TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Gilmore says €500,000 salaries for bank executives is “not acceptable”

The Tánaiste’s comments follow the release of figures that show six current executives at the former Anglo Irish Bank earn over half a million euro a year.

IBRC Chairman Alan Dukes (left) and CEO Mike Aynsley (right) who was one of the six high earning executives named this week.
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

TÁINAISTE EAMON GILMORE said today he does not think it is acceptable for former executives of any banks that have been “bailed out with Irish taxpayers’ money” should receive pensions of over €500,000 a year.

He also said that it is unacceptable that current executives at IBRC should be on on salaries of that level.

This follows the disclosure of figures by Finance Minister Michael Noonan which showed that six current at the former Anglo Irish Bank earn over half a million euro a year, despite the government’s cap on remuneration packages for bankers.

“That is why the Minister for Finance told the IBRC in April that those salaries should be reduced and that is why the Minister for Finance has undertaken a full review of those salaries that are being paid,” Gilmore said in the Dáil today.

“I want to make it very clear, because this is something that is not acceptable to the government, it is not acceptable to the people of this country who have had to suffer the consequences of what these banks did and the way in which they were managed.”

People Before Profit TD Richard Boyd Barrett called on the government to introduce a 10 per cent levy on all incomes over €100,000 in the budget next month instead of implementing further cuts on low income earners.

He said the government should be focusing on the “golden circle who are being insulated from the impact of austerity instead of attacking the vulnerable and people who have been battered and hammered unjustly with the cost of the current financial crisis”.

Gilmore said there will be no insulations under this government and they will produce a budget that is “fair and balanced” next month.

Read: Six execs at former Anglo Irish Bank earn over €500k a year>

Read next:

Comments (79 Comments)

• But will anything be done………hell no!

A bankers lawyer can tell a nation to f-off

• Aine 08/11/12 #

not acceptable but nothing will be done about it. sick of the constant cuts on the one hand and things like this on the other.

• Michelle , let Kerry alone. I was only asking a question , and thank you for answering , but Kerry knows everything and has no need to ask anything. All his geese are swans. Lucky him.

• It must be great being in the ”Members Only”, Banker,Senior Civil Servant, Politician ”Club”.
      When you mess things up… you give yourself a raise.
      When you break the country….you give yourself a raise.
      When you overspend on your Dublin 4 Mansion…you give yourself a raise.
      When your mortgage goes up…you give yourself a raise.

It is time that RTE got some of you guys and your ”legal” friends on the Secret Millionaire???
      Or maybe “RTE Cribbs”???

• Talk is cheap.

• Eamon Gilmore says a lot of things, actions speak louder than words!

• “Gilmore said there will be no insulations under this government and they will produce a budget that is “fair and balanced” next month.”

So expect an unfair and unbalanced budget then.

• make you sick…all the giving out about fianna fail and these lot are the same…hes only covering his own arse

• Cut ur own pay and lottery like pension first Eamonn. Lead by example

• Aaron 08/11/12 #

So Eamon’s up in arms that these bankers are being paid in excess of the Governments impossed salary cap. Is this coming from the same Eamon Gilmore who has TWO ‘Special Advisors’ being paid in excess of a similar salary cap imposed by this same government?

I’m not in favour of anyone being paid that type of money (unless it’s me) but I hate hearing this hypocritical populist bullsh*t being spouted by the same politicians who will rape the country dry with jobs for their friends and ridiculous expenses.

• 18 months after coming into power Gilmore has a revelation that the levels of salary and pensions being collected by bankers it is unacceptable. Hallelujah. Anymore stable doors to bolt after the horses have bolted Eamon?

• Isnt it almost laughable, the way that the government ministers come out AFTER the information comes into the public domain,and pretend that they are upset and never knew this was happening until now also!!
    Give us a break.. We didnt come down in the last shower! This is further proof,after the AIB pensions issue this week, that NOTHING has changed! The bank execs still call the shots and are being protected by the same government who cut special needs care and hospital beds!!

