TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Woman’s body discovered in bag on Dublin street

A passerby found the woman’s body in Dublin 7 earlier this morning.

St David's Terrace off Blackhorse Avenue
Image: Google Street View

GARDAÍ ARE INVESTIGATING after the body of a woman was found in a bag in Cabra in Dublin earlier this morning.

A passer-by discovered the woman’s body at around 8.30am at St. David’s Terrace on Blackhorse Avenue beside the Phoenix Park this morning.

The State Pathologist has been notified and the scene is preserved pending a full forensic and technical examination.

The road is currently closed to traffic and diversions are in place.

Anyone with any information is asked to contact the Bridewell Garda Station at 01-666 8200 or the Garda Confidential Line on 1800 666 111.

Read next:

Comments (45 Comments)

• I always feel for the people who find these things- it must be horrifying :(

• Shocking!

• Horrific , shocking, unbelievable, terrifying..
    I admire Gardaí and respect that they have
    a very difficult job and no doubt will solve this

BUT Garda resources should not be cut .
    They should get all the help they need.
    It seems every time we yurn on the radio / open the journal
    there are viable bombs/ shootings/stabbings/missing people/
    robberies/muggings/ and the brest.

Rest in Peace .

• This happened on my doorstep, guards at the bottom of my road and I only walked down that street last night! The bag was fairly big, with wheels, she was probably thrown on the road like discarded rubbish, she was African I believe, so, so terrible for her family and communitee, awful when things like this can happen right where you live!! RIP.

• R.I.P.

• What is Ireland coming to.One murder after another.Each more vile.Where will it all end.

• Kk 29/01/12 #

R.I.P

• jimbo 29/01/12 #

God this is horrific R.I.P

• Jane 29/01/12 #

Not the time to be cutting Garda resources!! This is horrific!!!

• This poor lady being found this morning, and a violent assault in cork overnight. Everyday there seems to be a murder and or a serious assault occurring in Ireland. God love her and the person who found her. RIP

• sick stuff hope the evil git that did this is caught, prob just get 10 to 12 years tho.

• That poor woman, and the person who found her.. It makes you worry what kind of people inhabit our little island..

• Man what is this town coming too it seems things are getting worse. Horrific the poor woman nobody deserves to be murdered no matter what they have done in life.

• i’m inclined to agree with eileen….more is the point ciaran why are you behaving the way you are…..spoilt child comes to mind.

• Why are we just sitting back, wringing our hands about this? Day after day after day we’re hearing about murders, assaults, shootings, stabbings, bombs – BOMBS – and we’re all tut-tutting about how the country is going to hell in a handbag. This is OUR country – we have to shout “enough.” We have to demand that the wishy-washy law+order arrangements are improved. We have to get past the utterly ridiculous notion that “grassing” is somehow morally wrong. We have to make the Department of Justice, the Gardai and the Prison Service work better. Get the small-fries out of jail and doing meaningful community service. Get these murdering, pimping, drug-pushing vermin and their supporters off the streets.

• The 84 obviously is the IQ level.

• There are some sick people around these days.RIP to the young lady and god love the person who found her, must have been horrible.

• rb 29/01/12 #

Terrible! what a tragic story. my heart goes out 2 the lady and her loved 1′s

• WTF is going on in this country. That poor lady. Regardless of what’s going on no one deserves to die and be left that way.

• The country is morally bankrupt.

• Has any one noticed that the same is happening in the UK over the last few months? 2012 looks to be a violent year

• I have a point . and it is this ….you are a very rude and disrespectful individual and as such you are not worth my precious time . I do hope in time that you will understand the value of life .

• Why? Because I tell you to have respect and learn some manners .
    Something no doubt your parents neglected to tell you .
    This lady is dead and left to be discovered in a most awful undignified
    way and all you can do is slag off people who are saying Rest In Peace ….
    Grow up Boy .

• Aleo 29/01/12 #

RIP.

• Curious to note, on looking over the An Garda’s website, missing persons page, that there are a disproportionate number of ethnic minorities who have disappeared in recent years. Any thoughts on that?

