TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

New Jersey town posts armed police at every school

The town of Marlboro has posted armed police at every school on the restart of the academic year today.

A armed police officer in the United States (File photo)
Image: Eric Gay/AP/Press Association Images

AMID A NATIONAL debate on how to stop gun massacres in public places, one town in New Jersey began posting armed police at every school on the restart of the academic year today.

The new policy was the town of Marlboro’s response to anguished questions over security in the wake of December’s massacre in which a gunman shot 20 young children and six staff dead at an elementary school in Newtown, Connecticut.

“The safety and security of our students, staff, and buildings are of utmost importance,” the Marlboro education authority said on its website.

“To that end, and in response to the Newton, CT tragedy, starting Wednesday, January 2, every Marlboro school will have an armed, uniformed Marlboro Township police officer.”

The measure will be in place for 90 days “while discussions about future security improvements are conducted,” the statement added.

Deploying police full time at schools has become common in the United States over the last two decades, according to a study sponsored by the Department of Justice.

Heated debate

“Nearly half of all public schools have assigned police officers,” the 2010 study said, and “assigning officers to schools is becoming increasingly popular.”

But the Newtown shootings on December 14 added urgency to an already heated debate over how to protect schools and other public places.

Gun control advocates say US laws too easily allow criminals and deranged individuals access to powerful weapons.

The main gun rights lobby, the National Rifle Association, says that the best way forward is to arm teachers — a strategy that has found favor in some western states, including Utah.

Reactions to Marlboro’s initiative were mixed on the schools’ Facebook page.

“I think this is a wonderful idea and every school should do it. I applaud Marlboro township for doing it!” one contributor said.

But another dismissed the idea, noting that several other major massacres over the years, including at schools, took place despite the presence of armed guards.

“This merely appeases parents, providing them with a false sense of security while doing nothing to address the real issues,” she said.

- AFP, 2012

Read: US newspaper publishes map showing gun owners’ names and addresses

Read next:

Comments (116 Comments)

• What if an armed teacher goes berserk and shoots a load of students? Do the NRA call for all students to be armed then? Bunch of nutters.

• Tool up the knidergartners..its good for the dumb economy.

A Glock in every kid’s luchbox is our mission statement…bringing you a safe secure childhood..this public service announcement was brought to you by the NRA, Not Really Arsed (as long as we’re turning over product) .

• It certainly is insane, next they will ask to arm all children of walking age. Nuts, crazy, mad and the NRA.

• If a teacher shows up armed, then surely that’s what the *armed police officers* are for?
      Seriously, at least read the story once…

• By the way, I love how we have a hundred comments here decrying the Americans, the NRA and talking about how guns are the only problem they have and how the answer’s so easy….

…and then the first comment on almost all the stories about Irish gangland shootings on here are variations on “good enough for them, one less to worry about”.

And not one person’s ironymeter goes off the scale…

• Mark, read his comment fully! They’ve suggested arming teachers is what he’s getting at! If the guard/cop is at the front of the school and the armed teacher starts shooting off Inside my guess is plenty will be dead before the cop can do anything!

• Terence:

every Marlboro school will have an armed, uniformed Marlboro Township police officer.

And the NRA didn’t say to arm teachers. That was the GOA, a far smaller, far more wacky organisation. The NRA said to provide armed security guards in the schools the way they do for banks and malls, the way we do on the continent here for airports, banks, streets and so forth (seriously, outside of Ireland and the UK, armed police are a fairly normal thing that doesn’t freak anyone out).

There’s nobody on any side of this over there that’s rubbing their hands in glee at the prospect of armed guards of any kind in schools – both sides have kids in school y’know – but as a stopgap measure…

…well, put it this way. If you had to live there and you had to send your kids to school there, and there were so many school shootings going on, would you say “I believe in the ideal, we don’t need any guards in my kids’ school” or would you just say nothing and feel uncomfortable that your kids were at risk but want any stopgap measure you could get until someone figured out how to solve this thing?

Speaking as a father, I’d take the latter, even though I wouldn’t *want* either choice at all.