• Even though I was not around, is this the same kinda bs that happened that started the French rebellion….. The rich basically mocking honest hard working people/peasants….. These people really have zero integrity, honesty or morals….. Bring back the guiletine! Lets show them what these riches brings them! Am I allowed to say all that? I would be considered twisted and sick for that? Some one delete this after I post please…

• Talk is cheap Gilmore, bout time you showed some backbone!!

• Load of bo&&@cks all talk no action

• Lip service Eamon . That is all this is . As some one said above Talk is cheap. We want positive action and we want it now. €500,000 is a lottery win,.

• TÁINAISTE EAMON GILMORE said today he does not think it is acceptable for former executives of any banks that have been “bailed out with Irish taxpayers’ money” should receive pensions of over €500,000 a year.
    He also said that it is unacceptable that current executives at IBRC should be on on salaries of that level.
    MR GILMORE YOU ARE PAYING THEIR WAGES SINCE YOU FIRST CAME INTO OFFICE,,,IT HAS TAKEN YOU NEARLY TWO YEARS TO FIND THEIR WAGES “NOT ACCEPTABLE”,,,HEAVEN HELP US WE ARE DOOMED

• I smell an election coming….

• Yeah, compared to Gilmore`s €180K it is maybe over the top. But why do I have the feeling of “The Kettle calling the pot black”

• The top salaries in these banks are crazy and indefensible, but would Gilmore make the same comments on the multi-board, huge salaries of his union boss buddies?

• People have enough of these lip servicing German ass kissing shower all bankers should be exiled or imprisoned a new uni grad could do their job properly for 45k
    It only takes years of experience to learn how to rob everyone
    And god knows they have done a good enough job of that already
    Leinster house should burn with 95% of these Strokers in it
    U best start recruiting army n police again Eamon your going to need lots when the Irish turn on you all

• The Labour party should take note, this is a potentail timebomb waiting to go off, and it will, under the assses of their TD’s and senators at the next election (I cant wait). Gilmore and Co should get their well greased fingers out and tax these bankers and overpaid execs, anything over 100,000, no more Mr. nice guy, just bloody do it. Richard Boyd Batrrett is talking the only bit of sense I’ve heard today !!!

• Hit the nail on the head James! This is the most recent of many ‘ I dont agree with that……BUT’ instances from Gilmore and the labour party! Sound bites and lip service, trying to protect his and partys own ass whilst also supporting the same issues that they are publicaly denouncing.
      Ive heard loads of people where I work,say that Gilmore has been found out as being 2 faced and that they wont vote Labour again!
      Labour to follow the same faith as the PDs and Greens!!!?!!?

• @voodoo, I would’nt mind taking home €5k a month, I wonder what it would be like?

• Well I never, Eamonn Gilmore socking it to the bankers. Is he trying to become a Socialist or something.

• put up or shut up Gilmore

• Michael 08/11/12 #

It’s fine to pay that much if only WE DIDNT HAVE TO PAY IT

• “Gilmore said there will be no insulations under this government and they will produce a budget that is “fair and balanced” next month.”

When i see ‘Fair and balanced written anywhere, it automatically remonds me of how fair and balanced Fox News is…. If Gilmore is joining in with the Tea-Party movement in the US, then we are really screwed come December in the budget.
    The Tea-party are all in favor of reducing Taxes on the richest in society and heaping it on the least well-off.
    The spin stops here Mr O’Reilley, DUH, i meant Gilmore.

• Nigel, well said, the so-called socialists are in a quandry now, do they do something or nothing with these immorral and disgraceful salaries and pensions. Its time for Labour to Do the right thing before its too late, tax them and stop the Dickensian bulls**t, ‘Please sir, can you please return some of your salary’ … I won’t hold my breath !!!

• Mr Gilmore neither us your salary acceptable and what are you and your cronies doing about it Corrupt Bankers and Corrupt Politicians in the one ship

• will you ever go to hell with your soundbytes Gilmore.
    can’t do anything, wont do anything.

