Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now

Georgia and Malaysia added to mandatory hotel quarantine list

Kuwait has been removed from the list of designated states with effect from today.

Image: Sam Boal/

GEORGIA AND MALAYSIA have been added to Ireland’s list of designated States for mandatory hotel quarantine.

People who are not fully vaccinated and who arrive in Ireland having been in or transitioned through these countries in the previous 14 days must enter mandatory hotel quarantine.

The Department of Health said Georgia and Malaysia will soon be included on the online booking system, with passengers from these States entering quarantine starting from 4am on Wednesday, 4 August.

The Minister for Health has also removed Kuwait from the list of designated States for mandatory hotel quarantine with effect from today. There are now 29 countries on the list.

People travelling to Ireland from a non-designated State must fill out an electronic Passenger Locator Form before departure.

Passengers also have to have appropriate valid proof of vaccination or recovery, or  present evidence of a negative RT-PCR result from a test taken within 72 hours prior to arrival into the country. 

Making a difference

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.

Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can make sure we can keep reliable, meaningful news open to everyone regardless of their ability to pay.

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel