TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Turkey accepts Israeli apology over fatal flotilla raid

Benjamin Netanyahu has apologised to Turkey for a deadly 2010 flotilla raid and announced a full resumption of diplomatic ties as well as compensation for the families of those killed.

Image: Ronald Zak/AP/Press Association Images

ISRAEL’S PRIME MINISTER Benjamin Netanyahu on Friday apologised to Turkey for a deadly 2010 flotilla raid and announced a full resumption of diplomatic ties as well as compensation for the families of those killed, his office said.

The breakthrough, which ends a nearly three-year bitter diplomatic rift, was engineered by US President Barack Obama at the tail end of a historic three-day visit to the Holy Land, the first of his presidency.

Speaking to reporters aboard Air Force One shortly after departing for Amman, a senior US official said the Israeli premier had apologised to his Turkish counterpart Recep Tayyip Erdogan in a special phonecall from Ben Gurion airport near Tel Aviv.

“On behalf of Israelis he apologised for any deaths those operational mistakes might have caused,” the US official said.

“Prime Minister Erdogan accepted the apology on behalf of Turkey,” he added, saying Obama had also spoken with the Turkish leader.

Resumption of full diplomatic ties

Israel and Turkey both confirmed the apology, with Netanyahu’s office announcing a resumption of full diplomatic ties between the former close allies.

A source close to the Turkish government also confirmed the breakthrough. “Apologies have indeed been offered,” he told AFP.

Ties between Israel and Turkey spiralled in May 2010, when Israeli commandos staged a botched pre-dawn raid on the six-ship flotilla headed by the Mavi Marmara, in which nine Turkish nationals were killed.

The assault triggered an international outcry and a bitter diplomatic crisis between Israel and Turkey, with Ankara demanding a formal apology and compensation for the families of the victims.

Until now, Israel has refused, in part for fear that it could open the way for the prosecution of commandos who took part in the raid.

News of the breakthrough was confirmed by Netanyahu’s office in a statement which confirmed the apology and announced a full resumption of diplomatic ties.

And it also confirmed Israel would pay compensation to the families of victims.

“Netanyahu today spoke with Turkish Prime Minister Erdogan,” his office said.

“The two agreed to return normalisation between the countries including returning ambassadors, and cancelling legal procedures against IDF (army) soldiers,” it said, referring to the high-profile trial in absentia of four top Israeli military chiefs by an Istanbul court that opened in November.

“The prime minister made it clear that the tragic results regarding the Mavi Marmara were unintentional and that Israel expresses regret over injuries and loss of life.

“In light of the Israeli investigation into the incident, which pointed out several operational errors, Prime Minister Netanyahu apologised to the Turkish people for any errors that could have led to loss of life and agreed to complete the agreement on compensation,” it said.

The importance of Turkey-Israel relations

Netanyahu also “expressed regret over the deterioration in bilateral relations” and said he was committed to “working out the disagreements in order to advance peace and regional stability.”

The Israeli leader told Erdogan he had “good conversations with Obama about regional cooperation, and the importance of Turkey-Israel relations.”

Netanyahu also expressed “his appreciation” for an interview this week in which Erdogan said there had been a misunderstanding about comments he made branding Zionism “a crime against humanity.”

He also addressed the question of Israel’s blockade on Gaza, which has been in place since 2007 but significantly eased in recent years.

“Netanyahu also noted that Israel has removed several restrictions on the movement of civilians and goods in all of the Palestinian territories including Gaza and that will continue as long as the quiet will be maintained,” he said.

“Both leaders agreed to continue and work in order to improve the humanitarian situation in the Palestinian territories.”

- © AFP, 2013

Read next:

Comments (99 Comments)

• If Israel really is an apartheid state you would imagine that Arabs living within the state of Israel (i.e. excluding the West Bank, Golan, and Gaza) would prefer if the border was shifted to include Arab areas in a future Palestinian state, wouldn’t you? However, according to Kul Al-Arab, an Arab weekly, 83% of the citizens of the predominantly Arab, and might I add Islamist, city of Um Al-Fahm, located within the borders of Israel proper, proclaimed they would prefer to continue to live in Israel. The Deputy Speaker of the Knesset, Ahmad Tibi, is an Arab. One of the country’s Supreme Court judges is an Arab. Every state-run company must have at least one Arab Israeli on its board of directors. Arabs are also represented in the IDF, such as Major General Hussain Fares, Major General Yosef Mishlav and Lieutenant Colonel Amos Yarkoni. Israeli Arabs are free to live, work, socialise, etc., just like any other Israeli citizen. Arabic is also an official language in Israel. That doesn’t sound like apartheid to me.

• It’s great to see politicians acting like grown-ups for once.

• Daniel Fell, whom I suspect of being 5 years old, has got it into his head that Israel is illegally held Arab land. Will he kindly give us the official documents that declare that to be the case. Not from the Arab or Muslim sides, but from bodies like the UN. The creation of Israel came after the collapse of the Ottoman empire. Britain and France helped the Arabs create new countries in Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon. The League of Nations, a body of which Daniel may not have heard, gave Britain the task of creating a mandate territory in order to create two new states, one for the Arabs and one for the Jews now living legally in Palestine. The UN sanctioned a partition. In 1967, the UN also recognized that Israel had legally occupied the West Bank and Gaza (which had previously belonged to Jordan and Egypt respectively) in fighting a defensive war against several Arab countries. The UN resolution 242 made it clear that Israel could remain but that it had to vacate SOME of the territories (but not all) when the Arabs made peace, something they have steadfastly refused to do since 1948, whatever the price their people have to pay for that infantile refusal. Unless you are an international lawyer who can refute the claims made by a series of international bodies and lawyers that Israel has never been illegal, you are advised to say nothing in order not to embarrass yourself further.

• I smell a lot of trouble for Syria and then Iran.

• B. Lowe, your imagination runs ahead of your ability to read and understand. No official body has ever called Israel a ‘terrorist state’, any more than it is an ‘apartheid state’ or a ‘Nazi state’. All those accusations are pure fantasy, with no basis in what actually goes on in Israel. Israeli responses to terrorist ac ts or ac ts of war do not make Israelis terrorists. Israelis treat thousands of Palestinians in their hospitals every year, and have done so for decades. Does that make them terrorists? The Israeli Defence Force has been described by a leading British military commander as ‘the most moral army in the world’. Read the regulations governing the IDF, then read the regulations governing Hamas, Islamic Jihad, the PFLP, and other Palestinian terrorist groups. Look at the things Israeli troops have done in the defence of innocent Israeli citizens, then look at the things Palestinian terrorists have done over the years. Suicide bombers in buses, killing children. Rockets fired at school buses. Rockets fired at schools. Bombs in shopping malls, in restaurants, in a university cafeteria: all designed to cause the great damage to civilians, especially children. Two years ago, when two young Palestinians entered a Jewish house in Itamar, they cut the throats of a father, mother, 2 young boys, and a 4-month-old baby. Then tell me when Israelis have ever done those things. Your bigotry, combined with staggering ignorance, prevents you from engaging in any sort of rational discussion of these and other matters.

• Talk is cheap ! It was a total over reaction at the time ….

• Who over reaction? Turkeys?; by ceasing diplomatic relations! Or Israels? By boarding a private vessel on a humanitarian mission in international waters and murdering 9 civilians?

• Exactly Ruairi

• Humanitarian mission to where? Gaza is not and never has been in a humanitarian crisis, they didn’t need whatever that ship was carrying apart from the terrorists who were about to murder Israeli forces and got themselves killed in the process, would Turkey have apologized to Israel if their men had been killed? I think not, start waking out of your slumber people and see the truth, any trouble in Gaza is their own doing for voting terrorists in to govern them, Gaza is NOT in a Humanitarian Crisis, so they didn’t need a flotilla to bring humanitarian aid, that was just a publicity propaganda stunt by terrorists and terrorist loving fools.

