TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Displaced Priory Hall residents unable to secure meeting with Taoiseach

The owners of the ill-fated properties protested outside the Dáil this morning.

Georgina English and Michelle Hogan.
Image: Sasko Lazaroz/Photocall Ireland

ABOUT 20 RESIDENTS from the Priory Hall complex gathered outside Leinster House this morning in attempts to gain the Taoiseach’s attention, spokesman Graham Usher has told TheJournal.ie.

The protest was organised to call on the Government to take some responsibility for the situation the homeowners have found themselves in since they were evacuated from their homes last October.

However, neither the Taoiseach Enda Kenny nor Minister for the Environment Phil Hogan have agreed to meet with them yet.

“We are still pushing for talks,” said Usher. “We want to get a solution on the road now rather than wait until we have to default on our mortgage. However, the Government seems happy to stand back, do nothing and let people go bankrupt.”

Currently, Dublin City Council is paying for the residents’ temporary accommodation in houses and apartments across the northside of Dublin. But on 24 April, the council will go to the Supreme Court to rid itself of that responsibility.

DCC has brought the appeal as it has been paying accommodation costs for Priory Hall residents for five months at a cost of over €700,000. It says it cannot afford to continue the arrangement for the 256 residents living in hotels and NAMA properties.

Usher and other residents have been told by lawyers to “expect the worst” from that hearing and they will then have to start paying for their own alternative accommodation.

The Donaghmede complex in which they own apartments is still unsafe to live in due to fire concerns that have not been dealt with by either the developer Tom McFeely or the council.

The residents were evacuated from the buildings in October last year. Remedial work was due to be carried out by McFeely but he was ordered off the site after failing to do so.

He is in court this Friday as the council attempts to overturn a stay he obtained on a €1 million fine and 3-month jail sentence.

New insolvency legislation

Usher says that if families and other homeowners are forced to pay for rented accommodation on top of their mortgage payments, insolvencies and bankruptcies are inevitable.

The big issue is that banks are offering us more time but this could drag on indefinitely. The more time that is added on, the more interest that keeps accruing. We need to get a freeze put on the mortgages.

Usher also claims that Finance Minister Michael Noonan has advised the owners – through a letter – to “keep an eye out for insolvency legislation as we may need to avail of it”.

“Kenny and Hogan have both said that we are in this situation through no fault of our own but there is still no sign of them admitting that the State has some responsibility,” added Usher.

Displaced Priory Hall residents unable to secure meeting with Taoiseach
1 / 8
  • Priory Hall

The exposed front of some of the Priory Hall apartments. Residents are worried that their homes are now exposed to the elements. Photo taken January 2012.
  • Area of Priory Hall

Photo: January 2012
  • Priory Hall Protest

Photo: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland
  • Priory Hall Protest

The Donaghmede complex was condemned due to fire hazard concerns and the necessary repairs have not been carried out. McFeely has since been declared bankrupt in England. With a repairs bill of €7.3 million which the council, developer and residents all say they cannot afford to pay, it is unclear when (if ever) the residents will be able to move back in.

Related: Minister: Priory Hall concerns were raised in 2006>
More of TheJournal.ie’s coverage of the Priory Hall controversy>

Read next:

Comments (34 Comments)

• I do not know what I would do if I was in these people’s shoes …. I do know this is an absolute disgrace.

• Disgraceful.

• They dont give a bollix for nobody but themselves.Greedy bastards the lot of them.Shame on our government.

• Myself and my partner were unfortunate enough to have bought a property in Priory Hell and are now suffering along with all other residents as a result. The thing that sickens me most is that in 2009 DCC moved their tenants out over fire safety issues and yet they allowed myself, my partner and my six year old and 11 month old to continue living there. Why were we not given the information they had then? Why were we allowed to continue to live in a potential death trap for two years after? If given that information in 2009 every resident would’ve moved out and ‘just maybe’ the complex could’ve been made safe as the builder was still in operation. But we were not given that option, instead DCC Waited two years until they issued us with a 48 hour evacuation notice on advice from the chief fire officer, his advice being that the entire complex could go up in flames in five minutes. FIVE MINUTES!
    We are not looking for handouts or anything of the sort, but a safe place to raise our children. We all work and contribute taxes.
    We just need a solution so we can move on with our lives. The only thing we have done wrong is believing in our local council, builder and government!

• I wasn’t aware of that. It’s simply bewildering that the rights of council tenants are placed above home owners.

