TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

The 9 at 9: Wednesday

Good morning. Here’s nine things to know today.

Image: Leo Reynolds via Flickr/Creative Commons

EVERY DAY, TheJournal.ie brings you nine things you need to know with your morning cup of coffee.

1. #DISABILITY: The Department of Social Protection has confirmed a rise in the refusal rate of applications for the Disability Allowance. RTÉ reports that three out of every five applicants were rejected but a spokesperson for Joan Burton insisted that the criteria for eligibility has not changed.

2. #QUINN FAMILY: The five adult children of bankrupt businessman Seán Quinn have been granted €30,000 in monthly living expenses between them by the High Court, reports the Irish Times. The ruling comes as the youngest daughter Brenda accepts a job with a less-than-average salary of €25,000, according to the Irish Independent.

Meanwhile, the Taoiseach Enda Kenny has criticised Fine Gael MEP Seán Kelly for showing support to the beleaguered family. The former GAA president had said it was the association’s ethos to stand behind a “decent family”. Kenny warned him against commenting on serious matters before the courts, the Irish Daily Mail reports.

3. #BACK TO SCHOOL: Parents have told Barnardos that they are going without food and failing to pay bills so they can afford to send their children to school. A new survey found that the costs incurred by a teenager in secondary school average about €770. The corresponding back-to-school allowance is €250.

4. #RIP: American author, playwright and political commentator Gore Vidal has died at his Los Angeles home. He was 86.

5. #ROYAL VISIT II: Ireland may have to roll out the red carpet again as the Taoiseach has asked the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge to make their first official trip to the Republic, reports the Irish Independent. Kate and William are said to be “enthusiastic” about the invitation, while Prince Charles and Camilla are “very keen” to come over too.

6. #SYRIA: The besieged city of Aleppo is running low on food and other necessities with three million residents struggling because of ongoing violence and power cuts. A report published by Amnesty International today said investigators found evidence of security forces firing on peaceful anti-regime demonstrations in the commercial hub, killing protesters, as well as bystanders and children.

7. #ROBBERY: A man in his 30s is due in court this morning in relation to a robbery at a Spar shop on James’s Street in Dublin on Saturday night. An employee of the store remains in hospital after he was stabbed with a blood-filled syringe during the incident.

8. #PSNI: Detectives in Northern Ireland are investigating a mortar attack on a routine police patrol in west Belfast. The PSNI said a shot was also reportedly fired at a police vehicle at about 4am last Friday. The Irish News reports that dissident republican group Oglaigh na hEireann (ONH) took responsibility for the attack in a coded statement to the newspaper.

9. #NOT TRYING: Eight Olympic badminton players have been charged with “not using one’s best efforts to win a match” after they were booed off court by angry spectators who were aware that they were trying to ‘throw’ their games to secure an easier draw.

For all your other London 2012 updates, TheScore.ie‘s Olympic breakfast should do the trick. Day five is set to be a big one for Team Ireland as sailing star Annalise Murphy goes in her fifth and sixth races in the Laser Radial class, while John Joe Nevin’s second fight begins at 2pm. Eoin Rheinisch hopes to go at least one better than he did in Beijing with his canoe slalom semi-final kicking off at 1.30pm and David McCann comes off the back of a decent road race on Saturday to participate in today’s time trial at.

Read next:

Comments (41 Comments)

• Neil 01/08/12 #

€30,000 a month in living expenses?? Why??

• Because their defense hasn’t been heard, they may yet get billions in compensation and I really hope so. How dare Enda Kenny a life time sponger and spoofer who never created a job or did a days work disgusting.

• oh ffs, I really need to read more carefully. 6000 per month per person is ridiculous. if it is being paid by the estate, then I suppose we’ve nothing to bitch about tho. as long as it’s not my tax going to pay it.

• Best of luck to John Joe Nevin!!

• Nice to see the Quinn’s get the same in living ‘expenses’ in a month as I earn in a year. :(

• What a joke £30,000 living expenses when most of the country are only living on peanuts.

• Shouldn’t that be 30 grand a year?

• For 10 people and their children begrudgers and stupidity personified!!

So that’s Enda and Brian Hayes both actively out against them and this is fair! Disgraceful I Am deeply ashamed to be Irish today

• even if that’s 30 people Kate…that’s a grand a month per person. a lot of whole families have to live on that every month because of crooks like the quinns and their ilk. and you can bet the Quinns don’t pay mortgages and own their properties…so yeh that’s quite a lot of money…why?

• The following story states that families are going without food so they can get everything their children need to go to school for their “free” education and they get 30,000 a month Disgraceful

• 30,000 a year between 5 people, whom already have a house to live in is about the same as the dole with rent allowance. If it is it to be paid by the Quinn estate, which will otherwise be frozen for the duration of the investigation, I can’t see this is unfair to the rest of us.

