TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

AIB repays €1 billion to unsecured bondholders today

More than €18 billion has been repaid to bondholders by state-owned Irish banks this year.

Image: Stephen Donnelly

BAILED-OUT ALLIED Irish Banks (AIB) will today repay €1 billion in unsecured debt to senior bondholders.

In a move effectively financed by the State, the money will bring to more than €18 billion the amount that Irish banks have repaid to bondholders this year as a result of the bank guarantee introduced in 2008.

It is the last payment that is due to AIB, which is 99.8 per cent owned by the State, this year but there will be a number of other payments made to unsecured bondholders in State-0wned banks before the end of the year.

Another €2 billion is due to bondholders before the end of the year in Anglo Irish Bank, Bank of Ireland, EBS building society, and Irish Life and Permanent. A further €17 billion will be handed over next year.

Protesters from Sinn Féin and the Campaign against Household and Water Taxes are due to demonstrate against the bond repayment in Dublin later today.

Independent TD Stephen Donnelly, who has been heavily critical of bondholder repayments, has been handing out €1 billion notes at Dart stations in Dublin today in a bid to highlight the issue.

The notes, which were produced in conjunction graphic designer Con Kennedy, feature Finance Minister Michael Noonan on the front and a brief note explaining what is happening on the back:

SD Bondholder bill

SD Bondholder bill back

Last May: €1.5billion to be paid to senior AIB bondholders today

Read next:

Comments (138 Comments)

• Remember everybody, these bonds are unguaranteed & unsecured, meaning bondholders bought them AFTER lenihans blanket guarantee on the hopes that the Irish government would be too cowardly to refuse to pay out.

And they were right. Shameful

• Unsecured – without financial security; “an unsecured note”

Synonyms:
    unguaranteed; unsecured

Context example:
    an unsecured note

Similar:
    insecure; unsafe (lacking in security or safety)

Keep having to double check the meaning of that word as it seems to no longer apply – must be great to now be able to gamble and never lose.

• and while you are trying to come with a nice little answer that fits @Barry Aston idea of a way to move forward, can somebody also look up the meaning of life, and post that too cheers!!!

Really up at the front of each march if somebody explains it to you, here an idea go out get involved and help come up with the solutions,, but no matter what solution you do,, there will always be those who would rather stick with he current system even though it is obviously BROKEN,, well its not broken its doing what it was designed to do,, take the wealth from the masses and hand it to the few so they can keep control.

• The solution has been obvious form the start, implement capitalism the way it’s supposed to be implemented, let unsecured investments remain unsecured, let failed institutions fail; but that’s too unpalatable an option for most people, so they’ll continue looking for “real” solution and drag this mess on to future generations.

• I think I might become a bond holder….I can’t lose :-)

• to late David we know your name seems you have to be in the secret circle of nameless and faceless elite moral less humans ,in my opinion

• Have you tried joining the Jewish international bankers. You have a range of wonderful companys to choose from:
      Goldman Sachs, JP Morgan, Bear Stearns, Rothschilds, August Belmont & Co., J. & W. Seligman & Co., Kuhn Loeb & Co. (Warburg), the US federal reserve or the IMF and many many more.

Of course you could ask our own Peter Sutherland for a favour as he is well on the Goldman Sachs goody books.

• Don 01/10/12 #

I have just listened to the RTE news at noon. This payment is not even mentioned. However, the story about the high amount of calories and salt in Chinese takeaways does make it. Our national ‘broadcaster’ must consider ignorance as bliss.

• Time to Boycott !!

• shouldn it be IRISH TAX PAYER PAYS OFF UNSECURED BONDS

• Does anyone else just feel utterly powerless?This is happening right on front of our noses and there seems to be nothing we can do!!Our own government, essentially our own people are handing away money to foreign billionaires while our children go to school in Portakabins and our elderly lie on trolleys in corridors with no dignity! Suicide is rampant and the fabric of our society seems to be falling apart and we do nothing….like a deer in the headlights…..

• Yes Avarus I feel powerless too and lost. Where are the leaders in society, the voices of moral outrage. Never felt so disgusted in my life with this country.

• And De Valera and Co will be turning again in their graves this morning…as our ‘leaders’ in recent times have made a right hames of it all…the collateral damage to the Irish people has been unquantifable over the last 4 years….half of my friends had to emigrate…and it wasnt a ‘lifestyle choice’ to do so either…the 1billion euro….which is a 1000 million euro would have bought alot of much needed infrastructures and people resources…terrible shame!!

• we hav anyone who voted in fine Gael to blame for the mess..blue shirts have a terrible record with logic

• It’s the tyranny of pragmatism, there is near consensus among the powers that be that appeasing ‘the markets’ to ‘restore confidence’ – regardless of what that entails – is the only logical course. Anybody who publicly expresses or endorses a contrary view is ridiculed as being ‘ideological’ and ‘unrealistic’ . There are plenty of ‘voices of moral outrage’ out there, groups who are willing to take the lead in pursuing an alternative politics – look no further than the CAHWT – but the Irish public seem content to offer their tacit consent for the actions of our present government by subscribing to the view that groups like the CAHWT are made up of opportunistic lefties in search of a cause, rather than getting involved and trying to influence the shape that any possible political alternative might take. Terry Eagleton wrote that “It is rational to settle for an ambiguous mixture of misery and marginal pleasure when the political alternatives appear perilous and obscure” , the issue is not that we are leaderless or that there is no political alternative, it’s that people are paralysed by their own fear and limited imagination.

• German in the room?

• Vinnie Mulhall
      These are not blueshirts. Blueshirts supported their people and only did anything that was good for the Irish people.

These FG’ers like the FF’ers are EU pro banker pro multicult yes-men. They implement policies that destroy nations, destroy our culture and the integrity of the indigenous Irish people, making us wage and debt slaves. Blueshirts were against everything todays FG stands for and does.

• Appalling to see that a straight-up Nazi can get 7 people to green thumb his rant.

Go back under your stone.

• Fine Gael and Labour – TOTALLY forgetting about the people they are supposed to be helping, not robbing!

How anyone continues to support them when they have given 18 BILLION away of hard earned public money and going to give away another 17 BILLION next year – is beyond low levels of stupidity.

Anyone that supports Fine Gael and Labour after this is a complete idiot and traitor to Ireland.

• fair play to the journal reporting on this.

and for those interested some people are staging pickets outside their local AIB branches.

• Mick B 01/10/12 #

Fair play??? This should have been reported weeks ago. That way, there would have been ample time to organise a decent protest, so the Government know how people really feel.
      Reporting it on the day the payment is made only serves to make the public even more annoyed.

• Look at the serial number…. 3SRG0N3
    3S – Trees
    R – Are
    G0N3 – Gone

• M O Sé 01/10/12 #

The likes of Citi, Goldman Sachs and JP Morgan are more important to Noonan then Irish people.

There was no questions in the Dail about why exactly he was attending Bilderberg this year.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2012/0606/1224317369315.html

Of course nobody wants to know thats where he gets his instructions.

• Just on the radio talking about Iceland. We have to do what they did. Its the only solution.

• On a day when there’s talk of cutting Childrens Allowences, Our government should be ashamed!

• Madness total madness. That €1 billion would cover the proposed €200 million savings on childrens allowance for 5 years.

• But not everyone is fooled by the lies and propaganda inherent in articles like the one mentioned above. More and more people are becoming educated to the fact that Ireland doesn’t need credit from the international banksters at all. This credit is a scam, a giant scheme to steal money from a sovereign people.

We’ve even been told this in an incredibly candid admission by a high ranking banker in the 1930s. Lord Josiah Stamp, Director of the Bank of England, said:

“The modern banking system manufactures money out of nothing. The process is perhaps the most astounding piece of sleight of hand that was ever invented…Banking was conceived in iniquity and born in sin…If you want to be slaves to the bankers, and pay the costs of your own slavery, then let the banks create money.”

Ireland could take her sovereignty back tomorrow by issuing her own currency, debt-free and interest-free, based on the goods and services created by the honest labours of the people. This has been explored in other articles on this site and there is no need to expand on it here. Such an action by the government would lead to full economic independence for Ireland, a drastic reduction in taxes, the abolition of the national debt, and the creation of full employment and abundance in the country.

• Quantitative Easing?

Can’t that end up with devaluing the currency including savings, causing inflation which could spiral, creating another housing bubble and causing more destabilisation.

Making us even worse off.

• How does that devalue the currency? It can be backed by our oil, gas, mineral, companies that set up here due to low corporate tax and also bring money – value and jobs, our agri sector and also our great nation of skilled people. We forget that you can back a currency by a people willing to work and pay into it.
      Shur arent we doing that now by bailing out the Rothchilds via bonds, and they are then lending to us again at interest, only for us to pay them back in more bond payouts.

We need to open our eyes and stop letting ourselves get fooled by the these lies…………..

• We shouldn’t worry too much. This €1bn will be clawed back by the Government through cuts to the disabled, low income families, student grants, child benefit, health services. I reckon by 2015 all disabled people, low income families, students and children will be living in Dr. James Reilly constituency hoping to win a ticket for treatment at his Primary Care Centre – sponsored by the National Lottery.

• Am going to go into paddy powers today and make an unsecured bet on a horse
    Maybe then ill win wherever happens
    It’s a bloody joke
    Sick of them all now

• So sick of this, country on it’s knees and our Government are like serfs, handing over money they cannot afford to people who should not be receiving it! When in the name of God are we going to cop on and get these useless, ineffectual idiots out of the Dail. The last crowd were bad, but will never vote FG or Lab again!

• We will need a national holiday named BONDHOLDERS DAY.

• Mjhint 01/10/12 #

Shame on our politicians. Shame on our banks. Shame on the EU. We will never forget what this lot have put us through & someday we should serve them our revenge. Show them democracy when the elections come. Make sure all these politicians loose their seats.

• Frankfurts way or labours way springs to mind spineless Irish politians

• Time to end this and stop screwing Irish workers with endless taxes and charges .

• They seem to be fairly on the ball when it comes to the ordinary taxpayer taking the pain but when they are asked to find out who signed off on the Anglo audits and who was responsible for this fiasco they seem struck dumb!

• Will somebody somewhere please take the time to explain to me why these payments are being made. I have bookmarked dozens of articles by ad many experts saying that Ireland should not make these payments.Yet the government continues on this crippling course of action to satisfy what criteria? They are unsecured.Nobody is denying this ,Yet Michael Noonan and Co. continue to advocate these payments and keep paying them on their due dates as if nothing else matters.If they were paid late,it would still beg asking the question,but no, They are being paid on time to various institutions, Who gambled and lost and still no explanation as to why they are paid.Is there some mass lack of understanding in the entire population of Ireland that has caused us all to be wrong about this issue? Do we all misunderstand ? Are we too thick to grasp the thinking behind this strategy of repaying unsecured bondholders for the good of the country? I fear that the answer is not going to be forthcoming and that as long as FG and LAB continue on this course of action we are in for some very dark days indeed.They have to go and i believe the next budget will be the ‘straw that broke the camels back’ so to speak. This government came to power on the back of some really big promises,They will go out of office because they failed to keep not a single one. Sinn Fein are looking more and more likely to be the next coalision Partners,they are going to have to do some serious work as far as their economic policies are concerned,but you know,I am really of the opinion now that some of their Ideas are not so off the wall as I first thought. Good luck to them…..they will need it.

• Michael 02/10/12 #

In all honesty, they are paying back for the reckless spending we went through, on our opulent imports and regeneration projects. Really what’s happening is that we are paying back our debts. So I am paying MasterCard back with my food money for each week for the next 50 years, which I would be investing in myself (going to school, having capital for my first company).

If I hadn’t have blown all that money at the start, then I would not have such a crippling debt to deal with. However burning bondholders will hurt a lot of our own, but the inflation and suffering already caused wipes out some of this wealth anyway. It’s all very very sad.

