TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 19 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Campaigners seek Ward Union hunt to be reinstated

Rural Ireland Says Enough (RISE) is calling for government TDs to support the rights of their “large rural support base”.

Riders from the North Kildare on the last hunt of the season in 2010.
Image: (James Horan/Photocall Ireland)

CAMPAIGNERS IN FAVOUR of protecting rural sport held a rally last weekend at the Irish Game and Country Fair at Birr Castle.

Rural Ireland Says Enough (RISE) is seeking to have the repeal of the Ward Union Hunt ban honoured.

The campaigners also want firearms licensing addressed and stated that it is monitoring the progress of the animal welfare legislation going through both Houses of the Oireachtas.

The RISE website states that the organisation has been assured that the Animal Health and Welfare Bill will not affect hunting in Ireland but organisations like Animal Rights Action Network (ARAN) are pushing for tougher laws to be introduced.

Members of RISE include the National Association of Regional Game Councils, Hunting Association Ireland and Countryside Alliance Ireland.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie David Wilkinson of the Hunting Association Ireland said:

What we are concerned about at the moment is the Animal Welfare Act that is coming down the line. Minister Simon Coveney has committed to us that there will not be any measures in the Act that will prevent hunting in Ireland.

However, the animal rights groups have picked up on this and are lugging hard to have certain activities banned under the act. The demonstration we held at the weekend had a huge turn out – so we are just reminding people that we are still here and will continue to campaign to ensure that the commitment given by government will be upheld.

He added that the amendment stopping the Ward Union hunt “still stands but we are continually looking for that repeal to be upheld”. Mr Wilkinson said:

I am involved in farming and rural development and even in this recession I can see that hunting has a real benefit to the real economy. It also provides a great outlet for young people – it stops them from hanging around and gets them involved in a group sport.

Hunting lobby: Fine Gael broke election deal to lift hunt ban>

Animal rights group to march in Dublin>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (74 Comments)

• A lot of our UK friends come over here for these hunts, because its banned there.

• Stag hunting does not have its roots or traditions in rural Ireland but is a throw-back to Mad King George and our colonial past. It is not pursued, desired or missed by country people or rural Ireland but an elitist and cruel pursuit previously practised in one part of County Meath – so who exactly is missing out here? As someone who comes from and lives in rural Ireland I find that most people are genuinely concerned and supportive of animal welfare and that includes those who like to take a shot (as my own late father did). He always cared for wildlife and treated the dogs he kept especially well. It is a mistake in my view to bundle fishing, shooting and even the regular fox hunt with the Ward Union Stag Hunt, which is if you pardon the mixed methaphor, a completely different kettle of fish. Stag hunting has no basis in rural Irish tradition; cannot by any stretch of the imagination be seen to be representative of rural Ireland or the traditional lifestyle and activities enjoyed and cherished in rural Ireland. There is NO commitment by this Government to overturn the Ward Union Hunt ban and I for one would vigorously oppose any attempt to have stag hunting re-introduced to this country.
    It’s a relic of our colonial past and it’s best leave it where it is…consigned to history!!

• The stags of the ward union hunt are probably cared for better than and dog in the country !!! Ignorance of the reality will always blur this debate. Hunting in Ireland is not an elitist sport .. It is portrayed as one which helps fuel the anti-hunting lobby. By the way have you ever witnessed the actions of cruelty towards horses perpetrated by anti hunting groups …

• A Senator that makes sense, now that’s freaky

• Dave you first post side that this topic was best discussed by people who understand the sport but you haven’t shut up since!!!

Which is it?

• 28/08/12 #

Senator YOU and your fellow Senators and the Senad should be consinged to history,as the biggest waste of space,money and oxygen if this is all you can actually be bothered getting het up under the collar about!!

Forget about “vigourisouly opposing” the country being bankrupted,corrupt bankers and other” KClub criminals” walzing around the place,freely spending with your fellow politicans and telling us peasents to tighten our belts and pay up or Ye’ll be chucked out of your houses so our overlords in Frankfurt and Brussels can coin it in from the non saying treacherous Irish Dail and Senad and all you can do is be worried about a few Stags being chased about Meath???

You are an UTTER DISGRACE Sir!! Have you no SHAME to be worried about such a trivial matter when the nation is on its knees???You have just proven to me and hopefully the rest of this community that you and your likes are nothing more than an expensive dalliance of naive,wanna bes,has beens,also rans , ivory tower intellectuals,and Dail seat warmers that cost us millions and should be chuucked out onto Kildare street in the morning,while a demolition crew demolishes that wing of the Dail.

• Mr abusive no name commenter – I for one will vote if a referendum takes place to abolish the Senate.