BTW, the last research into all of this (and we’re going back the guts of a decade here, to 2004) was done by the CDC and they found things had not advanced since the National Academy of Science had reviewed the research into gun control and the statement was still the same – they don’t know how to fix it. Not “more guns is better”, not “fewer guns is better”, but an out-and-out “everything we have tried hasn’t worked and none of the proposed solutions from either side passes muster and our research into this is woeful and we need better studies”. When those guys (who aren’t even close to the NRA’s pocket) are saying that, maybe putting armed police into schools and heavily funding research into better solutions wouldn’t be the worst idea in the world.

It definitely wouldn’t qualify as a crackpot idea, not in the situation they find themselves in.

• MARK DENNEHY. HITTING NAILS ON THEIR HEADS.

• exactly Mark. people comment without reading. at no stage did they mention armed teachers. it’s about have police in schools and police are all armed anyway. they just read a headline and half a paragraph and can’t wait to comment. They call them naysayers. The ones with that less than desirable Irish love to whine and moan and complain. They seek it out. If a man does a school shooting its all ” oh he is rotten animal” but if the cops shot him first it would be preventatively it would be “ah police brutality”.. NaTion of barstool politicians unfortunately.

• Murt and Mark,

So lets just say someone wants to shoot up a school.
      Would they (a) go in all guns blazing and more than likely get shot dead by the armed officer or (b) take out the armed officer with a telescopic lens and then walk in unhindered to murder more kids.
      Do you think having an armed officer on school premises will stop some nut with a gun from trying this? Having armed cops on the streets in the US doesn’t prevent street shootings.

• Andrew, its a mentally disturbed person (and probably a teenage student from the history of these things) that they’re trying to defend against here, not Jason Bourne.

• Mark, you don’t need to be Jason Bourne to realise that you should take out the armed officer first. Even a mentally disturbed person would know that. It’s the easy accessibility to guns that needs to be looked at, not turning kindergardens, schools and colleges into mini Camp Bastions.

• Andrew,
      (a) surely preventing mentally disturbed people from carrying out mass killings is best tackled by better mental healthcare, since other nations have nowhere near the problem the US has despite having very similar or higher numbers of firearms in private hands;
      (b) do you think the police, who were trained in the use of firearms and who’ve spent their professional lives working in an environment where people might shoot at them, have thought of this at all?

• What a lovely environment for children to learn in. This is nothing more than brainwashing future generations by the NRA.

• They should put a teacher in every gun shop.

• Very sad.

• Wow…

• Really this is so sad schools are places to learn not a warzone . You dont cure somebody with alcohol problems by giving them more drink or drug addicts by giving them more drugs . More guns is not going to solve americas gun problem .

• Liam 02/01/13 #

This is a short-term fix to this problem, to which America is continuing to ignore, placing armed officers at schools will not solve this issue, Columbine high school had armed guards and the massacre was still carried out. People like Wayne LaPierre (N.R.A. vice president) are only making this issue worse by encouraging this type of response.

• When solutions are unfortunately so far away, temporary solutions are necessary. And when our 5 yr old babies lives are at stake, every and any solution to keeping them safe and well is fine by me.. Come near my family in a remotely threatening manner and I hope it’s my 45 you get to feel in the front of your face for that half second

• The next school shooting by a suicidal maniac may well include an armed policeman in the casualties.

The USA solution?

2 armed officers at every school.

• there was a piece on today fm earlier about a factory in columbia who were exporting childrens bullet proof vests to america by the hundreds.
    as a parent im dumbfounded as to how any mother or father just before they hand little johnny their lunch can zip up a bullet proof vest on a 6 year old.
    america you are a sick society

• America is not the only place with sick and weird people . There are just as sick people over here especially does who steal dead peoples names and photos without a care in the world for the family or relatives of the person involved .
      I do think organisations like the Journal should take at least some moral responsibility and ban that carry on …

• You could have had a go on any other article jerry, I comment on a lot of them but to have a rant on this particular one is bad taste, but your one of declans mates and im not surprised.
      there is a level i will not stoop to put down muppets like you
      i use the mans name out of respect and to remember that there was once decent politicians in this country and i make no apologies
      NO blueshirt gombeen i fixed the roads will ever tell me what i can and cant do

• rmcd66 03/01/13 #

What’s your hang up !