• sure if they lodged it all with the IBRC, they’d get a good rate of interest after 20 years or so.

• what happened to day when you could get the majority of your schoolbooks second hand, I gave ?122 for my daughters 1st class books and only 3 of them (english readers) can be kept for her younger brother, the rest are all workbooks!! Its a disgrace.

• I agree about the nonsense of back to school expenses . I say dont buy into it. Ok they need the books, but I think these work books are such a scam, how did we all manage without them. But with regard to the uniforms, dont buy into the pressure of that . it’s supposed to help parents and to stop fashion shows in school, but my children have been to many schools with no uniform and it was no problem. Even their secondary school is not strict. You can have any navy jumper , any white or blue shirt or polo short and any navy trousers or cords. These special jumpers with crests in and kilts and trousers that cost 60€ plus are a disgrace and parents should stand up and say no . We let this all happen and the back to school stuff is designed to make you panic and start buying. We don’t have to do it, people are afraid that their child will be bullied or teased or pitied if they don’t have what everybody else has. I’ve just woke up to how silly that is. They don t always need new shoes, or runners, they have shoes let them wear them until they need another pair which may not be in August!! If we all started doing that then we would break the cycle and nobody would even notice . I mean after a few days they all look worn in anyhow so why should we worry.

• I bought navy trousers from Pennys for my daughter. The label was checked in school and she was told that they had to.come from a particular shop (four times the price) but I didn’t. The rest of the uniform had to be bought there because there was no generic alternative. The price is absolutely outrageous and they get away with it because they have a captive audience.

• to Sarah- that is outrageous. I hope you refused or complained.

• Is it not the board of management who decides uniforms? Are boards of management not made up of parents? Is getting elected to the board of management no the first step to change this obvious scam?

Genuine questions here.

• School books should be able to be passed down from one class to another or sold/bought second hand. If I was a teacher (which I hope to be in the near future) I would make all children copy the work into their copies, answer comprehensive questions in their copies and keep their workbooks clean and tidy so that thy may be used by someone else below them in the school. Also teaches the children the value of something and creates a sense of pride and organisation about their work in their copy book

• the whole issue of ‘ back to school ‘ costs in this country is a farce, parents need to stand up to head teachers and boards of governors and tell then that they are not going to pay for a uniform supplied by 1 or 2 shops at an extortionate price, that they will not be held to ransom over so called ‘donations’ ( “if you dont pay x amount your children won’t be allowed on school trips etc) and that text books should be provided by the dept of education and remain the property of the school if lost or damaged then the parent would have to replace said book . schools need to be reminded that they are there to serve the people and are payed for by the people not the head teacher or board of governors, most of who are ‘selected’ from the religious, professional or political arena ..
    this is just another area where Irish people won’t stand up for their rights and allow ‘those who know better’ to make the rules.

• whose going to pay for all these royal visits …..maybe the government can afford a few bob out of their own fat wallets

• I have two kids in high school. One has a book rental scheme going, and his books cost me about €50 per year (with stationary and copies it’s probably around €100). I then give them back to the school, which passes them on to the next fella in that year.

My other kid’s school has no rental scheme, and her first year’s books cost us almost a grand. It is possible to do things other than putting the onus on parents to scrounge around and try to find secondhand books. There are logical, realistic options, even if they don’t work out as cheap as my son’s school (it’s a less classy school and probably gets some grants to help with books). What’s required, though, is a change in mindset and a bit of effort, though I think this should come from parents. I intend to approach the school with this idea this year.

• just to say, whereas the costs of back to school are, in many cases, ridiculous and the solutions available to reduce same are not being used, I have known many teachers and they work damn hard, the summer holidays help prevent burn-out and I am glad they get them.
    what I don’t get is how people feel it’s wise to under-invest in our teachers. this is the future we’re building.

• Why is the west always taking sides in the middle-east conflicts, especially now in Syria a perfect example where the government allows everyone to live in peace with their neighbors,Muslim and Christian alike. Now that the western and saudi arabian nations have backed the so called free syrian army infiltrated by Al-qeada, the massacare of Christian communities has begun,strange we dont see this in the western media. Like Iraq and Egypt the government was very tolerant towards minorities but not now the muslim brotherhood have taken over.

• why are 120 page copies needed when my son finished up last year some of his copies ere only bearly used also in this day and age why can’t they put it on cd rom or flash drive and give a grant aid to buy a laptop

• More boot licking on the agenda with the visit of Wills and Kate – the West-Brits and their handlers in the political and media establishment are creaming themselves at the thought of it as we speak

• JTHM 01/08/12 #

I think the correct term for “West-Brit” these days is “Irish”. Anti-British prejudice is a bit out-dated.

