You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Open for business: Wetherspoon's first Irish pub serves its first customers

The Three Tun Tavern in Blackrock, Co. Dublin opened it’s doors this morning.

PastedImage-89306 A pint and breakfast for one of Wetherspoon's first Irish customers. Twitter / Josh Powell Twitter / Josh Powell / Josh Powell

IRELAND’S FIRST JD WETHERSPOON pub has officially opened its doors and locals in Blackrock, Co Dublin have already been trying it out.

The Three Tun Tavern had its first customers this morning, about seven months after it was announced that the 800 outlet British pub chain was entering the Irish market.

The former Tonic Bar is the first of Wetherspoon’s Irish branches, employing 60 people, with the discount pub chain also planning to open a premises in Cork city.

Josh Powell who lives nearby was one of the first to try out the Three Tun Tavern this morning, getting a full-Irish breakfast and a pint of lager for €9.

Powell is from England but moved to Ireland three years ago and says that the pub is much nicer than many of those he’s used to in the UK, adding that he has no complaints from his first visit.

“This one is a lot different,” he said. “It’s a lot nicer and obviously it’s newer so it’s really clean. The decor is much nicer and it’s not as plain and white as some in England. The staff were lovely as well so they’ve definitely done a good job on it.”

“It was busy, there were a lot of people in suits actually checking their emails, so they must have wi-fi,” he added.

wetherspoons customers The Three Tun Taven opened it's doors this morning. Twitter / ThreeTunTavern Twitter / ThreeTunTavern / ThreeTunTavern

Wetherspoon’s move to Ireland received a mixed reaction when it was announced, with some pointing out that local Irish pubs are an important tradition and source of employment and should be protected from larger chains.

A number of Facebook campaigns were launched against Wetherspoon’s decision and there was also questions asked recently when the company confirmed they will not be serving Guinness in their Irish bars.

“I understand that there is a difference over here,” says Powell. “I’m quite used to the chain pubs because there’s many chains in the UK and Wetherspoon’s wouldn’t have the best reputation among them.”

“The price of a pint is so expensive here, anyone who serves a pint for under €5 is going to get business here,” he says.

There has been much speculation about where Wetherspoon’s next acquisition in Ireland will be.

The company confirmed last week that they will not be buying well-known Dublin pubs Café en Seine, The George, The Dragon and Howl At The Moon as had been suggested by some media reports.

Here’s all you need to know about Wetherspoon’s new Irish pub >

Read: First motorway pub opens its doors in Britain amid controversy >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

98 Comments
    Mute Pat Mustard
    Favourite Pat Mustard
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:37 PM

I couldn’t care less if they are chain pubs or are not in the “traditional Irish mould” as anything that brings a bit of competition to the rip off merchants in Dublin is to be welcomed. The snide comments people are making about Weatherspoons were the exact same things you heard said about Lidl and Aldi when they first came to Ireland, and look at the how they have changed the Irish supermarket scene in the last decade.

Mute robby rottenest
    Favourite robby rottenest
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:48 PM

Revenge Pat, for all the shit Irish theme pubs that blight English high streets. I’m glad they’re not selling Guinness, it’s way overpriced for a locally produced product. Small craft brewers will have an outlet for the their beers. Now people can sample real beer and not the keg stored, mass produced dross sold here every day of the week.

Mute John S
    Favourite John S
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:59 PM

Since I got charged 3.35 for a can of coke in The Temple Bar, I’ve been looking forward to some competition in this industry.

Mute AARO-SAURUS
    Favourite AARO-SAURUS
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:14 PM

I was charged 7 quid in there for a pint one night. Bunch of greedy pox bottles.

Mute dj dangermouse
    Favourite dj dangermouse
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:31 PM

A pint of Heineken with a fry.He’s probably still sitting on the toilet right now.He will have the place destroyed.

Mute Rory Murphy
    Favourite Rory Murphy
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:43 PM

Very funny comment!