• rmcd66 03/01/13 #

Meant for jerry

• Frank Cluskey

Gun laws to one side, its about deep rooted norms which are set in the culture, the US was built on ‘Guns and God’ read what the Tea Party have to say about the right to defend their home and country.
      Reactive communities who believe in the right to own and use guns, like owning a washing machine !
      so where do you start to change these people ?? what part of their society do you start with when re educating
      them.
      would love some good comments on the subject.

• Children deserve to live in innocence for a while rather than having to live in a world surrounded by guns. The presence of guns will only make the kids think that the outside world is scarier than it actually is in reality.

• How sad that children have to go to school amid armed guards and fears for their safety. We don’t know how lucky we are here, can America not see how wrong this is? And giving teachers guns? How would that solve anything? Where would it end?

• mart_n 02/01/13 #

Ah now, there’s no need to get personal!

• Murt. You’re just the sort of angry, racist, pro gun nutter that everyone here is saying should not have access to weapons. Please feel free to continue to rant on here about “stupid micks” to prove my point…

• @ Murt Hunt, I really hope that you are not a gun owner!

• Mutt Hunt you sound like you have settled into the American dream nicely……. You can’t see the trees for the Woods….there should be no gunman walking across any play area into a school in the first place…two words….. Ban Guns.

• Richard your 100% right but tell that to the gunman.. Think about it man. The reality is there’s gotta be a way to stop a gunman in a school snit unfortunately DOES happen. Whats your alternative?? There are 300 million guns in America and as much as I would love if they were never invented the reality is they are out there. You can’t deal with serious realistic problems with sugar and spice and all things nice.

• The Magdalene sisters with AK-47′s

• Giving teachers guns is the craziest solution yet – the NRA are more akin to a cult – THEY should be outlawed.

• NOBODY EVEN SUGGESTED GIVING TEACHERS GUNS. I WISH I COULD GIVE YOU A TEACHER, SO YOU COULD LEARN TO READ..IT’S POLICE IN SCHOOLS WHO ARE ALREADY ARE ALL ARMED ANYWAY. IT’S CALLED READING, DOME COMMENT AFTER HALF A PARAGRAPH AND STOP EMBARRASSING YOURSELF GOOD LAD..

• You should learn how to write and spell.

• M U R T :

The main gun rights lobby, the National Rifle Association, says that the best way forward is to arm teachers — a strategy that has found favor in some western states, including Utah.

T H E A B O V E P A R A G R A P H I S F R O M T H E A B O V E A R T I C L E.

Ps Your own use of the English language should be somewhat embarrassing to yourself.

• Maybe start with a ban on gun ownership in Towns and cities. Make it illegal to own a gun or carry a gun in areas with a certain population.. Allow farms to hold a single barrel weapon with a max capacity to load 2 poss 3 rounds at a time. Police / Army the only services to carry weapons of a calibre over .22…. The MRS have to much of a say… Until someone with huge cahones takes them on there will be horrible incidents like the ones we all seen recently.

• Again I agree 100% Richard but the topic at hand is “how to deal with a shooter who is actually standing in a school yard with the intention of killing”. Legislation being passed won’t stop a Looney from pulling a trigger.. There a 300 million illegal guns in America already so legislation will take 300 years to become effective. Until then, if someone enters my kids school yard, armed to the teeth then I hope they out lead in his head before he has time to fart.

• mart_n 02/01/13 #

What an absolute craphole it is…and be damned with anyone offended by that statement. Land of the free, lol. The highest percentage of inmates per capita than the next 13 countries combined. People who have been caught with negligibly larger amounts of drugs than felony laws permit are serving life sentences regardless of never having committed an act of violence or damage against another person.

ffs.. some of the most conflict ridden and war torn nations on Earth don’t resort to having armed personnel at schools. If you can’t afford an attorney the state will provide one for you… if you can’t afford a doctor then tough luck.

I can’t imagine a worse place to live or visit which is considered ‘safe’ by international bodies.

