TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Children’s referendum ‘not a charter for breaking up families’ – Fitzgerald

Frances Fitzgerald says there is “no evidence” that Irish courts would seek to take children from parents if the referendum is approved.

Children's minister Frances Fitzgerald says there is no evidence of courts being
Children's minister Frances Fitzgerald says there is no evidence of courts being "in a rush" to remove children from their family homes.
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

CHILDREN’S MINISTER Frances Fitzgerald has said the referendum on children’s rights would in no way be a “charter” for children to be taken from their families.

The minister said there was “no evidence in Ireland” – either through the courts system or the child support services – that there was any motivation to take children from their families in ways that could be permitted under the proposed constitutional amendment.

The government’s amendment, published this morning, would alter the constitution so that the State could step in to “supply the place of the parents” – though this would be strictly limited to “exceptional cases” only.

Speaking to reporters as the amendment was launched, Fitzgerald said the focus of the Irish legal system was always to ensure that families in difficulty were given the necessary supports, while putting children into alternative care was a last resort.

“There is a huge focus from a regulatory point of view to intervene first to help families,” the minister said. “The whole focus of our childcare legislation is to work with families in a supportive way.”

The minister also added that Ireland had an ample supply of foster families so that any children who did require alternative housing did not require care in a residential setting.

“There is no evidence in Ireland, either through our courts or through our services, that there is a huge wish to move to a situation” where children were being removed from their family homes, she said.

Equality to all children

Fitzgerald had earlier commented that the referendum would give legal equality to children irrespective of the status of their parents – saying it would end the current circumstances where children living in foster homes try unsuccessfully to have themselves put up for adoption.

She said there were many cases of children about to turn 18 who had gone to court to try and be legally adopted by their foster parents, so that they would be recognised as the person’s legal parents into adulthood, but who had failed the rigorous test laid down by the courts to do so.

The minister also commented that the Courts Service of Ireland would need to make the appropriate arrangements so that the opinions of children – which would also be safeguarded and given a constitutional standing under the amendment – could be heard appropriately in cases involving them.

Fitzgerald acknowledged that a courtroom setting could place difficulties on children, particularly those coming from vulnerable circumstances, and the Courts Service would need “to examine how precisely they might” address this.

Read: Wording for children’s referendum released

Read next:

Comments (56 Comments)

• tom_cos 19/09/12 #

I had two 2 fostered siblings, who were handed back to mother in the 1990’s after 11 years with my parents and me. Their lives were absolutely wrecked as a result, because a small number of Catholic fundamentalists in the then Eastern Health Board decided that it was more natural for their mother to take care of them over a decade after these two children were taken into care as their lives were at serious risk. The mother, who came from a seriously damaged background herself and had serious issues with alcohol and drugs and had not reformed to any great extend when these two children were given back to her.

Despite doing well enough academically when they were with my own family, neither of them finished secondary school – one left school at 14, without so much as the Junior Cert, the other left at 17 with no Leaving Cert.

My parents had no rights given their long term status as foster parents, and could not even apply to try and have them adopted. The two children had no rights – their utterly unsuitable mother had all the rights, despite all her problems.

It was utterly devastating for both myself and my parents to watch what happened to them, knowing we could do nothing. That was my brother and sister. I loved them then and I still do. That was my parents fostered son and daughter. They loved them then and still do. Thankfully, my parents were able to intervene with them after they had turned 18 after they had been thrown out of their mothers house, all the result of her problems.

I don’t think I will ever forget the officals stating that we had to hand the children over because it was best for them, and that our own views on what was best for the two children did not matter – their mother and her family rights were sacrosanct to those officials – they couldn’t have cared less about the two kids.

She has since died as a result of her substance abuse ruining her own life. The two children are doing a lot better now, thankfully, largely because my parents never gave up. They are stable and happy and have good family lives. But the cost to both of them has been profoundly negative. They have health problems. They have a poor enough education. They are so lucky they never got seriously into crime or addicition themselves. It all could have been even worse.

That is a real story. Had that referendum been law in the 1990’s, then perhaps things might have been different for those two children. This referendum does matter, very very much, especially in light of Irish history where the abuse and mistreatment of children has consistent, with little done about it. People who oppose it, are quite frankly, extremists who have serious issues with respecting children as individuals in need of their own specified civil rights in order to protect them, and who should be ashamed of themselves.

Please vote yes.

• Roscommon happened because the state didn’t do it’s job!
    It didn’t appeal the court case, it didn’t show the judge evidence of what was going on, and the abuse was going on for years not just before the court case.
    Bad cases make bad laws!

