You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

One of the two crosses stolen yesterday, which is thought to date from the 14th century. Garda Press Office

Archbishop appeals for return of relics of 'True Cross'

A portion of the cross upon which Christ is said to have been crucified was stolen from Holycross Abbey in Thurles yesterday.

Updated 3.40pm

GARDAÍ ARE investigating the theft of two religious artefacts from a church in Co Tipperary – one of which is said to contain a part of the cross on which Jesus Christ is said to have been crucified.

The relic was one of two artefacts stolen from Holycross Abbey in Thurles at around 5pm yesterday, by two masked men carrying a portable angle grinder, a hammer and a screwdriver.

The relic was part of a silver artefact, dating from the 14th century and measuring around 12 inches in height, which comprised of a cross with two crossbars and two dark stones hanging from a chain.

A second artefact – a freestanding 12-inch cross, made from gold and bronze with a centrepiece used to hold communion host – was also taken in the raid.

The Archbishop of Cashel and Emly, Dr Dermot Clifford, said the portion of the True Cross had been donated to the O’Brien Kings of Thomond by Pope Paschal II in the 12th century.

“The sacred Relic is a portion of the True Cross upon which Our Lord was crucified,” Dr Clifford said. “The high profile of Holy Cross Abbey rests primarily on its possession of this Relic.

“The Relic has attracted many pilgrims and other visitors to the Abbey down the centuries and is still a source of attraction to the present day. The unlawful removal of this Relic is regarded as an outrage by the people of faith who value its spiritual and historic importance.”

The relic regularly attracted pilgrims from across Ireland and overseas. Its very presence is believed to have motivated the reconstruction of the Abbey in the 15th century.

Gardaí believe that a red Volkswagen Touareg jeep, which was found burnt out about three miles away some time later, was used as a getaway vehicle.

They appealed to anyone with information about the theft, or who may have seen the VW jeep (registration number 06 OY or 06 LK) in the last number of weeks in the area, to come forward.

Investigating officers can be contacted at Thurles Garda Station on 0504 25100, at any garda station, or through the Garda Confidential Line 1800 666 111.

Additional reporting by Gavan Reilly

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

66 Comments
    Mute Patrick Kennedy
    Favourite Patrick Kennedy
    Oct 12th 2011, 10:31 AM

A terrible theft, a real shame. I hope that the artefacts are returned.

Mute Mick Obrien
    Favourite Mick Obrien
    Oct 12th 2011, 9:53 PM

Might pay the vaticans 35m legal claim that Irish tax payers will be forced to pay

Mute Eamonom
    Favourite Eamonom
    Oct 12th 2011, 6:16 PM

speaking as someone who is somewhere to the left of Stalin in my religious attitudes, I actually find this disgusting and some of the attitudes of people on this board a little bit frivolous in some case’s (which i don’t mind) and dangerously bigoted (which I do mind).
    currently I am in Italy where every second block has a church which contains ornamentation and artefacts that would be hailed as major works of art if they were In Ireland. The monetary value of this relic was negligible compared to some of those artefacts. Few, if any, require to be under lock and key (which this was).
    Of course this is not part of a True Cross (which if it ever existed is part of the sedimentary of Golgotha) but the work and the devotion of the people who constructed the Abbey and those who prayed to it are not to be treated in a trivial matter. There is a creeping arrogance about Atheism today, as if the concept of a Godless universe never occurred to anyone prior to the 20th C and the work and art of these people is that of a primitive person. Whether I am being condescended to by atheist or a religious nut, it’s not a person’s belief’s i respond to. it’s their attitude to other human’s i judge them by.
    A shocking crime in it’s barefaced execution and speaking as an atheist, my sympathies are with the Holy Cross community. Hope the items are found safe and can be returned to the Abbey

Mute Cyril Butler
    Favourite Cyril Butler
    Oct 12th 2011, 7:37 PM

No one is condoning or celebrating the theft of anything from anyone. It is just light hearted humour. I wont lose sleep though when one expensive relic is stolen from this pernicious organisation. That is not being soft on crime the purpetrator should be punished if caught but difficult to have any real sympathy for the RC church especially when there are more genuine victims of crime out there.