• It’s a sad and ineffectual response. The primary reason for the ineffectiveness of such armed police is the surprise factor. No matter how good the training and no matter how conscientious the officers involved are, complacency and predictability in a normal and apparently safe environment will relax the vigilance. There are dangers of false alarms and mistaken threats. There is also the disadvantage that this will further normalise guns and render them ubiquitous in American society.

Likely the cost of armed police will prove unsustainable in the longer term.

Even trained policemen can go postal.

My personal opinion is that guns and children are a bad mix but I have been severely attacked in the past for daring to express such an opinion. Gun lovers are by nature extremist and unamenable to practical common sense. It is likely something to do with the mentality of people who adore and relish instruments of human death.

It is all so sad and so avoidable.

• best solution of the lot ban guns completley ,less gun crime and
    murders

• mart_n 02/01/13 #

Or just go with Chris Rock’s idea… give everyone a free gun and charge them $1000 per bullet

• armed police in the schools, to protect the kids from being shot by yanks !!!
    this is where two centuries of their beloved 2nd Amendment has got them
    this is where listening to voices from the graves of ol geezers, who’ve been burried for two centuries, has got them.

The Land of the FREE – has become
    The Land of the FEAR.

• Everytime I read of comments on the journal about right to bear arms in US I think back on the 95% of you who thought that the man who mistakingly received a rifle instead of a tv in the post should keep it rather that hand it over to the police. I wish the f**k you’d ever make up your minds.

• All well and good to say ban guns and the NRA need to be outlawed but at the end of the day that’s not gonna happen! Would rather an armed officer sittin twiddling his thumbs ready to protect a child than nobody there and 26 people are needlessly murdered in cold blood! The fact that all police officers are armed in the US anyway makes it a little less traumatising for children anyway when they see them around all the time!
    While I don’t believe in guns, gun crime or even hunting with guns can you put yourself in the position of those mothers and fathers of the children in American schools? Can you say that it would take a little stress away when you send a child off to school with a packed lunch and a kiss on the forehead knowing that an officer of the law is on standby should they need him?! Granted there’ll always be a mental cop and thats a risk they take, but if a nutty cop is gonna carry out a massacre he will, whether he’s stationed at a school, a bank or in a park!
    I don’t agree that its right that this is to be a regular thing but I do think if its to protect children then why not?! It can’t do any harm!!

• Thank you Donna. Good to see another person with a brain on here.

• I agree that on the surface it can’t do any harm and, as a father, if I lived in the US I would probably be happier if my kids school had armed protection. However I think the problem people have with this is that its just an escalation of the problem rather than a long term solution. I think the solution to nutters with guns is not to put more guns into schools ( be they in the hands of cops or teachers) but to have less guns available to these nutters in the first place. Problem is that the genie is well and truly out of that bottle in the US already.

• Ahh now your getting it Gavin. You must have tried on someone else’s shoes. Good lad..

• Murt who is the other intelligent Person on here besides Donna?

• This might be a bit if a curve ball but if someone was going to shoot up a school with an armed guard, would they not just shoot the guard first?! I think it’s fair to say there are a lot of crazy people who are far from stupid

• I have no interest in guns, I don’t see their purpose and as much as I think this is an escalation of the problem – it’s the best temporary measure they’ve got.

It’s not a long term solution though, and really they need to start being a bit more honest about the contributing factors. An alarmingly high rate of these mass murder suicides are conducted by people taking drugs which list violence and suicide as side effects, alongside psychosis, mania and dissociation. This – combined with ease of access to deadly weapons, is a recipe for disaster. But it doesn’t just have to be guns, a young man in Bray only had to drive to Cornelscourt to purchase a kitchen knife with which to stab his ex girlfriends friend to death, injure her and then kill himself. We aren’t rushing to ban kitchen knives, and our courts ruled that the drugs were to blame.

Meanwhile in the states, after each shooting the news ask whether it was the new shoot em up video game, the latest violent movie or weird looking rock star that was to blame, the debate rages on about the right to bear arms vs tighter gun controls, while during the ad break they suggest you go get yourself a prescription for some of what the shooter was having..