• My original post said earnings over €100,000. Have we not learned that paying these obscene salaries does not get us talent. If you can’t live on €1,923 gross a week whatever your talents you are plain greedy.

• All earnings over €100,000 should be taxed at 75% and over €130,000 at 85% and so on. The greedy b******s don’ need any more than that to live on.

• Aaron 08/11/12 #

Not realistic and never going to happen. Come back and join us in the real world.

• Mick 08/11/12 #

Exactly…anyone that has worked hard to build up that kind of income would just leave the country and earn it somewhere else. you would be left with inept people ruining business’s up and down the country…it would have a negative effect on jobs…

• It’s already taxed at over 50% anyway

• @john with a tax like that you would be better on the dole

• No, it’s not. Definitely coming in at under significantly under 50% : http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/it/leaflets/it1.html#section3

Aaron, those kinds of salaries don’t much fit my definition of the “real world” either. I can’t quite credit that Mick is trotting out the old “because they’re worth it” line here, don’t even try to tell me that these people work so hard and are so talented that they get a salary fifteen times that of the average worker.

As for ” inept people ruining business’s”, I’m pretty sure that there were many more on €500k+ in the pre IBRC Nama, and we all know how well that went.

• Vinnie, you’re out of your mind. Better off on the dole? Taking home around €5k per month on the first €100K?

Get real.

• @voodoo. Tax 41% USC 7% + prsi. It’s over 50%

• First up, it’s 20% on the first €32,800 – €41,800 depending on marital status, 41% on the balance. USC is 2% on the first €10k odd, then 4% up to €16k, then 7%. PRSI allows around €500 p/m, then 4% on the balance.

If Deloitte’s tax calculator is to be believed, a single person on €100k with no pension rebates, etc., pays around 40% tax on the total.

For a single person on €500k, in similar circumstances it’s around 49% – that’s a take home salary of €20,928.00 per month.

These are the highest rates, married people would pay significantly less.

http://www.deloitte.com/view/en_IE/ie/insights/budget-2012-ireland/2012-irish-tax-calculator/index.htm

• I’m referring to the second 100k not the first so allowances don’t come into it. The original poster could not possibly have been referring to the first 100k as he wants a 75% tax rate.

• I’m referring to the second 100k not the first 100k so allowances don’t come into it. The original poster could not possibly have been referring to the first 100k as he wants a 75% tax rate.

• Wasn’t clear that you were talking about earnings over €100k, my mistake. In the current system, a single person on €200k takes home €107,133.00 per year, which by my reckoning includes tax at roughly 51% on the second €100k, roughly 40% on the first. Still well under 50% for the total, though.

And rebates and loopholes most assuredly do come in to it – seems that some 70% of these tax breaks for pensions are claimed by people on six figure salaries, amounting to €200m per year.

The point stands, though – once you hit in or around €100K, you’ve got more than enough to comfortably keep yourself and your family. Taxation on earnings above that level isn’t going to drive anyone into abject poverty.

Unlike, say, cuts to social welfare or public services, which is the choice we’re facing.

• Hmm dunno about it not being clear. By the original posters maths, had he been referring to the first 100k a person on 100k would take home 25k and a person on 130k paying 85% would trouser a grand total of 19,500

Anyway, I digress. The problem with punitive taxes on anything over 100k is that execs who are sent abroad by their American mother ships to set up a European HQ will say Whoa! U want to take 75% of my pay and bonuses and shares in excess of 100k? Bye bye jobs, taxes.
      Au revoir. ¡hasta la vista.
      Auf Wiedersehen. Arrivederci. Pożegnanie

• Mick 08/11/12 #

@ voodoo, yes I know plenty people running irish businesses keeping hundreds of people employed that are worth it…without them you would not have the business making money and therefore less employment in the country..at no point did I refer to banking officials

• The “bye bye jobs” argument doesn’t wash, it’s just basically the old “we can’t tax multinationals or they’ll leave” line transposed to the micro scale … where it doesn’t really fit.