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Jul 8th 2014, 3:43 PM

God forbid it would be Guinness. They’d have to get a reinforced black toilet.

Mute Colm Healy
    Favourite Colm Healy
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:31 PM

Breakfast and a beer for €9… Not bad at all!

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Jul 8th 2014, 2:29 PM

Yeah, beer with your breakfast and Obesity will rocket. Buy a bag of sugar, bottle of fat and drink it. It’ll be cheaper.

Mute Tom Collins
    Favourite Tom Collins
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:29 PM

Just one sausage!!

Mute James Murphy
    Favourite James Murphy
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:33 PM

Christ, that’s a disgrace.

Mute Emmet Power
    Favourite Emmet Power
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:36 PM

That’s more of an outrage than the whole Garth Brooks debacle!

Mute Zozzy Zozimus
    Favourite Zozzy Zozimus
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:26 AM

Yeah, as far as I’m concerned it’s five sausages or none at all!

Mute Very fond of
    Favourite Very fond of
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:53 PM

I’ll be visiting that area later this month – and will definitely sample this establishment. Anywhere in Dublin that serves pints for €4 or thereabouts will thrive. No sympathy for existing pubs and their extortionate prices – adapt or die …

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:46 PM

Our local weatherspoons charges less than £35 for two chkwings starters (10/portion) 2 x 14oz steaks, a bottle of Faustino (€35/40 in any Dublin restaurant). Plus you get two free pints of your choice.

Great value, with change from £35.

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:36 PM

With a breakfast like that everyday won’t be long before everyone in Blackrock weighs 3 Tuns…before they keel over from a heart attack that is.

Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:38 PM

From €9.95 for a steak, chips and a beer. Not bad. Similar prices to Wetherspoons in London. Prices start from £8.09.

Mute Shaun Hogan
    Favourite Shaun Hogan
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:32 PM

Its €9 for a pint and breakfast. What were ya expecting a massive feast?

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:42 PM

Yes.

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Jul 8th 2014, 5:00 PM

At least 2 sausages.

Mute Sean Baylon
    Favourite Sean Baylon
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:42 PM

Just out of interest, did you have to get the pint to get the deal for breakfast and a pint for €9 or could you just get the fry for like a fiver or whatever?? Looks like a tasty feed for about a fiver..considering a fry anywhere else in Ireland for about the same amount if good is at least €9.95

Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:44 PM

Full Irish and tea or coffee will be less €5-€6.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:41 PM

Why go to the trouble of making a big crispy hash brown if you’re going to dump it on top of the baked beans, making it soggy before you’ve even touched it?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:51 PM

The employee handbook forbids staff from talking about politics, religion or s*x.. sure that’s half the point of going to a pub!

Mute Rodger 5
    Favourite Rodger 5
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:26 PM

There has to be scope for locals to link up with craft beers at low prices, how come imported are so expensive? Erdinger & Hoogarten are double the cost than on the continent & it can’t be all transport costs.

Mute Cornelius Talmadge
    Favourite Cornelius Talmadge
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:50 PM

Hoegaarden is hardly a craft beer, considering it’s made by the biggest brewing company in the world (Anheuser Busch).

Mute Rodger 5
    Favourite Rodger 5
    Jul 8th 2014, 2:37 PM

Well its a crafty beer, gets me well piddled when I least expect it.

Mute Mike O'Sullivan
    Favourite Mike O'Sullivan
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:00 PM

Why the hell would anyone want a pint with breakfast?

Mute James Dibble
    Favourite James Dibble
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:03 PM

Night staff ?
    Holidays?
    Tourists?
    Choice?

There’s four reasons

Mute Very fond of
    Favourite Very fond of
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:04 PM

Alcoholics = a 5th reason.

Mute Anthony O'Shea
    Favourite Anthony O'Shea
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:55 PM

Also hair of the dog, no better hangover cure than a big greasy fry a beer.

Mute Bob Torrens
    Favourite Bob Torrens
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:37 PM

Great news I hope they cut the tripe out of the greedy publicans particularly in Dublin.