However it is nothing new-on a much more trivial scale, in the grand scheme of things, council estates get flower beds and playgrounds, while privately owned ones get tax bills and green fingers from cutting their own grass.

• I really feel for these people. I can’t believe the Irish system has failed them to such an extent. I think DCC and the government are afraid to jump in and pay for this because they would be setting a precedent and given the reckless way the building industry was run here, god only knows how many other developments are out there in a similar state just waiting to blow up. And because the residents of Priory Hall were helped then every other development that comes out of the woodwork would have to be helped as well. Still it makes me ashamed to be Irish when I see something like this being allowed to drag on, and likewise it scares me that if ever I was to find myself in a similar situation that my government would stand by and watch me rot into the ground.

• Priory Hall is just the tip of the iceberg, many more to come I’m afraid.

• DaveC 13/03/12 #

That’s definitely true. The real reason the government won’t engage with priory hall is because there are many more to come and they know it.

• No doubt, gents.

But the thing is, there is a duty of care to put things right. The property tax is an ideal mechanism to do just that. And only as a last resort.

IANAL, but surely substandard construction is a criminal act. Seize the developer’s assets as has been done with CAB, if they haven’t already been, and add that to the pot.

• Sorry folks Kenny is too busy playing superman saving Europe Gilmore will have Syria and the middle east sorted by Easter Reilly to busy pushing around trollies Noonan saving the European banks Hogan too busy looking down his nose at peopl.
    Is feidir linn my arse !!!!!

• Why is the City Manager still walking around and not put in jail? He is responsible for buying over 25 apartments in Priory Hall from the developer while his company was under investigation by Dublin Ciry Council for failing to comply with building regulations on uuanother site. He handed over 5 million to the developer and didn’t even inspect the properties. I bet he viewed and inspected his own home at least 3 times before he handed over the money. Yet he handed over the taxpayers money without a second thought for the people who would have to live there. This is the Person the solicitors should be addressing and the people should channel their anger until he is in jail.

• priory hall makes visible the filthy skullduggery that went on in the galway tent all those years ago.
    who’d have thought with a history that we have as a country re: land/property that we would do this to our own.
    it seems that greed trumps “patriotism” every time

• These people are victims of an uncaring government who jump through hoops for the German & French governments & banks, a fraction of the €€€ that will be given on the Anglo promissory notes would rectify this shameful saga but as another poster pointed out a precedent would be set. There are many more homes literally thrown up during the boom that had corners cut to say the least. And DCC should be ashamed of themselves! They aren’t innocent here yet they have no qualms making people homeless. As for McFealy; that’s a f**king scumbag pure & simple. Sinn Fein are quiet about this too… I really feel for these residents. Refugees in their own country except refugees are entitled to accommodation & no that’s not meant in a derogatory or racist manner. Shame on our Govt yet again.

• Sinn Féin are not quiet about this, as you would know had you bothered to attend any of the protests. Micheal Mac Donncha, the Sinn Féin Councillor who is helping to run the campaign is perhaps the most vocal local representative on the issue.

At the protest to mark 100 days since their eviction, which as a resident of Donaghmede, I attended last month, he was the speaker who got the biggest round of applause and the most support from the crowd along with ULA TD Clare Daly. The FF and Lab councillors got a bit of heckling while Terence Flanagan TD for Fine Gael was booed off stage.

• I am a resident and have no leaning towards any party, but I feel my contribution here is necessary.
      Micheal Mac Donncha has been an amazing supporter of PH from the get go. He has given his time to attend every residents meeting and has turned out for every protest. Brian Mc Dowell has also done exactly the same, and has been a huge source of information and encouragement. Every politician can not be tarred with the same brush, but in saying that, their is many I would like to tar!

• If I was in that situation I would stop paying my mortgage and get out of this depressing hell hole of a country

• I’d do the same in fairness, but isn’t that a case if they stop paying that mortgage then they will still owe bank loads of money? So no more property to own and still huge debt to pay? Or perhaps screw that all together and emigrate somewhere and start new life…. I know easy said…what a fkd up situation…

• FFG/Labur had no problems engaging with the residents during the presidential election campaign … i dont know why they dont want to meet them now ??? Any ideas people??

• jimbo 13/03/12 #

Kenny and co. A PACK OF WIMPS AND COWARDS

• More Irish people abandoned by their politicians. Democracy? Where?

• Do they really think that the Government gives one F… For them?????