It’s a far more complex problem than just banning the guns. I’ll never understand this weird urge to want them, but sadly it is true – Americans will never give them up.

• Mutt did you say you left Ireland… Sure you weren’t kicked out for being a Muppet..

• RICHARD, I WANTED TO SAYING HOPE YOUR FACED WITH THE SITUATION SOMEDAY BUT I WOULDN’T WISH IT ON ANYONE. BUT PUT YOURSELF IN THOSE KIDS PARENTS SITUATION. CA’LL ME NAMES ALL YOU WANT BUT YOU KNOW I’M RIGHT. THERE ARE ALREADY A MILLION LAWS AGAINST THIS STUFF. UNFORTUNATELY THE GATES ALREADY OPEN AND THE HORSES ARE ALREADY OUT. I WANNA ROUND EM UP, YOU WANNA SHUT THE GATE BUT YOUR TOO LATE. IT’S NOT A PREVENTION OF GUNS THING WHEN THEIR ARE 300 MILLION ILLEGAL GUNS ALREADY, IT’S A PROTECTION OF THE MOST VULNERABLE. HATE GUNS BUT YOU CAN’T FIGHT IMMEDIATE GUN FIRE WITH CALLS TO YOUR LOCAL TD. THE LAWS ARE SHAMEFULLY WRONG AND RIDICULOUSLY LEGISLATION WILL TAKE YEARS CAUSE POLITICIANS DO THIS CRAP CALLED “POLITICS” WHICH RUINS LIVES OF THE ELECTORATE AND IRONICALLY GETS IN THE WAY OF ACTUAL POLITICS. BUT AM I WRONG TO WANT MY KIDS PROTECTED FROM MENTALLY ERATIC GUNMEN BY POLICE UNTIL THEN. ANSWER THIS HONESTLY. MAN UP, CUT THE HIPPIE CRAPS YOU READ SOMEWHERE AND THINK IT SOUNDS SMART. DO YOUR OWN THINKING, IF SOMEONE TRIED TO KILL ANY CHILD I HOPE YOU’D WANT HIM TO DIE FIRST. IF YOU LIE, THEN GOD FORGIVE YA, AND IF YOU DISAGREE WITHOUT A BETTER REALISTIC PLAN TO PROTECT INNOCENT CHILDREN FROM A GUNMAN WHO’S SECONDS AWAY FROM BLOWING THEIR LITTLE HEADS OFF JUST FOR BEING THERE, THEN THEN I HOPE HE NEVER FORGIVES YA AND YOU ROT IN HELL ALONG WITH YOUR TRIGGER HAPPY BABY KILLING BUDDY BUDDY.. LONG STORY SHORT, IF YOU WANNA KILL KIDS I HOPE YOU GET KILLED FIRST.

• And while were being realistic, I left Ireland in the middle of the boom cause I’m smart. I employ 37 people here and I spending my most time either golfing, ridin, cruising in my new 350 pickup or in Florida at my other house. Oh and travelling the world with my amazing American girl..

You sure you didn’t stay cause your the Muppet.. hahaha

how much your dole these days.???

• pacahill 02/01/13 #

Haha “murt”. Nice name

• Wow. Is that the best you can do? Looks like you need more sleep yourself.

• I don’t blame the town for finding some form of security in the interim while talks on Capitol Hill take place about gun control. The town don’t see it as a permanent measure – just a temporary one.

• THANK YOU SEAN CASSIDY. I’VE BEEN SAYING THAT ALL DAY BUT APPARENTLY DUE TO THE GENERAL OPINION ON HERE I THINK MOST IRISH PEOPLE, FACED WITH THE PROSPECT OF HAVING THEIR SON OR DAUGHTER SHOT FOR NO REASON AT ALL SEEM TO CLAIM THEIR REACTION WOULD BE TO CALL THEIR LOCAL TD.. ME PERSONALLY, HATE HATE HATE GUNS BUT IF YOU WANNA SHOOT MY CHILD SHOT FIRST.. OUR FRIENDS PETER AND MART N AND THE LIKE WOULD CALL ON MING MICK WALLACE.. I’M IRISH AND WE ARE A SUPER BREED OF PEOPLE BUT ALL STEREOTYPES COME FROM SOMEWHERE AND I NOW KNOW WHERE THE “THICK MICK” ONE COMES FROM. BUT IT GET BETTER. THEY WILL CONTINUE TO ARGUE BECAUSE, YOU GUESSED IT, THEY ARE THICK MICKS.