We need out of the Euro ASAP

• The Headline Should Read The People of Ireland are being Robbed of Their hard earned cash to pay more Greedy Bank Bosses Depts
    The Banks have no money it is our extra taxes (which we cannot afford) that is paying a debt that is not ours at all FF’S where are the Marches and Protests where are you all

• 5 million people can make a difference .Ive been on this site along time and the people are alive again and have finally woken up as has certain journalists .The reality is these Bankers are chancing their arm and have been successful in doing so.If you keep putting food out for a cat it will always be at your door if you stop they will go somewhere else the solution to our countries problems are if you think clearly without the Governments intimidation “the sky will fall in “tactics are clear .The country is broke the people who broke it are now financing it and charging us to run our country on money they stole from this country it really is unbelievable to think we have been so compliant .If this happened individually to you you would defend yourself if someone robbed you of 100 euros you seen them they know you saw them and then they had the cheek to turn around and say i’ll give it back to you but you will have to give me back 150 in two weeks you’d slap them straight into the chops but that is what our Government is doing with billions of our money that we need to fund our country .We are the only country that has been Economically Invaded in Europe that has not even defended ourselves.It is not because we unaware it is because we are still in shock but its time to take our country back.Remember billions dont seem like much in letters but in reality they are the difference between poverty and oppression or dignity and quality of life.RISE UP for you your family and your way of life Ireland is not a prison camp of Debt .It is a country owned by the people not a group of Bankers. Enda Kenny thinks Bankers should own his country. Enda Kenny Like Bertie Aherne Brian Cowan are traitors and the longer he stays the longer the road to recovery will become act now or bite your tongue.

• Big Xmas bonus coming for whoever at whatever investment bank/hedge fund decided to load up on these bonds after the Government generously guaranteed them.

Pity the Government didn’t decide to buy these bonds themselves at the time. At least then we’d be paying ourselves and making a profit.

• UNSECURED!!! Madness, we should take the Iceland approach and tell these billionaire gamblers to go f**k themselves, how enda and noon an are getting away with this is unreal,they should be wearing balaclavas cos their no better then your average bank robber!!! And all the mainstream media will try keep it as low key as possible because they have an agenda and dont want thousands of us protesting to keep what is really ours!!!

• so boi pays back the bondholders !!!!

Q have they repayed the Irish people back for the bailout they got under the Garret Fitzgerald gov yet?????????
    I dont thik so

does anyone have the answer to this

• In protest, I will try not to spend a single penny in the Irish economy today.

• Una Dev 01/10/12 #

It’s Sinn Fein for government. At least they have experience playing hardball with other governments unlike Enda’s Fine Gael. They would burn these bondholders.

• Yes Sinn Fein will get their chance and lets see what they do because up until now nothing has changed.

• Hard ball? You mean hard bat, hard bullet. Whatever works eh? If SF ever saw power in this country then the true lunatics would reign AND all the supporters would believe they can do what they want to whoever they want. Someone said once that it doesn’t matter who you vote for, the government always gets in. SF would do nothing but bad for Ireland. The SF leader can’t tell the truth as it is.

• Good luck to the People of Ireland in the future. We are going to need it, especially with a crooked system like this in place. Crooks making our debt bigger. Be sure about one thing, Ministers are making a fortune on these mental transactions. Rise up, or maybe it’s too late.

• No citizens of Ireland pay €1 Billion Euro to unsecured bondholders.

This is disgusting and morally fuking wrong. I mean who the hell voted Fine Gael or the Labour Party in just so they could do the exact same thing Fianna Fáil and the rest of em done…pour all the Irish citizens money into the banks until we,re left with nothing.

What a disgrace!

A joke of a government!

The hole system needs reform nd first thing is for these shower of hypocrites to be told to F**k off as they done nothing but gave us empty promises, then done nothing but introduced a load of taxes charges etc etc.

A working Irish citizen lives off approx €35,000 a year and ye have the cheek to tell us that this budget will be the toughest ever, we,re hearing the same line since 2008 but we don’t see ye taking any paycuts.

The wages and expenses of the dail are absolutely fukin ridiculous, I wouldn’t mind if they were actuali working for the people but their NOT, why don’t they pay the debts of the banks themselves their making 3 times more than what we do.

Yet we are just leaving them come at us with everything and bearing the brunt of it.

They will have us back in the times of the famine while they swan around with their ridiculous wages even though it is not the people of Ireland,s debt.

They make me sick.

http://www.change.org/petitions/supporting-the-irish-nation-step-down-from-government

• we are too quiet
    we should all march on the Dail

not just the middle and low class

all of us

• All while more health insurance levies added & child benefit cut. We are far too obedient. If the left were not such a useless group that cannot generate a plausible alternative, we would be organized enough to say no more, enough is enough.

• Its not left or right or issue, its morally wrong whatever side u come from so lets stop creating division and playing into their hands. Truth is they have us by the balls, international bankers who control the worlds money supply showing who’s boss. So to the people who still believe we live in a democracy, lets stop the charade, we don’t. Each nation cannot solve this on their own, it has to be global. So the next time an international movement like Occupy starts, lets try to support it and move it forward cause their ain’t no will among political leaders and it might be the only hope.

• Sorry, do not agree. For people to react, they need to know why and for what reason they are reacting. Why – because we are being bled dry. What will be the outcome if we overturn the cuts & charges – ?????????? its the job if the opposition & the lefts in the Dail to make this agrument but not one has made a valid point yet. Give me a valid alternative & i’ll be up the front at each march. “Occupy” really is the least amount of thought & solution
      (we want change so lets sit here and stay here until people stop paying attention………..).

• Worldwide civil disobeidence is the way forward until governments take the power of printing money away from these private institutions in which they charge interest and thus create debt and put it back into the power of nations. Tall order, but is there any alternative.

• That’s the question. What’s the alternative? Press re-set?? I’d like to see an anaysis of what would actually happen if Ireland did not cover these investors losses? What would be the hit we would need to take? if anyone can answer, please do.

• censored 01/10/12 #

Check the public spending deficit, it’s around 18 billion which has to be funded from somewhere if we are not able to cut it.

• Best thing to do is to stop,and I mean everything it may seem harsh but this country is giving everything to every 1 else and not a thing to the people that live here I bet a week of this would soon have them talking

• Had to delete my comment before the journal did! It involved government, petrol, matches and marshmallows

• Well we have seen what has been happening in the UK in relation to people posting stuff online and being brought to court for said comments.I am sure it wont be long before comments like yours will end you up in Mountjoy . Freedom of speech will be gone in the guise of protecting us.

• 1984 is here. The marxist thought control people shout racist nazi and bigot at you. They try to get you locked up.

Needless to say talking about martialmallows is looking for trouble. Cop on sweet tooth.

• This country is f##ked f##ked f##ked. I’m Irish born and raised and I have to wonder at the lack of action from the people. I would have thought the foot of the people would have come down by now. Instead we cower under the foot of a greedy self serving government who are only too delighted to give our money away hand over fist safe in the knowledge that they have their own pockets well lined already AND have the mega pensions oiled with the blood and sweat of the workers. I’d give anything to get out of this race to the bottom.

• I read the above figures of the amount of money we have given and will give to the banks and I almost went into a state of panic. Is there anyone looking out for us the people? Where are our leaders, Where are the voices condemning this?

• is it not time we hit the Streets in protest over this ,we cant just sit back and do nothing ..were doing that too often ….its so fn annoying …

• If you have a community centre or parish hall in your area then it is a way of coming together to organize a protest group.The best way i have seen is to talk to friends and neighbour’s and if they feel the same have a meeting in the centre/hall it might be worth while to go from door to door if you see fit and just suggest to people that they might like to attend.Select a chairperson and speaker .If we could have a crisis meeting like this in every community and every community chairperson/speaker sets a date to descend on the Dail to peacefully Protest then at least we would have a system that we could use to protest and voice our anger at the treatment of the people.This divide and conquer system had worked well in the past but with the technology now we could easily mobilize and try to reclaim what belongs to us which is Sovereignty Dignity Right to Work Health Education Quality of Life and kick corruption out of Government.We need to unite i will gladly give my email address to anyone who feels the same there is nothing left to do but defend ourselves .

• and im sorry to say this…..But SHAME ON US the ordinary folk of Ireland tax payers we are, prsi payers we are, USC payers we are …….but ! FOOLS we should not be ..and right now were hitting the latter…lets get behind each other and DO something positive for ourselves,show this Ass of a of so called Government we can stand up for ourselves ….

