You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

AP Photo/Marcia Dunn

SpaceX rocket explodes on launch pad

There were no injuries.

A ROCKET BELONGING to Elon Musk’s SpaceX company has exploded on a launch pad in Florida.

The rocket was at the Cape Canaveral site today ahead of a planned launch of an Israeli satellite on Saturday.

There have been no reports of any injuries, but the blast was large enough to shake buildings several miles away.

Nasa says that the company was test firing the unmanned rocket when the explosion occurred this afternoon.

SpaceX spokesman, John Taylor, said he could not comment as he worked to gather information.

NASA — SpaceX’s major customer — said the explosion occurred at Launch Complex 40 at the Air Force station, and Kennedy emergency staff was on standby. At the same time, personnel were monitoring the air for any toxic fumes.

SpaceX is one of two companies shipping supplies to the space station for NASA. It’s also working on a crew capsule to ferry US astronauts; that first flight was supposed to come as early as next year.

The explosion is a setback for SpaceX. The California-based company, led by billionaire Elon Musk, had been ramping up with frequent launches to make up for a backlog created by a launch accident in June 2015. SpaceX was leasing the pad from the Air Force for its Falcon launches.

With AP reporting.

Read: “The Irish government has done absolutely nothing wrong” – Tim Cook

Read: Jameson is a global favourite, but high taxes are dampening sales at home

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

43 Comments
    Mute Dean Anderson
    Favourite Dean Anderson
    Oct 6th 2016, 2:47 PM

Fair play tothe guards for tackling these gangs but its over to the judges now.. .so that means it’s back on the streets for the criminals to notch up a few dozen m ore convictions

Mute Ciaran O Shea
    Favourite Ciaran O Shea
    Oct 6th 2016, 11:27 PM

How about an article following up on all the arrests over the last year’s worth of operation Thor to see how many ended up with charges/prison?

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Oct 6th 2016, 2:31 PM

Some comments so far are a tad unfair on the Gardai. I’m sure this operation today wasn’t just planned in a day or two to “deflect attention away from scandal” in the force. A lot of preparation has to go into mounting something like this. Things would be a lot worse if the Gardai were not carrying out this type of work.
    As for what happens after arrest and charging the legal profession takes over and any weaknesses in the system take place in their patch.

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine
    Oct 6th 2016, 4:16 PM

Most of the preparation seems to go on in the Garda Press Office, writing press releases and arranging photographers. From direct knowledge and experience, I view these press releases very, very cynically and sceptically, they often amount to no more than publicity stunts. If nine or ten charges for serious offences don’t come out of this all it is is a publicity stunt. The guards and CAB raided the offices of a solicitor I know a while back, when I met him and asked about it he said they stood outside in the street smoking cigarettes with his secretary, that was all, but the media coverage gave the impression of a huge coup. Needless to mention, when they finished the cigarettes they fücked off and no more came of it.

Mute Liam John Bradshaw
    Favourite Liam John Bradshaw
    Oct 6th 2016, 7:54 PM

@ john, I’d say it was planned 2 years ago, they were just waiting on the pass out of the first crop of new Farsi on over 5 years from Templemore!

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine
    Oct 6th 2016, 8:05 PM

@Liam, read the piece and see “130 Gardai WILL descend”… press release, written and issued in advance.

Mute Liam John Bradshaw
    Favourite Liam John Bradshaw
    Oct 6th 2016, 9:45 PM

It was John Campbell I was addressing!

Mute €uromancer
    Favourite €uromancer
    Oct 6th 2016, 4:48 PM

Pavee Point fairly quiet at the moment, or maybe it’s become a Thor point?

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Oct 6th 2016, 3:12 PM

35 villains to be released by judges.

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine
    Oct 6th 2016, 4:29 PM

If they are charged… You don’t know they are villains.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Oct 6th 2016, 4:41 PM

you can be a villain without being convicted, but rarely convicted without being a villian.

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine
    Oct 6th 2016, 5:20 PM

Love it!

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine
    Oct 6th 2016, 2:15 PM

Arrests mean nothing. How many have been charged with indictable offences?

Mute Lisa Dorothy
    Favourite Lisa Dorothy
    Oct 6th 2016, 4:03 PM

@John Considine: The DPP do the charging, plus they were only just arrested?

Mute Neal not Neil
    Favourite Neal not Neil
    Oct 7th 2016, 5:55 AM

Plus indicting is an American thing. We have not yet been annexed by the U.S. and iit’s lefal syatwm doesn’t apply here, no mattwd how many episodes of Law and Order you watch.

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine
    Oct 7th 2016, 6:48 AM

Neal and Neil, obviously you live a blameless life and haven’t needed to get to know the Irish legal syst em. All serious offences in Ireland are indictable offences, but don’t take my word for it, read this: http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/criminal_law/criminal_offences/classification_of_crimes_in_criminal_cases.html. Now go back to your television.

Mute Concerned Citizen
    Favourite Concerned Citizen
    Oct 6th 2016, 1:50 PM

Must be free breakfast rolls and Lyons tea in the local Maxol.

Mute Poole Hyde
    Favourite Poole Hyde
    Oct 6th 2016, 2:00 PM

Nice of them to let the crime gangs they’re on their way…

Mute Poole Hyde
    Favourite Poole Hyde
    Oct 6th 2016, 2:01 PM

*let the crime gangs know

Mute Donnacha Bhoicaire
    Favourite Donnacha Bhoicaire
    Oct 6th 2016, 5:47 PM

Hope they find me stolen bike from a few weeks ago

Mute Yenreit
    Favourite Yenreit
    Oct 6th 2016, 1:43 PM

Any sign of Irish Wather in the area?

Mute Ross O'Callaghan
    Favourite Ross O'Callaghan
    Oct 6th 2016, 1:49 PM

Good one…Last time I heard that I fell off my dinosaur

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Oct 6th 2016, 2:13 PM

The criminals have a good scolding from a judge ahead of them before they get bail or a suspended sentence
    That will teach them the dim view society takes of their behaviour

Mute Daithi O'Laoghaire
    Favourite Daithi O'Laoghaire
    Oct 6th 2016, 2:51 PM

@Yenreit: It’s spelled “water” but hey don’t let spelling a basic word incorrectly get in way of your assumptions……

Mute ijlester
    Favourite ijlester
    Oct 6th 2016, 3:01 PM

80 Gardai. Student Gardai have no powers to do anything. They are observers. Garda management are incapable of telling the truth on even the simplest of matters.

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Favourite Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Oct 6th 2016, 2:18 PM

Timed to deflect from the latest scandal in the force, maybe?

Mute Daithi O'Laoghaire
    Favourite Daithi O'Laoghaire
    Oct 6th 2016, 2:50 PM

@Jimmyjoe Wallace: Nope. This, Operation Thor is a regular occurrence in the constituency on a number of occasions this year.

Park your conspiracy theories please; I’m sure there’s another article on the Journal you could be posting on instead.

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Favourite Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Oct 6th 2016, 3:39 PM

Yes guard, right away guard. (tugs forelock) sorry guard.

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Oct 6th 2016, 6:02 PM

Jimmyjoe, you can’t be saying negative things about our professional police service, who always put the people first, before doBdgy business men , don’t do political policing and of course the way they protect honest members otherwise known as a whistleblowers

Mute Congress Tart
    Favourite Congress Tart
    Oct 6th 2016, 3:32 PM

Our Gardai should be in better shape – big girlie hips on some of them in that photo.

Mute Jimmy Berg
    Favourite Jimmy Berg
    Oct 6th 2016, 3:40 PM

Unfair comment, just because someone carries a bit of weight does not mean they are unfit for the job. If you have ever ran a marathon you would know this.

Mute Marty Borgnine
    Favourite Marty Borgnine
    Oct 6th 2016, 3:56 PM

I would imagine that most female Gardai have girlie hips no?

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Oct 6th 2016, 4:39 PM

Yeah we all know criminals run away in straight lines at a marathon running pace, so no need to hop over gates, fences and walls then.

Mute #knowingitall
    Favourite #knowingitall
    Oct 6th 2016, 6:23 PM

People come in All shapes and sizes you ass. Plus the garda may be wearing g their stab vest and a jacket under their florescent jacket. Hope you’re ripped,fit and skinny to be commenting on some one else

Mute Congress Tart
    Favourite Congress Tart
    Oct 6th 2016, 9:52 PM

@Jimmy Berg: lol – you think the guy at the back of that photo could catch anyone? He’d be waddling along & out of breath after 20 seconds.
    So judging by the red thumbs – I’m in the minority in thinking that our Garda force should maintain a certain fitness level. Sad to see you all have such low expectations & standards.

