This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 16 June, 2019
Advertisement

Will Scotland end its 307-year-old union with England? The polls are open...

Polls suggest the result is too close to call.

Image: AP

POLLS HAVE OPENED across Scotland in a referendum that will decide whether the country leaves its 307-year-old union with England and becomes an independent state.

More than 2,600 polling places will be open Thursday from 7am (6am GMT, 2am EDT) until 10pm (9pm GMT, 5pm EDT).

Turnout is expected to be high in this historic referendum, with more than 4.2 million people registered to vote — 97% of those eligible.

Polls suggest the result is too close to call, with the pro-independence Yes side gaining momentum in the final weeks of campaigning.

However, 1 in 7 Scots say they’re still undecided whether going it alone is worth the economic risk.

First Minister Alex Salmond is casting his vote near his home in northeast Scotland.

If the Yes side prevails he will realize a long-held dream of leading his country to independence after an alliance with England formed in 1707.

Yesterday the former British Prime Minister Gordon Brown gave a speech for the Better Together campaign and people were shocked at how good it was.

First results are expected in the early hours of Friday.

Read: On eve of Scottish referendum, polls suggest the pro-union vote will clinch it>

 

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

About the author:

Associated Press

Read next:

COMMENTS (65)