You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Single Parents Acting for the Rights of our Kids protest outside the Dáil today. Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland
Daily Fix

The Daily Fix: Tuesday

All Tuesday’s biggest news stories, plus some bits and pieces you may have missed along the way.

EVERY DAY, TheJournal.ie brings you a round-up of all the day’s main news as well as the bits and pieces that you may have missed.

• The #tweetgate controversy over RTÉ’s Frontline presidential debate continued today with the Taoiseach announcing the Cabinet will not order a review of the programme. Meanwhile, the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland has confirmed that is has not seen any direct evidence that would make it consider the matter further.
  • TV3 has told Senator David Norris that he “can always watch the Late Late show” following his strong criticism of its programme Tallafornia, which he called compulsive, repulsive and obnoxious.
  • Fine Gael TD has called on the Mahon Tribunal to tell the public when it will publish its findings, stating the “taxpayer has a right to know”. Are you a bit rusty on the details of the 15-year-long proceedings? Hugh O’Connell has put together a handy who’s who just for you.
  • As a result of a cooperation policy, senior PSNI Officers will be allowed to apply for promotion to senior ranks in the Garda Siochána.
  • In Syria, a human rights group has accused government forces of planting landmines along Turkey and Lebanon borders – the escape routes for fleeing refugees.
  • Displaced Priory Hall residents continued their fight today with a protest outside Leinster House.
  • Investigations got underway today into an incident last night in which a nine-year-old girl was struck by a train near her Tipperary town home.

Democratic leader in the US House of Representatives Nancy Pelosi took style guidance from Queen Elizabeth II: When visiting Ireland, wear green.

• Rebekah Brooks, her husband and four others have been arrested by police in the UK over phone hacking allegations.
  • A ratings agency has upgraded Greece. Yes, UPgraded.
  • Over in France, far-right leader Marine Le Pen has secured enough support to run in this year’s presidential election.
  • “No Irish need apply”: Down in Australia, some Irish people are giving their fellow countrymen and women a bad name because of bad behaviour at work.
  • America says goodbye to Riverdance after 16 years.
  • Two Irish players have been shortlisted for the Six Nations Player of the Tournament. Can you guess which ones? TheScore.ie has the answers.
  • The lads at TheScore.ie have also been busy keeping us up-to-date with everything happening at Cheltenham on Day One of the festival.
  • Ryan Tubridy is trying to break the US. Not really, but he did appear on MSNBC’s Morning Joe today.
  • Check this out – a company in Guatemala has transformed bicycles into fuel and electricity-free blenders, washing machines and degrainers. Recycling at its best and most useful: