We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Othmane El Goumri crossing the finish line yesterday. Bryan Keane/INPHO
record time

Dublin Marathon winner who served doping ban 'slipped through the net'

Morocco’s Othmane El Goumri broke the course record with a time of 2:08:06 yesterday.

ORGANISERS OF THE Dublin Marathon said the winner of yesterday’s race “slipped through the net” after his entry was accepted following a two-year doping suspension.

Morocco’s Othmane El Goumri, who broke the course record with a time of 2:08:06, received a two-year ban from the International Association of Athletics Federations in 2016 for a doping violation.

When asked why El Goumri was allowed to compete in the marathon, organisers said they “have a policy in place not to invite athletes who have previously served bans”, but that his history was not picked up on until it was too late. 

“The Dublin Marathon work with accredited athlete agents to secure the elite international field.

“The organisers only became aware that Othmane El Goumri had served a ban (as a result of irregularities in his biological passport) after the invitation to the race was issued and his visa was processed and the flight was booked,” organisers said in a statement.

They noted that El Goumri has served his ban and is “eligible to compete in any race”, adding: “The decision was made to allow him to compete.”

Race organisers said they will “employ more vigorous checks going forward”.

Jim Aughney, race director, added: “He slipped through the net with regards to us accepting his entry in the first place, but it will be part of the contracts from now on, for any athlete.”

Belfast runner Stephen Scullion finished second yesterday with a time of 2:12:01, while Ethiopian Mengistu Zelalem finished third with a time of 2:12:05.

Ethiopian Motu Gedefa took home the women’s title with a time of 2:27:48, followed in second by her compatriot Mesera Dubiso (2:28:29) and in third by fellow Ethiopian Denbeli Chefo Shuke (2:29:51).

Youghal’s Aoife Cooke was the highest finishing Irish woman, finishing eighth with a time of 2:32:34.

Ireland’s Patrick Monaghan won the wheelchair race with a time of 1:39:46. More than 22,000 runners took part in the race, which is celebrating its 40th anniversary.

Readers like you are keeping these stories free for everyone...
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel