TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Bank of Ireland chief executive given €898,000 package last year

Bank of Ireland’s annual report shows Richie Boucher benefited by €831,000 last year after waiving €67,000 of pay.

Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE of Bank of Ireland is still receiving pay far in excess of the government’s recommended limit for bankers – with new documents showing his total package with the bank was worth €898,000 last year.

The bank’s annual report for 2011, published yesterday, shows that Richie Boucher’s basic pay stood at €690,000 for last year, and that even after waiving €67,000 of this, still received basic pay of €623,000 – significantly above the government’s €500,000 limit.

The bank also contributed €174,000 to Boucher’s pension, and €34,000 in ‘other remuneration’ meaning a total package of €898,000, which becomes €831,000 after the €67,000 he waived.

Another member of staff at the bank, former executive director John O’Donovan, was paid a basic wage of €550,000, but this was reduced to €495,000 – within the government’s limit – after O’Donovan waived €55,000. O’Donovan retired as an executive director on December 31.

It is understood that because the government only holds a minority stake in Bank of Ireland, it was permitted to breach the pay ceiling by a certain amount, and that this is why Boucher waived a certain part of his wage.

The government’s limit for pay only applies to bankers’ basic pay, and does not include pension arrangements, as part of a compromise intended to allow Irish banks to attract top executive talent.

Bank of Ireland is the only native Irish bank not in majority ownership by the State; the government holds a 15.1 per cent stake in the bank after finding private investors to help reduce its own bill for bailing out the institution.

Boucher’s wage was nonetheless attacked by Sinn Féin, whose public expenditure spokesperson Mary Lou McDonald described the “whopper salary” as “outrageous”.

“It is absolutely scandalous that the head of a bank that has received such a huge injection of taxpayers’ money should be awarded this ‘pension cash allowance’, but what is even more scandalous is that this has been allowed to happen,” McDonald said.

“The government need to cop themselves on and put a stop to these situations where bank bosses are quids in at the expense of taxpayers.”

The report also confirmed previous figures showing that the bank’s losses for 2011 were €190m – down by 80 per cent from the €950m it lost in 2010.

Read: Bank of Ireland reports 80 per cent drop in losses >

Read next:

Comments (69 Comments)

• Why am I not surprised in the slightest?

• there is salary capping for the everyday man and woman and enda kenny pay capping

• I don’t begrudge Richie Boucher his salary but this headline sends out a message to people. The message being: this government is failing to acheive a cap of 500k.
      It really has come to the stage where looking after number one is top of the agenda.
      Regardless of earning a living by legal or illegal means.
      Recently I had to get in quotations for renovation work.
      Most of the builders refused cheque payment and insisted on cash.
      Nixers is a term that has taken a stronghold in our vocabulary once again.
      And with headlines such as this one, does not prompt people to abide by the the tax code.

• Pedro 16/03/12 #

Stray Mutt – The state only has a 15.1% share of BOI. They don’t have the power to enforce caps on them, nor should they.

• You pay peanuts, you get monkeys. You pay handsome salaries with attractive pensions – you still get monkeys!
    It’s a jungle out there!

• only 26 times my wages… looks like he’ll def be paying household charge

• Well now we know, We were lied to again by politicians. Nothing has changed and never will, how do you trust people of their ilk to bring in honest reforms and they paying themselves OTT! If we dont revolt, then we’ll be back to the good old days. Hang on, we are still in the good ol’ days! LIes, Lies and U-turns plus new taxes!

• Disgusting!

• Indicitive of the greed that ruled this country for years and ultimately brought to where we are. All the rubbish about pay caps for senior bankers just shows what a two faced government we have and will continue to have for years to come.

• Scarr 16/03/12 #

Richie, can I have that 67 grand that you don’t need?

• At the famous meeting couple of months ago when the banks were in about SME lending targets our brave and brilliant lads asked the banks about passing on rate reduction to non tracker mortgage holders .
    Boucher stood up said this matter was not on agenda.Howlin protested blah blah blah Boucher told him to fuck off and left.Guess what ? Nothing happened.If we think the present continuity FF government will get any change in this salary matter they are sadly deluded.
    Plenty of wind and piss from Howlin on radio this morning but nothing else.
    Apologies if language offends any reader but how many more red line issues will be tossed aside.

• John, I listened the “Howler” myself this morning. It infuriates me to listen that dirty lying psychopath. Only a march on the Dail with the gardai and Army with us will make a difference as theres many more like him. Elections change nothing as we ALL should know at this stage.

• Once again, the big thickos from the island reward failure and corruption.

Think i might post a few CV’s off to BOI later. Reckon i could survive on a €900000 bonus each year

• Salaries of top directors or politicians provided to press and public are never even close to what they get in reality (much more), never mind almost limit free expenses, clothes, hotels, lunches, dinners, taxis and other million free things on top of basic salary, that every other average person pays out of their own pocket.

• Ahem… If it pleases the Journal.ie readers, I would like to produce exhibit number 813,000, which clearly shows that it is only foreign and domestic bankers that controls this country and futhermore, only fools that think otherwise. Thank you and happy Gombeen’s day tomorrow folks.

• Sad but true comrade!
      Unfortunately there should be no surprise or shock in this. Unfortunately, a lot of well educated people in this country continually choose to elect parties and people who facilitate the protection of the elite in society. Howlin will speak of his ‘ ire’ at Bouchers salary, but he will ACTION cuts on the elderly, unemployed and disabled!
      The current austerity also facilitates the protection of the elite in that the losses that should be bourne by German Pension funds and banks, are being covered by ordinary Irish people.. Again the last and current government facilitate this!
      Some may say that we as orindary people are facilitating our own downfall by constatnly electing the elite protectionists.. They may be right!?!

• Obscene.

• Dec Rowe 16/03/12 #

I feel so hard dine by, I mean, let’s face it, I should have his jo, salary and bonuses because I’m simply more educated and experienced and knowledgeable than this guy! And I don’t even need to climb the corporate ladder because I’d be so much better at his job I’d deserve to go straight the top! With the right personality, education and attitude you could all be like Mr Boucher an I…! :)

• Worth every penny- not

• Same old same old. Nothing has changed, nothing will change.

• On what basis does Mary Lou McDonald think that the Government have any ability to intervene and change Boucher’s salary?
    Bank of Ireland is not majority-owned, or controlled, by the Irish taxpayer. The Government only has a 15% stake, and as such doesn’t have any rights to dictate policy (or pay rates) to management.

If we were talking about AIB I could understand the outrage, but this is a privately-owned company and it is entitled to pay it’s employees whatever it so chooses.

• Let the Government sell it’s 15% stake on the open market and remove BOI from the state guarantee and see how Boucher and BOI gets on!

BOI is still standing only because of the Irish taxpayer.

• Pedro 16/03/12 #

Karl – BOI is currently paying back close to 10.5% interest on the bail out package. You should be more concerned about the €35billion+ bail out that went to a bank that no longer exists.

• Pedro 16/03/12 #

Also would it not be better to hold on to the shares they have? They bought them at 10c and the bank has now stabilised. Depending on how Europe and Greece fair out, they’ll probably be worth twice that by the end of the year.

• My point still stands… BOI would not be around if the Irish taxpayer had not bailed them out.

I wouldn’t be too sure about that share price. When inflation starts in Europe and the ECB puts up interest rates, the volume of Irish defaulters will erode BOI’s provisions and they’ll need another bail out.

http://www.davidmcwilliams.ie/2012/02/27/the-land-of-the-financially-blind

• Pedro 16/03/12 #

Well if in the last six months their business model was enough to secure an investment of €1.1billion of private funding, I will happily stay optimistic rather than side with what David McWilliam’s blog predicts. I’d like to believe that this consortium wouldn’t blindly invest such a large sum of money without expecting a return.

• Fu€king banksters substitute b for W.

• These Guys must be serious genius’s,

• David 16/03/12 #

Nobody in Ireland, especially someone running a comparatively small company deserves such a high salary. This Government reinforces the view that ‘all politicians are just the same’ by continuing to act like our last Government. I could pick people who comment on here and create a cabinet that would run the country with the common sense and fairness that everyone is crying out for.

• You’re so right David. The intelligence, knowledge, critical thinking and reasoning abilities of some commenters on here, is second to none. It’s a great pity the same can’t be said of our present shower in government.

• @ Paul.

Hear, hear!

Two rules – two laws!

One for us and the other for them. No job is worth that much of a salary!

• ”Bank Of Ireland”

Up to your old tricks

I remember them back in the 80′s.

In our small town.

They put articles in the local newspaper’s classified section about how much a certain local business person owed them,
    before any threat of repossession,
    trying to shame these unfortunate people on front of their neighbors and friends,
    trying to cast them out and send them down.

Ohh
    How I remember them repossessing a certain public house in the town and then sneakily selling it off to one of the bank staffs wives,
    without even putting it on the open market.

Good old ”Bank Of Ireland”

Have things really changed that much?

• Hope you enjoy it you leech..

• Rob 16/03/12 #

yawn! 200 pages of BOI annual report and all we can find to talk about is their salaries…..

ever wonder how no one realised the Banks were building up all this toxic debt?? maybe its because we were only interested in jealously reading about their paypacket!?

• How can objecting to corporate greed incompetence and downright injustice be construed as jealousy?

• Spot on. If you want to bitch about salaries I would suggest a much better target are the Hospital consultants . They each get Ceo level salaries and we pay for it.

• Rob 16/03/12 #

@Paul – do a tot for me of the BILLIONS lost by Irish banking sector over the past 3 years……

then come back and tell me that 900k (for a job that is pretty bloody difficult) is the biggest problem we’re facing!

• @ John Smith,

Do you not think that the hospital consultants working in tough conditions deserve everything they get. At the end of the day they are the ones who are saving peoples lives on a daily basis. So do you have a problem with a consultant Neurosurgeon who removes the brain tumour from your loved one’s head? Do you have a problem with the consultant oncologist ‘s effort to help someone beat cancer?