Until that happens this man has every right to have a strong opinion on this issue and is as entitled to voice his opinion and you, me and everyone else.

The economic situation is exceptionally bad here but surely someone as opinionated as yourself realises that other issues cannot be forgotten about?

• “It also provides a great outlet for young people – it stops them from hanging around and gets them involved in a group sport.”
    That has got to be one of the weakest arguments I’ve ever seen. The GAA etc must be shitting themselves! Although I suppose it would facilitate the horses hanging around. ;)

• Actually, they’ve come up with weaker arguments: They used to claim that the stags enjoyed the chase, just as coursing clubs swear that hares love being hounded by pairs of salivating dogs in a wired enclosure. After a lot of brandys or pints (respectively…the two “sports” have different fan bases) some of them perhaps believe that.

• 29/08/12 #

Gosh John
      You know a Hell of alot about the habits of these people..You must hobnob with them to be THAT intimate with al their drink habits??Or is it just somthing you belive to be true like most of your sweeping statements???

• would love to see one of those lads being chased cross country by a mob on horseback

• Yes teaching the youth of today to kill a poor animal for the Craic is far better than having them hang round street corners. There was a hunt on where I live not so long ago. Farmers fences were destroyed gates were left open and livestock got out. Not something I would teach a kid to be appropriate!

• And did the farmer make a complaint??as he should if such damage was caused!! I often hear about hunts causing damage to fencing and gates and disturbing livestock but see hardly any real complaints about it, it seems to be automatically presumed that when you see a hunt if is causing damage and disturbance yet the supposed victims of such ransacking never seem to complain about it

• Maybe its for the same reason people don’t report other crime, they think it would be virtually impossible for the guards to find the person responsible and the whole thing would be a waste of their and the guards time.

• If a hunt caused damage it would not be impossible to find a culprit, the hunt in general could be found responsible as opposed to a specific individual as the hunts have a duty of care and responsibility to the lands they use. Irregardless of people’s opinions on whether culprits for crime will ever be caught that should not be used as an excuse for not reporting something, failure to report a crime portrays an inaccurate picture of an area and leads to creating inaccurate projections on what policing is required in an area

• The kids involved in this crap are not the type of kids you’ll find on street corners anyway so that’s a fairly dumb argument

• Richie Richie Richie will you explain to me and the rest of us obvious dumb people how the Hunt can be found responsible for damage caused? What would any charge/ summons read?

Just curious

• “Teaching the youth of today”… Huh? What have the youth of today got to do with any of this? Also, the object of the hunt isn’t to kill the animal and, save exceptional circumstances much the same as with horse racing, it rarely happens.

It’s perfectly acceptable to be against something, such as hunting, but please can people at least gain some knowledge of what it is they’re against.

• Well Vinny firstly I don’t presume you to be dumb of anyone else, note that I said “could” be prosecuted, any case would be brought to the DPP for a decision, but for your information organisations and companies have been named on such documents you mention before so it is not a unique situation, as to how it would exactly read I do not know I have never seen such a document in the flesh. Hunts have had to compensate for damage caused before, I have given an opinion on what I know

• An organisation called Farmers against Foxhunting is lobbying for a switch to drag hunting by all hunts as this would avoid damage to crops, fencing, and livestock…

• Where exactly is ” rural ” Ireland? It seems to be a state of mind rather than a place. Just asking!

• Rural Ireland is that which has not been destroyed by greed and development, where the traditions and pastimes of years gone by still exist. Where your neighbour actually knows you and will actually open his or her mouth to say hello and ask how you are. Rural ireland is in areas of farmland, country lanes and cottages, small towns and villages away from the cities, motorways and housing estates and industrial parks many of which are now idle for so long (and some were never filled at all) that they await demolition. Rural Ireland isn’t a state of mind it’s very much a reality, and reality is something that this country needs to get back too very quickly

• This is a good question. I live in Co Roscommon. The house is surrounded by fields, the broadband is crap. Can’t get much more rural Ireland that this. ;-)

Yet, there’s no hunting anywhere around here. And I’d guess you’ll have to drive a fair distance to even find someone who cares about hunting.

In the interest of accuracy, RISE should be renamed PRISE: “Parts of Rural Ireland say Enough” (whatever that means).

• And there was me thinking isolation in rural Ireland was a serious problem, thanks for setting me right Richie. Not to nitpick, but you left out the part about the comely maidens dancing at the crossroads.

• Rural Ireland – where you know your neighbours name but don’t care enough to insure your septic tank is working properly & not poluting their water, by just paying €5 to find out. Not caring enough to pay €100 household charge to insure that there are services there for your neighbours when they need them. Rural Ireland where they disregard anything from the government they don’t like and blame it on them “city folk” even though most of the govenrment are rural folk.

