TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

‘This dreadful news is what every police family fears’ – tributes paid to murdered Garda

Detective Garda Adrian Donohue was shot dead while on duty in Dundalk last night.

Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

AN GARDA SÍOCHÁNA and the Minister for Justice have echoed the nation’s sentiments of shock and sadness following the death of a Detective Garda in Louth last night.

The Garda Press Office has confirmed that Adrian Donohoe was on duty in Dundalk when he was injured in a shooting incident at the Lordship Credit Union at about 9.30pm.

He died a short time later.

A statement said:

It is with profound sadness that we announce the death of Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe attached to the Detective Unit in Dundalk.

Speaking at Garda Headquarters, Commissioner Martin Callinan said he was “deeply saddened”.

“Detective Garda Donohoe died as a result of injuries sustained in the course of his duty following a shooting incident in Dundalk last night. At this time my thoughts and prayers and those of the entire force are with the family, friends and close colleagues of Adrian.

“Ar dheis láimh Dé go raibh a anam.”

Gardaí believe four men left the scene in a dark-coloured car after a number of shots were fired. An appeal for witnesses has been issued.

Alan Shatter also issued a statement on hearing the news of what he described as a ‘dreadful and brutal murder’.

“The Irish people rightly have great respect and admiration for members of An Garda Síochána and the work they do in protecting the community,” he continued.

They will share my revulsion and horror that a Garda has so tragically lost his life in the course of his duties.

“Our thoughts and prayers are with the family, friends and colleagues of Adrian, who lost his life in carrying out his duty in the best traditions of the brave men and women of An Garda Síochána.

“I know that An Garda Síochána will spare no effort in ensuring that those responsible are brought  to justice. In doing so, they have the unswerving support of the Government and Irish people at this very difficult time.”

The Garda Representative Association said it was “deeply shocked and saddened by the horrific news” of the shooting of a colleague. They offered their thoughts and prayers to the Detective’s family.

GRA President John Parker said:

This dreadful news is what every police family fears. At this time the wider garda family will be doing everything possible to support the late garda’s relatives and loved ones, friends and colleagues. There is a deep shock across An Garda Síochána – and Irish society.

“This heinous crime highlights the dangers gardaí face in the course of their duties and must be rightly condemned. We urge anyone who has any information, however small it may seem, to contact gardaí in Dundalk or the confidential Crimestoppers line 1800 25 00 25.”

Fianna Fáil and Sinn Féin have also expressed their sympathies.

Earlier: Garda killed in shooting at Louth credit union

Read next:

Comments (111 Comments)

• Tragic. Thoughts and prayers with his family.

• There’s always one moron

• You’re a poor excuse for a human being

• R.I.P.
    Another frontline emergency worker who closed his front door to go to work yesterday, expecting to open it again, but his occupation and service to this country dictated otherwise.

• Charlie you are a moron! Go and troll some other story!

A good man died just doing his job. Can you say your as dedicated to yours

• This man went out to do his’ job. As someone who escorts cash as a humble security officer, I am quite aware of the dangers involved and take associated precautions. My main anger is aimed, not at Govt. cutbacks as there’s no telling if they were a factor here but in general cutting back on security is a dangerous game, but at the gurriers involved here. They will class this as terrorism, as funding the Republican cause etc. It’s not that. It’s criminality. It’s murder. It’s not wanting to do a days’ work but instead make some “easy money” at the expense of those who’ve saved it. It’s not giving a damn about the safety of anyone else but yourself. It’s greed. And it’s taking the life of a frontline defender, a serving member of Garda Siochana, who do their’ best, despite factors working against them both political, financial and social, to serve and protect. Yet all for what? For some low-life criminal underclass to point a gun and shoot them down. It’s pathetic. I’d like to think they will turn themselves in but they are cowards. This murder was committed by cowards and bullies and their’ O.C.s are just as responsible. Hanging them high will not be justice. What will be justice is if they are caught and some street urchin who they have been inculcating with their’ madness that is the Republican struggle diverts away from what is a life of crime. These criminals have no shame. If anyone is hiding them in a safe-house or whoever provided them with the weapons, ammunition etc. they are as culpable as the murderer or murderers. The Garda Adrian Donohoe left his’ home today in uniform and will never return there. How totally unfair, sad and unwarranted that is.