• Yeah, the parents were doing everything right, were they? Come on now. Some parents fail children.

• censored 19/09/12 #

Yes, they do. But is State sponsored abuse/neglect the answer?

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0620/breaking4.html

“Of the 196 deaths, some 112 died of non-natural causes such as drug overdoses, suicides, road incidents or unlawful killings.”

• No. I believe that finding new loving families is the answer and most people I know working in family law (not my speciality) believe this would help.

• Nick Beard puts forward the notion that his friends who work in family law think it a great idea to remove children from their families and place them with strangers, well of course they would , after all the gravy train would come to a sudden stop were it otherwise so, this industry is worth 580million to all involved from psychiatrists, gaurdian ad litems, lawyers, judges, social workers etc etc…. The number of children taken into the system has doubled in the past 3 years to almost 6500, the question needs to be asked why? Has some mystery plague descended upon irish people and turned them into unfit parents? Or are there more sinister motives behind the snatching and trafficking of our children. The Slovakian government are taking their counterparts in the UK to task over the amount of children of Slovak parents taken into the system and they have the support of the electorate who have been demonstrating on the streets over this issue. This referendum is another step towards the totalitarian european federation, it asks people to surrender their position as parents when it comes to making important decisions about the welfare of their children. If passed any child will be allowed access to any information they want despite what the parents may deem suitable. It also allows for freedom of association, so as in the case of that 15yr old child who eloped with her teacher from england, no wrong will have had been done, it will allow for 12 year olds access to contraceptives, abortions, sterilization, electro shock therapy etc.. despite what that same childs parents think. If you don’t believe what I say I suggest you read in full the United Nations Charter on the Rights of the Child. Vote No to this vile piece of legislation

• I thought part of this legislation was to correct an anomaly whereby children already in care, particularly in foster homes, could be adopted if there was mutual agreement between children and foster parents, and where these children have been catastrophically failed by their parents. Why should children be denied happiness just because parents who can’t or won’t look after them happen to be married? Michelle and that gentleman are scaremongering. I very much doubt if children will be whisked away from their parents and instantly adopted.

• There are already laws allowing for the the adoption of married children, due to abandonment.
      I think all people have to do is ask themselves ‘would you trust the state with the care of your children’?
      If people are abusing and mistreating their children, then the guards and the courts should intervene straight away.
      Not a social worker, they have not proven themselves to investigate properly.

• Paul 19/09/12 #

Unfortunately a child doesn’t have a voice in Court. They are represented by and dealt with adults with their own conclusions and agendas be they parents, social workers or legal council. Sad state of affairs that a child has to die before any decisions are formulated

• Paul, who is denying the right of children to be heard in court? isn’t it judges and the HSE?

Sometimes children have a Guardian at Litem and the Guardian is represented by their own solicitor. It would be better to bring the child to court and hear what they have to say without all the middle-men making money on their misery. That’s not going to happen anytime soon as most children would expose their social workers.

Have you ever noticed, that when children are denied their rights, that it’s usually a Government body who dent those rights?

APS.ie

• John Don 19/09/12 #

Alex don’t be asking reasonable questions. That kind of rationality does not fit into the state sponsored feel-good-let’s-do-it-for-the-kids party thats going down.

It’s simple: you just sign up a blank check to an unaccountable state and judiciary, to decide, as they please, in secret, the best interests of your child. I mean, what’s not to like?

• With the provisos that the children’s right are paramount , it seems she is correct . Concerned people can get the benefit of appeals to the Courts.

• Ask anybody who has any dealings with the family law courts if they would have any confidence in letting the courts deal with a situation that involves their children.
      You might be surprised at the answers you get, the only winners are the legal profession!

• Yes, everything that the FG/Labour puppet regime tells us is The Truth .. and the Irish State has a great record in regard to looking after children.

• alan 19/09/12 #

you have to love Ruari ‘it sounds reasonable to me’ Quinn though

says that because the vote will be held on a saturday there will be no need to open the polling stations early as nobody will be on their way to work

eh ruari….YOU may be lying in bed but some of us actually have to work at the weekend

• ? Need for independent forum for that one I don’t think the courts are well versed in that department . Too many mistakes made to date by the courts in Ireland . We need a new branch of independence before we let a court decide the outcome , just my opinion
      Edward Joseph Byrne patient @ Elm Mount Psychiatric ward St Vincent’s Hospital, Dublin 4.

• I don’t get it.

If the govt doesn’t intend to use the power to break up families, then why does it need to be granted it?

Is there any evidence that children have suffered as a result of a defect on the Constitution, rather than, say, the authorities being asleep on the job?

• John Don 19/09/12 #

Hmmm ,
    So we give greater powers over our children to a state that carries out all of it’s decisions in secret.

We give greater powers to a state with an horrific track record in looking after the best interests of our children.

We give greater powers to a state which seeks to enshrine parental failure in our constitution, but remains deafeningly silent on state failure.

Parents it really now is time to use your head and not fall for the emotive propaganda being put forward by a state that can’t even look after itself, not to mind it’s children.

• @ Michelle. That’s in case of abandonnment. The change is for children who are in care and can’t be adopted.

• Congratulations due to the Minister and the stakeholders involved in producing what is a balanced and reasonable wording, it deserves a resounding yes vote.

• @ Michelle, Louise and Ed. Children need a stable environment and a chance at happiness. If they can be given that despite the parent who either can’t or won’t look after them and treat them properly being married then I’m all in favour. The idea of someone whisking children away to be adopted instantly is something that happened in Holy Catholic Ireland of the ’50′s and 60′s. Please stop scaremongering.

• unless questions are asked and we learn from mistakes history will repeat itself
      the government of the day now or then didn’t protect children why believe it can now.
      child protection and forsed adoption aren’t the same thing.

• I propose we change the name of the Referendum to;

Do you trust the Government with your Children’s Right? Referendum

I would rather see Ryan Report II than a referendum. No wonder all the vested interests in this billion a year industry are recommending a Yes vote. It would expose their failures as did Ryan Report 1.

I have to laugh at ‘not a charter for breaking up families’ when they already have possessed this power for many years. They can hide behind the In Camera Rule and do whatever they want to children, if this insidious legislation is passed it will give the State the right to legally abuse children and not be accountable at all.

Bring on Ryan Report II, as Deputy shatter used to say “Let in the Light” (he’s still saying it on his website http://www.letinthelight.ie)

Joe Burns

APS.ie

• Nick Beard

It is NOT mandatory to vaccinate a child in Ireland.

Does Claire O’Sullivan have no rights as a mother when she decided not to have her child vaccinated?

We have many children in Ireland who have been vaccine damaged from State promoted vaccines who have never received any compensation.

Who is speaking up for the children who have been left with brain damage ,long term illnesses etc who were fully vaccinated.

• What better way to shut you up from bad mouthing our elitist leaders than to threaten to take your kids away. You have been warned. These people will twist your every word and action to show you are incapable parents and you will have little or no defence.. Children are 10 times more likely to die in foster a care. Very slippery slope to allow state take place of parents… Just Google CPS horror stories and be informed

• Can you provide evidence that children are ten times more likely to die in care than from abuse within the home?

• That’s right, state agencies will track you down and take away your children for posting anti government messages on the Internet. Paranoid much?

The referendum is necessary and useful in order to provide more protection for children. However, with cut backs to front line staff, there will be no one there to provide this protection. Toothless tiger.

• What evidence do you have?
      I work in the community and I often feel too much is done to keep “the family” together, not for the children but for the parents. You have obviously never dealt with a child who is subjected to emotional and physical abuse on a daily basis?? or you have never dealt with a teenager who lived their early life in this and now in a foster family for years,wanting to be adopted by the family, with the constant fear that their “parents” will go to court to try and get them back?
      An example is the roscommon abuse case, parents were married and religious so therefore their needs and rights were more important than their children who begged to be taken away!!
      Any case where children were removed from their “homes” are always justified and never taken lightly.

• Rather be a bit paranoid than completely naieve. I bet people highlighting clerical sex abuse were told they were paranoid too. I ain’t gonna be bullied by your simple minded paranoid accusations. At least my comments here might at least protect someone by highlighting the CPS isn’t some guaranteed safe haven and like all government powers subject to abuse. Maybe if some other people were “paranoid” a large percentage of these innocents would be with us…

http://suncanaa.com/in_memory_

• Well, your comments certainly won’t protect children abused within the home…

• And children are 1000 times more likely to die in a hospital than in a foster home. Stupid statistics are worthless – 80% of people know that.

Of course a child who has had a hard life and ends up in a foster house is more likely to die young, but this is not due to the foster home. The truth is that children from low income families are more likely to die at a younger age, if their parents are drug addicts they are even more likely to die at a younger age, and this has nothing to do with the foster care system

Could the care we give to vulnerable children be better, of course, but we don’t live in a perfect world so stop giving out about a system that does at least try and help vulnerable children

• and what about all those children who live with abuse and neglect for years because the state can’t, or won’t, “interfere?” didn’t the parents of those children in roscommon argue before the courts that it was their right to bring up their own children?