• D Burns 13/03/12 #

If they are not going to line Kenny’s pockets with money, he has no interest in meeting them!!! Time for this Government to grow a pair and help people who really need it!

• Kenny willing to meet real people? Irish citizens who he claims to represent? Not a chance sure he is to busy meeting un-elected prime ministers from Italy & Greece and brown nosing those in Europe he considers ‘important’. The folk from Priory Hall need to get real and understand the Irish government do not give a f**k about them as they are not part of the program. White noise as far as the folk inhabiting Leinster house are concerned.

• odd, i cant reply to a reply…. altho the following comment sums it up pretty well! the construction and banking industry had ff/pd in their pockets for a generation! self certified? who ever heard of that shit! if thats the case lets all just certify ourselves for everything! i think i’ll take up medicine and just certify myself as a GP! sure whats the worst that cud happen!!!! i love how tom parlon went straight from bn a pd td to being head of the construction federation as well, completely shamelessly showing whose side they were on the whole time!

• i dont know the deal with buying apartments but do you not need a survey for your mortgage like you do a house? in which case shud the survey not show up faults with a building like this? and if it shud, and didnt, shudnt the surveyor employed by the private buyers be liable and cant they claim off their professional practice insurance? other than that sue the council for signing off on a building unfit for occupation as being completed. their fight is with everyone else in the property chain. enda shud have met them to discuss the issue and the government in general shud be finding ways to stop it from happening again and protecting ppl in the future but there isnt a whole lot he can do absolutely awful PR tho. their press office is truly shocking, they keep letting veruca answer questions for one thing!

• It was all self certified Barry! Which is unfortunately the reason these fraudsters were allowed get away with it. The builders architect certified that everything was compliant which we now know it clearly wasn’t. If you have a read of the ‘support the priory hall residents’ Facebook page you’ll see the pictures and you can read all about it.

• The government could kill two birds with one stone here.

-Undertake to apply a fair property based taxation system within one year.

-Ringfence funds from this year’s intake, and couple them with the bonds held by local authorities, and remedy any substandard developments completed to date, as they become apparent.

-Prosecute, to the full rigours of the law, any developer who has not fulfilled their obligations, and that includes not allowing them to run away to another jurisdiction, under the pretence that they do business there.

People will then be assured that their taxes are being used directly on viable projects, justice is being done, and these discommoded citizens are being granted one basic human right, that of a roof over their head.

Everyone wins. And justice is done.

• Mark, I have no axe to grind as regards Sinn Fein but why have they not condemned McFealy outright? The mans past is a matter of public record as is his regard for the laws of the land. He’s such a good republican he gets declared bankrupt in London? This story though is about the residents & the limbo they’ve been in since last year. And I have attended several protests in support of the Priory Hall residents as I live locally Mark.

• You clearly do have an axe to grind despite locals like myself and even residents of the complex calling you out on your utterly untrue remarks. They have condemned him outright.

He’s not a republican. Nor did anybody ever claim he was so take your patronising/ridiculous remarks elsewhere. If you look through the archives of An Phoblacht you will see archives criticising the man and the actions of his development company as far back as July 1999. For example an article from then describes him as a bully and claims he was intimidating people in Charlemount Street:

“Tom McFeely, the builder, whom she describes as a “rough merchant”, has visited several times attempting to convince her to accept their alternative offer of accommodation. Speaking briefly and bluntly to An Phoblacht, McFeely’s side of the story was encapsulated in the line: “See yous ones, its none of your f***ing business”. ”

SO does this sound like a man on good terms with SF?

Perhaps Micheal Mac Donncha welcoming his imprisonement in November wasnt enough for you? http://www.build.ie/construction_news.asp?newsid=135461

Or perhaps the article he wrote just days after the scandal erupted? http://aprnonline.com/?p=87502

Yes this story is about the residents but it was you who changed the subject and attempted to infer either that McFeely was linked with Sinn Féin or that SF were not active on the issue. Both of which are untrue.

• For the last time I have NO repeat NO axe to grind with Sinn Fein. I have never voted for them but come next election I will be voting for them. Do I sound like a man with an ace to grind? Mark, we both agree the residents have been left out to dry by the powers that be & I respect Sinn Fein & the work their members do in the ground especially in their free time. I always voted labour because I agreed with most of their policies & thought they’d keep FG in check. How wrong was I… Not everyone wakes up from a bad dream at the same time but at least we wake up. And the last 4 years of austerity have been a bad dream!

Add New Comment