• Well then don’t be slagging the people who say R I P . Good Night Ciaran84

• Thanks Paddy
    Some people are lost causes and I just can not helping how sad it is for this poor lady and all victims of violence…..
    All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing….
    Good night Paddy :)

• Well ciaran84

a good adage to remember is
    ”If you have nothing good to say on the death of a person ,
    it is better to say NOTHING at all”

I am not religious , however I believe it
    is a sign of respect to the decesased, who
    can never speak for themselves again,
    to say Rest In Peace , especially when
    it is a violent death ….

Have Manners .

• Society breaking down! Now who’s fault could this be? Hmmm

• No one particularly likes the powers that be at the moment but putting every bit of bad at their feet is idiotic. who is going to be blamed when you forget to put the milk back in the fridge? You want to start pointing fingers well take a look at video games and tv programming. Our kids are being bombarded with violent imagery every day, wake up and cop yourself on.

• This is true, as everybody knows, Hitler played Grand Theft Auto all the time.

• Matthew has a point Rossa, recent research has shown that murder, torture, genocide and the like have been around for years…before computer games and Tv were even invented. Investment in education and programmes to reduce poverty will reduce crime, nothing else.

• Actually I think you are all correct; a moral breakdown from the top will work its way down through society; after all, if they can get away with it, why shouldn’t we ??? kind of attitude starts to pervade society……….

And David what you say is absolutely true. There has ALWAYS been vicious violence; terrible things have always been done in all aspects of life, not just war but behind closed doors in ordinary lives. across all spectrums and still continues to this day.

So Rossa makes a really good point. Technology has changed what we bring into our homes in the last 20 years or so. Prior to www you read the paper and saw the news and that was pretty much what you knew about the world. There was also 2 TV channels that the most of the population received and that was it. Nowadays with SKY/FTA / internet, we have all this coming into our home daily and even on your phone everywhere you go if you have that capability.

We must be careful how we apportion “blame” here tho; it’s a multi pronged problem

After all that, RIP to that poor woman; being found like that in a bag does imply that her death was a traumatic one.

• This is all assuming that most killers are in a stable and healthy state of mind. Society has its problems, but Mental health support is grossly under supported and stigmatized.

• Ian F. 29/01/12 #

Rossa, please drop the tired old argument against video games. People have been killing and mutilating eachother since day one. Video games have only been around a few decades. Realistic game have not been around very long at all. Your argument is null.

• Rossa..
      Children are being bombarded with violent imagery from computer games and TV (except that violent video games and TV / movies are age rated and children should not have access to them.. This would indicate poor parental supervision or bad parenting)

If you cannot tell the difference between reality and fantasy then this would suggest some sort of mental impairment.
      This sort of mental impairment is actually a common side effect from certain widely prescribed medications, but for some reason, this does not recieve the same hype as the “tv and games” angle.

And before the tv there was the book, ever read the old testament? That’s framed as the word of god himself and people are supposed to take it seriously, Deuteronomy, Leviticus and Numbers are pretty darn violent, they are direct incitement of hatred toward those who are not the same.. Encouraging genocide and “utter destruction” of anyone who stands in the way.

Sheila in fact is way closer to the bone than you. Our leaders lead in a compassionless way and show no empathy. In the case where high level functioning psychopaths have made it into power around the world their ability to corrupt the morals of their countrymen has shown no bounds. May I suggest you have a read of Political Ponerology, it will explain the mechanism much better than I can here.

• it aint video games. im playin games ever since i was introduced to sonic. whats happening is the police are afraid of anyone younger than 18 the police are shocking in my area.. sorry my old area. so what about reduced pay, originally police became police to make a difference in our country not for the wages. they have no right to turn around n say less money gets less work. good news is though if someone breaks into my house i can make them regret it.and yes i know im gonna get thumbs down but i couldnt care as thousands of others agree with me

• Who cut the Garda numbers ?

So I disagree with you .
      This lady did not get where she was found without some form of foul play occuring
      Indeed it is a murder enquiry.
      It is bad enough with out adding to the dramatics of it all. Maybe it was drug related,alcohol related, money related, sex related, job related, family related .Who knows . Let the gardaí do their job .

• What kind of a bag? Just wondering…

Add New Comment