• In rural Ireland your neighbours don’t get services and neither do you. You provide your own and you still pay the charges.

• Well John McG I live in rural Ireland and my sewage is disposed of via a community scheme, I also have paid my household charge as have many of my neighbours and I seem to remember a lot of city dwellers rearing up on the introduction of certain bin charges, any more educated opinions to enlighten us with??

• Possibly call it SUPRISE “Some Upperclass Parts of rural Ireland say enough”

• Rural Ireland never use any services – schools, librarys, footpaths, road maintenance, street lightnig, sports pitches, playgrounds. They stay on their one of house plot, that was given to them by their parents & never leave.

• Why does it take so many of them to catch 1 fox or stag? Is it an intelligence thing that they need a mob because they’re too easily outwitted by a dumb animal, or do they get off on the cruelty and bloodlust?

• All the people on the horses aren’t chasing the fox or stag.
      The hounds chase the fox/stag and there’s usually just one guy (the guy with the horn) controlling the hounds.
      Those on horses (obviously) have to keep well back from the hounds as otherwise they migth accidentally be trod upon.
      So the people on horses are just tagging along…hunt followers on horseback really.
      Which as I say, if you want to kill stuff, fox hunting is the worst blood sport to take up. Fishing and shooting otoh…

• Then why not just go horse riding cross-country?

• They do sometimes. Drag hunts follow a fake trail, and can be much faster.
      With fox hunts though it can be less predictable (and in the case of the Ward Union it ended up several times being dangerously unpredictable), and sometimes much more boring as they wait around in the rain for a scent.
      The chances of actually catching a fox is very low and the fox with go to ground and they’re not dug out so escape.
      I suppose there’s also a lot of “dem der lads from duberlain won’t be telling us what to do” sort of thing to it too.

• There is nothing dumb about a stag and particularly during a hunt. Invariably the pack don’t catch up and even when they do the dogs are obedient enough when called off to allow the animal be carefully restrained and returned to the herd.

• It’s animal cruelty AND a class thing too.. same as…I’d prefer to see a fox shot on the spot rather than it being hunted, chased, hounded and killed by imbeciles on horseback with nothing better to do with their time. My dad use d to hunt rabbits when we were kids, they were shot, skinned and put on the table for FOOD!!!!! Not as a bloody pastime!!!

• I have family who hunt and most definitely don’t belong to anything remotely like an upper class thing. The vast majority who hunt are people who love their horses and use it as a form of winter exercise and fun. The so called upper class have been too busy in recent years with winters abroad in the sun and international property portfolios to be getting muddy on Sunday mornings in the freezing rain.

• To say its a class thing is totally without foundation, people from all of the rungs of society’s ladder have hunted and do hunt. If you want to enter debate use factual statements instead of ones that suit your point of view

• Say what you like about Lucille’s statement about class but you can’t deny that their right about the fact that they are hunting for sport rather then out of necessity and that if they were after the fox as a pest, they could kill it faster and more humanely with a gun then with dogs.

• Hey Lucy did you ever see a fish that ended up on your plate gulping for oxygenated water before it died or a chicken electrocuted before it is mechanically defeathered and diced for Kentucky or a heifer sliced across the throat (by a Muslim priest in an Irish slaughterhouse) to bleed out before being hoisted by its hind legs and then butchered for your table. Dear Lady this happens millions of times a day all over the world and you have a problem with vermin being put down in rural Ireland. Dear me!

• Number One: All of that goes to producing food, its not killing for the fun of it.
      Number Two: If the fox is a varmint, then it can be more effectivly with a gun.
      Number Three: Muslims do not have priests.

• Exactly. Dog fighting is a cruel urban sport, and stag hunting is (was) a cruel rural practise. Where it happens is beside the point. It’s the deliberate cruely posing as sport that offends many people.

• The argument would be better discussed by people who actually understand the sport. Most people who are vocal about it don’t have a clue about it in reality. Personally I don’t really care too much for the sport but I don’t really have a problem with those who do.

• My sentiments exactly Dave!

• Well said, a sensible comment indeed

• Well said Dave.

• Smiley 27/08/12 #

What is there to understand. What is so sporting about chasing a creature that is outnumbered and defenceless?

• “The only thing necessary for the triumph [of evil] is for good men to do nothing.”

• Not really neutral Dave, after all you have family who hunt

• That’s like saying that burglars should be left to debate the intricacies of housebreaking amongst themselves, as others are not informed enough…ridiculous statement!!

