TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

2.2 million received weekly social welfare payment last year – report

The Minister for Social Protection has published two reports detailing work undertaken by her Department in 2011.

Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

THE MINISTER FOR Social Protection Joan Burton has revealed that 2.2 million people across the country benefited from a weekly social welfare payment last year.

Publishing the Department of Social Protection Annual Report 2011 and Statistical Information on Social Welfare Services 2011, Burton said that payments were made to 1.4 million people last year and made over 87.6 million scheme payments last year.

The total expenditure by the Department in 2011 was almost €21 billion.

“Behind each and every one of these statistics is a real person or family. Delivering the Department’s services is not just about numbers but about affecting the daily lives and well being of all our citizens particularly in these challenging times,” said Burton.

She continued:

These figures demonstrate the scale of my Department’s work, administering over 70 separate schemes and services which impact on the lives of almost every person in the State.
The Department has embarked on a transformation process which, in 2011, included the integration of the former Community Welfare Service into my Department, the transfer of responsibility for the processing of claims under the Redundancy and Insolvency Payment Schemes, the transfer of responsibility for Social Inclusion and, preparations for the transfer of over 700 staff in Employment Services and Community Employment Services from FÁS in January 2012.

The Social Protection statistics in 2011 reveal a number of key findings, including:

• Expenditure on State Pensions increased by 3.3 per cent to just over €6 billion, and payments were made to over 522,000 people in this area
  • Expenditure on Working Age Employment Supports increased by 186 per cent to almost €860 million overall in 2011. When additional expenditure on FÁS Employment Supports is discounted (as their budgets were transferred to the Department in 2011), the increase in expenditure for the other schemes was 45 per cent
  • Expenditure on Jobseeker payments decreased by 4.7 per cent to over €3.9 billion due to budget cuts, and a 22.2 per cent decrease in the number of recipients of the weekly Jobseekers Benefit payment was observed
  • Overall, 379,973 people were in receipt of a weekly Jobseekers payment
  • More than 597,000 families received a monthly Child Benefit payment which was paid in respect of over 1,136,000 children. Expenditure on Child Benefit decreased by 6.2 per cent to just under €2.1 billion due to budget cuts
  • Expenditure on Carer’s Allowance increased by 1.1 per cent while expenditure on Carer’s Benefit decreased by 6.9 per cent – meanwhile the numbers in receipt of a Carer’s payment increased by 2.1 per cent
  • There were 24,666 recipients of the Back to Education allowance – an increase of 16.6 per cent from last year – and expenditure on this scheme increased by 12 per cent to almost €202 million
  • Family Income Supplement was paid to over 28,800 families, 2.3 per cent more than the previous year, and benefiting almost 65,300 children; expenditure on Family Income Supplement increased by 10 per cet to almost €205 million

Meanwhile, significant pieces of work by the Department of Social Protection in 2011 include the launch of JobBridge, the National Internship Scheme, in June 2011. The report shows that, by the end of the year, over 3,600 interns were selected by host organisations and in excess of 5,000 internships were posted on the JobBridge website. To date over 8,700 people have availed of the Scheme.

Other work of significance included the establishment of the National Employment and Entitlements Service (NEES), which aims to integrate benefit payments services and employment services within the Department, and also the launch of a new fraud initiative, Fraud Initiative 2011-2013.

Read: Bruton says sick pay row is a private matter for Cabinet>

Read next:

Comments (70 Comments)

• Feeds 20/07/12 #

“If you pay people not to work and tax them when they do, don’t be surprised if you get unemployment.”
    —Milton Friedman

• Irish salaries are the highest in the Euro area. And before you mention the cost of living, it’s now cheaper than it was 3 years ago. The problem is the huge expectations of people.

• Feeds 20/07/12 #

I agree on the salaries, they are too high and together with the dole keep the cost of living high.

I haven’t noticed how it’s cheaper to live in Ireland though: food just as overpriced as before, taxes higher, petrol pricier, rent just as high as in 2008, mostly due to being widely subsidized with rent allowance.

• Rubbish..you quote implies that the 450’00- plus on the dole are there by choice. Michael Taft sad that for every 50 on the dole there’s one 1 job! In 06’07 there were 90’000 plus on the dole. After ’08 till now that has jumped to 450’000 +. Are you saying that they all decide to go on the dole cause it “pays” well?
      And for those that gave the thumbs up.
      Mark Twain : It Is Easier To Fool People Than To Convince People That They Have Been Fooled.

