TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Saturday 23 May, 2015

#Space

# space - Today’s News

SPONSORED

# space - Friday 8 May, 2015

The out-of-control Russian spacecraft disintegrated before it reached Earth

It entered the atmosphere over part of the Pacific Ocean.

# space - Wednesday 29 April, 2015

An out-of-control cargo spacecraft is plunging back to Earth

Video has emerged of it spinning out of control.

# space - Friday 24 April, 2015

16 breathtaking Hubble images that changed the way we view the Universe

We have much to thank Hubble for at its 25th birthday.

# space - Thursday 16 April, 2015

Video: SpaceX rocket floats down from the sky but is still blown to smithereens Drone Ship This post contains videos

Video: SpaceX rocket floats down from the sky but is still blown to smithereens

The company isn’t giving up hope.

# space - Monday 13 April, 2015

A robot rocket is about to chase the ISS across Irish skies at 17,500 mp/h

The Space X rocket will resupply the space station, but it needs to catch it first.

# space - Wednesday 8 April, 2015

# space - Monday 6 April, 2015

From Business ETC Phone running out of space? There’s an easy way of checking what to remove Q-tip

Phone running out of space? There’s an easy way of checking what to remove

You (likely) have a free day so why not free up some space on your smartphone.

# space - Saturday 28 March, 2015

A decade of observing Earth from space has given us these breathtaking views

There’s even one of cloudless skies over Ireland… Cloudless.

# space - Friday 20 March, 2015

Poll: Do you think the Mars One project will succeed? Your Say This post contains a poll This post contains videos

Poll: Do you think the Mars One project will succeed?

Bas Lansdorp denied the project is a sham.

# space - Wednesday 4 March, 2015

Can you spot the astronaut space-walking in this picture?

Can you spot the astronaut space-walking in this picture?

Get your glasses out.

# space - Wednesday 18 February, 2015

There will be six astronauts flying over our heads tonight, so look up ISS

There will be six astronauts flying over our heads tonight, so look up

The International Space Station can be seen in Irish skies tonight and tomorrow.

# space - Wednesday 11 February, 2015

# space - Sunday 8 February, 2015

# space - Wednesday 28 January, 2015

These 7 days are historically the deadliest in NASA history Space Exploration This post contains images

These 7 days are historically the deadliest in NASA history

On this day in 1986, the shuttle Challenger exploded just 73 seconds after launch.

# space - Tuesday 27 January, 2015

Video: An asteroid the size of a cruise ship passed over Ireland last night

But it was never going to hit earth, thankfully.

# space - Tuesday 20 January, 2015

Beaming the internet down from space looks like Google’s next project

Reports say Google are planning a big investment in SpaceX.

# space - Saturday 17 January, 2015

Did you know that the US left poo on the moon?

They did. And it was for a good reason.

# space - Wednesday 14 January, 2015

Evacuation on ISS after toxic leak alarm sounds, all astronauts safe

Nasa says the no leak has yet been confirmed.

# space - Saturday 10 January, 2015

An African moon mission is in the works, but they’re having trouble getting funding off the ground

They’ve raised just €11,000 of a €126,000 target.

# space - Friday 9 January, 2015

Look up: You’ve two weeks to see a glowing green comet

Comet Lovejoy is paying a visit.

# space - Tuesday 6 January, 2015

This is what the most Earth-like planet ever discovered looks like

It’s chance of being habitable? “Promising.”

This revolutionary rocket will have to wait to try a risky new way of landing

Instead of being discarded in the ocean, the booster stages could return to Earth.

# space - Friday 26 December, 2014

# space - Wednesday 24 December, 2014

Something very shiny in the sky tonight at 5.22pm and 6.58pm

It could be the International Space Station or it could be…

# space - Friday 5 December, 2014

Orion: A successful Planet Earth landing for NASA’s latest test-flight

The craft flew further and faster than any capsule built for humans since the Apollo moon program — 42 years ago.

# space - Saturday 29 November, 2014

These women were meant to be the first astronauts – but were left on Earth

Many of the women finalists scored higher in training than their male counterparts.

# space - Thursday 27 November, 2014

From The Daily Edge This is what Thanksgiving dinner in space looks like Thanksgiving In Space

This is what Thanksgiving dinner in space looks like

Irradiated smoked turkey, anyone?

# space - Thursday 13 November, 2014

Here’s what Comet 67P would look like if it landed in Cork City

It’s safe to say Elysian wouldn’t look so tall anymore.

From The Daily Edge This scientist helped land a spacecraft on a comet, but everyone is angry with him over his shirt Rosetta

Virgin Galactic pilot describes unbuckling from his seat as it plummeted to Earth

Pilot Siebold has now been discharged from hospital.

# space - Wednesday 12 November, 2014

Why we’re trying to land a probe the size of fridge on a speeding comet

‘We’ as in ‘the human race’.

# space - Tuesday 11 November, 2014

Space exploration has a new major player in town…Google

The giant web company is spending nearly €1 billion on a San Francisco air base.

# space - Monday 10 November, 2014

Ever wanted to see a comet up close? You’re in luck

The photos were shot from a distance of 30km or less.

# space - Saturday 8 November, 2014

These stunning Hubble images show us the secrets of the universe

And a lot of pretty colours as well.

# space - Wednesday 5 November, 2014

These nighttime photos from the International Space Station look like something out of a horror movie

Working on space can, no doubt, be a breathtaking experience on occasion. But it looks like it can get a little creepy out there sometimes too…

# space - Tuesday 4 November, 2014

Meet the tech giants hoping to launch you into space…

Richard Branson has said he will not “push on blindly” in the wake of Friday’s fatal crash. The Virgin founder isn’t the only businessman in the commercial space flight race…

# space - Monday 3 November, 2014

Virgin Galactic spaceship broke apart after a descent device “prematurely deployed”

The initial suspicions come as allegations of poor safety practices are being made.

# space - Sunday 2 November, 2014

Sitdown Sunday: 7 deadly reads

The very best of the week’s writing from around the web.

1 2 3 4 5