• Well said Mr looney. I for one DO come from an equestrian backround and AM associated with hunting/horse riding etc. SO i say, at least these horses are being properly cared for and the stag at least goes home to a nice bed of straw and has half of the year free to run around with a herd (i know I have witnessed it). And yes I am opposed to stag hunting for the most part but theres is a hell of a lot more cruel cases out there compared to the The Ward Union Hunt. Why not go to a slaughter house Ms Healy and stop people SELLING THEIR HORSES THERE FOR MEAT INSTEAD??? Or find the people who are selling irish horses illegally to other countries for meat? huh?? if you have no idea what your talking about when it comes to equestrian and rural ireland matters THEN DONT COMPLAIN ABOUT IT PEOPLE. And its also not about class or wealth and people who hunt are not imbociles. All of them are educated buisiness/family people who hunt for because its what they’ve always done. And its what their ancestors have done.. And whoever mentioned them being half drunk going out IS NOT THE CASE. Yes traditionally some hot drinks are had at the meet as part as a social thing in the winter. And I can assure whoever is concerned about the horses welfare, that once the season is over they go run around in a field for half the year, getting fat on the good grass and acting like herd animals. Okay rant over. Sorry if I insulted anybody but you should really know what your talking about before you go judging other peoples lifestyles.

• Stag hunting had nothing to do with conservation. It consisted of terrororising a farmed deer, hounding it across country until it fell down from exhaustion, covered in wounds sustained from entanglement in barbed wired, brambles etc along the route. Like hare coursing, the only purpose it served was to create entertainment for people who enjoy putting animals through an ordeal like that. Drag hunting and drag coursing are there as humane alternatives to these forms of animal cruelty. Fox hunting and hare coursing must follow the Ward Union into the dustbin of history.

• Witness the cruelty of chasing deer with a pack of hounds
    http://www.banbloodsports.com/mobilewu.htm

• Yes, by all means let us have firearms licensing considered.
    For a start all firearms should undergo a test similar to the NCT – remember the Tomkins case in Wicklow where the court was told the gun used was defective.
    If cars are tested so should guns!

• How many people are killed by defective firearms each year? Probably less than the number by defective bicycles … Should we have a NCTS for bikes too? What about toasters? Kettles? High heel shoes … Your talking nonsense and has nothing to do with the discussion.

• Barry, pretty much every firearm in Ireland already has a firearms version of the NCT (ie. a proofing mark or quality control marks from the manufacturer), and has had for the last century or two…

• David the use of the word priest was a substitute for Imam or the scholarly leader of a Muslim community that in Christianity we would describe as a priest or theologian.
      Most of the opponents of Hunting have no knowledge of country life or the origins of everyday foods that they consume. Living outside cities brings with it all of the excitement associated with septic tanks and vermin control together with sheep dipping and pot holes. We therefore developed rural practices that combined entertainment and vermin control to ensure our motivation levels could be maintained for tasks that other wouldn’t do. The entertainment is in the chase while the satisfaction lies the removal I’d animals that kill our chickens and newborn lambs and all of his is achieved without discharging firearms which seems to have become a form of urban amusement.
      The Imams and the priests would surely speak out against the latter.

• Can’t really quote Oscar Wilde here because it’s ” the Unspeakable in
    Pursuit of the quite tasty really…”

• Det Sgt Jarlath Lennon from the Garda Technical Bureau said the gun found at their house was in poor condition. It was held together with wire, and insulating tape was used to hold the wooden stock together.

And you say guns do not need to be tested? Wake up and smell the coffee, guys!

• Barry, any firearm bought today will either come with a proofing mark or (if it’s from the US) quality control marks from the manufacturer. It’s been that way for a century or two. Firearms which have degraded due to wear and tear are normally retired by their owners; occasional inspections by the Gardai are carried out and will pick up any firearms that are obviously no longer fit for purpose. Over the last three or four years, pretty much every one of the 220,000 licenced firearms in the state was inspected as the new licencing system was rolled out.

But to be blunt about it, you’re asking for people to solve a problem that just doesn’t exist. We might as well require all firearms owners to carry bear repellent on them at all times lest marauding polar bears swim to Ireland to steal their firearms…

• Won’t happen with Labour in.

Irony here is that the “blood” sport banned is the only one without any blood (as the object was not to kill the prey, but just to chase it).
    Fishing and shooting appear to be a’ok…

• Its a theory but there is studies cited…

• 28/08/12 #

Which have long been discredited as JUNK SCIENCE!

• i work in the horseracing industury but id never support hunts cause its cruel to the stag the way they are being treated and killed there was no consideration for the stag when he got hit by a car after being chased through the phoenix park it also puts road users lives at risk too

• 30/08/12 #

Mounted arrogant thugs..Any proof of that NBernie..Or just the usual hysterionics???

• @Ritchie his land is now reserved so no more hunting on it. Problem solved!

• Some people disgust me. All this education for nothing. People still don’t get it.

Add New Comment