• Feeds 20/07/12 #

Why aren’t there jobs out there? Plenty of businesses would hire but they can’t afford hires at the high cost set by overly optimistic minimum wage and a dole twice as high as average salaries in some EU countries.

People on the dole on the other hand, have no incentive to look for work. From talks with unemployed people I had, they don’t really have to look for work, just once a year provide a few phone numbers of prospective employers they called. Depending how you look at it, they are getting paid not to work.

The system is wrong. Paying people for not working is unfair for both those who do work and pay taxes but also demoralizing for those who receive it.

I am not proposing an easy solution, just pointing out the absurdity of current setup.

• @Fiona . That term ” there are no jobs out their” is subjective. There is jobs if you are willing to give up the benefits for low paying jobs as that’s all that out there. There are so many people genuinely unemployed and in a finacial trap , with a mortgage etc , wherby they need x amount of money to get by and most available jobs won’t pay the x amount but the dole will , along with allowances and mortgage subsidy . Break down the unemployment list and you will see that 70,000 are under 25 and have not worked since they left collage , 80,000 foreign nationals who unfourtunitly have not been here too long before they found themselves unemployed , 68,000 have been out of work since before the Celtic tiger , when the world and his mother was working . So really what does that leave ? We need government policy to focus on helping small to medium business with an incentive to rehire people. Possible a reduction in tax or prsi for a two year period , to make it worth a person while returning to the work place.

As for your defence of single mums , there are many single mums struggle to keep their children in today’s expensive world of education , food and activities but to be fair there are many people in this country bleeding the system and some single mums have added to that problem. There are women that have no intention of working and are happy to have a few kids without finacila planning or support as they know the state will pick up the tab. I spoke to a woman on air recently that had 5 kids for three fathers , none of which was paying a cent in maintenance and none of whom were on the kids birth certificate. She got pregnant again because by her own admission she knew the council would give her a bigger house.

I’m not suggesting for a minute all single mums are the same but unfourtunitly the likes of the above and the thousands that cohabittate with working fathers , give the rest a bad name .
      I have a friend and she is a single mum and she works her ass off even though she told me she would be better off on benefit but she says she has pride in what she does and she brought her son into the world and it’s up to her to support him. The help is their finically in the state to provide for anybody that falls on hard times but it’s not a bottomless charity Pit.

Leaving aside the accidental pregnancy ( although really in this day and age that’s bizzare) any woman , family should be in a finacial position to support a child before they actually have one .

• So the problem is with the people who work. Tim this is getting repetitive and boring. I’m confused by your arguments, tax the rich, your normal cry, then reduce the wages because we earn to much, thus reducing the tax take, therefore less money for dole recipients, but you want to maintain the level of social welfare payments.

Oh wait a minute, you want collectivisation, five year plans and the return of Stalin.
      I finally get it.

• Paul 21/07/12 #

Friedman is the one behind the rotten ideology that got us into the mess we are in. A neo-liberal sociopath whose policies have had disastrous consequences for the majority of this world. Why anyone would think differently in this day and age is beyond me. More Keynes less Friedman please!

• Being on the dole is not pretty and nothing to be proud off,I am 31 have a wife and two young girls 5/6,I was in construction,(my own fit out company that employed upto 35 at one stage).
    I had to close down due to vast amounts of monies owed to me and also monies I owed to suppliers,banks for vans,it was the worst moment on the 28th oct 08 that I had to sign on to make sure we had food & clothes for my kids.
    My wife decided to go to college to become a nurse (going into last year in sept) she got €30 a week grant as I was getting €217 off social & €30 a week mortgage relief thats €310 in total,for us to pay mortgage bills feed family get to and from college and put our eldest thru school. So people mouthing off you better on welfare are talking thru their arse….and another thing because my wife works six hours part time at week end in nursing home for €66 we over MR threshold,and I have started an internship and get an extra €50 which go towards the €80 a week for kids to be minded…..doing the maths yea wonder why when you loosing money,but I want to work and not have to go head bowed down ashamed into the social to sign on,the vast majority on the dole are I’m sure in the same boat and would rather work but the work ain’t out there lads I’ve been looking since 08

• Hi Paul, thats pretty tough, keep your chin up, good luck

• I’m healthy alive so is wife and kids I know it’s a saying used too often nowadays but it’s true health is your wealth……hopefully I’ll get back in fulltime employment after internship,we used to work 16/18 hours a day six days a week,and yea would miss that when all of a sudden it’s gone……

• Paul,
      Fair play to you and well said. Your commonsense and positive attitude will see you through I’m sure. Best of luck to you.