• I hope his family realise how grateful we are,taken before his time

• Charlie. Yes you have a right to your opinion. But remember one thing it is people like him that enable you to have that right. He was murdered not “protecting the banks” as you put it but upholding the law. The very law that gives you the right to express you remarks in a public forum. So take some advice. Engage your brain before you open your mouth. It you will findit will save you a lot of grief as you go through life.

RIP. To a Brother in Blue. Although we serve in different branches. We come from the same tree.

• It really hits home when it’s someone from your community. I can’t stop crying knowing that your wife & kids have to deal with the fact your never coming home again. thank you for your service towards the people of ireland. We will be eternally grateful. RIP

• Charlie
    He was a detective Garda who served his time and was only doing his job. Please refrain from calling him a bank or court security enforcer.

You, yourself obviously have an issue with the Gardai and with an attitude like yours I can see why. People are commenting on how much of a tragedy this story is. Adrian has left behind a wife and 2 children.
    As the old saying goes, if you have nothing good to say, then say nothing at all!

• Terribly sad news this evening. Thoughts go not only to the family, but also to every garda and their families out there.

We can only hope that this serves as a catalyst to enforce the rule of law upon these criminal **** once and for all.

(Seems the site doesn’t like the word s c u m, but I think it’s an adequate description).

• Capital murder, automatic life sentence. They will hopefully be caught soon. RIP & sympathies to his family. Tragedy.

• charlie you really should not be expressing that sort of opinion on a public forum. That man was a husband, a father, a son, a sibling perhaps and a colleague to many. And if it was you that had a gun pointed at you that man you speak of would have tried to protect you. Just consider that please.

• Eamonn 26/01/13 #

Red thumbs for RIP’ ?? The vermin who carried out this crime are clearly not alone.

• RIP, so upsetting and a shock of reality that it could be anyone at any time.

• Charlie,
    There really was no threat, veiled or otherwise.
    I regret posting the name of your employer.

I was merely pointing out that you should be more careful with your security settings when you seem so intent on offending people.

Take care.

• The charlie melia guy has issues with law enforcement in general, his views can be heard because of our brave Gardai, let charlie wallow in his own misery, i am safe to say his contributions to Irish life are very limited

• And so you should take your leave Charlie and not before time.

• Saddest news in the country in a long time RIP

• Leave the politics aside please. A good man has been lost. Rip

• Maireid if you read my comment I said RIP and you are damn right a good man has been lost,it will all be forgotten when the man is buried next week I mean in the political circle until the next garda is lying with a bullet in his or her head,time to arm all gardai

• Tonight is not about politics and cutbacks, tonight is about a garda who lost their life in the course of their duty. Rest in Peace Detective Garda Adrian Donohue. You are your family are in our prayers.

• Horrible news to wake up to. Feel for his family friends and all the Garda. Rest in Peace lad.

• My thoughts are with the family. It’s impossible to understand the sorrow they are feeling right now.

• This shite is so tragic, hate reading abt it, we all know someone who is a guard, pray for them all

• So sad , and alan shatter needs a reality check, trying to save a few euro on closures of stations and paycuts for these people -that poor man took the ultimate cut tonight with his life- RIP

• Charlie,
    If you don’t like Gardai because they protect the state & all within (even the unsavoury elements), that’s your right.
    You’re entitled to an opinion, and we respect your right to an opinion.
    But please don’t confuse that with people respecting the actual opinion. Your opinion is ill-informed, prejudicial & downright reprehensible. Personally I could never take you seriously if our paths were to ever cross.
    I’m eager to know what “Certification Ireland” would make of you posting such comments, as you clearly have no regard for even moral standards. Some friendly advice – it may be advisable to lock down your Facebook account if you plan on inciting such hatred.
    Have a nice day. Someday I hope you can see beyond a disdain for an organisation before deciding an individual’s death is not worthy of your sympathy.
    Personally, I’m shocked & disgusted that the Garda has died. RIP. I hope the force do what they can to help his family.
    As I said, have a nice day. And I hope your opinion can change.

• My deepest sympathy and condolences to the family, Friends and colleagues of the brave young man who laid down his life tonight, doing his job.Rest in Peace.