Mute Pa Foley
    Favourite Pa Foley
    Oct 12th 2011, 6:45 PM

They are 900 year old artifacts, part of our heritage and national treasure, this has nothing to do with abuse, Vatican, cover ups etc. This was thievery plain and simple. What is wrong with people…

Mute Kevin Smyth
    Favourite Kevin Smyth
    Oct 12th 2011, 11:23 AM

One way of getting compo from the church. Sell them, sorted.

Mute Pa Foley
    Favourite Pa Foley
    Oct 12th 2011, 11:56 AM

U are a sad individual….

Mute Sheelagh Hanly
    Favourite Sheelagh Hanly
    Oct 12th 2011, 11:57 AM

Cop on

Mute Brian Daly
    Favourite Brian Daly
    Oct 12th 2011, 11:58 AM

Does items are part of our heritage and belong to the people of Ireland. Furthermore, the ‘compo’ you refer to will never be given to people who are deserving of it. This would appear to be the work of a criminal gang lining their own pockets.

Mute Kevin Smyth
    Favourite Kevin Smyth
    Oct 12th 2011, 4:54 PM

I see where you are coming from. I’m just saying that things aren’t always black and white. What IF, one or two of the thieves had been abused by a priest from that church? I’m not condoning burglary, but they are stealing from a very wealthy corporation . The Vatican ain’t short of priceless art and treasures.
    If they had never been abused, then they are dirty scum.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Oct 12th 2011, 5:40 PM

Kevin ,your comments don’t make any sense . This item was stolen .There is nothing in this article about compensation or sex abuse … and where I hold strong opinions on those issues myself I can not condone the theft of these items. They belong to the church and should be returned .

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Oct 12th 2011, 5:06 PM

Shocking comments here …. Theft is theft is theft and one such as this is just terrible. I hope the culprits are caught and jailed and the True Cross is returned to the sanctuary of Holy Cross.

Mute Reada Quinn
    Favourite Reada Quinn
    Oct 12th 2011, 5:15 PM

Eileen. You’re scaring me now. You sound like margaret thatcher

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Oct 12th 2011, 5:28 PM

Ha ha . Sorry Reada Nothing like her and that comparison kinda scares me a little too . but you know what I mean?
    A theft , no matter how big or small or valuable it is matters ! . If it is not yours don’t touch . This little piece of relic is an important historical artifact and as such it matters.

Mute Reada Quinn
    Favourite Reada Quinn
    Oct 12th 2011, 5:33 PM

I know. First time I read it I thought you said nailed not jailed

Mute Stewart Curry
    Favourite Stewart Curry
    Oct 12th 2011, 6:01 PM

If my comment has made you a little cross be sure to keep it somewhere safe – there’s thieves about!

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Oct 12th 2011, 6:40 PM

Not at all Stewart . We are all entitled to our opinions :)

Mute Ed Appleby
    Favourite Ed Appleby
    Oct 12th 2011, 4:48 PM

“one of which is said to contain a part of the cross on which Jesus Christ was crucified” ? There is no historical evidence that this event ever took place, certainly the Romans never recorded it and they were quite good at keeping records of the various uprisings and other subversive activities which took place in their empire at that time. Whatever piece of wood that is allegedly contained within the cross is obviously a medieval fake just like all the other rubbish, ie Turin shroud etc but, of course these are valuable items of Irish folklore and it is a shame that they have been stolen like this, lets hope they are recovered intact.