• THREE CHEERS FOR THE GOVERNMENT ON THE NEW CHILDRENS REFERENDUM GIVING RIGHTS TO OUR CHILDREN IN OUR CONSTITUTION,,,, MY ARSE,,, IN THE SAME BREATH THESE TWO FACED EXCUSES FOR POLITICIANS CUT ,,BACK TO SCHOOL ALLOWANCES,,RENT ALLOWANCES,,INCREASE SCHOOL FEES,,,COLLEGE FEES,, THREAT TO COLLEGE GOING KIDS TO STOP THEIR GRANTS IF THEIR PARENTS DONT PAY HOUSEHOLD TAX,, SHAME ON THESE TWO FACED BASTARDS

• John Mc 19/09/12 #

Would it not make more sense to resource social workers properly, maybe add some extra legislation and allow them to investigate cases that are brought to their attention than to broaden state powers while the situation for front line staff remains the same? It’s easy for a well meaning laws intended for social good to have dire consequences… I don’t believe the Irish state can raise children.

• louise 19/09/12 #

Michelle ur a women after my own heart! The legal system courts social workers all a money train! This will enable the HSE to force adoptions like I said earlier it happens in England all the time, people ask me for evidence, just look it up! And don’t judge others till I’ve walked in there shoes
    look it up through google simple!!

• Now try it, you just try to run all that is proposed here without reference to the special case of the Traveller families, you can’t , not even with a solid YES vote on Saturday November 10th – and this is why this referendum is a complete and total Confidence Trick because no legislation that will work , without provision for the Traveller families can actually work, and such provision can’t work either as everybody must be equal under law.
    So if Frances Fitzgerald gets her Yes Vote she still cannot legislate as laid out for the purposes of this referendum with no mention of the Travellers anywhere, but even if she now produced legislation to make them exceptions to the rule it can’t be done anyway as we all have to be treated the same under law.
    Any or all legal eagles here must by now realise that it is all a Sham and a Confidence Trick of being asked to vote for something that can’t be done without that Traveller exception , that can’t be done either!
    Come on the Travellng People your existence has not now only shattered the Government but all Irish political parties in Dail Eireann as well and exposed them all as Fakers and Charlatans.
    Thanks for your help, Lads:-)

• It is a child’s right to grow up safely and to reach their own potential. Unfortunately this does not always happen, so will this constitutional change provide the impetus and the framework to allow the betterment of children’s circumstances?

We eagerly awaited the wording of the children’s rights amendment as we all want what is best for our children, and for all children. It is a child’s right to grow up safely and to reach their own potential. Unfortunately this does not always happen, so will this constitutional change provide the impetus and the framework to allow the betterment of children’s circumstances? I do not believe so. After reading the amendment, some questions and observations come to mind:

The wording in relation to the intervention level at which children may be adopted without consent from the parents is ambiguous and widely open to interpretation.

The express rights of children are not included.

With this in mind, before voting please ask yourself:

- Are the provisions what you envisioned? Are they implicit in safeguarding children’s rights?
    - Are children’s rights sufficiently covered by this amendment?
    - Do you believe that the state intervention threshold is clear as to circumstances and duration of time as to when a child will be adopted without the parents consent?

If you are not completely satisfied with the provisions, please consider voting No. This does not mean you are voting against children’s rights but that you want their express rights to be included and you want an unambiguous threshold for their adoption against their parents wishes .

Indeed, instead of an emphasis on children’s rights, the object of the suggested constitutional change seems to be to provide for greater eligibility for adoption and would seem, at first reading, to be an adoption amendment, with the majority of the substance being concerned with the process of enabling adoption.

The present legal position under the Adoption Act 1988 allows the adoption of children without the consent of married parents when a court determines they have been abandoned. The test for abandonment is high and rightly so. If it cannot be established, then parental contact exists and the focus should be on promoting rather than extinguishing it. This balances both parents’ and their children’s rights to know and have a relationship with each other.

The Constitution currently states in Article 42.5, viz. “In exceptional cases, where the parents for physical or moral reasons fail in their duty towards their children, the State as guardian of the common good, by appropriate means shall endeavour to supply the place of the parents, but always with due regard for the natural and imprescriptible rights of the child.”

