You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

News Fix

Here's What Happened Today: Sunday

Everyone’s talking about a man being charged following Patryk Krupa’s death in Athlone, the Guildford Four and mental health services.

NEED TO CATCH up? TheJournal.ie brings you a round-up of today’s news…

Rainbow Fun Run. Pictured runners part Runners participate in the Rainbow Run in Dún Laoghaire this afternoon. During the race, participants of all abilities and ages are covered from head to toe with coloured powder paint while they sprint, jog or walk the scenic 5km route. Sam Boal Sam Boal

IRELAND

• #ATHLONE: A man has been charged with assaulting and falsely imprisoning Patryk Krupa, whose body was discovered in the River Shannon near Athlone on Friday night.
  • #GUILDFORD FOUR: Paul Hill told RTÉ that the group had suffered a “greater miscarriage of justice than those who died in the Guildford, Woolwich and Birmingham bombings”.
  • #MISSING: Gardaí appealed for help finding Nathan Reilly (16), who has been missing from his home in Longford town since Friday.
  • #MENTAL HEALTH: Minister Kathleen Lynch denied there is a shortage of mental health staff in the Carlow-Kilkenny-South Tipperary area following the suicides of 13 patients.
  • #INHUMANE: That’s how one TD has described placing children into adult psychiatric units.
  • #ENDA KENNY: The Taoiseach has ruled himself out of the running for President of the EU Commission.
  • #KEEPING SCHTUM: The Department of Social Protection has refused to name 68% of companies taking part in JobBridge.
  • #PAINFUL: Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore painted a somewhat disturbing picture when discussing the government’s approach to ending austerity.

INTERNATIONAL

Mideast Iraq Refugee children at a camp for displaced Iraqis who fled from Mosul and other towns. AP / Press Association Images AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

INNOVATION

• Twitter GIFs may not even be real GIFs at all. [Geek.com]
  • Think your Vines are good? Are they made on the International Space Station? Then shut up. [Gizmodo]

PARTING SHOT

Have you ever thought ‘Gee, I wonder which animals have the strangest genitals’? You’re in luck. IFL Science has got you covered.

Here’s What Happened Yesterday>>>