• Ruairi, they did not ‘murder’ civilians. They shot armed militants who were beating the hell out of them with metal bars that had been fashioned for the purpose. The ship was full of lethal weapons. If the Israeli soldiers, many badly hurt, had not fired on their attackers, they would all have been killed. If that had happened, would you have been writing comments condemning the IHH or Turkey for their murders? The IDF troops went on board with paint-guns in order to avoid injury to any passengers, but they were immediately set on by men with terrorist inclinations and affiliations. The ship didn’t carry any real aid materials, just some junk that was of no use to anyone. The purpose of the flotilla was not to bring aid to the people of Gaza: if they had called peacefully at an Israeli port, the Israelis would have brought real aid into Gaza the next day, as they do every day of the week. There was no humanitarian mission, the waters were not international but Israeli waters, and the United Nations reported later that Israel’s naval blockade (which exists to prevent arms being smuggled into Gaza – something that has been tried many times) was entirely legal under international, in the same way that the Irish navy patrols our shores to prevent smuggling of drugs or weapons or people. The flotilla had an agenda. That was not set by the dupes who had gone along just to show how right-on they are, but by the Islamist militants who wanted to kill Israelis. On board, they chanted in Arabic: Khaybar, Khaybar, Ya Yahud, Jaysh Muhammad sa-ya’ud. I used to teach Arabic at university, and I can assure you that that is an open threat to Jews. That is the reality. It’s time you and others woke up to it and learned how to deal with it.

• @denis. Well said sir

• @ denis

Funny how you agree with UN decisions when they suit your agenda, but have a facebook ‘like’ called ‘UN palestine vote illegitimate’, isn’t it?

Thought I’d take a quick peek after you repeated all the same tired propaganda soundbites one after the other. Nothing like a nice unbiased opinion is there?

• @ paul. The ICRC, the de facto people to know a humanitarian crisis when they see one, have stated that the blockade of gaza caused a humanitarian crisis. Not good enough for you??

• Werejammin, think before you write. The Palestinians have rejected UN resolution after resolution. The most important was the 1947 UN General Assembly partition plan that proposed the creation of two neighbouring states, one for the Jews, the other for the Arabs. The Arabs responded by invading Israel on the day it proclaimed its independence. Nothing has been right since then. If the Palestinians (as they came to be known) had accepted the UN plan, there would have been peace. Instead, the Arabs have kept up an unending war against Israel, threatening to take control of the UN-created state and to commit genocide of all Jews living there. Necessarily, this has meant that many resolutions that threaten Israel’s security cannot be accepted by Israel. Don’t think about Israel’s non-acceptance. Recite daily the words of the infamous 1967 Khartoum Declaration by the Arab League: ‘No negotiations with Israel, no recognition of Israel, no peace with Israel’ and ask yourself why Israel cannot afford to abide by every ruling that undermines the safety of its citizens. Versions of the Declaration may be found in thew founding documents of Hamas (a branch of the notorious Muslim Brotherhood), Fatah, and Hizbullah.Get hold of a copy of the Israel-Arab Reader and look at these things. You may learn to see Israel in a different light.

• Jesus you Mosad lads are detrimented to sway public opinion towards Israel.
      That Facebook name your using, is it off one of the Irish passports ye used as your identity te kill yer man? ;-) see a lot of you lads trolling.

• @shane. Poor.

• So “denis”goes out of his way to defend Israel on any article he can find he’s no more Irish than obama is.

• What Shane ? That is a very racist comment. Because someone doesn’t agree with your narrow definitions they must not be Irish ,

What your really saying is Denis must be a Jew or a Protestant really.

• What narrow definitians have i giving????just have a quick look at his facebook page there and tell me im mad to think that maybe he mite not be a Irish man.

• FACT, Since 1948 when the State of Israel was recognised by the UN, Palestinian Arabs have increased in number from approx 800,000, to approx 7,000,000. In 1948 following the Israeli War of Independence, approx. 700,000 Palestinian Arabs became refugees. In the following years, approx. 900,000 Jews from Arab lands became refugees too, ‘encouraged’ to leave those countries. Do they have a right of return?
      Today, there is not a single Jewish refugee from that time; there are however hundreds of thousands of Palestinian Arab refugees, along with their families. Why? Why hasn’t the Arab League absorbed it’s brother Arabs? Why do they remain living in squalid and disgusting refugee camps?