• Michele it is time especially the women of Ireland who have always organized and marched for their rights if you could see who would stand with you around your own locality that’s were we will start and move from there.Things have to change and quick.The people of Ireland will change this country and no one else.

• We are not powerless you know. We are just too scared or lazy to threaten the government as much as as the troika does. Fear seems to be the only motivator in town. The Government fears the troika, the ECB fears the Market, but no-one fears the citizen. How on earth did the citizen become so disregarded in favour of care nameless, faceless, spineless technocrats. And where are the best leaders to channel the ire of the citizen into organised action in the same spirit as Jim Larkin, Michael Collins, Sean Lemass? Oh yes, they are busy protecting their underwear allowance and golden pensions. Those true leaders, fearless motivators, innovative thinkers – will we ever see the likes of them again?. Doubt it. Meanwhile, I will continue to receive standard patronising replies to any letters I write to politicians….

• Starve the feckers. Don’t spend any money today.

: )

• The kop 02/10/12 #

i think it was mentioned earlier…..but irish people aren’t the best when it comes to taking to the streets to protest… so how about the whole country just stops for one day…. nobody go to work…buy anything and not use anything that would contribute to the government coffers…. JUST ONE DAY!!! might just make those muppets in the Dail a little uneasy in their seats..

• People power, remain quiet and they’ll think its ok to carry on. A journey of a thousand miles, begins with the first step. It’ll take time, but you’ll get there. So everyone get talking, to your neighbours, friends ,relatives and residents associations. Find a room, hall etc. and start thr ball rolling!

• Disgraceful.

I have yet to see the reasoning behind this. There has been some vague handwaving about how paying this “encourages future investment”, but no solid figures or detailed explanation of this theory.

Can anybody point me in the right direction? (Bracing for flames and bile.)

• The government insists that we Have to keep paying these bonds back in order to secure our return to the bond markets.

The truth is that we would likely be able to return to the markets anyway even if we default. When our economy perks up after the default wipes our debt, bond holders will want to lend again starting from scratch because there is stability and the risk of another default is relatively small.
      The Troica insist we have to “honor these “unsecured” bonds to avail of their support. We don’t need them, there are many more sources of finance for our country than we currently avail of. Just our government is tied in lovely with all this EU lark so were screwed.
      The people of Ureland will go out next election and vote FF back in because they are thick. Forgetting that it was the FF minister that made this guarantee in the first place!! It’s enough to make you go insane…

• Fergal two thirds of the Troika insist that we pay back unsecured bond holders. The IMF were totally open to burning them. It’s our ‘friends’ in Europe who are requiring us to pay back these unsecured loans and nobody else.

• Friends of everyone but the people of this country :(

• These bondholders took a risk and they lost yet the government/EU/IMF still want to pay them.
    Using the same logic, let’s all pay the lotto and the government can pay us even if we lose.
    It’s not fair, we have to borrow to pay the bondholders, incurring more debt. At what stage will we become bankrupt?

• Until the irish get up of their arses and do something about this Noonan and his pals in Europe will continue to laugh at us!!!

• ROBERTO 01/10/12 #

No-one should use any of these banks any more. Use ethical banks and credit unions where possible.

• Forde 01/10/12 #

Bloody disgrace, but it’s like a merry-go-round. Out pouring of outrage whenever money is paid over to bondholders then when it’s not making the news nobody pays attention. Once it hits the headlines again OUTRAGE! Ad Nauseum. Lets get off our holes and take a stand together instead of moaning on the internet!

• And how do you suggest to organise this mythical “getting off their holes”. Its easy to say it. How do you organise it. At least ask the right question. We are all sick to death of it. Where are the leaders or the so called critics in society who can organise people on the massive scale that is needed. You or I haven’t the poor to organise this. We need high profile people to speak out. If you don’t believe this then keep wingin about us not doing anything.

• poor meaning power

• what do you expect when you send a bunch of teachers to europe to negotiate on behalf of the irish people,they
    will always come back with more home work……and gold stars, and pencil pairers…and rubbers…..and…what was i talking about….?oh yeah stationary…….please

• It’s just a pure joke. I see the red thumb brigade are out in force this morning. Obvious that they are happy to see these payments going through.