• Ha that rattled him..

• @ Charlie. I don’t know what’s annoying me more the fact a good man died in the line of duty or your stupid comments.

• Rest in peace mo chara.

Our thoughts are with your family

• Rip Aidrian. Now i ask the various powers that be will you please reconsider your cutbacks to frontline emergency services, Gardai hospitals schools etc etc. unfortunately the answer is most likely no. This country is in a terrible state. Sincere condolences to this poor gardas family colleagues and friends

• The question here is why a lone garda responded to a reported burgulary in progress. These sort of criminals are obviously armed in some way or another and although I don’t know the area myself, it seems to be in an isolated spot rather than slap bang in the middle of a town.
      If cutbacks are the reason that this man lost his life then questions must be answered.
      Garda usually respond to much smaller incidents such as domestic disputes in two’s and sometimes more,
      What exactly happened here?

• -”Garda usually respond to much smaller incidents such as domestic disputes in two’s and sometimes more,
      What exactly happened here?”

As this is early and details are filtering through I’m sorry if this is inaccurate but according to breakingnews he “was one of two detectives on escort duty when the incident occurred”: So he wasn’t responding, he was escorting and not alone.

R.I.P.

• The detectives were the police escort for credit union workers bringing money to the bank. When the other car pulled up, the detectives approached to talk to them and were immediately fired on. Adrian Donohue was killed instantly. It is likely he prevented the murder of one or more civilians.
      It is no consolation to the family he was taken from, but he has died protecting others.
      Heartfelt condolences to the Donohue family and to his colleagues and friends.
      At dheis Dé go raibh a anam.

• A lovely guy just doing his job. Condolences to his family , may hex rest in peace.

• A hero. Thoughts and prayers with his family.

• our deepest symphaty to the family

• DJB 26/01/13 #

Maybe this brave guards death will be a catalyst for our inept politicians to finally give up talking about zero tolerance towArds criminality and start putting zero tolerance into practise. RIP Adrian Donoghue

• words are so easily said by our minister commissiner and our gra reps but where is the acrtion rip D/garda Adrian Donohue

• This is sickening a man can’t even go to work these days !!! The country hasn’t a chance if these people have no respect anymore for the brave men and woman trying to protect our kids !!!

• Shot dead because he was doing his job terrible news to wake up to. May he rest in peace and God comfort his wife and family.

• Sick to the pit of my stomach , this poor fella and his family . Time for a big shake up in the laws in this country. Round these bastards up and throw away the keys and tell the do gooders to do one.

• A terrible tragedy. May he R.I.P.

Shatters condolences seem hollow considering all the Garda closures, cutbacks and recruitment policy.

Can’t take to him at all

• RIP to Garda Donahue I hope these cowards responsible get what they deserve a very sad day for the force. Minister shatter get the thumb out harden up

• You know they won’t though. They’ll likely walk out with a “tough” sentence of 20 years, of which 5 will be suspended and another 4 will be cut off due to good behaviour.

I’m not advocating the death penalty, but sentences that make sense and scrapping the suspended sentence for anything over petty thievery is a must.

• Such a shock I live 30 mins from where this happened :-( may he Rip and my thoughts are with his family.

• 26/01/13 #

amazing a couple of hrs ago ppl were so concerned about there own take home pay,Our man never made it home.RIP

• What’s so sad is it takes something like this 4 ppl too realise reality.

• It’s very sad for that man and his family. Poor lambs to the slaughter against armed criminals . I was concerned that less than 3 hours after the terrible shooting, it was announced in the media. How could all of the Garda’s family have been informed in such a short time, and anybody who had a family member as a guard in that area would have been frantic until his name was released. I think we need to slow down a bit with these stories.

• Tragic thoughts and prayers are with his young family may he R I P HOPE THEY GET THE BAD F—kers that did this soon

• You descended to a lot worse when you started your biased and unjust tirade, don’t make others out to be the bad guy here, your lack of remorse, sensitivity and overall decency is what makes me worry about this country and although I doubt you will hang your head in shame you sincerely should. Ireland has lost one of its defenders and a family has lost a loved one.