• The real issue between Israel on one side and Hamas and the other Islamist radical groups on the other is not Palestinian land or Arab land, but Islamic land. Islamic doctrine says that any land that has ever been under Muslim rule but is ruled by infidels must be returned to Islamic rule. & that includes most of the Balkans & Spain. Arab states occupy 99 % of the area of the Middle East and all have Muslim majorities and governments. Israel, even with the West Bank included, occupies less than 1 % of the Middle East. But no matter how small, its existence cannot be tolerated by Islamists. Right now in the West Bank, Salam Fayad, the PM, is building the infrastructure of a state for the Palestinian people and there is relative calm there. It will take time but the basis for a future state that is now being created and will hopefully emerge in due course. Gaza on the other hand is in chaos. Hamas is, as their charter points out, not just opposed to Israel, but to all Jews globally. As things stand, negotiations and compromise with Hamas are impossible – you cannot negotiate with people that do not accept your right to life.

• There will only be a peaceful solution when there is a 2 state solution, one Palestinian and one Israeli. Israel has accepted that, but Hamas & co haven’t. The UN is useless with regards to the Middle-East. If there was a motion that Israel had killed Princess Diana & Michael Jackson, it would get support from the Block Voting Islamic states. The EU should take the lead in peace talks. There is hope for peace but BOTH sides need to be presssured into making concessions.

• Shane is obviously an anti-Semite and should be excluded from this debate for that alone. My name is Irish, and I have the birth certificate to prove I was born in Belfast. How Irish does ‘Shane King ‘ sound? But his feeling that only a Jew could defend Israel is pure antisemitism, and I hope he is hounded out of here by all good-thinking people.

• So what’s your connection with Israel denis.

• Shane King asks what my connection to Israel is. Why is that important? I’m not a Jew and I’m not an Israeli, but I recognize democracy and human rights and fair play when I see it, and I have seen it in Israel in bucketloads. You, I presume, have never set foot in a country you hate for God knows what reason. What is your connection to the Palestinians, Shane? I first visited Israel way before you were born (I’m guessing here), and I knew right away that it was a good place to be. I was a lecturer in Arabic and Islamic Studies, and I also have a PhD in Persian Studies, so I guess I know much more about the Middle East than you will ever know. I have lived in Iran and Morocco, I have studied the region, and I have written books and articles on related topics. I know all too well the difference between Israel and any of its neighbours. Let me give you a simple example. In Iran, the country’s native and largest religious minority is the Baha’is. The regime there hangs Baha’is for crimes like teaching morality classes for children. It has destroyed all the Baha’i holy places (all of which I have visited). It has dug up all the Baha’i cemeteries and disinterred the bodies. It forbids young Baha’is to attend university. It plans to destroy the Baha’i community. Baha’is are also considered heretics in every Arab country. In Israel, the Baha’is have been encouraged to build their international headquarters, to construct their three holiest shrines, and to create centres for study, archives, and other purposes. I have visited all these (they are a UNESCO World Heritage Site) on several occasions and everyone tells me they are glad to be in Israel, which protects them. Now, you tell me which of these countries I should love. Which countries should I consider upholders of human rights. Nobody in Israel goes into mosques and explodes bombs, as they do in Iraq, Afghanistan, Pakistan and elsewhere. Muslims are guaranteed the protection of their holy places under law. In Saudi Arabia, the Wahhabi regime has destroyed almost every single historical site with a connection to the Prophet Muhammad, his family, or his companions – because they can’t bear the thought that other Muslims might want to come to these sites and pray while on pilgrimage. Which country would you admire, Saudi Arabia or Israel? That’s my connection to Israel: as a believer in democracy, human rights, free speech and the rule of law, I know no other country in the Middle East that comes even close to it. Do you?

• Everything Denis has said here is discredited, not by me, but by an Israeli apology! If any of the nonsocial story you came out with about the Israelis not being armed & the boat being full of weapons; well the Israelis would not have apologised!
      Their apology highlights your lies. How ironic

• @Sean Mac An TSionnaigh. Sean, lad, your naivety shocks me. The events on the Mavi Marmara are well documented, and there is overwhelming evidence that Israel was not to blame. You may not have noticed, but this apology came during a visit to Israel by Barrack Obama. In politics, there is always give and take. At the moment, Obama badly wants to keep Turkey happy, because of the war in Syria and the risk of it spilling over. By pressurizing Bibi Netanyahu to make this apology, Obama will have helped smooth relations with Turkey’s Erdogan. In return, Netanyahu may have demanded something from Obama, possibly with regard to Iran. This is how politics works. Again, I say there was nothing to apologize for. In fact, Turkey should have apologized for Israel for letting the Mavi Marmara sail (it was most emphatically not on an aid mission) and for allowing members of an extremist Islamist group to commandeer and take control of the vessel, as has been attested by the Mavi Marmara’s first mate. The apology is a political gesture. You should note that Israel always shows willingness to bend over backwards to facilitate peace. It has pulled out of Gaza, Lebanon, and Sinai, and it has handed over 90% of the West Bank to Palestine Administration control. It is the real facts that matter, not the apology.