• Simple solution. Have a safe room in every class. Bullet proof and locked from the inside with ventilation, phone, water etc. the minute a school goes in lockdown, every one in that class goes straight in until a codeword is given to come out.
    Might be costlybut it will save lives and not play into the hands of the NRA head bangers.

• Personally in light of what happened I have no problem with police officers at schools just like I have no problem with them patrolling in their cars or walking the streets.
    This is the job that they have been trained to do- to protect the public.
    I just disagree with the NRA and their idea.

• And for a child to see a police officer in a school is no different from seeing them on the street or in a mall.
      Btw all police officers are armed. So your headline is misleading.

• Liam 02/01/13 #

If the U.S. government were to place one armed officer in each school in America, it would cost almost $5 billion dollars ($50,000 a year for each officer, not including benefits or other costs), and even at that it would not guarantee every child’s safety, plus what if the armed officer decided to start shooting the children himself, or simply became unstable over time due to issues in his life? There are far too many things that could go wrong in a situation like that.

• Liam, it’s very rare that police officers go on shooting sprees. Being in a school or not makes no difference.
      Besides police officers can be seen outside schools in their patrol cars from time to time anyway.
      Let me stress here that I have no time for the NRA or Wayne lapierre or their ideas.
      I don’t get the red thumbs here.

• If they are police officers, and they are armed, then they are armed police officers. How is that misleading ?

• Because All police are armed anyway. This just make for a better headline.

• Yes. I agree, it’s a better headline, but I still say its not misleading

• But on the topic, my opinion is that armed police officers will not solve Americas gun problem. Only a complete rethink of gun controller will go towards solving it. Not just controll of future distribution of guns, but on top of that, confiscation of inappropriately held existing guns.

• rmcd66 03/01/13 #

If the journal is going to censor and delete comments they should at lest have the b@lls to put up why and sign it for future reference instead of hiding , I do fear for future of free speech when this happens , unless they seem to indorse comments from some people on this topic ?

• the teachers in Ireland were banned from having the bata, because they abused it,
    & now the teachers in the US may be supplied with guns !!

Go bhfóire Dia orainn !!

• mart_n 02/01/13 #

“And I love how Irish people are so concerned about Americas problems. Pay ye better to worry about Ireland’s problems, god knows there’s plenty of them”

That would be quite good satire if you weren’t being serious. Certainly Ireland are the ones best known for butting into the affairs of others!

• The Americans with their fiscal cliff fiasco/circus/manufactured problem and the running debate on guns (with the NRA’s crazy arguments) are fast turning Into the biggest laughing stock on the planet

• rmcd66 03/01/13 #

I would be careful making comments against certain posts on this topic Terence as the Journal staff on will delete it, an as a Irishman some comments earlier would to me border on racist !

• After Ireland, then Villa..

• I fail to see what is racist in my comment, possibly being generalist in my comment yes and unfair to Americans but to the wider world they aren’t showing themselves to be the most rational!! Murt, it seems you may have something against the country of your birth, fair play though for getting out and getting sorted! Villa are a laughing stock but you can’t help who you support!!

• rmcd66 03/01/13 #

Sorry Terence it was not mean for u but our other friends rants earlier and I place it wrong ( middle of the night ) I had also commented on his Mick statements in terms he would understand but Journal staff deleted it and had not the b@@lls to comment. The modern version of the black marker
      I think

• No problem rmcd86, the journal is fast turning into a breeding ground/platform for trolls, language disgraceful

• WATCH THIS !!!!! I would highly recommend anybody that has the time to watch this movie-documentary about Americas gun culture and where they’re going wrong. If you do not have the time, find it or make it. It is Michael Moore’s movie-doc “Bowling For Columbine”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fAouWXzi-1Q

• brilliant idea

• it’s far from the best I can do lad but you couldn’t think of a single intelligent response bar the ultimate retarded cop out “that the best you can do”…. pathetic. just pathetic..

