You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

GOOD MORNING

The 9 at 9 Here’s all the news you need to know this morning.

EVERY MORNING, TheJournal.ie brings you the stories you need to know as you start your day.

1. #NORTH: Taoiseach Leo Varadkar will hold meetings with the leaders of the main political parties in Northern Ireland, including the DUP’s Arlene Foster, today. Some of Varadkar’s comments on Brexit were recently criticised by unionists.

2. #MURDER TRIAL: Jason Corbett’s sister has told the trial into his killing he was “homesick and lonely“.

3. #SWORDS: Two men have been arrested over an alleged sexual assault in a north Dublin nightclub last weekend.

4. #TRUMP: US President Donald Trump has described Russian interference in the 2016 presidential election as a “total fabrication“ amid reports that a special prosecutor has assembled a grand jury to investigate the issue — a step toward possible criminal indictments.

5. #CHILDCARE: A nationwide review of crèche fees could result in differing grant payments to parents in the future, depending on how much they spend on childcare.

6. #WICKLOW: Gardaí used a golf buggy to chase after two Afghani refugees who escaped from the back of a truck and were running through a Wicklow golf course.

7. #NURSING HOME: A Kerry nursing home was told its system for managing residents’ cash was not secure, according to a Hiqa inspection carried out earlier this year.

8. #LUAS: Heading off for the Bank Holiday weekend? Luas works mean major diversions will be in place in Dublin city.

9. #THE TORCH: One of Dubai’s tallest skyscrapers was evacuated after it was engulfed by a fire.

Comments are closed due to ongoing legal proceedings in one or more of the above cases.