You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Daily Fix

The Daily Fix: Thursday

A round-up of all the day’s main news, as well as the bits and pieces you may have missed along the way.

EVERY EVENING,TheJournal.ie brings you a round-up of all the day’s main news, as well as the bits and pieces you may have missed along the way.

• Former Liberian President Charles Taylor has been convicted by a Hague court of war crimes and crimes against the humanity - ranging from rape and torture, to the recruitment of child soldiers. Taylor is the first former head of state to be convicted by an international tribunal since the Nuremburg trials after World War II.
  • One of the largest trade unions in the State – IMPACT – has decided to advise its members to vote Yes in the upcoming fiscal treaty referendum, saying that a No vote could result in a significant increase in the cost of borrowing for the State – or even exclude Ireland from future funding altogether.
  • Meanwhile, the Leinster House library has put together an impartial guide to the Fiscal Compact Treaty for TDs and Senators, and has shared it with the public.
  • Speaking at the Leveson Inquiry into media ethics today, media magnate Rupert Murdoch said he had failed in his role as CEO of News Corporation, and noted that the corporate cleanup of the British phone hacking scandal had cost the company hundreds of millions of dollars and transformed its culture.“I failed, and I’m sorry about it,” Murdoch said, adding later: “We are now a new company altogether.”
  • The Mayor of Tuam has resigned from the Labour party – after 34 years of membership – in protest against what she believes was a snub when a seat on the county council became vacant last year: Mary Loftus told TheJournal.ie that she was not considered for the council seat left by Colm Keaveney when he was elected to the Dáil for Galway East – and that the seat was instead given to a candidate with less political experience.
  • Sunday World columnist and media commentator Fr Brian D’Arcy has reportedly been censured by the Holy See’s theological body. The Tablet news magazine reports that D’Arcy is censured by the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, the theological watchdog previously headed by the current Pope Benedict.
  • A new state-of-the-art cinema complex opened in Tallaght, Dublin, last night – offering seats for more than 2,200 people. The new 60,000 square ft complex is wheelchair friendly, boasts 13 digital and 3D screens, stadium-style seating, and even a VIP lounge area attached to Cinema 1.
  • The value of Dublin apartments have dropped dramatically, with the average price now 61 per cent lower than at its peak in February 2007. Property prices across the country are down 16.3 per cent when compared with last year but have remained unchanged in the month.
  • Ukraine marked the 26th anniversary of the Chernobyl disaster today, laying flowers and lighting candles to mark the occasion. The country’s president Viktor Yanukovych vowed that Ukraine was committed to building a new, safer shelter over the damaged reactor.

“Er… that’s not how you do it, Enda…” Punchestown Groundsman Jim Ryan gives a few tips to the Taoiseach earlier today. Image: Andres Poveda.

• A gale warning remains in effect across Ireland’s west coast this evening as heavy rains continue to hit the midlands and east of the country. Meanwhile, a heavy rain warning also remains in effect, with Met Éireann saying a further inch of rain was likely to fall in higher areas of Leinster today. And the waves were certainly out in force today – as these pictures of Sandycove, Co Dublin, courtesy of reader Justin Farrelly show.
  • A new website being launched today has been described as a collaborative effort between local creatives and business owners to highlight all that the city has to offer -  from culture, shopping, nightlife and events. Check out DublinTown.ie here.
  • RTÉ has revealed the ten celebrities championing “Ireland’s Favourite Painting” – some of whom aren’t well known for their art appreciation talents. Viewers can vote on their favourite painting on the RTÉ website.
  • This week’s YouTube Top 10 from TheScore.ie has taught us several things, among which: flying rats are no laughing matter.
  • (Drumroll…) The winner of today’s Caption Competition is Paddy Behan, for his take on what Enda Kenny thinks of his new campaign posters:
Jaysus lads… I think we’ve used up our quota of ink cartridges on this one all right.

As citizens of a country that is not actually populated by leprechauns, we can probably sympathise with the plight of these African men…

Uploaded by