• Will somebody tell me, in language a child could understand; Why are we paying 1 billion euro to some entity we know nothing about. We don’t know who they are, or what they are, or where they are. Yet we pay them one Thousand Million euro… Our children, Our Elderly, Our Poor, Sick, and vulnerable are left with…
    An Obcene Obcenity, are the only words I can think of, to describe the actions of our so called ‘Pillars of Society’
    Cry Shame…All of us…

• Michael 02/10/12 #

Because if we don’t pay them back, then we can’t pay all of our public sector workers (who are backed by backstabbing unions) and we’d need to let them all go. No healthcare, no education, no politicians.

A considerable amount of the bondholders are people that invest in this country. Do you want to crush their assets so that they have to fire a bunch of people?

I do.

• It’s time for change,time Gerry Adams was Taoiseach!

• Sure what’s the big deal ??? Plenty of people will piss and moan,until something else happens,get distracted and wait until the next installment has to be paid out, then more pissing and moaning but nothing will happen.The people of Ireland did not cause this but we sure as hell are standing by and letting it happen.

• and so it is we do nothing

• Some ways you can resist on an individual basis:
    1) Refuse to pay the household charge and other forms of extorsion, which are in reality banking guarantee and ponzi repair bailout taxes
    2) Withdraw your money from banks (risky, but we dont have much anyway) and do not borrow if possible
    3) Do not give your money to financial bodies – pensions, shares, etc – it will be stolen
    3) Barter as much as possible – not very practical but possible in some situations
    4) Educate yourself on economics using good non conventional sources – theres lots out there if you look
    5) Become self sufficient as possible – heat, electricity, food etc. Minimise your needs on the new owners

• I got one of those vouchers, but I left it on the train.

• This makes me so angry

• IF we the taxpayer are paying for AIB.

AND AIB paid unsecured (!) bondholders 1 billion euros

THEREFORE We the tax payer paid 1billion euros to the bondholders.

Q.E.D.

• its to late, ireland,,r.i.p

• This is exactly what they were doing to Germany in the 1920’s and 30′s with 100s of 1000s of Germans starving. All before Hitler was voted into power to put a stop to the internationalist banksters destroying the German people and controlling the rest of Europe.

Also with the marxists having taken control of Russia, Russia had planned to attack Germany. It was a fight to the death between the German freedom fighters of European people or the debt slavery system men and the rabid one-world heaven (luxury for the leaders, gulags for the workers) reds.

Today the same thing is happening, the international Jewish bankers own us, they are killing our people with debt. The reds want multicult society, destroying a unifed indignous people and culture. Either way bankers win, Europeans loose and live a hellish nightmare.

• A mention. Wow.

• vincent Browne should be interesting to night ..

• shouldn’t it be Bertie Ahern’s face on it?

• sad day

• The sad thing about this is there is not one lawyer, judge or economist willing to stand u for us and speak out. The other sad reality is that we are paying off the most dangerous people you can imagine. If we dont pay them back , you would see a country in alot of hurt.

• Why does Stephen think the bond holders are unknown? Wasn’t a list printed in the Independent a few months back.

Google is your friend: http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_HLD-3KNiebg/TLr-M1e2p-I/AAAAAAAAAAg/9gcaIADoGBw/s1600/ai-bondholders.gif

• Some photos of the Protest SF held for the people who complain and do nothing about it.https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.538829539467568.100921365.264349276915597&type=1

• Everyone giving out here and offering opinions but when are we all going to rally together and actually do something about this?? my parents have been working since they were 17, my dad turned down a scholarship to trinity because he had to go out and work but he still went and studied for degrees during the good times and now his wages are halved! My mothers job went last year, their pensions are effectively wiped out. They have paid taxes dutifully like so many others all their lives and worked hard to get the best they could and this is what they have to go into retirement with?! its a disgrace and its time we got back onto the streets in protest to show that its not acceptable. If we show strength our leaders will show strength.

• we cant pay anymore its simple bondholders should now burn

Add New Comment