You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The scene in Maynooth this morning. TheJournal.ie
Connolly Hospital

Gardaí investigate serious assault on 18-year-old student in Maynooth

The NUI Maynooth student, said to be from Monaghan, was discovered seriously injured on the footpath.

GARDAÍ ARE INVESTIGATING a serious assault in Maynooth yesterday evening just before 8.30pm.

An 18-year-old student was discovered seriously injured on the footpath at the entrance of the Moyglare Abbey Estate outside the town, gardaí added.

The injured woman, a student at NUI Maynooth, received medical assistance at the scene before being taken to Connolly Hospital in Blanchardstown.

The scene has been preserved for technical examination and no arrests have been made.

Gardaí are appealing for witnesses and anyone with information, particularly those in the vicinity of Maynooth Village and Moyglare Abbey Estate between 7.30pm and 9.15pm last night, to call Leixlip garda station 01 6667800.

They can also contact the garda confidential line on 1800 666111 or any garda station.

In a statement to TheJournal.ie, a spokeswoman from NUI Maynooth said:

The Maynooth University community is very disturbed to hear of the serious incident involving one of our students, which happened off campus on Sunday evening.

“Our immediate thoughts are with the student and her family, and we are making every support available to them at this time. The safety and wellbeing of all our students is of the utmost importance to us.

“The University is working closely with the Gardaí and offering advice and support services to all students concerned about this incident.”

Councillor Réada Cronin, who lives in the estate herself, said she is in a state of shock.

“I was collecting my daughter last night when I saw the guards there,” she told TheJournal.ie. ”I’m very shocked - I have an 18-year-old daughter myself.

“I am amazed, I really am amazed. It’s literally around the corner from where I live.”

She said that Sunday night sees the return of students to the town to attend the local university.

We don’t have incidents like that in Maynooth, we’re a very small town, but we absorb the students very well in the town.

“It’s very sad, very sad. It’s the main entrance road into the estate, my thoughts are with her family and with her friends, I’m sure they’re all very anxious about her.”

Councillor Naoise O Cearúil, who is on the board of trustees of the Students Union in Maynooth University and who also lives in the area, told TheJournal.ie: “Our thoughts are with the victim and her family.

” suppose the most shocking thing is that this happened in a family residential estate.

“We on Kildare County Council will do everything to work with the gardaí and unversity to ensure a resolution to this, and to ensure local community and student community feel safe.”

Read: Man (30s) killed after car leaves road and overturns

Read: Appeal for witnesses as tributes paid to woman who died after falling from van