Mute Stephen Johnston
    Favourite Stephen Johnston
    Oct 12th 2011, 7:14 PM

Ed, what makes you think there would be surviving written records of every crucifixion of some low-key local cult leader in Judea? Certainly the Roman administrators liked their paperwork, but like County Councils everywhere they chucked it out after a few years. There’s no written support for the New Testament stories, and indeed there’s plenty of conflict with established history (Luke’s reference to the bizarre ‘birthplace’ census commissioned by Augustus that never happened), but that isn’t actually evidence *against* the existence and execution of Jesus. For all their flaws, contradictions and second/third/fourth-hand accounts of events, the existence of the gospels themselves is at least some evidence that a charismatic preacher leader called Jesus (or equivalent) did exist. So while I’d take the divinity and the magic tricks with a pinch of salt, I don’t think Jesus’ non-appearance in Roman provincial records is an argument against his existence.

None of this takes away from the cultural value of the artifacts stolen, or the stupidity of the crime.

Mute Sheelagh Hanly
    Favourite Sheelagh Hanly
    Oct 13th 2011, 12:26 AM

Plenty evidence if you are interested in finding it. Have you ever been to The Holy Land?

Mute Ed Appleby
    Favourite Ed Appleby
    Oct 13th 2011, 7:53 PM

Stephen, I agree with your last paragraph but alas, when it comes to the Jesus fella, sorry, it’s all bullshit to me and until someone actually comes up with factual hard evidence for him or his sky daddy, spirit or whatever it’s supposed to be it will remain so. The Romans were real, they left us with numerous records and even more in the way of buildings, forts etc. There was plenty of recorded unrest in the middle east back then just as there is today but nowhere is there historic, hard evidence to support the Jesus story other than in the bible etc which was compiled by vested interests who just happened to be pushing a new religion at the time and whose main goal was to take over the Roman empire, which eventually they did. It’s back to the same old tussle between atheist and believer, you can’t prove it and I can’t disprove it so rather than go around in circles lets just agree on your last paragraph!

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Oct 12th 2011, 4:37 PM

Apparently if all the pieces of the "true cross" were gathered together you could build a house. This is just a medieval scam. What’s the value of a forgery?

Mute Sheelagh Hanly
    Favourite Sheelagh Hanly
    Oct 13th 2011, 12:24 AM

I’ glad you said "apparently". You don’t know, do you?

Mute Sheelagh Hanly
    Favourite Sheelagh Hanly
    Oct 12th 2011, 5:08 PM

Why on earth would you presume that these people were abused! This seems to be the excuse for all kinds of anti social and criminal behaviour nowadays. The media has done a terrific job of brainwashing the people of this country. Something like 0.3 per cent of abuse is done by priests and religious so why don’those 97 per cent of abused people who were abused by their fathers, uncles, brothers, sports coaches etc. take it out on someone else. What has been done at holycross abbey is shocking because of the significance, historical and spiritual of what has been stolen. These artefacts are irreplaceable and priceless and part of not just our heritage but part of Christian heritage throughout the world.

Mute Mick Obrien
    Favourite Mick Obrien
    Oct 13th 2011, 9:07 PM

@Sheelagh Hanly…… historical and spiritual artefacts.
    You really mean. fake artefacts…. hence the vaticans reason for removing of the second commandment.
    Another get rich scam by the vatican

Mute Niall Dargan
    Favourite Niall Dargan
    Oct 12th 2011, 5:11 PM

The one true cross my ass. Thumb down all ye like but that whole thing was a racket created way back in the day.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Oct 12th 2011, 6:30 PM

Whether or not it is a racket (!) it was no one elses to steal . That is the point .

Mute Sheelagh Hanly
    Favourite Sheelagh Hanly
    Oct 13th 2011, 12:17 AM

And you’d know all about that.

Mute Stewart Curry
    Favourite Stewart Curry
    Oct 12th 2011, 4:57 PM

The burnt-out jeep was obviously destroyed by its demon flame-breath

Mute Stewart Curry
    Favourite Stewart Curry
    Oct 12th 2011, 4:55 PM

Usually these things are stolen to slay some kind of demon.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Oct 12th 2011, 6:49 PM

Eamonom . I agree with you and only wish I could voice my opinions as well as you have . Thanks for reminding me to offer my sympathy to the Holy Cross community , which must come as a huge shock to them. The workmanship by a ‘primitive man’ with primitive tools can not be replicated and so there is no monetary value can not replace them.