• Aidan 16/03/12 #

John Smith your comment is outrageous.

But forgetting that comment, what I have come to learn in the last few years is when there’s media concentration on a story about wages or similar, although important in itself, it’s a smoke screen for something much worse.

They are doing something else and they don’t want our attention on it, I guarantee it.

• @Rob the one clear thing that can be taken from this whole financial meltdown is that these huge salaries are in no way reflective of ability. They do however indicate a culture of self serving self important greed. Banking is an important tool in keeping the wheels of commerce turning. Unfortunately it has become a self serving share price driven unaccountable industry with no thought to social impact or need.

• Believe my comment is fair in the context of getting a sense of proportion. Of course they do a vital job, but they cost the HSE a fortune compared to the other staff. The exceptional people should get paid exceptionally, but I am not sure why a lot of their standard stuff merits that kind of pay. There are a small no of bankers involved compared to hospital consultants.

• I’m in the wrong job…

• Don’t forget to pay the household charge!

• As this pay.obviously isn’t performance related……how does it add up?

• So what?! It’s a private company … They can pay what they like. I don’t see any sensationalised stories here about the wages of apple CEO, or google etc. Just typical Irish begrudgers

• Pedro 16/03/12 #

I don’t see the issue here… It’s a hell of a drop from what the likes of Brian Goggin was paid.

• I hope someone can tell us how much income tax, USC, etc was paid by mr. Boucher in 2011? Surely some civic minded Td can get this via a question in the Dail.

• Why should any TD give out the personal, confidential information of any single individual? Serious abuse of civil liberties if that was to happen.
      There’s nothing “civic-minded” about bandying confidential information around in public.

• Brian, On the basis that information about the payments are made by individuals in settlements with the revenue commissioner are in the public domain, I think all payments to the revenue commissioners are a matter of public record.

• no wonder banks are still looking for the mortgage to be paid in full over the years to come, they have to pay the boss salary, pension and expenses. no one should pay the banks their monthly repayments for at least 10 years.that would make up the balance of negative equity.

• Pedro 16/03/12 #

I don’t see the problem here… It’s a hell of a drop from what the likes of Brian Goggin was paid.

• I think the issue is that they are not worth the money. Running a small bank in a small country with a small market does not merit international “city” banking rates. If these people were really worth the money they would have jobs in “the city” in London, Frankfurt, New York etc but they don’t and are not even looked at by head hunters. Backwater banking, back water rates should apply. Apart from all of that it is insulting to “us” the shareholders who bailed these people out and are now suffering to support these peoples inflated egos/salaries.

• Pedro 16/03/12 #

Sorry but I don’t agree. I’m pretty sure the average bank CEO salary across the waters is significantly higher. You were probably right when they paid €3,000,000+ but I think as it stands it is not overly unreasonable for a company that employees approximately 16,000 staff to pay what they have. You pay peanuts, you get monkeys.

• You could very well be right Pedro, I don’t have exact figures, but these banks are little more then safe deposit boxes with staff, who should now just focus on running a simple lend/saving operation. In my opinion they do not need to imitate their overseas cousins in operations or pay scales while they are mostly in Public ownership. I also feel that just because they have a lot of people working for them (which is great!) that does not justify huge salaries? A pay cap of €250,000 is being sought for semi State CEOs in this country, some of which are contributing wealth to the State and also have thousands of employees. Would it not fair to impose this on what are essentially “our” banks as well? As for the calibre of staff you get for the money you pay, I think that equation has already failed us dramatically during the Celtic tiger years?

• Pedro 16/03/12 #

To dismiss BOI as being just a safety deposit box is incorrect, they have a wide array of businesses (however I know they had to sell a lot to stabilise themselves). BOI Life for one and I think they look after the UK Post Office too. I think it’s too easy to lump all the banks together as one. If we were talking about Anglo I would be the first one to mention how they ruined our country but the fact of the matter is, as it stands, we have one bank that has managed to stabilise itself and is starting to get its act together. Yes, there was reckless lending but its again too simple to put it down to just greedy bankers. With new enterants to the market and the likes of RBS offering ridiculous rates, the banking industry lost the run of itself trying to keep up with the offers of it’s competitors (and let’s not forget our friends in Europe who were happy to throw the money at us). When Anglo fell, it was a knock on affect. The markets lost confidence in Irish banks and effectively stopped lending to them. The end result was the bank guarantee and the general situation we’re in now.
      Slightly off topic there but I needed to say it to back up my point – We have one bank standing. If they want to pay their CEO that amount, so be it. As long as they are going in the right direction I’m happy.

• Time to get some of your facts right mate B.O.I. Life was not sold they are supposed to sell both it and New Ireland but are showing a lot of reluctance in doing so and have until 2014 to carry out the sale

• Pedro 16/03/12 #

Apologies if I wasn’t clear. My examples were two businesses the currently have – hence why I mention the UK Post Office too.

Add New Comment