TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Teenager stabbed in Dublin attack

The 18-year-old was stabbed in the neck in Crumlin and underwent surgery.

The St. Mary's Road area in Crumlin
Image: Google Maps

AN 18-YEAR-OLD man was stabbed in the neck in on St. Mary’s Road in Crumlin yesterday evening.

RTÉ reports that the teenager went to Crumlin Children’s Hospital – which is adjacent to St. Mary’s Road –  and was transferred from there to St. James’s Hospital for surgery.

Gardaí are appealing for witnesses to come forward.

They can be contacted at Crumlin Garda station on 01 6666200 or on the Garda Confidential Line on 1800 666 111.

Read next:

Comments (16 Comments)

• There should be a stronger punishment for possession of a knife. It’s hard to see how this stupid hard man violence among young men can be dealt with. Frustrating.

• I know of teenage kids who carry screwdrivers because in their words they can’t ‘get done’ if they’re stopped and searched by the Gardaí. There is no punishment unless used as a weapon which in all cases is too late!!

• Don’t know where you heard that, but if found with such an implement without reasonable excuse for having it in their possession, they can be charged with an offence under the Theft Act or the Firearms and Offensive Weapons Act…

• Daithi 26/06/12 #

It should be a minimum of 2 years in the clink if you are caught with any form of knife, including items like screwdrivers, if you have no valid use for having it in your possession (like a Chef or Sparkie).

• yet another senseless act of violence.

• Is it our legal system or the judges themselves that result in such leniant punishments for serious crimes?

Murder = 7 years (if you’re unlucky!)
    Knife crime = 6-18 months
    Rape = maybe 4 years
    Corruption that ruins the lives of children who wont be born for another 6 decades = scott free..

• No discipline at home, none at school.nNo law, for young people to fear.nnNo fear, no discipline, no hope.nnSociety will have to recognise children need a firm hand when they are young.nnIf they don’t get it , no social worker can help them because it’s the equivalent of a car being a write off!nnYou cannot fix a car when it’s a write off.nnWe need a law for young people to fear!nnMaybe then, they’ll behave themselves! nnAnd life may not be as cheap, as it currently is!

• jrbmc 26/06/12 #

Spot on Emmet, they should bring in a mandatory year in the FCA or Irish Army for all kids before they leave school might put manners on and give themna level of respect for life, people and their property. When i was growing up everyone from your parents, to the teacher, even the postman gave you a clip across the ear if your where even cheeky. I know Children must be protected from serious abuse but a few slap never done me any harm

• Drove through Crumlin last night and saw one of many gangs of teenage boys that seem to be hanging round the village a lot more regularly in recent months. It’s becoming more and more intimidating for all the locals and the Gardaí don’t seem to interested in moving them on.

• Moving them on where, round to some other corner? Stop this criminalising youths… I hung around with friends on roads when I was younger and didn’t get into trouble but if the garda moved me on I’d probably have a problem with it cause it would be for no reason and then rebel

• Gerard 26/06/12 #

Very true comment Jason, no law against hanging around on your own streets and guards constantly moving on young people can definitely cause them to rebel. In my local area we used to have a Garda who would stop the patrol car, get out and have a bit of craic and banter with the local kids and young people. If any of them stepped out if line he had no hesitation in dealing with them whatever way he needed to. He got massive respect for it from the young people.

• Hi Damien, no your comment was not removed. I don’t think it posted at all actually as I didn’t get a notification about it. Perhaps you could refresh your page and try again?

Thanks, Emer

• has my comment been removed?

• As far as I am aware this young man was bottled in the throat in a lane way at the rear of Mary’s park. Apparently gangs hanging here a lot lately. I just hope they find the dirty bastard that did it.

• sum ppl need cops on stop stab

Add New Comment