Mute Stewart Curry
    Favourite Stewart Curry
    Oct 12th 2011, 5:21 PM

Hey I have an idea. Apparently “Its very presence is believed to have motivated the reconstruction of the Abbey in the 15th century.” so… everyone keep an eye out an if you see what appears to be the beginnings of an Abbey being built in your area, call the gardai.

Mute Cork_Granny
    Favourite Cork_Granny
    Oct 12th 2011, 5:37 PM

lol Stewart

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Oct 12th 2011, 7:55 PM

Damn you to hell Stewart, I was taking a sup of coffee when I read that LOL

Mute Mick Obrien
    Favourite Mick Obrien
    Oct 12th 2011, 6:05 PM

@Sheelegh Hanly….. there you go again, spouting off your false figures again, why don’t you get yourself up to date, surely you remember the last time you quoted figures

Mute Shea Fitzgerald
    Favourite Shea Fitzgerald
    Oct 12th 2011, 2:27 PM

They knew what they were doing and knew what they were after. I am puzzled though… if the jeep was recovered, why are we only given a partial and uncertain number plate? Just curious.

Mute Stewart Curry
    Favourite Stewart Curry
    Oct 12th 2011, 5:19 PM

It was melted maybe? Or they nicked the plates before they torched it? (Or the demon melted the plates, I’m still not sure there isn’t some supernatural demon-hunting going on here.)

Mute Pete Gibson
    Favourite Pete Gibson
    Oct 12th 2011, 4:00 PM

Stolen treasures usually turn up.
    The Elgin Marbles in the British Museum are named after the thief who goughed them off the Parthenon.

Mute David Nixon
    Favourite David Nixon
    Oct 12th 2011, 6:07 PM

Gardai should keep an eye out at the ‘cash4gold’ shops, at least for the second relic.

Mute Pa Foley
    Favourite Pa Foley
    Oct 12th 2011, 7:45 PM

Gees….chill winston!

Mute Philip Farrelly
    Favourite Philip Farrelly
    Oct 12th 2011, 4:54 PM

i thought jeebus had a rubber cross

Mute Laura Marie Purcell
    Favourite Laura Marie Purcell
    Oct 12th 2011, 9:41 PM

Hmmm they’ll get maybe 100 euros for the metal…how much do you reckon the jeep they burnt out cost?
    Not the most intelligent criminals!!!!!!

Mute Eric Prendergast
    Favourite Eric Prendergast
    Oct 12th 2011, 5:25 PM

I have some of Noah’s Ark I can donate to them in its place. If the price is right

Mute Mick Obrien
    Favourite Mick Obrien
    Oct 12th 2011, 6:26 PM

It was donated by my ancesters O’Briens Kings of Thormand.
    They conned you all, that piece of wood came from an old horses cart.
    HaHAHA FOOLS

Mute Tim Booth
    Favourite Tim Booth
    Oct 12th 2011, 5:48 PM

They should of course be very afraid, these scumbags, because vengeance is mine sayeth the Lord, allegedly

Mute Pete Gibson
    Favourite Pete Gibson
    Oct 12th 2011, 12:45 PM

Such thefts are well known and should be expected.
    Theft via Angle Grinder???
    It is the sloppy guardians who should be slammed into prison.

Mute Cork_Granny
    Favourite Cork_Granny
    Oct 12th 2011, 5:35 PM

Pete it’s exactly because of thinking like “It is the sloppy guardians who should be slammed into prison.” that insurance policies are so high…… and we all pay extra thru our premiums

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Oct 12th 2011, 5:47 PM

It is attitudes such as this has us where we are . If something does not belong to you it is not yours . End of story . If you take something that does not belong to you then that is theft , whether or not it is locked up or lying open . This is what we teach our kids , or should do !

Mute Stewart Curry
    Favourite Stewart Curry
    Oct 12th 2011, 5:27 PM

Magical splinter stolen. Eyewitnesses report green humanoids dressed as ninjas seen in the area.