• I see TFM is still being allowed to copy/paste and plagarise to his/her hearts content.

Its laziness like that which gives the israeli propaganda machine such a bad name. If you’re going to try out-Gorebbels Goebbels you’ll need to follow the fascist work ethic properly.

• Thanks for your posts.

• Are you paid to write that shit?

• Werejammin. Your ignorance of reality is really worrying. Here is a statement by a South African who has lived through apartheid and knows Israel well: ‘‘In the State of Israel all citizens – Jew and Arab – are equal before the law. Israel has no Population Registration Act, no Group Areas Act, no Mixed Marriages and Immorality Act, no Separate Representation of Voters Act, no Separate Amenities Act, no pass laws or any of the myriad apartheid laws. Israel is a vibrant liberal democracy with a free press and independent judiciary, and accords full political, religious and other human rights to all its people, including its more than 1 million Arab citizens, many of whom hold positions of authority including that of cabinet minister, member of parliament and judge at every level — including that of the Supreme Court. All citizens vote on the same roll in regular, multiparty elections; there are Arab parties and Arab members of other parties in Israel’s parliament. Arabs and Jews share all public facilities, including hospitals and malls, buses, cinemas and parks. And, archbishop, that includes universities and opera houses.’

If you can read (which I doubt) this might tell you something. But it’s something you don’t want to hear. If you had been a student o0f mine, I would have marked your comment with a big zero for its denial of historical and present fact. If you aren’t willing to go to Israel and see for yourself and if you’re not willing to listen to people who know much more than you (I used to lecture on the Middle East), then you should shut up, because you aren’t helping anyone find peace, least of all the Palestinians.

• The “peace” activists .
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0LulDJh4fWI&feature=youtube_gdata_player

The IHH who sent the boat is being investigated for links to Al Qaeda in Denmark and Turkey. The naval blockade of Gaza was found to be legal by the UNited Nations Palmer Report. People here won’t like that,but if there were no threats to 3 million Israeli civilians there would be no wars and no blockade

5 rockets Fired at Southern Israeli civilians yesterday,while Obama was there. Irish media largely ignored the rocket attacks including the Journal :(

• Pity all your friends in that part of the world do not abide by ALL U.N resolutions. Then there might be a chance of some peace.

• The Mavi Marmara incident had nothing to do with UN resolutions. The Palmer Report was not a resolution. It simply affirmed that Israel’s naval blockade was and is legal under international law. As regards resolutions, why did the Arabs respond to the UN resolution that created two states in 1947 by invading Israel on the day of its independence, and why do they continue to say and write the words of the 1967 Khartoum Declaration: ‘No negotiations with Israel, no recognition of Israel, and no peace with Israel’. Then ask who does or does not carry out UN resolutions such as number 242.

• Good to note an even handed report on Israel. I do feel however that these convoys really are provocative and usually people by Irish people who do not know the first thing about Israel. Hezbollah and the PLO are no shrinking violets. Terrorists yes, peace makers no.

• I would say that Denis Maceoin has won the debate tonight.

• Go to Israel, if they doesn’t frighten you too much, and find the apartheid. Arab Israelis have precisely the same rights as Jews. They vote in the same elections, they serve in parliament, they often oppose the government and are free to do so. They serve on the Supreme Court. There are no apartheid laws as there were in South Africa, no pass books, nothing like that. An Ethiopian woman has just been made Miss Israel 2013. Arabs eat in the same restaurants as Jews, they ride on the same buses (or can do so if they choose), they swim in the same swimming pools, cavort on the same beaches, play in Israeli football clubs, are treated on the same wards in the same hospitals as Jews (where thousands of Palestinians from the West Bank are also treated). Exactly where are Chemical Ali or Baghdad Bob in all this? If you can’t face an obvious reality, you should go elsewhere. Nelson Mandela’s lawyer stated not long ago that there was nothing resemblance at all between apartheid South Africa and Israel. I guess he knows a lot more about the subject than you do. Is being a total idiot comfortable?

