TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Teenager killed, and four others injured, in Roscommon crash

A 17-year-old boy is killed when the car he was sharing with four other males went into a ditch overnight.

File photo of the R361 road between Frenchpark and Boyle, where the overnight accident occurred.
Image: Google Maps

A 17-YEAR-OLD BOY has been killed, and four other teenagers injured, after a motor accident in Co Roscommon overnight.

The five males were travelling in a car that struck a ditch on the R361 Frenchpark to Boyle road at about 1:20am.

The four surviving passengers, including the car’s driver, received only minor injuries.

The stretch of road has been closed, pending the completion of a forensic examination, and local traffic diversions are in place.

Gardaí have asked witnesses to contact Boyle Garda station at (071) 9664620, the Garda Confidential line at 1800 666 111, or any Garda station.

Read next:

Comments (15 Comments)

• nearly every weekend now, and all young drivers…their poor familys,rip.

• This is so regular now that the chances are that someone reading this will know the teenager or young man that will die next weekend.

A young man and a car – there are some that will never be convinced.

RIP – so very sad.

• As always, until more is known about the cause of this accident, we’d ask readers to avoid speculating as to what may have caused this terrible incident. Thanks as always for your understanding.

• Gavin,what ever happened to free speech and opinions?Removing comments that lets face it are true is a bit silly.Yes its a terrible incident but very few people if any are killed while driving slowly and safely!

• @Patrick – This isn’t really the best place to discuss stuff like this, but I’ll say this much:

It’s a matter of trying to balance free speech with respect for the people who are affected by it. We’re regularly told about circumstances where the families and friends of accident victims come across comments which suggest a degree of wrongdoing where none might have existed. The last thing a family in distress needs is to see the minutiae of a horrific event being pored over by people who have neither any knowledge of the circumstances, nor any familiarity with the people involved.

• Very sad.. RIP

• As someone who was consoling a friend of one of the young boys who Gavin thank you. I’m all for free speech but until all the facts are known maybe it would be nice if ye thought about the fact that a whole leaving cert class who are supposed to be celebrating getting into their various colleges/courses will not be doing so, and a lot of people especially his family will not get another proper nights sleep for a long time. We are all entitled to our opinions and I am a firm believer of that, but maybe some of them are better kept to discussions somewhere else while it is speculation and when the facts come out you can post your necessary comments then. Try thinking how you would feel if this was your brother/son/dad/cousin/uncle/nephew/grandson… it is always possible someday it might be (although please god it wont be d.v) and to you then-things wont be as black and white as they seem to be when you are reading about someone else.

R.I.P and watch over everyone as they try to come to terms with your passing… x

• R.I.P.to the young boy and Condolences to his Parents, Family,Friends,neighbours and all who knew him
    And May his friends Make a full recovery

• Good man Gavin

• Wife and I just saying someone “up there” was looking over our son when he crashed his car aged 17 and survived…………twice.
    RIP and condolences go the family.

• I wish people here would show a little respect on here. A very young lad has passed in a road accident please keep in mind that there is a whole community trying to come to terms with the loss of one of their own, and they are trying to support his family too.
    Rest in Peace young lad you are too young to gone x x

• Young lads + cars + weekends + after midnight = a deadly mix

I dont have an easy solution for this repetitive problem…RIP

• Is it not time to do something proactive here, should 17 year olds really be driving? In actual fact should anyone be behind the wheel of any vehicle if they have not passed their test? This is madness, we had a terrible crash few miles where I live yesterday near Mullingar, another last night, what can be done? Families have to do all the suffering RIP.

• My comment has been removed…my predecessors would be very happy…not….long live free speech….

Add New Comment