• Paul, best wishes chief!

• You have my sympathy. I have also retained after closing my business. An honest recruiter told me that every position he placed in the last 2 years was in foreign multi-nationals and they only want candidates with 3-5 years experience. After 18 months searching in Ireland, without so much as an interview I am resigned to joining my brother in UK. After 2 weeks of starting to look I have been submitted for 4 good jobs and have interviews next week.
      These are not easy decisions, but the longer I search in Ireland the more I become convinced there is not future here.
      Then again maybe I am not looking hard enough, I have yet to take out a city center billboard advertising myself.

• That’s tough Paul. Hope it gets better for you man :-)

• the dole certainly isn’t all its cracked up to be i got made redundant last year where i was earning 500-700 euro a week my wife stayed at home to mind our two daughters 2 and 5 so when i got left go she had to take up part time work with a health care agency earning 290 a week but because she works part time im means tested so i now receive 115 my mortgage is in arrears my loan is in arrears actually every thing is the only thing that keeps me going is my wife and kids so its hard on the dole I’ve sent countless cvs out i have my friends dropping the jobs sections of papers to me as i can’t afford buy them its a struggle for even the simple things there simply is no work out there its the same jobs on the net that were on it 3months ago the only way your better off on the dole is if your in social housing

• Believe you me, you arent any better off financially if you’re in social housing. I am and come Tuesday afternoon I have no cash till I collect my money on Thursdays. I dont go out or spend money on drink or buy new clothes. My brother is a long distance truck driver and he goes to the continent once a month and I give him 12 euros to get me two 50 grm pouches of Golden Virginia in France which lasts me the month so it works out at 3 euros a week for tobacco. It would cost me 8 euros here for a 12oz pouch that would last me 3 or 4 days.

• Jaysus calm down lad. Mines gone as well but I’m not going to lose the rag and go that far!

• It’s gone too far. Work must be incentivised. For both worker and business. National free childcare would be a huge start. I have many more suggestions too but the utopia in my brain can sometimes get downtrodden and saddened by the general cynicism that I myself espouse. :(

• Feeds 20/07/12 #

I think requiring people to do public work for the dole would help weed out those who just want to slack about.

People could sweep streets or clean the shores from litter, whatever.

Single mums on welfare, for instance, could be running daycare at their homes for 3-4 kids of mums who do want to work.

• ah feeds..you have to be a troll…

• Was wondering how long it would take before the single mums were singled out..

• And also Feeds, your implication that the single mother who looks after the children is that she, herself, does not want to work? Or am I reading that wrong?

In any case, in order for you to look after children you must be a registered childcare worker. And must hold the relevant qualifications. Which is why the childcare system in this country is so expensive. You cannot look after children in your own home anymore. If you do, and are reported, you are in fact breaking the law. As you are looking after children without the relevant qualifications, without the insurance and without paying the relevant tax to the Government.

The fact is, there are just no jobs out there. Absolutely none. Ratio figures show that there is one job for every 28 or so people. What do the other 27 do? Also your suggestion that people should sweep the streets for their dole. What about the council workers who are paid well for that job? Should they give up that job and sweep the streets for €188? Or should the people on the dole just do it and put him out of a job? The vast majority of the 450,000 people are not on the dole through choice. Far from it.

• yasser 20/07/12 #

Niall Its unfair to pick on single mums. You have a good job with easy money for talking into a mic No special talent needed just know the right people. But we are not all as lucky as you.

• Well said Fiona.

• Where I work we produce a parts for export only, even though there are other businesses importing a similar part at a different stage of the product process. I asked why this was and my boss said its we pay less VAT if we export rather that supply a local business bizzare eh? Were so focused on exports and were not looking after our domestic market. No wonder there’s no work out there!
    We should be encouraged to create jobs at home, tax breaks for hiring the local plumber, builder etc. because your are creating work.
    Also a 35hr week sounds good less hours means more people working like Germany, France. Equal maternity/paternity time off (as in the mother may have a higher paid job) , all of these little steps creates employment, more people working less on the dole. I sense we are still in a bubble and it will soon burst. I wish Germany would just take over the country and be done with it.

