We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Protesters demonstrate at Portland International Airport, one year after President Donald Trump implemented the 'Muslim ban'. SIPA USA/PA Images

US ends ban on refugees from 11 'high-risk' countries

But Department of Homeland Security officials say they are working to implement new screening measures.

THE US WILL resume normal processing of refugees from 11 countries that had previously only been admitted on a “case-by-case” basis.

But Department of Homeland Security officials say they are working to implement new screening measures for applicants from those high-risk countries following a 90-day review.

Secretary Kirstjen Nielsen said during a speech at the Woodrow Wilson Center yesterday that the changes were aimed at better protecting the country against terrorism, crime and fraud.

President Donald Trump has worked to restrict the number of refugees allowed into the country, including signing a four-month ban on refugees last year.

The administration won’t publicly confirm the 11 countries, but Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Mali, North Korea, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria and Yemen have all seen the effects of the ban, according to the BBC.

Officials say they intend to review the list and update it six months from now.

- with reporting from Gráinne Ní Aodha

Read: Trump says he will end the green card lottery in response to the New York City attack

Read: US-bound passengers on a number of airlines to face stricter security interviews from tomorrow

Associated Foreign Press
Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel