radio microphone via Shutterstock
Radio Wars

RTÉ Radio 1 scoops up nine titles at the PPI Awards

Today FM brought home the big prize of Full Service Station of the Year.

RTÉ RADIO 1 come out on top last night at the annual PPI Radio Awards, scooping up nine separate titles.

The 16,000 minutes of audio submitted to the awards took a panel of 81 judges almost four days to sift through.

Today FM took home the big prize of Full Service Station of the Year, while FM104 won Music Station of the Year, and Radio Kerry picked up the title of Local Station of the Year.

Among RTÉ Radio 1′s winning entries included a Morning Ireland special on the death of Nelson Mandela, a report by Brian O’Connell for Today with Sean O’Rourke on forced adoption, an edition of Liveline where the parents of musician Gavin O’Connor spoke of his murder, and a documentary b y Irish Sun journalist Ken Sweeney on a taxi driver who would become chauffeur for Michael Jackson.

After Radio 1, the next big winning was BBC Radio Ulster, winning categories such as Current Affairs Programme and News Broadcaster.

Steve K from Spin 103.8 won the Radio DJ Award, while 2FM’s Nicky Byrne picked up Newcomer of the Year.

Dermot Whelan and Dave Moore picked up a General Music Programme award for their old slot on 98fm, but have since moved on to Today FM.

Four new members of the PPI Radio Awards’ Hall of Fame were officially inducted, including Today FM’s Tony Fenton and RTÉ’s Áine Lawlor.

Read: And the four newest members of Irish radio’s Hall of Fame are… >

Áine Lawlor: ‘It’s not just a lack of women, we need more diversity in Irish media’ >

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.