• Toureag

There is no need to be nasty. GROW UP!!!

• Toureag. Is that volks speak for toerag?

• @pierce thanks for your nice comment :-)

• Am full time working mum – sick of listening to all the single mums whining. I work through lunch and start really early so I can get home a little early to save some of my child care costs – i wud love someone to give me 200 euros a wk just because I had a kid !! Or to collect my own kids from school once in awhile. But I can’t cause I have to pay tax to support your kids because their father won’t :(

• Right now its a free for all;

Social welfare benefits should be relative to your tax payments, and those who have not contributed anything should be entitled to nothing.

• how do you evaluate a contribution. prior to establishing my own business I worked in the merchant navy, I was a non- resident with no tax liability, however I spent all my foreign earned income in the Irish economy thus effectively importing over 300,000 into the Irish economy over 10 years. Or I could have been a public servant and my salary and taxes being paid out of the money brought into the Irish economy by exporters and money importers. Now don’t think I am public service bashing either, they are a very necessary and valuable component of our economy. But blanket comments like yours are far to simplistic and short- sighted. The level of taxes contributed may not be a real indication of actual benefit to the economy.

• additionally the contribution of many tax payers, particularly many public servants may be far in excess of just the taxes they pay.

• Yeah and I wasn’t one of them. I paid in about €12,000 towards these schemes and got nothing by way of public services in return. Knowing my luck I’ll die on my 65th Birthday after a life of tax paying and never get anything back out of this corrupt useless nanny state.

• Sinead 20/07/12 #

I walked past a recruitment centre yesterday and there were plenty of jobs in the window. The salary for one job was €50-60k per year (can’t remember what it was) but there are jobs out there.

• Wait for it…….

• Feeds 20/07/12 #

Well, Fiona, is there a job more secure than becoming a single mum in a welfare state?

The only incentive the system gives her is to be sure not to find a father for the children or she loses the money.

I am not saying they’re not victims of troubled times but come on… How is ripping half the country off in taxes to pay others who don’t have to work right?

• Feeds, the fact that you think women out there are becoming single mums just to secure their welfare is mind boggling. The incentive for single mothers to go out to work has been slashed by Joan Burton in her implementation of section 4 of the social welfare bill recently. The fact that she has changed the bill so that mothers of children as young as 7 no longer have access to the one parent family payment and must go on jobseekers allowance instead forces these mothers not to take up work as who will look after her 7 year old? She must be available for work in order to qualify for jobseekers so what do you suggest there? Get a job and have her 7 year old home alone from 3 pm every day? Or pay a registered childminder mon – fri for the few hours until she gets home. Thereby putting herself in more poverty. The choices are stark for single parents who want to work. The cost of childcare takes up to 40% of a couples income. For a single parent who wants to work that is a hell of a chunk out of her wages. Childcare is the key here, it must be subsidised. And in all honesty feeds, there are a hell of a lot more people out there ripping you off in your taxes, bankers, bondholders, politicians themselves. Yet its the social welfare recipient who has his/her hand in your pocket? Wake up and smell the squander of your taxes. It’s not the single parent trying to feed her kids, nor is it the man who is trying to keep a roof over his head. It is the Government themselves. And they are neck deep in the trough each and every one.

• Feeds 20/07/12 #

I am not saying they consciously become single mums to secure their welfare. I am saying, that as long as they stay single mums their welfare is secured, this is mind-boggling to me. The financial incentive is there for them not to try and build a family with a partner. This is… a system borne out of compassion doing a very bad job and pushing people in wrong directions. “Move in with the dad and you lose the money”.

The cost of childcare in this country is ridiculous indeed. A female colleague at work came to visit with a 2 year old and newborn twins. She said she couldn’t afford to go back to work. Isn’t this absurd?

Subsidising isn’t the answer in my opinion, neither for bankers, businesses nor unemployed or childcare. It is never fair. I’d rather suggest removing obstacles that make childcare so expensive.

• @ Fiona – taking some ideas from the comments above and elsewhere:

1. Lower cost of child care by changing CA from a cash payment to a child care services voucher system.

2. New legislation forcing fathers to have a more active role in the lives of their children. Believe it or not,any fathers would be very happy for their parental role to be more than providing a fixed level of financial support. Many fathers spend large sums of money on legal actions to gain tactless to their kids. That money could be spent directly on the children, not on legal costs. Fathers should and often are willing to be carets for their children.