• Political posturing.Means nothing and so it should.
    The people on that boat were no humanitarians.
    I don’t see them delivering “aid” to Syria.
    You forgo your citizenship when you act in the fashion they did.

• Always disappointing when posts turn to personal attacks. (insert colloquial expression) great result against sweden. What about coronation st?

• Yes, an apology now.
    Better to ask forgiveness after than ask permission first.
    They’ve got what they wanted, the rest is just window dressing.
    Usual craic.
    Oh dear, I think I’ve been anti something or other.

• And there is no way that b Lowe can make a better argument.

• B-Lowe me

• You are coming across as a idiot! Denis has run circles around you and al, you can do is insult people.

• Denis has used the same scripted responses that they always use,have a look around YouTube in the comments sections of videos you will see the same answers.lads the truth is 3/4 of the people of Ireland don’t support Israel, ye can get together and come here as part of the Israel/Ireland group and knock out the facts sheet but ye will never win us over ye are so quick to use the anti-semit card its gas.

• @shane. Nobody used the anti semitic card as you call it. Using blanket statements and spurious youtube references against very calm reasoned facts doesn’t make for a good debate. I dont think anyones mind will be changed when it refuses to listen with an open one. I only got interested in the question of israel/ palestine when I saw a pslestine supporters demonstration outside the mansion house a few years ago. I asked what was going on and was told that israel had no right to exist. I replied well arent they as entitled to a home as much as the next man. I was told that I had obviously been ‘brainwashed by some f@#@ jew’
      That to me wasn’t an adequate response so I went to the library and picked up some books. and here we are :)

• B Lowe, Denis has a more convincing argument then you will ever have.

• No. Check your facts.

• B Lowe, you must be an Israeli plant because Denis here is making you look incredibly stupid.

• About time too. Wonder how the pro-Israeli lobby are going to handle this one?

• @brian. Who doesnt want peace in the region?

• Brian, no it’s question of how the anti-Israel lobby are going to handle this.

• Everyone wants peace in the region.
      But unfortunately there not goin to have it. :-(

• Who said anything about not wanting peace?

• Israel has one of the most powerful military machines in the world. Why would Hamas & their pay-masters in Iran continue to antagonise it by firing rockets at its civilians unless they wanted a reaction?
      Hamas deliberately and cynically engineer conflict as a way of diverting attention away from Syria and Iran. It fires missiles from within inhabited civilian areas specifically to force retaliation that will cause casualties. Those casualties are then held up to the world as examples of Israeli aggression, and those who want to find fault with Israel are given a cause to promote.

• It’s kind of funny how the Eirigi/32CSM/Palestinian solidarity bandwagon crowd resort to accusing those who make their slogans about “apartheid” or “genocide” look ridiculous by using facts in their comments of being “Mossad spys or Israeli plants” imagine that!! not everybody believes your lies.

• True Tom the anti Israel eirigi and all do spout alot of BS but now to be fair im normally pro Israel (not on settlement expansion thats just wrong) but on defence from hamas and iran im very pro Israel but….. now in fairness what happened that night was avoidable. Sure the commandos were attacked and rightly shot back but what were they expecting on boarding? Flowers??

Thing is they had other ways to stop or disable boat. Boarding should be last resort.

If you see flag protests in belfast do you walk into middle of them with tri colour and expect nothing to happen?

They are right to apologise because they were wrong to board it.

This from pro westerm person

• ““On behalf of Israelis he apologised for any deaths those operational mistakes might have caused,””

So, his troops illegally boarded a vessel in international waters with live weapons as ordered, killing 9 people including a 19 year old kid shot point blank in the head while on the ground, and he’s referring to these actions as ‘operational mistakes’?

Some apology. Its akin to illegally entering somebodys home, killing them when they try to stop you, and then only apologizing for the burglary going wrong, not the act itself. Wheres the apology for piracy on the high seas, kidnapping of passengers in international waters, taking them against their will to israel where they were forced to sign documents against their wishes, confiscation of all recording equipment and media relevant to the incident from the passengers, unacceptable treatment while in custody etc??

• @werejammin: im sure the turks considered all this before accepting the apology. They have. You should too.