This referendum disappointingly focuses less on the rights of a child than on a lowered threshold for state intervention. This lowered threshold seems ambiguous and it’s wording indeterminable.

Dr Oran Doyle, a law lecturer in Trinity College said, “The real source of contention in current debate, and the likely focus of any referendum proposal, is the question of when the State may intervene and take children into care or start making decisions on behalf of children that override the wishes of the parents.

“To call this a children’s rights issue is somewhat misleading; the issue here concerns who exercises for children the rights that they cannot exercise themselves.”

New Wording:

– *2.1°* In exceptional cases, where the parents, regardless of their marital status, fail in their duty towards their children to such extent that the safety or welfare of any of their children is likely to be prejudicially affected, the State as guardian of the common good shall, by proportionate means as provided by law, endeavour to supply the place of the parents, but always with due regard for the natural and imprescriptible rights of the child.

What does this mean, prejudicially affected?

By definition Prejudicial can mean harmful, damaging, undermining, detrimental, hurtful, unfavourable, counterproductive, deleterious, injurious, inimical, disadvantageous.

This encompassing and indeterminate word has a wide variation in it’s interpretation from being harmed to being at a disadvantage. Would this definition, as it is being proposed for the constitution, include a child whose welfare is at a disadvantage?

Vague terms that leave interpretation wide open are not in the best interests of our children, if we are to change our constitution to the advantage of our children, the meaning must be precise and not open to varying degrees of interpretation. This is especially important when it is allowing for the adoption of children whose parents are not consenting.

– *2. 2°* Provision shall be made by law for the adoption of any child where the parents have failed for such a period of time as may be prescribed by law in their duty towards the child and where the best interests of the child so require.

This raises concerns; What period of time and What duty? As parents, we have many duties to our children, from providing emotional security to the basics of them having breakfast on the table and what does the ‘best interests’ of the child mean? Who decides?

As has been noted by several commentators, including Professors William Binchy and Gerard Whyte of Trinity College Dublin, any such failure under this wording, need only be temporary and could even be of extremely short duration.

– *3. * Provision shall be made by law for the voluntary placement for adoption and the adoption of any child.

– *4. **1°* Provision shall be made by law that in the resolution of all proceedings:
    – * i* brought by the State, as guardian of the common good, for the purpose of preventing the safety and welfare of any child from being prejudicially affected, or
    – * ii* concerning the adoption, guardianship or custody of, or access to, any child, the best interests of the child shall be the paramount consideration.
    – *4. 2°* Provision shall be made by law for securing, as far as practicable, that in all proceedings referred to in subsection 1° of this section in respect of any child who is capable of forming his or her own views, the views of the child shall be ascertained and given due weight having regard to the age and maturity of the child.

Again, the bar seems to be set as ‘prejudically affected’ and in the ‘best interests’ of the child, but what do these mean? These ambiguous statements leave the amendment dangerously open to interpretation.

Constitutional law expert and high court judge, Professor Gerard Hogan of Trinity College Dublin also appears to be skeptical about the need for an amendment and expresses reservations about the concept of a child’s ‘best interests’ because it leaves open the question in many cases of who get to decide what is in a given child’s interests, the parents or the State? For example, with regard to a child’s best interests he is quoted in the report as follows: “it is all very well to say that children’s interests must be safeguarded. But who is to decide this and what does it mean?”

According to Mr Hogan the phrase, “best interests of the child”, is ambiguous. He has also raised concerns that a children’s rights referendum might lower the threshold for State intervention in an excessive way.

A constitutional amendment where provision is being made for the adoption of a child against the parents wishes should be clear on what circumstances, degree of failure and time period.

*So What about Children’s rights*

Both the* *Joint Committee on the Constitutional Amendment on Children (*JCCAC*) and Children’s Ombudsman recommended the amendment should include the express recognition of children’s rights whilst also expressly recognising that the primary and natural carers, educators and protectors of the welfare of a child are the child’s parents.

They also recommended that the proposed wording specifically requires the State, by proportionate intervention, to support the family so as to ensure that a child is only removed from his or her family where no other appropriate action can be taken which will ensure the protection of a child at risk and/or to protect the child’s welfare and best interests.

Ten years ago, the Constitution Review Group recommended that an express guarantee of certain rights of the child should be added into the Constitution as well as an express requirement that in all actions concerning children the best interests of the child must be the paramount consideration.

According to the children’s ombudsman, the failure of the All-Party Oireachtas Committee on the Constitution to recommend that express rights for children be included in the Constitution is a retrograde step in strengthening and protecting children’s rights. This means that children will not be recognised as individual rights holders.