• neo 26/01/13 #

R.I. P Dreadfully sad news.

i dont think dragging politics into it right now is all that appropriate but I happen to agree regarding the dna database. However arming every Garda is not something I want to see and I think a lot of people would agree with me. Just my opinion.

• sean 26/01/13 #

world has totally gone mad , another innocent life lost …….doing nothing more than his job, so so sad ,
    Yet more proof that evil is winning the war and ruling the world,

• RIP

• He was not a security guard or an enforcer for the banks or the courts. He was a sworn member of An Garda Siochana who took an oath. A Garda carries out orders of the court as it is an order. A Garda provides security to cash deliveries to try and prevent money coming into the hands of criminals and subversives. People who may try to destabilise the state. The army also do it on occassion. He chose this job as he saw a lawful society he wanted to uphold. You take the good with the bad in policing. Your outlook veers towards the political/financial side, which this man and no Garda controls, not the entire spectrum of the job this man did to protect you and the limited spiteful outlook you hold. For that reason I will refrain from calling you any petty names for I would be stooping to your pathetic level. My thoughts are moving swiftly on to his family, friends and colleagues. RIP.

• Think we should leave Charlie alone folks, obviously isn’t right in the head!!!!!!

• Bring back the death penalty

• shockingly sad news. hope they catch the bastards that did this. my deepest sympathies to all his family, friends and colleagues. RIP

• RIP Garda Donohue, your service to this country will not go undocumented. My thoughts are with his family. Although the death of a garda on duty is thankfully not a frequent event it is still heartbreaking and another one too many. Unfortunately it is one of the risks of the job.

• Bring back the gallows for these type of crimes, oh wait, we can’t, as per an EU treaty that we recently approved. Deepest sympathy to his family and friends.

• Rest in peace.

• RIP. shocking news.

• FDL_ 26/01/13 #

It’s awful that the countries law enforcement aren’t even armed!! It must feel so safe for criminals in Ireland it’s a joke!!

• Many Gardaí argue they are safer without guns, guns escalate the situation immediately. To do their job without guns is incredibly brave. There’s a difference between a criminal thinking ‘oh no I might get arrested’ and ‘if I don’t shoot him he’ll shoot me’. I wouldn’t argue against any wanting to be armed either though. Personally I’m proud they choose not to be armed. I’m sorry if I don’t know the facts but it appears so far that this Garda was armed and it didn’t make a difference. Don’t forget the Gardaí were able to keep the country safe with the troubles in its hey day with very few casualties, any Garda lost is a Garda too much though, but I thinking arming them would led to more horrible headlines like this.

R.I.P.

• Disgraceful. Massive condolences to his family. Just throwing a fact out there. This Garda was a detective meaning he was armed as was his partner.

• Most of the Gardaí who’ve been shot in the line of duty have been unarmed, uniformed members. The use & threat of extreme violence against Gardaí is a sadly common occurrence these days, the fact that a Garda is unarmed is merely an invitation to thugs.

• neo 26/01/13 #

nobodys denying your right to speak.

• death penalty needs to be brought back. people like this do not deserve prison with tax money wasted on them.

• maybe one day charlie will have a gun pointed to his head one day and his first instinct will be to call 999 for the guards……idiot

• By the way RIP to this garda and condolances to his family,only im trying to make a point neo,last year they made savings of a poxy 2.7 million euro by removing uzi submachine guns from the emergency response unit look it up on google,whats the point in that?irish rail have 44 million euro worth of trains lying idle due to oversupply while funding is cut to gardai,thats why we are in a programme and probably a second programme

• Will ye just leave it for later folks?!

Too soon

• Michael it’s not too soon. People are angry now -in a week’s time apathy will set back in and we’ll all just nod when they announce more cuts to vital emergency services. Criminals are responsible for this poor garda’s death not Shatter. However I blame him for the destruction of our police force and the fact Garda morale was on the floor before this ever happened, I shudder to think what it’s like now

• So sad this happend but Giving guns to every Garda wont work bad idea more people would be killed then saved there’s the Emergency Response Unit (ERU) That is sufficient. If every garda has a gun every so called gangster will have to have one or want one=more blood