Mute Jo Murphy
    Favourite Jo Murphy
    Oct 12th 2011, 5:03 PM

Aw, Stewart, you’ve made my day :) No more comments needed!

Mute Cyril Butler
    Favourite Cyril Butler
    Oct 12th 2011, 8:10 PM

If I get anymore thumbs down I will get hmmm hmmm Cross :-)

Mute Pete Gibson
    Favourite Pete Gibson
    Oct 13th 2011, 3:46 AM

I get the inpression that Cyril Butler would use the Pyramids of Egypt as a stone quarry! LOL.

Mute Cyril Butler
    Favourite Cyril Butler
    Oct 13th 2011, 6:14 AM

Lol so priceless that no regular person even knew it existed. Point being if it was stolen from a private person or genuinely likable charity my sympathies would be greater. Having been to the Vatican and seen the collection there I wont lose sleep. Had it been the destruction of a major landmark as in the burning of a cathedral I would be less inclined to trivialise it. Not going down well this view but everyone is entitled to their speak. As for pyramids thats just a little OTT.

Mute Pete Gibson
    Favourite Pete Gibson
    Oct 13th 2011, 3:34 AM

You don’t have to believe in the Sun God Ra to place value in the Mask of Tutankamun or the Pyramids of Egypt.

Mute Mick Obrien
    Favourite Mick Obrien
    Oct 12th 2011, 6:11 PM

It’s an inside job, or it might be the woodworms or a splinter group.
    Another vatican scam, what a load of crap

Mute Mick Obrien
    Favourite Mick Obrien
    Oct 13th 2011, 1:56 AM

Exodus 22:22 Ye shall not afflict any widow, or fatherless child.

Mute Cyril Butler
    Favourite Cyril Butler
    Oct 12th 2011, 6:52 PM

We can be a really daft excuse for a species sometime. Thor is better than Jesus. He did away with the giants! Beat that big boy.

Mute Cyril Butler
    Favourite Cyril Butler
    Oct 12th 2011, 7:13 PM

Everyone has a cross to carry. Some more literal than others though.

Mute Cormac Flanagan
    Favourite Cormac Flanagan
    Oct 13th 2011, 7:38 AM

So I gather that of someone walked into trinity tomo and stole the book of kells that no one would be too pushed. Sure it’s only a book. I’m not a religious person but as said above theft is theft. Would people here be happy if someone walked into their house stole all their valuables. No they wouldn’t. Wether ye like it or not the christen faith and thus monuments to this is part of our history and heritage.

Mute Cyril Butler
    Favourite Cyril Butler
    Oct 13th 2011, 10:16 AM

Nobody is condoning theft. Comparing the book of kells to this is not very intellectual either.

Mute Mick Obrien
    Favourite Mick Obrien
    Oct 12th 2011, 8:38 PM

Maybe the were excommunicated bishops or priest and a right pair of buggers who wanted to get their own back

Mute Cyril Butler
    Favourite Cyril Butler
    Oct 12th 2011, 9:57 PM

Would the mention of Mr Bensons whistle be out of order?

Mute Mick Obrien
    Favourite Mick Obrien
    Oct 13th 2011, 1:25 AM

Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image, or any likeness [of any thing] that [is] in heaven above, or that [is] in the earth beneath, or that [is] in the water under the earth

Mute Strongbow62
    Favourite Strongbow62
    Oct 13th 2011, 7:56 AM

This means alot to some people and it’s terrible it has been stolen, probably be on sale in some flea Market in Europe soon.

Mute Andrew Brennan
    Favourite Andrew Brennan
    Oct 13th 2011, 5:43 PM

How did the thieves miss the other sacred relics of the Church: Fear & loathing of women and of sex?

Mute divide by zero
    Favourite divide by zero
    Oct 13th 2011, 11:19 AM

Cast off the wood, follow the gourd!

http://youtu.be/Ka9mfZbTFbk