Children’s Ombudsman: the current proposal to refer to the rights of children falls short of what is required. The proposal states: “The State acknowledges and affirms the natural and imprescriptible rights of all children” [Article 42(A)1 of Twenty-Eighth Amendment Bill]

The recommendations of the Children’s Ombudsman:

Specifically, I recommend the inclusion of a provision setting out express rights for children to include:

- The right to participate in matters affecting the child.
    - The right to freedom from discrimination.
    - A right to participate and to be heard.
    - The express provision for the right to family or appropriate care, together with an express duty on State to support families. I recommend the inclusion in the Constitution of a State duty to support families and a duty to act in a proportionate manner.

To clarify, I fully support the proposal that provision be made for the adoption of children in long-term foster care, but we must not assume that this is in the best interests of all children in this situation

• It looks like some parents have already lost the right to refuse to give their consent to a State promoted vaccine!

http://tipptatler.ie/2012/06/mother-and-son-in-hiding-over-forced-vaccination-case/

• Ah yes minister, glad you cleared that one up. No evidence in the court system, I wonder why that is?.
    Forced and illegal adoptions now to be made legal. If ye find something immoral?, scraping the barrel there!
    If paddy the pleb insists on voting for his democratic rights, as instructed by you and the govt. I am sure he/ she will be given their democratic rights,good and hard!!

• What?

• Whatever about “forced”, if this amendment is passed then any adoptions made under it will not be “illegal”.

The rest of your post make no sense. What are you talking about when you say “If ye find something immoral”. Where is there any mention of morality in the amendment.

Finally insulting everybody who doesn’t agree with your viewpoint by calling them “plebs” is hardly the best way to convince people of the validity of your arguments.

• There is “No Evidence” because of the In Camera Rule. I seem to remember Minister for Children Barry Andrews asking the HSE how many children had died in their “Care” and being told it was none of his business.

• Paul 19/09/12 #

‘dealt with by….

• Pleb is a shortened version of plebicite, look it up in the dictionary. “Paddy likes to know what’s the story” who said that?
    I unlike you, don’t insult people.

• * parents being married

• I believe your sub heading contains a reversal in respect of which is removed from which!

• Sorry about these two posts. Got an error message on the first which didn’t upload till after I’d posted the second one?!

• Niall Doyle
    2 hours ago via Mobile
    To: The Broadcasting Authority Of Ireland. From: Niall Doyle, elector and citizen of the Republic Of Ireland. Dear Sir/Madam, This is not a private letter or a complaint. This is merely a public observation, by a citizen of Ireland, with regard to recent comments made by a member of Seanad Eireann. That member, Senator Catherine Noone, in the Seanad Chamber, has sa
    id she does not want people on the ‘No’ side in the upcoming referendum on Childrens Rights to have their voice heard in the current referendum debate. She has said that she hopes the broadcast media “exercise editorial discretion to make sure that they did not give a voice to naysayers on the no side whose main aim is to raise their own profile.” Senator Noone has said she is concerned about equal coverage being given to both sides in this debate. On three occasions during the past week, I have heard the broadcast media express their own concerns that it may not be possible to conduct a fair and balanced debate because there does not appear to be a ‘No’ campaign. If Senator Noone, who has not been elected by the people of Ireland, but whose salary is paid by the people of Ireland, can make these comments, then it is to be expected that the broadcast media may be unable to do what they are compelled to do under the law, because those of us on the ‘No’ side may now be reluctant to contact the broadcast media when a government politician has publicly stated that no such opinion be allowed. With regard to the Supreme Court ‘McKenna Judgement’ all broadcast media are now compelled to give equal coverage to both sides in all future referenda debates. By her comments, Senator Noone is effectively asking the broadcast media to break the law and disobey a Supreme Court order. There are many people in Ireland campaigning for a ‘No’ vote in this referendum but we do not have the ear of the mass media as we are just ordinary citizens. We do not have funding from private or state sources, unlike many charities and organisations who are campaigning for a ‘Yes’ vote. I conclude by expressing the view of all citizens, who value democracy and free speech, that these comments by Senator Noone should be noted by The Broadcasting Authority Of Ireland. Thanking you. Yours sincerely, Niall Doyle email: ndoyle09@gmail.com
    — at Broadcasting Authority of Ireland (BAI)
    Broadcasting Authority of Ireland (BAI)
    Government Organisation · Dublin, Ireland
    Unlike ·

Add New Comment