Mute Matt Byrne
    Favourite Matt Byrne
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:20 PM

Keep reminding Yiz dubs , pint of tennents 3.40 , Guinness 3.90 here in carlow…it’s not fecking cheap in New English pub ! Jeasus…

Mute Cowboy Ted
    Favourite Cowboy Ted
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:22 PM

Lads,
    While wetherspoons are cheap, I will not be going there by choice, it feels like drinking in a airport lounge… Wish them the best and they will probably do alright in Dublin where some bars are more that way…

I suppose at the end of the day, I go to pubs to socialise rather than drink…

Mute Glen Hoddle
    Favourite Glen Hoddle
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:15 PM

These are great pubs – and different.

No – music/juke boxes, pool, darts, sitting at the counter, TV sport (except the World Cup etc.) or kids (except on strict rules/times).

In the UK, they open 8am/midnight – 1.30am, at weekends. Food 8am/11pm.

And don’t expect a chat with the bar
    person. He/she will be too busy serving the next customer.

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Jul 8th 2014, 2:23 PM

You’re not really a bar person are you.

Mute Glen Hoddle
    Favourite Glen Hoddle
    Jul 8th 2014, 4:35 PM

No – doh. I just give facts and info m8.

Mute David Foran
    Favourite David Foran
    Jul 8th 2014, 4:54 PM

They must not be into the old irish custom , chatting to customers & crack

Mute Glen Hoddle
    Favourite Glen Hoddle
    Jul 8th 2014, 5:06 PM

They’re not there for the craic! Just to give good/fast service. Some may be surprised – its just how they operate.

Mute Jonathan White
    Favourite Jonathan White
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:49 PM

No Guinness and beans for breakfast. Truly an English pub.

Mute James Dibble
    Favourite James Dibble
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:58 PM

Beans are essential for any cultural breakfast – 1 sausage is weird but u could prob swap 1 of those hash browns for an extra

Mute Shane Hickey
    Favourite Shane Hickey
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:19 PM

You can get Guinness in all English pubs now and it’s imported from Dublin. I was in the green in shepherd’s Bush on Sunday and the Guinness was as good as at home in Limerick

Mute Liam Ó Séicspéir
    Favourite Liam Ó Séicspéir
    Jul 8th 2014, 2:58 PM

Considering all the shitty Irish pubs blighting the rest of the planet, it’s about time the Irish had a taste of their own medicine.

Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby
    Jul 8th 2014, 3:03 PM

Most of those pubs around the world are not run or owned by Irish people.

Mute James Dibble
    Favourite James Dibble
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:39 PM

So how much are pints roughly ?

Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:43 PM

Average pint is €4. They will have some beers and Ale on offer for lesss.

Mute James Dibble
    Favourite James Dibble

That’s good – was i London recent and the variety is brill – sure some drinks are hit/miss but found some lovely ciders – £2.20 a pint

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:53 PM

No Guinness though is strange.

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:01 PM

Because Guinness wont let them sell the pints for cheaper. they couldn’t work out a deal so the pub told them to feck off

Mute _doesnotcompute
    Favourite _doesnotcompute
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:25 PM

Sure the likes of the Porterhouse have been not selling Guinness for years. Not like it’s something new.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:28 PM

I didn’t know that about Guinness, surely in the long term Irish pubs will have to compete with pint prices.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:45 PM

Simon Diageo told them to feck off. No guinness, carlsberg etc is a problem for your average drinker. No reason why they should get it cheaper than the other pubs. The can then charge what they like.

Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:48 PM

Don’t you get bored with the same drinks in Irish pubs. Guinness, Heineken, Budweiser. Every pub sells the same drinks. Wetherspoons will bring a huge range of drinks. Something Irish pubs never offered.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Jul 8th 2014, 10:49 PM

Lots of pubs doing varied rsnge of craft beers. They should still stock carlberg? Heino, bud and Guinness.