• Everything you have said is completely false. Read my reply to Ruairi O’Sullivan above. There was no piracy: the UN declared Israel’s blockade as 100% legal under international law. There was no kidnapping of anyone, as the non-militants will attest. No-one was taken prisoner. But armed men working for a major Islamist/terrorist organization, who had armed themselves beforehand an d had issued repeated threats to Jews were far from being the innocents you would like them to have been. Israeli soldiers were nearly beaten to death and their attackers suffered the consequences. Your entire understanding of this incident betrays a serious lack of knowledge (or willful ignorance) of Middle East history, and deliberately ignores the wars and terrorist attacks on Israel for over 60 years, which make security the uppermost concern for ordinary Israelis who try to live their daily lives without being murdered in their beds (like the Fogel family in Itimar). Israel treats thousands of Palestinians in its own hospitals every year. Israelis bear no malice towards the Palestinians, but they have a right to prevent arms smuggling that brings in weapons that are so often used against Israeli children. Do you want to prevent Israelis keeping their lives safe from the monsters who prey on them? If that’s your intention, you are scarcely fit to be considered a proper human being.

• Denis I think a better question to ask is how many dead jews would keep them happy. The usual rampant moral relativism is par for the course in our fair isle.

• There is no apartheid in Israel, period. There is none in the West Bank, period. If you had lived in Northern Ireland through the Troubles, you would know why the army set up roadblocks, why everyone going into a shop was frisked, why there were strict measures in place to prevent arms smuggling. That was not apartheid, that was done to save people’s lives. That is what Israel does in the West Bank. Their security has brought better conditions for Palestinians than all the efforts of the Arab world and Iran to protect the lives of their own citizens.

• I would like to paste in a fresh article by Barry Rubin, an informed commentator on Middle East affairs. His insights on this ‘apology’ shed considerable light on the political background and the reality of the Israeli gesture. It should be read carefully and without scepticism, and without any of the clever-alecky remarks that have so characterized debate (and its absence) on these pages. Here it is:

Did Israel `Apologize’ to Turkey? Well, No, Not Exactly

By Barry Rubin

Israel apologizes to Turkey, reads every headline. That simply isn’t true in the sense it is taken to imply. To understand what happened one must examine the long negotiations on this issue.

The issue began when several ships were sent to break the Israeli sanctions on the Gaza Strip in May 2010. These sanctions were put on by Israel—Egypt, then under the government of President Husni Mubarak, had its own restrictions—against a radical Islamist regime in the Gaza Strip that openly rejected peace, used terrorism, and called for genocide against the Jews and the elimination of Israel.

This flotilla was not interested in helping the people of Gaza. It refused to land the cargoes in Israel and have them passed across the border after inspection. Rather, the goal was to help Hamas. A key role in the flotilla was played by the IHH, an Islamist group that has been involved in terrorism, backed by Turkey’s government.

These ships were intercepted by Israel’s navy and after warnings were seized. On all of the ships this happened without any injuries except on the Mavi Marmara, where radical jihadists with weapons had sworn to fight. They attacked the arriving soldiers, injured several, and took a couple of soldiers hostage. At that time the soldiers opened fire and several Turkish citizens were killed.

It is important to understand that the flotilla issue was not the cause of Israel-Turkish problems, which had begun long before. The real basis was the election of an Islamist government in Turkey. Discussions inside the Israeli government for years had known Prime Minister Mehdi Erdogan’s hatred for Israel but did not want to be seen as responsible for any breakdown of relations.

During the talks, Erdogan made three demands:

–Israel must apologize completely.

–Such an apology implies a legal responsibility to pay reparations.

–Erdogan insisted that Israel drop the embargo against the Gaza Strip.

Israel rejected these demands and instead offered:

–To say it regretted the clash and the loss of life.  This is like saying: If I offended anyone I’m sorry.

–It offered to pay voluntarily, as a humanitarian gesture not as part of a guilty plea, the families of those killed.  

–Israel rejected any change on its policy toward the Gaza Strip.

Erdogan angrily rejected Israel’s offer.

Now, a compromise has been reached, apparently with some help from President Barack Obama. The agreement, which includes restoring normal bilateral relations, has been portrayed as some sort of Israeli surrender.