Mute Congress Tart
    Favourite Congress Tart
    Oct 6th 2016, 11:26 PM

lol – The Journal just changed the photo…

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Oct 6th 2016, 11:53 PM

Well done to our Gardai

Mute Graham King
    Favourite Graham King
    Oct 6th 2016, 8:24 PM

Well done to the gardai, taking the competition apart, obviously the price of drugs coming out of Athlone garda station won’t be changing according to one whistle-blower, so it’s best take down the cheaper dealers, and deflect the attention from the godmother, or to put her legal term on it, the commish

Mute Polly Dolan
    Favourite Polly Dolan
    Oct 7th 2016, 6:02 AM

Waiting 18 weeks to talk to one particular Garda who is in charge of a investigation into an arson attack on my property. The building was burnt to the ground. They never contacted the witnesses they never looked at the CCTV and of course never made any arrests. Now they won’t even answer the telephone, I’ve only ever spoken to them once, no other Garda will speak about the case either as it’s not theirs. Rang their station to say I had urgent information that needed to be acted on immediately in relation to the case, the Garda said dial 999 then and slammed the phone down.
    Thor me hole.

Mute alpha_chaarlie
    Favourite alpha_chaarlie
    Oct 6th 2016, 11:36 PM

Carlow and Kilkenny has come on loads…I remember the time when the biggest seizure there would be a few hash tablets and a cap gun

Mute Jamie Hope
    Favourite Jamie Hope
    Oct 6th 2016, 11:44 PM

Operation Thor?…were they after people who were hammered?

Mute just readin
    Favourite just readin
    Oct 6th 2016, 5:42 PM

Ill bet Loki was behind it, I hope they caught him …

Mute Alan J. McKenna
    Favourite Alan J. McKenna
    Oct 7th 2016, 2:48 PM

I actually know Loki. He is long retired! Last person you’d expect.

Mute Jon Kelly
    Favourite Jon Kelly
    Oct 7th 2016, 1:22 AM

22 low level dealers and a paltry quantity of drugs. Is that really worth all the man hours that went into prep as well as the wages of 150 for the day? I know they’re getting paid a pittance but it can’t be low enough to justify that.

Mute Qwerty
    Favourite Qwerty
    Oct 7th 2016, 1:02 AM

Hope they rid our country of the scourge of cannabis once and for all.

Cannabis – the most destructive drug known to man. Leaving a path of destruction in its wake.

Mute JFN
    Favourite JFN
    Oct 7th 2016, 1:31 AM

Nice cannabis plants you’re growing there, be a shame if someone were to seize them

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Oct 7th 2016, 8:30 AM

Amazing the amount of work being done since the guards stopped working on water meters back to true crime good on ye

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Oct 7th 2016, 9:27 AM

This whole operation is a pretty clear indication, from Garda HQ, that the local coppers just aren’t up to the job.

Mute Colm Ó Liatháin
    Favourite Colm Ó Liatháin
    Oct 7th 2016, 3:54 AM

The guards all got brought on a day out to tralee. It’s a wonder nobody got shot in their absence.

Mute Chris Higgins
    Favourite Chris Higgins
    Oct 7th 2016, 9:27 AM

Absolutely nothing impressive with that, considering the amount of guards that took action!!

Mute Barry O Neill
    Favourite Barry O Neill
    Oct 7th 2016, 12:57 PM

That’s it, arrest people for using a drug that grows naturally, and is beneficial to mental health, like depression and alcoholics, weed or mushrooms do no harm to anyone, heroin and things like meth are bad and should be banned, but natural drugs. It’s pointless and ignorant to arrest anyone.

Mute Gavin Hesse
    Favourite Gavin Hesse
    Oct 8th 2016, 10:07 AM

Was wondering had the Gardai used ‘Thor’ to track people from the Carlow, Kilkenny area trading – buying & selling class A’s on the un-indexed side of the web (where Google, Bing etc can’t reach, where you need a special browser etc.,), that would be interesting….otherwise a funny naming convention for the operation ,

Mute Walt Kowalski
    Favourite Walt Kowalski
    Oct 7th 2016, 7:31 PM

Great work from the Guards. Shame the criminal justice system probably wont back up their good work.

Mute Barry O Neill
    Favourite Barry O Neill
    Oct 7th 2016, 12:51 PM

That’s it, waste tax payers money for people using a plant that grows naturally, and does no harm to anyone, “its ignorant and pathetic that they do this today, , I can understand heroin or meth, as that is bad, but natural drugs like weed, and mushrooms is ridiculous, they actually have huge benefits for mental health like depression and alcoholics, .