• Joe ireland thats the most ridiculous comment,the danish government should remove the guns from the police so yes?copenhagen is one of the safest cities in europe and the world as is denmark in general,you didnt read my comment about the emergency response unit or the fact that we have no dna database,you know the guards found an arm on some beach a while back they dna samples but eh no database so they dont know what happened or commited the crime,even in the bankrupt state that we live
      We can well afford a database it would help the gardai so much

• oh god i did read your comments there full of holes i could go on for days but i won’t. Denmark is safe because the people are laid back and easy going not because of the guns the 5,O carry i lived there Mr no all that knows noting!!!! danish people are the happiest in the world fact

• @Joe,

I live in the Netherlands where the police force is also armed. While there are some incidences where police have made tragic mistakes, the number of lives an armed police force has saved is much higher. And dare I say it they actually make you feel a little bit safer.

The police force has been calling to be armed for years. They know they need them. This incident last night had the potential to be prevented with two armed officers. Instead we have one unarmed officer dead and one likely traumatised for the rest of his life while the perpetrators are in the wind.

• We don’t know he was unarmed do we? Detectives are normally armed, I would be surprised if this man wasn’t. The debate shouldn’t be about arms it should be about the fact that these criminals have no fear – there’s not enough guards to catch them and when caught they have an easy time in court and there’s no room in prisons. Meanwhile the public are slagging if guards for eating ice cream on duty and going sound hero worshipping nidge and Darren on love/hate

• Stupid phone! Slagging OFF guards and going AROUND!

• Both detectives were armed. They did not produce their weapons.

• Barty 26/01/13 #

Gardai getting assaulted, Firefighters getting assualted, Paramedics Nursers Doctors in A&Es getting assualted which is seen as par for the course. The government was asked to legislate for mandatory sentences for assaults on blue light personnel inthe line of duty this was snubbed. Now we have s garda murdered in cold blood life is cheap in this country not a week goes by when someone is murdered. Some of these morons haven’t a fear in the world . Mandatory sentences for all crime and if your given life then you do life.

• They should bring back the noise for these dogs

• Where is the dna database mr shatter,there has been 1 in the uk since 1998 yes minister 15 years,i suppose its fianna failures fault sure what isnt?you are responsible for this gentlemans death,anyone who says all irish police should not be issued with a semi automatic pistol with a ten round magazine are simply self delusional,arming all gardai with not increase crime,no statistics in the eu has proven this,i firmly believe that as soon as all british police are armed it will happen here but 20 years after the uk does it,sad to say this but if I had the choice of the troika or the irish government running this country I would take the troika at least they can force us to make decisions

• Thats a sick comment about Shatter being responsible for this poor mans death! Is there no tragedy in this country that some people wont grab on to for political jibes?
      This brave garda was doing his tough job and met a murdering tramps with no respect for life. Im sure the gardai will hunt these killers down.
      May he rest in peace.

• Very tragic incident indeed. Usual emotive nonsense from certain posters here who immediately use it as an excuse to criticise Alan Shatter & the government. Grow up.

• I have no idea if he was a good man. I didnt know him. The last time I looked dying didnt automaticly make you a good man. I also wasnt there so I dont know if he acted out of courage or stupidity. So I’m not going to make a story up so he comes out a hero or a fool. I have my opinion on this and you have yours. I hardly think decending to calling people names because their opinion differs from yours as good way forward. I express an opinion and I get called a troll. I’m called a moron but thats not trolling. I respect your opinion even if it differs from mine. I would expect at least the same back…..And yes I am just as dedicated to my job. I love what I do.

• Thanks,well now that britain are having an in out referendum on eu membership it should be interesting the level of concern there will be in leinster house,will they stay or will they go,if they stay that will mean repatriating criminal powers along with other things from brussels what will that mean for ireland well im sure mr shatter will be in constant contact with the british home secretary

• Ah ok I going to do something about this now

• I doubt that very much Girrafeman…. very much. I certainly wouldnt rely on it I’m sorry to say. Death is never nice and I’m sure he’s family are sorry to have lost him. As I said I have my opnion and you have yours. I respect that.

• you from tallaght

• Since we’ve decended to making veiled threats around my work, here is where I take my leave.

• Well I have to say if being in the minority means I don’t spend my time insulting and running down people people with a different opinion to mine then I’m delighted to be in the minority Jim. Thanks for that.

Add New Comment