That is simply not true. The agreement is much closer to Israel’s position. There is no change on Israel’s strategic policy toward the Gaza Strip at all. While the word “apology” appears in Netanyahu’s statement, it is notably directed at the Turkish people, not the government and is of the sorry if your feelings were hurt variety.

Moreover, Israel denied that it killed the Turkish citizens intentionally, a situation quite different from what Erdogan wanted, and offered to pay humanitarian assistance to families.

Should Israel have expressed regret when it should instead receive an apology from the Turkish government for helping to send terrorists to create a confrontation? On purely moral grounds, no. Yet as I pointed out Israel did not abandon its long-standing position on the issue. It does not want an antagonism with the Turkish people nor one that will continue long after Erdogan and his regime are long out of office. Perhaps this was undertaken to make Obama happy and in exchange for U.S. benefits. But what has happened is far more complex than onlookers seem to be realizing.   

Perhaps these seeming word games and niceties are beyond the interest or comprehension of many people, but everyone involved directly on this issue knows exactly what is happening. Erdogan knows very well that this was not a Turkish victory—except in public relations– though Israel won’t object to letting it be claimed as such.   

Israel acted to try to reduce the tension with Turkey but without any illusions that the Erdogan regime would now be friendly. Indeed, there were implications that Erdogan was breaking his commitment on the deal. Immediately afterward, he said that a legal case against Israeli officers for alleged responsibility in the death of the Turks would continue and he was not yet sending back his ambassador to Israel. This might be posturing for a few hours or a real deal-breaker. We will see.

Obama’s role in this deal is not clear. (I have made clear to readers that I’m not just bashing Obama reflexively but I will also continue to analyze his actions as accurately as possible.) Did he put any pressure on Erdogan or Obama? Did he promise either or both sides some benefits for making a deal? Not yet clear.

The danger is that this is the kind of arrangement that is all too common in the region. The media proclaim progress; the political leaders say what they want; but nothing changes in reality. One possibility is that Obama doesn’t understand (or doesn’t care) how deeply Erdogan’s anti-Israel feeling runs just as he doesn’t understand how deeply that is true for the Muslim Brotherhood.  

Still, this deal is clearly in U.S. interests since it supposedly heals a rift between two countries that are close allies to itself in Washington’s eyes. As I said above, let’s see if this deal sticks or if there is any progress in fixing Israel-Turkey relations in the coming weeks

• Apoligize for WHAT??? For terrorists using human rights organisations as cover(as terrorists hiding behind civilians in Gaza while firing rockets into Israel) U folks from the outside just DON’T get it…nothing explaind to you will never make you see what’s going on here-because you don’t WANT to see it…of course it sounds horrible when said that a small people is fighting against a heavily armed nation DO U REALLY BELIVE THAT ????????.., but I’ll tell you this: Don’t come crying to Israel when u all be under Sharia law in a few years…

• Alangb 22/03/13 #

So that’s what Obama said to Netanyahu during their meeting!!! You see you have to get the Turks onside if you’re to launch a Syrian/Iranian attack, after all the US needs the bases. As one commentator says above “I smell a lot of trouble for Syria and then Iran” Sad but true…

• Well done all involved

• “There is no apartheid in Israel, period.”

Anybody else have a picture of Comical Ali/Baghdad Bob in their head when they read that?

• B Lowe 22/03/13 #

Re Denis.
    You must be a plant.

The same Ethiopian women who were given injections by Israelis to stop them getting pregnant in Israel?

I repeat, Israel is a terrorist state and treats human beings worse than dogs. You can spout all the Israeli army propaganda you want.

• Are ye looking for a few Irish passports lads or can ye sort them out yerselves

• Funny that after three years, this apology comes almost straight away after Netanyahu retains power after the recent election. Coincidence, I think not..

• Israel is an illegally held territory. Occupied Arab land.

• Why was my comment deleted

• It is a late apolygy tho, does Israil have an expectation from Turkey in a way they are trying to play innocent? The time will show how sorry they are…

• They knock out the same facts sheet on YouTube they just change around the names.

• @ denis.

Theres also quotes from actual south african leaders, not just token citizens who are telling you what you want to hear, which state israel practises apartheid. FFS the architect of south african aparthied himself has stated it.

• Yeah i heard that too.

Add New Comment