Mute Marie Broomfield
    Favourite Marie Broomfield
    Jul 8th 2014, 3:07 PM

ah??? Not that I want to teach you the geography of Ireland or anything but I think you’ll find this new opening IS NOT “Wetherspoon’s first IRISH pub”. There are 9 in the north, OF IRELAND, making them Irish too. Now if you said Wetherspoon’s first pub in the REPUBLIC of Ireland , that would have been a first!!!

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon

Oi, Powell. Get in to work.

Mute Gee Gach Duine
    Favourite Gee Gach Duine
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:04 PM

That plate is far too busy. What’s wrong with a white one ? It’s as if they try to look cheap haha

Wouldn’t stop me eating it, good value.

Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:17 PM

Its a design they use at all Wetherspoons.

Mute Carlos Garcia
    Favourite Carlos Garcia
    Jul 8th 2014, 3:16 PM

Thank God, at last we now have a franchise to drink cheaper beer and more processed food. Isn’t it a wonderful thought that we can start the day in Starbucks, pop to Subway for lunch, nip into Boots, grab some deals in Tesco on the way home, then into Wetherspoons for a burger and a pint and maybe a McDonald’s for a midnight snack. I hate local businesses and their high prices anyway. Those shop keepers and cafe owners are better off working in a nice big corporation.

Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:32 PM

this is news? does every new shop get a news article or is it just too easy to pander to Irish drink culture which I thought was a bad think.

Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:37 PM

Well edna kenny took time off work to open a uk owned shop in berlin and you didn’t complain!

Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:43 PM

everything Enda does is dumb, no point commenting about him anymore. This is about everything about beer in this country being sacred and holy because “we” are a population of oikes

Mute Kevin O'Brien
    Favourite Kevin O'Brien
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:58 PM

It’s a market entry by a large UK chain which could seriously shake up the status quo of the Irish pub scene. That’s why it’s news.

Mute _doesnotcompute
    Favourite _doesnotcompute
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:29 PM

@Dee4

Speak for yourself, buddy

Mute Jason Bickerstaffe
    Favourite Jason Bickerstaffe
    Jul 8th 2014, 12:28 PM

Boooo

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:41 PM

Watch out Ryanair, there’s a new discounter getting plenty of free column inches in town…

Mute Emmet Ó Muirí
    Favourite Emmet Ó Muirí
    Jul 8th 2014, 9:44 PM

I can get a pint of Tuburg or Bavaria in my local in Balbriggan for €3.30. Three pints for under a tenner. Happy days. They also do a quarter pounder meal deal (not from frozen) either beef or cajun chicken breast with chips/wedges, side salad and pint for €10. Granted, its county Dublin and not city centre. But shows it can be done, and that publicans in the city centre and suburbs are greedy and are fleecing their punters. I also think Witherspoon in Blackrock could be cheaper.. €3.95 is cheaper, but not cheap.

Mute sol
    Favourite sol
    Jul 8th 2014, 7:47 PM

I lived in Brighton in the south of England and surprised my girlfriend with a bus trip to bognor Regis and a curry and pint in witherspoons. We then went for a walk on the pier. The prices were great. Only problem was no music in the pub. Heard it’s due to royalties. Anyway we broke up shortly afterwards.

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Jul 8th 2014, 2:32 PM

Walking distance from my house….must give it a go!

Mute David Foran
    Favourite David Foran
    Jul 8th 2014, 2:40 PM

How come there aloud to sell alcohol at 8 o clock

Mute Glen Hoddle
    Favourite Glen Hoddle
    Jul 8th 2014, 3:05 PM

David – under UK law, its legal. Don’t know about here?

Mute David Foran
    Favourite David Foran
    Jul 8th 2014, 3:43 PM

Irish law 10.30 a.m – 11.30 mon – Thursday 10.30 – 12.30 fri – sat serving alcohol

Mute Will Derbylight
    Favourite Will Derbylight
    Jul 8th 2014, 4:03 PM

Well JDW will open all those hours – and apply for more, it that’s possible here. Very few UK pubs open at 8am – but all of the c900 JDW pubs do (even before, at airports).

