TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

“Law must be changed” for undocumented workers

Deputy Aodhán Ó Ríordáin said he raised the issue with Minister Richard Bruton after a recent ruling against payment to an exploited migrant worker.

FILE: Muhammad Younis pictured at a protest to mark International Day for the Abolition of Slavery
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

THE LAW MUST be changed for undocumented workers, a Labour TD has said.

Labour TD and vice chair of the jobs, social protection and education committee, Aodhán Ó Ríordáin, alongside Robert Dowds TD, met with Minister for Enterprise, Jobs and Innovation, Richard Bruton TD yesterday on the issue.

At the meeting they discussed the recent ruling in the Hussein v Labour Court case, said Deputy Ó Riordáin.

On Friday 31 August 2012, the High Court overturned a Labour Court ruling ordering the payment of €92,000 to an exploited migrant worker, Mohammad Younis.

Explained Deputy Aodhán Ó Ríordáin:

Younis had secured the award against Amjad Hussein – trading as Poppadom Restaurant – for what the High Court described as “appalling exploitation” which included working 77 hours a week for as little as 51cent an hour.
Judge Gerard Hogan stated in his ruling that the Employment Permits Act 2003 had produced ‘consequences which were not foreseen or envisaged.  Specifically it may not have been intended by the Oireachtas that undocumented migrant workers should effectively be deprived of the benefit of all employment legislation by virtue of his illegal status…’.

Speaking after his meeting, Deputy Ó Ríordáin said:

I have stated my position to the Minister that the law must be changed to protect people most at risk of exploitation and humiliation. From my meeting I am reassured to hear that the Minister has agreed to look into this issue as a matter of urgency.

He said that he “was appalled to learn of the unintended consequences that were attached to the Employment Permits Act 2003″.

“It is vital that we fix these anomalies immediately and I will continue to raise this matter with the Minister until all those who are in need of protection are in receipt of the same,” said the TD.

At the time of the High Court decision, Gráinne O’ Toole of the Migrant Rights Centre Ireland said:

A fundamental problem with the Employment Permits Act has been uncovered.  This is devastating, not only for Mr Younis, but for all undocumented migrants who are now left without protection against exploitation under Irish labour law.  It is a sad day for Ireland when a man who suffered extreme exploitation is denied justice while his exploiter walks free.

Younis himself said he was “in a black hole and devastated by this news”.

Read: Migrant rights group says High Court decision leaves undocumented workers vulnerable>

Read: Restaurant worker awarded €86,000 after years of forced labour in Dublin>

Read next:

Comments (32 Comments)

• Anyone who knowingly employs someone illegal, mistreatment or not, should be prosecuted.

• Are these legal or illegal immigrants? Surely if they are legal they must be helped, and if they are illegal they must be deported?

• I know a guy who was in Australia for 15 years, had a house, boat, car etc but because he had entered the country they took everything off of him and deported him. It was tough but that’s the law there.

• I hate the counter argument about the “un-documented” Irish abroad, I worked abroad and was undocumented but I knew if anything happened like in the article it was my tough luck it’s a chance you take, but to go running to the local authorities giving out at your illegal employment isn’t what you signed up for is a bit rich. If you have a problem with it go home and make a call to authorities exposing the employer but don’t expect compensation because you were exploited doing something you weren’t supposed to do in the firsts place

• The article says he was working 77 hours a week for 51c an hour. I’m not sure many Irish abroad are in similar circumstances. Might take quite a while to save up the air fare home.

• @albert he wasn’t chained to the cooker he had the choice to leave the minute he received such low pay, he could of gone to a consulate to receive help in getting home. I’m not saying what happened to him was right I’m just saying he can’t expect the full rights of a labourer when working illegally

• It was his cousin, his employer who was supposed to pay the compensation. He wasn’t looking for any money from the state! There are many who came in legally during the boom years and had their passports taken by employers who then failed to renew their work permits.

• You have to enforce the law before you change it, and if it was enforced it wouldn’t need to be changed.

• Many migrant workers started working here legally but their employers did not renew the work permits as was their duty as they sought the employee initially.

• This …exploited migrant worker …was exploited by his cousin in the easiest scam of all time to beat the employment visa rules and immigration Rules that are quite tight to get round. You advertise a position such as chef or translator in some obscure culinary skill and language and you place that advertisement in a national newspaper such as the Irish Times or the Examiner and wait for the applications not to roll in and then you apply for a work visa in respect of your cousin beacuse surprisingly he has the skills you’re looking for! Simple.
      We have countless thousands of these workers here and you’ll find that their extended families have joined them just for a quick holiday!
      A similar way to bring people in and make money from them is to enrol them in an English language course and then they just disappear into the background and work mainly for cash. Surprisingly there are rumoured to be a hundred thousand of these and they contribute nothing to the State from an economic perspective as they ship all of their monies home on a weekly basis with many of them living ten to a house.
      Sorting out this misuse of immigration laws would free up thousands of jobs in this time if difficulty.

• Had a friend in Australia was there years got found out they did not even let him pick up his stuff clear out his house and bank acc .He had to pay for the 2 nights he stayed in prison and his flight home .I 100% his brother had to pay for it as he had a visa

• Illegal workers should have no recourse to employment protection as they have no permission to work. Therefore their employment is invalid.

• This guy in question came in on a working visa which expired & his employer didnt re-new despite pleas from the guy. Thats the jist I get from the other articles. Legal or illegal he was treated as a slave which im sure is against some UN convention somewhere against human rights. Prisoners get treated better than this guy did. Just my POV.

• Mohammed Younis….Which part of the EU is he from again?

• Racists comments mark please point them out ,,, how is checking border control racists , please don’t talk crap

• The blame lies with deptt of work permit, which issued the work permit in the first place. What are this chef’s qualifications, which hotel or restaurant he worked in, prior to securing a permit here ?

And perhaps he was paid in cash and kept quiet, until cousins fell out…

• 77hours @ 51cent is approx 35euro. That’s only 6pints in Temple Bar, before 10pm!! All illegals need to be kicked out. We don’t want to become the next London – the anti Cheers – where nobody knows your name.

• Some nice racists comments here. I truly hope well see a few abused Irish over the next few years to refresh your memories again…

• Mick Lennon – shocking personal comment. Please avoid being offensive especially with such a cute avatar!

Also, there seems to be some confusion between the use of the word ‘migrant’ and the word ‘immigrant’ A migrant is a national citizen who moves around a country (or state e.g. Europe) for work. An immigrant is a non-national and has to have appropriate supervision of their presence in a given country and, as mentioned, should hold the appropriate visa. All comes down to appropriate supervision by the authorities really. Where are all the bureaucrats when ye need them??

Add New Comment