• It’s more likely that an innocent unarmed child will be shot for disobeying an order than a shooter will get shot before going on a rampage!!

• Great solution America – ontroduct even more Guns nto the situation!! As long as anyone sane or not, can walk into a store and purchase a gun and ammunition no questions asked, there will be more massacres. The Government need to grow a pair – dissolve the NRA and ban guns.

• Mick Noonan. You are the Muppet. Im anti guns but I’m all for using them on someone who wants to use them on innocent children.. You all call for laws to be introduced bug do you realistically think it would help? The guy in Connecticut all ready had them and that’s the reality. See that child in your picture, i presume he’s yours or close too you. Well you could be crazy anti
    guns but if someone showed at his school he’ll bent on mass murder then you wouldnt rather someone shot him than give him a chance to kill your child. You know the answer. Cut the crap. I’d love regulations to pass tomorrow but realistically they WON’T cause they take years(you know im unfortunately right), ideally it should be instantaneous but realistically and shamefully they won’t be so until then us in the real world find comfort in the fact that an armed guard can possibly kill whoever wants kill our innocent 5 yr old children before he kills them. I wish a law could pass to solve this but huge mistakes have been made in the interpretation and intentional redneck misinterpretation of the constitution largely due to exploitation outdated laws but the fact of the matter is it wont work in the short term. Passing a law (though it may help down the road) won’t stop the lunatic who already has 10 guns and wants to get trigger happy tomorrow or at any stage before a law is passed. If you or I could pass a law to stop it we would have instantly but realistically do you think it’s gonna happen?

• I’m actually completely anti guns but what’s blatantly obvious is that this is a real actual problem. If a shooter turns up at a school and was about to open up his automatic weapon on all the kids, would you shoot him first if you had a chance? I would. It’s unfortunate but guns are already out there and god forbid but if its pointing at your child, good luck with your words dude.

• And I love how Irish people are so concerned about Americas problems. Pay ye better to worry about Ireland’s problems, god knows there’s plenty of them.. Should be armed guards in every Irish school too, and behind the scenes in churches, etc.. People worried about if American kids see a cop with a concealed weapon but not a word about how badly Ireland has wronged children. Deal with your own craps and nevermind ripping on America for it’s craps. Bunch of can’t wait to complainers..

• Murt The Troll Hunt

• David the Dik Sherman.. See I can pretend to be a 4yr old too..Flute

• well Murt Hunt:
      we have our faults,
      but we don’t scream that we have a right to the latest model of Bushmaster, or whatever,
      cause some ol geezers who owned slaves, & who’re in their graves for two centuries, dictated that we should have one, in the interest of Freedom !!!

i know more about a Bushmaster than your ……. ahem ….. founding fathers.
      i saw a picture of one
      those geezers would think it was the latest design of a whip !!!

• For someone with such a low opinion of Irish people and their opinions on this and that you seem to be spending an awful lot of time on here reading and responding to them! If we are such fools why are you bothered what we think?

• My god Michael read my posts before “assuming” what I mean. I’m from Ireland so my “forefathers” are the same as yours so go easy on them fellas.. Also your repeating what I’m saying but just dumbed it down..

• I’m from Ireland Gavin and i left cause its awful haha..Ironically though for someone with such a low opinion on American ways and opinions and you too are spending a lot of time talking about it..

• Look Murt, I think you might be mistaking some of these comments as critical attack on American society. It’s more to do with bewilderment at the outrageous acceptance of guns. I cant believe you think that the continued belief that more guns is going to solve the problem of gun crime and gun related deaths. Can you not see the paradox. Yes we as a society allowed the terrible abuse of children by the church and have now thankfully exposed the trauma and i might remind you America also suffered similar atrocities. I have visited America many times and have found it a welcoming and I wish to visit again, but please don’t let the NRA hijack it on behalf of the profit of the arms industry.