Multinationals need a certain number of professional and management roles to keep their operations afloat. If some poor lambs can’t live on six figures after tax, I can guarantee you that there will be a queue of equally skilled people to step into their place, who’ll be more than happy with that money.

If it’s a thing that the role can be offshored, then let them off, if they don’t like living here enough to pay their fair share, then good luck to them. Also, taxes aren’t “punitive”, they’re about making the country a decent place to live, which is in all of our interests, although some don’t seem to be able to process this.

Mick, is that the old “heroic wealth creators” argument I hear? Lest we forget, these people are to a large extent dependent upon the skills and commitment of their staff to “create” wealth. In fact very often all owners bring to the table is access to capital, and it’s the staff who actually do all of the “creating”.

There’s certainly no way that a salary 15 times the average industrial wage can be justified in terms of effort and skill. My father broke his back doing 60 hour weeks for years and barely scraped the average industrial wage, there was certainly no want of effort or skill there. Don’t forget that the social class one is born into represents one of the strongest determinants of future earnings.

Btw, just so you know, I run my own business, it’s just that I’m realistic about how much my staff put in to it.

• Mick 08/11/12 #

Well done, so if they provide capital for the business and they get taxed to the hilt, they they pull themselves and the capital out of the business and the business goes under…jobs lost..good point voodoo..

• Mick 08/11/12 #

Well done, so if they provide capital for the business and they get taxed to the hilt, then they pull themselves and the capital out of the business and the business goes under…jobs lost..good point voodoo..

• Don’t have much more time for this, but … why and how would people “pull” out? Leave the country? For the sake of an extra couple of percent on earnings above what amounts to €5k per month as things stand?

I’d have to say, if someone in those circumstances doesn’t want to pay their fair share so as to keep this country from collapsing into a starving underclass and a tiny privileged elite, with a slightly larger middle class desperately trying to stay afloat, that’s their choice and good luck to them, they know where the door is.

I think we’ll find that there are plenty of people out there who are more than capable of stepping up to fill any market niches that may arise, given the chance.

Good point, Mick.

• Mick 08/11/12 #

An extra couple of percent??? 75 and 85% as stated in the comment i replied to is not an extra couple of percent… Deal with facts as commented on rather than making up your own, its always the way to go..

• censored 08/11/12 #

voodoo economics would be a better name for you. The Irish State already raises the vast bulk of its tax revenue from these people. There is probably an argument that the ultra rich should pay a bit more (Bono, O’Brien, Gilmore) – the people who are using legal tax avoidance schemes right now – but punitive taxes at 100k level? Did you ever hear the story of the golden goose?

• Ok, so. If you want to be like that, let’s take a 75% income tax band kicking in at €100k

For a single person, no children on €150k by my reckoning would leave them with a take home of €1,279.67, per week as opposed to €1,599 under the current scheme.

For a single person, no children on €200k by my reckoning would leave them with a take home of €1,414.29, per week as opposed to €2,060 under the current scheme.

Not insignificant increases, but I still don’t see them not having an enviable lifestyle at that income level. If someone thinks they can’t survive on that, then they know where the door is. Having said that, I personally think the top tax band should be somewhere in the low 50s, but that’s another story.

The point is that the top decile, the 10% of highest earners, pulling more than €170k per year are the only ones who’ve actually seen their incomes increase since the collapse, and I don’t think it’s unreasonable that they are asked to put something back, especially considering that public services have already been cut to the bone.

• @voodoo. I thought u had somewhere to be? Maybe running your “business” . Taking more than 50% of what someone earns is immoral. It’s a disincentive to produce more. There would be no point in trying to create more if u knew 75% of it wud be handed over to the state for distribution among the freeloaders. Ur talking communism

• Business is pretty good, thanks chief – another day down. And Ur talking utopian capitalism, the idea that leaving the very rich as a protected species will magically lead to wealth trickling down, and everything will be rosy. That’s been proven that this does not work, over and over again.