• This is just Enda looking for yet another photo-opportunity to add to his Royal collection. The man is in cloud-cuckoo land. Let him stand up in the Dáil and tell us how much it is going to cost our impoverished, Third World country. Then he can tell us what cuts are going to be made to subsidise his ego trip. For William and Katie, Charles and his woman, the security detail will have to be greater than Queenies because this is the future progenitors of the Royal family. It will just be another day out for the rioters and an excercise for the riot troops.

• JTHM 01/08/12 #

Donal, I understand the resentment towards our glorious leader, but I can never for the life of me understand why people in Ireland get so hot under the collar about the British monarchy. We’re a republic, we don’t have a monarch. I don’t give a toss about the Windsor soap-opera, they don’t affect me in the slightest, and I don’t affect them. As for the expenditure, that’s sadly the case for any visiting dignitary, but if that’s your gripe, you’d have to extend it to all official visitors. And the nobs visiting the nobs is just a part of international relations, which is important for us considering that we’re too small a country to close borders and attempt self-sufficiency. No exports means no economy.

• Another f****g royal visit??? WHY for gods sake do we need royals? So so unnecessary….and unrealistic!
    Oh and dont let me start on school expenses, books… my fav topic these days!!
    THE SYSTEM IS WRONG!!! Not spending 250 per head for school allowance but cutting out these soooo bloody expensive school and even more ridicolous workbooks. Let Teachers actually WORK and DO something and THINK of work for the kids and not only put them workbooks on the desk where all the work is already done for them!! I could do that and I am not a trained teacher!! What happened to one book, photocpies and copies for the kids? That is really a waste of money – first class and I had to pay 120 Euro, she has 15 books!!! EXCUSE ME????

• I understand you’re angry but believe it or not teachers do not regulate the cost of books or expenses in the schools where the are employed . Furthermore teachers work bloody hard for their money.

• i know they do not have any influence on the books but they could also stand up and say NO – but nobody seems to have the balls for that!! Enough… I remember my school times and my both parents were teachers…. they had to actually had to THINK about mathematic problems, write them down, design a worksheet, copy them or write them on the blackboard and we kids had to copy it from there…. who gives a …t about bloody figures or animals or evens stickers in workbooks – all waste of money!!
      Well teachers have ENOUGH time to rest and make holidays for their HARD work!!!
      Sorry just really annoyed how things are going in this area…especially for struggeling parents! I simply CAN NOT give any OTHER money or donations to the school WICH WILL ADDITIONALLY occur – it is really a disgrace!!!! When do finally people take over and we stop the ruling by the rich and big ones!!! STOP!!!

• Have you considered home schooling your child/children? It may cost considerably less and you seem to have a keen grasp on how to educate successfully…

• Have you considered giving the school books out for free…you seem to have it…. And if you read PROPERLY then you would see that I have no problem WHAT the kids learn (I have in a way but that is another topic), I am ok with that but HOW!!!!

• Christine you have a major bee in your bonnet about teachers. I suggest you spend a week or two as a classroom assistant while you are looking for a job and see the amount of work that teachers put in. It is lazy and insulting to blame the problems with the education system on teachers. Try having a look instead at the lame duck Dept of Education. You could also start with the various teachers unions who are only interested in the salaries and work conditions of long-standing members and have absolutely no interest in education. If this makes no sense to you, I agree that home schooling is really your only option.

• whats wrong with reading???? I DID NOT BLAME THE TEACHERS AT ALL!!!!!!! And also to add I have been working in this area for years so I KNOW WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT!!! Nobody is blaming the teachers, ok I am quite upset about the schoolbook issue but who I blame is the system to take it from the dead – the only thing I relate to teachers is that they are the closest to this issue and would be able to say NO ….. even I grew up in a teacher family ;-) I have NOTHING agains TEACHERS AT ALL! ;-)

• JTHM 01/08/12 #

@ Christine – nothing wrong with being angry, but work on your focus, and you might just get a more productive result. You’ve a very blurry aim in your comments above.

• Christine, I think your getting a hard time because far too many teachers are sitting around on their two months holidays bored and checking out the 9 @ 9!!! On a more serious note, poor systems are the cause of most of our problems, along with people who think that the Quinns and others like them deserve to be compensated or let off for what they did, come on people, Sean Quinn and his family didn’t throw me any cash when they were rolling it in, so why should I have to pay for their little gamble and greed going wrong?

• 9 & 9 at 0845 ?

Add New Comment