• I’VE SAID 100 TIMES I HATE GUNS. BUT IF TIMMY THE LOONEY IS IN MY KIDS SCHOOLYARD LOOKIN TO SHOOT PEOPLE ON TUESDAY, I WANT HIM SHOT IN THE HEAD BEFORE IT HAPPENS. THAT’S ALL. START PASSING YOUR LEGISLATION, I HOPE IT WORKS I REALLY DO HOPE THE MAKE GUNS EXTINCT BUT UNTIL IT’S PASSED AND UNTIL IT ACTUALLY WORKS THEN INNOCENT CHILDREN NEED AND DESERVE TO BE SAFE IN SCHOOLS. THAT’S ALL.

• Legislation will take 5 years to get through government and 300 years to be effectively applied since there are 300 million ILLEGAL guns on the streets already. Until they figure out the solution and I’m against guns but I’m all for shooting the shooters first.

• @ Murt, it does appear that you genuinely believe that having armed police officers in schools is a practical solution. In fairness, if that is your belief no reason or logic will displace your view.

It seems to me that if you favour armed police in schools as a solution, then you need to implement that more widely and extensively. Churches, hospitals, sports stadia, political rallies, parades, and all places of human congregation will need armed guards. Perhaps every housing estate and apartment building needs armed policemen. Beaches,, swimming pools, cinemas, nightclubs, postal sorting offices and such places need armed policemen and they need heavy calibre, high velocity weapons for maximum lethality. Gun clubs will need armed policemen and department stores need a few armed police as well. Each street in a town or major city needs armed policemen. I think that neighbourhood watchmen need to be armed and all clerics of all faiths should have armed escorts when administering religious ceremonies.

PTAs, junior soccer matches, baseball, softball, athletics and other sporting events need a large cohort of armed guards.

I am warming to your idea. Let’s say you go into a pub or a restaurant. You take out your gun or guns, place them on the table and be ready to be the first to draw at the first indication of trouble. Multiply the police forces a hundred fold, every bus, train and plane should have armed guards like the Wild West stage coaches. Parents could rotate in school each week to back up the armed police and there could be a cordon sanitaire around schools and other places in order to intercept would be gun killers.

There are 310 million guns in the USA, possibly more, but the challenge is to take the guns out of lockers, attics and stores and make sure that the guns are everywhere.

I have a dream! Let the USA be the first fully armed society. Everyone at a wedding, funeral or baptism should be armed and we could give new meaning to the shotgun wedding. The fully armed society is a safe society. Once everyone is armed to the teeth no one will want to use their guns because of the deterrent effect.

Yeahaa guns for everyone and the pesky varmints will be afraid to attack us.

• @ Murt, chuckling! You are so highly intelligent, so wonderfully articulate, so logical and so highly rational that this dumb little man is unable to comprehend your superior intelligence. I bow in awe of you. Are you truly human or a superior intelligence sent to enlighten us?

• All 100% true Peter. Whilst trying to be a sarcastic ass you accidentally hit the nail on the head :-)

• Murt Hunt, you are a rather excitable in your upper case posts and in your argumentative style.

You avoid the substance of the points made in reply to you and resort to mere invective. You do realise that you further discredit your weak, even lame arguments, in so doing.

Your style of expression is somewhat ballistic and exclamatory.

• America you are losing the plot. I was at the movies in Orlando last nite. I felt uncomfortable knowing that people at the movie may be carrying guns. Not to mention Jack Reacher is a movie about a sniper. It opens with a sniper shooting innocent people randomly. A weird experience.

• I’m not Peter and if you could read you would see that. I do hope your not a child if u would not have shot the shooter standing in your kids schoolyard armed to the teeth before he had a chance to kill 20 kids. Ah ya Peter, sure leave him off, he might not even get your kid like. Another flute. Christ

• Gavin, read my post if you can read and then go back to sleep. Good lad

• Yeah its an abbreviated name. Now go Google what that means tard..

• rmcd66 03/01/13 #

U from down south boy !, were u drag your buttcheeks along the ground with your hands !!
    Dumb a@se

Add New Comment