If it’s a moral argument, the obvious counterargument is that nobody, but nobody, deserves to earn fifteen times the wage of the average worker, however brilliant they are, and that everyone has a duty to those around them as well as to themselves – no man is an island, wha? Will be a pretty miserable country if 30% of people are driven into abject poverty, which is a distinct possibility with the way things are going, all to make sure our heroic “wealth creators” can afford that darling lttle villa in Tuscany.

“The Irish State already raises the vast bulk of its tax revenue from these people”.

And properly so, because “these people”, the top 20%, pull somewhere in the vicinity of 45% of the income in this country, with the top 5% holding around 40% of the wealth.

In those terms, the argument that 15% pay 40% of the taxes doesn’t look quite so persuasive. Perhaps it might be more meaningful to tie that figure to take home pay as a proportion of the average industrial wage and household wealth.

The fact remains that the richest decile is getting richer, while the poorest is getting poorer: http://www.thejournal.ie/disposable-income-in-poor-households-falls-18-per-cent-521921-Jul2012/

As for the goose, it’s always the same Ayn Rand arguments:

- Rich people are rich because they’re better than ordinary people, so they deserve it;
      - We need to be sure to tug hard on our forelocks and bow low when rich people pass, definitely not upset them, or they’ll take their unimaginable brilliance off to some mountain hideaway with John Galt and we’ll all be left in rags.

Neither of which are true. Perhaps uncoincidentally, Ayn Rand died friendless, alone in her apartment with her stamp collection, btw.

For sure Bonos and the O’Briens of this world need to be addressed, although this would probably have to be done on an EU wide or global scale, closing off loopholes and tax havens.

This doesn’t take away from the fact that we’re facing a choice in the next budget: take more from those who can least afford it, or from those who can best afford it. There’s no getting away from the fact that a certain sector of society are doing quite nicely out of this whole thing, personally I think it’s their turn to shoulder the burden – everyone else has.

• John, why should someone earning over 100k not be entitled to earn it as is suggested by your 75% tax rate. Remember they are already paying in the region of 40k in tax already. I’m tired of this lazy swipe at those who work hard to earn it.

• Will we ever learn?

• I getting fed up with our political peers coming out all surprised and angry after some paper / news story reports on the salary of a banker . should they not know this already when they pay his f### salary out of our taxes ? . come on wise up to this banana state stupidity .

• censored 08/11/12 #

The real story: Gilmore is jealous that the bankers are getting more than him. Gilmore, 180k salary for you plus 36m pension cost for the bunch of clowns in the cabinet is not acceptable in a bankrupt nation.

• Please print what Bertie paid in tax last year. I bet he paid about 12% after the schemes he got involved in. The rest of them are the same. Garret wrote off tax also on investments while the loan was written off. The ordinary citizen picks up the bill for all of these people including Harney. She sued the newspaper after she retired for calling her an alcoholic and received €300,00 – how much tax has she paid on that? Unearned income? Y

• Eamon Gilmore is correct. These high salaries are immoral. Have a Referendum to authorise Government to set correct salary scales for all semi state companies including banks. Tax all salaries over E250,000 PA at a tax rate of 90 per cent.

• Oh my! Here we go agian! The Irish taxpayers are paying the brunt of agin! Petrol bombs in Greece, while we sit here and complain about previos legal binding contracts prior to the salary cap by FF! The active numbers continue to ROI by the the bankers and their contracts.. who negotiates these legal contracts? and, How can they be transparent enough to stop it before it happens!? There must be sign posts up before you go over the Hill! This is crazy and contiues not to be monitored before the taxpayer pays for it! They say we own the banks.. Where are my shares and dividends? like we really own the banks.. the State owns the banks and we pay the salaries .. What a bussiness!

• Low blow putting Alan Dukes’s picure on this. He already gives up 50% of his salary. If the rest followed this man’s lead, bankers wouldn’t be such a shower of “bankers”.

Add New Comment