that you will not be able to sell your house if there are any outstanding duties(taxes) on the house. Same as above for getting a mortgage or loan back by your house. Also if you are self employed or a director of a Ltd company and you have outstanding tax liabilities you can not then get a tax clearance cert. So although the majority of people might boycott in the short term within a few years many will have to pay, and once a large percentage pay this tax it will be successful (for the gov). This tax is here to stay.

• I think you are right Jay. The government will tie these payments into revenue obligations on conveyances and that is even more of a reason to oppose this charge from the outset.
      This is the only charge so far where people are expected to register for payment…willingly! How will we look in opposition to further cuts and taxes if we walk ourselves into this one.
      The Greeks will think we grow wool!

• A lot of people won’t be able to move for twenty years because of negative equity anyway.

• Stop it before you are sucked in. Do not pay it and do not try and encourage anyone to pay it.

• What’s the bug deal here it’s a €100 a year!! Just stop with the populist nonsense, local authorities have to fund themselves somehow and it seems perfectly reasonable that we (the citizens) pay for services provided by local authorities. If Mr Pringle, Ms Daly and Mr Higgins want to break the law then I suggest they all resign their seats as their stance is incompatible with that of being a law maker… I onder will they bother, hardly!!

• Breaking the law by refusing to pay tax is not the answer. It is reprehensible that legislators should encourage law breaking.
    If we don’t want this particular tax then vociferous lobbying of our local TD’s, with the threat of turfing them out come the next election is how it’s done in a democracy. Witness the backtracking on medical cards and young persons disabiliy benefit.
    I am sure that these two attention seeking clowns will not stump up the fines and legal costs of those minded to follow their “advice”.

I wonder if this call by them constitutes conspiracy to commit a crime.

• I could aim your word “reprehensible” in another direction if I were you. What’s reprehensible is FG bringing this in now.

• 100% agree with Peter. TD’s encouraging tax evasion and law breaking is a lighting disgrace. How can this country be run with ethics and morals of that standard from those who legislate? No wonder we have a brown envelope mentality.

• Yes P Wurple. Transparency and honesty and solidarity with the electorate is “lighting disgrace”??? Certainly not what we’re used to.

Btw was your 3rd sentence another rhetorical question? You like asking me those kind of questions.

• They are only rhetorical if you don’t bother answering them Reada.

Transparency? Honesty? To encourage tax evasion is nothing of the sort. Solidarity with the people possibly, I agree, it is certainly populist, as the tax is a mess. However, I will never EVER be in favour of any form of corruption, especially tax evasion, and will not encourage this age old irish ‘The Law doesn’t apply to me’ thing. Our politicians should be law abiding citizens, not people who accept donations for favours, and CERTAINLY not people who encourage others to break the law.

• @ P Wurple : Don’t confure the law with ethical or morals. Not always the same thing, it is a TD’s job to stand up when (s)he views a law as unjust.

• @Purple..having such migh morals is wonderful, however if led by a pack of congenital lying crooks who actually try to implement these laws, I dont see how terrible it becomes to say no to them.

• random 14/12/11 #

@Peter These two “clowns” have been imprisoned for their stances in the past, and I don’t doubt they will be willing to be imprisoned again over this issue. The people following their advice may not have their legal costs covered, but I think they will at least not feel abandoned or betrayed.

@Wurple Civil disobedience has been a key tactic in forcing social progress for hundreds of years. I don’t see any reason why a TD calling for or engaging in civil disobedience is any different from any other citizen doing so, what would be disgraceful is if they were to grant themselves a legal exemption as they have with many other things. Don’t worry though, I’m sure all the disgraceful, immoral people who refuse to hand their money over to the IMF will be suitably punished.

• Fuck that! they didn’t mind bailing out the banks with our money when there was no need.
      I haven’t got the money to pay any more taxes.

• Reg 14/12/11 #

This country needs to grow up. A council tax/household charge/property tax is a perfectly legitimate form of taxation used by many other countries as a sustainable taxation method. This € 100 charge is an interim measure until a fairer graded system is introduced as recommended by the commission on taxation a few years ago.

• But in these other countries that pay, do they get anything for their property tax? Like refuse, water, services? We are been made pay a tax and will still pay extra for all other services – Private water well, private septic tank, private refuse collection!

• In other countries they pay rates of approx €1000 and then get all services. Services arent free. If we want them we have to pay for them.

• @Cormac & Reg. What do you think your taxes have been paying for all of these years? Do you think that the waterworks has been running without tax funding? We pay the same as any other developed nation, but through general taxation rather than individual taxes. The new water charges will not be used to fix our water system and the household charge will not be used to fund local authorities. We already do that.

• Reg 14/12/11 #

In other countries they don’t get all there other services free if the pay a council tax/property tax. In Britain they get there refuse collected alright but they pay a lot of council tax in Britain. Water should be paid for separately based on use and this will happen here also.

Councils provide lot’s of services in this country, lighting, libraries, arts, culture, housing, playgrounds, business support services and loads of others.

If you want to blame anyone for this then look no further than Fianna Fail government who in 1977 introduced another vote buying, populist measure of abolishing council rates.

Why should small business pay rates and water and subsidise private houses? People wonder why it costs so much to run a business in this country. Time to grow up!

• Reg 14/12/11 #

@Too, no longer true really, the income tax base has eroded greatly due to tax cuts in the last 15 years. The last government clawed only some of this back. The Fianna Fail governments of the last decade were too fond of giving back any tax that the average family paid in the form of children’s allowance and mortgage interest relief. The net tax bill for most families on average incomes was nill until recently (excluding indirect taxes VAT etc)

• @reg: but this tax doesn’t go towards services-it goes to the IMF, doesn’t it?

• Reg 14/12/11 #

@Mark, some of it may but we are running a budget deficit regardless of what we owe the IMF. If we stopped borrowing from the IMF we would have to balance the budget immediately, who would lend us the money? Now woul’dn’t that be fun!

Add New Comment