3. Incentives should be offered to employers so they can offer a more parent-friendly work environment.

4. Mothers should be prepared to retrain and accept that their earning potential is less than before, both because the flexibility offered by the workplace to mothers must swing both ways, and that, generally, salary and benefits must be lowered by all, including mothers, in order for the country to become sustainable.

And now come the vitriol..

• The changes Joan Burton has made have made it now longer a “secure” payment as you call it. She is not giving single parents the opportunities to return to work. She is forcing them into more poverty as they must now be available for work, yet cannot afford the childcare that goes with it.

The childcare issue is one that will rage on for parents, single or not. After your mortgage it is the second highest bill in any household. It needs to be addressed but I don’t know how the obstacles can be moved rather than take away the need to be registered. But that is enshrined now so I doubt there is any way out of that one.

The single parent payment is 217.80 per week. It’s not an amount any person would actively sit at home for but the trap is set. Even the encouragement for people to get back into education does not help the single parent as all the courses are full time. Which incurs childcare costs. Which are not helped with. It’s a vicious circle but the majority of single parents do not want to be on welfare. As do the majority of people who are on jobseekers at the minute. Until jobs become available we are caught in this trap of pointing the finger at people who are on the dole through no fault of their own and accusing them of taking taxes. They lost their jobs though. Ask any one of those 400,000 people and they will tell you they didn’t actively choose this. The blame lies somewhere and I know whose door I lay that one firmly at.

• @karswell – I agree, there are many ways for changes to be made to offer more support for people trying to get back to work re childcare. Millionaires in this country get childrens allowance. Politicians, bankers, fat cats et al. That to me is wrong. It should be means tested. That would be a huge saving in itself. Sadly, what seems to be happening is that the government are hell bent on cutting expenditure, cutting CS schemes, lowering the rent allowance cap, etc and making it extremely hard for struggling people, and in some cases making people less well off if they work and are not offering any alternative. The supports should be in place to assist as much as possible to get people back to work. But all they seem to be doing is making the cuts to keep the Troika happy and not assisting or offering any alternative to people who are suffering more because of these cuts. I mean to say to a single parent, for example, we have to take you off your one parent family payment and put you on jobseekers yet will offer you no help in assisting you find work or help with your childcare costs for your 7 year old makes no sense to me. It just enshrines the poverty trap for that person even more.

• Stop having more babbies! 2 is enough!

• @ Fiona – we need to get away from this vision of a one parent family. Both parents should take responsibility, both parents should share the costs of raising a child. But this also means that both parents should have the right of care for the children. Support for working mothers shouldn’t be seen as a separate issue than equal rifts and responsibilities for fathers. There may be many reflect full fathers out there, but there are also many fathers who want to play and active role in their children’s lives, but the current system is weighted against that. I’m not saying that a single mother would choose to stay at home rather than work, and that fathers choose to abandon their children, but the current system funnels people into this situation. It wouldn’t be an easy path, but separated parents does not automatically mean a single parent family. Time for a better model to aim for.

• And the problem has come to its full circle. In the 70s women who worked and had to give it up when they had children were not allowed to collect the dole regardless of wether they had been paying stamp for years because they were not considered available to work. They changed the rules without putting in place an adequate system to enable women return to the workforce, while having their children cared for. It only took one generation for the whole mess to blow up.

• Incentives not to work have bog all to do with the lack of work in a recession. That’s an idiotic monetarist position. To see this do a simple thought experiment. A company which used to hire 20 people to do work quantity X, now needs 10 people to do work X. Demand has dropped off. So the owner has made 10 people redundant. Let’s now pretend that wages are halfed. He can clearly hire 20 people but he won’t because he just needs 10. Not until work goes back to X will he hire 20 people. The problem is demand side, as he needs to get more orders to hire more people. The key is to increase demand, the solution is not austerity but the opposite.

• The second X should be X / 2 in that response.

• The other benefits include her own huge salary and car and her fat dept heads with massive pensions and perks lest we forget!!

• Sinead 20/07/12 #

No but there was plenty advertised in the two big huge windows.

• Nappy 20/07/12 #

what about jews .blacks and Romanians

• Sinead 21/07/12 #

So every person with a third level qualification is in full time employment ????

• She convinced me she was a good person so I voted labor now I hate the sight of her she lied lied and lied

• The entitlement brigade are plentiful I see again.

Add New Comment