TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Verbal abuse “can deaden someone from the inside out”

Living with long-term abuse can cause mental health problems, but it is often difficult for people experiencing it to verbalise what they are going through, a new campaign shows.

VICTIMS OF VERBAL abuse can suffer from mental and physical health issues – but it can be hard for them to name what they are experiencing,  say Sonas Housing and Meath Women’s Refuge, who have launched their new campaign, Killing Me Softly With His Words, this week.

The campaign aims to raise awareness of the affects of verbal abuse such as name-calling, insults, humiliation, intimidation, threatening comments and mind-games.

Rachel Mullen, chairperson of Sonas Housing, said that verbal abuse “can in effect slowly deaden someone from the inside out”.

If a woman is experiencing physical abuse she can name what is happening and there are bruises and scars to prove it. Verbal abuse can have a hugely debilitating effect emotionally and psychologically but because of the lack of tangible evidence it can be harder for women to name it or to show its impact.

She explained that verbal abuse does not show on the outside, so it can be difficult for victims to say that they have been abused.

No one goes to A&E because they have been humiliated and ridiculed and it’s difficult to file a complaint to the guards to say that your partner isolates you from your friends.

She added that reports show that psychological abuse has been linked to anxiety, panic attacks and suicidal thoughts, and that 35 per cent of domestic violence victims who apply for a Sonas house experience mental health problems from living in abusive situations.

The stress caused by living with long-term abuse can also have long-term health consequences such as high blood pressure and asthma.

One in five women experience domestic abuse in Ireland, according to Women’s Aid, while the HSE said that by a woman experiences at least 35 separate incidences of abuse before telling another person about it.

Deirdre Murphy, manager of Meath Women’s Refuge, said that it is important for victims of domestic violence to recognise verbal abuse as a part of the overall pattern of abuse they are experiencing.

Women living with controlling partners may have internalised a lot of the verbal abuse and believe they are the problem because they have been continually told that by their abusive partner. What makes it even more difficult to recognise is that often an abusive perpetrator may quickly switch between verbally abusive and more caring behaviour which means the woman is often unsure of what to expect and continually off-balance.

For more information Sonas Housing, visit its website, and for Meath Women’s Refuge, visit their website.

Domestic violence in Ireland

According to the National Office for the Prevention of Domestic, Sexual and Gender-based Violence (Cosc):

• 14 per cent of women and 6 per cent of men suffer severe domestic abuse
  • 29 per cent of women (1 in 3) and 5 per cent of men (1 in 20) who are abused report this to the Gardaí

Helplines and groups available to men include Amen and the Dublin Rape Crisis Centre.

Read: More than 550 women use domestic violence services in just one day>

Read: Domestic violence services ‘at tipping point’>

Read next:

Comments (21 Comments)

• While raising awareness is a good thing, surely this is should be part of a wider campaign highlighting the negative effects of bullying across society as a whole and not so gender specific.

• Verbal abuse is not just a domestic problem. Just ask anyone working in frontline services such as retail, call centres or A&E, social welfare offices.

• It’s lucky only women suffer verbal abuse and not men!! For Christ sake at least acknowledge that men are as susceptible to this as much as women.

• we all know that men suffer domestic abuse and violence too, nobody has ever said otherwise. the differences are that it happens to men much less frequently, men are more able to protect themselves and are therefore much less likely to suffer severe injury andmen are usually financially independent and so more able to escape the situation.

• Aoife Barry 13/02/12 #

Hi – while the article was referring to a campaign aimed at women, at no point in the article does it say that only women are victims of verbal abuse and that only men are the abusers.

To clarify things even further, I have added details to the end of the article that show that both genders experience abuse and have also added helpline details for men to call if they are experiencing abuse.

(Also, can you please take note of our comments policy http://www.thejournal.ie/comments-policy/ ?)
      Thanks
      Aoife

• I never said it didn’t say that women were the only victims of this I said at least acknowledge that men are as well. I would prefer you didn’t delete my other comment as it wasn’t abusive and had a very high green thumb count. Censoring readers comments that you may not like doesnt do much for the credibility of the journals comment section.

• Fair play shit you not!
      it seems that the trendy cause supporters have added another weapon to there arsenal.. censoring

• @Anita There is no basis whatsoever for saying it doesn’t happen to men more often than women. The idea that men are better able to defend themselves is nonsense. Men are more likely to get hit, but may be less likely to have an injury that shows. There are very, very few shelters that will take battered men or battered men with children. And the shame that goes along with admitting that your wife is abusive tends to keep men locked in these situations until they lose their tempers and react physically.

Then the man is the “bad guy” because the years of verbal and emotional abuse leading up to the hit don’t count as much as a photo of a bloody lip. Your prejudice is showing.

• jrbmc 13/02/12 #

Sorry do men not suffer verbal abuse too? Killing me softly with his words!!!! It’s shouldn’t be his words or her words but your words! Verbal abuse and domestic violence are not just one sided.

• jrbmc 13/02/12 #

@Anita are you sure the figures are much less??? Even if they are , are men not entitled to the same help, protection, madia coverage , awareness campaigns?

• Men ARE entitled to the same help etc and there are organisations out there looking after that eg, “Amen”. This particular organisation and campaign happens to be for women. and yes i am sure the figures are much less, as mentioned in a comment further on – over 100 women have been murdered in Ireland over the last 10 years, by men. that said, it’s hardly a competition.

• jrbmc 13/02/12 #

Sorry do men not suffer verbal abuse too from women? Verbal abuse and domestic violence is all one sided!

• Suffered by this for years the hardest thing was no one Believed me it would have been easier to have gotten marks from physical abuse I’m do pleased with this campaign

• In fairness the report was commissioned by Sonas who are a society for helping victims of domestic abuse. I think we all know that the vast majority of these victims are women, though not exclusively. What I find wrong here is that a report needs to be funded to show that abused people feel bad and have psychological / health issues. Would it not have been a much better use of their time and effort to come up with a strategy to help people in abusive situations to cope and remove themselves from the cycle of abuse. These people need to be given a mechanism to re-empower themselves and recognise what they need to do. Show them a way out rather than point out to them another way in which they are victims. When a person perceives themself as a victim it is much harder to break out because of the loss of confidence. Instead of building a trench for them by compounding their victimhood with another report, show them where they can go for help and support and how to get there.

• Why the vitriol? If we all agree that verbal abuse and bullying are terrible things, why are so many men commenting on this article so angry at it being pointed out? If you feel like the article is one sided then put your side, but to view this article as anti male is way off the mark. This article is anti abusive male and anybody who is sympathetic to the trauma suffered by a woman at the hands or words of an abusive man would also sympathise with a man who has been abused by a woman.

• Great to have this highlighted

• “killing me softly with his words” is an outrageous and insulting title for this campaign.

It amazes me how anti men all these dabates and campaigns have become, rather than focussing on the issue.

Can you just imagine the reaction and outrage if something similar was done with a one-sided focus on women.

This surely will be challenged under discrimination legislation or the advertising code.

• @ DubInNaas Over 100 women have been murdered in Ireland in the past 10 years by men. Fact. This campaign seeks to highlight the psychological trauma experienced by women from verbal abuse alone.Why seek to diminish the message of this campaign by raising the other legitimate issues around males who experience abuse? The people who deal with societal problems like this “hands on” cannot afford the luxury of adolescent-type debate above. Be part of the solution and learn to cultivate empathy for your own fellow man and woman.

• What has that got to do with anything? Pulling a statistic like that means nothing, women kill men you know. Also I think you can ask any teenage girl if they know of girls that subject other girls to psychological bullying in school, it is something that they specialise in from an early age. Women are well capable of subjecting men to psychological abuse!! It happens a lot!!

• @noel shine

What a patronising response to my comment.
      Where do you think you get the right to address me like that ?

Making fallacious claims as you do to support you point undermines your very argument.

Please address the point at hand;
      Everyone agrees that verbal abuse is corrosive, nasty and disgusting.

Positioning this as a ‘male’ problem is very wrong

• Fair play shit you not!
    it seems that the trendy cause supporters have added another weapon to their arsenal.. censoring

Add New Comment