Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now
Advertisement's Factcheck series among winners at Miriam Hederman O'Brien Prize Giving

The Foundation for Fiscal Studies held its prize giving ceremony this morning.

Colm Kelly of the FFS with News Editor Sinéad O'Carroll
Colm Kelly of the FFS with News Editor Sinéad O'Carroll
Image: Maxwell Photography

TAXES ON SUGARY drinks have NOT achieved their public health aims in countries that have implemented them thus far.

€500 million was NOT saved in Ireland in 2016 as a result of the reporting of social welfare fraud.

Yes, Dublin Bus drivers ARE the third-highest paid bus drivers in Europe.

These are just some of the facts confirmed and false claims uncovered by‘s Factcheck series, which according to the Foundation for Fiscal Studies (FFS) has made a “significant contribution to public understanding in areas such as taxation, public expenditure and other related fiscal policy topics”.

The FFS awarded a ‘High Commendation’ to the series at its annual Miriam Hederman O’Brien Prize Giving this morning.

Speaking at the event in The Westbury, chairman Colm Kelly said of Factcheck:

In particular, the series started during the 2016 General Election campaign with the goal of testing claims made by political parties – many of which related to fiscal policy.

Dr Hederman O’Brien is a barrister and academic who is recognised for her work in public policy. With her appointment in February 1998 to the University of Limerick, she became the first woman university chancellor in Ireland.

“A common thread of her work has been a restless dissatisfaction with the status quo and a passionate desire to make things better,” Donal de Buitléir and Frances Ruane wrote of her in 2003.

Making a difference

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.

Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can make sure we can keep reliable, meaningful news open to everyone regardless of their ability to pay.

The FFS awarded the inaugural prize in 2013.

Others recognised at today’s ceremony included economists researching government expenditure, anti-corruption policies, research and development tax credits and the possibility of a household wealth.

The overall winners were Aedín Doris (Maynooth University) and Bruce Chapman (Australian National University) for their topical paper examining the feasibility of various models of student loan schemes for Ireland.

Check out more from‘s Factcheck here>

About the author:

Fora Staff

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel