TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Gardaí seek witnesses to theft of car possibly linked to Donohoe death

It has been established that the burnt-out Passat discovered in Armagh was stolen from Clogherhead last Wednesday morning.

GARDAÍ HAVE ISSUED an appeal for witnesses who may have information on the theft of a car in Co Louth last week, after revealing that the car stolen there is the one that was found burnt out in Co Armagh – and which may be linked to the death of Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe.

Gardaí this evening said the discovery of the burnt-out vehicle outside Keady in Co Armagh in the early hours of Sunday morning – a little over 24 hours after the shooting in Bellurgan, Co Louth – was being treated as a line of enquiry in Donohoe’s death.

The car, a navy Volkswagen Passat with an 08-D registration plate, was stolen during the course of a burglary in Clogherhead sometime between 11:30pm last Tuesday night and 4:30am on Wednesday morning.

The theft coincided with a large funeral at St Michael’s Church in the village on Tuesday evening and Wednesday morning, and Gardaí are hoping that those who were in attendance at that funeral may have information about the theft of the car or the individuals involved.

Anyone who noticed such a car in the hours and days leading up to Friday night’s shooting, or who may have seen it in Bellurgan or Keady before it was burnt out, has been asked to contact the incident room at Dundalk Garda Station at (042) 9388400.

They can also contact the Garda Confidential line at 1800 666 111, any Garda station, or the PSNI at (048) 90650222.

Anyone in Northern Ireland who may have seen the vehicle is asked to contact PSNI at 0845 6008000.

Read: Dáil and Seanad to adjourn for garda detective’s funeral tomorrow

More: TDs pay tribute to slain Detective Garda

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (13 Comments)

• The net is closing on these sc**bags only a matter of time before they’re caught. You can be pretty sure they ain’t gonna get bail either!

• The clock is ticking down ye who carried out this cowardly act…

Only a matter of time before someone cracks. The paranoia should be well set in by now…

The public support shall prevail.

• Looking forward to seeing these cowards being lead into court, it won’t be long.

• Please do the decent thing if you know anything. You may think it’s insignificant but the Gardai will not.
    Please do it .

• im not anti guards ,and any loss of life is tragic but would you think there be the same level of investagation if it was you or me
    dont think so

• you and i dont put our lives in danger to protect everyone else,that was an attack against the state protectors.

• Yes, that comment is shallow to put it politely. The police force in any democracy is a cornerstone of that democracy. So whilst no one persons life is worth anymore than anothers, by implication the murder of a garda is an attack on this nation, and it’s democracy. That is why the murder of a garda is of greater significance.

• Go throw ur rattler out of ur pram. Guess what if I was murdered 2 Moro I’m sure it would make the news, be investigate but because I’m not a guard I probably wouldn’t get the extreme media coverage and u know what I’m fine with that. Why? Because what’s next? I’m standing in the post office one day and there’s a raid. My daughter gets in the way of the $cumbag, bang in her face. U think they wouldn’t? After shooting a guard in the face? What’s shooting a child in the face to them? They’ll kill anyone who gets in their way for a few quid! So yes this case is a little different so get ur violins out and play them somewhere else!

• Thats like something a drunk Quentin Tarantino would write, Karolyn. I agree with the sentiment.

• Genius.

• An assault on a Garda is the same as an assault on the State. If the people who murdered Adrian have no fear of killing a State agent who was doing a job of trying to protect the lives of employees of a small community Credit Union, they would have little thought for any of your sons or daughters who get in their way.
      There needs to be a message sent out loud and clear that we, as a society, will not tolerate this and all the resources of the State should be brought to bear in bringing the perpetrators to justice and holding them to account.
      There exists a huge groundswell of support for the Gardai within the community at the moment and perhaps this is a very positive thing that has come out of this horrendous tragedy and something which will honour the memory of a man who had a big heart filled with a rare courage.

Add New Comment