UK ( or EU?) law allowed them to apply for the longer hours – which has allowed them to create a totally new market, just for themselves. As no competitor has gone for longer opening.

And of course, this applies to food and drink.

Mute David Foran
    Favourite David Foran
    Jul 8th 2014, 4:31 PM

Well we will see what sort of clientele it attracts , it won’t suite Blackrock

Mute Glen Hoddle
    Favourite Glen Hoddle
    Jul 8th 2014, 4:39 PM

It doesn’t suit a lot of places that JDW are in – but they seem to do well wherever they go. Frequently putting competitors out of business. The Irish publican should be wary….

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Jul 9th 2014, 10:14 AM

UK law does not apply here. We got our independence some time ago.

Mute James Keane
    Favourite James Keane
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:58 PM

Hmm a pint with a fry. Not so sure about that, the after effects would not be good :)

Mute Peter M Buchanan
    Favourite Peter M Buchanan
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:28 PM

No Guinness = no business from me

Mute Piotrek Król
    Favourite Piotrek Król
    Jul 8th 2014, 2:05 PM

Well judging by that belly of yours Peter, they might regret their decision. But you seem to have been tipping along nicely without them anyway.

Mute William Somers
    Favourite William Somers
    Jul 8th 2014, 2:36 PM

Very unhealthy breakfast deep fried sausage,hash brown,black and white pudding, the egg fried
    In lots of oil. That should go down well with a pint of Heineken

Mute Fognostical
    Favourite Fognostical
    Jul 8th 2014, 2:46 PM

It’s not a health farm.

Mute Gee Gach Duine
    Favourite Gee Gach Duine
    Jul 8th 2014, 3:34 PM

Here’s to another 800 years.

Mute Peter M Buchanan
    Favourite Peter M Buchanan
    Jul 8th 2014, 3:13 PM

Hope they don’t bring their larger louts with them

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jul 8th 2014, 4:36 PM

At least its well out of reach from Temple bar.

Mute DamoDeMan
    Favourite DamoDeMan
    Jul 8th 2014, 5:22 PM

They plan to open up 50 more branches in Ireland
    So I would say that Temple Bar is on their radar

Mute Je
    Favourite Je
    Jul 8th 2014, 5:30 PM

Larger then who Peter? ??

Mute John Mossy Naz Scales
    Favourite John Mossy Naz Scales
    Jul 10th 2014, 8:55 AM

Wont work here!!!! Most people like their branded beers.guinness.bud etc etc thats why they go to pubs also the craic and banter.all you. will get in dunlaoire and new jwd pubs are the local dipsos in for cheap gargle.they,d drink piss from a tramps boot..

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jul 8th 2014, 3:57 PM

€9 for a Breakfast including a pint.

In reality this is the Devil encouraging people to start drinking from the early hours.

Mute eye_c_u___
    Favourite eye_c_u___
    Jul 8th 2014, 4:02 PM

You talk about that lad alot dont you frank.

FYI he is no more real then santa

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jul 8th 2014, 4:12 PM

“Wine is a mocker, strong drink is raging: and whosoever is deceived thereby is not wise”. Proverbs 20:1

Mute eye_c_u___
    Favourite eye_c_u___
    Jul 8th 2014, 4:37 PM

“He who believes in religious shite shall be a tool amongst themselves and others”

Eye 1:1

Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby
    Jul 8th 2014, 4:52 PM

Never saw advertising in London for breakfast with a beer. Maybe its just the journal putting the price of the 2 together. Wetherspoons menu will have breakfast with tea or coffee.

Mute DamoDeMan
    Favourite DamoDeMan
    Jul 8th 2014, 5:21 PM

Fella from Wetherspoons talking on Radio
    Talking up the breakfast with a pint
    seems to think it will be a big selling point in Ireland